View Full Version : Hunt Off To France

DoItForCaptBlood
18 Oct 2009, 16:13
With him off to France to play union for 8 months, how could he be serious about playing AFL? For a guy who has no idea how to compete at AFL level, you would think if he was actually going to play, he would be spending day in day out for the next 12 months living and breathing footy.

Hi aint going to play even 1 game, is he? He won't want to embarrass himself!

mattys123
18 Oct 2009, 17:17
8 months hey, in my estimation that brings him back about round 17 or 18 of the VFL season next year, not exactly a firm grounding in the game going into his first AFL season the following year.

You would think if he was serious about AFL he would have done a deal to be back a lot earlier in the VFL season to play for the GC VFL side.

CoastBhoy
19 Oct 2009, 07:58
8 months hey, in my estimation that brings him back about round 17 or 18 of the VFL season next year, not exactly a firm grounding in the game going into his first AFL season the following year.

You would think if he was serious about AFL he would have done a deal to be back a lot earlier in the VFL season to play for the GC VFL side.

He will be playing for the Coast in May , why has this come as a shock to people , he said it ast his press conf , will have nearly a full VFL season under his belt come 2011.

Buddy
19 Oct 2009, 10:19
He will be playing for the Coast in May , why has this come as a shock to people , he said it ast his press conf , will have nearly a full VFL season under his belt come 2011.

The main worry is injury.

What if (touchwood obviously), he gets a long-term knee or ankle injury towards the end of his rugby stint? That'll put him back a further 6 months and cause him to be severely underdone for his debut AFL season ...

swaneagle24
19 Oct 2009, 14:14
It was announced when he signed with GC that he'd be free to pursue overseas rugby between the end of the NRL season until he starts with GC, hardly news...?

DoItForCaptBlood
19 Oct 2009, 17:38

You are either seriously stretching 'nearly' or maybe 'full' here.

I think you will find most AFL footballers consider the season starting in March. My point is if he wanted to get the best onfield results for the team, he would be doing everything possible to make himself available for as many matches as possible.

No shock here and no, its not really news swaneagle...I guess while I was kicking the ball in the park with my son on the weekend and seeing him already thinking of the season coming up, and his mate, a rugby player who was spraying every kick with his rugby style, my thoughts drifted to Hunt and wondered why he wouldn't think it a good idea to immerse himself in AFL for the WHOLE of 2010. Then the news item came out which prompted my post.

Then again, the Euro is pretty strong right now. so understandable, and he can always stick to tackling for 2011 :thumbsu:

Adzam
19 Oct 2009, 21:05
It was announced when he signed with GC that he'd be free to pursue overseas rugby between the end of the NRL season until he starts with GC, hardly news...?

thats what Im trying to figure out. didn't he say it was on the cards all along. whys it causing so much discussion now

swaneagle24
20 Oct 2009, 21:24
I guess the ability to go and play a season of rugby in Europe for 8 months was an attraction to the whole deal. While you'd think he'd want to get right into the AFL from the get go, I daresay part of the incentive for him to make the switch was the fact that he was provided a window of opportunity to get some quick cash. If they'd have said no to the rugby window, maybe he wouldn't have switched, he could have potentially just gone OS permanently.

brjafi
23 Oct 2009, 20:00
this is news to me

why would he do such a thing! on the cards before they picked him up or not why would he go to france for that long when he should be training and getting his skills in order for afl!!!?

gold coast pull your heads in and dont let him do it or rip up the contract that you paying too much for anyway, unbeleivable!

Lawnchair
23 Oct 2009, 22:50
It just proves that the coast aren't serious about him becoming a good player. The fact that he will only be in the country for 10 VFL games is pathetic. Not to mention his body is going to be all wrong for AFL, forgetting his skills and smarts.

Lifes a Beach
24 Oct 2009, 09:15
The way the gold coast will succeed is to embrace the local community, it must have "gold coasters" playing for it, so that the locals can relate to young men they know or know of and give young hearts someone to follow and aspire to be.

What it must not do is get caught up in the sideshow acts of rookie search, K Hunt and irishmen. It must must take the higher ground and treat the game and the skills required of the game with more respect that many are doing at the moment.

