View Full Version : Round 2: Adelaide v St Kilda
Interesting thing about this match is we're on a six match winning streak against St Kilda! This is our equal longest streak against one particular side (we also won our first six against the Bears). Let's hope we can extend it to seven to make it our outright longest...
Incidently our last loss to them was the Grand Final replay in early 1998. My one memory of that game is Blight's star studded bench in the last quarter - IIRC it was Rehn, Ricciuto, Smart and one other?
ok.crows
1 Apr 2003, 22:23
Originally posted by DaveW
Interesting thing about this match is we're on a six match winning streak against St Kilda! This is our equal longest streak against one particular side (we also won our first six against the Bears). Let's hope we can extend it to seven to make it our outright longest...
Incidently our last loss to them was the Grand Final replay in early 1998. My one memory of that game is Blight's star studded bench in the last quarter - IIRC it was Rehn, Ricciuto, Smart and one other?
The other interesting thing is that if Crows win then including Wizard Cup this season it would be Crows sixth consecutive win ... which again would be Crows longest streak.
Joffaboy
2 Apr 2003, 13:40
I don't think the Crows will have any trouble on the weekend. I just hope the Saints dont embarrass themselves as they have done on the past two occassions we have play the Crows at Colonial/Telstra Dome.
I reckon the Crows by about 5 -6 goals, but I always live in hope of a miracle.
Kane McGoodwin
2 Apr 2003, 13:55
JB, what changes are the Saints likely to make? I hear Hammill is likely to still be out, but will Kozy play after being a late withdrawal last week?
Ill be happy to win it by a point as long as none of our talent falls down a ditch and breaks his freakin leg on whats got to be described as a "minefield" playing surface.
Good Luck Bicks in the 250th.:cool:
Originally posted by topjars
Ill be happy to win it by a point as long as none of our talent falls down a ditch and breaks his freakin leg on whats got to be described as a "minefield" playing surface.
Good Luck Bicks in the 250th.:cool:
If we played the Saints here we would win by 10 goals IMO, but taking off 5 for travelling, we should win by 5 goals at least if we play to our best. Of course that assumes a 100% effort, because any team can get beat if it isn't switched on that day.
The surface should be a lot better than when we last played there because I think I read somewhere that they have relaid it since we won the hallowed Wok!!!
Bicks won't rely on luck for his 250th TJ - he makes it!!! :)
Stiffy_18
2 Apr 2003, 20:17
Originally posted by macca23
If we played the Saints here we would win by 10 goals IMO, but taking off 5 for travelling, we should win by 5 goals at least if we play to our best. Of course that assumes a 100% effort, because any team can get beat if it isn't switched on that day.
The surface should be a lot better than when we last played there because I think I read somewhere that they have relaid it since we won the hallowed Wok!!!
Its a sad thing when you have to play a proffesional sport on a sub-par surface. This surface is really starting to pi*s me off!!!!!!:mad: How bloody hard is it to get the surface in good condition before the footy season starts. IMHO Docklands/Colonial Stadium/Telstra Dome is a major bust. Its a waste of money and fair dinkum, the people who actually designed it, did get any education under their belts?????? Its turned the wrong way, therefore you cannot open the bloody roof for a day game without blinding one team. As mentioned the surface is a SHOCKER. Some people are just not made to make right decisions:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Nige_Bix
2 Apr 2003, 22:13
It worries me when people publicly talk up the team's chances - KG this am and on the Crows Show tonight Jade Robran and Toni McGuiness were really saying we were over the line - were a touch disrespectful I thought.
Things like that can come back and bite you!!
dyertribe
2 Apr 2003, 22:24
I honestly believe (sorry all you Sainters) that a margin of 10 goals+ is on the cards anyway.
Our record at Docklands/Colonial/Telstra Dome is absolutely brilliant and we've put the Saints to the sword by fair margins there with squads that haven't been half as good as the one we've got at our disposal at the moment.
The fact that the Saints are going through somewhat of an injury crisis only makes matters worse for the men from Moorabbin.
Originally posted by dyertribe
I honestly believe (sorry all you Sainters) that a margin of 10 goals+ is on the cards anyway.
Our record at Docklands/Colonial/Telstra Dome is absolutely brilliant and we've put the Saints to the sword by fair margins there with squads that haven't been half as good as the one we've got at our disposal at the moment.
6 wins, 4 losses is absolutely brilliant?
dyertribe
2 Apr 2003, 22:59
6 wins, 4 losses is absolutely brilliant?
I'd say that for a ground in Melbourne (considering 3(?) of those losses were against Essendon) we do have a tremendous record there... especially considering our all time win/loss record at Footy Park isn't much better at roughly 65%.
EDIT: And you'll also notice that page 50 of your 2002 AFC Yearbook obviously doesn't include the Wizard Cup GF win over the Pies either ;)
I'd say that for a ground in Melbourne (considering 3(?) of those losses were against Essendon) we do have a tremendous record there... especially considering our all time win/loss record at Footy Park isn't much better at roughly 75%.
