View Full Version : Team colours/moniker?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Riggy1
5 Nov 2009, 21:13
What does everyone want the colours and the moniker (nickname) to be?

I really like a sky blue as the main colour, with either a green, black or a royal blue as the secondary colour.

For the clubs moniker, I dont really have anything jumping out at me as a preference, but I like Wolves, Cougars, and Dingoes.

What are some other ideas for either of these two aspects of the new club?

BarneyBent
5 Nov 2009, 21:37
Not too sure on the moniker, but I like the idea of black and green, with maybe a touch of orange. For me, those colours capture my picture of WS pretty well: black with a touch of orange give it a last stages of sunset over urban sprawl kinda feel, with the green reflecting the meld into bushland in some parts, the more hilly areas, etc.

Would have to be done well though, those colours in the wrong mixes and tones could end up looking very bad.

DizzyHB
5 Nov 2009, 21:57
I'd like to see the WS team go with royal blue+black to go against the Swans red and white, then throw in a touch of orange to seperate things a bit.

Or the AFL could try to win over as many bogans as possible and make your colours green and gold.

edit:

Created a couple out of boredom. This is what I picture when I think of GWS in the AFL.

http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu132/EroticPsychotic/GWS1.jpg

http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu132/EroticPsychotic/GWS2.jpg

I liked the first one more personally, but I thought I'd make the second one to differ the design from Melbournes.

I think either of those would be pretty good for GWS. Opposite colour scheme to the Swans to clearly identify as a different team, plus blue/black/orange isn't a colour scheme already in use.

Tigger Please!
7 Nov 2009, 08:20
sky blue and black to contrast with the swans red and white would be sweet :thumbsu:
as for their nom de guerre; i'm not particularly concerned at this stage as i'm a firm believer in teams being ascribed one organically over time as their character becomes manifest. as long as it isn't something wanky like power or roar or glory.

Howard Littlejohn
7 Nov 2009, 13:50
Sky blue and black is certainly a good option.
As is a green and black. I think that could work really well.

A two tone green would certainly be different from anything else in the league, I just wonder if it could be done so it wouldn't look ugly.

Giants FC
7 Nov 2009, 16:54
I'm thinking a two-blues look would be good. Jumper mainly sky blue, maybe with a navy blue sash or stripe, navy shorts and maybe two-blue striped socks. Wouldn't clash with anyone except maybe Port Adelaide, and the two-blues are traditionally Sydney/NSW colours.

A Living God
7 Nov 2009, 20:45
I like Black with a Blue V, the same as Univeristy Blues/Blacks.
http://www.vafa.com.au/uploads/RTEmagicC_Uni_Blacks.jpg.jpg

Dais
7 Nov 2009, 22:56
Dark colours. LOVE the idea of green. (not to clash with grass) and def black to contrast to sydney. Was disappointed with GC17's choice of colours as similar to crows. Hope West Sydney go with heaps diff colours to everyone else!

Mr Crow!
9 Nov 2009, 01:39
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/kevin-sheedy-swoops-on-sydney/story-e6frf9jf-1225795572148

I know that probably means nothing, but look at the colours that Sheedy is wearing ... black, white and green --- could this be the colours of Western Sydney?

I realize that this is clutching at straws, but why did they pick those 'superhero' colours for Sheedy? If they wanted to make him look like Superman, they would have used Blue, Yellow and Red.

dlanod
9 Nov 2009, 06:48
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/kevin-sheedy-swoops-on-sydney/story-e6frf9jf-1225795572148

I know that probably means nothing, but look at the colours that Sheedy is wearing ... black, white and green --- could this be the colours of Western Sydney?

I realize that this is clutching at straws, but why did they pick those 'superhero' colours for Sheedy? If they wanted to make him look like Superman, they would have used Blue, Yellow and Red.

Some things human eyes just weren't meant to see... and that picture was one of them. :(

kronic
9 Nov 2009, 06:53

Damn you stole my thunder, exactly what I was thinking. Green and white? Looks like NQLD Fury, Robbie Fowler playing Aussie Rules anyone? Let's start a coup with all codes, haha.

Mowse
9 Nov 2009, 10:14
And on the GWS website he's got a green and white tie... maybe starting the promotions already?

http://www.teamgws.com.au/index.php?id=11&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=17&tx_ttnews[backPid]=10&cHash=315ba6e560

Riggy1
9 Nov 2009, 10:48
herald sun picture - SuperCoach advertising from early 09
gws picture - taken before the AFL officially gave them the liscence

wouldnt take anything out of either.

the only thing you could take out of it is that the logo they're using is blue red and white.

Bulldog fans may be upset if they go with that.

white_noise
9 Nov 2009, 18:30
I have always from day one thought that Black and orange (if used in the right way) would be the way to go. Fit's in with the colour scheme of other football clubs in the area (from rival codes included) It's also a colour scheme which wouldnt clash to much if used well with other clubs.

Talking about it with a mate over a year ago and we come up with the idea that Bengal's would be a good idea. Western Sydney has a huge number of Asian (ie Pakistan, Indian, Srilankan) that would relate well with that mascot. Would also fit in well with the colours of orange and black.

parano1a
9 Nov 2009, 18:54
I like Black with a Blue V, the same as Univeristy Blues/Blacks.
http://www.vafa.com.au/uploads/RTEmagicC_Uni_Blacks.jpg.jpg

Almost exactly the same as Port's new home strip...

Mr Crow!
9 Nov 2009, 20:49
What does everyone want the colours and the moniker (nickname) to be?

I really like a sky blue as the main colour, with either a green, black or a royal blue as the secondary colour.

For the clubs moniker, I dont really have anything jumping out at me as a preference, but I like Wolves, Cougars, and Dingoes.

What are some other ideas for either of these two aspects of the new club?

Wolves and Cougers are not Australian ... well, Cougars are if you count old desperate women.

Instead of an animal, why not something distinctly Australian, perhaps even mythological ... how about Bunyips?

Colours? How about Emerald / Metallic Green and Silver?

duckfarmer0000
9 Nov 2009, 21:46
Growing up and living in the western sydney region, my thought is black, sky blue and yellow (rather than orange). Alot of representative teams in many different sports, from the Western Sydney area have these colours (Penrith=black, Blacktown=black and yellow, Parramatta=yellow and blue).

i also think Dizzy's jumper design is almost spot on (the top one) id say make it predominately black and make the thin V thicker and maybe into a W.

GrassKat
10 Nov 2009, 08:40
Very Greenbay Packers..... G

The_Eagles
10 Nov 2009, 17:52
Talking about it with a mate over a year ago and we come up with the idea that Bengal's would be a good idea. Western Sydney has a huge number of Asian (ie Pakistan, Indian, Srilankan) that would relate well with that mascot. Would also fit in well with the colours of orange and black.

Isn't a Bengal a tiger?

The_Eagles
10 Nov 2009, 17:53
Wolves and Cougers are not Australian ... well, Cougars are if you count old desperate women.

Tigers and Lions?

Anyway my suggestion off the top of my head is Western Sydney Snakes..or Kookaburras or Sharks or something

DaSawx
10 Nov 2009, 19:35
Black and Green is an excellent idea. Very anti-Swans as they are the two colours opposite to Red and White on the colour wheel.

Well technically black and white aren't on there but they are opposites.

A black jumper with a green W would look good imo.

Docker Clint
11 Nov 2009, 08:10

That's the super coach advert he did months ago. The colours mean nothing.

Mowse
12 Nov 2009, 11:52
As so many people think WS is doomed to fail, I thought it might be good to name the team WEST SYDNEY DOOM. Yeah yeah 'negative image' 'the kids will get scared' blah blah, cry. I reckon a skull for a logo would sell pretty well in West Syd... or maybe they could be called the SKULLS?

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f100/MowseRFC/doom.jpg

themightfaulks
12 Nov 2009, 13:45
Falcons..

After the greatest team of all the Baulkham Hills Falcons..

maximus steel
12 Nov 2009, 14:50
west sydney sharks sounds good to me, maybe make the blue V go down a bit steeper, the join in to a shark. probably sounds dumb but i have an alright mental picture, il work on it.

BarneyBent
12 Nov 2009, 15:03
west sydney sharks sounds good to me, maybe make the blue V go down a bit steeper, the join in to a shark. probably sounds dumb but i have an alright mental picture, il work on it.

WS isn't exactly coastal.... I know that the moniker doesn't HAVE to be something related to the area, but it's a bit odd having an ocean-dwelling mascot in an area that is primarily inland.

Riggy1
12 Nov 2009, 15:53
Falcons..

After the greatest team of all the Baulkham Hills Falcons..
Falcons are to Sydney AFL as Collingwood is to Melbourne
If they go with anything to associate themselves to either Baulkham Hills or East Coast Eagles ill instantly hate the team more than anyone else

fwiw. Go Penno!

Riggy1
12 Nov 2009, 15:57
even though I like sharks as a moniker, this (read below) is why I dont beleive it should go with West Sydney
WS isn't exactly coastal.... I know that the moniker doesn't HAVE to be something related to the area, but it's a bit odd having an ocean-dwelling mascot in an area that is primarily inland.
save it for Tassie or 3rd WA team (as long as it's based in a Western Perth suburb)

maximus steel
12 Nov 2009, 17:56
gold coast shouldve had shark instead of there oddly shaped life saver. if west sydney isnt coastal (sorry thought it was) maybe falcons or imposers?

DaSawx
12 Nov 2009, 18:23
If they call themelves the Falcons their major sponsor could be ANZ.

dlanod
12 Nov 2009, 19:37
gold coast shouldve had shark instead of there oddly shaped life saver. if west sydney isnt coastal (sorry thought it was) maybe falcons or imposers?

Gold Coast can't be the Sharks for this same reason below, the same reason that Port's failing.

If they go with anything to associate themselves to either Baulkham Hills or East Coast Eagles ill instantly hate the team more than anyone else

fwiw. Go Penno!

desie
13 Nov 2009, 11:59
I like the black/sky blue theme.

The kids would relate to black, sky blue and yellow as these are the colours of "Metropolitan West" in school representative sport.

The one thing that Sydney people railed against in the early days of the Swans was that red and white was not representative of Sydney/NSW in any way.

I like the West Sydney Cobras myself, hopefully it's not too cringeworthy whatever they go with.

The Big Silent
13 Nov 2009, 13:16
Should be an all out GREEN, like the Canberra raiders thugbee lee team :thumbsu:

Riggy1
13 Nov 2009, 14:17
does anyone know the guerseys used for Sydney West and Sydney North West in junior representatives

IIRC North West (triangle from Blacktown to Hornsby to Parramatta) was the West Coast guersey but they changed it a year or 2 ago.

Triple E
13 Nov 2009, 15:07
West Sydney Falcons has a nice ring to it

bloodsbigot
13 Nov 2009, 18:34
Should be the West Sydney Bunyips.

They already have a club song all set up for them! :D

WtrYO-Mog60

Seriously though, I think a sky blue jumper would be good, to appeal more to true-blue New South Welshman. Furthermore, I like the 'pioneers' idea. I also agree that West Sydney 'falcons' has a nice ring to it.

In all honesty, I don't even like the idea of an 'official' nickname anyway. I truly believe the Gold Coast football club not naming itself was the best idea. I hope they're just simply known as the 'West Sydney Football Club' and they let a nickname develop by itself.

I think colour choice is more important than a nickname. Sky blue is the most logical choice, IMO.

As far as jumper design goes, I tend think that 'less is more.' Hopefully they don't try to decorate it too much.

mess
13 Nov 2009, 21:53
I think the "Wolves" as a nickname is a deadset winner. Suits the game perfectly, a slogan invoking the idea of "hunting/running in packs" would really help the uninitiated of GWS relate to the game and their team I reckon.

As for colours, I reckon SoO Blue, Grey, Black and maybe a small amount of Red.

swaneagle24
14 Nov 2009, 10:36

fwiw. Go Penno!
Baulko are now the Hawks (in association with Hawthorn). I don't think they'd associate themselves with any club in particular in the west, their success will hinge on developing relationships with every club.

does anyone know the guerseys used for Sydney West and Sydney North West in junior representatives

IIRC North West (triangle from Blacktown to Hornsby to Parramatta) was the West Coast guersey but they changed it a year or 2 ago.
All of the zones and rep stuff has changed in recent years, but in the Sydney-based zone rep sides (i.e. within Greater Sydney Juniors, not the state-wide rep comp) NorthWest are still the Eagles colours (blue and yellow), while West are black and white (Magpies). Then in the state-wide rep comp, there's the Pioneers in Western Sydney (black, red and yellow, I think).

23hammy23
15 Nov 2009, 12:20
heres 2 jumper designs i made a while ago:

http://i34.tinypic.com/1z39oja.jpg

http://i36.tinypic.com/mbnv47.jpg

and then just a few a made quickly.
i tried 2 stick with a rugby design for the first 5 then just made a random.
i also tried to use colours already brought up.

http://i35.tinypic.com/2ebubf7.jpg

if u hav any ideas ill b willing to make them:)

Dais
17 Nov 2009, 07:45
herald sun picture - SuperCoach advertising from early 09
gws picture - taken before the AFL officially gave them the liscence

wouldnt take anything out of either.

the only thing you could take out of it is that the logo they're using is blue red and white.

Bulldog fans may be upset if they go with that.

i think they are only using them colours at the moment because that is the colours of the AFl. Look at the AFl logo

Dais
17 Nov 2009, 07:51
I honestly think we should steer clear of birds (eg-falcons) too many in AFL! eagles, swans, hawks, .. BORING. besides sydney already has a bird!

Like the idea of sharks, snakes (pythons?) or something thats not even an animal! stick with aussie them. lol. West Sydney digeridoos =P.. ooo west sydney boomerangs! West sydney harbours! lol i dunno! hehe west sydney koalas! we could have fun wit this.

NO MORE BIRDS

Mowse
17 Nov 2009, 08:20
West Sydney Electric Robot Monkeys.

I know its not a native aussie animal but its got a nice ring to it. :)

Dais
17 Nov 2009, 08:26
West Sydney Electric Robot Monkeys.

I know its not a native aussie animal but its got a nice ring to it. :)

:D LMAO NOT BAD!!!! :thumbsu:

Was thinkin while driving. West Syd Warriors? Somethin POWERFUL lol.

Mowse
17 Nov 2009, 08:49
:D LMAO NOT BAD!!!! :thumbsu:

Was thinkin while driving. West Syd Warriors? Somethin POWERFUL lol.

Are you trying to imply that Electric Robot Monkeys AREN'T powerful :confused:
Seriously though, how about MACHINES, could work well with all the industry out this way, and all the car heads.

Ten Goal Winn
17 Nov 2009, 14:48
I will be very happy if the West Sydney colours are green & black.

As for the moniker, unfortunately the NRL has claimed the 'Warriors' name - so I don't think that the AFL should have it as well. I'd love West Sydney to be called the Hunters (not quite as good as Warriors, but the next best option).

All the other team names I can think of are all creature ones. The WS Hornets could be good. Taipans & Perenties are aggressive Aussie reptiles (sure neither are found in the Sydney area, but we have Lions & Tigers in the comp - so why not?) and would make great all-Australian monikers.

Dais
18 Nov 2009, 07:04
I will be very happy if the West Sydney colours are green & black.

As for the moniker, unfortunately the NRL has claimed the 'Warriors' name - so I don't think that the AFL should have it as well. I'd love West Sydney to be called the Hunters (not quite as good as Warriors, but the next best option).

All the other team names I can think of are all creature ones. The WS Hornets could be good. Taipans & Perenties are aggressive Aussie reptiles (sure neither are found in the Sydney area, but we have Lions & Tigers in the comp - so why not?) and would make great all-Australian monikers.

:thumbsu: Taipans nice idea. What reptiles ARE native to sydney? lol WEST SYDNEY FUNNEL WEBS *shudders* hate spiders! What about West Sydney wasps?

West Sydney:
Suns
Harbour
Welshman (NSW?) lol
????
West Sydney clan!

????

BringBackSOS
19 Nov 2009, 12:32
As so many people think WS is doomed to fail, I thought it might be good to name the team WEST SYDNEY DOOM. Yeah yeah 'negative image' 'the kids will get scared' blah blah, cry. I reckon a skull for a logo would sell pretty well in West Syd... or maybe they could be called the SKULLS?

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f100/MowseRFC/doom.jpg

I really like that colourings...

I don't know how about something like ...

http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/1539/gws.jpghttp://img132.imageshack.us/img132/8021/gws2.jpghttp://img132.imageshack.us/img132/1092/gws3.jpg

... need something different, gotta get away from the up and down strips, or the rings that so many clubs seems to have

23hammy23
20 Nov 2009, 16:52
great logo so i thought id give a jumper a crack

http://i45.tinypic.com/2qb53ed.jpg

jackmac7
22 Nov 2009, 19:47
Almost exactly the same as Port's new home strip...

Exactly. Sky blue and black is as close to what Port have as you can get.:thumbsd:

jackmac7
22 Nov 2009, 19:48
Pioneers

Powder blue (lighter then sky blue) white and navy blue.

Awesome!

jackmac7
22 Nov 2009, 19:51
Call GWS the PIONEERS because it sounds cool and relates to this new journey for AFL and GWS.:thumbsu:

And the colours to be Powder blue with white and navy blue, not too fussed on the design so long as they keep it simple and traditional.:thumbsu:

Now imagine how sick that is going to look at ANZ 70,000 with the Pioneers smooth powder blue against the flashy red of the Swans. Rivalry Ignite:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

http://media.scout.com/media/image/60/600834.jpg
http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200806/r260868_1084850.jpg

PumpyChowdown
24 Nov 2009, 13:18
Yeah, I'm starting to like the Pioneers.

I've been having WAY too much fun with this site playing with colour combinations:

http://www.colorcombos.com/combotester.html

Get your "Hex" codes from here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_colors

Powder Blue/Dark Powder Blue/Black/Bronze

ColorCombos.com Combo (http://www.colorcombos.com/combotester.html?color0=B0E0E6&color1=003399&color2=000000&color3=CD7F32)

EBUS
28 Nov 2009, 13:40
Western Sydney Wolves FTW

Westy Bogan
2 Dec 2009, 08:02
West Sydney Spiders

Mowse
2 Dec 2009, 09:31
I'm still for the wolves, but like trying out other ideas so... Serpents?
Popular colour schemes seem to be Green/Black or Light Blue so I tried it in both.

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f100/MowseRFC/serpents.jpg

Mr Crow!
2 Dec 2009, 16:19
Personally, I think Pythons is better than Serpents.

Plus, if Nth QLD ever gets a team (Cairns?) - I think Pythons would better suit them, especially due to the huge Olive Pythons, etc. that they get.

Mowse
3 Dec 2009, 16:17
Yeah pythons would work. but I like serpents because it incorporates ALL snakes (of which australia has shirtloads) and gives a tip of the hat to the 'Rainbow Serpent'. snakes are local to west sydney moreso than east sydney so it kind of works in a geographic way too.

Cairns would HAVE to be the crocs. I lived up that way for a year or two and crocs are everywere, leave the door open and they're in your kitchen drinking ya beer.

dlanod
3 Dec 2009, 17:18
Cairns would HAVE to be the crocs. I lived up that way for a year or two and crocs are everywere, leave the door open and they're in your kitchen drinking ya beer.

Haha so true. Took my wife back up there to meet the folks a couple of years back and she didn't believe there were crocs in the Barron River, which goes between Cairns and the northern suburbs so Dad took us out in his dinghy and sure enough, a five footer eying off a bird that had fallen in the water. Made her day. :D

belfast_bomber
3 Dec 2009, 22:08
On that score they should be named the Poms.

dajesmac
4 Dec 2009, 01:11
I like the Wolves or Celtics.

Didn't Demetriou say ages ago they were gonna be the Celtics?

dlanod
4 Dec 2009, 05:20
I like the Wolves or Celtics.

Didn't Demetriou say ages ago they were gonna be the Celtics?

Nah, someone else suggested it and the media jumped on it as if it was set in stone.

Found http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Western_Sydney_Football_Club#.22Sydney_Celtics.22 about it.

Gibbsy.
29 Dec 2009, 19:32
Drew this logo myself:
-------------------------------------------------------
OK, created a logo / moniker for the new Greater Western Sydney team.

WEST SYDNEY HOGS:

Worked off this original drawing:
http://i47.tinypic.com/658k9c.jpg

Then redrew, colored it in and created a transparent background on Paint:
http://i48.tinypic.com/w2tj4.png

Mr Crow!
30 Dec 2009, 11:56
Drew this logo myself:
-------------------------------------------------------
OK, created a logo / moniker for the new Greater Western Sydney team.

WEST SYDNEY HOGS:

Worked off this original drawing:
http://i47.tinypic.com/658k9c.jpg

Then redrew, colored it in and created a transparent background on Paint:
http://i48.tinypic.com/w2tj4.png

That doesn't look like a hog, it looks like a PIG DEVIL!

Go the GWS PIG DEVIL's! :D

Gibbsy.
31 Dec 2009, 12:28
That doesn't look like a hog, it looks like a PIG DEVIL!

Go the GWS PIG DEVIL's! :D

Haha I guess it does.
I was going to call them the Bushpigs but imagine the flack they'd cop... :rolleyes:

InCase
31 Dec 2009, 12:48
I like the Seattle SeaHawks colours for West Sydney, with a few adjustments on the actual shade of the colour.

Light Blue, Dark Blue, Green.

DizzyHB
31 Dec 2009, 13:35
Western Sydney Crocodiles a chance?

Mr Crow!
31 Dec 2009, 13:39
Somehow I don't think that there are any Crocodiles in NSW (apart from the Zoo), and even moreso, INLAND Western Sydney.

DizzyHB
31 Dec 2009, 13:52
How many eagles in the "West Coast"? How many bombers in Essendon? Lions in Brisbane? etc.. etc..

Fire
31 Dec 2009, 14:37
How many eagles in the "West Coast"?

Lots.

How many bombers in Essendon?

During the wars when this nickname stuck there were plenty based at Essendon Airport.

Lions in Brisbane? etc.. etc..

Different situation. Historically, culture has come to symbolise the Lion as an icon of power, strength, aggression... kings. Culture has not come to symbolise the Crock as anything. If anything, they symbolise the northern tropics.

Mascots like Lions or Wolves don't need to have a local presense as culturally they symbolise other characteristics. Mascots like Crocodiles or Tasmanian Devils symbolise locality if anything.

bloodsbigot
31 Dec 2009, 18:57
Call GWS the PIONEERS because it sounds cool and relates to this new journey for AFL and GWS.:thumbsu:

And the colours to be Powder blue with white and navy blue, not too fussed on the design so long as they keep it simple and traditional.:thumbsu:

Now imagine how sick that is going to look at ANZ 70,000 with the Pioneers smooth powder blue against the flashy red of the Swans. Rivalry Ignite:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Agreed.

Here's my bare minimum design.

http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/3880/westernsydneyafc.jpg

speedpeck23
1 Jan 2010, 15:46

Pioneers can also relate to Tom Wills and Henry Harrison. the two most significant people in pioneering Australia's own game and who both ironically were born in the region of Greater W Sydney.

ghostdog
3 Jan 2010, 17:13
Smeagle's monogram on the jumper thread is great! Bring back the monogram! They're traditional and a lost feature of the culture of the code.

As for the name of the side and its colours;

West Sydney Rebels or West Sydney Renegades.
Do the knowledge.
http://www.hawkesburyhistory.org.au/...f_Vinegar.html (http://www.hawkesburyhistory.org.au/articles/Battle_of_Vinegar.html)

This ties in well with the heritage of the area. If the guernseys are green, white and orange (of some shade or another) this gives the nod to our celtic past, the many, many Indian residents of present day Western Sydney (have a look at the Indian flag - it's spinning wheel is also a symbol of rebellion) and the colours would be an original combination in the competition.

Slap the monogram on the front and sell that shit!

craegus
3 Jan 2010, 18:48
Smeagle's monogram on the jumper thread is great! Bring back the monogram! They're traditional and a lost feature of the culture of the code.

As for the name of the side and its colours;

West Sydney Rebels or West Sydney Renegades.
Do the knowledge.
http://www.hawkesburyhistory.org.au/...f_Vinegar.html (http://www.hawkesburyhistory.org.au/articles/Battle_of_Vinegar.html)

This ties in well with the heritage of the area. If the guernseys are green, white and orange (of some shade or another) this gives the nod to our celtic past, the many, many Indian residents of present day Western Sydney (have a look at the Indian flag - it's spinning wheel is also a symbol of rebellion) and the colours would be an original combination in the competition.

Slap the monogram on the front and sell that shit!

I can agree with the use of orange, but the use of green is really more of a tasmanian colour and I would even go as far as saying the AFL will not allow western sydney to use green especially seen that the tasmanian bid has already shown that they will be using green in their guernseys.

On top of that if a connection is made between the colours and a particular ethnic community (even celtic) it will cause a major split in possible supporters mainly because of the diversity of those who live in the west of sydney (According to the NSW Government; "one third of the GWS population has migrated to Australia and half of the world's nations are represented among its residents. In Fairfield Local Government Area alone, over 70 different languages are spoken"). Plus look at what happened in the old NSL with specific groups represented. I am not saying this will happen but some caution needs to be taken.

I can say for myself being a person who that if I would seriously consider not even considering supporting a team that has its colours based on a specific group within the western sydney community that ignores my own heritage (which is nothing special {english, scottish, and belgian}).

The best option for the team is to go with colours that are inclusive of all western sydney and perhaps all of western nsw (blues {as they are nsw's colours and ignored by the swans} or orange {which has been used by previous western sydney teams like the western sydney rams rugby union team and it is also the colour of the land that the farmers have used for 200 years})

ghostdog
3 Jan 2010, 23:13
green is really more of a tasmanian colour

On green, I suppose it depends on the shade of green you choose, like blue. As for what the AFL will and will not allow, nothing re: a Tasmanian bid has been approved or is officially exclusive. It's like saying you can't use blue because North have blue. To my knowledge it's about the colour combination

if a connection is made between the colours and a particular ethnic community (even celtic) it will cause a major split in possible supporters

On a possible ethnic divide, I never said market the product by saying 'we are doing this to appeal to these cultural demographics', rather that using particular colours could create an appeal to a particular market. All I'm saying is that these colours effectively cover a number of different cultural groups, and link to the cultural heritage of the region. No one colour combo would ever appeal to all of the people, but I think the one I've identified would appeal to many and be original in the competition.

the west of sydney (According to the NSW Government; "one third of the GWS population has migrated to Australia and half of the world's nations are represented among its residents. In Fairfield Local Government Area alone, over 70 different languages are spoken").

This is as clear as mud. Unless you are Aboriginal you are essentially a migrant anyway. Australia is a nation of migrants. As another poster pointed out, green is also a colour that represents islam. I'd be interested to know the religious demographic of Western Sydney as well. This isn't about associating the team with a particular group, it's about marketing to the most.

Plus look at what happened in the old NSL with specific groups represented. I am not saying this will happen but some caution needs to be taken.

That's a soccer issue. If you follow the news you'd know it also happened recently between fans of Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory.

I can say for myself being a person who that if I would seriously consider not even considering supporting a team that has its colours based on a specific group within the western sydney community that ignores my own heritage (which is nothing special {english, scottish, and belgian}).

With regard to what appeals to your English, Scottish or Belge background, I would suggest you've got Sydney, Carlton or Adelaide to barrack for if you so choose. The Western Bulldogs and the Brisbane Lions give the nod to Australia's British connection, the Lions even does to France with its choice of the Marseilaise as its theme song. Why not a side that acknowledges our celtic past and sub-continental presence?

The best option for the team is to go with colours that are inclusive of all western sydney and perhaps all of western nsw (blues {as they are nsw's colours and ignored by the swans} or orange {which has been used by previous western sydney teams like the western sydney rams rugby union team and it is also the colour of the land that the farmers have used for 200 years})

On the best option, I agree with you that the NSW sky blue is probably the most inclusive option, I just think it's boring and uninspiring, from the Waratahs to Cronulla to the NSW Blues. Further, some time in the future when AFL's growth has taken its natural course, what colour will the state guernsey be at State of Origin time?

Also, you'd be setting up a clash with Port Adelaide's guernsey.

Maybe orange, white and green vertical candy stripes (like the St Kilda away guernsey from a couple of years ago) with the monogram over the solar-plexus. Could possibly even have the monogram in sky blue on a dark blue disc, or vice-versa.

The problem I have is the moniker for a side named West Sydney Rebels or West Sydney Renegades.
What the hell does a Rebel or a Renegade look like?

InCase
3 Jan 2010, 23:15
Traditionalists may like the moniker, but to everyone else, and a new team they are plain boring and do not represent anything for the location of the new team.

The good thing about Carlton is they have a hundred years of tradition with the monogram, it means a lot to that football club, as does stripes sashes and the like. Back in those days they did not have the means to create anything much more complicated.

A new team coming in with a monogram does not help this new football club gain any fans. It need to represent the location and people of that area, as Fremantle did so well with an anchor, as Adelaide did with the blue red and gold state colours.

Traditional emblems and styles work for traditional teams, they do not work for modern teams who have no tradition and need to make their own.

ghostdog
3 Jan 2010, 23:25
Traditionalists may like the moniker, but to everyone else, and a new team they are plain boring and do not represent anything for the location of the new team.

