View Full Version : Are we to get a star ruckman at the end of the year??????

Stiffy_18
31 Mar 2003, 20:51
With Western Bulldogs in real financial strife, many are predicting that Doggies will find it very tough to retain some of their stars coming out of contract at the end of the year. One of those players happens to be Luke Darcy.

Fellow Crows supporters, do you think it would be a good idea to trade for a 28 year old ruckman in his prime. He would probably be able to offer 4-5 years of footy. With retirement of Smart and Bickley at the end of the year it could be possible to find salary cap space to sign him up.

As great a player as Darcy is, would this be a smart move to trade for Darcy??????

crowsfan
31 Mar 2003, 23:19
Interesting question there Stiffy. You make good points there too, but I'm not sure if we would actually need him, even if he was up for grabs. It might be better to try and get a younger albeit less experienced ruckman if we need/want a more long term player than what Darcy could offer. Having said that, it's probably a bit too early to say. There's a whole year of footy left and anything could happen.

dyertribe
1 Apr 2003, 11:06
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
With Western Bulldogs in real financial strife, many are predicting that Doggies will find it very tough to retain some of their stars coming out of contract at the end of the year. One of those players happens to be Luke Darcy.

Fellow Crows supporters, do you think it would be a good idea to trade for a 28 year old ruckman in his prime. He would probably be able to offer 4-5 years of footy. With retirement of Smart and Bickley at the end of the year it could be possible to find salary cap space to sign him up.

As great a player as Darcy is, would this be a smart move to trade for Darcy??????

:D :D :D

I was thinking the exact same thing. A move for Darcy would have to be on the cards. The only problem is that if we do win the flag there'll be a few lads coming off contracts who'll want to be paid what they think they deserve, but as you say, with the imminent retirements of 7 and 26 we should be sweet.

Although I wouldn't mind a certain Nathan Brown...

Doggiesrule1020
1 Apr 2003, 11:09
No you wont get darc cos es staying with us.I dont think the doggies will let him get away that easy and hell be the first ones we look at when resigning players.Well im hoping he stays (fingers crossed).

dyertribe
1 Apr 2003, 11:17
Originally posted by Doggiesrule1020
No you wont get darc cos es staying with us.I dont think the doggies will let him get away that easy and hell be the first ones we look at when resigning players.Well im hoping he stays (fingers crossed).

Mate tell me you're a fully paidup member, if so spread the gospel... if not then go down to the Western Oval right now with your credit card handy :)

I sincerely hope your Bullies can find some more sponsors quickly so there's not a cutprice garage sale at the end of year, which would basically spell the end for the club regardless. :(

napsyd
1 Apr 2003, 11:58
Stiffy, I mentioned this in a thread some weeks back.

We clearly have the midfield depth to do some more trading and I think we need another ruckman (Darcy would be great, although costly) and another backman (although I still hold hopes for Aiden Parker filling that role).

I mentioned Darcy also, but the fact is it's going to cost us more than a Gallagher or Doughty type to get him. Who would we trade?? Dare I say it perhaps Reilly, but we won't get real value for him till 2005 or 2006.

PrideOf
1 Apr 2003, 12:36
It may cost us draft picks rather than players. If the Bullies are as cash-strapped as we're told, and are being encouraged to spend less of their salary cap, sending over a couple of our 2nd tier guys (which is what it would take) wouldn't help them that much as they wouldn't be able to pay them.

It may, however, cost us an early 1st and early 2nd round pick. Cheaper players for the Bullies in the short-term.

If it does come off, it sounds like it's going to be a Kane Johnson-Wayne Carey kind of deal. I just hope we get a Jason Torney type thrown in as well.

Doggiesrule1020
1 Apr 2003, 15:02
Dyertribe to answer your question i am a signed up member with a reserved seat holder as well.Im doing my best to get other people to sign up such as friends who dont go for the doggies but have a softsport for them.Not getting the sponsors and having as much members as other clubs is our downfall.There are many people who dont sign for the basic reason that the cost are out of their price range.My dad and i sign up every year but if we dont get to at least 25,000 then the club wont exist doesnt help either that we have so many players out of contract by the end of the year.

macca23
1 Apr 2003, 20:27
Saw a bit of young Jamar playing for the Demons on the weekend. He didn't get much opportunity but didn't do much either. I think he will make it though if given more game time. He could be a cheap target at the end of the year.

