View Full Version : 42. Zach Tuohy (Int Rookie)
TheGeneral
29 Oct 2009, 17:24
Changes to the Carlton List for 2010 (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/86489/default.aspx)
Other New Players for 2010
Zach Tuohy - International Rookie from Ireland
Changes to the Carlton List for 2010 (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/86489/default.aspx)
Link (http://www.leinsterexpress.ie/gaelic-football/Search-on-for-new-U21.5732152.jp)
Unfortunately AFL clubs have taken thier toll, as Conor Meredith is already signed up with North Melbourne while Zach Tuohy will join Carlton in the coming weeks.
Link (http://www.leinsterexpress.ie/gaelic-football/Search-on-for-new-U21.5732152.jp)
Welcome to Carlton.
shell23
29 Oct 2009, 18:00
how tall is Zach Touhy:confused:
TheGeneral
2 Nov 2009, 23:36
First steps in long journey at Carlton (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/first-steps-in-long-journey-at-carlton/story-e6frf9jf-1225793673417)
VFL next year, but Tuohy has the ability to make an impact in his first season.
"Carlton first contacted me when I was 17, but I was probably a bit young to come over," Tuohy said yesterday.
"But I've matured a bit. Everything's come together and I think it's the right time."
Tuohy spent a month with the Blues last season, striking up a friendship with compatriot Setanta O'hAilpin.
"Setanta's pretty big news back home. He's a big deal," Tuohy said.
"He invited me around for dinner last time."
First steps in long journey at Carlton (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/first-steps-in-long-journey-at-carlton/story-e6frf9jf-1225793673417)
http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/5945/195757.jpg
Mister Carlton
24 Nov 2009, 10:44
Go Jesus!
http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn210/esdfwefewfew/Irish1-1.jpg
TheGeneral
5 Dec 2009, 12:40
Dishwater is a good size for an 18 year old Irishman. :thumbsu:
http://i49.tinypic.com/mm8qxd.jpg
Malifice
7 Dec 2009, 00:04
I think he has white bandages on the knee.
Hard to tell with that translucent Irish tan.
Whats the injury?
Ryan Dixon Webb
7 Dec 2009, 13:59
Fev got him in a knee lock before he went to Brisvegas.
Splendini
7 Dec 2009, 14:38
I think he has white bandages on the knee.
Hard to tell with that translucent Irish tan.
Whats the injury?
Natural attrition trying to support those tree trunks he calls thighs. ;)
Jeremias
15 Dec 2009, 15:19
We all knew it was happening but Zach today officially became a Carlton Footballer. :thumbsu:
Height: 187cm
Weight: 91kg
DOB: 10/12/89
Recruited from: County Laois
From County Laois, near Dublin, in Ireland as an international rookie. Caught the eye of Blues recruiters after excellent performances at junior level in Gaelic football. Has a strong body and likely to be used as an on-baller/defender with the Northern Bullants. Has coped with the rigours of his first pre-season extremely well.
http://www.carltonfc.com.au/tabid/4311/default.aspx?newsid=88153
TheGeneral
6 Apr 2010, 01:12
Bullants vs Balwyn Tigers Sat 03/04 11am at Visy Park (http://www.talkingcarlton.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=27711&p=1018622#p1018622)
Most impressive performances so far from Labi and Tuohy. Zach might be as good a kick as anyone at the club; kid has surprising skills by hand and foot and played most of the game today.
Bullants vs Balwyn Tigers Sat 03/04 11am at Visy Park (http://www.talkingcarlton.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=27711&p=1018622#p1018622)
A shame these comments are offset by his comments on Grigg's disposal (by hand and by foot) which has gone backwards. :confused: :(
TheGeneral
13 Apr 2010, 17:14
TOUHY
Bit of a surprise that his skills are as good as they are. Will still need time to adapt to this style of game. Watched him waltz through a congested pack and on getting to the other side unscathed was a little slow in getting rid of the ball and was crunched. It would have been very impressive if he had got his disposal off.
I could go on, but i really want to make mention of Touhy. Cant beleive that was his first game! Looked like he belonged. Great disposal, great team man, knows where to run. I was Amazed. Honestly, on Todays performance, he could push for a spot as early as next year.
Tuohy
Wow. Composure, sure hands, a great kicking technique, confidence and amazing balance. Zac is a better and more polished version of an early Marty Clarke. If he can develope as quickly as Clarke did, I can't see any reason why he cannot become an AFL player. Well suited to a BP type role.
The 19 year old Irishman is built like Hodge or Hunt.
http://images.slatterymedia.com/images/thumbs/main/203366.jpg
http://images.slatterymedia.com/images/thumbs/main/203370.jpg
Tiller needs to get onto the Tuohy diet. :thumbsu:
Splendini
15 Apr 2010, 15:16
his kicking was great on Saturday......amazed at his skill level for a gealic player new to the game.
Anzac16
28 May 2010, 18:59
Any Chance of getting the promotion next week?? Or Will Levi take that spot?
starchamber
6 Jun 2010, 23:17
Don't know much on him but he might get a gig soon.It amazes me his developing more quicker then Tiller and O'Keeffe already.
the juddernaut
7 Jun 2010, 14:30
Is he quick?
Will he be tossed up forward, or back? :thumbsu:
Splendini
7 Jun 2010, 14:49
quick, powerful runner :thumbsu:
More a strong, small, rebounding defender.
the juddernaut
7 Jun 2010, 15:02
quick, powerful runner :thumbsu:
More a strong, small, rebounding defender.
who would you compare him to in the team at the moment, scotland?
Splendini
7 Jun 2010, 15:09
probably Army...better kick but
the juddernaut
7 Jun 2010, 15:17
army i a very under-rated. he is good at rebounding the ball, and he is great at winning the ball but i worry every time he tries to get rid of it. Hopefully Tuohy goes well! i heard he played well for Nrth Bullants? :footy:
Splendini
7 Jun 2010, 15:33
he did by all reports...I didn't go this week, but the week before he had some good moments as well....not afraid to take them on and back himself......in time I'd like to see him build up his tank and spend some time in the guts.
TheGeneral
7 Jun 2010, 15:43
Reports state that Tuohy has played well on Woneamirri and Brandon Matera.
Surprised that Tuohy had the agility, nous and pace to take an agile small forward/flanker.
I hope Zac doesn't get home sick like Michael Shields who was showing a bit before returning to Ireland.
TheGeneral
22 Jun 2010, 15:46
Blue kids on the block (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/96760/default.aspx)
As Zach is into the first of his two-year arrangement with the club, he is clear in his objectives for 2010 and beyond.
“I want to play as much consistent footy in the [Bullants] ones as I can for a proportion of the year, and in my second year I’d like to think I’d be one of the top rookies they [Carlton] would consider elevating.” He said.
“If that’s not the case I’d feel pretty flat about it.”
Blue kids on the block (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/96760/default.aspx)
TheGeneral
20 Jul 2010, 13:58
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs223.snc4/38466_415212308333_108959538333_4516360_6685661_n.jpg
Shit tattoo.
geez look at those trunks
TheGeneral
2 Aug 2010, 15:15
qCUGafnYwt0
Bluebear
2 Aug 2010, 17:25
Reports state that Tuohy has played well on Woneamirri and Brandon Matera.
Surprised that Tuohy had the agility, nous and pace to take an agile small forward/flanker.
With Joseph struggling, would he be a consideration?
Do we have another elevation up our sleeve this year?
I haven't seen much of him but sounds like he is coming along nicely.
What are his skills like?
starchamber
6 Aug 2010, 20:36
I hope this player gets a game drop Joseph just gave a goal away now.This better not be the spark for Essendon.
TheGeneral
28 Oct 2010, 18:56
Will Quadzilla debut next year?
Our list appears pretty well sorted for small, medium and third tall defenders who rebound.
Plus we recruited Laidler.
Given Tuohy's background in Gaelic footy, I expect him to struggle in one on ones where he has to defend the high ball. Would be a fillip if he can step up next year and play as a rebounding defender. Better kick than Armfield and Davies, but powerful and quick.
Will be great to see him in the NAB cup and practise matches...he could surprise us and perform exceptionally then back it up in the VFL and earn a spot. Will we still have 2 rookie spots available?
IF ROK gets rookied it would just add to the competition for the 2 spots
Mister Carlton
28 Oct 2010, 21:33
He will defiantly get a spot in our 22 during the NAB cup and practices. Played some consistent football all year in the VFL, hard to believe he only just started playing AFL this year. Brilliant foot skills and great dash from defense!
Mister Carlton
25 Nov 2010, 12:04
http://i482.photobucket.com/albums/rr189/bub1395/IMGP5829.jpg
http://i482.photobucket.com/albums/rr189/bub1395/IMGP5976.jpg
http://i482.photobucket.com/albums/rr189/bub1395/IMGP5920.jpg
http://i482.photobucket.com/albums/rr189/bub1395/Irish2.jpg
25/11/2010
Sin City
11 Dec 2010, 21:51
Happy 21st birthday for yesterday Zach, hope that knee is right to go soon :thumbsu:
The Big Sticks
11 Dec 2010, 22:25
Wow, I thought he was older than that. Happy Birthday Zac and wishing you a speedy recovery :thumbsu:
I'm proud to have Zach Tuohy as my Buddy for this coming year.
Zach has had a baptism of fire with his introduction into the AFL, but is faring very well, all considered.
The last half of his year with the Ants was more than promising, using his strength and smarts to power out of the backline.
Zach is happy to put his increasingly taut body on the line in any contest and if opportunity arises for him at senior level this year, he is the type of individual that won't disappoint.
If by chance you read this Zach, I ask you to set up an account here and private message me details about yourself as this will make my job easier and a lot more enjoyable for those that would like a little more insight into you, and your background.
Viva La Zach :footy:
Mister Carlton
6 Jan 2011, 18:23
http://i482.photobucket.com/albums/rr189/bub1395/5328911474_3029e082b8_z.jpg'
First training session of 2011.
Bringing down Hampson with the help of Watson.
Sin City
10 Jan 2011, 18:22
From Talking Carlton
Zach has the tools to make the grade.
Everything he did at training on the 6th of Jan suggests he's got what it takes to make the seniors.
Kicking, Handball, running, spoiling , tackling...he's got the lot.
Very impressed with Zach.
TheGeneral
10 Jan 2011, 19:31
My smokey for a backline spot in 2011.
Legspeed and agility gives him an advantage over O'keeffe.
Stiff to not have kicked two running goals from 40 to 50 in one of the VFL finals after taking them on and using his pace.
Similar efforts to his goal in the Youtube video on the first page.
Incredible transformation from a Gaelic Football player to VFL finals player in the space of 12 months.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs742.ash1/163413_491646623333_108959538333_5912163_5685045_n.jpg
Jeremias
10 Jan 2011, 22:31
Can't wait to see how Zach progresses in 2011.
From what I saw of him in 2010, he's got everything needed to make it in the AFL, but as is to be expected, has a fair way to go.
Watched him a few times in 2010 but only once live which happened to be the Grand Final. Can't help but be impressed by his physique, his skills with the ball and his ability to run and carry out of the backline. However, from what I saw he really needs to work on his defensive skills. Just hasn't quite grasped the defensive nature of the game and his role in particular.
I'm sure he and the coaching staff are putting significant time into improving Zach, so here's hoping he takes everything on board and continues improvement.
If he continues to improve at the rate with which he did in 2010, I've got no doubt he'll be playing senior footy eventually.
I don't think he'll play senior footy in 2011, but Zach is certainly one to look out for next season and beyond.
You're more likely right than wrong, but there is a swell of optimism around Tuohy giving the MC something to think about this year.
Having only viewed one training session this year, his power was on display.
The kid keeps his feet and still makes ground with several defenders hanging off him.
I had to look twice to make sure it wasn't Judd I was watching :)
Blueboys7
18 Jan 2011, 12:51
You're more likely right than wrong, but there is a swell of optimism around Tuohy giving the MC something to think about this year.
Having only viewed one training session this year, his power was on display.
The kid keeps his feet and still makes ground with several defenders hanging off him.
I had to look twice to make sure it wasn't Judd I was watching :)
He certainly seems a great prospect but I would like to give him another year to learn the game and refine his skills and decision making. Knowing where to run is the key to a player new to the game and rushing him into senior football probably isn't the best thing.
With that said some of his performances in the VFL last year were quite good so if he manages to take his game to the next level he may well be deserving of a game.
