View Full Version : Hi Everyone

Daphne
28 Feb 2001, 05:45
I hope you take this post with all the best intentions. I have been reading through some of your posts recently and cant help but be concerned (and I mean that) for everyone of you, who just wants to enjoy watching your football team this year. the politics of football can be self destructing to the supporter little own his/her team. As you know the Kangas are in for a hard year this year, and if we (the supporters) dont stick together through this then we would be in far worse trouble than we are now. We have our differences and then we get over it. You cant live with someone or come home to someone if you are just going to argue everytime you meet. I would not look forward to coming in here each day and having to read of all the unrest that goes on in here, and if you have young ones looking to read something about your club then it is hardly encouraging them to come and join in. Football is for enjoying, and that is what you should all be doing instead of all the in fighting, how the hell are you going to enjoy the game if you keep this up. Anyway from a fanatiacal football supporter I hope that you can get over this so that you can get on with the season and good luck. I will probably delete this post before the day is out, just because I feel like I am intruding, but I want some of you to read it.

lioness
28 Feb 2001, 06:11
Daphne, your opinion is welcome here, please leave your post as is. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif I think the main problem here is that some issues are just WAY too emotive, we all get swept up in emotion and rational thinking sometimes flies out the door. Personally, none of this would affect me if I met any of these people in real life, or was sitting with them at a game. After all, we are ALL going for the same team (or almost all of us http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif hehe)

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

ruth
28 Feb 2001, 06:24
Well said Daphne.
Some people seem to forget their manners when they come on this board.
I have young Lions children, and under no circumstances do I want them to read some of the posts on this board.
I would hate for them to think its okay to behave like this.
Also they would never understand why Lions fans are being so awful to one another.
I hope that who ever is in charge just fixes this problem, and my kids can come on here and read gooty related stuff.Not people abusing each other, just because they have a diferent feeling about something.

ruth
28 Feb 2001, 06:25
ooops I meant footy.

Denno
28 Feb 2001, 13:26
Originally posted by lioness22:
Daphne, your opinion is welcome here, please leave your post as is. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif I think the main problem here is that some issues are just WAY too emotive, we all get swept up in emotion and rational thinking sometimes flies out the door. Personally, none of this would affect me if I met any of these people in real life, or was sitting with them at a game. After all, we are ALL going for the same team (or almost all of us http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif hehe)

Now you've repaid the favour, Lioness - I couldn't have said THAT better myself!

joshhem
28 Feb 2001, 14:24
Thankyou Ruth for your opinion, I agree 159%

PLEASE GUYS

lioness
28 Feb 2001, 16:06
Originally posted by Denno:
Now you've repaid the favour, Lioness - I couldn't have said THAT better myself!

Always glad to help http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif hehehe

------------------

sbagman
28 Feb 2001, 16:20
Well I think these are important issues which need to be discussed. Perhaps not in the manner we've been "discussing" them, but I think they are important to the future of the Brisbane Lions.

I also think its kinda naive to think that everything would be fine and dandy after only a few years following the merger. You can't just slap two clubs together and expect everyone to feel OK with it. I don't think pretending noone has a problem with the present situation will resolve anything.

Let's be honest, the main instigator of these debates has been Olmy. Yet Olmy is a paid up member of the Brisbane Lions, he's supporting the club. Surely he has a right to vent his feelings about it?

I think ultimately these debates will lead somewhere, maybe not in the short term, but certainly in the long. And that's what I want to see... not short term fixes, but a long term culture which will enable the Brisbane Lions to achieve success on and off the field; ensure there is always an AFL presence in Brisbane; and ensure that even after 100 years from now, the Fitzroy part of Brisbane Lions is still relevant to Melbournians.

Like I said, it will take years to heal the rifts, but if we don't discuss it, it will only take longer, or not heal at all.

lioness
28 Feb 2001, 16:25
Originally posted by sbagman:
Well I think these are important issues which need to be discussed. Perhaps not in the manner we've been "discussing" them, but I think they are important to the future of the Brisbane Lions.

I also think its kinda naive to think that everything would be fine and dandy after only a few years following the merger. You can't just slap two clubs together and expect everyone to feel OK with it. I don't think pretending noone has a problem with the present situation will resolve anything.

Let's be honest, the main instigator of these debates has been Olmy. Yet Olmy is a paid up member of the Brisbane Lions, he's supporting the club. Surely he has a right to vent his feelings about it?

I think ultimately these debates will lead somewhere, maybe not in the short term, but certainly in the long. And that's what I want to see... not short term fixes, but a long term culture which will enable the Brisbane Lions to achieve success on and off the field; ensure there is always an AFL presence in Brisbane; and ensure that even after 100 years from now, the Fitzroy part of Brisbane Lions is still relevant to Melbournians.

Like I said, it will take years to heal the rifts, but if we don't discuss it, it will only take longer, or not heal at all.

