View Full Version : Matt Maguire and Luke Ball - Merged Threads
hollywood23
28 Sep 2009, 00:21
Just heard from a reliable source that St Kilda and Essendon have agreed to allow Matt Maguire to join essendon for pick 42.
Interesting if it does happen, could really release Hurley to play as a permanent forward next year, and who knows, he may actually regain the form that made him one of the leagues best CHB's only a couple of years back.
Thoughts??
Would be wrapped if this were to eventuate.
I really rated Maguire; before injury, I predicted he would become the elite CHB of the league, not unlike Bock is now.
However I won't hold my breath; 99% of trading rumours on BigFooty are bollocks.
Colin D'Cops
28 Sep 2009, 00:33
If our medical team's convinced he's over his injuries at least for now; I wouldn't be unhappy with that.
King Of The Hille
28 Sep 2009, 00:35
Just heard from a reliable source that St Kilda and Essendon have agreed to allow Matt Maguire to join essendon for pick 42.
Interesting if it does happen, could really release Hurley to play as a permanent forward next year, and who knows, he may actually regain the form that made him one of the leagues best CHB's only a couple of years back.
Thoughts??
MMMMMM i dunno now that Max has gone and hes there only backup, im not convinced that our 3rd will do it. Having said that id love it to eventuate.
Interesting ...
He's a name that's been forgotten it seems. Pick 42 is highly unlikely going to yield us anything special and this may turn out to be a bargain trade like Prismall last season. Even if he turns out as a complete dud it's hard to say we lost out on the trade.
That being said, I'd be amazed if the Saints didn't demand more.
Saint KFC
28 Sep 2009, 00:47
To be honest, I will be shocked if we give up Goose for pick 42.
SirJimi05
28 Sep 2009, 01:01
Pick 42 is around the right range for a player with serious question marks over his career but worth the gamble one would think.
astrowizzle
28 Sep 2009, 01:15
I really hope this is true. Rate him really highly and as said gves us flexibility with Hurley.
If it seems to good to be true. It probably is :)
BringBackCransberg
28 Sep 2009, 02:24
Would seem the right age to replace (not that anyone really could) one D. Fletcher.
One year to get to know the club, then slide right in as we head to the top 4.
Especially considering the Hurley-->forward flexibility (w/worries over Neagle/Gumbleton), it's a trade that makes sense. If the rumour is just a rumour, it's at least a good idea.
Bombers_Forever
28 Sep 2009, 07:29
not holding my breathe
Me neither. Maguire would be such a great trade for so many reasons but I doubt it will happen.
Can't see the Saints giving him up for that little. I don't think Saints would of been bothered thinking about trades when they had a grand final to think about.
Ben the Gooner
28 Sep 2009, 09:14
I'd be very happy if we got him for pick 42 but I don't think that there's any way the Saints have agreed to a trade already.
Slattery_20
28 Sep 2009, 09:16
Can he run? I thought his injuries hadn't come good
Would be very suprised if this happened.
Especially with Hudghton retiring and StKilda still having the premiership window open, Maguire will have much more opportunity if he is good enough.
Flying_dutchman
28 Sep 2009, 09:27
Wouldn't be surprised if he's told Ross to go **** himself after the disgraceful treatment he's been given this season. By that I mean he wasn't even afforded an opportunity to prove he was better then Dawson. They just let him rot in the two's even though by all reports his form was quite good.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
28 Sep 2009, 10:09
.. So the Saints lose Max Hudghton and then trade McGuire for a seemingly worthless pick in this years draft.
Given the competitive market for McGuire - I find it hard to beleive.
The Donners
28 Sep 2009, 10:20
Yo`DooR;15875614'].. So the Saints lose Max Hudghton and then trade McGuire for a seemingly worthless pick in this years draft.
Given the competitive market for McGuire - I find it hard to beleive.
Is Maguire contracted?
Didn't play a game in '09, overlooked for a rookie listed player, was behind another defender in the pecking order, Lyon obviously has little faith in him, would you want to stay at the club?
Knight Ryders
28 Sep 2009, 10:25
McGuire would be a welcome addition to our side, particularly given that he played most of the year.