There are also numerous players vying for the same role and are probably ready for senior football more than Zac. I'm looking forward to seeing him in the intra club game and who he matches up on. That should be a good indication of where he is at depending on how serous they take it.
He certainly seems a great prospect but I would like to give him another year to learn the game and refine his skills and decision making.
There are also numerous players vying for the same role and are probably ready for senior football more than Zac.
Just pumping my boy up a little. ;)
You are correct again in as far as for the competition he has for a back spot that may only carry one more.
Laidler, Duigan, Lucas, Scotland, Davies and possibly even Thornton and O'Keefe may have a little to say about all that.
Blueboys7
18 Jan 2011, 13:56
Just pumping my boy up a little. ;)
You are correct again in as far as for the competition he has for a back spot that may only carry one more.
Laidler, Duigan, Lucas, Scotland, Davies and possibly even Thornton and O'Keefe may have a little to say about all that.
You're doing a fine job of it! ;)
You can add Twomey to that list as well. The scary part is that you haven't even included Armfield and Russell (who both may play in the midfield at times), which makes it even tougher for Zac.
He has time on his side though that's for sure. :thumbsu:
Zach is continuing to impress at training.
Skills look to have improved from last year and the intent seems stronger than ever.
Have a feeling this kid is not so keen on the "go home" factor.
The boys at Carlton really seem to like Tuohy as there is no shortage of encouragement coming forth from our more seasoned players.
Very few smiles from Tuohy on the track as I feel he has larger issues at hand: Trying to make the senior side.
Re. Intra-Club match 29.01.11
The qualities that Zach exudes on the training track came through in this first hit-out of the year.
No fear in this kid and takes his game very seriously out there and prepared to take it on at all costs, with usually worthy results.
I may have mentioned his core strength previously, but I am surpised for one so young to be so strong.
If a situation comes about that he earns a regaular game in our team, I doubt we will be disappointed.
Blueboys7
31 Jan 2011, 13:38
I was super impressed with Zach on Saturday. He should get a taste of it at some point this year but he IMO needs another year to get his footy smarts up and that only happens with him playing games.
Don't get me wrong he is close, very close but I feel another year in the VFL would do him good. If he bangs down the door for selection then so be it.
This kid is very impressive though.
thylacine60
13 Feb 2011, 12:34
Looked overawed a bit last night.
It was a 50/50 showing for the short amount of time to take anything out of his performance.
Tuohy still showing enough hardness at the ball to have him in the mix for now.
"Rookie-listed Zach Tuohy showed plenty of dash off a wing and half-back"
The above was written up in summary from Saturday's game against GWS.
From all I've seen of Zach so far, he will not be too far away from getting a shot in the Big League.
Sadly though, we may need a couple of defenders to go down first before such an opportunity arises this year.
If only Zach was a Full Forward his chances may have been somewhat better off than a HBF'er with the CFC for now.
http://www4.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Carlton+Blues+Training+Session+B2OEFEmA6Mrl.jpg
Nice shot of Zach here at training.
50/50 as to whether he gets a game this Friday against Adelaide.
If so, I'd suggest that the Coaches may well be having a serious look at him.
Sorry guys as I've nothing to add.
I just didn't want to see my little buddy fall off the main page. :o
Blueboys7
22 Mar 2011, 16:06
How dare you...!
:)
Sin City
22 Mar 2011, 16:15
I think the Bullants have a practice match against Box Hill this weekend, been a quiet few weeks for Zach so hopefully he gets a run with them.
Blueboys7
22 Mar 2011, 21:33
I reckon that they are just letting him complete his 'apprenticeship' and gaining more knowledge of the game itself.
No need to rush him, especially with our depth in small and medium defenders.
Yes, you're not playing tonight but what the hell: Congratulations on being part of an elite squad Zach.
Plenty of time to fly the flag for the boys. :thumbsu:
Where is the Laidler Buddy thread? :confused:
Sadly Zach did not play last night, but if he did I'm sure I'd have many good things to say..
Am I doing this right? :confused:
blueblood25
28 Mar 2011, 12:59
http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/189517_193358420703297_129090267130113_486335_4756744_n.jpg
Was impressed watching him taking a heap of kick ins on Saturday. Looks good :)
http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/189517_193358420703297_129090267130113_486335_4756744_n.jpg
Was impressed watching him taking a heap of kick ins on Saturday. Looks good :)
bb25: I'm happy with the backs we have built up/recruited for this year, but do you see any fit for Tuohy in our main squad?