As for Luke Darcy, I would love to have him at the Crows. However he has to be in the first 3 that the Bullies would try to retain (Darcy, Brown and Johnson) - maybe the 1st. If the Bullies don't get their financial act together all of their players might be on the market next year!!!

If we did a trade for Darcy with the Bullies because of their salary cap difficulties, it would have to be draft picks as Prideof did suggest.

This then would pose an interesting question. Our own salary cap must be chockers at the moment as we are only running with 39 players when it could be 40. In addition we can't pay the players anything for winning the Wizard Wok for fear of breaking the salary cap, which also says we must be close on being almost up to the top of the salary cap (Port Adelaide stated as well that they couldn't have paid their players if they had won the Wok for the same reason).

So if we did get a Darcy, or any other player at that level, we would have to find $400k to $500k of slack to fit them in - by cutting from our own list.

Presuming Bicks and Smarty both retire at the end of the year (*pauses while wiping away the sentimental tears*), they will both come off the veteran's list where only 50% of their payments count. So even though we will lose 2 players who probably get $300k each tops, only $300 of that total of $600k was included in player payments, so we will only get $300k of salary cap relief. Still not enough to cover Darcy!!

So we would be looking for a further player payment relief of up to $200k to recruit somebody like a Darcy to Adelaide.

Who else goes?? And is it worth it??

Your thoughts??

DaveW
1 Apr 2003, 20:34
Originally posted by macca23
Presuming Bicks and Smarty both retire at the end of the year (*pauses while wiping away the sentimental tears*), they will both come off the veteran's list where only 50% of their payments count. So even though we will lose 2 players who probably get $300k each tops, only $300 of that total of $600k was included in player payments, so we will only get $300k of salary cap relief. Still not enough to cover Darcy!!

When is Ben Hart eligible for the vets list? He turns 30 in July next year. So I guess not til 2005?

Jerome
1 Apr 2003, 21:04
We really need some young ruckman - our three current blokes 25 or over. As much as I like Darcy the financial cost involved and his age would not make him an attractive prospect for AFC IMO.

Our problem area has been holding on to young ruckmen - Golding, Herbert, Gilligan, Angwin. Recruiting a Jamar or Brooks would be a good option for us, or drafting some young fellas in the next draft. I'd prefer it if we could get an SA bloke, or at least someone from a state that doesnt have an AFL side and cant get homesick - we should have a good look at the NT and Tassie kids.

Jerome

Stiffy_18
1 Apr 2003, 21:54

Your thoughts??

I agree with you macca23. That's why I posed the question to get some general perspective from fellow posters. Darcy's age and cost makes him unattractive offers for us. As much as I would love to have him at AFC, I think he is "not required". Clarke is 29, Biglands is 25 and Marsh, who won't be around next year, is 27. We need a couple of young ruckman. My sources tell me there is a WA kid still developing (196 cm at the moment 94 kg) that will make the grade and Crows are monitoring him very closely. He is 17 but I am not sure if he will be eligible for this years draft. Plays seniors in WAFL already. As things stand now, if eligible, he would go as a late 1st rounder. Very good prospect, thats all I'll say at the moment.

Doyle is a very good trade prospect but I am not convinced with his durability. He is injury prone, and as Niel Kerley say "I've never seen a good player play while on stilts". Doyle has had his fair share of injuries especially knee injuries. Injuries aside, he is a VERY good prospect who can also be damaging up forward.

Jamar is a developing ruckman as is Brooks. Jamar is the cheapr option and at the moment probably more advanced that Brooks.

I personally would trade for Jamar and draft this kid from WA if he is still available.

Thoughts??????

macca23
1 Apr 2003, 22:05

Doyle is a very good trade prospect but I am not convinced with his durability. He is injury prone, and as Niel Kerley say "I've never seen a good player play while on stilts". Doyle has had his fair share of injuries especially knee injuries. Injuries aside, he is a VERY good prospect who can also be damaging up forward.

Jamar is a developing ruckman as is Brooks. Jamar is the cheapr option and at the moment probably more advanced that Brooks.

I personally would trade for Jamar and draft this kid from WA if he is still available.

Thoughts??????