Pick 42 seems about right for a bloke who couldn't crack the first 22 at St.Kilda, particularly given that Hall is commanding a 30ish draft pick. And Carlton and Hawthorn, keep your dirty little fingers away from him!
Watching the Saints on the weekend, I would have thought they'd have some interest in Lovett and may be some other players to go through the midfield. I know they have some other young midfielders, but I'm pretty sure they are all in and under types (I stand to be corrected, but I'm thinking Eddy, Stevens, Armitage), so some speed would be welcome.
We should be looking at what's on the market in the way of small defenders as well.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
28 Sep 2009, 10:35
We should be looking at what's on the market in the way of small defenders as well.
Mitch Farmer.
Darealrath
28 Sep 2009, 10:43
I'd be very very happy if we could get that done.
bacon buster
28 Sep 2009, 10:50
would love to get him, but don't see it happening for pick 42
Slattery_20
28 Sep 2009, 10:52
I can't see them letting him go unless he's struggling.
saladin
28 Sep 2009, 10:53
imo, his best footy is long gone. the injuries have robbed him of pace and agility. casey resorted to playing him in attack. he struggled for form all year.
eth-dog
28 Sep 2009, 11:30
would be handy, but prefer Spangher as a Key defender
Ben the Gooner
28 Sep 2009, 11:38
I don't think that Lyon will offer him up as trade bait. It's more an issue of whether Goose requests a trade or not. If he does, the pick will probably be a fairly low one. A third rounder sounds right for a bloke who wants to leave, has injury concerns and isn't in the 22
dave_27
28 Sep 2009, 11:40
would be handy, but prefer Spangher as a Key defender
Hooker, Darcy Daniher >>> Spangher
Yeah but Hurley, Pears, Hooker, Daniher >>> Maguire as well. :\
AJ_2000
28 Sep 2009, 11:46
Can't say that another KP defender would be high on the shopping list from a trade perspective.
I don't think we will be chasing him. Carlton on the other hand.....
Mrs Mercuri
28 Sep 2009, 11:52
I doubt that the Saints will let him go now that Max Hughton has retired. I dont really think we need to trade for a KPP... a midfielder maybe.
I would rather us draft another young backman this year. Jake Carlisle would be better than an injury prone Saint.
kelvin_sheedy
28 Sep 2009, 12:03
Terrible news.
He's past it and finished. He can't play anymore and has the turning circle of The Queen Mary.
We might as well get Courtney Johns back.
BringBackCransberg
28 Sep 2009, 12:14
Saints won't be hell bent on keeping him just cos Max's gone: they had the best defence in the league this year without either of them (well, without much Max), and have young'uns up and about.
His age is about right considering we'll be down an experienced defender probably after this year. Only thing is fitness, as I'm sure Ben the Gooner is right re requesting a trade - and why wouldn't he be up for a change of scenery? He probably feels outside the group as it is now and doubts the possibility of cracking back into the best defence in the league. Ess/Haw are a good fit for him atm. If the scouts have been watching his movement in the VFL and reckon he's still got it, I'll trust them. It's not as if we won't still have Pears/Hooker/Hurley/Daniher. Pick 42 in a shallow draft isn't really less risky.
Still a rumour, though.
Does anyone think that there is a guy out there, who's actual name is Reliable Souce?
I don't thinl that less than 48 hours after our last game, we've agreed to a deal. Not impossible, but it's hard to believe the "reliable source".
I doubt that the Saints will let him go now that Max Hughton has retired. I dont really think we need to trade for a KPP... a midfielder maybe.
I would rather us draft another young backman this year. Jake Carlisle would be better than an injury prone Saint.
Played nearly every game this year in the VFL
Maguire for Gumbleton. At least Goose played in 2009.
THE BEACON
28 Sep 2009, 12:34
Maguire's best footy behind him, Bombers can do better.
Does anyone think that there is a guy out there, who's actual name is Reliable Souce?
I don't thinl that less than 48 hours after our last game, we've agreed to a deal. Not impossible, but it's hard to believe the "reliable source".
