View Full Version : Proposed New Captain and Leadership Group
Daytripper
25 Sep 2009, 14:55
There is a real off field leadership void at our club at the moment and truth be told it has been there all year. Welsh and Mcveigh don't cut it any more and Jobe just doesn't have enough s**t in him that makes the other players walk around scared.
Some of the younger players as a result have started to get a bit ahead of themselves and there has been no-one there to pull them up.
We need a captain and leadership group who the young group fear and respect.
My proposal would be :
Captain : Hille
Vice Captains : McPhee, Lovett-Murray, Stanton and Watson
Hille is one guy who is very impressive both on field and off field. If any of this Hurley stuff is true, he'd be one of the few guys to throw him against a locker and give him a few home truths. Ditto McPhee. These two guys make the others walk taller on the field and also demand instant respect off the field.
Lovett-Murray is an excellent role model for the indigineous guys and to his credit you hear barely a peep out of them which is a credit to his leadership.
Jobe can provide the on field leadership when needed. However he not ready to be Essendon captain in my book as there is so much more to it than on field stuff.
Stanton from all reports is a credit to himself and his work ethic cannot be questioned.
abers47
25 Sep 2009, 14:59
I am starting to agree - was a big fan for Jobe being captain, but especially with this Hurley issue, I think we need some experience in the leadership department. Maturity and a strong character definitely needed!
Boucks09
25 Sep 2009, 15:04
Good OP. It's certainly an issue we need to address ASAP.
I met both Hille and Watson when I was out last week and both were very impressive men. I got doughnuts from either when asking what was happening with Lovett....so they are both switched on.
Watson seems the obvious choice for captain, but Hille has been forgotten given his injury this season. If he had played I dare say he would've been the popular choice.
I mentioned in the other thread that Lloyd would've sorted this out with gusto, and I agree that Hille is the sort of bloke that would do the same. Remember his dad is a school principal.
I like the idea of having NLM in the group (assuming his case goes well), but he does set a bad example of getting reported too frequently. McPhee is an excellent leader both on and off the field and I feel will set a brilliant example for all players.
Winderlich and Hocking reek of leadership for me.
I'm not sold on Welsh and McVeigh but one should be in there.
For mine:
Captain: Hille/Watson (can't split)
Vice Captain: Hille/Watson (can't split)
Leadership Group: McPhee, Winderlich, Hocking, Welsh/McVeigh.
cooper6
25 Sep 2009, 15:05
I am starting to agree - was a big fan for Jobe being captain, but especially with this Hurley issue, I think we need some experience in the leadership department. Maturity and a strong character definitely needed!
Hurley issue? Please explain
eth-dog
25 Sep 2009, 15:07
C: Watson
VC: Hille, Welsh
LG: Monfries, Stanton, Winderlich
fishguts
25 Sep 2009, 15:11
Threads everywhere on it.
Basically he allegedly kicked and punched a Cabbie.
Daytripper
25 Sep 2009, 15:12
Winderlich and Hocking reek of leadership for me.
Definitely not.
eth-dog
25 Sep 2009, 15:12
Definitely not.
why not?
Hurley issue? Please explainhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=636891
Boucks09
25 Sep 2009, 15:15
Definitely not.
He is an outstanding role model off the field. Also at the age where his best football is ahead of him and has the experience to help younger guys coming back from injuries.
stay true
25 Sep 2009, 15:22
Not to mention the way Winders carries himself on the field. From what I've seen he's quite vocal on the field and isn't shy of telling his teammates where they should be etc. I've also met him a few times and he's a real nice genuine bloke. Level headed etc. Everytime I've seen him out at a pub/club he's never making a dick of himself like old mates Kepler Bradley and Courtney Johns used to on a regular basis lol.
Can definitely see him in the leadership group.
Ben the Gooner
25 Sep 2009, 15:27
We're at a point where we need a mature leader, and I'm not sure Watson has enough experience behind him. If Lloydy was to play on while relinquishing the captaincy, I'd support Watto, but as it is, I think we need someone a bit older.
To me, and this will shock some, the decision comes down to Hille, McVeigh and NLM. All are definitely leaders, and all have their pros and cons.
Hille seems the most mature and sensible of the three, but doesn't strike me as someone who will fly the Essendon flag when it needs to be flown.
McVeigh bleeds red and black more than anyone on our list, but needs to get his head screwed on. If our captain is seen out, pissed off his head, and misses a training session, then there's something seriously wrong.
NLM also bleeds red and black, and has a major role in mentoring the Indigenous lads, but has his on-field and off-field issues, as well as the question of whether he's in the 22 or not.
For me, it is either Hille or McVeigh, depending on how confident the club is on McVeigh behaving himself off-field.
Captain: Hille/McVeigh
Vice-Captain: Watson
Leadership Group: McVeigh/Hille, Welsh, McPhee, Stanton, NLM
DapperDon
25 Sep 2009, 15:33
Lol WTF?:D
GoldenboyHird_5
25 Sep 2009, 15:36
I'd back in Hilley to do the job.
Crichton medal speech spoke volumes of his determination and potential as a leader.
Although he did struggle on-field when Sheeds gave him the '06 captaincy...
Occawog
25 Sep 2009, 15:47
I think Hille is the man for the job. Watson is awesome, but i would like to see him concetrate on doing what he has been for a few more seasons before being capatain. I think Watson is perfect for the VC role.
As for the leadership group I think McPhee, McVeigh, NLM, Welsh
We don't know what Watson's like behind the scenes.
My impression is he'd be the type of leader that you'd want to follow. My last football coach was like this; he never put the fear into us, but he was such a good coach and nice guy that you would never play-up for 'fear' of letting him down.
Much like I imagine Hird was when he was our leader.
However, - and I know this wouldn't be a popular decision - I wouldn't be against co-captaincy with Hille and Watson. When Hille presumably retires in two or three years, Watson would be ready to assume sole leadership.
McVeigh and NLM are both too risky with their habit of getting suspended, as well as McVeigh's off-field dramas.
I fear Welsh won't command a spot in our best 22 for too much longer, which isn't a predicament you want at a club.
Why has no-one mentioned Patrick Ryder?
Ben the Gooner
25 Sep 2009, 16:22
Because he's not in the top 15 leaders at the club.
Paddy really needs to work on using his voice more on the field. Too many times I've seen players run down while he watches on, keeping mum.
Colin D'Cops
25 Sep 2009, 16:27
Certainly makes a lot of sense. I believe McPhee would be the perfect captain; and with the added responsibility, I think he'd find that AA form that we all loved.
Agree with Jobe; he's an excellent role model on the field, don't think everyone at the club has the up-most respect for him though off it.
aintplayin03
25 Sep 2009, 16:41
It's very encouraging to see NLM's name being thrown up amongst the likes of McVeigh, Watson and Hille. For me, he has evolved immensely this year, both as a player and a leader. He embodies what it is to be a passionate, die hard Essendon player- much like McVeigh.
BTG hit the nail on the head- he bleeds red and black. After this year, I'm starting to think he does so even more than McVeigh.
Unfortunately, I don't think we can give him such a high responsibility as captain. He is susceptible to being suspended a number of times a season, and this is just indicative of his character- he is willing to sacrifice his own welfare for the good of the team, and plays as one of very, very few enforcers we have in our current side. Nevertheless, we can't have a captain who is liable to missing 4 or 5 games a season through suspension.
McVeigh is much the same, although his obvious off field issues have only further damaged his chances at the captaincy. Take these away, and he would be absolutely perfect.
Personally, I would prefer the younger of the next two options- Jobe over Hille- purely because I see a young, long term captaincy as a very good thing for the club. If Watson becomes captain, he could hold the position for in excess of 7 or 8 years, and could potentially do wonders for our marketing, as well as improving his education as a player and providing us with a level headed, mature leader. Of course, Hille would provide much the same, although over a shorter period of time.
That being said, I think an aggressive captain would be inordinately valuable. Imagine McVeigh ripping out a confrontational, in your face speech in similar terms to that of his St. Kilda slamming last year, on a more regular basis. We could almost ensure that every player would be playing for him, and their own safety for that matter.
To conclude, I have no idea who should be our next captain. Hope I helped. :)
LOL:). In cooper6's defence he probably saw the thread '19 year Rosanna man in police custody' and thought so what.
kelvin_sheedy
25 Sep 2009, 17:46
Ryder should be added because it might be beneficial to his game.
Captain: Fletcher
Vice Captain: Hille and Watson
Tony Delaney
25 Sep 2009, 18:09
Hille is coming back from a knee reco so he has enough to worry about.
McVeigh probably ruined his chances, Welsh isn't a good enough player.
Watson should be our next captain.
Those mentioning NLM get real. Yes he has done a lot for indigenous people but in a strong team he probably wouldn't be in our best 22, isn't really much of a talker and still has some big hurdles to face.
bomberstomake8
25 Sep 2009, 18:15
i dont see the logic in saying that jobe isnt scary enough to be captain.
did anyone think hird was scary (arguably our greatest captain)?
i do think hille shows great leadership and could be a co-captain with jobe however i just think jobe has EFC written all over him
determined, hard worker, responsible, likeable, has the respect of the football world, great with the media
i think jobe is the next captain, whether that be a co-captain or the captain on his own
the fug
25 Sep 2009, 19:25
I fear Welsh won't command a spot in our best 22 for too much longer, which isn't a predicament you want at a club.[/quote]
Spot on.
Welsh is massively overated by most on these boards not to mention the coaching staff.Knights will get rid of Lovett one of the few skilfull midfielders that we have and leave a plodder like Welsh not only on our list but in our leadership group.
Watson or Hille for captain Stanton McPhee Ryder as the others in the leadership group.
