View Full Version : To ALL supporters of the Brisbane Lions

lioness
26 Feb 2001, 09:54
OK well I had a lovely post up here earlier, but due to technical difficulties it wouldn't work, so I hope this replacement post comes out as well as the other. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

OK well basically, I have been quite disappointed with the divide between the old Bears and old Roys supporters that has opened up again over the last few days. We are probably never going to agree on some of the issues raised, and I am sure I have contributed to the ill-feeling, and I am sorry for that. I am just posting to offer the olive branch, or white dove, or whatever it is I offer http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif lol. Whatever happened in the past, we all support the same team now, so let's start again.

Hi, I'm Jacqueline (Jacs), I'm 23, from Melbourne, I love the Beach Boys, my boyfriend, I work in Child Care, and

I love the Brisbane Lions. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

I am sooooooooo looking forward to renewing my membership this year, I was a member for 2 years but had to miss out last year due to an incredibly poor financial situation, but I am back this year, and my boyfriend is going to be a new member. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Anyway, it's nice to meet you all. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

GO THE MIGHTY LIONS!!!!!!!!!
------------------
*the one and only lioness*

[This message has been edited by lioness22 (edited 25 February 2001).]

brissy_lionsgal
26 Feb 2001, 11:36
I am sorry too, if I've offended anyone too, but some times passion can over ride me in some aspects of my life. And football and especially the Brisbane Lions are one of this area.

I understand and empathise with all of the Fitzory Lions supporters, you lost so much of you team, and you had no control over it.

I fell the same about the Bears. While our history may have been extremely short, compared to Fitzroys, and no where near as successful as yours, I still loved my club, and was devasted to hear that it, the Brisbane Bears, was no more.

However, I now have a club that I can support that hopefully has a long and prosperous future.

I would also like to add, like Jacs (nice to meet you, http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif ), that my name is Emma, I am 19 and currently studying a Bachleor of Education at QUT. I have been and season ticket holder for the past 6 years, and this year I have joined the Brisbane cheersquad.

I hope to meet all of the Brisbane-based supporters who post on this forum at the Gabba this season, and hopefully meet the Victorian based supporters when I am in town for the Grand final at the end of this season.

[This message has been edited by brissy_lionsgal (edited 25 February 2001).]

Mobbenfuhrer
26 Feb 2001, 13:19
Well, as my parents always said, I'm the odd one out.

I'm Kev, and I actually don't follow the Brisbane Lions. Nevertheless, I applaud the supporters who do follow them, from all three of the major sources (Fitzroy, Brisbane Bears and aft-merger).

It's a difficult situation to handle for supporters of either of the clubs that were put into this position. To have the g&d to make a fist out the new club, showing strong support in both states (QLD, which some had said would never produce crowds, and Vic, where the team only appears occasionally) is a testament to the supporters who have taken them on board and given them a go.

I'm a Fitzroy supporter, one of those who some might say isn't too keen on reality http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif I still worship my only begotten Roys, and follow the Reds nowadays. I spent time at Coburg-Fitzroy, was actually interviewed and stuck on telly, by the Today Show (blind drunk and labelled 'the dill on the hill').

Yes, I have even attended about five or six Brisbane matches since the merger. This is after I penned the tune 'The Barrow' in which I stated that 'Here I pledge you I won't view another team until the barrow of the Roy is unbound.' So I cannot claim superior integrity.

My interest in the Brisbane Lions is in maintaining friendships with mates I had made at Fitzroy, and even a couple through Brisbane. Many of my old mates go to the Brissy games. Some never went and never will go to them. Some started going, and then changed their mind. There might even be a couple who did the reverse.

All these people have what I have demanded be recognised from the start : The right to choose whichever way they want to go. I think they've earnt that.

If the demographics are similar in the old Brisbane Bears camp, then the same should apply to them. If they continue to follow Brisbane (Lions), good luck to them, and those not sharing their disposition should be happy to respect that.

If an old Bears fan got jack of the merger idea, and decided to go back and barrack for Morningside or Southport or some such entity, Bears who have taken on the Lions mantle should respect that, also. Fortunately, basically everybody seems to share my views.

I have not been one to slag off the merged entity, some folks on this board who know me will stand as witness to that. I, on the other hand, simply act rabidly in favour of my choice in Roy. This being, until last year, CFL, and now being Reds. I have a devious, belligerent attitude towards my zealousy of Fitzroy, and that won't change.

I suppose I 'got too involved' to be able to cast it aside. I wrote eighty or so of the Fitzroy Lynch Mob newsletters, and penned about the same number of songs. With a couple of others, I founded the unofficial supporter group that began as the Lynch Mob, transmogrified into The M.O.B., and returned to 'The Lynch Mob' when Brisbane entered the lives of those Roys who so chose to accept them.

You'd all know the age-old war between heart and head, I wager. My head often suggests that Brisbane Lions would be a handy appeasement of my need for high-level footy and continuance of so many friendships. However, my heart won't let me.

Nearly everybody has an individual, personalised attitude to how the situation affects them. I would be the last to challenge another fan's choice.

On the contrary, I applaud it.

But it isn't me.

Cheers,

Kev

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

lioness
26 Feb 2001, 16:30
Kev - there are a lot of supporters like you, who just cannot support the new entity wholeheartedly, and that is understandable too, I am sure a lot of us do understand that.

Emma - nice to meet you too. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif I understand also about how you felt about your Bears - the loss for all of us was incredible, I guess the only difference is that for us Roy fans, our club had been around for a lot longer than us. I think that's really the only difference, doesn't make much difference now though. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif (Note the clever way I used difference so much but so little. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif lol!!!) I may not get to Brisbane this year, but I do hope to meet everyone from up here if they come this way for a game. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Just a quick P.S. - just wanted to say Olmy, I still wuv ya!!!!!!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif lol. The cheersquad remains, and I want that beer!!!!!!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif lol

------------------

sbagman
27 Feb 2001, 18:07
hi, my name's Sbagman, and I'm an alcoholic.....

oops, maybe not.

My name is Rob, and I am originally from Melbourne's western suburbs. I supported Fitzroy until they merged. 1998 I decided I wanted to experience a different city, and moved to Brisbane to do my PhD, where I am at UQ studying drug design (no, those those sort). I found it really hard to make friends in Brisbane (*sob!*) and didn't like the place very much, and decided to go to the country of my ancestors, Italy, to give my life and my PhD another go. I am currently having a ball, friends are much easier to find, and I go out all the time... the lifestyle which I erally thrive on. But as much as I would like to stay, I must return to Brisbane to finish my PhD and be with my girlfriend. I actually feel more Italian than Australian, but its definitely a mix, and I miss strange things, including footy.

I always felt that Brisbane Lions would be a good choice of team for me... especially apt considering both Fitzroy and I moved to Brisbane to start new lives. But the lack of friends thing meant I didn't go to many games, and never really felt a part of it like I did in Melbourne. Hopefully this will change when I return to Brisbane in May.

Living overseas, you realise how important culture is, and I think footy is an important part of culture in Australia.

I never had any talent in any sport, so like my beloved Fitzroy, I stayed the unfashionable loser, and identified strongly with that. I still mourn the loss of that idenitity, but I would definitely like to come to terms with Brisbane, both the footy club and the city itself.

The whole thing seems to be a reflection of me... struggle, change, relocation, passion and culture. Being torn between two identities (Brisbane/Fitzroy, Australian/Italian) and trying to resolve them into one being to come to terms with reality. This may be why I feel so passionately about the topics on which we seem to bicker constantly. But I see the future in unity, not in division.

But until then, I am quite happy living in Perugia, and I am waiting until someone gets relocated here so I can explain what its all about to the Italians!

Cheers,
Sbagman.

sbagman
27 Feb 2001, 18:23
By the way Kev, that was a fantastic post. Just wanted to say how much I enjoy reading your stuff and that I understand where you're coming from.

Mobbenfuhrer
27 Feb 2001, 19:42
Glad you enjoyed it http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Have been enjoying your posts, too, sbagman!

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

lioness
3 Mar 2001, 11:48
Great to see so many perspectives here, anyone else want to share??? http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------

cambad
3 Mar 2001, 12:50
Cheers to yas all......