I note with interest that E Arroca NM and M Bowers Bris have paid attention to BF boards in recent weeks, I hope T Auld GC does the same.

Professor Knowall
25 Oct 2009, 18:04
It just proves that the coast aren't serious about him becoming a good player. The fact that he will only be in the country for 10 VFL games is pathetic. Not to mention his body is going to be all wrong for AFL, forgetting his skills and smarts.
No, you (and a few others here) haven't really thought about this, and are thus wrong. Here's why -
As a couple of others have stated, there's no surprise in this news - right from when news of his signing with GC was announced , it was also stated that his contract commenced from May 2010, and that it would allow Hunt to pursue signing for a season of top line rugby in either Europe or Japan prior to starting with the GC. It was always intended that way by both parties.

To have a young, fit and able top-line professional footballer (of any code), who's used to playing (and starring) at an elite level to not be allowed to perform at an elite level for 18 months would be totally detrimental to him (and therefore for the Gold Coast FC) - for a whole range of reasons which should be obvious enough if you really think.

In short, both Hunt and Gold Coast FC are much better off having Hunt play a season of elite level rugby, followed by 10 months of preparation and training before his first possible regular AFL game, rather than having a clearly excessive 18 month "pre-season", that would just result in him becoming peeved as the (too many) months passed by, whilst he cannot play at the elite level to which he is used too.

The season of rugby in Europe solves that problem nicely, and that's why the Gold Coast FC encouraged him to do so.

Lifes a Beach
25 Oct 2009, 18:32
No, you (and a few others here) haven't really thought about this, and are thus wrong. Here's why -
As a couple of others have stated, there's no surprise in this news - right from when news of his signing with GC was announced , it was also stated that his contract commenced from May 2010, and that it would allow Hunt to pursue signing for a season of top line rugby in either Europe or Japan prior to starting with the GC. It was always intended that way by both parties.

To have a young, fit and able top-line professional footballer (of any code), who's used to playing (and starring) at an elite level to not be allowed to perform at an elite level for 18 months would be totally detrimental to him (and therefore for the Gold Coast FC) - for a whole range of reasons which should be obvious enough if you really think.

In short, both Hunt and Gold Coast FC are much better off having Hunt play a season of elite level rugby, followed by 10 months of preparation and training before his first possible regular AFL game, rather than having a clearly excessive 18 month "pre-season", that would just result in him becoming peeved as the (too many) months passed by, whilst he cannot play at the elite level to which he is used too.

The season of rugby in Europe solves that problem nicely, and that's why the Gold Coast FC encouraged him to do so.

Firstly just because it had already been announced does not make it right and most were annoyed at the time.

Secondly the VFL competiton is an elite competition for him at this stage of his ability at AFL level, and to think that playing another sport other than the one you are supposed to, being better for that sport defies logic, and sports science ( including any data on muscle memory and training techniques ).

Thirdly if the Gold coast encouraged him to do so (show evidence) then I and a lot of people on the coast will be very nervous about who is running our club.

Thankfully you follow Collingwood so that in itself provides an answer to your post:rolleyes:

Lawnchair
25 Oct 2009, 23:03

Did you just look in the toilet bowl and attempt to interpret what you saw? Probably the same way though came up with Dane Swan as a brownlow favourite. It won't be an 18 month preseason you fool. He'd be pushing himself to even get on the field in the second best competition in Australia. Have you ever even WATCHED a game of Rugby? It requires a different skill set, different thought patterns, even a different style of physical conditioning. I'd bet my house that his skills aren't even up to TAC standards yet, let alone AFL. The smarts come from PLAYING FOOTBALL. How much of that is he going to do in France?

dajesmac
26 Oct 2009, 00:30
TBH I have no idea why the Gold Coast would want him.