I've seen enough of him in the pre-season to hold out hope but can you see abilities that are missing in our current back 6?
TheGeneral
29 Mar 2011, 14:46
Read that Tuohy played wing on the weekend. This could be the best spot for him down the track. Marking and competing in the air doesn't come naturally to Gaelic footballers. I can see Zac getting it on the wing and taking them on like Armfield by using his pace. Tuohy has a lovely kick and a good side step for such a big man.
Thanks TG.
Watching Tuohy in the pre-season showed me just how strong this kid is.
At times he reminded me of Judd the way he carried more than one opponent on his back whilst still making forward progress.
I'll take a chance to also say his kicking is better than Judds.
Now if only he could play like Judd, we'd have something pretty special. :D
Another very good performance by Tuohy for The Bullants on Saturday with 35 odd possessions and apparently most to very good effect.
May have only been second best to Saad who kicked 8 goals.
Unfortunately Tuohy would need several B.O.G.s for him to be considered for senior selection just yet.
I hope the lad is patient enough and given half a chance, he strikes me as the type of character who won't let go.
TheGeneral
6 Apr 2011, 17:12
Bullants honor the blueprint (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/110960/default.aspx)
Carlton’s international rookie Zach Tuohy, who gathered 35 possessions out of the back pocket.
Best Players: A. Saad, Z. Tuohy, A. Iacobucci, A. Collins, J. McCorkell
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/carlton_images/tuohy-050411-246-1.jpg
Bullants honor the blueprint (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/110960/default.aspx)
If Tuohy can improve his reading of the play, he could be an upgrade on Armfield who hasn't struggled to play as an attacking defender.
Tuohy's kicks are almost textbook.
Splendini
6 Apr 2011, 17:27
Actually putting it in perspective, you reckon he'd perform much better at the top level than K. Hunt.
Horsebox
10 Apr 2011, 02:23
Regardless of how well Zach is playing does he still need someone to get injured before he could play with the first team?
Ryan Dixon Webb
10 Apr 2011, 05:08
Wouldn't be surprised if he's our next upgraded rookie. Probably fighting with Twomey, and then Armfield and Duigan in the main squad.
TheGeneral
15 Apr 2011, 14:24
Tuohy needs to improve his defending and ability overhead, but he could possibly play Scooter's role once he retires.
Lovely long kick like Scotland, but quick.
Tuohy needs to improve his defending and ability overhead, but he could possibly play Scooter's role once he retires.
Lovely long kick like Scotland, but quick.
Tuohy had a good pre-season and has skilled-up significantly already from last year.
Two good "ANTS" performances doesn't make a summer, but he certainly looks to have been adding tools to his armoury that may well have caught the attention of the people that count.
Long way to go for the young Irishman, but considering that quality disposal will be considered a prerequisite in the not too distant future, he may just be ahead of quite a pack for senior involvement.
TheGeneral
17 Apr 2011, 15:34
I hope we leave Tuohy in the VFL for as long as possible.
God knows how our hardcore supporters will respond if we introduce a developing player and he doesn't smash it from day one.
I hope we leave Tuohy in the VFL for as long as possible.
God knows how our hardcore supporters will respond if we introduce a developing player and he doesn't smash it from day one.
I'm with you.
It's all good pumping your buddy up, but I wouldn't want a situation where we have to start calling on rookies to fix any ailments we may seem to have.
We've already used 26 players and expect Bower, Kreuzer and Houlihan to come straight back in.
That makes 29.
We then have every chance players McLean, Ellard, Davies, Joseph and even O'hAilpin may come to the the party.
That would make 34 and already would have us exceeding an amount that would hold you in good stead ready for finals action.
Touhy, Twomey, Casboult, Kerr, Austin etc. should only be considered under extreme circumstances, and only with so much form behind them to make it irresistible.
TheHeatleyStand
18 Apr 2011, 08:51
If he is playing well enough and we beieve he has something to add to the team, of course you play him.
The guy needs a reward also.
He needs to find the ball more and work abit harder overhead.
He has everything else.
