View Full Version : Faint memories of a "Lightning" event

Air_Chester
6 Nov 2009, 23:08
OK, this is a two part thread, so we'll get the first part out of the way first.

Back in either the 1994 or 1995 pre-season (thinking 95), I attented a "Lightning Cup" type day at Waverley Park, and my memories of it are vague. I remember going, I remember it being Essendon, Carlton and Collingwood playing, and I think each team played each other once, with two 15 minute halves.

Anywho, I recall Essendon "winning the day" or whatever, and I have heard nothing of it since, and can find absolutely no mention of it anywhere on the internet.

Can somebody please refresh my memory of when and how this went down?

Howard Moon
7 Nov 2009, 07:44
It was in 96 wasnt it? The centenary year of the AFL, they had the poxy lightning premiership at Waverly in front of about 15 fans.

If i remember right Cockatoo Collins got best on ground in each of the 3 games and was looking like a super-star. The media was going on about us winning all 3 cups for the year, then we went on to lose to Carlton i think in the first round of the fosters cup.

We all rememebr how that year ended also :( we handed nth a gold premiership cup and lost 2 finals by a point :(

Air_Chester
7 Nov 2009, 14:11
It was in 96 wasnt it? The centenary year of the AFL, they had the poxy lightning premiership at Waverly in front of about 15 fans.

If i remember right Cockatoo Collins got best on ground in each of the 3 games and was looking like a super-star. The media was going on about us winning all 3 cups for the year, then we went on to lose to Carlton i think in the first round of the fosters cup.

We all rememebr how that year ended also :( we handed nth a gold premiership cup and lost 2 finals by a point :(

All perfectly true, I remember the 1996 one quite well. I actually enjoyed that Lightning fixture, lame as it is in hindsight.

Not the one I'm talking about, though, sadly.

I really don't know if it was wa family oriented event or what, just that it was at Waverley and Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton played each other through the day.

The games were most probably classified as practice matches.

donsman4eva
7 Nov 2009, 15:49
I seem to recall us playing Brisbane in one match and Matthew Kennedy playing probably the best game of his career.

Dais
7 Nov 2009, 19:10

LOVE cocky-collins. him and soli were my favouritre growing up. no idea why i picked cocky but soli was a local boy. when ur 8 yo thats a big deal. still havent met him =( still love him

yaco55
7 Nov 2009, 20:49
Essendon beat Fremantle in the GF of the Lighning premiership.

thebigboy
8 Nov 2009, 05:16
Essendon beat Fremantle in the GF of the Lighning premiership.

Im sure Freo fans see it as the most successful team in the history.:p

Fastcrew
8 Nov 2009, 08:47
i'm pretty sure the bombers beat the lions not the dockers. the bomber docker game your thinking of was a pre-season match before the 95 season and you also won that match

Air_Chester
8 Nov 2009, 11:07
The Carlton board gave me this...

It did happen.
I reckon it was earlier than 94 though.
And the teams participating were Blues, Pies and Dons and yep the Dons did win it.
They had rules such as last player who touches the ball before it goes out of bounds gave the other side a free kick.
I will ask a Bomber mate of mine to confirm the year tomorrow he is good with that sort of shit.

It did happen, I actually went to it...It was between Carlton, Essendon and Collingwood and if my memory serves me correctly each team played each other once in shortened matches (I think it was 2 halves) and the top 2 teams played in the GF.

I remember this because I would have been about 19-20 years (which would of made it 1994-95) and I walked in paying $0.00 as the bloke at the gate thought I was Under 14.

I'm deadset relieved that this all didn't happen inside my head. Now it's just me... and the voices :p

Anywaaaay, Carlton, Collingwood and Essendon, one day, some whacky rules and and quick footy. Chances of this ever, in any way, being rearranged into something that might actually be a worthwhile event?

windyhill
8 Nov 2009, 11:40
I remember it and went.

Cunnington ftw
8 Nov 2009, 11:42

Yep, you guys were definitely the best team that year despite finishing 6th :thumbsu:

The Dustbin
8 Nov 2009, 14:27
The Lightning Premiership was held for the only time in the modern era in 1996 - the Centenary Season of the AFL. It was a knock-out competition played from Friday, 9 February until Sunday, 11 February, with four games each evening at Waverley Park, each consisting of two 17.5 minute halves. The game trialled a number of highly experimental rules, including three points awarded both for deliberate rushed behinds and balls which hit the goalposts, and timekeepers not blowing the siren if scores were tied. However, the rule which altered play most significantly was the ball not being thrown in from the boundary line after travelling out of bounds, a free kick being awarded instead against the last team to touch the ball. Essendon won the title defeating Brisbane by 17 points in the Grand Final.

Previous VFL/AFL Lightning Premierships were held in:

1940 - won by St Kilda (the Saints' first VFL/AFL trophy)
1941 - won by Collingwood
1943 - won by Essendon
1951 - won by Collingwood
1952 - won by Melbourne
1953 - won by Richmond

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_Football_League_pre-season_competition

windyhill
8 Nov 2009, 19:04
The event the OP is talking about was on one day between Ess,carl and coll and I`m pretty sure it was held at Vic Park.

Hoffinator
9 Nov 2009, 10:15
Can't remember the exact year (early to mid 90's) that we played the round robin with Carlton and Collingwood, but I believe it was called 'The Big 3' or something to that effect, and was definitely at Waverley Park. The Lightning Premiership was, as correctly posted above, in 1996, involved all teams over a week or two leading up to the Pre season Cup, modified rules and was won by us over the Brisbane Bears. Was part of the Centenary Celebrations. Ah, the good old Waverley days!

Air_Chester
9 Nov 2009, 11:39
Can't remember the exact year (early to mid 90's) that we played the round robin with Carlton and Collingwood, but I believe it was called 'The Big 3' or something to that effect, and was definitely at Waverley Park.

There we go, I assumed it was a "Lightning" deal due to the shortened quarters, but it was most probably a round robin.

I still think if done right such a "Big 3" event would be a huge success, especially if all 3 make the finals again next year. Even make it a "Big 4" and throw in Richmond.

You'd automatically get three or four practice matches over one or two weekends, but make an assload of cash as opposed to the usual zero dollars a practice match draws.

Goat Boy
9 Nov 2009, 12:18
i'm pretty sure the bombers beat the lions not the dockers. the bomber docker game your thinking of was a pre-season match before the 95 season and you also won that match

This is correct, we played Sydney in the final leading up to the grand final as well.

If the ball went out of bounds then it was a free kick against the guy who touched it last. 3 points were awarded for hitting the post as well.
It started on a Friday night with Melbourne vs Collingwood and extra time was played because the scores were level. It became sudden death which was a interesting concept to see in a AFL game.
It went Fri-Sun and was a great event to watch on TV. Just quick short footy games all weekend. Think the matches went for 30 minutes.

Sealz
9 Nov 2009, 13:54
Yep, you guys were definitely the best team that year despite finishing 6th :thumbsu:

arhh..so the Prelim in Sydney when we were 13 points up with 6 minutes to go... only to lose when Plugger kicked a point after the siren was just a bad dream.... thank god:thumbsu:

AJ_2000
10 Nov 2009, 11:43
I still think if done right such a "Big 3" event would be a huge success, especially if all 3 make the finals again next year. Even make it a "Big 4" and throw in Richmond.

You'd automatically get three or four practice matches over one or two weekends, but make an assload of cash as opposed to the usual zero dollars a practice match draws.

Well the AFL needs a new preseason comp structure after next year with GC17 and GWS on their way in. Perhaps your idea has some merit.......

tylerd83
10 Nov 2009, 20:47
I was there and remember it.

It was played at Waverley over a weekend (in Feb I think)
Contested between Carlton, Collingwood and Essendon - basically practice match hit-outs for all, no doubt trumped up to get some mileage for naming rights sponsors. There were a couple of ads in the paper to pull a crowd, zero or low entry price I think.
All players on lists were experimented with.
It was called, from memory, the Challenge Cup (sponsored by Challenge Bank I think, the mob who used to have their logo on the Sherrin many moons ago)
It was pre-season of either 1994 or 1995
My one enduring memory is an unknown teenager called Matthew Lloyd sitting on someone's head and taking an absolute hanger in one of our games (Carlton I think :)). I'm sure he had just arrived (wasn't on the list the previous year and yet to play a senior game), which may provide a clue as to what year it was.
How's my memory? :confused: