View Full Version : Gumbleton in Goodes role? Yay or Nay.

bipolarbeaR
9 Oct 2009, 17:26
Hello ladies and gentlemangz,
I trust that your afternoon is traveling splendidly and something about fruit and a lion.

I was just thinking that perhaps we should make the most of Gumbleton's cardio and athleticism and playing him in a Goodes role once we know his back is OK? This would allow Hurley to go to CHF, Hooker to CHB and total domination of opposition faces.

I don't know if it's the alcohol but I think this is a pretty good idea at the moment.

Thoughts?

Bombers1234
9 Oct 2009, 17:36
Maybe he can play a bit like Richo has done recently on a wing. But it would be so handy if he could play in the midfield/ruck because 3 into 2 in our fowardline dont mix and thus Neagle would probably be forced out of the team or Hurley wasted (in my opinion) in defence.

muzz777
9 Oct 2009, 17:38
**** me lets see him string 5 games together first.............

munckz
9 Oct 2009, 17:39
not a chance, well not yet anyway. the poor fella can't even get on the field!

Mad Bomber Sean
9 Oct 2009, 17:40
Nah these sort of threads demand a bit of booze to get off the ground.

I agree it is a pretty good idea dear sir. Although I prefer Ryder in this role instead as he has earn't it more. But this guy could play free on the wing & show us what he is made of .

Spikey
9 Oct 2009, 17:43
Sir, get off the liquor before you make some Fev-like decisions.

Mundy
9 Oct 2009, 17:50
Scott played his best football for Peel in the ruck, he's pretty handy at ground level for a big and has tap work straight off the top shelf.

A ruck combination of Ryder and Gumbleton would be something to think about, Im just not sure, and wasnt at the time he was drafted, that he would be able to hold down a key position.

So, IMO, I'd use him through the ruck and push him forward occasionally.

Dick johnson
9 Oct 2009, 17:50
In my eyes Gumby could play a good a good Riewoldt role, or a good Richo role.
Roo >>>>>> Richo
= Gumby in the forward line

Enki
9 Oct 2009, 18:02
Scott played his best football for Peel in the ruck, he's pretty handy at ground level for a big and has tap work straight off the top shelf.

Really? I was under the impression he didn't have a turn at rucking as a junior and was almost completely a forward (CHF mainly).

Anyway, I'm already of record as saying I think we should try and develop Gumby as a ruckman, that way he can still push forward when resting but will be able to use his massive tank around the ground. Well, that and I don't think he will be close to Hurley as a CHF, but that's just my opinion.

bipolarbeaR
9 Oct 2009, 18:02
Sir, get off the liquor before you make some Fev-like decisions.

*Follows female to toilets*

bipolarbeaR
9 Oct 2009, 18:08
Well, that and I don't think he will be close to Hurley as a CHF, but that's just my opinion.

People are beginning to forget how scarily good he looked at the draft camp.
If he gets it right we are happy people.

Kong
9 Oct 2009, 18:10
*Follows female to toilets*I'd probably stop there buddy.

Skeeta Olly
9 Oct 2009, 18:14
Need a '12' hour cool down card

SirJimi05
9 Oct 2009, 18:15
Really? I was under the impression he didn't have a turn at rucking as a junior and was almost completely a forward (CHF mainly).

Anyway, I'm already of record as saying I think we should try and develop Gumby as a ruckman, that way he can still push forward when resting but will be able to use his massive tank around the ground. Well, that and I don't think he will be close to Hurley as a CHF, but that's just my opinion.

Nah man he even had spells in the ruck at the national champs. If you want to see him in action in the ruck just youtube him from the champs. Looked pretty impressive imo.

I've actually given up on tryingto work out the best positions for our KP players.

Does Ryder play Ruck, CHB, or CHF?
Does Hurley play back or forward?
Does Gumby play CHB, CHF or Ruck?
Is Daniher a forward or a back?

So much flexibility it isn't funny.

Spikey
9 Oct 2009, 18:21
I'd probably stop there buddy.

Are you Chris Judd in disguise?

If only he listened :(

Enki
9 Oct 2009, 18:24
Nah man he even had spells in the ruck at the national champs. If you want to see him in action in the ruck just youtube him from the champs. Looked pretty impressive imo.

Really? Hmm, I think I saw that footage of him on youtube ages ago but couldn't remember but I thought Ant or someone who knows more than me said he hadn't played ruck as a junior. Oh well, that just pleases me more. Thanks.

People are beginning to forget how scarily good he looked at the draft camp.
If he gets it right we are happy people.

What has draft camp got to do with actually playing the game? I was glad he got a couple of NAB cup games under his belt before getting injured recently but honestly he hasn't shown he belongs at AFL level yet (not his fault with injuries and all but that's not the point), let alone the signs Hurley has shown which were incredibly promising considering he was in his first season. Gumbleton may become a very good player but all the Essendon supporters that put him at CHF and talk him up are going off hype and their own desire for him to be a gun. He has barely shown anything yet (apart from a couple of good pack marks).

Smyth94
9 Oct 2009, 18:27
What has draft camp got to do with actually playing the game? I was glad he got a couple of NAB cup games under his belt before getting injured recently but honestly he hasn't shown he belongs at AFL level yet (not his fault with injuries and all but that's not the point), let alone the signs Hurley has shown which were incredibly promising considering he was in his first season. Gumbleton may become a very good player but all the Essendon supporters that put him at CHF and talk him up are going of hype and their own desire for him to be a gun. He has barely shown anything yet (apart from a couple of good pack marks).

This is exactly how I feel - Gumby has been one of my favourite players since he was drafted but honestly, those who put him at CHF when you've got Hurley who has no limit to how good he can become in that position it starts to make you wonder...

It's more hope than logic/reason

shad518
9 Oct 2009, 18:32
Haha... I went with option 3 simply because i've never called someone a cake before - my new favourite insult.

On topic, im all for putting Gumby in whatever postion is least likely to get him injured. If only for the start of the season. After that im keen to mix up Gumby, Ryder, Hurley and Daniher's roles

Steven Segal
9 Oct 2009, 18:37
Are you Chris Judd in disguise?

No, I am.

rines
9 Oct 2009, 18:38
Every Year we seem to find new recruits (and old) who want to go out looking for their white whale..

Gumbleton in a Goodes role? Well lets see:
a) he'd need to get on the park
b) see above
c) see above
d) he'd need to get same game time and match strength, speed and knowledge which would require more than 4 games a season
e) see above
f) see above
g) see above and repeat
h) see above and repeat and repeat

I can't believe you still talk about his draft camp performances and NAB cup games.. I will be the first one to cheer this kid home if he helps my beloved bombers fly up.. but I can no longer sit idle while we talk him up every year.

My prediction: Gumbleton in a Gumbleton role (involves rehab, more rehab, time on the bench and then more rehab)

bipolarbeaR
9 Oct 2009, 18:41
What has draft camp got to do with actually playing the game?

Please don't do this to me, I don't take criticism well, how does one go about mounting an argument without a thought process? :(

Haha... I went with option 3 simply because i've never called someone a cake before - my new favourite insult.

You can keep it, been calling people a 'cake' and a 'dickfish' since I was a kid.

Kong
9 Oct 2009, 18:43
No, I am.No, you're bipolarbeaR.

Spikey
9 Oct 2009, 18:52
No, you're bipolarbeaR.

That's quite ironic when you think about it

EDIT No it's not. Stupid me.

bipolarbeaR
9 Oct 2009, 18:53
No, you're bipolarbeaR.

Haha! Did you love it?
I set you up as the reffererer!

KaaN10
9 Oct 2009, 18:58
Gumbleton needs to earn his spot let alone play a "goodes role". So far he has shown us nothing

well.... besides a mark in nab cup

DaSawx
9 Oct 2009, 19:14
Sure he needs to earn his spot, but he'll be given every chance, due to his huge potential.

He'll be a goal-kicker, he has an engine to run defenders ragged with 2nd and 3rd leads plus his pack marking ability coupled with his height is just as good an attribute for him, keep him in the F50.

Seb78
9 Oct 2009, 19:17
From what I saw in the NAB cup game against the doggies early this year looks to me his best position would be as a lead up forward/CHF.

IMO I thinks he lacks the mobility & pace to play a Goodes type role. Paddy Ryder on the other hand could be groomed to play a Goodes role, especially with Hille coming back.

kelvin_sheedy
9 Oct 2009, 19:48
He doesn't have the athleticism to play Goodes role... no one does.

As for the ruck role... well I recall a thread on here started by a very smart poster on the same topic. ;)

GoldenboyHird_5
9 Oct 2009, 19:55
Problem for me was that he looked incredibly stiff during the NAB cup. Could not actually bend down to get the footyy. Didn't look great going for ground balls either, seemed to totally mis-judge the trajectory of the pill.

All these could simply come down to the back injury, or not.

I'm not expecting him to a wingman, nor a goal kicker, in fact, getting on the park is the only expectation people should have for him.

As far as I'm concerned, whatever next year (apart from another injury) will be a bonus in my book.

bipolarbeaR
9 Oct 2009, 20:09
trajectory

OMG I have always wanted to know how this word is spelled.
Always heard it on CSI and NCIS.

SirJimi05
9 Oct 2009, 20:18
Really? Hmm, I think I saw that footage of him on youtube ages ago but couldn't remember but I thought Ant or someone who knows more than me said he hadn't played ruck as a junior. Oh well, that just pleases me more. Thanks.

Check this video out, mate. I reckon you will be bloody impressed. :thumbsu:

At about the 4:00 mark of the video Gumbleton goes into the ruck.

Plenty of nice hitouts, contested marks around the ground, a ripper tackle on the wing, and also plugging the hole in defence. Looks a natural ruckman for sure. :thumbsu:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXYAzMR-3tI

Ben the Gooner
10 Oct 2009, 11:40
I'd probably stop there buddy.

Hey, hey, hey Whomb! Whomby! You're ****ing shit!

DapperDon
10 Oct 2009, 17:07
Hey, hey, hey Whomb! Whomby! You're ****ing shit!

Oh NO you Di'nt!

In the Outer
10 Oct 2009, 20:58
Gumbleton to play the Nick Riewoldt role....

windyhill
11 Oct 2009, 08:41
C.H.F or C.H.B
Amusing the Goodes comparison though.

Mundy
11 Oct 2009, 20:24

He played most of his last season for Peel in the ruck, floating forward. Basically ran his opponents into the ground, dare I say it, his efforts were Cox like.

Why he hasnt been trialed there I dont know.

Skeeta Olly
11 Oct 2009, 20:43
Gumbleton to play Gumbleton role.

Ben the Gooner
11 Oct 2009, 20:47
Goodes to play Gumbleton role.

:thumbsu:

Skeeta Olly
11 Oct 2009, 20:50
:thumbsu:

Gumbleton > Goodes....

Based on the hype of this thread.

Enki
11 Oct 2009, 22:16
Gumbleton to play Gumbleton role.

I don't get it, going on current form the Gumbleton role is to get injured and sit the season out. Surely you don't want that?

Heh.

davydenko
11 Oct 2009, 22:36
We should just worry about him playing in the first place let alone where to play him. He has barely played since we drafted him stop getting so ahead of yourselves thinking he is going to be a superstar.

Jivin Jackel
12 Oct 2009, 00:18
We should just worry about him playing in the first place let alone where to play him. He has barely played since we drafted him stop getting so ahead of yourselves thinking he is going to be a superstar.

Fair point, but you don't have to be so negative. I think he should play up at HF IMO

jade_00
12 Oct 2009, 08:23
Geez, I really just want him to string together 10 or 12 games first!

Plant him at CHF!

rolandproducts
12 Oct 2009, 08:47
He played most of his last season for Peel in the ruck, floating forward. Basically ran his opponents into the ground, dare I say it, his efforts were Cox like.

Why he hasnt been trialed there I dont know.

Because you don't trial your slight, fragile, injury prone, returning-from-injury "star" recruit in the ruck?

Slattery_20
12 Oct 2009, 10:38
So much flexibility it isn't funny.
And we all know what flexibility means...

ghostdog
12 Oct 2009, 11:33
Ryder would be more likely.
Let's get Gumby a full season before we start thinking like this. The dude can't take a trick.

davydenko
12 Oct 2009, 21:43
Fair point, but you don't have to be so negative. I think he should play up at HF IMO
So long as he can play next year i'll be happy. When Neagle (The superstar that he is) goes off for a rest i'd like to move gumby from the HF to the square and give him some experience there

Jivin Jackel
12 Oct 2009, 21:51
Im not being negative Jivin Jackel just realistic. He has barely played any footy in the last 3 years and moving him onto the wing is just asking for him to get injured. ;)

Hence I said HF, not wing :thumbsu:

stay true
12 Oct 2009, 23:23
I have to say, kudos for the optimism.;)

Mecha
13 Oct 2009, 01:56
I think Gumbleton to play in a Richo role.

ie. everywhere.

If the kid really does have a huge tank in him then why restrict him to around the forward line.

We had huge success when Hird did this and Gumbleton can really be that player.

As it stands our forward line basically has a waiting list to get into atm and there is no point trying to force him in.

To those people saying "lets just get him through a game". No.

We cant spend half the season nursing players through. We wont win games like that. If his body fails him again then it's probably time to part ways.

dons_fan185
13 Oct 2009, 11:46
Why does it seem like people think Gumbleton wants to injured all the time.
Think about this for a second: he's in his very early 20's, he's being held back from playing the game he loves, he's living away from home (and given the extent of the injuries its probably very rarely possible for him to go back), and for the better part of this year he couldn't walk properly let alone stand up for more than an hour.
Saying he hasn't proved anything, and pressuring him into becoming an overnight superstar is the worst thing the club could do for him.

IMO get him into a Goodes role in the VFL and ease him into a real game mid-way through 2010.

HFF_07
13 Oct 2009, 12:03
He IS the key to our forward structure, why dont we stop thinking about using him elsewhere, and get him doing what we drafted him for first. Then if it doesnt work out then start looking at other positions, I am quietly confident that if the kid can get out on the park then he is going to become a superb CHF.

Occawog
13 Oct 2009, 13:52
Gumby would need a great pre-season and an exceptional year to even consider him able to play the role of a Goodes.

This role needs silky skils and a massive tank not mention a big body.

Gumby currently has raw talent. Maybe in a couple of years if he is able to avoid injury.

efcboy
13 Oct 2009, 15:16
gumby had the best endurance (beep test) result at the club over pre-season 09 before he went down with injury. i'd imagine he'll be up to the mark again this pre-season given he has been doing a lot of running training for several months and despite being ready to play at about R17 was held back.

I strongly believe his best football will be at CHF. He takes a great contested mark, is a reasonable shot on goal and his running ability will be a major asset at half-forward - much like Riewoldt for St Kilda.

I would not put him in the ruck for three reasons:
- hille, ryder and laycock can all do the job there
- his body doesn't need the regular crash/bash from rucking right now
- he will be more valuable at CHF.

I could see him playing off the wing like Richo has on occasions to good effect though.

davydenko
13 Oct 2009, 22:10
I think Gumbleton to play in a Richo role.

ie. everywhere.

If the kid really does have a huge tank in him then why restrict him to around the forward line.

We had huge success when Hird did this and Gumbleton can really be that player.

As it stands our forward line basically has a waiting list to get into atm and there is no point trying to force him in.

To those people saying "lets just get him through a game". No.

We cant spend half the season nursing players through. We wont win games like that. If his body fails him again then it's probably time to part ways.
I think you are wrong. We do need to give him time to build up his match fitness level as he has barely played AFL footy. Throwing him into a "Hird" role would increase the chance that his going to injure himself again. It is not a matter of nursing him through the season, it is a matter of getting him match fit so that he can play in that role because I don't think he will be able to do it from round 1.

yaco55
13 Oct 2009, 23:29
Why dont we keep the structure of the side simple.

Gumbleton was drafted as a CHF, Hurley and Pears as CHB/FB.

Hille, Ryder and Laycock drafted as rucks.

Neagle drafted as a FF.

Midfielders as midfielders.

Defenders as defenders

Forwards as forwards.

This should be a starting point and change it if necessary during the year.

ant555
14 Oct 2009, 10:05
My only hope is he actually plays a full season and i do not care if that is games with bendigo or games in the seniors.
Forget all the magic roles and hope he can just get on any playing field for an extended period of time.

centurion
14 Oct 2009, 10:34
My only hope is he actually plays a full season and i do not care if that is games with bendigo or games in the seniors.
Forget all the magic roles and hope he can just get on any playing field for an extended period of time.

Once again and this is becoming a bit of a habit ant but i totally agree with this.

My only wish is to see him perform regularly for the club. The stuff you guys are calling for will happen in time.

Enki
14 Oct 2009, 14:53

Agreed. I would have written this but I couldn't be bothered. I still think we should try him as a ruckman, even just at Bendigo.

rhysman
14 Oct 2009, 15:04
Knights has already stated that the basis of the forward line will be Neagle and Gumby and Hurley and Pears will hold down the key defensive posts. Hille, Laycock and Ryder will also rotate through the forward line. So for now Gumby is earmarked for CHF.

Occawog
14 Oct 2009, 15:21
Knights has already stated that the basis of the forward line will be Neagle and Gumby and Hurley and Pears will hold down the key defensive posts. Hille, Laycock and Ryder will also rotate through the forward line. So for now Gumby is earmarked for CHF.

Surely Knights has Mark Williams in his forward line.

Still think Gumby needs a couple good seasons to be able to perform the type of role Goodes does

rhysman
14 Oct 2009, 15:40
I havent heard him talk about Williams role but you would imagine him as high half forward/floating forward type or back up FF if Neagle doesn't come up. But a lot riding on Gumby to stay fit, get on the park and play well.