I was thinking the same thing.
Then again the Exchange period begins next week so it is a slight possibility. However I can;t see Essendon being that eager to pick up another KPP.
bomberwelsh
28 Sep 2009, 12:57
How old is he:confused:
bipolarbeaR
28 Sep 2009, 13:05
Maguire for Gumbleton.
HAHAHAHAHA! No.
Essendon will persist with Gumbleton till he comes right. It's not like he is expensive and would be better than anyone else on his dollar.
smoothmovers
28 Sep 2009, 13:39
he is only 25 he turn 26 next year in may
resurrector
28 Sep 2009, 14:05
given our plethora of young KPPs with big potential i think we'd be nuts to trade for maguire....pears, hooker, daniher, neagle, hurley, gumby and people want to get a bloke who's not played at afl level for over 2 yrs? ya gotta be shittin me.
The Great Barry Besanko
28 Sep 2009, 14:13
This is just made up crap. Why wouldn't Saints talk to other clubs first? Why settle on pick 42? That's what the trade week is about i.e clubs talk at the start of the week. Utter garbage.
Call Me Cake
28 Sep 2009, 15:33
If it seems to good to be true. It probably is :)
Hurley.
Played nearly every game this year in the VFL
Maguire for Gumbleton. At least Goose played in 2009.
And failed to play at a level anything close to what he did in the past hence Zak Dawson was an automatic selection in front of him despite Zaks kicking issues (and before you jump up and down Dawson was fantastic this year and defensively very sound).
To use a very ordinary pun , the goose is cooked. Saw a number of his VFL games via DVD (and a couple on the box) and as much as i hate to admit it kelvin is correct on this one. He moves and truns like a 1945 cruise ship.
Big pass.
LOL. We are not interested in Maguire. Brisbane Lions may be.
MarkJohnson#1
28 Sep 2009, 17:22
Pass, he'd be a good depth player but I don't think he'd be in the best 22 if the side were fully fit.
bomberwelsh
28 Sep 2009, 17:30
Eddie Maguire would be better:D
hollywood23
28 Sep 2009, 18:28
the 'reliable source' is actually one of goose's best mates who is also a mate of mine, and basically he has gone to ross lyon weeks back and said i want to be traded to essendon. It seems the 3rd round pick may have been floated by him as the likely price for the trade, rather than discussed by the clubs.
I tend to agree with those that think he may be cooked tho..but then again the defence he couldn't crack into ended up having the best season of all time, and at 26 and for a 3rd round pick in a shallow draft, he may be worth a gamble. A big pre season may see him regain some agility and speed, and we know that his best is pretty bloody good.
I don't think he holds much currency in the trade market considering he hasn't played for a long time at AFL level and there are question marks over his body, I think a 3rd round pick would be about right.
morebeer
28 Sep 2009, 18:37
Not sure why Essendon would be interested in trading for a tall defender. Are people still stuck in the "bombers are gonna need to cover Fletcher and Michael or they are stuffed" mentality. We have spent plenty of resources on our succession planning for the backline.
It seems a possibility that McGuire will be traded on, and pick 42 seems a fair trade, but I cant see how McGuire would fit into EFC's side.
longytap
29 Sep 2009, 08:12
If he's fit it would be a great fit. Pears and Mcguire can hold down CHB and FB and it allows Hurley to stay CHF. As much as i think Hooker will be a good player in time, He's just not quite ready to hold down a key position yet. :thumbsu:
He would get games at Essendon but I can't see any upsides for us picking him up.
mark1881
29 Sep 2009, 09:25
I think it's the allure of playing Hurley up forward that has inspired the interest. You're basically looking at Gumbleton/Neagle/Hurley up forward and Goose/Pears/Hooker down back come premiership window time.
AhSteveSteve27
29 Sep 2009, 09:32
I don't think its that ridiculous. These deals have been happening quite a bit over the last few years, especially with successful clubs offloading players to the club of their choice in return for probably a fair bit less than they are worth. the King/C Gardiner trades, Schneider/Dempster, Anthony Corrie last year. Prismall is worth a hell of a lot more than pick 39 IMO. Theyve probably just gone "Goose, you're not in the 22, do you want to go? where to? Essendon? OK sure, we'll work something out. Pick 42? Done."
Valve Bounce
29 Sep 2009, 15:25
Thoughts??
Can the Club afford his medical bills for the year? :diamond:
St. Kilda can't, that's why they want to trade him to us. :p
Colin D'Cops
29 Sep 2009, 23:41
St. Kilda can't, that's why they want to trade him to us. :p
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:8bWhjt39WJnUXM:http://cdn-write.demandstudios.com/upload//7000/900/20/7/47927.jpg
On the money there; they're not quite as dumb as they seem.
BOMBERBOII
30 Sep 2009, 00:11
I reckon that is good idea and than hurley can go forward because he has a food mark and a good kick so yeh:D
Has anybody seen Maguire play this year? Or are they basing their opinions on the footballer pre the broken leg?
He hasn't the pace or agility to play in defence, he's finished as a league footballer.
In the Australian article about ball http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au...012432,00.html (http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,26157266-5012432,00.html)
it says that essendon look to be the front runners for ball after approaching st kilda about him.
what would essendon have to give to get him assuming he does ask to be traded.
Drummer_19
3 Oct 2009, 00:59
Lovett for Ball straight swap works for me.
Brent Prismall#9
3 Oct 2009, 00:59
I would be happy if we get him but on the other hand I wouldn't be overly depressed if we missed him. Considering Ball's situation this year with being dropped and all I think his currency would have dropped dramatically compared to his previous years. Also it seems that there keen to get Lovett to add the extra something in their quest for a preimership.
To get him across I think it could just about be a straight swap with Lovett or if need be we could throw in a later pick.
its a hard call because we have so many possibilities in this trade period we have stuff like
lovett and 1st rounder = burgoyne
lovett and 4th ronder = rischitelli and 2nd rounder
3rd or 4th rounder = matt maguire
2nd or 3rd rounder = mark williams
lovett and 4th or 5th rounder = ball or armitage
we have so many possibilites this trade period it really comes down to what we really need. i would be happy to get ball but i sort of want more than ball in the trade period because i dont think him on his own will make us that much better another midfielder or half forward would thow
Donakebab
3 Oct 2009, 01:31
its a hard call because we have so many possibilities in this trade period we have stuff like
lovett and 1st rounder = burgoyne
lovett and 4th ronder = rischitelli and 2nd rounder
3rd or 4th rounder = matt maguire
2nd or 3rd rounder = mark williams
lovett and 4th or 5th rounder = ball or armitage
we have so many possibilites this trade period it really comes down to what we really need. i would be happy to get ball but i sort of want more than ball in the trade period because i dont think him on his own will make us that much better another midfielder or half forward would thow
Lovett and 4th or 5th rounder for Armitage is the best of the lot! Highly doubt St.Kilda will be looking to offload a kid of so much talent.
Wouldn't mind Ball, but reckon he's the type of player that will struggle to make it to 30.
SirJimi05
3 Oct 2009, 03:38
Wouldn't mind Ball, but reckon he's the type of player that will struggle to make it to 30.
He has struggled to make it to 25.
Pass.
BABYBOMBERS2007
3 Oct 2009, 08:56
It would be great if we could get Ball. And to think, that they may have won had he played more time :p
windyhill
3 Oct 2009, 08:56
Can st.kilda give Lovett what he wants $ wise ?
with no Ball yes, but with him probs not
Not 100% convinced but then again when is anyone a sure thing? I don't know how good our offer for rischitelli is looking but right now Ball is probably looking like the best and most realistic option. Burgoyne should get to Hawthorn. Ball > Williams as well.
BABYBOMBERS2007
3 Oct 2009, 09:41
Remember everyone - Prismall was injured when we got him, and he has turned out good.
thebigboy
3 Oct 2009, 09:54
Pass.
Rather the Goose.
Lovett for Ball straight swap works for me.
Same. He's as tough as nails and you know what you're getting each game with him. Wont take a backward step.
go_the_bombers
3 Oct 2009, 10:09
Pass.
