View Full Version : Matthews' future

Gordon Nöel
8 Jan 2001, 09:43
I reckon if Leigh doesn't deliver at least a Grand Final appearance in 2001, he should get the flick.

Denno
8 Jan 2001, 15:32
Whatever

John Howard
9 Jan 2001, 06:16
He should have been sacked half way through the year. Having him for another 3 years is going to be a disaster.

joshhem
10 Jan 2001, 11:07
Pardon????? I don;t think so!!!!!!!! Where would Brisbane be today without him???? Bankrupt with Roger Mettrit in charge.....
Liegh has done wonders for the club and doesn't deserve the flack that everyone gives him!!

brissy_lionsgal
11 Jan 2001, 10:08
I agrre with you Josh, that is that he's done wonders for the team. People seem to expect the same results as what happened in 1999. They then expect it to continue forever. At the end of 1999, many of the commentators and even Matthews himself said that the season had been an exceptional one and that both the players and the supporters should not expect another like 1999 for quite some time, that the team just had a great year.

The same thing happened in 1997, when the year before the Bears had an excellent season and then in 1997, the shit really hit the fan. The media, and even some of the supporters tried to blame it on the merger. However it was most probably due to that fact that some of the players felt that because of the season that occurred last year, they'd just continue were they left off, or in other words started to believe their own publicity.

So, just because the the lions season was average last year, people start baying for Matthews blood this year, after singing his praises 12 months ago. At this rate, the lions will end up like Richmond, after a good season, followed by a bad season we sack the coach.

However, after saying this, I do believe that the lions really need to at least get into a grand final, if not win one, in the next couple of years, just to spread the gospel of AFL up here in Queensland.

A flag in QLD would up the Lions popularity and persuade frequent, "on the bandwagon" supporters to become ticket and full voting members.

Well that's my humble opinion

[This message has been edited by brissy_lionsgal (edited 10 January 2001).]

Dodongo
24 Jan 2001, 18:20
Originally posted by Gordon Nöel:
I reckon if Leigh doesn't deliver at least a Grand Final appearance in 2001, he should get the flick.

Dodongo is with you. Dodongo knows Matthews is capable of taking Brisbane to a Grand Final. Dodongo remembers Matthews bring Collingwood to a Grand Final win in 1990. God Knows how he did it.

------------------
DODONGO HAS SPOKEN

[This message has been edited by Dodongo (edited 23 January 2001).]

ghost
25 Jan 2001, 13:07
Originally posted by John Howard:
He should have been sacked half way through the year. Having him for another 3 years is going to be a disaster.

John, you are making sense for a change.

John Howard
25 Jan 2001, 14:52
It's good to know that you are agreeing with me. The big question is who do the Australian citizens want as their Prime Minister. Kim Beazly or Myself.

Roylion
26 Jan 2001, 13:01
Only twelve months ago, 99% of Lions supporters were lauding Matthews to the skies, saying what a great coach he was bringing the Lions from 16th to 4th...congratulating him for the move of Leppitsch to the back-line etc etc.

Why has it changed? Why are people seriously suggesting that he should have been sacked 12 weeks into the 2000 season, after getting the team to the preliminary final not eight months before? Why are people such as 'Gordon Noel' suggesting that Matthews get the flick if we don't finish 1 or 2? So if we lose a preliminary final this year, Brisbane should sack Matthews (a coach that would have a 4th, 5th, 4th record). Got any ideas on who would do a better job? Get Roger Merrett or John Northey back perhaps? Robert Walls? Get Vossy to captain-coach perhaps?

Correct me if I'm wrong but Matthews was voted the Player of the 20th Century wasn't he? And he did coach Collingwood to a premiership and a few finals appearances didn't he? It's hard to imagine a more credentialled player for coaching than Matthews and we should be counting our blessings we have him, especially in light of his very good coaching record he has with our club.

I'd like for once to hear a reasoned response as to why those people who think Matthews should be sacked. I haven't heard any concrete reasons apart from innuendo and hearsay....no proof. Players unhappy..lack of opportunity blah..blah..blah. I recall the same rumors circulating when Merrett and Northey were at the club. Perhaps instead of looking at Matthews, some of the players ought to be scrutinised more closely, if there is tension behind the scenes.

With a record of 4th and 5th in two years and a likely finals appearance in 2001, I don't think Matthews will be leaving at the end of this year.

The next three years a disaster if Matthews stays? Yeah? It's been such a disaster so far hasn't it?

Dodongo
26 Jan 2001, 16:38
Dodongo has now made the 1100 post.

------------------
DODONGO HAS SPOKEN

Denno
26 Jan 2001, 16:48
Here here, Roylion. It was a stupid topic to begin with. Hence my earlier "whatever"

Beausgirl43
17 Feb 2001, 09:26
Go Lethal.
cheers...