I am Cameron, 30, old Bear. Funnily enuff, for a Qlder born and bred, I started watching footy in 1980, and became a regular viewer of the game. In the mid 80's I kinda followed Melbourne and Carlton, but when the Bears were formed, that was it for me. Used to head to Carrara a coupla times a year to watch us get flogged, which was a trend that continued when they moved to the Gabba...only we didnt have to drive so far for the privilege!!
I underwent a profound change following the merger....I stopped thinking of them as BRISBANE and began thinking of them as LIONS....which I credit the Fitzroy folk for, coz it has changed the way I look at the team. They are just the Lions for me, and they have a history which started over 100 years ago, and continues to this day. I love the Lions in a way I never loved the Bears....it upsets me when the arguments break out, which is why I dont respond to them. I recall a comment, and it may have been either Olmy or Kev who made it, that Fitzroy was always a family....and that meant a lot to me when I stopped to think about it. I endeavour to put aside who lost what and where and how much...that is not how families operate, and to me belittles the club and makes a mockery of what Fitzroy stood for as I understand it. I loved the Bears, but my passion for the Lions far surpasses what I felt for the Bears. I am lucky. A lot of people, like Kev, have lost alot....and it is a torch I carry for them, my support of the Lions. I try to support the team the way it was supported for so many years, a tradition that I felt, and that I respond to. The Bears? Yep, I loved 'em.....but I would die for the Lions.. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

I havent 'turned coat' as it were...rather the merger for me showed just how different footy was and is for folk who grew up with the idea of the 'local' team, in the VFL. In 1997 I flew to Mel to see the Lions play Essendon. I had the fortune of chatting with a fellow who was an old Roy, but couldnt support them post-merger. He said that he hated the AFL, and wished he could go back to the 12 VFL teams, playing each other twice on a Saturday Afternoon. And in that moment, a grey cold wet Melbourne saturday arvo, I realised I had very little idea of what footy was about. I have learnt alot about footy since then. All thanks to the Lions.

InTheBack!
3 Mar 2001, 13:21
I was NSW Born & Bred & only got into the footy cause if my father in law an old VFL player, who watches in weekend in & out on the tele.

In 1995 I went to the Bears v Melbourne at the Gabba & was hooked. Although I had watched plenty on the tele before that the live thing really did it for me - must have beeen the primal feeling of being part of a seething & baying crowd.

Anyway I could easily identify with the underdogs - the Bears.

I find it an interesting experience being part of an extended family now - a union of 2 underdogs & personally feel some responsibility ensuring the new Lions succeed.

I remember watching a game in the tele played at the MCG in 1997 I think where Brad Boyd kicked us ahead of Richmond from 50 points down & the crowd going nuts. I thought that was very special sitting in front fo the tele 2000k away watching "my" team with all that support & think it's a fantastic opportunity for 2 geographically removed supporter base to work together.

I dont worry too much about the arguments - which families dont argue at some time? Given the passions of footy is would be strange if we didnt!

mud n blood
3 Mar 2001, 14:32
Well I'll be a little different here ....

I'm Sydney born and Brisbane bred ! Shifted up here when I was 2 weeks old, so I don't know much about Sydney - couldn't care really.

Although growing up on a solid diet of rugby league, I follow the Oz game just as closely and passionately. First game I saw was a black and white televised Carlton v Collingwood match in 1974. Loved it - and the blues guernsey.

So I guess I was a solid blues man through my junior playing days at the Coorparoo club (same strip as Carlton) until the Bears came along in '87. 3 big things happened in 1987 that I remember -

1. The Bears appeared
2. Home and Away started
3. The Fitzgerald Inquiry

I can tell you that during the next few years, 2 & 3 got more interesting while 1 went down the toilet !!! Altho' following the Bears since their inception, it was very hard to get too enthused when they got pumped week in week out. However, they finally came good in '96 .... and now I'm Lion thru and thru.

I didn't initially think the Fitzroy merger was a good thing, but once I realised the club would go altogether - it certainly changed my mind. (Besides, look at all the flags and Brownlows we have now - tee hee)

Anyway - will get down to Melbourne one day, and will certainly suss out some of the 'Roy characters when I do, including frequenting a few watering holes.

Cheers.

lioness
3 Mar 2001, 16:38
WOW!!!!!!!! Everyone has such different stories, thanks to all who have shared so far, it's been great meeting you all and reading how you ended up at the mighty Brisbane Lions. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif That's exactly what I had hoped for with this topic, a bit of unity. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif Look forward to reading more. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------

Denno
4 Mar 2001, 07:57
Originally posted by InTheBack!:
I remember watching a game in the tele played at the MCG in 1997 I think where Brad Boyd kicked us ahead of Richmond from 50 points down & the crowd going nuts.

ITB - I think that game was in '99 - when Richo kicked six, Johnno five and Leppa 3.5 after being moved forward. From a Fitzroy perspective - I went off my head when Boydy kicked that goal (he was my fav. from the 'Roys) - I couldn't quite believe that we were in front. It was good to see Boydy contibute again after his injury probs. - especially when it put us in front with about 5 mins ago. Unfortunately we lost and it was Boydys last game!

For the record, I am 24 and have grown up with Fitzroy all around me, thanks to friends and family members. I ALMOST got poached to St Kilda, thanks to my Dads overtures, but I soon came to my senses through mature thinking. I think I was 5 or 6 at the time. While I didn't go to heaps of games, I constantly kept up to date thru TV/papers. I certainly enjoyed going to the games, however. As it became obvious that we were finished in '96, I made a conscious effort to get to games. Consequently, I went to the Richmond game (of course), and I managed to go to Subiaco for the last game against Freo as well. That feeling of emptiness at that final siren is something I will never forget, and it is more enhanced remembering that guy running across the oval with a big flag after the game. I am not ashamed to say tears flowed (at both games), and I certainly wasn't alone. When I found out we were to merge with the Bears - I was happy.It was a shock (after all the 'roos talk), but it was my preferred option. In my mind, Brisbane were playing a very attractive brand of football at the time, and winning to boot! I found myself actually barracking for the Bears during the '96 finals. It still took a while to get used to the merger - I only attended one game in '97, but I watched them on TV regularly. In '98 - something funny happened. I was trying to fill in a few hours on a Sunday - so I thought I'd go to the footy (N.M v Bris). I got to Resa station - and lo and behold - here was a few friends from primary school decked out in their Brisbane gear (the same ones who influenced me all those years earlier). I spent the day with them at the MCG, and from then on, its been a religion. We do not miss a game - and the group seems to get bigger each year. We also go interstate at least once a year as well. I feel like I have discovered something. I am now MORE passionate than ever before, and live, breathe and sleep everything that is the Brisbane Lions. Basically, my weekends are structured around the footy. Footy first, everything second - including my girlfriends 21st. I chose to go to the footy first - but I did roll up (late, inebrieated, and happy - we'd won!). I've already seen one club die, I don't want to see another. Thats why I will support the Brisbane Lions in every way feasable until the day I die!

[This message has been edited by Denno (edited 03 March 2001).]

WA
4 Mar 2001, 12:47
What a great topic to read.
Thought it was beginning to sound like an AA meeting, but as I kept reading, the passion you guys have for your club, whether it be the Brisbane Lions or Fitzroy in Mobbenfuhrer's case, is fantastic! If only all clubs had supporters with such emotion & feeling about their clubs. I thought I was passionate about my club (WCE), but I think I've met my match with some of you (Denno!).

Sorry to invade your board, but I've always had a soft spot for the Brisbane Lions and make a point of reading it.

Best of luck for season 2001! (Except against us!! lol)

TONY SHAW
4 Mar 2001, 13:10
MY FAVE BEARS/LIONS MEMORIES ARE THE BEARS STANDING AROUND PISSING THEIR DACKS AFTER RD 22 IN 1996 WHEN WE KNOCKED THEM OFF THE TOP OF THE LADDER, THE WOODEN SPOON IN 1998 AND OF COURSE LYNCHYS DRUG SCANDAL.

HERE'S TO MANY MORE YEARS OF THE LIONS PROVIDING US OPPOSITION SUPPORTERS WITH GREAT MEMORIES http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Danni
4 Mar 2001, 13:21
Tony - your seriously negative input is not welcome here.

Please try and refrain from saying anything on this board.

TONY SHAW
4 Mar 2001, 14:54
Originally posted by Danni:
Tony - your seriously negative input is not welcome here.

Please try and refrain from saying anything on this board.

BULLSHIT, THE LIONS SUPPORTERS LIKE ME, ASK ANY OF THEM.

Mr Ripper
4 Mar 2001, 15:51
Drawn a blank here, Tone. Sorry!

------------------
Olmy knows best

Mobbenfuhrer
4 Mar 2001, 19:41
I like negative input ... if there's a fair degree of wit in it.

None forthcoming from the little bloke.

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy