View Full Version : Your Most Memorable Bombers Win?
Occawog
14 Oct 2009, 13:58
Thought it would be interesting to see what we all thought was our most memorable win.
Personally it was round 16 2001 v North Melbourne. We were 69 points down early in the second quater and I thought we were gone. Then the boys turned it on. Sheedy flicked a switch somewhere and we ended up winning. Final score Essendon 27.9 (171) defeated North Melbourne 25.9 (159). Broke the record for greatest ever comeback and also most goals scored in a single match.
I remember getting excited when the bell to signal the end of the second quater sounded. We had kicked 10 goals to four and looked irresistable. Turns out we were irresistable.
I remember being exhausted after the final siren and losing my voice the next day.
Oh Tayteridge
14 Oct 2009, 14:02
Thought it would be interesting to see what we all thought was our most memorable win.
Personally it was round 16 2003 v North Melbourne. We were 69 points down early in the second quater and I thought we were gone. Then the boys turned it on. Sheedy flicked a switch somewhere and we ended up winning. Final score Essendon 27.9 (171) defeated North Melbourne 25.9 (159). Broke the record for greatest ever comeback and also most goals scored in a single match.
I remember getting excited when the bell to signal the end of the second quater sounded. We had kicked 10 goals to four and looked irresistable. Turns out we were irresistable.
I remeber being exhausted after the final siren and losing my voice the next day.
That was 2001 (lol). Mine would be either that, anzac day this year, or any win against Carlton
Occawog
14 Oct 2009, 14:10
That was 2001 (lol). Mine would be either that, anzac day this year, or any win against tank rape.
sorry typo...now corrected...
Yeah Anzac day this year was pretty awesome.
cAsEy_18
14 Oct 2009, 14:18
I won't say i've had a very game, but more favourite moments in games. The 2nd quarter in the 2001 comeback, we kicked 4 goals in about 2minutes, there was just no stopping us. Also, not sure ANZAC day would've been considered a great game, except for probably my most enjoyed 5minutes of football ever.
The other one i'll mention, i was only 1 at the time and unfortunately have never seen the game, but my uncle is about as big of an Essendon fan you can get and his favourite is the 1993 Preliminary vs Adelaide.
Fourth one i'll say, 1984 grand final, the last quarter :thumbsu::):thumbsu::D
Gonna have to give it to 1984.
Jonesy1987
14 Oct 2009, 14:43
tpQwnQ_jqaU
Never experienced a better atmosphere at a game. Best moments were the Dustin Fletcher punch in the dying seconds and Hille running out from the last line of defense.
windyhill
14 Oct 2009, 14:52
1984. Last quarter absolutely electric.
Philzsay
14 Oct 2009, 14:56
The moment Zaka kicked the winning goal in Anzac day this year was one of the most excited i ever got. Pure Joy!
The last quarter of the Eagles match at the Dome when Hirdy kicked the winning goal I won't forget in a hurry.
But for the most memorable game for me would have to be the Cats Salmon 10/Ablett 14 goals game win in 93.
centurion
14 Oct 2009, 15:22
Not my most memorable but i'll mention another ripper.
Essendon v Carlton in 98. Our comeback in the last quarter and Silvagni in a moment of panic dribbled the ball from the goal square to our 40 metre line straight to Lucas who picks it up and slams it home.
Bombers home. My arms were actually sore from fist pumping and had no voice the next day. And it was in the wet. A memorable experience.
After that 93 prelimary final, Hird's 100th against Sydney in 98, 84 Grand Final, 93 Grand Final against the SCUM and that 41 point comeback against Melbourne in the last quarter in 92. And of course James Hird v West Coast in 04.
Thats all i can remember for now.
Lance Uppercut
14 Oct 2009, 15:51
tpQwnQ_jqaU
Never experienced a better atmosphere at a game. Best moments were the Dustin Fletcher punch in the dying seconds and Hille running out from the last line of defense.
this and Anzac day this year - un-****ing-believable atmospheres!
I would have to say Anzac day this year. I was actually playing football at the time it was being played and it was raining. We were up by about 100 points and it was the last quarter. The umpire threw up the ball in the centre square and there was a huge cheer from the boundary line when i noticed there was no one on the boundary everyone was inside watching the tv in the club rooms cheering the bombers on :thumbsu:
OzBomber
14 Oct 2009, 16:06
1. Zaharakis easily. The most I have EVER celebrated. I was in space, I was jumped that high. I did so many fist pumps as well.
THE BEACON
14 Oct 2009, 16:33
Against Carlton at Princes Park 1981 I think, Neil Daniher kicked last 3 goals of game to win the game, Carlton were some twenty odd points up with time on just commencing in the last quarter.
They thought they had it won!!!
eth-dog
14 Oct 2009, 16:36
84 GF, 93 GF, '01 r 16 and ANZAC Day
Skeeta Olly
14 Oct 2009, 16:54
Anzac Day '09.
I had never lost my voice celebrating until then.
Emotionally, Hawthorn Rd 22 '09 was pretty epic. After that Lloyd bump, it became a match between Essendon and Hawks supporters. The amount of shit that was being said, it felt like there was about to be a riot.
The match against WCE where Hird snapped that goal was also quite memorable.
After only a few years ago when I really started following Essendon (obsessively), I never really enjoyed the Grand Final (2009) as much as I would now.
table tennis
14 Oct 2009, 17:54
my first game was in 92. I was 5. Essendon V Melbourne. Sitting in the newly built Southern stand. Essendon down by 42 points at 3/4 time. A Wanganeen and Long exhibition in the last to steal the game by a point. The noise and a elation in the crowd, made me hide under the seat, as i thought the stand was going to fall down.
One thing is for sure, i will never forget my first game.
Prelim in 93 was great, Salmon v Ablett shoot out was awesome. 99 clash with Kangas when carey kicked 10 and Lloyd 7. Watching Lloyd destroy Sydney in rd 3 99 was great too 13 goals.
Zaharakis will forever live in my memory too.
Come to think about it...... What a f*cking great club!
Grey Smith Bar
14 Oct 2009, 18:44
Best win I have attended is the 93 Prelim. Actually a lot of memorable games that year, loved the Ablett/Salmon shootout, Timmy's Comeback, Jacket Waving etc.
Worst loss I have attended is the 99 Prelim
AndyLesPaul
14 Oct 2009, 18:55
tpQwnQ_jqaU
Pretty good mark by Laycock.
Round 5 this year for me.
centrelink1
14 Oct 2009, 19:32
Anzac day 2009. Not only did i get to see Essendon win a game like that, but to see Collingwood lose... 20/10.
Ben the Gooner
14 Oct 2009, 20:17
Apart from some of the ones being mentioned, St Kilda this year was great.
Bomber32
14 Oct 2009, 20:37
1. 1984 GF v Hawthorn
2. 1993 PF v Adelaide
3. Round 16, 2001 v Kangaroos
SirJimi05
14 Oct 2009, 20:43
The 2007 win at the Dome against the Eagles was right up there. Most amazing atmosphere i've ever been part of. The stands were literally shaking.
Another great game that hasn't been mentioned was the comeback game against the Demons in the early 90's. I think it was 44 point comeback and was a record at the time? I remember Derek Kickett tacking a mark smashing into the goal post trying desperately not to give away a point.
Another one of my favs was the qualifying final in 93 against the Blues. It was on a Friday night from memory. Amazing atmosphere. Wanga's was doing his best kamakaze routines.
King Of The Hille
14 Oct 2009, 21:28
1. Zaharakis easily. The most I have EVER celebrated. I was in space, I was jumped that high. I did so many fist pumps as well.
Cool story man:thumbsu:.
James Hird boundary goal by a mile.
Air_Chester
14 Oct 2009, 21:30
The 2007 win at the Dome against the Eagles was right up there. Most amazing atmosphere i've ever been part of. The stands were literally shaking.
In all fairness, the removable seating at the Dome vibrates very easily :p
But yes, the stands were shaking more that day than any in my recollection. Fantastic game, and easily one of the best (and one of my all time favourites) that I've ever attended.
Being there for the '95 Anzac Day draw was intense. Anzac Day always is, but with 94,000+ there the G just kinda felt like it was going to burst, and the atmosphere was something else, man.
Vividly recall being at the Geelong Centenary Game. Darren Bewick turned it ON that night. And I'm partial to fireworks. Like, real fireworks, not metaphorical ones.
The Carlton "Game of the Century" or whatever hyperbole was given to it in Rd. 20, 2000 was great. The Geelong-St. Kilda of it's year, and the Bombers took a 2 point 3QT lead to run out winners by 26. Another 90,000+ game, felt privileged to be there.
The Line in the Sand. Was at the fence, about 20 metres from the brawl. Never forget it.
Carlton, Prelim, 99. My world broke that day. Sure, the thread is about wins, but that provided the fuel to the best season on record, and the redemption of 2000 was great.
Got plenty more, a few obscure ones I'll think of later, but looking back, my childhood was pretty friggin awesome, going to the footy every week for 13 years.
bipolarbeaR
14 Oct 2009, 21:32
Last year against the Brisbane Lions at the Telstra dome.
My first AFL game live, I hadn't experienced it before and we had scored about 54 in the first quarter, I was right above Paddy Ryder and Jonno Brown on the second story.
I know it's signifigant to nobody but me but who cares :P
shad518
14 Oct 2009, 22:56
tpQwnQ_jqaU
The short guy shaking Sheedy's hand at the end of the video is my dad. He bought the seat in a charity auction. Described it as one of the most amazing experiences of his entire life.
He couldn't stop talking about Sheeds for weeks after... said he was in constant motion. He had a room full of people shouting stats and ideas at him and he just ignored the bad ones and acted on the good ones. For 3hrs.
First time i realised how much influence coaches have on a game. Must be a huge effort to construct a comeback like that.
southwest bomber
14 Oct 2009, 23:24
Being from Perth, any time we beat the Eagles is great but 2007 when Hirdy kicked that goal from the boundry and hugged that fan i was extatic!!
Also Anzac Day this year and beating the Saints:thumbsu:
saladin
15 Oct 2009, 09:39
The 93 prelim, mid-way through the third, Merc's drills a goal, the stands were literally shaking. Destiny was at hand, you could actually feel the inevitability. :thumbsu:
tpQwnQ_jqaU
Yeah that was an awesome night. We were getting smashed early but it was vintage Hird and Fletch after that.
When Lucas marked about 60m out in the last quater and wheeled around and kicked the goal 48,000 essendon supporters went absolutely nuts.
Also...
Essendon v Brisbane 2003...Hird v Voss, Hirdy BOG. We hadn't beaten them since 2000 and everyone was righting us off.
ANZAC Day 09 and 03
Essendon v North 2001...the comeback.
ghostdog
15 Oct 2009, 10:42
ANZAC Day this year is hard to beat. The comeback match against North was very good too.
The West Coast match in 07 was a ripper. It was the first AFL game my fiance had seen and I thought that would get her into it... nope. She didn't watch another game until the Brisbane Carlton final this year, which she lied that she didn't enjoy to spite me. She knows I'm waiting :D
aidancdaman
15 Oct 2009, 15:00
The massive win over the Kangaroos in the 2000 Qualifying finals. It was the first game of AFL that i've ever been to, being a kiwi, and it got me hooked.
BIGFELLA11
15 Oct 2009, 22:11
Round 11 2007 was special remember dad scored free tickets to it. Carlton round three this year was great as well everyone wrote us off and somehow we pulled it off. Anzac day was epic remember hugging random essendons supporters around me and watching the Bomber fans go nuts. Adealaide round 1 2007 was really important as well Scott Lucas kicks 9 and we sink the inbreds. The elimination final against Melbourne was best final since the swans v west coast grand final and cats and saints.
Few good losses as well where the dons had played well over the years. Round 22 2007 Lucas kicks seven in a quarter to try and send sheedy and hird off on a good note.
Round 16 2008 dons against all odds come within a goal and we fall short.
DogMclaren
15 Oct 2009, 22:37
Round 11 2007 was special remember dad scored free tickets to it. Carlton round three this year was great as well everyone wrote us off and somehow we pulled it off. Anzac day was epic remember hugging random essendons supporters around me and watching the Bomber fans go nuts. Adealaide round 1 2007 was really important as well Scott Lucas kicks 9 and we sink the inbreds. The elimination final against Melbourne was best final since the swans v west coast grand final and cats and saints.
Few good losses as well where the dons had played well over the years. Round 22 2007 Lucas kicks seven in a quarter to try and send sheedy and hird off on a good note.
Round 16 2008 dons against all odds come within a goal and we fall short.
Preety sure it was just 7 from memory. think scootas best effort was 8? agaisnt wce in jimmy and sheeds last game.....maybe got 8 on other ocasisons....never 9 though
caboose
17 Oct 2009, 13:51
Round 3, 2004 for me - Hird's brilliance in the circumstances was simply epic.
Closely followed by the 1984 GF .. first-ever premiership I had seen the Dons win, and for the boys to do it in such a way was really something else.