Only 65% at football park. Yeah I guess its pretty good, I just thought absolutely brilliant was overdoing it. Three losses to Essendon is correct, one to the Bulldogs. We've actually won 4 out our last 5 matches there (and thats the real stuff, not including the Wok final).
Just looking at the stats, the only other foreign venues that we have a positive win-loss record at are the SCG, also 6-4 (where we play the week after!), and the extinct Carrara, 1-0. Doesn't say much for our interstate record over our history. :(
dyertribe
2 Apr 2003, 23:11
Only 65% at football park.
Yeah just tallied the FP record up and editted my post before I realised you'd replied...
If only the Lions would move back to Carrara eh ;)
Yeah just tallied the FP record up and editted my post before I realised you'd replied...
If only the Lions would move back to Carrara eh ;)
Yeah :). But on the flip side at least we no longer play at the WACA, Windy Hill, Victoria Park or Moorabbin. Our combined record at those venues? 0 wins, 11 losses. :eek:
dyertribe
2 Apr 2003, 23:40
Re Victoria Park, I can't remember the exact details from our 5 point loss there in 1992... but man 1997's 1-pointer still hurts - especially when FFC were showing the final quarter of that game over the summer.
There was Richard Osborne being allowed to kick that goal on the run a second after the halftime siren had blown, then of course there was that fair and clear mark by Pitto in the square with a few minutes to go that wasn't paid... and why was Scott Burns allowed to simply hold the ball in the final 15-20 secs without being given a hurry-up?!!
It's a shame we could never chalk up a win there...
If we're a top 8/top 4 side, we should win on Saturday, and I'd expect us to do so.
I think a fair bit depends on which St. Kilda turns up- if we play a committed, hard at it side that is desperate to atone for last week's loss and believes it can beat a premirship contender in red hot form, then we'll have quite a challenge on our hands. However if the Saints are off their game we could win quite handily.
The same of course could be applied to us, but I believe if we go into the game with a good attitude we should run out reasonably comfortably winners (all things considered). But anything can happen in football (ah, another footy cliche).
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
JB, what changes are the Saints likely to make? I hear Hammill is likely to still be out, but will Kozy play after being a late withdrawal last week?
I hope Joffaboy doesn't mind me answering.
As you would expect from someone who bases his whole game around hard work Hamill's recovered far quicker than expected and is a chance to return. Apparently he trained well last night so it will just be a matter of whether the selection committee decide to play him or give him the extra week to definitely be 100%. If he doesn't play his aggression will again be sorely missed.
Kosi is apparently fit to play this week but not having played since round one of the Wizard Cup he'll probably spend a week or two for Springvale.
Quite a few of our young midfielders played well in the VFL and should be pushing for selection, particularly Dal Santo, Montagna and Goddard. I'm not sure what approach the club will be taking with Goddard but he had 23 possessions in his first VFL game on the weekend. Lawrence got through the game unscathed so is obviously a chance to return, as are Peckett and Voss.
I can't say I'm looking forward to the game because the Crows are travelling so well. Hopefully the roof will be closed and our midfielders can deliver the ball properly to our talls. As much of a critic as I am of the surface of Telstra Dome, it should suit as so much more than the MCG with the infamous gaping hole. It can be so demoralising to the team when we win so much of the ball but can't make use of it. The Kangaroos made us pay and I'd expect the Crows will make us pay even more.
Adelaide are not surprisingly big favourites going into the game and some are under the impression you only need to turn up to win. Naturally I'll be hoping your players are reading the papers and start believing the hype. If we are on our game for more than the usual 15-20 minutes, we're a chance. I'm sick to death of losing, we'll see our players reactions to it on Saturday.
Re Victoria Park, I can't remember the exact details from our 5 point loss there in 1992... but man 1997's 1-pointer still hurts - especially when FFC were showing the final quarter of that game over the summer.
There was Richard Osborne being allowed to kick that goal on the run a second after the halftime siren had blown, then of course there was that fair and clear mark by Pitto in the square with a few minutes to go that wasn't paid... and why was Scott Burns allowed to simply hold the ball in the final 15-20 secs without being given a hurry-up?!!
It's a shame we could never chalk up a win there...
The 5 pointl loss was worse IMO
I think we were on a five game winning streak and Scott Bobdges missed an easy shot and then dropped an absolut sitter in front of goal.
I was very p issed off.
Originally posted by sainter
Adelaide are not surprisingly big favourites going into the game and some are under the impression you only need to turn up to win. Naturally I'll be hoping your players are reading the papers and start believing the hype. If we are on our game for more than the usual 15-20 minutes, we're a chance. I'm sick to death of losing, we'll see our players reactions to it on Saturday.