Ludwig van Bertstare
25 Sep 2009, 19:34
Captain: Hurley
theboxmike
25 Sep 2009, 20:05
Hille to me in 08 pretty much carried us(maybe it was just me?) So i would consider him for my choice
cooper6
25 Sep 2009, 20:08
LOL:). In cooper6's defence he probably saw the thread '19 year Rosanna man in police custody' and thought so what.
Haha why thank you for the support!
I scanned up and down the titles looking for a 'Hurley charged' etc, hence the question.
danielcan
25 Sep 2009, 20:55
Hille has already demonstrated his credentials - the year he was acting. He did a great job.
bipolarbeaR
25 Sep 2009, 22:02
Captain: Hurley
No way, the team will never be able to get public transport again!:eek:
nighthawk
25 Sep 2009, 23:57
I fear Welsh won't command a spot in our best 22 for too much longer, which isn't a predicament you want at a club.
Spot on.
Welsh is massively overated by most on these boards not to mention the coaching staff.Knights will get rid of Lovett one of the few skilfull midfielders that we have and leave a plodder like Welsh not only on our list but in our leadership group.
Watson or Hille for captain Stanton McPhee Ryder as the others in the leadership group.
As I was reading through your post I was thinking to myself "wow, I thought I was starting to recognise all the bomber posters whose opinions you can ignore because they get caught up in ignorant controversies." Then I realised you're a Newbie and that explained everything.
Now where did I leave that list...
p.s I'm referring both to your massive criticism of Welsh and moreso your line implying that Knights is getting rid of Lovett. Well, not so much implying it as moronically saying it.
FandangoDingo
26 Sep 2009, 00:01
Hutchy? Is that you??
King Of The Hille
26 Sep 2009, 00:31
We should take a punt and make spike the captain. This bloke loves EFC more than anyone else at the club.
Giving him the added responsibility of being the leader of the group would be exactly what this club needs. He is not scared to express his opinion and im sure that he would have given that bloke hurley a decent spray.
Captain : McVeigh
Leadership : Watson,welsh,hille,stanton
SirJimi05
26 Sep 2009, 04:55
You were a big fan of Jobe Watson until Michael Hurley went out during the off season, got himself platered, and proceeded to make a dick of himself and get himself into trouble? I think i've heard it all now!!!
I'm sure Matty Lloyd with have used his special jedi powers to foil the actions of Hurley. :rolleyes:
I'm not sure how much you actually know about Jobe Watson but he commands respect. He was given on field addresses to the players in 2006 when Hille was captain! When he talks the players listen. He is a role model for all players off the field. He is agreat human being.
Strong character needed he says. How bout we give Spike the captaincy, he knows how to talk the talk and come accross as a strong character. Is that the sort of leadership you really want to see at our club?
SirJimi05
26 Sep 2009, 05:05
We should take a punt and make spike the captain. This bloke loves EFC more than anyone else at the club.
Giving him the added responsibility of being the leader of the group would be exactly what this club needs. He is not scared to express his opinion and im sure that he would have given that bloke hurley a decent spray.
Captain : McVeigh
Leadership : Watson,welsh,hille,stanton
I can just see it now:
Spike (c): Hurls, you've really let yourself down, mate. I know your young but your an AFL footballer and you need to keep that in mind before you go out and get yourself plastered.
Hurley: I'm sorry skip but...
Spike (c): No buts Michael! I will not toerate this sort of behavior when i'm in charge!
Hurley: Don't you think you're being a tad hypocritical? You are not young and was a leader of the club when you decided to go out on a massive bender in the middle of the season and as a result missed a very important recovery session, right at a time when we needed you the most.
Spike (c): Err, ummm....Don't backchat to me Michael! Get your act together. Now piss off out of my sight!
hugorune
26 Sep 2009, 05:09
I'd make Jobe and Hille co-captains.
sportingbrisbano
26 Sep 2009, 08:50
Captain - Watson - Gives him an opportunity to be a 5 year captain (which hopefully sees us moving into our premiership window with an experienced captain), is probably our best player at the moment, speaks well in the media and obviously is son of a champ.
Vice Captain - Hille - Unlucky that Watson passed him in this last year and also has questions over coming back from the knee. If fit and in form is huge for us and displays great onfield leadership.
Vice Captain - Fletcher - Has been the leader of the backline for years, and now w/o Lloyd, Hird etc we need Fletch and his premiership experience in the leadership group. Really hope he gets a VC gig and plays for another 2 years - true champion.
Leadership Group - McVeigh/McPhee - pick one of them for continuities sake, but one of these guys should be removed. Best football appears to behind both of them and unfortunately I have more memories of them stuffing up over the last year rather than starring. Spike should go back and become our #1 back pocket, where he could make a huge difference and prepare us for the loss of Fletch. McPhee has frustrated me for a number of years as he seems to have all the tools to be great but suffers from incredible brain fades, however on the positive he shows leadership, runs and tries all day.
Leadership Group - Paddy Ryder - amongst the mad rantings of Kevin S this year he did mention Paddy should be our next captain, and while I don't go that far I think the way he stood up this year pretty much on his own is worthy of the LG. Gives his all and for a big guy is a great tackler and his ANZAC day speeh shows he bleeds red & black.
Leadership Group - Lovett-Murray - saw someone else suggested him and have to agree. Have been a supporter for some time while other supporters have maligned him, so was very happy with his form this year when he really lifted his game and was integral in most of our really big wins. Gives us toughness over the ground which we desperately need (loved his bump on Brown) so I can put up with a couple of suspensions. tried his guts out in the ruck in the EF and despite being a foot smaller wasn't our worst - shows determination.
Young Leaders - Tayte Pears - I think this guys has leadership all over him. Shows tremendous poise and maturity out of the backline, played on some of the biggest names this year and on the whole won more often than lost. Seems to command the respect of his team.
Young Leaders - Michael Hurley - Forgetting about the taxi incident he looks like a leader and has already shown he can step up on teh biggest stage. Now he just needs to put his head down play some good footy & arrange for a designated driver. He would have to be in plans for captain after Watson.
Young Leaders - Heath Hocking - Not 100% convinced he will be a great player for us but now he will give a 100%. He is a tough inside midfielder that we need to support Jobe and if he can get some more run is legs could become our Cameron Ling.
windyhill
26 Sep 2009, 10:19
Hille, definite No.1 pick from me, Jobe as his deputy. He needs mongrel Jobe. God that term "leadership group" sickens me.
Houli Class1
26 Sep 2009, 12:17
Co- Captains : Watson and Mcveigh
Vice: David Hille
Leadership Group : Ryder Winderlich Welsh McPhee
abers47
26 Sep 2009, 12:48
You were a big fan of Jobe Watson until Michael Hurley went out during the off season, got himself platered, and proceeded to make a dick of himself and get himself into trouble? I think i've heard it all now!!!
I'm sure Matty Lloyd with have used his special jedi powers to foil the actions of Hurley. :rolleyes:
I'm not sure how much you actually know about Jobe Watson but he commands respect. He was given on field addresses to the players in 2006 when Hille was captain! When he talks the players listen. He is a role model for all players off the field. He is agreat human being.
Strong character needed he says. How bout we give Spike the captaincy, he knows how to talk the talk and come accross as a strong character. Is that the sort of leadership you really want to see at our club?
Being a great human being does not necessarily make you a great leader. I do know a bit about Jobe actually and despite what you say, think that Hille would be a great leader. David is a sensational speaker and does command respect. Jobe will definitely be captain of Essendon, but not sure if he is ready yet.....
abers47
26 Sep 2009, 12:49
..........and I am still a great fan of Jobe!
Jobe.. JOBE.. JOBE
Lenny hayes? :P
SirJimi05
26 Sep 2009, 17:44
..........and I am still a great fan of Jobe!
abers47 - "I was a great fan of Jobe bring captain until the Hurley issue......"
Pathetic reasoning to be honest. Absolutely pathetic.
mojon95
26 Sep 2009, 18:47
C: Watson
VC: Hille and McVeigh
LG: Ryder (is a great leader, and can carry a team, like he did on anzac day. He has great hunger and although is quiet, i think he is not like that in the rooms.), Prismall, Welsh, Monfries, Fletcher (just because of experience really).
abers47
26 Sep 2009, 19:02
.........will be interesting, what combination they come up with. Think that in the future, Tatye Pears will definitely be part of the leadership group -already showing skills in the defensive area!
mojon95
26 Sep 2009, 19:07
.........will be interesting, what combination they come up with. Think that in the future, Tatye Pears will definitely be part of the leadership group -already showing skills in the defensive area!
Is it just me that thinks Fletcher should be in it? He is our last remaining 1993 Premiership player, he has been in a successful rebuilding phase in that year as a youngster, and was in a very similar position to what most of our players are in now.
abers47
26 Sep 2009, 19:11
True - would like to see him part of our future as well as our history!
Shimmer
26 Sep 2009, 20:18
New captain should definetely be Jobe Watson, as for the rest of the leadership group go with McVeigh, Monfries, Winderlich, Fletcher, Lonergan, Ryder and Hille. Good Balance of experience and blokes who have been made to earn their spot
nighthawk
27 Sep 2009, 01:13
Being a great human being does not necessarily make you a great leader. I do know a bit about Jobe actually and despite what you say, think that Hille would be a great leader. David is a sensational speaker and does command respect. Jobe will definitely be captain of Essendon, but not sure if he is ready yet.....
Think you're missing the point mate. You said you were happy with Watson until this Hurley thing. That is very poor reasoning. Fevola is a tool, is Judd therefore unfit for the captaincy? Either you had good reasons for wanting Jobe to be captain, in which case nothing should have changed, or you were just going with the crowd and had no personal understanding of why Jobe would make a good captain.
Im thinking we decide late in the season. and if hes going to be 100% match fit. brent prizzy.
dont ask me why, but this guy stands out :)
The Donners
27 Sep 2009, 11:38
Jobe can grow into the role much like his young studs are growing with each other! ;)
I would've had McVeigh before his indiscretion and Hille before his knee reco, I'd like him to focus on himself as much as the team.
MikeHurley
27 Sep 2009, 11:40
Captain: McVeigh
with Hille, Watson, Winderlich, Welsh
abers47
27 Sep 2009, 11:51
Think you're missing the point mate. You said you were happy with Watson until this Hurley thing. That is very poor reasoning. Fevola is a tool, is Judd therefore unfit for the captaincy? Either you had good reasons for wanting Jobe to be captain, in which case nothing should have changed, or you were just going with the crowd and had no personal understanding of why Jobe would make a good captain.
Not going with the crowd and I still think Jobe will make a good captain, but with the loss of experience this year in Lloyd & Lucas, I have started to change my thinking to maybe it is a bit soon. But I am very happy to be proved wrong!
nighthawk
27 Sep 2009, 13:37
Not going with the crowd and I still think Jobe will make a good captain, but with the loss of experience this year in Lloyd & Lucas, I have started to change my thinking to maybe it is a bit soon. But I am very happy to be proved wrong!
Right, it's just you gave a very different reason earlier. We can pretend you didn't say it though to save you the embarassment ;)
Captain: Jobe Watson
VC: David Hille
DVC: Adam McPhee, NLM, Mark McVeigh, Brent Prismall and Andrew Welsh
SydneyBomber
27 Sep 2009, 18:56
Certainly makes a lot of sense. I believe McPhee would be the perfect captain; and with the added responsibility, I think he'd find that AA form that we all loved.
wow - I seriously disagree with this one!
don't think that he should be in the leadership group in any form let alone be captain to be honest - he's just not up to it, and a symptom of the mediocrity of the last 5 years that we are trying to get away from.
the hille/watson co-captain combo is intriguing though.
Fairybread
27 Sep 2009, 19:39
Captain: Watson
Vice: Hille
Hille did a great job as acting captain. But, I read or heard somewhere that Hille isnt a 'people' person and that he is quite introverted and a bit of a loner. Not that this is a bad thing (i'm like that too). The problem is people like this often focus on their needs 1st e.g preparing for a game by sitting quietly in a corner listening to music as opposed to talking to the other players etc.
That said, I'm not an insider at the club and I have no idea who it is that the players look up to and listen to and want to follow...if that person is Watson, Hille, McVeigh or an 18 year old Still only they can know.
C:Hille
Vc: Watson
Purely because not many Ruckman can match it with Hille when hes at his best (provided he comes backfrom his reco properly).
We all know Watson can almost be considered elite, but he has to virtually carry the essendon midfield at times and that plus captaincy would almost kill him
nighthawk
27 Sep 2009, 22:25
Not intended as a dig at the idea, but just wondering why people are keen on co-captaincy?
table tennis
28 Sep 2009, 09:10
C: Jobe Watson
VC: David Hille
DVC: Brent Prismall, Jason Winderlich
People might raise their eyes at Priz being included. But the club thinks pretty highly of him. He was in the young leadership group without playing a game for the bombers.
Dont be surprised if he will be VC to Jobe in years to come.
Slattery_20
28 Sep 2009, 09:59
Wouldn't be surprised to see Ricky D in there somewhere. Would be just reward for his improvements this year
Just wondering what people's opinions are now on the leadership group and captain. In that the recent bs about Welsh and McPhee, and also the fact that the Hurley incident is not so fresh in our minds.
Who was in the leadership group this year? From memory it was:
Captain: Lloyd
Leadership Group: Watson, Hille, McVeigh, McPhee, Welsh
I think that was it, but correct me if I am wrong.
If that is correct, that frees up 1 spot in the leadership group, as 1 will become captain. I wouldn't want the LG to get too big, as that will just eventually defeat the purpose.
Next year I would like to see:
Leadership Group: Hille, McVeigh, McPhee, Welsh and Stanton.
I chose Stanton as he is one of the more experienced players in the team [games played wise] and I think that the extra responsibility would take him to that next level.
Would also consider NLM, but his ability to get suspended, and the fact that by the end of 2009 he may not be in our best 22 work against him. But I really like the guy and he brings experience with him, not to mention the fact that he would be a role model for the other Indigenous players in the team.
Also I would think that by next years end all of Winderlich, Dyson and Monfries would be pushing for a role in the LG. But I feel that they each need another solid year to push for selection. Obviously there is Fletcher, but I think he is more suited to a role in the background as he is a quiet type of fellow, plus let him enjoy his next 15 years of footy without too much responsibility.:) Also Ryder, but too quiet for the role I think.
Only concern with what I propose is that effectively only McPhee doesn't play in the midfield. Even if McVeigh was to go back to the back pocket, there will be nobody from the forward line in the leadership group, I think there should be. Obviously not a necessity unless they deserve it. Which is why I think one of Monfries or Williams will come into it in 2011. I wouldn't mind another backman in it, possibly Pears... Much man love for Tayte. But let him get some experience.
But enough of my ramblings, has anybodies thoughts changed since their last proposal?
Not sure what I see when I look at Stanton in terms of leadership. At times he looks like a leader in the midfield but other times a bystander.
I believe the leadership group should be as follows:
Vice-Captain: Hille
Deputy Vice-Captains: Mcveigh, NLM
Leadership Group (above plus the following)
Stanton
Winderlich
Welsh (pending re-signing)
Mcphee (pending re-signing)
If neither re-sign then fck em, we'll keep the leadership group at six
I see the likes of Lonergan, Prismall and Dempsey making their way into that group within the next 3 years.
Sticking with that.
centrelink1
11 Nov 2009, 22:10
Wouldn't be keen on a leadership group myself. One captain.
I'm pretty sure every team has a leadership group mate. Ranging from the up and coming players to the more experienced to act as a back up in support of the captain.
FWIW I think Watson fully deserves captaincy as he exemplifies all the traits a leader should possess. He's a cool, calm character, but the way he plays his footy shows he isn't scared of being tough and showing the youngsters the way.
Ok, I am going to propose a leadership group.
Here goes nothing.
Captain:
David Hille - One of the most experience players at the club, still got plenty of footy left in him, only downside is him coming back from a knee reconstruction. I think he has a perfect presence both on the field and off it. Has had the opportunity before and did a more than reasonable job back then too.
Vice Captain:
Jobe Watson - The peoples choice, I dont think he will get it just yet, but he certainly does hold himself very very well. Would be a good opportunity for him, would not have to change anything as he had some time in the media light last year as fill in skipper at times.
Leadership Group:
Brent Stanton: One of the best trainers at the club and one of the most respected (from all repors). Has been in the system a while now and is really starting to get his game together, I think it is just reward for the hard working kid from the Northern Knights.
Nathan Lovett-Murray: One of the most revered players at Windy Hill, he rapidly improved this year and I imagine would be in our best 22. He has showed real character in the wake of all the drugs scandals and is still giving his hand to the indigenous kids coming through.
Dustin Flecther: An old hand, but a wise head. What more do you have to say, with a plight of youngsters in the squad an old head would be more than worht its value.
Tayte Pears: I am again putting this to the people. He showed this how highly we rate him, showing class, poise and maturity far beyond his years. One memory vividly sticks out this year. An Essendon team mate was being man handled, Tayte stepped in, split the situation up whilst holding his own, then moving back to position once the indiscretion was done and dusted.
There you guys, what do you think about this leadership group. Do you think that we could even go for the old Co-Captain deal, having David Hille and Jobe Watson as joint leaders?
Firstly, no co-captains.
Secondly, Pears can join Dyson on the list with Dempsey, Lonergan and maybe Prismall as leaders-in-waiting.
Despite Welsh having half a foot out the door, I still think he should have a leadership position. Questionable over Mcphee, who looks like he might be gone anyway, and Winderlich most definitely deserves a spot.
Fletcher I initially thought of but what's the point. He only fills up a leadership position that may be used to promote a younger guy to push himself harder to be a leader at the club and Fletcher is already a spiritual leader of sorts. Leave the great man out. I'm sure he wouldn't mind.
table tennis
12 Nov 2009, 08:23
Ok, I am going to propose a leadership group.
Here goes nothing.
Captain:
David Hille - One of the most experience players at the club, still got plenty of footy left in him, only downside is him coming back from a knee reconstruction. I think he has a perfect presence both on the field and off it. Has had the opportunity before and did a more than reasonable job back then too.
Vice Captain:
Jobe Watson - The peoples choice, I dont think he will get it just yet, but he certainly does hold himself very very well. Would be a good opportunity for him, would not have to change anything as he had some time in the media light last year as fill in skipper at times.
Leadership Group:
Brent Stanton: One of the best trainers at the club and one of the most respected (from all repors). Has been in the system a while now and is really starting to get his game together, I think it is just reward for the hard working kid from the Northern Knights.
Nathan Lovett-Murray: One of the most revered players at Windy Hill, he rapidly improved this year and I imagine would be in our best 22. He has showed real character in the wake of all the drugs scandals and is still giving his hand to the indigenous kids coming through.
Dustin Flecther: An old hand, but a wise head. What more do you have to say, with a plight of youngsters in the squad an old head would be more than worht its value.
Tayte Pears: I am again putting this to the people. He showed this how highly we rate him, showing class, poise and maturity far beyond his years. One memory vividly sticks out this year. An Essendon team mate was being man handled, Tayte stepped in, split the situation up whilst holding his own, then moving back to position once the indiscretion was done and dusted.
There you guys, what do you think about this leadership group. Do you think that we could even go for the old Co-Captain deal, having David Hille and Jobe Watson as joint leaders?
I think this happens 1000 times over a weekend, and surely would need a fair bit more than that point alone to be subject to the leadership group.
Dont get me wrong, I love Tayte. His chance will come, but he is probably 2-4 years away from it. The kid is only 20!
Mcphee, Welsh & McVeigh should continue to be leaders around the club, but it might be time to step down and give some of the other Bombers a chance, after all, none of them are going to be our next captain.
I think this happens 1000 times over a weekend, and surely would need a fair bit more than that point alone to be subject to the leadership group.
Dont get me wrong, I love Tayte. His chance will come, but he is probably 2-4 years away from it. The kid is only 20!
Mcphee, Welsh & McVeigh should continue to be leaders around the club, but it might be time to step down and give some of the other Bombers a chance, after all, none of them are going to be our next captain.
Young, well posied, sticking his neck out for his team mates. All good attributes to a good young leader. Just my two cents worth though :thumbsu:
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/new-role-for-fletch-at-windy-hill--onfield-leader-20091129-jyuq.html
Fletch, Watson, Mcveigh, Welsh, Hille and Stanton. Not yet confirmed but it seems like it's been settled.
Ben the Gooner
30 Nov 2009, 10:12
That surprises me a lot tbh.
Fletch has always been a "do as I do" kind of leader, not an "in your face" Spike kind of leader.
The fact that he sought a leadership position for the first time in a while suggests that he feels that there's a dearth of leadership, given McPhee, Lucas and Lloyd's departure, and that he's willing to stick around to cover for it. I imagine he'll play on in 2011 if his body holds up as well.
I ****ing love this bloke.
Fletch has been a leader for at least the last couple of years now and he's been enjoying his mentoring. We may as well make him an official leader.
Good luck to him.
mark1881
30 Nov 2009, 11:00
That seems about right, let the young kids concentrate on their footy and let the older experienced heads worry about leading the team.
A leader in the backline.
A ruckman.
And midfielders.
Shows how important picking up Mark Williams was for some leadership in the forward line! Hopefully his fit and firing.
Wahooti Fandango
30 Nov 2009, 11:06
Great to see Fletcher get an 'official' leadership position. I am a little surpised and perhaps annoyed that McVeigh is retained in the leadership group after his antics in 2009. I would have preferred to have seen maybe Winders or NLM (despite the incident with the drugs that probably had nothing to do with him personally) included instead of McVeigh.
Ludwig van Bertstare
30 Nov 2009, 11:11
I've got a feeling McVeigh will be named captain.
Ben the Gooner
30 Nov 2009, 11:25
Same, and tbh, I wouldn't be disappointed.
Wahooti Fandango
30 Nov 2009, 11:44
I hope not as the man is an ass (at least off the field). Jobe would be a far better captain.
Ludwig van Bertstare
30 Nov 2009, 11:51
I hope not as the man is an ass (at least off the field). Jobe would be a far better captain.
I don't know what he's like off field, but from what I've heard he's a douche but I just don't like him, never have.
I've got a feeling that if Jobe was named captain then Mcveigh would be gutted.
I've also got a feeling that if Mcveigh was named captain then Jobe would be like "meh ... i can do what i like on sunday nights" lol.
Skeeta Olly
30 Nov 2009, 14:00
I don't know what he's like off field, but from what I've heard he's a douche but I just don't like him, never have.
Saying he's arrogant off-field could been seen as an understatement.
centrelink1
30 Nov 2009, 14:35
I wish I hadn't known that about McVeigh. Why do they let him on the Footy Show?
Oh Tayteridge
30 Nov 2009, 14:58
I'm bitterly disappointed that NLM wasn't included in the leadership group.
Any negatives that one may attribute to Lovett-Murrays potential leadership possibilities are considerably less severe than the likes of McVeigh in terms of off and on field indiscretions.
If potential borderline selection status is the issue, then Welsh would seem to be faced with just as pressing a consideration.
The fact is, however, that NLM is a proven on and off field leader, and bleeds for this club just as much as McVeigh- which really says something. It's pretty appalling to see his absence from this leadership group IMO.
Any negatives that one may attribute to Lovett-Murrays potential leadership possibilities are considerably less severe than the likes of McVeigh in terms of off and on field indiscretions.
If potential borderline selection status is the issue, then Welsh would seem to be faced with just as pressing a consideration.
The fact is, however, that NLM is a proven on and off field leader, and bleeds for this club just as much as McVeigh- which really says something. It's pretty appalling to see his absence from this leadership group IMO.
Completely agree. NLM was one of the first names that came to mind when thinking about potential new candidates for a leadership role. Quite disappointed the indigenous leader at our club couldn't win a spot.
Wahooti Fandango
30 Nov 2009, 16:13
100% agree.
Skeeta Olly
30 Nov 2009, 16:22
Possibly waiting for the drug story to blow over.
sportingbrisbano
30 Nov 2009, 17:03
I have been arguing with my mate over NLM all season & agree 100% tha he should be in the leadership group. I would also think with the outs this year he will be one of the first names on the sheet.