Rather the Goose.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/afl/goose-may-fly-to-windy-hill/story-e6frey0r-1225782338464
AxelFoley
3 Oct 2009, 10:18
I think its a realistic option.
Its clear he's in need of a change from StKilda and if he gets his body right he is a great midfield option to support Jobe.
Even tho his disposal efficency was fairly low in the GF, 24odd touches in 47% game time was a fair return (and he was tough as nails during that time).
Pass.
Rather the Goose.
Sounds like we are after both of them.
Wouldn't be too bad if they could get their bodies right as they are both reasonably young and dedicated footballers.
Big IF though. And we already have a reasonable list of injury plagued players.
cAsEy_18
3 Oct 2009, 10:44
Hmm possibly do what St. Kilda did with their double trades a few years back like King + C. Gardiner and Schneider + Dempster, could we do maybe our 2nd round pick for Ball and McGuire? I'd take that.
thebigboy
3 Oct 2009, 10:52
Hmm possibly do what St. Kilda did with their double trades a few years back like King + C. Gardiner and Schneider + Dempster, could we do maybe our 2nd round pick for Ball and McGuire? I'd take that.
If we can get Ball + McGuire for our 2nd round pick and then can trade Lovett for a 2nd rounder its a win-win situation.
So our Rnd 2 pick is enough to secure 2 players? what.
matty lloyd the champ
3 Oct 2009, 11:36
Lovett + 3rd rounder for Ball and McGuire although I am not too keen on Ball.
I would love to see both McGuire and Ball in the red and black. I reckon Lovett and our 2nd/3rd round pick would get the job done.
Darealrath
3 Oct 2009, 11:48
Ball had a really good grand final but the conditions were ideal for a hard nut with limited pace (see McGough, Anzac Day). Not sure how he'd go on a dry day at the G or Etihad.
Definately wouldn't put our 1st round pick into the mix. 2nd round for him and Maguire sounds ok, probably as hit and miss as the draft pick.
Knight Ryders
3 Oct 2009, 11:59
I think there is a reason that Luke Ball has played limited TOG and that is because he's never fully got over his groin injuries. I don't know anything, but reading between the lines, he's struggled to do a full pre-season for a few years now because of his groins so he hasn't been fit enough to play more than 60-65% of games.
Would love it if I was wrong though and he turned back the clock in the Black and Red, but I would be very dubious about it.
yodellinhank
3 Oct 2009, 12:24
Bombers: Luke Ball + 49 + Maguire
Saints: Lovett + 26 + 58
?
I'd be more than happy if we get Ball. Our biggest need IMO is a guy who can win the pill. Imagine having Watson or Ball at almost every stoppage of a game.
bomberwelsh
3 Oct 2009, 12:26
Luke ball is no good, can not kick 40mtrs has no pace and is always getting injured. Also i would think essendon would need to pay above market price for him and i dont think he is worth it. Go and grab a young kid in the draft instead.
kelvin_sheedy
3 Oct 2009, 12:35
Getting Ball and McGuire would be akin to the Camporeale and Allan drafting. It'd be the exact same scenario if another club was talking about drafting Lloyd and Lucas next year.
I'd rather back in Hocking and Lonergan than go for Ball.
Jonesy1987
Was keen at first, but on further thought I'd like to see Myers given the game time.
aintplayin03
Luke ball is no good, can not kick 40mtrs has no pace and is always getting injured. Also i would think essendon would need to pay above market price for him and i dont think he is worth it. Go and grab a young kid in the draft instead.
Piss off muppet. 24 touches in 47% game time is amazing- no good? Get a ****ing clue.
I think we could use someone like Ball- look at how we fared without Watson. Showed we need some serious backup until we can groom Hocking and Lonergan into that position.
I don't think we would have to pay too much for him either. Ask him if he'd like to play 45% game time in a good side, or 80% game time in an up and coming challenger with everything ahead of them. I know which one I'd choose.
Playing hardball; Lovett and Ball straight swap.
