View Full Version : If Mcphee goes, should we take Macdonald?

Coopster09
15 Nov 2009, 16:28
All in the Headlines is "Mcphee looks certain to go to Freo". So say that dos happen is Joel Macdonald a good option for us at pick 33 or any other pick? and if we dont take Ball does it make us more eager to take him?

10#?

24# Luke Ball (maybe)

26# Luke Ball (maybe)

33# Joel Macdonald?

Id love to hear your posts
Thanx Coopster09:thumbsu:

Skeeta Olly
15 Nov 2009, 16:31
I'm not sure if Macdonald has nominated for the ND?

If so, I can't see us taking two mature aged players. I also doubt he'll last to our pick in the PSD.

Ben the Gooner
15 Nov 2009, 16:34
No chance we'll get a crack at him.

Coopster09
15 Nov 2009, 16:35
I'm not sure if Macdonald has nominated for the ND?

If so, I can't see us taking two mature aged players. I also doubt he'll last to our pick in the PSD.

yes it does seem unlikely for us to take 2 mature players but he a great player and would take over mcphee' role quite nicely.

Darealrath
15 Nov 2009, 17:29
No chance we'll get a crack at him.

Good, don't rate him.

Mrs Mercuri
15 Nov 2009, 18:00
No we dont really need MacDonald... he is a different player to McPhee. I would rather we give a half back position to Houli or Myers in 2010.

Luke Ball would be the only mature age player we get in the ND... the others (if any) would be rookie options.

kelvin_sheedy
15 Nov 2009, 18:22
yes it does seem unlikely for us to take 2 mature players but he a great player and would take over mcphee' role quite nicely.

McDonald a great player :confused:

He's no good and it's one of the reasons why Vossy cut him loose. His kicking can be hit and miss and he's a Jay Nash clone.

zen dice man
15 Nov 2009, 18:28
Would be a great improvement on "Fumbles" Mcphee the mercenary.
Dont think Mcdonald will make his way to Windy Hill as he is in the sights of many clubs.

What exactly did Macdonald do to get delisted?

kelvin_sheedy
15 Nov 2009, 18:30

How about simply not playing well enough.

eth-dog
15 Nov 2009, 18:41
Would be a great improvement on "Fumbles" Mcphee the mercenary.
Dont think Mcdonald will make his way to Windy Hill as he is in the sights of many clubs.

he got delisted because He said he wanted to leave, they just couldn't find the right trade.

dave_27
15 Nov 2009, 18:43
no thanks

mj300985
15 Nov 2009, 18:44
If he doesn't go to Freo he will go to the Roos before you get a chance

Bombers 2014
15 Nov 2009, 19:00
If Mcphee goes, it'll mean Daniher or even T.Slattery can have a look in and we would probably get L.Ball.....not bad if you ask me

kelvin_sheedy
15 Nov 2009, 19:40
he got delisted because He said he wanted to leave, they just couldn't find the right trade

Kelvin, shut up about something you don't know
Let me get this right. Your argument is they couldn't find a suitable trade yet they let him go for free. Does that make sense?

If you know he's leaving you get the deal done. Vossy is a shrewd operator. He identified MacDonald as a weakness in the side and wasn't fussed. He cut him and no one really wanted him at trade time. This is what happens to guys that aren't good players.

In time you will learn this.

Ben the Gooner
15 Nov 2009, 19:44
kelvin, if he didn't want to sign a contract, no matter how much Voss wanted him, he would have been delisted.

Having said that, neither you nor eth-dog know what actually happened, or who wanted him, or how badly he was wanted.

Spikey
15 Nov 2009, 19:52
I feel he was delisted because he wanted to leave, however I feel that Voss didn't try too hard to convince him to stay, due to talent and stuff.

So you're both right.

kelvin_sheedy
15 Nov 2009, 20:02
So Vossy was prepared to give up a 3rd round pick for Raines and then let Macdonald go for free.

Jay Nash found a home, Marcus Drum, Dalziell..... pretty ordinary players who were traded for and about to be delisted.

He was dropped for the finals games and wasn't performing to the required standard. His head was on the chopping block because he had flaws in his game. No other club was willing to part with anything to get him over as a 3rd rounder would have done the job as it did for Raines above.

dapto
15 Nov 2009, 21:26
If Mcphee goes, it'll mean Daniher or even T.Slattery can have a look in and we would probably get L.Ball.....not bad if you ask me

this^^^guy nailed it

Why would MacDonald even appeal as a thread?

Pevers-Legend
15 Nov 2009, 21:42
So Vossy was prepared to give up a 3rd round pick for Raines and then let Macdonald go for free.

Jay Nash found a home, Marcus Drum, Dalziell..... pretty ordinary players who were traded for and about to be delisted.

He was dropped for the finals games and wasn't performing to the required standard. His head was on the chopping block because he had flaws in his game. No other club was willing to part with anything to get him over as a 3rd rounder would have done the job as it did for Raines above.

Kelvin, while I don't necessraily disagree with you - MacDonald is a solid footy player no more - Stevens couldn't get a trade and went to carlton - perhpas north knew this and were happy to take a punt draft time.

yaco55
15 Nov 2009, 21:54
You need to think a little more before you write sometimes. You're to eager to have a go at me and you end up looking like a clown.

Let me get this right. Your argument is they couldn't find a suitable trade yet they let him go for free. Does that make sense?