Ludwig van Bertstare
30 Nov 2009, 17:19
Saying he's arrogant off-field could been seen as an understatement.
Oh I know for sure he's arrogant but just the way he's treated some supporters isn't ideal for a captain I don't think.
Then again it's all hearsay so I don't want to judge.
Skeeta Olly
30 Nov 2009, 17:56
Oh I know for sure he's arrogant but just the way he's treated some supporters isn't ideal for a captain I don't think.
Then again it's all hearsay so I don't want to judge.
I've seen him a few times/said G'Day, and the looks I get from him, I'd rather not have a chat to him.
Dempsey and a few others on the other hand, are quite approachable.
You just get that feeling with McVeigh, don't **** with me.
Pevers-Legend
30 Nov 2009, 18:01
Captains don't miss training becasue they are out late drinking with a mate the night before training.
Says it all. The fact he is the leadership group surprises me a bit.
Fletch got punished far worse earlier this decade for on-field indiscretions.
Watson Captain, Hille VC.
Do we really want a Captain who can;t even control his temper on the field?
Beerfish
30 Nov 2009, 23:23
Equally surprised by the NLM exclusion and I echo all the previous sentiment.
FWIW I'd really love to see Hille get the big job but coming back after a knee as well is probably more pressure than he needs right now.
It's a bit of a tough one really.
danielcan
3 Dec 2009, 19:48
Well, I've made a bet at work with another Bombers supporter (MCC member so not actually a financial member of EFC like me).
$10 that McVeigh is appointed.
Beerfish
3 Dec 2009, 21:12
You're a financial member of us but support Brisbane?
Ben the Gooner
4 Dec 2009, 07:33
You're a financial member of us but support Brisbane?
He's explained this before but basically he supported Essendon until Brisbane became his local team. Now he supports both.
Runknisse
4 Dec 2009, 07:59
Equally surprised by the NLM exclusion and I echo all the previous sentiment.
FWIW I'd really love to see Hille get the big job but coming back after a knee as well is probably more pressure than he needs right now.
So would I.:thumbsu:
Get off Spikes back...
Goes into bat for the team all the time, says what needs to be said, is loved and respected at the club. He is the player to lead the boys over the next few years. Jobe can take up vice captaincy, hone his skills and then take over when the time is right.
As for NLM, some players don't like the spot light and prefer not to take up leadership roles, doesn't mean they are not a leader at the club.
And as for players not being to friendly when out and about, do you blame them? Who can you trust these days when buddy gets whacked at a nightclub, and dyson gets bashed heading to a taxi?
Don't be surprised to see henry slattery and priz in the leadership group for next year.
The captain will be picked from... McVeigh, Hille, Watson and Welsh
With the others notable leaders being... Fletch, Slatters, Priz and Winder
Pie 4 Life
4 Dec 2009, 09:58
As an outsider I would have thought Watson was a shoe in, especially after he was included with the Burgoyne chat. Obviously as many have said its out of him and McVeigh, but I reckon he'll get it.
Boucks09
4 Dec 2009, 17:15
I'm surprised that nobody has mentioned Stanton's inclusion in the group. It is amazing how a player of his age and proven performances continues to fly under the radar with the majority of supporters. Along with Jobe he has carried our midfield through a pretty bleak period and now has progressed from being called 'Humphrey' due to his quiet nature to being by far the youngest member of our small leadership group.
FWIW I think Hille should be captain. The pressure coming back from the knee will be significantly reduced as he will no longer (touch wood) have to single-handedly hold all the ruck duties. If he can pinch hit both in the ruck and upforward he would be an awesome impact player and great on-field leader.
Spike might be loved and talk the talk but you can't have a captain who loses his cool all the time on field and has priors off field - especially with a young list of Gen Y's who already think they are God's gift to the world.
BringBackCransberg
7 Dec 2009, 00:38
In this (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/seven-in-race-to-be-essendon-bombers-skipper/story-e6frf9jf-1225807140258) article (dated 4/12/09) Knights says there are 7 players still in the running to become skipper.
The six players mentioned in the earlier post (Hille, McVeigh, Welsh, Watson, Stanton, Fletcher) plus Lovett-Murray? Ryder? Zaharakis (with ensuing betting scandal)??
Boucks09 is totally right re: Stanton. He needs a flashier name/haircut/playing style or something. He ran, on average, 150m for every minute he played in 2009 (source: Bomber Magazine yearbook). Underrated workhorse - not many 23-year-old workhorses out there. He's got a lot to improve on, but for what he is and what he's done - he's a f****** champ. (Not yet yet a champion, though.)
Knight Ryders
11 Dec 2009, 07:37
If Hille hadn't of injured his knee, he'd just about have it in the bag. Although he'd probably take it on, he doesn't need the added pressure of being captain when returning from serious knee surgery.
Watson is going to be captain of the club, it's just a matter of when. May as well be now, just after a career best season. I think he has a bit of Tom Harley about him. Great humility, obvious intelligence, likeable character and natural leadership skills.