What to say about Zac Tuohy? I actually believe he has as good a boot as Watson and he continually uses it to our advantage from the fullbackline. He's not afraid to take the game and opponents on, dashing away, bouncing, bustling and creating play right up to the goal-line. He even had a couple of shots at goal today. He is immensely strong, courageous and makes mostly good decisions. Being the attacking defender he is (which we all love I think) he will come undone from time to time. Like we do with Emu we need to forgive him that and marvel at his tremendous foot skills - he is just such a penetrating kick, dare I say, Buckleyesque? Too much?
From Thylacine 60's comprehensive report from the Bullants Match on the 17th. of April 2011.
Say no more. :thumbsu:
TheGeneral
23 Apr 2011, 18:20
Needs to play every VFL game to learn the intricacies of the game.
And work on his defending and spoiling.
Great switch inboard and goal assist to Twomey that the commentators called a fluke. :rolleyes:
http://cdn2.slatterymedia.com/thumbs/main/228081.jpg
http://cdn2.slatterymedia.com/thumbs/main/228063.jpg
http://cdn2.slatterymedia.com/thumbs/main/228062.jpg
Tuohy has been elevated to our senior list.
Hard to imagine this kid try harder than he does, so let's just wish him all the best.
Good luck Zach, and who knows, we may just see you playing with the big boys sooner than later
TheGeneral
27 Apr 2011, 20:44
Like Watson, a taste of senior footy wouldn't hurt Tuohy, but it may be too soon.
Zach didn't kill one ball when he really should have spoiled it out of bounds.
Led to a goal down the line after Thornton was outmarked.
Hope the elevation was also designed to give Tuohy some confidence and encouragement to keep up his good form in the VFL.
Clever thinking.
There was nothing to lose by elevating a rookie here and Zach got the nod ahead of some other worthy players.
Massive Attack
28 Apr 2011, 09:54
Have to think Zach could be the best thing to come out of our back pocket since the salary cap thing. Go Zach!
I was going to remark as to how unlucky Twomey was for not being promoted, but someone hasn't fired up their Buddy thread for him. :thumbsd:
Seriously though, have we ever had this much quality from our rookies?
Curnow promoted and won't be going back.
Casboult on his way, but injury has intervened.
Tuohy in now and given half a chance has every chance to show something special.
Twomey the senior citizen also has plenty of smarts to suggest there may be good things coming from him.
Cachia, O'Keefe and Dare are hardly wasting space either and their careers could easily head north for the better.
I can't find a dud amongst this lot.
Tuohy is now regularly in the best for the Ants.
Unfortunately though it will take a little bad luck to someone else in order for Tuohy's good luck to occur.
Whichever way, this Irishman will not let us down.
If Laidler isn't fit, I fully expect to see him come into the side this week, tough gig against the Cats though
steveo898
16 May 2011, 21:59
If Laidler isn't fit, I fully expect to see him come into the side this week, tough gig against the Cats though
Yeah very challenging game for a first timer, I would think the MC would blood him on some of the easier opposition we have coming up after Geelong.
CARLTON'S strong season continued in the VFL with a handful of emerging stars piling the selection pressure on Brett Ratten's side two days after it consolidated a top-four position.
Leading the charge is rookie Zach Tuohy, who will feature prominently in Liston Trophy voting given his blistering form this season.
He gathered 27 possessions from half-back and was instrumental in eroding Box Hill's five-goal buffer as the Northern Bullants seized a 13.12 (90) to 12.13 (85) win at Visy Park yesterday.
"Tuohy's in outstanding form. He wins his one-on-ones and had another blinder," Carlton development coach Darren Harris said.
The Irishman could fill injured defender Jeremy Laidler's position for Sunday's duel with Port Adelaide.
The young Irishman is gathering steam and is now not far away from a Senior inclusion.
Barring serious injury Zach will be on our senior list next year and we won't be the poorer for it.
Sin City
30 May 2011, 10:09
Terrific progress in the short time he's been at Carlton, I think he'll make it. Only query is who comes out of the back line for him.
All the talk is of Tuohy making his debut this coming Sunday.
If Zach does play he will surprise the opposition if they don't know enough about him.
Zach is much quicker than his frame will lead you to believe and any tackle other than a full body grab will not hold Zach.