Interesting comment that one of Kerley's. Probably true too. They are certainly prone to injuries - Rehn, Marsh and Fitzy for us alone have all done their knees in (6 between them??). Up to 6'6" or the more solid type of ruckman seem to be much more durable.

I'd forget Doyle for all the reasons above.

Yep, I agree with you Stiffy. I would try to trade for a younger ruckman such as Jamar or Brooks, and also draft this kid from the West you are talking about.

Stiffy_18
1 Apr 2003, 22:26
...and also draft this kid from the West you are talking about.

pssssstttt!!!!!!:D Keep it quite mate, James Fantasia is hot on his heels. Apparently our recruiting staff have been on this kid for 3 years while he was still playing school footy. Has made massive improvement in last couple of years and has come out of "nowhere" this year.

Could be a smoky as Lay**** was last year, who I think will be a bloody good ruckman/forward who I was hopeing and praying that we would get him with pick 32. <I know, I was dreaming>:D

napsyd
2 Apr 2003, 12:24
I agree with you macca23. That's why I posed the question to get some general perspective from fellow posters. Darcy's age and cost makes him unattractive offers for us. As much as I would love to have him at AFC, I think he is "not required". Clarke is 29, Biglands is 25 and Marsh, who won't be around next year, is 27. We need a couple of young ruckman. My sources tell me there is a WA kid still developing (196 cm at the moment 94 kg) that will make the grade and Crows are monitoring him very closely. He is 17 but I am not sure if he will be eligible for this years draft. Plays seniors in WAFL already. As things stand now, if eligible, he would go as a late 1st rounder. Very good prospect, thats all I'll say at the moment.

Any ruck who would normally be selected late in the first round will be selected early in the first round next year due to the current ruckman drought.

I don't think we will have a early first round pick (let's hope not :D), so we would then have to trade to get one.

Back to square one...

Kane McGoodwin
2 Apr 2003, 14:06
With the Biglands / Clarke combination working well, we don't need another gun ruckman at this stage (as I think the loss form the type of player we would have to give up for Darcy would not not offset the gain from dropping either our current leading-2). We should be aiming for a quality young ruckman (ie. do a damn psych test on them so we don't get another Angwin). This may mean drafting away a fringe midfielder or 2 to improve our picks if AFC think the player we want will go early than our 1st pick. However, I would hope that a decent young ruckman would be left by the time we get to our 1st round pick. We also need another ruckman who can step up to AFL level now if either Biglands or Clarke are injured. ie. Someone like Jamar or Doyle. This is where we may better off trading away some of our fringe meidfielders. We should have 4 ruckman in our squad (or 3 + 1 on the rookie list).

maccas_no1
2 Apr 2003, 16:14
Why are we even discussing this subject?????We have too VERY good ruckman one is 'young':D Lets focus on this season and winning the 2003 Premiership not this load of ****:(

Stiffy_18
2 Apr 2003, 20:04
Originally posted by napsyd
Any ruck who would normally be selected late in the first round will be selected early in the first round next year due to the current ruckman drought.

I don't think we will have a early first round pick (let's hope not :D), so we would then have to trade to get one.

Back to square one...

Not neccessarily mate!!!!!! In last year's draft yound Dnadenong ruckman Paul Johnson was considered a certain top 10 pick and possibly in the top 5. He was rated as the best big man in the draft but he went at pick 22 (i think) to West Coast. I am not exactly sure about the pick but I am certain it was in the 20s.

Draft is a lottery, anything can happen:D

macca23
2 Apr 2003, 20:26
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Why are we even discussing this subject?????We have too VERY good ruckman one is 'young':D Lets focus on this season and winning the 2003 Premiership not this load of ****:(

Injury mate, injury.

Agreed that we have 2 good ruckmen, but I can remember in the past when injuries had Lucas Herbert as our lead ruckman!!!

Would you really like us to have to rely on Marsh if these two got injured at the same time. Our whole game is based on winning the centre square and Marshy isn't good enough to make that happen.

Besides, there should be a succession plan with ruckmen. They take longer than the little blokes to come good so we need one learning the ropes as from next year to take Clarke's place after 2 or 3 years.

Live for the moment, die today!!

Nige_Bix
2 Apr 2003, 22:05
Stiffy - I just saw the Glenelg v Sturt game on FoxExtra - Bays had a really big young [ i think!!] guy called Grriffiths - you should go and check him out!

marvin
3 Apr 2003, 08:47
dezzmo - if it's Michael Griffiths you saw, he'll be 20 next week. So young-ish. (Ex Dandenong and Port Melbourne).

Stiffy_18
3 Apr 2003, 09:09
Originally posted by dezzmo
Stiffy - I just saw the Glenelg v Sturt game on FoxExtra - Bays had a really big young [ i think!!] guy called Grriffiths - you should go and check him out!

I'll try and go to check him out when holidays start in a couple of weeks. If he turns 20 next week, he will definetly be eligible. Usually these days if a ruckman misses out on a spot on AFL list or Rookie List, chances are they aren't that good. With the shortage of ruckman in general these days, AFL clubs draft them at least onto the rookie list and try to develop him if they see anything that they like. I'll have to check him out at some stage during the year!!!!!!

mic59
3 Apr 2003, 22:46

So we would be looking for a further player payment relief of up to $200k to recruit somebody like a Darcy to Adelaide.

Your thoughts??

Remember when Bickley and Smart go two other players(Carey and Clarke seem the only contenders) can go on the veteran's list. Might not save as much but it must be worth something, at least in Carey's case. But like DoggiesRule1020 I don't think there is a chance the Bulldogs will let Darcy go, they might even try the 50c trick that kept Grant at the club.

Stiffy_18
3 Apr 2003, 23:02
Originally posted by mic59
Remember when Bickley and Smart go two other players(Carey and Clarke seem the only contenders) can go on the veteran's list.

Unfortunately, Carey and Clarke are ineligible. For a player to be eligible for club's veteran list, he has to be over 30 and MUST have been with the same club for at least 10 years. If the club has not exsisted in the AFL for 10 years, as is the case with Power, then a player has to be 30 or over and must have been in initial squad. Eg. for Port Adelaide, Stephen Paxman has been there from day 1 and its over 30, therefore he is eligible for the veterans list.

Stiffy_18
3 Apr 2003, 23:13
I'd forget Doyle for all the reasons above.

And just as we are discussing Doyle's durability, he is out of Sydney's side with an injury. Fair Dinkum, I don't think he can play more than 10 games a season. He just keeps breaking down!!!!!!:(

DaveW
3 Apr 2003, 23:38
Originally posted by mic59
Remember when Bickley and Smart go two other players(Carey and Clarke seem the only contenders) can go on the veteran's list. Might not save as much but it must be worth something, at least in Carey's case. But like DoggiesRule1020 I don't think there is a chance the Bulldogs will let Darcy go, they might even try the 50c trick that kept Grant at the club.
Yes, as Stiffy said the players must have been here for 10 years as well as being over 30. Hart and Ricciuto will be the next two eligible, but by figuring - I'm assuming they must be 30 at the start of the year, correct me if I'm wrong - they won't be eligible until 2005 and 2006. (Which is both bad - in that it doesn't give us a salary cap relief next year - and good - both these very experienced players are still quite young. :D)

Stiffy_18
4 Apr 2003, 11:00
Originally posted by DaveW
Yes, as Stiffy said the players must have been here for 10 years as well as being over 30. Hart and Ricciuto will be the next two eligible, but by figuring - I'm assuming they must be 30 at the start of the year, correct me if I'm wrong - they won't be eligible until 2005 and 2006. (Which is both bad - in that it doesn't give us a salary cap relief next year - and good - both these very experienced players are still quite young. :D)

I am not 100% sure of this but I think how it works is that a player has to turn 30 by june 30th this year to be eligible for Veteran's list next year and of course they have to have served the club for minimum of 10 years

Scarlett Pimp
4 Apr 2003, 11:10
On behalf of all Geelong supporters, I am willing to offer you the one and only, Peter Street, absolutely free of charge. Really, it's our pleasure.

macca23
4 Apr 2003, 11:20
Originally posted by Scarlett Pimp
On behalf of all Geelong supporters, I am willing to offer you the one and only, Peter Street, absolutely free of charge. Really, it's our pleasure.

Hmmmmm .......... 5th year on the list, 9 totally forgettable games.

