View Full Version : Hussey's 6 the other night
Sylvia Saint
27 Oct 2009, 17:09
Would have to be one of the biggest ever wouldn't it?
Even the man himself was clearly in awe at the distance it travelled!!
youtube or it didn't happen
Marklar_33
27 Oct 2009, 18:56
"WOOOOO"..."Thats f**ken massive!"
He did once hit the roof at Dock...Telst...Etihad :thumbsu:
campbell023
27 Oct 2009, 19:43
Wasn't a 6 though lol.
OzBomber
27 Oct 2009, 20:10
Wasn't a 6 though lol.
It was a 12.
The six was ****ing massive. Anyone got the dimensions of that ground? Would've got 30 rows back at the MCG.
campbell023
28 Oct 2009, 11:57
It was a 12.
The six was ****ing massive. Anyone got the dimensions of that ground? Would've got 30 rows back at the MCG.
Should have been a 12. Was a dead ball though:p
Wish I didn't delete Aus innings off foxtel. I would be able to see this massive hit.
THRILLHO
28 Oct 2009, 12:14
Pretty much the only KFC Big Bash match I have ever seen involved the Victorian opener, Rob Quiney probably, sending a ball into orbit and out of the stadium.
Maybe 07/'08 against WA at the WACA. Was absolutely massive.
Mark Waugh's 6 off Vettori at teh WACA was huuuuge!
TorresIsGod
28 Oct 2009, 14:10
Pretty much the only KFC Big Bash match I have ever seen involved the Victorian opener, Rob Quiney probably, sending a ball into orbit and out of the stadium.
Maybe 07/'08 against WA at the WACA. Was absolutely massive.
Aiden Blizzard, but yes, that was ****ing massive that 6 at the WACA.
During the Champions League Kumar Sangakkara was telling Ravi Shastri in the commentary box about that six and Ravi couldn't believe someone actually hit the ball out of the WACA and into the practice nets.
Kumar also said that when the Sri Lankan boys were last in Perth they checked out just how far the ball went and reckonif he had not have seen it he would not have thought it was possible.
b3WI4bMSpp0
Brett Lee's six into the top tier of the new stand at the GABBA is also up there...
ue0qOdjedN0
Another I remember vividly but have no footage of was a six Colin Miller hit off Curtley Ambrose in the West Indies. It was a waist high pull shot that he swung at like an A-Rod home run. It sailed miles out of the ground and was still on its way up as it cleared the grand stand. Very similar to Brett Lee's six in terms of contact but the ball was a bit shorter.
Belnakor
28 Oct 2009, 16:07
Two the biggest sixes ever have been at the WACA.
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/_EsRRjHgLc8&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_EsRRjHgLc8&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>
that one is huge as well, the same end of the ground before it got redeveloped
Belnakor
28 Oct 2009, 16:12
i was also there when M.Waugh hit Vettori between the two stands and basically out of the ground at the WACA - but that was more of a lower strong hit, if the stand had been there it wouldn't have gone nearly as far.
Didn't that Mark Waugh six end up on the roof of the stand?
The one I remember, which I think is the same one Moody was referring to, went nearly as high as it did long.
Absolutely massive hit, but still don't think it was as big as Blizzard's.
Hellgood
28 Oct 2009, 18:43
Aiden Blizzard's was fkn awesome. I was there, absolutely insane!
Was underneath the Afridi one at the WACA, massive hit.
OzBomber
28 Oct 2009, 18:51
Brett Lee's six into the top tier of the new stand at the GABBA is also up there...
ue0qOdjedN0
That must've recently been put on youtube because I've searched everywhere for it and not been able to find it. Thanks., Shame that there is no replay showing the ball go over the stand though.
magic_johnson!
28 Oct 2009, 19:06
Jimmy Bartel hit one into the top teir in the hickey stand at Skilled Stadium last year (in a pre game match to VIC v QLD). Pretty big for a non cricketer, even though it is a short boundry :thumbsu:
WattsGoodForYou
28 Oct 2009, 19:40
How about Shahid Afridi's 12? That has got to be up their. I also remember Graham Hick going wild at Adelaide Oval hitting some massive 6's about 10 years ago.
Afridi's is big, and so clean. Blizzard's is even bigger. Huge!
ROOTA#6
28 Oct 2009, 20:34
Jimmy Bartel hit one into the top teir in the hickey stand at Skilled Stadium last year (in a pre game match to VIC v QLD). Pretty big for a non cricketer, even though it is a short boundry :thumbsu:
Jimmy Bartel is a very handy cricketer....could not really call him a non cricketer
budge27
29 Oct 2009, 00:21
i remember going to a shield game at the MCG in the early 90's and saw Simon O'Donnell hit a huge 6 into the 3rd tier of the MCG. They even have a yellow seat to mark the spot the ball landed - they reckon it was about a 145m hit and was still going up!
Brett Lee's was such a clean swing he really loaded up and the ball was in his arc...reminds me of the slog shot over square leg you could play on Shane Warne Cricket 99.
Johnson#26
1 Nov 2009, 15:50
Blizzard's one in 06/07 in Adelaide, that was nuts.
Remember my mate told me once that Tendulkar and M.Waugh hit the ball onto the Southern Stand roof, and it's still there. Doubt it, though.
I told the same mate that Ponting once hit Greg Blewett around the world, starting at the WACA during an Australia vs Australia A match. :D
Johnson#26
1 Nov 2009, 15:52
reminds me of the slog shot over square leg you could play on Shane Warne Cricket 99.
"A big hit, it's six!"
"In the air! And six!"
"That's gone many a mile!"
"Oh that's gone a long way!"
"A great catch by the person in row M!"
"You can't afford to bowl it in there"
The big hit for six is like the torp in footy - looks terrible when it fails, but when you get onto one there is nothing better.
Blizzard's is just gorgeous.
Johnson#26
3 Nov 2009, 09:44
srvajq2r284
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRVAJQ2R284
That blizzard one is slightly overrated. He was on the far eastern pitch and the boundary to that side was very short, maybe 60m at best. Big hit, went basically over my head, but i'd say Waughs was bigger.
TheStinger
5 Nov 2009, 18:39
Didn't that Mark Waugh six end up on the roof of the stand?
The one I remember, which I think is the same one Moody was referring to, went nearly as high as it did long.
Absolutely massive hit, but still don't think it was as big as Blizzard's.
I remember one of Juniors sixes going straight at the WACA and ending up on top of the Lillee Marsh stand. If that is the one you are remembering then that was just an amazing shot.
Saw a huge one at the Aussie Day One dayer against England a few years back at Adelaide Oval, when we bowled them out for 110!:D But yer, huge six by an opener they had at the time, can't remember his name, was old and didn't last long from memory.
TorresIsGod
14 Nov 2009, 22:56
Mal Loye?
Adrian Shelton
15 Nov 2009, 15:32
Brad Haddin almost killed me about 40m back in the Southern Stand at a shield match, lucky i ran the right way for cover!! Sounded as clean as Lees off the bat
Mal Loye?
Yep thats the guy.:thumbsu:
Aiden Blizzard's was fkn awesome. I was there, absolutely insane!
shame that, ever since he hit that 6 he has done nothing for Victoria
bigburger
15 Nov 2009, 18:59
Mark Waughs six at the WACA went pretty much through the commentary outpost window on the second level of the Lillee-Marsh stand IIRC.
Also IIRC Brett Lee's Gabba six was recorded to be 129m. It landed within metres of the daughter of the chairman of the ACB at the time.
The WACA six in the 20/20 grand final was reportedly 150m and is probably the largest hit I've ever seen.
I've seen Symonds put the ball on top of the players pavilion at the WACA against India, that would have been about 110m.
Andy Bichel hit a freaking massive six at the South African world cup a few years ago I remember. Can't remember the ground but it had a massive score board, bigger than any of the Aussie ones and it cleared that.
This is just off the top of my head so I am more than happy to be proven wrong.
Gilly's sixes at the WACA during his nearly record fast century against England wouldve travelled a fair way I reckon!
Belnakor
16 Nov 2009, 09:53
nah gillys were landing in the crowd, i was there, one nearly hit me, the blizzard one was literally out of the ground
bigburger
16 Nov 2009, 13:31
It almost killed a couple of kids at Trinity it was that big.
Johnson#26
16 Nov 2009, 17:13
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wTbcBK_BFXw
How good is Bill Lawry?
krisholio14
16 Nov 2009, 17:27
Two that stand out in my mind....
Kapil Dev hitting one into the top deck of the members at the G against Australia in 85-86.
And one that has never gotten a mention, which is a shame because it is easily the biggest hit I have ever seen. Roger Harper of the Windies blasting a six straight over the stands and out of the ground at the WACA during the America's Cup promo series in 1987. I'm pretty sure it was against the Aussies again, but am not 100% sure any more, because I haven't seen it again since the game itself.
Didnt Wasim Akram park one 10 rows back over long on or off at adeliade oval? a fair few years back now!
For as long as i can remember watchin cricket (15 or so years) ive never seen anyone clear the fence straight at adeliade oval.
Adrian Shelton
18 Nov 2009, 08:48
Bloody hell Craig McDermott did that, not over that stupid mini sightscreen they have now. My Dad tells me that Keith Miller swatted one clean out of the ground in that direction many yrs ago
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wTbcBK_BFXw
How good is Bill Lawry?
That was seriously huge! :thumbsu:. Gotta love Bill Lawry, always gets so into it.
bigburger
17 Dec 2009, 17:15
Well Gayle's just hit the biggest six I've seen at the WACA since the T20 final and the second biggest 6 I've seen at the ground. That was bigger than Mark Waugh's imo.
Adrian Shelton
17 Dec 2009, 20:44
When Gayles in that mood its women and children into the lifeboats!!!