Sorry Sainter can't see the AFC coaching staff letting the players fall for that one,
Adelaide will be favorites & rightly so but i still see this as a bit of a danger game for us as the Saints have some real quality players in there side, was very impressed with X Clarke last week & i don't think Riewoldt will have 2 quiet games in a row but it will be in the middle where the Crows will win the game & i expect our rucks to be on top for most of the day to feed the likes of Mcleod, Goodwin & others,
Stiffy_18
3 Apr 2003, 14:45
Originally posted by noddy
Sorry Sainter can't see the AFC coaching staff letting the players fall for that one,
Adelaide will be favorites & rightly so but i still see this as a bit of a danger game for us as the Saints have some real quality players in there side, was very impressed with X Clarke last week & i don't think Riewoldt will have 2 quiet games in a row but it will be in the middle where the Crows will win the game & i expect our rucks to be on top for most of the day to feed the likes of Mcleod, Goodwin & others,
Couldn't agree with you more. I wouldn't expect Ayersy to see this one as the walk in the park. St. Kilda are a danger game for us. Last thing we need is to be complacant and undo all the good work we have done so far. Judging by Bicks' words yesterday, AFC are determined to block this outside perspective that we just need to turn up to win. I think we are more experienced than that. As Bicks said you only need to be of your game some 1-2% and you are gone. The ball is oval and it can bounce either way!!!!!!
ScottWelshLuva
3 Apr 2003, 17:51
do u think the side will go in unchanged?
Hamill and Koschitzke are named in the St.Kilda line up.
Originally posted by vergs
Hamill and Koschitzke are named in the St.Kilda line up.
St Kilda's forward set-up looks very good on paper, and the key to any chance of them winning the game. I think our defence is in for a busy time.
The best way to keep their forwards quiet is to starve their supply by winning the mid-field. If we do that then we should be home because our forward line looks too strong for the Saints if it is given a reasonable supply.
Kane McGoodwin
3 Apr 2003, 20:23
St Kilda's forward set-up looks very good on paper, and the key to any chance of them winning the game. I think our defence is in for a busy time.
The best way to keep their forwards quiet is to starve their supply by winning the mid-field. If we do that then we should be home because our forward line looks too strong for the Saints if it is given a reasonable supply. St Kilda's forward line-up does look good, but we have a backline capable of holding them. However, I reckon our forward line has more of an edge on the Saints backs with our 3 talls. They may have 2 shift one of their forwards to cover Stevo/Carey/Perrie. But the bottom line in Colonial is midfield dominance, which I'm confident, particularly with our rucks giving us 1st use.
The turf has been laid more time than some women I know!
Macca my reference to Bicks luck was centred around the surface.
:( He WILL play a blinder.
Who will be the next to sue the AFL because they broke thier leg?
Hmmmm ........... sounds like you have an interesting little black book up there T J !!!! :D
The best way to keep their forwards quiet is to starve their supply by winning the mid-field. If we do that then we should be home because our forward line looks too strong for the Saints if it is given a reasonable supply.
Our forward line does look good on paper, but a lot of our guys are really underdone. It will be Hamill's first game since Round 1 of the Wizard Cup, and Koschitzke has played about 3 quarters of footy in the last 6 months. Most of our players really fell away in the second half against the Roos, so I hope the hard surface of the Dome doesn't have too much of an affect. If we come to play on Saturday then we are capable of puting up a good fight. Our disposal was very average last week, but the controlled conditions of Colonial should improve our skill level. Hopefully we can be competitive. It will be a tough ask to beat you guys, but if we put in a good performance and push you all the way then I will be happy.
Does anybody remember the "beat up" before the game that St Kilda were given leading into the 97 GF?
Of course you do. Remember how nobody (except the true believers) gave us a chance of beating them.
I reckon this game will be closer than you think.
Weve been touted as tall poppys all pre season which doesnt sit well with me. Id much prefer to be a well fed underdog...
:(
Still think we will win; but I get nervous when such glee and celebration abounds.
Macca the black book has cobwebs on it mate:D
In that case T J, the subjects of the entries in the black book may well have too!! :D
*Jars resists temptation to make joke about Topjars mother or sister*
:D :eek:
Joffaboy
4 Apr 2003, 13:01
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
St Kilda's forward line-up does look good, but we have a backline capable of holding them. However, I reckon our forward line has more of an edge on the Saints backs with our 3 talls. They may have 2 shift one of their forwards to cover Stevo/Carey/Perrie. But the bottom line in Colonial is midfield dominance, which I'm confident, particularly with our rucks giving us 1st use.
I think you are right Kane. The Crows do have the edge in their backline and ruck. This is where the game will be won. The Saints disposal coming out of defense lets them down all too often.
It looks a more balanced side with Hammil and Kosi, however the Crows have to start warm favourites.
Can Mcleod please have an off day for once against the Saints? Fantastic player but always tears us to shreads.
Oh BTW congrats Mark Bickley. A great achievement of 250 games.
Always thought Bickley was one of the cleanest players in the League (apart of the one out of character incident against Port last year). Seems like a very likable bloke as well.
He has done the AFC proud over the years.
Good luck tomorrow, heres hoping your team gets about 6 minor injuries (keeps them out of tomorrows game only) during the course of the game. My team may have a chance then ;)