If you know he's leaving you get the deal done. Vossy is a shrewd operator. He identified MacDonald as a weakness in the side and wasn't fussed. He cut him and no one really wanted him at trade time. This is what happens to guys that aren't good players.

In time you will learn this.

He played 23 out of 24 games so must have shown some form.

eth-dog
16 Nov 2009, 06:30
he was injured Kelvin.

kelvin_sheedy
16 Nov 2009, 06:57
he was injured Kelvin, just STFU now.

Not really.. he was dropped and it was widely reported at the time. He could have played. Every player carries injuries. Here's what one of the respected Brissie posters has to say about him:

I'm really starting to believe the "he got the shits because he was dropped for finals" story.

Perhaps he just felt like his future at the club was insecure due to players like Hawksley, Collier, Hanley and Raines on the scene and is looking for a bit of security.

And media reports:

McDonald played every game of the home-and-away season before been dropped for the club's two finals games in September and is also said to be leaving because of salary cap pressures.

Mods, how does this clown not get any infractions for abusing people?

daffo
16 Nov 2009, 07:32
I love reading slaps over the net. Eth-Dog is stuck in a corner now though.

If McPhee leaves I highly doubt it will be a deciding factor for the Ball deal. One thing Knights does well is looking at holes in the list then trying to find players to fit that spot. Ball and McPhee are completely different players.

MacDonald for McPhee would be a good trade. Hopefully we can get Ball in PSD then pick up MacDonald as a mature age rookie. If McPhee leaves we should have enough talls to cover him.

Ben the Gooner
16 Nov 2009, 08:09
That'd be a dream scenario, but there's more chance of Trengove going at 10 and Scully at 24 than there is of Ball falling past 30.

The best case scenario if we wanted those two players would be Ball at 26 and MacDonald at PSD #9.

However, I doubt very much if MacDonald would get past North at PSD #4.

Kong
16 Nov 2009, 08:21
Mods, how does this clown not get any infractions for abusing people?Yeah fair enough.

Eth, no more personal abuse mate. Final warning.

Slattery_20
16 Nov 2009, 11:32

On the bolded - I don't necessarily think this proves that Voss is a shrewd operator. IMHO the exact opposite - but I could be proven wrong.

For the record - this trade period: Ball couldn't get a deal done.
Thorp couldn't get a deal done, I've been told there was 3 or 4 clubs (including us) having a sniff for the last few years.
Both of those guys would be worth more than McDonald.
Clubs try and play hardball. Year after year. They get burnt. Yet another case!

eth-dog
16 Nov 2009, 11:52
Yeah fair enough.

Eth, no more personal abuse mate. Final warning.
And you don't leave out the attack on me? I'm sorry Whomb, but that is hypocrisy

kelvin_sheedy
16 Nov 2009, 11:54
Both of those guys would be worth more than Ball.
Clubs try and play hardball. Year after year. They get burnt. Yet another case!

Highly doubtful considering Ball is being chased by a fair few and is in the news every second day.

Thorp hasn't done anything anywhere and is only rated on the bigfooty myth scale.

There's a reason why clubs are manouvering and trying to get into the Ball picture while the rest are willing to sit back and let guys like MacDonald and Thorp fall into the PSD draft and get them there if available.

Ball couldn't get the deal done because he put a big price on his head, he wasn't willing to go anywhere bar Collingwood and hence things got complicated.

kelvin_sheedy
16 Nov 2009, 12:02
And you don't leave out the attack on me? I'm sorry Whomb, but that is hypocrisy

No need to cry wolf when you hurl abuse and not expect any to come back your way.

Be a little bit more civil in your discussion and we'll all get along to some extent and talk footy.

Slattery_20
16 Nov 2009, 12:06
Highly doubtful considering Ball is being chased by a fair few and is in the news every second day.

Thorp hasn't done anything anywhere and is only rated on the bigfooty myth scale.

There's a reason why clubs are manouvering and trying to get into the Ball picture while the rest are willing to sit back and let guys like MacDonald and Thorp fall into the PSD draft and get them there if available.

Ball couldn't get the deal done because he put a big price on his head, he wasn't willing to go anywhere bar Collingwood and hence things got complicated.
Sorry that was a typo.
Clubs were after Thorp. He had to be paid out of contract. Hawks were very stubborn... and left themselves with their first pick in the 30s or 40s. They probably could have upgraded that a fair bit.

eth-dog
16 Nov 2009, 12:06
No need to cry wolf when you hurl abuse and not expect any to come back your way.

Be a little bit more civil in your discussion and we'll all get along to some extent and talk footy.
I did expect it, except if he edit's mine, why not yours? double standards. That reasonable?

OK. I rate MacDonald, you don't. Lets agree to disagree because it's clear that we won't change each others opinion

Spikey
16 Nov 2009, 12:38
FFS guys. Report the posts and leave it at that.

Kong
16 Nov 2009, 13:11
And you don't leave out the attack on me? I'm sorry Whomb, but that is hypocrisyNot really hypocrisy, but you're right in that I should've edited out Kelvin's personal attacks.

Have done so now, and let's move on.

yaco55
16 Nov 2009, 15:39
Sorry that was a typo.
Clubs were after Thorp. He had to be paid out of contract. Hawks were very stubborn... and left themselves with their first pick in the 30s or 40s. They probably could have upgraded that a fair bit.

Read the Richmond Board and they will tell you that Richmond wanted to swap Pattison for Thorp but Hawthorn also wanted Pick 19. Richmond would have swapped the players and offered a higher pick than 19.

Hawthorn can be difficult in a trading situation.