Professor Knowall
26 Oct 2009, 16:44
Firstly just because it had already been announced does not make it right and most were annoyed at the time.
Good - you acknowledge it had already been announced. I don't recall however that "most pepole" were annoyed at the time. The reaction to his signing seemed very positive at the time.
... Secondly the VFL competiton is an elite competition for him at this stage of his ability at AFL level, and to think that playing another sport other than the one you are supposed to, being better for that sport defies logic, and sports science ( including any data on muscle memory and training techniques ). ...
But it doesn't defy sport psychology for elite level athletes (and remember Hunt was a star in the NRL). Having no elite level competition to play in (in front of big crowds etc) for 18 months would be a huge test on his motivation. Far better to have him spend the first 7 months of that 18 month period playing elite level rugby, then 10 months preparing for the AFL.
... Thirdly if the Gold coast encouraged him to do so (show evidence) then I and a lot of people on the coast will be very nervous about who is running our club. ...
I thought the fact that Hunt's GC contract doesn't start until 10/5/09 - timed nicely to neatly coincide with the end of the European rugby season - was evidence enough of encouragement to take the rugby oprion. No doubt the club was concerned on how they could keep an elite level player motivated for a whole 18 months of preparation - the solution was to reduce this time to 10 months (and allow Hunt to earn a bit more on the side. A satisfied Hunt can then commence in May fuilly motivated to succeeed and still have 10 months before his first AFL game.

You can still, of course, be nervous about who is running your club if you want, but IMO they made the right call on this.
... Thankfully you follow Collingwood so that in itself provides an answer to your post:rolleyes:
Yes - I must be right! :p

lionshine
26 Oct 2009, 16:49
Guys GC allowed him to have that clause in his contract but they were hoping right up to last month that he woulnd't go. Even Guy Mckkennna said on the radio up here ''he says he hopes the Broncos make the grand final because that will de-crease Hunts chances of playing union for 6 monts'' so mate GC didn't encourage him to do anything but sign!

I don't mind personally just as long as he does the right think by the code and works hard to get on the field forround 1 2011!

Professor Knowall
26 Oct 2009, 17:04
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/karmichael-hunts-french-lesson/story-e6frf9jf-1225790246739

Karmichael Hunt's French lesson

... Gold Coast chief executive Travis Auld yesterday said Hunt had been signed on the expectation he would head overseas to play rugby union.

"We won't have anyone there working with him but he's packed a Sherrin so he can have a kick around," Auld said yesterday.
"He's still playing an elite ball sport at the highest level. 2010 is almost irrelevant in the scheme of things. It's more about getting him settled down and used to our environment, and then he will have a big pre-season ahead of 2011." ...

DoItForCaptBlood
26 Oct 2009, 17:41
There is no way in hell the GCFC were 'happy' for him to go. However, it would seem obvious he simply said if he got offered a contract in Europe, he would be going, take it or leave it.

GCFC would have loved to have him around building on the momentum in attempting to convert all the NRL youngsters over to OUR game. Although, the club may have later realised that there could be a better 'media' chance on his return midseason.

Once all the early games and a more organised game plan is established, they can as loudly as possible announce Hunt's FIRST AFL (VFL!!) game - "Get Down And See How He Goes!!) Naturally it will need to be a home game for his 1st one. How many NRL youngsters would turn up to see him??

Great for the game....and it won't really matter how he goes IMO. It's the following year with the main event I am more concerned about. I am slightly more confident now about the time he has to get to 'around the level' skill wise. And he will have a plethera of talented kids showing him how it is done.

Redb#
27 Oct 2009, 08:11

I agree on wanting to play the elite stuff. However a longer stint in the VFl would prepare him better for the AFL.

Hunt might think he will pick it up quickly, I reckon he will struggle for longer than expected. Still will be OK, but the skills difference under pressure is a limiting factor that can only be over come with time on the ground.

it will be fascinating to watch his evolution - the publicity and interest alone makes the dollars worth every cent for sure. :thumbsu:

Lifes a Beach
11 Nov 2009, 18:51
I see now that Hunt will only play 2 games at VFL level according to McKenna, if he succeeds to play well in the AFL the next year, means ,Our game has less skill than I think it has or more likely this is a publicity stunt that is starting to get out of hand.

Biggy_Boy
11 Nov 2009, 22:44
Gonna be a good first season for him in the AFL. He'll play the GC's first home game at the very least, in a bid to draw in fans of NRL to watch and he will proceed to embarass the club and himself by putting in a laughably poor and limited performance, after which he will not play again and by the end of the season will be gone.

