View Full Version : Congrats Mark Bickley - 250 Games
A true legend of our Club
The hardest player at the ball ever to play for our Club.
You can tell he must have been a good player as a lot of the Port supporters I know don't like him at all (even the hafl reasonable ones) and that was before the incident.
Well done Mark and thanks for the memories.
dyertribe
1 Apr 2003, 11:09
I remember seeing his debut on tele when we were absolutely smashed by the Dons at Windy Hill early in our first season (the game where Andrew Jarman dislocated his shoulder and was filmed crying like a girl on the bench)...
Well done Bicks for being hard at it, lifting 2 Premiership cups and preaching the positives of immunising your kids ;)
Well done Skip, not just a champion footballer but an all-round champion of life,
Yes, well done Bicks. I'm surprised Bickley's suspension last year has meant that he's now been overtaken by Hart.
Nige_Bix
1 Apr 2003, 14:32
Well done Bicks - another Crow legend!!
ScottWelshLuva
1 Apr 2003, 17:15
Originally posted by noddy
Well done Skip, not just a champion footballer but an all-round champion of life,
yep he's a fantastic bloke.
I had to send surveys out to footy players for an australian studies assignment last year and his was sent back late. he still managed to write to me at the bottom apologising for its lateness. not many other footy players would bother to do that, and i can imagine that mark wouldve been very busy trying to get himself fit again. I thought it was the nicest thing for him to personally write to me.
When (and if) he retires at the end of the year, i will be writing a letter to him to congratulate him on a fantastic career- he deserves it :)
maccas_no1
1 Apr 2003, 17:15
Well Done Mark Bickley on 250 of the toughest games you would ever see a player play:D I will be very proud to raise the banner for you on Saturday Arvo:D
roostersgal4eva
1 Apr 2003, 18:41
Originally posted by Jars458
You can tell he must have been a good player as a lot of the Port supporters I know don't like him at all (even the hafl reasonable ones) and that was before the incident.
what do they know - port w@nkers :rolleyes: :mad:
anywho - mark is a champion player and bloke - one of the hardest players at the ball in the comp!
ONYA SKIP!
Stiffy_18
1 Apr 2003, 21:29
I had a pleasure of meeting once and let me tell you he is one of the nicest blokes you will ever meet.
Well done Bicks, great milestone for a great player. Keep up the good work mate!!!!!!;)
Kane McGoodwin
1 Apr 2003, 21:39
No coincidence that Bickley was captain of our club in our premiership years. A true leader & the best the club has had so far. Suprised me with his great form last year when I thought he may of been close to retirement. Seems to have a new lease of life & looks like he will go out on his terms as deserved.
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
No coincidence that Bickley was captain of our club in our premiership years. A true leader & the best the club has had so far. Suprised me with his great form last year when I thought he may of been close to retirement. Seems to have a new lease of life & looks like he will go out on his terms as deserved.
Many good points above Kane. While Bicks has always given 100%, I reckon the key to last year's form which he appears to be carrying on this year, is that he plays every game as if there is no tomorrow!!
Great man, great leader!!
Yet another Port Pirie legend;)
Congrats Mark.
Stiffy_18
2 Apr 2003, 20:28
Here is an article about Bicks from www.afc.com.au
Bickley thanks the Maccas and Kernas
Alan Shiell
afl.com.au
5:57:32 PM Wed 2 April, 2003
Mark Bickley credits Chris McDermott and Tony McGuinness, who preceded him as captains of Adelaide, and former Carlton skipper Stephen Kernahan with helping him to his 250th AFL match – against St Kilda at Telstra Dome on Saturday.
“Chris McDermott was a big influence on my career and he helped out enormously with my confidence early on,” Bickley told a media conference before the Crows trained at AAMI Stadium on Wednesday.
“And also Tony McGuinness with the example he set on the training track and on the football field, as far as workrate goes. It was outstanding.
“They’re the two who instantly spring to mind (as career influences), and I was fortunate enough to spend a little time with Stephen Kernahan, playing state footy (for South Australia) and also through work. He was another guy I was able to bounce a few things off.
“That was very early on when I was captain for the first time (in 1997). Having those guys to lean upon was fantastic.”
Bickley, who led the Crows to the 1997-98 premierships, described reaching the 250-game milestone (he is the third player – after Nigel Smart and Ben Hart – to do it for Adelaide) as “a great honour”.
“It’s hard to rate personal milestones,” he said. “At the time, I don’t think you take a great deal of notice. Obviously you want to do well and it’s a bit of recognition but I think it’s when you’ve finished playing and you really look back that you’re proud of what you’ve achieved.”
Asked about being a dual premiership captain, Bickley said, with characteristic honesty and modesty: “It’s just being in the right place at the right time and being lucky enough to be a part of that leadership group that was there.
“I’ve said previously there were probably half a dozen guys who were strong leaders that year and I was lucky enough to be the captain and get a lot of that recognition.
“I was lucky, the way things have opened up for me. I went to (SANFL club) South Adelaide (from Port Pirie) when they were probably at a very low ebb and it gave me the opportunity to play league footy probably earlier than what I would have if I had gone to North Adelaide (which rejected him as a youngster) or any other team.
“So I really have been blessed in a lot of ways with the timing of my career. The Crows were formed just when I was 20-21 so I feel very fortunate with the opportunities I’ve been given and the way things have turned out for me.”
For those with Fox Footy, Bicks is the guest on "White Line Fever" on Fox Channel 15 tomorrow night.
A must watch!!
Doggiesrule1020
4 Apr 2003, 13:16
From an oposition supporter congrats on 250 games Mark Bickley.