Gordon Nöel
19 Mar 2001, 08:56
I want answers for that abysmal performance last night. "We tried our best and it wasn't good enough" just doesn't wash anymore.

anna
19 Mar 2001, 10:43
No one seem sto care about last night.
No one seems to care that the same things happened last year in the real season.
No one would ever dare question Matthews, he's a hero to them.
What bollocks.
If this was Carlton they would have their answers, our supporters are complacent.We always say oh well, well maybe now is the time to ask questions.
We could have one last night,but saying oh well is plain not good enough.

Roylion
19 Mar 2001, 12:47
I'd still like to hear a reasoned response why Matthews should be sacked. Yet to hear one from anybody.

4th and 5th in the real season so far under Matthews.
Best Ansett Cup performance ever by the Lions (again under Matthews). Have the Brisbane Lions reached the Ansett Cup Grand Final before?

Granted we certainly didn't cover ourselves in glory in the GF. If the midfield is down then it is extremely difficult to win matches against a speedy outfit like Port. The turning point in my opinion was when White was injured in the second quarter and his opponent Dew took the opportunity to kick three quick goals. The Port midfield kept giving their forwards opportunities and it became difficult for the Lions defenders to continually counter. Our midfielders, Black, Power, Ashcroft and to a lesser extent Lappin had shocking games and the missing Voss and Hart obvoiusly had a greater impact than perhaps we anticipated. Lynch and Bradshaw were starved of opportunities and kicked reasonably poorly when they did get one. Matthews tried everything to get something happening including Leppitsch and Michael to the forward line and Lynch and Brown to the backline, as well as rotating his interchange. I'd like to ask all the would-be coaches out there how they would have stemmed the tide, when Port broke the game open and why their strategy would have worked better than Matthews did.

Full credit to Port, but any fingerpointing that takes place should be directed at the players and particularly the much vaunted midfield, not the coach in this instance.

I stated before the Ansett Cup GF that the silverware and the money would be nice, but the real season begins in two weeks time. Round 1 sees the same team at the same venue. Let's see what happens then.

Go_the_young_Guys
19 Mar 2001, 16:22
Sorry but you cant just sack a coach on one preformance...
Yes he has to take the wrap for the loss but I think the guys need to take some responsibility for their preformance on saturday night...
come on guys ... the coach cant make them play great one week and crap the next...
He can only instill in them skills , they are the ones that then need to put those skills into pratice...

SORRY... VOTE 1 for MATTHEWS....

sikblond
19 Mar 2001, 16:31
It was an absolute pathetic performance.only a few standout performers.
Pike
C.Scott
Leppitsch
White
Lethal excuse for the boys was bullshit,we played our best,if thats our best fuick i would hate to see our worst.
But then again it cant be an easy task taking the boys all that way to the cess pit from hell to deal with un professional idiots named port whos behaviour leaves a lot to be desired,oh what role models for the kids they are-not!!
Theyre supporters i think the word FERAL springs to mind...but i think feral is still too good for them..

REVENGE WILL BE SWEET!!

lioness
19 Mar 2001, 16:34
Originally posted by anna:
No one seems to care that the same things happened last year in the real season.
What bollocks.
If this was Carlton they would have their answers, our supporters are complacent.We always say oh well, well maybe now is the time to ask questions.

I am shockingly disappointed with last night, we ALL are, but really, the real stuff hasn't even started yet!!!! Why not wait and see how we go before going off the deep end. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif Besides if Lethal goes, who would be in his place? Any ideas? Any real reason WHY he should be sacked? Hell, it's not like we're on the bottom or anything, haven't been for the past couple of seasons. It's not as easy as just saying 'hey, we're good enough to have a premiership, or get in a Grand Final' the players have to WANT it, NEED it, base their very existence on it. There were no signs of that last night. Just some REALLY bad performances and a lot of sad faces at the end. It needs to sting, get right under their skin. THEN perhaps they'll come out breathing fire in Round 1 and show the rest of the league how to play football. THAT'S what needs to happen. Ask all the questions you want, we aren't going anywhere till those players decide they want to.

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

brissy_lionsgal
19 Mar 2001, 16:51
What bollocks.

We mightn't be like Carlton, but some of the supporters are starting to sound alot like Richmond supporters. And why must the coach be crucified?

Shouldn't the players have a good hard look at themselves as well. It is just naive to place all the blame on the coach. What would sacking the coach prove? It's just a band aid effect. Anyway, who cares, while it would have been excellent if the Lions had won the Ansett Cup, I'm not about to go and slit my wrists over the loss, even if it was dissappoint to see them go down by so much

And as for winning last night, we had buckley's chance after the first quarter. Port Adelaide were just too good.