He's basically got to sacrifice one year of his rugby career to get paid 1 million dollars. He probably believes it's worth it, and I don't blame him.

Stereophonic
15 Nov 2009, 06:34
I see now that Hunt will only play 2 games at VFL level according to McKenna, if he succeeds to play well in the AFL the next year, means ,Our game has less skill than I think it has or more likely this is a publicity stunt that is starting to get out of hand.

Im tending to agree with you on this one, I mean 2 games? yet let him play to back to back seasons of league/union? Are the GC really trying to get the best out of him?

Sweetie
11 Jan 2010, 11:40
Does anyone actually care if he ends up playing? The Gold Coast doesn't have to pay his full salary (the AFL is subsidising most of it and it doesnt affect salary cap) and they have received millions of dollars worth of free advertising getting the Gold Coast AFL brand into the market place. Hunt earns his money by trying to prove the doubters wrong, but that itself is a story that footy and neutral sports fans will be dying to follow over the next few years. And does anyone think that if he spent 8 months extra training and playing VFL he would have any more of a realistic chance of making it? I think if he has got it, he will just have it. And if he doesnt, he could spend the next 4 seasons trying to make it and still come up well short. I dont think its worth bagging the club or Hunt for what they have done, so far they have all been winners!

Stereophonic
11 Jan 2010, 20:25
Does anyone actually care if he ends up playing? The Gold Coast doesn't have to pay his full salary (the AFL is subsidising most of it and it doesnt affect salary cap) and they have received millions of dollars worth of free advertising getting the Gold Coast AFL brand into the market place. Hunt earns his money by trying to prove the doubters wrong, but that itself is a story that footy and neutral sports fans will be dying to follow over the next few years. And does anyone think that if he spent 8 months extra training and playing VFL he would have any more of a realistic chance of making it? I think if he has got it, he will just have it. And if he doesnt, he could spend the next 4 seasons trying to make it and still come up well short. I dont think its worth bagging the club or Hunt for what they have done, so far they have all been winners!

Mm, maybe, but why not give him the proper preperation and actually give him a chance to play regular senior footy.

CharlieSlim
17 Jan 2010, 20:51
The man can play AFL but hasnt played it for so long.... needs to play as many AFL games this season so he doesnt make a fool of himself.... Its all marketing.... Western Sydney side is also targeting high profile Rugby League players to switch codes...

RangaInTeal
22 Jan 2010, 08:58
The man can play AFL but hasnt played it for so long.... needs to play as many AFL games this season so he doesnt make a fool of himself.... Its all marketing.... Western Sydney side is also targeting high profile Rugby League players to switch codes...

If I was GWS I wouldn't be trying to mimic GC17's entry! Do something different, get three GUN AFL footballers, dont bother with the BS of pinching other codes stars!

DoItForCaptBlood
27 Jan 2010, 19:37
Did anyone see the report today on he news about GCFC doing preseason games in NSW somewhere and Hunts name was brought up as playing??

Edit: Just read the other thread with the report indicating r6 or so, which confirms the TV report was BS.

Sebastian Balboa
1 Feb 2010, 17:49
Did anyone see the report today on he news about GCFC doing preseason games in NSW somewhere and Hunts name was brought up as playing??

Edit: Just read the other thread with the report indicating r6 or so, which confirms the TV report was BS.

I think this might be the report about Hunt:

http://www.northernstar.com.au/story/2010/01/27/hunt-is-on-for-lismore-afl-trial/

FORMER Broncos and Queensland State of Origin rugby league fullback Karmichael Hunt could play AFL in Lismore if the Gold Coast Football Club gets its wish to bring a pre-season game to the Northern Rivers.

Hunt was signed by the new AFL club last year on a three-year contract after he announced his decision to quit the NRL. He is set to complete an amazing tri-code journey when he joins his team-mates after his sojourn in French rugby union ends in May.

The GCFC, this year playing in the VFL ahead of its entry into the AFL in 2011, will be right in the middle of its first AFL pre-season this time next year.