At 208 cms is living proof that big is not necessarily beautiful!! :D

I think we would have to graciously decline your offer!! :)

Stiffy_18
4 Apr 2003, 11:27
What do you guys think of Robert Campbell from Hawthorn. He is a strapping young lad at some 199 cm and 100+ kg and is still developing. I only saw him play once last year and he looked pretty good.

Thoughts??????

Stiffy_18
4 Apr 2003, 11:28
Originally posted by Scarlett Pimp

He's got stilts so no thanks!!!!!!

Stiffy_18
14 Apr 2003, 21:01
Originally posted by marvin
dezzmo - if it's Michael Griffiths you saw, he'll be 20 next week. So young-ish. (Ex Dandenong and Port Melbourne).

Thats the one mate. I heard an interview with David Noble (Gleneg's coach) on 5aa today. He was a wrap for the kid, saying he is a late developed and he was super keen to get him to Glenelg and see him play in stand - alone comp. I will have to go and see this kid play some time. Might be worth a shot as a rookie at least.;)

macca23
14 Apr 2003, 21:19
Thats the one mate. I heard an interview with David Noble (Gleneg's coach) on 5aa today. He was a wrap for the kid, saying he is a late developed and he was super keen to get him to Glenelg and see him play in stand - alone comp. I will have to go and see this kid play some time. Might be worth a shot as a rookie at least.;)

Heard that interview Stiffy, and the reason that this kid got a chance this week (and apparently did well) is that Golding went down the week before with a knee. Out for the season with a reconstruction.

Stiffy_18
14 Apr 2003, 21:27
Heard that interview Stiffy, and the reason that this kid got a chance this week (and apparently did well) is that Golding went down the week before with a knee. Out for the season with a reconstruction.

Yeah thats right. Apparently he was recruited to rotate with Golding through ruck and forward line. Golding went down with a knee for a season and he has been playing mainly in the ruck. I wouldn't mind seeing him play. I might go and see him in a couple of weeks against Westies. That way I get to watch a few Crows in the action.

macca23
14 Apr 2003, 23:10
Luke Darcy was the guest on Fox Footy's "On the Couch" tonight.

The discussion eventually revolved around the fact that the Bullies will have a lot of players out of contract at the end of the year, of which Darcy is one. Also that the Bullies will struggle to keep all of their players with their reduced salary cap.

They tried to get Darcy to commit to re-signing during the year to give supporters and sponsors faith in the future. Darcy refused to by saying repeatedly that there are 22 games in the season and he won't look at it until then. But neither did he say that he would re-sign with the Bullies even at the end of the 22 games.

I thought that was interesting on 2 fronts. The first is that he seems to think the Bullies will only play 22 games for the season which means no finals!!:D

The second and main point is that he would not be drawn into committing to re-signing with the bullies.

Which really brings us back to the start of this thread. If he became available should we chase him?? Or should we be looking to get and develop a young one ready to play in say 3 years time.

Stiffy_18
14 Apr 2003, 23:18
Which really brings us back to the start of this thread. If he became available should we chase him?? Or should we be looking to get and develop a young one ready to play in say 3 years time.

Thats interesting. I would think that Doggies will be able to keep 2 of Darcy, Brown and Johnson who I think are all out of contract. I think we would be better off with Drafting / trading for a young ruckman who will start playing regular footy in say 3 years time when Clarke hangs up the boots. I still think we would need a ruckman that would step in and play if needed, unless we want to keep Marsh:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

I would pass Darcy and wait a year and have a real crack at Brad Ottens who is coming out of contract at the end of 2004.

There seems to be a few good young ruckman on other lists but no club will hand you over one unless they rip you off.

BTW, Jamar was in best players last week in VFL as was young Nick Smith (KPP) who was drafted from Norwood last year.

Nige_Bix
14 Apr 2003, 23:45
I think it will be hard to pick an established ready-to play-ruckman - the draft/rookie option is the best bet.

btw - Stiffy - are you a tall person? - only asking because you seem really keen to sort this ruckman thing out.

Stiffy_18
14 Apr 2003, 23:58
Originally posted by dezzmo
I think it will be hard to pick an established ready-to play-ruckman - the draft/rookie option is the best bet.

btw - Stiffy - are you a tall person? - only asking because you seem really keen to sort this ruckman thing out.

Nah mate. Just around 184 cm which is about your medium midfielder type.:D

I just see us having 2-3 weaknesses that we need to address. The most critical being a ruckman.