Extremely strong through the hips and he will run through players if need be.
Zach though is not a great overhead mark nor is he very good around his feet just yet.
All considered, he has adapted to this game very well to date and at this rate should iron out the above downfalls soon enough
Splendini
1 Jun 2011, 10:00
He can roost the sherrin too.....can't believe his foot skills for a convert
Those thighs could launch a space shuttle.
There may just be another good story behind this Irishman.
Having said that, the Brisbane lad is currently doing OK also.
Aphrodite
1 Jun 2011, 18:01
Congratulations Zach :thumbsu:
9_Ad780Kl_w&feature
B: Zach Tuohy, Michael Jamison, Nick Duigan
* HB: Christopher Yarran, Bret Thornton, Heath Scotland
* C: Marc Murphy, Bryce Gibbs, Andrew Carrazzo
* HF: Kade Simpson, Jarrad Waite, Eddie Betts
* F: Andrew Walker, Setanta O'hAilpin, Jeffrey Garlett
* Foll: Shaun Hampson, Chris Judd, Edward Curnow
So how does that look Zach?
Blue Dawn
4 Jun 2011, 00:22
Very excited about Zac's debut. Really think this guy could be a keeper.
Strong with an elite kick i can't wit to see how his decision-making stacks up in the heat of battle.
Carn de Irish! :D:thumbsu:
TheGeneral
5 Jun 2011, 21:18
Can't kick.
:thumbsu:
http://www.afl.com.au/Portals/afl/images/45518_18_1.jpg
http://www.afl.com.au/Portals/afl/images/45519_15_1.jpg
http://www.afl.com.au/Portals/afl/images/45541_15_1.jpg
http://www.afl.com.au/Portals/afl/images/45520_15_1.jpg
Bloody brilliant!
Very nice kick on him and he seemed quite confident and was shepherding and doing the defensive things well.
thylacine60
5 Jun 2011, 22:36
Loved his first touch, a BOING over his shoulder. Thought he settled pretty well. Really hope he stays in for the Lions game. Well done, young man. :thumbsu:
Sin City
6 Jun 2011, 06:41
Really hope they keep him in for a while, shown already his kicking could be a real weapon for us. Will only get better with more opportunity.
Loved his first touch, a BOING over his shoulder. Thought he settled pretty well. Really hope he stays in for the Lions game. Well done, young man. :thumbsu:
1000 bounces over the weekend and Tuohy hits a divot with his first touch. :)
Great to see his team-mates come to his aid.
The coaches would have been happy with what they saw from Zach for the short time he had.
Good spoiling and nice kicking.
Good for you Zach. :thumbsu:
blueblood25
6 Jun 2011, 08:40
http://www3.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/AFL+Rd+11+Port+Adelaide+v+Carlton+C_z9Z0opyU5l.jpg
Not quite the wet T-shirt contest we care for here bb, but then again. Mmmmmmm
Twomey2Betts
6 Jun 2011, 09:50
To be sure, to be sure, to be sure :thumbsu:
Hope he stays in.
TheGeneral
6 Jun 2011, 10:44
xrzHif5zhOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrzHif5zhOM
TheGeneral
6 Jun 2011, 15:12
7JvtOB6LEIs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JvtOB6LEIs
Love Robbo's reaction to his fumble.
Great to see Zac take on the man on the mark and get around him like someone who grew up playing AFL.
Zach was just so embarrassed after that bounce that I felt sorry for him.
I'm sure a still will front up somewhere just to extend the poor guys embarrassment further.
The move was a good one though and with his power kick, who knows?
Could have just been a goal with his first, but instead...............:o
blueblood25
6 Jun 2011, 15:29
Not quite the wet T-shirt contest we care for here bb, but then again. Mmmmmmm
hahahah wtf are you talking about! the best wet tshirt contest here is a no tshirt contest.
this will suffice for now.
nomnomnom :)
Blueboys7
6 Jun 2011, 16:36
Only a few touches but hard to come into a game like that especially in your debut. TBH I hate the idea of debuting players as a sub, it's just not the best idea IMO.
They need to work into the game from the start, not be chucked into an intense game and have to pick up the speed from the get go. It just builds up any tension 10 fold for the player.
Loved his 50m kick out of the defensive 50 that hit it's target.