Anyway Lions, put the past behind you, and learn from your mistakes, they were just the better team on the night. Gee, look at those footy cliches. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif

Kick some Port Adelaide arse in a fortnight. Knowing Matthew's he was probably just foxing anyway.

[This message has been edited by brissy_lionsgal (edited 18 March 2001).]

Red Rover
19 Mar 2001, 16:52
Calm down, don't put a curse on the coach this early. It's an important year for Matthews, but it hasn't really started yet.

Go_the_young_Guys
19 Mar 2001, 16:54
Come on everybody... look for the positives...

some young guys got some game time and come the end of the season that may come in very handy if we are to even think of going all the way this year...
and if you look back over the game some of them actaully played quite well on some pretty tough opponents...

so all I can add is ...

GO THE YOUNG GUYS !!!!!!!!!!!

Go_the_young_Guys
19 Mar 2001, 17:04
LIONESS22...

you are so correct with your statement...

" we aren't going anywhere till those players decide they want to "

I FULLY SUPPORT THE LIONS... WIN LOSE OR DRAW

ruth
19 Mar 2001, 17:18
So what if the players were told to lose last night.
They were told to play in the positions they were playing, they were told to do what they did.
Believe me.

joshhem
19 Mar 2001, 17:38
Listen guys we wern't the only ones that had problems.....look at every other game that port won. We just had a lot of things not going for us. Injuries, croud etc. WE GOT TO THE grand final for crying out loud!!

Go_the_young_Guys
20 Mar 2001, 06:08
SORRY Ruth but I will never believe that...

stevedalzell
20 Mar 2001, 15:20
What ever Matthews said at quarter time should be recorded and sent to the Sports Hall of Fame as the most uninspirational quarter time speech of all time.

Can't remember a team of any sort or sport copping such a complete bollocking from a team of tryers.

Also can't remember a game where such a turn about occurred through the loss of just one player. Once "Dwight" was "felled behind play" as one commentator said, Dew's avenue to goal just openned. Good night game!

Tassie Steve

Roylion
20 Mar 2001, 16:42
Still waiting for a reasoned response why Matthews should be sacked. Yet to hear one from his detractors.

Lionel Lyon
22 Mar 2001, 06:19
Originally posted by brissy_lionsgal:

However, after saying this, I do believe that the lions really need to at least get into a grand final, if not win one, in the next couple of years, just to spread the gospel of AFL up here in Queensland.
[This message has been edited by brissy_lionsgal (edited 10 January 2001).]

Well they did, on Sat. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif Calls for Leigh's sacking are absolutely ludicrous. He's performed miracles with the club, both in performance and recruiting/rebuilding.

mud n blood
22 Mar 2001, 07:08
In short - if they can't win a flag under Leigh, they won't win one EVER !

templar
22 Mar 2001, 07:57
Matthews will be the first coach to quit in 2001. All it needs is a couple more defeats like the last one. He has too much pride to hang around.

If a side is capable once of being thrashed like that then its DEFINATELY on the cards to happen again. This looks like being a very poor year.

I struggle to understand why people get on here and defend his coaching style.

An example... he played Shattock on Wanganeeen. When that didnt work he put Hadlee on him. Studidity! Move moves like that will see him depart.

Olmy
22 Mar 2001, 12:04
What bollocks.

Bit of a radical response there, don't you think anna?

You seem like the type of person who is out to destroy our club, and leave it at the lowly depths of the Richmond FC . . .

Hardly supportive comments there. Not even constructive . . .

tsk tsk

Are you a member? I'd want to be if I were you, before calling for the coach to be sacked.

Seems like we are becoming more like Richmond every day . . .

Olmy
22 Mar 2001, 12:17
Roylion and Brissy_lionsgal, you are both spot on.

I don't always like the way Matthews does things out on the field, and yes, perhaps sometimes there are other ideas I think he could try - however, sacking the coach is only going to cause instability more than anything else.

The Brisbane Lions would look the fools if the coach were to be sacked, anyway. I mean, sacking someone of L.Matthews credentials???

The club have committed to another three seasons - backing out on that will only be taking us back to the Noel Gordon style of leadership. Hardly something that a footy club can afford these days . . .

I can't see Matthews quiting either, for the same reason. He's committed himself to three years, and that being with a VERY young list (what, our average player age is 23???), he's hardly likely to back out because of short term results.

I don't know the background of these people calling for Matthews to be sacked. Perhaps they've only come on to supporting the Lions since we've been a successful side. These people should realise that the results we've had since Matthews has been coach, are extremely good. Sure, we haven't won a premiership - but it takes a few years for a side to become a truly great team. History tells us that (although, I don't expect some of these newcomers to care much about the history of our game - considering the contempt they seem to have for the Roys).