Despite Bassett's great effort against Hall I still think we need a strong FB that could take on gorilla's of the AFL. Must admit I have great hopes for Aidan Parker from the rookie list. He is a good size (193 cm / 90 kg) that would probably need to add a bit of muscle to his frame. Rutten is another one.

I also think that you can always to with a good Key forward for a CHF spot when Stevo retires (Which I am hoping is another 5 years or so)

We also need a good small defender that can take the likes of Milne and keep them quite. Crowell has all the atributes but I doubt he will ever get to be a regular in our side week in week out, year in year out.

Just passionate I guess:D

Stiffy_18
15 Apr 2003, 13:51
Just out of curiosity, who here would trade Perrie for Jamar??????:D

noddy
15 Apr 2003, 15:04

I know you put a smilie up but,

I think this year is just about Sarges last year to establish himself in the Crows line up Stiffy, although he has started the season well he has to put that start into something permanent or i'm afraid his time at the AFC could be up,
don't know much about Mark Jamar so can't really say to much about him but if he's showing any promise at the Dees it will probably take a bit more than Ian Perrie to prise him lose,
quality ruckman don't come cheap,

macca23
15 Apr 2003, 15:24

I'd do the deal quicker than you could break wind Stiffy!! :D

But noddy is right, promising young ruckman are very rare and it would take more than a Perrie to get Jamar IMO.

The Dees do have a pigmy backline so they might do the trade, but would probably want a 2nd or 3rd round draft pick thrown in for good measure.

Stiffy_18
15 Apr 2003, 16:11
Jamar hasn't proven himself at AFL level yet. I think he is worth equivelant of mid 2nd round draft pick.

Noddy, Perrie has to have a good year to keep his spot on the list but KPP don't grow on trees. Schell would be the one that we would let go 1st. After watching Sturt V Port game on the weekend Matthew Smith better improve a LOT if he is to keep his spot on the list.

I have this funny feeling that we will have a decent crack at Jamar at the end of the year. He has trained with us so we know what we are getting in terms of character and his work ethic. If we could snare Jamar and hopefully draft this kid from WA we would have sold our rucking dillema.

Just out of curiousity, do you think anyone would have a crack at Ben Marsh. Collongwood have a couple of bad ruckman that are worse than Marsh at actual ruckwork. Eddie has gone a bit quite about WBulldog's salary cap issues. Has he got his mind set on Darcy??????

BTW, macca23 and anybody else for that matter, what do you think of David Loats from Hawthorn? I thought he showed a bit in the last 2-3 games.

macca23
15 Apr 2003, 23:30

Just out of curiousity, do you think anyone would have a crack at Ben Marsh. Collongwood have a couple of bad ruckman that are worse than Marsh at actual ruckwork. Eddie has gone a bit quite about WBulldog's salary cap issues. Has he got his mind set on Darcy??????

BTW, macca23 and anybody else for that matter, what do you think of David Loats from Hawthorn? I thought he showed a bit in the last 2-3 games.

Much as we have a go at Marsh I was amazed that the Pies and Essendon didn't have a crack at him at the end of last year. Particularly the Pies, as they have got a damn good mid-field and if they had a Marsh, his job would be done even if he just gave them first use of the ball more times than not, and barely did anything else. They really don't have a ruckman.

Put a Darcy in the Pies side and they would become a rather formidable opponent and a genuine chance for the flag, if they're not already.

Loats looks okay Stiffy, but wouldn't be one that I would chase.

Stiffy_18
15 Apr 2003, 23:37
Loats looks okay Stiffy, but wouldn't be one that I would chase.

Explain yourself there macca23. Who would you chase?????? Pick 2 that would fit our bill well

macca23
15 Apr 2003, 23:47
Explain yourself there macca23. Who would you chase?????? Pick 2 that would fit our bill well

That's the problem Stiffy. I don't know because there isn't a lot to chase, and those that are around are probably required by their clubs anyway.

We need a developing ruckman for the future, and the nearest I can come up with is Jamar and Brooks as they are both probably 1 to 2 years away. But to get them is another thing.

The ranks around this year were obviously thin as Adelaide didn't even bother with putting a young one on their rookie list. I'm sure they'll be scouring the countryside for a young prospect this year - as will all the other clubs.