Gold Coast coach Guy McKenna is keen to have Hunt in the team on his return to Australia and to get as many games under his belt in preparation for his AFL debut.

The club will dip its toe in the Northern Rivers next month when it visits Lismore and Ballina as part of the AFL's Community Camps; its first major step into the region in its bid to build support here.

The GCFC has welcomed the opportunity to play a pre-season match in the region from next year.

"We're certainly interested (in playing in Lismore)," GCFC spokesman Greg Price said.

"There has been strong support for an AFL team on the Gold Coast from the Northern Rivers and we intend to give that support back.

"We're very aware of (AFL) interest in the region; it has a healthy and active Aussie Rules community there and we intend to embrace it."

Price said the GCFC will leave it to the AFL to schedule its 2011 pre-season.

"It really is up to AFL scheduling where we play those matches," he said.

The AFL's annual pre-season competition awards $350,000 to the winner and $160,000 to the runner-up.

First-, second- and third-round losers play trial games in regional areas, which in the past have included centres such as Alice Springs (NT), Bunbury (WA), Port Lincoln (SA) and Cairns (Queensland). This is where Lismore could figure.

Any AFL pre-season match on the Northern Rivers would have to be at Lismore's Oakes Oval, the region’s premier sporting ground. Its dimensions are certainly adequate, with the Summerland AFL competition having played there in the past.

With NRL and Super 14 rugby union trials having been played in Lismore, AFL and A-League soccer pre-season matches would complete the football set.

DoItForCaptBlood
2 Feb 2010, 11:05
Cheers...seeing it in print clears it up. They are only going to Lismore for a visit/camp this year, the preseason game which Hunt could play in would be a 2011 preseason game.

Obviously being used, as we all know, as an anti League weapon. Mind you, my sons best friend this week announced, much to his fathers shock at first, he will be crossing to AFL. Not sure how much the Hunt factor influenced this, but I can't help but think it is a masterstroke, not just to get the kids onside, but the dads who see Hunt playing all 3 codes and see 'a year or two' of AFL for their son as great development for them (and the day when they hopefully return to League). Little do they know.....

Fire
7 Feb 2010, 13:03
If I was GWS I wouldn't be trying to mimic GC17's entry! Do something different, get three GUN AFL footballers, dont bother with the BS of pinching other codes stars!

You do realise its not possible for either GC or WS to pich AFL stars until the trade period 6 months before they enter the competition?

In the mean time all they can do is sign up unkown kids and athletes from other codes.

Professor Knowall
12 Feb 2010, 14:47
Seeing as this thread is about Hunt, some here may be interested in this article (which includes a link to the full interview), though he doesn't say anything dramatic or greatly newsworthy. Very PC -

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hunt-admits-he-wont-be-great-straight-away-in-the-afl-20100211-nucw.html

Lifes a Beach
14 Feb 2010, 12:01
First Honest article on this subject that I have seen.

Lifes a Beach
18 Feb 2010, 13:37
Time was right for another article on Hunt, good media...love the rhetoric.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,26738545-5018851,00.html

must be an easy game to master this AFL, why bother with Junior football?

Professor Knowall
18 Feb 2010, 20:54
Time was right for another article on Hunt, good media...love the rhetoric.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,26738545-5018851,00.html

must be an easy game to master this AFL, why bother with Junior football?
Not so sure the GCFC liked this bit though - "... Hunt is three-quarters of the way through a stint at French rugby club Biarritz. His season has been stalled by a hamstring injury ..."

guruisatiger
4 Mar 2010, 11:22
should stay in france will not make it in afl its all just hype and spin will probaby one game for publicity and thats about it lol

LIONOFZION
4 Mar 2010, 18:05
Better hope he doesn't tackle Cotchin - might snap him in two. ;)

Lifes a Beach
4 Mar 2010, 18:57
Better hope he doesn't tackle Cotchin - might snap him in two. ;)

Firstly Cotchin will be unlucky to be playing the same level as footy as Hunt (either Hunt's only AFL game or Cotchin will be playing VFL).

Secondly It will have to be a behind the play incident because Hunt won't be where the ball is.

Thirdly and most likely Cotchin will have to take up playing Rugby in France.