View Full Version : The Brisbane LIONS board issue (the non-abusive thread)
Mr Ripper
26 Feb 2001, 09:40
Right.
The 'change the name of the board to Brisbane Lions' idea came from Olmy several days ago now. A sound and reasonable suggestion in my opinion. Danni promptly emailed this idea to Bluey who gave an abrupt "NO. No reason to change." type of reply. End of story.
I'm guessing Bluey's rationale for that stance would be along the lines of 'All the other boards are known as the Carlton board, Collingwood board, Essendon board, etc, why should Brisbane be any different?'; a train of thought several posters on this board seem to have adopted.
Sounds fair enough on the surface, unfortunately however, it is ill-informed and wrong!
The facts are that we are different to every other team in the AFL because we are a merged club. Two clubs became one; thus our official playing name - the "Brisbane Lions".
OK, it might be a bit pedantic, and it is Bluey's board, but I reckon it would be good PR for the big cheese to put aside his anti-Fitzroy bias for once and change the board name to "Brisbane Lions".
Having said all that, I'm happy to abide by the umpy's decision - ignorant as it is.
------------------
"Thanks for fixing my chair, George!"
Mobbenfuhrer
26 Feb 2001, 09:50
It may be that it can't be done without losing all the current threads.
The title of a new thread cannot be changed, the whole thread has to be restarted, losing any existing posts.
Perhaps that is the case for changing the title of an entire board, too?
In which case, it would be fair to baulk at it.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
lioness
26 Feb 2001, 09:57
That's a good point. My thinking on the matter is that I thought our official name was the 'Brisbane Lions' which is why I wanted to see the board name changed. It depends on how much messing around there would be to do that, eg. as Mobbenfuhrer said, losing all our existing threads.
------------------
*the one and only lioness*
FunkyBlue
26 Feb 2001, 16:31
I hope my response to this doesn't fall into the "abusive" catagory, but I can't see anything wrong with the name of the board. I think it should remain the way it is.
I don't think that Bluey is "anti-Fitzroy" or ignorant just because he doesn't wish to change the name of this board. There is obviously is a format to the way that Bluey, or the powers that be, wish to have to board layed out. People must respect that, reguardless how wrong it is thought to be.
I empathise with Fitzroy supporters who feel that they are not getting recognition by having the word "Lions" included in the name of the board, and, I realise our situation is different, that being a club as a result of a merger, and that our "OFFICIAL" playing name is The Brisbane Lions, but this is not an "OFFICIAL" football website, so when it comes down to it, they don't have to abide to any regulations set by the AFL.
To add, just as a point of interest, the scoreboard at the Gabba when, displaying the score, always reads "Lions", and I, in no way feel as I am being short changed or cheated because the word "Brisbane" doesn't appear along side it.
Lucky we aren't playing footy.If you disagree with the umpires decision and continue to verablise you get 50 metres.
Bluey has spoken.Lets agree to disagree folks.
lioness
27 Feb 2001, 06:49
Definitely, Bluey has spoken and that's fine and all, but I like how everyone is discussing the issue in a calm manner, I am still curious to see what everyone else thinks. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif Just out of curiosity, you know.
------------------
If the worst thing that can happen via including the name "Lions" in our board title is for all of the threads to die, then I am still all for changing the title of our board.
The topics can easliy be started again - besides most discussions die after a few days anyway.
The main issue here, is that people are still calling the club the 'Bears'. I am not against the Bears, but were are not the Bears. There are even people on this site calling us the 'Bears'. Personally, I believe changing the title of the board to Brisbane Lions will help to reduce this level of ignorance.
I don't see why people object to the change. Ask yourself "is the change negative?", "am I likely to be affected in a negative manner?". If the answer is no, then why are you people still against us changing the title of the board? http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif
Originally posted by Olmy:
Ask yourself "is the change negative?", "am I likely to be affected in a negative manner?". If the answer is no, then why are you people still against us changing the title of the board? http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif
Olmy, I think there are more questions that people are asking themselves on top of those. And one of them would be "what is their motivation for wanting the name change?", another "why is it such an issue for some and not for others?".
And there is a one word answer to both those questions, in some peoples minds.
It is just another issue being pushed to the limit that is going to follow the 'we want recognition' and 'why should we give them more' arguements. I can see that coming a mile away.
Well Danni, if you are asking me if I want more recognition, then I'll say YES! Recognition as a supporter of the Brisbane Lions. However, I truly don't see this as being the issue. I mean, look at the people who are asking for this - they're all Brisbane Lions supporters.
Besides, perhaps if things like this are done, then we won't have to ask for them anymore, will we! The facts are, some things like this are not done, and some of us aren't prepared to sit back and suck on it. Why we are alienated for doing so, is beyond me (and I'm not saying that you, personally, are doing that Danni).
The issue is, that the board being named as "Brisbane Board", does nothing to help dispell the ignorance of others in calling us the Bears.
If people wish to discuss the Bears, that's fine! But as you've seen yourself, there are people even on this site who call as the Bears.
Similarly, what message does the name "Brisbane Board" send to those who are just coming around to the prospect of supporting the club? True, the club is not involved in this particular case - however, constant references to the Brisbane Lions that fail to include "Lions" or correct stats (whether that be in the media, or wherever), only serve to act as a sour taste in the mouths of Victorians (and perhaps Qld'ers too).
You can bet that when the HS does it's report on the Brisbane Lions over the next few weeks, that it will quote stats dating back into the Bears years. To me, that only leaves me feeling let down. This same feeling occurs when I see references to our club that pay little recognition to the fact that we are just as much Lions, as we are Brisbane.
After all, you argue about people wanting recognition - well, what's so wrong with wanting to be recognised for who we actually are? We are not even asking for something 'new' to be conceived! Just for a small change.
Similarly, the inclusion of the word 'Lions' is only a positive step - hardly negative. Something which I thought every Brisbane Lions supporter would have agreed upon.
Surely it is something like this that can unify people.
Anyway, if the decision is no, then, just as the others, I'll put up with it. Although, I will say, that it will still be an issue for me (even if I decide not to post about it), just as it will for other Brisbane Lions supporters.
Olmy I told you the decision was "NO" a week ago!
Bluey made his decision a week ago, and all the talking (typing) till people are blue in the face is not likely to change his mind. If anything, it is going to make him more steadfast in his decision.
btw - I didn't say that it was my perception - I was just using your methadology and applying to the 'other camp'.
Just remember that ex-Bears supporters find it just as insulting to be called the 'Bears' now, as do the Fitzroy component.
But surely - changing the name of the board isn't going to dissuade the component of other posters on this site from calling us the Bears, they mean it as an insult, and they are now getting the reaction they hoped for. The renaming of the board is not going to stop that element from using the term 'Bears' simply to get peoples backs up!
Its not a reaction to dim-witted supporters Danni - its just the way many (I included) believe the club should be represented. As a union of the BRISBANE (Bears) and the (Fitzroy) LIONS. I know you don't have any control over this, however.
lioness
27 Feb 2001, 20:52
Originally posted by Denno:
Its not a reaction to dim-witted supporters Danni - its just the way many (I included) believe the club should be represented. As a union of the BRISBANE (Bears) and the (Fitzroy) LIONS. I know you don't have any control over this, however.
Exactly right, Denno!!!!!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif Couldn't have put it better myself. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------