As for making the GF - well, I certainly expect the Lions to make the finals, and I also expect them to make the preliminary round, however, even in doing merely that, there is a lot of luck involved. Are you going to penalise Matthews if he strikes bad luck (which he has in the last two seasons, on a couple of occasions)????

Mr Ripper
22 Mar 2001, 12:33
templar proclaimed:
Studidity!

http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

------------------
Olmy knows best

Roylion
5 Sep 2001, 15:50
This topic was a beauty. I particularly liked Templar's statement.

"Matthews will be the first coach to quit in 2001. All it needs is a couple more defeats like the last one. He has too much pride to hang around.
If a side is capable once of being thrashed like that then its DEFINATELY on the cards to happen again. This looks like being a very poor year."

This was after the Ansett Cup Grand Final loss to Port Adelaide in Adelaide.

Faarkthecrows
29 Sep 2001, 23:10
Originally posted by Gordon Nöel

Where are you now Gordon Noel riding the bandwagon now I suppose :D

Haggis McHaggis
18 Sep 2010, 20:57
Those calling Voss the destroyer of everything Brisbane, this thread might well be worth reflecting on..

MacMum
18 Sep 2010, 21:02
I wasn't around BF then....had no idea all that was happening.....its very interesting isn't it..

Can only hope we have similiar results this time around..

LionKing
18 Sep 2010, 21:03
Nice find Haggis :thumbsu:

Axel.
18 Sep 2010, 21:06
Great bump. :D

Mr Ripper
18 Sep 2010, 21:18
Gordon Nöel clearly knew his football. :thumbsu:

John
18 Sep 2010, 21:23
Jojohnjo thinks that nothing has changed with Big Footy. People still talk shitshito:D.

BuntonRules
18 Sep 2010, 21:33
Mr Ripper was watching footy when Jesus Christ was a young KPP.

Haggis McHaggis
18 Sep 2010, 21:44
Mr Ripper was watching footy when Jesus Christ was a young KPP.

Good player in his day, but like most he got hung out to dry once he hit his 30's :p

Yippyio
18 Sep 2010, 23:14

Surely this has to go down as the worst statement of the century?!

Mr Ripper
18 Sep 2010, 23:29
Surely this has to go down as the worst statement of the century?!
Ahhh :D God bless SB! :D

western royboy
19 Sep 2010, 00:00
I recall being at Princes Park in about may of '01 in the Corporate Box of one Visy Industries for a Lions v Blues game. Fitzroy greats were paraded in a motorcade before the bounce and cured meats and party pies were washed down with unlimited supplies of alcoholic beverages. A strange man came in at one point dressed like a cowboy. I was well under the weather and asked in a yobboish manner who the F is that? Ushered to a quiet corner I was told it was the great man himself - King Richard.

On field we were insipid, smashed by 70 or 80 points. We lost to the Crows in Adelaide the next week I think and thens something changed and we didn't lose again until sometime in 2002. We were never the rabble off field that we are now.

I'll never forget it because my mate was a Carlton man an I was clearly the black sheep in the crew. The great Tony Barber joined us and from 10 minutes into the last quarter onwards he broke into his version of "We are the Navy Blues" every 3-4 minutes.

Personally, Vossy is carrying too much of the brunt of the rage here. But unless someone else goes high up in the tree, he will start to feel a lot of heat in 2011 form all corners.

lions_den
19 Sep 2010, 01:21
lulz were had.

fitzroy_lions123
19 Sep 2010, 01:25
HAHA! this thread was a massive fail.

irel
19 Sep 2010, 09:57
Hey John, when did you drop Howard from your moniker? I can understand why though. Stuffing up the country and all that.:D

joshhem
19 Sep 2010, 10:57
wow. I've been putting up with you 'sky is falling in' types for way to long looking at this thread...

RoaringUniLions
19 Sep 2010, 11:41
Epic bump is epic

GabbaGirl
19 Sep 2010, 12:39
Great bump indeed. Hindsight is beautiful isn't it? :D

Reardo
19 Sep 2010, 15:48
I'm speechless. Can't believe people actually thought that way. Wow.

Balony_pony16
19 Sep 2010, 17:58
HAHA! this thread was a massive fail.

damm right...I was wondering who the Matthews was in this thread...this blast from the past made for interesting reading. Classic Fail!

nigelicious
19 Sep 2010, 18:20
http://i52.tinypic.com/14akmfc.gif

*chuckle* Great bump

royboy2
20 Sep 2010, 10:46
hmm An A Grade Knob by the name of Gordon Noel, Who'd of thunk it? :rolleyes:

MSB ROYS
20 Sep 2010, 10:51
Ansett Cup!!! Ansett went belly up the next year (along with lots of FF points).

Thommo 42
20 Sep 2010, 14:04
Pretty sure Tony Kelly posts as Gordon Noel