YES!!!!!!!!! Look at Ripper's 'non abusive' thread regarding the Brisbane LIONS board - it's all calm discussion and it's going along just fine. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif Whether they are implemented or not, it's still worth discussing them I reckon, state our points etc. But in a controlled manner, not just abusing people coz we think they're having a go at us or whatever.

------------------

Mr Ripper
28 Feb 2001, 17:43
Originally posted by lioness22:
YES!!!!!!!!! Look at Ripper's 'non abusive' thread regarding the Brisbane LIONS board - it's all calm discussion and it's going along just fine. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Thanks Jacs. Guess I'm pretty good at being 'non-abusive'...pity I can't say the same thing about some of my closest friends. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
"Thanks for fixing my chair, George!"

Daphne
28 Feb 2001, 18:07
Hi well I came back in here to delete this post, but I'm impressed, and you did take it the way I hoped you would. It looks like you are all on your way to sorting things out, it is hard to argue with someone who has the same ambitions for your club as you do, by reading some of your posts I would say that the AFL has a lot to answer for. Anyway good luck, except of course when you meet up with the Kangas.

Redd
28 Feb 2001, 18:10
Well said sbagman, I totally agree, but if people end up getting agro in these debates then other interested people tune out, and nobody ends up getting the point of the message. It's just like someone shouting at you, in the end you don't listen its all just noise.
We all have strong opinions when it comes to our own clubs, but.. not everyone agrees on all opinions. Not everyone is correct all the time.

I hope you guys have some real success in the near future because that will go a long way towards helping and healing the two factions.
I have a few friends who were Roys supporters and their life has never been the same since the merger. I would hate to see any club (well maybe Essendon) go through that.

Good luck in 2001,
(but be gentle with the roos, we bruise easy)

lioness
28 Feb 2001, 19:28
Originally posted by Mr Ripper:
Thanks Jacs. Guess I'm pretty good at being 'non-abusive'...pity I can't say the same thing about some of my closest friends. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

hehehe Ripper, ah well, we still love those people, right??? http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

------------------

Olmy
1 Mar 2001, 15:33
I agree with Sbagman. Every club has issues, and I don't see it being a problem. Fair enough, abuse isn't acceptable - but that has only come from one or two posters who decided that dropping the f-word was a good way to deal with their problems.

I get the feeling that some posters here (or is it just the one person with a few different identities???), think that I'm 'abusive' in my posts. Apart from the fact that I might be "taking the piss" (so to speak) on different occasions, I would not say that I've become abusive in the slightest.

Perhaps it's just a case of seeing what you want to. If a Fitzroy person is abusive, then you'll make a big deal about it and want them kicked off (because they're radical trouble stirrers no doubt http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif ), but if a Brisbane person has a go, it seems as though those same people just choose to ignore it. I wonder why? Selectiveness perhaps?

I don't see why some people have a problem with issues being discussed. Or is it just issues which relate to Fitzroy, that people are having a problem with?

After all, when a few people from QLD had a go at the board regarding its decision on the Social Club, no-one labelled them as whingers, or trouble stirrers. Yet, what they were doing was no less than what people like myself have been doing in regards to other issues.

Even the Brisbane Lions forum allows for discussions of this nature to take place (although, they are cut if they become abusive).

Personally, I'm glad that Danni and others raised the issue about the social club. Are they whingers? I don't think so - they have a genuine issue. Are they vindicated/justified in their comments - even if they are negative? YES! If people feel strongly enough about something, then they have the right to say it, whether it's negative or positive. Saying nothing is just counter-productive, as the failure to address and issue only breeds ill-feeling. It's no different for Fitzroy or Victorian based supporters of the Brisbane Lions either.

If people have something to say about their club, then they should say it.

IMO, people who say that Fitzroy or Victorian based supporters of the Brisbane Lions are whingers, only say that because they don't understand the issues being discussed (just as Victorians possibly don't understand QLD based issues). Perhaps this is because people don't read properly, or haven't had a chance to gain all the background knowledge - but either way, to just disregard these comments as being "whinges" is entirely wrong. People are allowed to have opinions about their club.

After all, I'm a member, and I'll stay as a member too - but just because I subscribe as a Brisbane Lions supporter, doesn't mean I have to share a unison point of view with everyone else at the club.

Besides, take someone like Eddie McGuire for example. Do you think he agreed with everything the Collingwood board was doing before he was elected as President? I doubt it, otherwise he wouldn't have seen the need for running for office. Was he a trouble stirrer in doing so? No. He had his own ideas, brought them to the club, and the club has benefitted since.

IMO, discussions/issues like these help to build unity within a club. Issues are discussed, people listen, and hopefully try to understand each other's point of view. People don't always agree, but that's life. However, it's the new ideas that a brought out that ultimately improve what the club is all about.