Jonesy1987
3 Oct 2009, 12:38
Much like Watson of a few years ago, the reason he plays limited game time is he is too unfit to run out games.
yodellinhank
3 Oct 2009, 12:46
Getting Ball and McGuire would be akin to the Camporeale and Allan drafting. It'd be the exact same scenario if another club was talking about drafting Lloyd and Lucas next year.
I'd rather back in Hocking and Lonergan than go for Ball.
I see Hocking as more of a defensive mid, and i can only recall one game last season that I walked away thinking "Gee, Lonergan won alot of the clearances". (Think it was Carlton rd 13). We backed in Hocking and Lonergan last season, and look at where it got us when Watson was out or underperformed.
We need somebody other than Watson to get their hands on it at the stoppage, hopefully Myers can come through as this player, add Ball into the mix and we don't have a problem anymore.
King Solomon
3 Oct 2009, 12:52
Luke Ball is the exact sort of player we should be going after....hard at it, in and under footballer....if we can do the straight swap for Lovett, then I'd sign off on that in an instant....I hope I end up being wrong, but Myers just doesn't look the part at the moment!!!
McGuire - NO
Jonesy1987
3 Oct 2009, 13:05
We backed in Hocking and Lonergan last season, and look at where it got us when Watson was out or underperformed.
Might have something to do with the fact that we didn't back them in... Lonergan was used predominately as a small forward, and Hocking as a defensive mid or HBF, Knights prefered to back in Welsh, Prismall and Mcveigh.
yodellinhank
3 Oct 2009, 13:05
Luke Ball is the exact sort of player we should be going after....hard at it, in and under footballer....if we can do the straight swap for Lovett, then I'd sign off on that in an instant....I hope I end up being wrong, but Myers just doesn't look the part at the moment!!!
McGuire - NO
Adding Maguire in there as our club has been linked with him. Article in the sun today
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/goose-may-fly-to-windy-hill/story-e6frf9l6-1225782338464
Goose may fly to Windy Hill
"He's probably had a difficult year, Matt, but he's been a quality player over a period of time and he's still relatively young," Hamilton said at the draft camp in Canberra. "We are certainly not saying no to any of those type of players."http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/goose-may-fly-to-windy-hill/story-e6frf9l6-1225782338464
Although if they're looking for defenders with a bit of experience, Joel Macdonald would maybe be a better option:D
Yes Fletcher leaves a hole when he retires but to suggest Maguire's any better at filling that absence than Daniher or Hooker (ignoring Pears and Hurley) is beyond me.
DID he get dropped this year HALF WIT and what about our pace now that Lovett's going.So we have 2 slow players in Ball and Watson in the same team. Think about it IDIOT.
Yes, but a fresh start is what he needs. Same with Lovett.
Jonesy1987
3 Oct 2009, 13:36
Maguire was a great player, If Essendon think he could get back to that form after his injuries, then we would be stupid not to get a deal done. Give us heaps more flexibility with Hurley.
yodellinhank
3 Oct 2009, 13:38
Yes Fletcher leaves a hole when he retires but to suggest Maguire's any better at filling that absence than Daniher or Hooker (ignoring Pears and Hurley) is beyond me.
Daniher definately deserves more of a go IMO.
I think its more a point of picking a ready made player instead of 6th/7th round draft picks, assuming we are trading some of our early rounders in order to snag a Burgoyne/Ball.
Would be taking Ball before i took Maguire. We have several options with our current KP defenders, with, Daniher, Hurley, Pears, Hooker. Ball is the type of player we need, yes our team is built are pace and running the lines, but we lacked hardness at the ball in games this season, yes we have Watson but he can't do it all. At the right price he could be a handy pick up.
yodellinhank
3 Oct 2009, 13:44
Might have something to do with the fact that we didn't back them in... Lonergan was used predominately as a small forward, and Hocking as a defensive mid or HBF, Knights prefered to back in Welsh, Prismall and Mcveigh.
Welsh and Prismall didn't play until round 12, and McVeigh played only 4 games of the first 14 rounds... That's plenty of opportunity at the start of the season for Lonergan and Hocking to step up to the plate...