The good thing about Carlton is they have a hundred years of tradition with the monogram, it means a lot to that football club, as does stripes sashes and the like. Back in those days they did not have the means to create anything much more complicated.

A new team coming in with a monogram does not help this new football club gain any fans. It need to represent the location and people of that area, as Fremantle did so well with an anchor, as Adelaide did with the blue red and gold state colours.

Traditional emblems and styles work for traditional teams, they do not work for modern teams who have no tradition and need to make their own.

Disagree. What comes around goes around. The old will always find new fans and traditions are established and maintained. This is why Carlton's monogram has a hundred years of tradition.

The monogram never goes out of style. It's classic.

InCase
3 Jan 2010, 23:37
Disagree. What comes around goes around. The old will always find new fans and traditions are established and maintained. This is why Carlton's monogram has a hundred years of tradition.

No it doesn't, style goes out of fashion and often stays there.

Carltons monogram has a hundred years of tradition as it has represented Carlton for a hundred years, just as Essendons sash and Collingwoods Stripes.

New teams are not entering a suburban league where it costs little to keep the team up and running, there are big bills to pay, which they need fans for they don't have time to make a tradition through history. They have a location, and a look, which will both be the most important factors in gaining new support. You can't do that with boring old styles that appeal to fans of already supported teams.

ghostdog
3 Jan 2010, 23:53
No it doesn't, style goes out of fashion and often stays there.

Carltons monogram has a hundred years of tradition as it has represented Carlton for a hundred years, just as Essendons sash and Collingwoods Stripes.

New teams are not entering a suburban league where it costs little to keep the team up and running, there are big bills to pay, which they need fans for they don't have time to make a tradition through history. They have a location, and a look, which will both be the most important factors in gaining new support. You can't do that with boring old styles that appeal to fans of already supported teams.

Nope, fashion comes and goes but classic styles remain. I understand your argument re: modernity though, which is perhaps why I prefer Smeagle's monogram over the other dude's. The letter style is a contemporary take on an old concept.

As for a monogram v no monogram, you offer no alternative but allude to the idea that you have something flashy to unveil. What is it? and, if they need this legion of fans so desperately why would they take such a risk on their product with something so 'innovative' that it reeks of gimmickry?

As for the appeal of the 'look' of the guernsey, this is why I have opted for the colours I have; orange, white and green. The colour combo could be both visually striking and traditional.

The monogram is a cultural symbol of Australian football. That is the product they are selling, along with the team.

craegus
4 Jan 2010, 19:46
On green, I suppose it depends on the shade of green you choose, like blue. As for what the AFL will and will not allow, nothing re: a Tasmanian bid has been approved or is officially exclusive. It's like saying you can't use blue because North have blue. To my knowledge it's about the colour combination

On a possible ethnic divide, I never said market the product by saying 'we are doing this to appeal to these cultural demographics', rather that using particular colours could create an appeal to a particular market. All I'm saying is that these colours effectively cover a number of different cultural groups, and link to the cultural heritage of the region. No one colour combo would ever appeal to all of the people, but I think the one I've identified would appeal to many and be original in the competition.

This is as clear as mud. Unless you are Aboriginal you are essentially a migrant anyway. Australia is a nation of migrants. As another poster pointed out, green is also a colour that represents islam. I'd be interested to know the religious demographic of Western Sydney as well. This isn't about associating the team with a particular group, it's about marketing to the most.

That's a soccer issue. If you follow the news you'd know it also happened recently between fans of Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory.

With regard to what appeals to your English, Scottish or Belge background, I would suggest you've got Sydney, Carlton or Adelaide to barrack for if you so choose. The Western Bulldogs and the Brisbane Lions give the nod to Australia's British connection, the Lions even does to France with its choice of the Marseilaise as its theme song. Why not a side that acknowledges our celtic past and sub-continental presence?

On the best option, I agree with you that the NSW sky blue is probably the most inclusive option, I just think it's boring and uninspiring, from the Waratahs to Cronulla to the NSW Blues. Further, some time in the future when AFL's growth has taken its natural course, what colour will the state guernsey be at State of Origin time?

Maybe orange, white and green vertical candy stripes (like the St Kilda away guernsey from a couple of years ago) with the monogram over the solar-plexus. Could possibly even have the monogram in sky blue on a dark blue disc, or vice-versa.

The problem I have is the moniker for a side named West Sydney Rebels or West Sydney Renegades.

Ok fair enough, I just replied to the post as I read it, so that is why I spoke about the ethnic divide. But if the colours chosen are chosen for their relationship to the area (e.g. blue for the blue mountains, orange for the land, green for the dividing range {not the best examples but you get my drift}, but along the lines of the gold coast choosing red and yellow for the beach flags that appear all over the area) then I have no issue with it at all.

(The following is just my opinion and I am not in anyway attacking you or your views)

The mentioning of my heritage was just to add to the point I made, but when you get down to the bare bones I am Aussie through and through. The reason I was so specific with this is because I am currently a swans supporter but I prefer to support a team that is local to me, as I live in the western suburbs and like to be able to easily get to games to support my team (wests tigers previously the western suburbs magpies {though locality will probably not change my support for them now}, and before that newcastle knights when I lived up there) so I am seriously considering supporting the GWS team but if it was to go down the ethnic route (which I am certain it will not) I would probably sway away from it.

To reply to a couple of other points you make;

Teams do have links to particular groups like the western bulldogs and lions but this allegiance is from a different time when this was more acceptable to do so now it isn't as much so especially because we have become a very multicultural country.

A NSW state team could wear similar colours to a club side it already happens, look at adelaide and SA, carlton and victoria, brisbane and QLD.

What does a rebel or renegade look like.......well apart from a bikie!!!, that is a problem as the only image I get is that of a bushranger and more specifically Ned Kelly and that is a victorian image that they would never let us live down.

Also one more thing you say that "Unless you are Aboriginal you are essentially a migrant anyway. Australia is a nation of migrants." but do not Aboriginals say that they themselves traveled to this country and therefore make them migrants themselves? (have had this debate before, was quite an interestingone at that!!)

AstroboyUK
4 Jan 2010, 22:36
Unless you are Aboriginal you are essentially a migrant anyway. Australia is a nation of migrants.

I hate to digress: but I am neither an Aboriginal or a 'migrant'. I was born and bred in Australia, so were my parents and their parents etc etc etc.

I dont come from any other country, and my histrocial heritage is Australia. I do not have a nother 'homeland'. I am Autralian and Australian only.

I strongly resent being called a 'migrant' in my own country. Its a lazy term that demeans myheritage and culture, and isnt even accurate.

/ other than that, good post.

ghostdog
5 Jan 2010, 05:13
I hate to digress: but I am neither an Aboriginal or a 'migrant'. I was born and bred in Australia, so were my parents and their parents etc etc etc.

I dont come from any other country, and my histrocial heritage is Australia. I do not have a nother 'homeland'. I am Autralian and Australian only.

I strongly resent being called a 'migrant' in my own country. Its a lazy term that demeans myheritage and culture, and isnt even accurate.

/ other than that, good post.

I was speaking figuratively. Glad you feel so Australian, and that's probably a good reason why we need another flag isn' it. That's a whole other issue. Back to the thread.

ghostdog
5 Jan 2010, 05:23
I prefer to support a team that is local to me, as I live in the western suburbs and like to be able to easily get to games to support my team

This is all that should matter to you then :thumbsu:

if it was to go down the ethnic route (which I am certain it will not) I would probably sway away from it.

I trust you're referring to the colour selection and reason only, rather than the ethnic composition of the supporter base.

Teams do have links to particular groups like the western bulldogs and lions but this allegiance is from a different time when this was more acceptable to do so now it isn't as much so especially because we have become a very multicultural country.

By this rationale my argument celebrates multiculturalism while yours preserves the status quo.

A NSW state team could wear similar colours to a club side it already happens, look at adelaide and SA, carlton and victoria, brisbane and QLD.

Agreed, unfortunately.

What does a rebel or renegade look like.......well apart from a bikie!!!, that is a problem as the only image I get is that of a bushranger and more specifically Ned Kelly and that is a victorian image that they would never let us live down.

I'll post some images from other like-named teams.

Also one more thing you say that "Unless you are Aboriginal you are essentially a migrant anyway. Australia is a nation of migrants." but do not Aboriginals say that they themselves traveled to this country and therefore make them migrants themselves? (have had this debate before, was quite an interestingone at that!!)

Yes, but given that our government recognises that they have been inhabitants of this land since time immemorial I think we can safely say while they did migrate they are native. They simply were here first, by a very long way.
[/quote]

Fire
5 Jan 2010, 07:24
Yes, but given that our government recognises that they have been inhabitants of this land since time immemorial I think we can safely say while they did migrate they are native. They simply were here first, by a very long way.

Its a bit of a side point, but I am a 25 year old descendant of mixed anglo heritage.

What makes me any less 'native' than a 25 year old Aboriginal? In what sense was he here before me?

Humans didn't evolve here and none of us are 'native' (We'd all be marsupials if we did). It's only a matter of determaning which generation were the migrants. And I don't see how thats in any way relevant to the individual.

As far as I am concerned, if you were born here you aren't a migrant (not even "essentially") and have as much right to claim Australia as your homeland by birth. Regardless of your race or creed. I don't see how its helpful for anyone to be categorised as 'more' Australian based only on what their anscestors did ans where they came from. The sins of the father are not passed on to his son, and all that.

Play on.

craegus
5 Jan 2010, 08:31
I trust you're referring to the colour selection and reason only, rather than the ethnic composition of the supporter base.

By this rationale my argument celebrates multiculturalism while yours preserves the status quo.

Yes the colour selection, definately not the composition of the supporter base.

I probably didn't make myself clear, what I was trying to say was that back when those clubs were created the basis of their identities were based on specific ethnic groups, whereas today the teams should select their colours/identity to include all, and though it may seem a bit similar to what used to happen the best way to include all is to choose an identity/colours that do not represent particular ethnic/racial groups but the area that everyone lives, if those colours do represent a particular group then it is by pure accident and no issues can arise from someone not being included.

Though we are multicultural, and it may sound horrible (even as I write this I can see it may not sound very good, but there is truth to it) sadly it does not take much for old issues to rise to the surface.

ghostdog
5 Jan 2010, 09:14
[QUOTE]Its a bit of a side point, but I am a 25 year old descendant of mixed anglo heritage.

I'm 34, part English-Australian, part Filipino-Australian.

What makes me any less 'native' than a 25 year old Aboriginal? In what sense was he here before me?

It's the depth of your ancestry. I'm certainly not trying to imply that you are not a native born citizen, simply that the descendants of Aboriginal people have lineage that extends back in time to a time that no-one remembers. In that sense Aboriginal people are native to this land. The time that my relatives and yours have only been here for is a drop in the ocean by comparison. So, 'we' are recent arrivals while 'they' are native.

Humans didn't evolve here and none of us are 'native' (We'd all be marsupials if we did). It's only a matter of determaning which generation were the migrants. And I don't see how thats in any way relevant to the individual.

If you consider that Aboriginal people have been here for more than 40 000 years I think it is equally reasonable to suggest that they as a people evolved here to some extent also. I don't mean this in the Darwinian 'monkeys to humans' way, just that people adapt to their climatic conditions. This is sure to have happened over a 40 000+ year time period. The word 'native' doesn't just apply to animals.
The issue of who is a migrant, in this discussion, is relevant to the individual again due to the issue of lineage and how far back it can be traced. The roots of an Aboriginal family tree in this country are far far deeper than yours and mine. Given that we only arrived in recent memory it is we who are, figuratively, the migrants.

As far as I am concerned, if you were born here you aren't a migrant (not even "essentially")

Fine, but it's a simplistic viewpoint. You'd be somewhere between first and maybe sixth or seventh generation Australian at most. What generation is your local Koori? From the Aboriginal perspective I think it's entirely fair to view you and your family as recent migrants.

....and have as much right to claim Australia as your homeland by birth.

Agreed.

Regardless of your race or creed. I don't see how its helpful for anyone to be categorised as 'more' Australian based only on what their anscestors did ans where they came from.

It's helpful if you are Aboriginal and you need to show people why you should be entitled to particular things, for instance, land.

The sins of the father are not passed on to his son, and all that.

The responsibility for addressing and correcting the negative impacts of the sins of the father should be the responsibility of all of us. Let's be honest here, generations of Aboriginal people have been plunged into situations of hopelessness and despair as a result of the actions of individuals and the policies of of white governments. Individuals and communities have been stripped of their culture, lost their languages, systematically driven from their lands, murdered on mass. This nation was built on murder and theft. Ought we bare some sense responsibility for that? Damn right we should.

To address the perpetual inequalities that have been created as a result of settlement is what reconciliation is all about. Unfortunately 'reconciliation' is still just a buzz word. It's not government policy.

I'm proud to be a supporter of a football club that recognises the role it can play in raising awareness of Aboriginal successes in a white world, and Round 9 is the only time I'm also proud to love Richmond :)

I tried to write this as a visitor message because I didn't want to derail the thread, but I didn't know how :confused:. I did it anyway because somethings are more important than footy.

ghostdog
5 Jan 2010, 09:25
Yes the colour selection, definately not the composition of the supporter base.

I probably didn't make myself clear, what I was trying to say was that back when those clubs were created the basis of their identities were based on specific ethnic groups, whereas today the teams should select their colours/identity to include all, and though it may seem a bit similar to what used to happen the best way to include all is to choose an identity/colours that do not represent particular ethnic/racial groups but the area that everyone lives, if those colours do represent a particular group then it is by pure accident and no issues can arise from someone not being included.

Though we are multicultural, and it may sound horrible (even as I write this I can see it may not sound very good, but there is truth to it) sadly it does not take much for old issues to rise to the surface.

Let me put it another way. I have a field with three flags. One is British, one is French and one is a represents the field. It has been this way in my field since I came here.

If I choose to keep this composition I perpetuate the status quo in terms of who is represented in my field. If I begin to include flags from a diverse range of countries my field will start to appear more multicultural.

In terms of the competition, again, I never said that the side should be identified as the team that represents a particular people. I agree with you that that could create unneeded problems. However, if the side is from a particular area that is populated by people of a particular ethnic group it will be adopted as their own anyway. That simply cannot be helped. Look at the supporter base of Canterbury-Bankstown.

You are also right that unfortunately it doesn't take much for race-hate issues to rise to the surface. The AFL can avoid this though by appealing to the broadest market possible by any means. The colour combo I suggested implies the similarities between disparate groups of people. I would have thought that a good thing.

Docker Clint
6 Jan 2010, 10:57

No it doesn't, it's been changed 3 times in the last 20 years alone.

RangaInTeal
6 Jan 2010, 13:03
Personally I think Cockatoos or Kookaburras go well, Up here in Northern Adelaide there are the Golden Grove Kookaburra's and I always liked the sound and look of there gurnsey. It is Australian as playing Australian Rules football. I understand the shit they might cop because of it, however, whatever they go with is going to cop shit and flack! I also like the Bushmen, or Bushrangers, would go well with the history of Australia and etc. and I think it sounds good also, again very Australian to play the Australian game! I do not like the renegades or Rebels, sounds Americanised, I dont like the Crocs, I think Townsvile/Cains/Darwin when I think of Crocs, Birds saw high and migrate etc.

Mowse
6 Jan 2010, 14:31
I did this logo as a redesign for Nashville Predators in the NHL originally. I've just changed the colours and name to incorporate WS. Its unlikely they would ever go with this as its a bit too close to Richmond, but I thought it might be interesting to see what people think.

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f100/MowseRFC/wssabers.jpg

craegus
6 Jan 2010, 17:22
I did this logo as a redesign for Nashville Predators in the NHL originally. I've just changed the colours and name to incorporate WS. Its unlikely they would ever go with this as its a bit too close to Richmond, but I thought it might be interesting to see what people think.

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f100/MowseRFC/wssabers.jpg

It is a fantastic logo, I actually saw the original nashville version and liked it then.

It would be a great logo for the team but as you said it is probably too close to richmond.

Barkly St End
7 Jan 2010, 09:46
Nice logo - but it would be ironic if the AFL's newest team chose an extinct animal as its logo.

belfast_bomber
11 Jan 2010, 22:08
Not to mention the American spelling.

soreplums
15 Jan 2010, 00:32

Fits in well with the "Blues" and the "Dockers"

Fire
15 Jan 2010, 07:07
Fits in well with the "Blues" and the "Dockers"

And Power.

Blue is a colour, Docker is an occupation and Power is a concept. Rebels or Renegade is likewise abstract.

Kids love animals more. And it's easier to market.

DaSawx
15 Jan 2010, 17:01
Sheedy likes Warriors apparently, FWIW

Mad Fan of AFL
15 Jan 2010, 17:16
[quote=DaSawx;16680016]Sheedy likes Warriors apparently, FWIW[/quotE

Dont like that as a AFL nickname....just my opinion:cool:

mess
15 Jan 2010, 17:56
Sheedy likes Warriors apparently, FWIW

Dont like that as a AFL nickname....just my opinion:cool:

Same here. Wolves ftw.

Giants FC
15 Jan 2010, 17:58
Not a bad name. But the name Western Warriors is already taken by the WA cricket team; to have a Western Sydney Warriors AFL team is too similar a name for my liking.
The other reason I'd prefer Wolves is that there is already a Warriors team in the NRL - I'd prefer to have a name that doesn't match an NRL team.

DaSawx
15 Jan 2010, 18:14
That's a good point

Barkly St End
15 Jan 2010, 19:06
That's a good point

That was two good points.