View Full Version : Brennan - This bloke can play.

Pages : [1] 2

SpecialBruce
18 Apr 2003, 00:39
Number 17, Mick's old number - awesome display by this kid. This guy will win the rising star. He will probably get the nomination this week - he deserves it. He's one star in the making. Glad we have him. The way he played tonight - kouta like skills, he is the player we need for the future. He was brilliant, but late in the last quarter showed it was his first game because he was stuffed by the end of the game. That doesn't matter, a few more games and he will be right. If this bloke doesn't get a brownlow medal vote after this game, he is stiff. I would give him the 3. I prefer Brennan down back. He is much much better down there than up forward by what was shown.

Bradshaw is going to struggle to make it back in the squad now. If Brennan can keep performing like this, which I have confidence he can, he will start in a key position next year. Lets just hope the number 17 curse doesn't affect him. We have got to keep this player at all costs. We can't let him go.

His pre-season will involve weights weights and more weights. He will be pumping weights all summer. He needs to bulk up and he will be a star.

pedrothelioness
18 Apr 2003, 01:09
Brennan was great tonite, he had his own personal cheersquad in the actual cheersquad, speaking of which, first game sitting with the cheersquad and I get a close up on tele with me swearing my head off about a collingwood goal. :(

luthor
18 Apr 2003, 06:35
Des Who?

kimp
18 Apr 2003, 10:04
He was actually hurt in the last 5 - 10 minutes - ankle of something!!

Good bye Dessy's Head Land - hello Brennan's Bazaar!!!!

Though I don't think he'll automatically play next game.

LionsForever
18 Apr 2003, 10:22
Geez, this kid's amazing.
I wonder how much games Leigh will give him this year. Very impressive stuff especially if you got the late call up playing in a grand final re-match. :D

tapestry
18 Apr 2003, 11:23
Cool under pressure.I can't remember a 1st game player.Playing in a GF replay and playing so well. Congratulations Jarred.
He should be an automatic replacement for Caracella.

Mr Ripper
18 Apr 2003, 11:53
Settle down, bandwagoners. I've been telling you how this kid plays for weeks.

As auspicious as his debut was last night, he still would have had Matthews pulling his hair out at times (with tweezers, I'd imagine). Going for marks in the backline when he should be punching, waving the ball around in one hand, taking on the man on the mark; and then there's his kicking skills...

More power to him, I say. The game needs players with daring and flair like Jared. May even ease the pain of losing Bubba. ;)

But he's young and there's going to come a day when things just don't work out as well as they did last night.

Brennan's a special talent, but let's not go overboard just yet.

troppo
18 Apr 2003, 12:00
You could almost see the look of surprise on Tarrant's face when "The Claw" would have the pace to stay with him on the lead and still have the ability to outmark him or punch the ball away. The look on his face was like "who the hell is this kid?"

BrisGirl
18 Apr 2003, 13:55
Jarred Brennan must stay and become a solid fixture in the Senior side from this time onwards.

A natural and can only get better

OldLion
18 Apr 2003, 14:10
He got right under the Pies coaching strategy - who the hell is this guy - which they've been working on SOLIDLY for 6 months. Has there ever been a more courageous coaching move to pop him on our nemesis Tarrant ... and just befuddled him. Allowed Leppa to loosen up and Mal just went into overdrive. Love a wildcard and a bold coach.

These guys are what makes footy just so exciting. We now look forward to the squad's next challenge, rather than fear the contest. As Leppa said, we are the hunters. There will be issues along the way but I just feel that the season has started in earnest. That's what young kids who rise to the contest can do for the spirit of the club and supporters.

dogga16
18 Apr 2003, 14:45
Originally posted by OldLion
He got right under the Pies coaching strategy - who the hell is this guy - which they've been working on SOLIDLY for 6 months. Has there ever been a more courageous coaching move to pop him on our nemesis Tarrant ... and just befuddled him. Allowed Leppa to loosen up and Mal just went into overdrive. Love a wildcard and a bold coach.

These guys are what makes footy just so exciting. We now look forward to the squad's next challenge, rather than fear the contest. As Leppa said, we are the hunters. There will be issues along the way but I just feel that the season has started in earnest. That's what young kids who rise to the contest can do for the spirit of the club and supporters.

Don't think for a second that Collingwood didn't know how good Brennan is. He was an elite junior. All teams knew about his abilities. Brennan is a penetrating kick, with good intensity.

A very, very promising debut. Judd's debut against Collingwood last year was the best i'd seen by a player. Cannot split them.

Tarrant still took 12 marks with 19 possessions.

Powerful performance in the second half against an "impotent" Collingwood in the 2nd half. Brisbane have probably left Collingwood with more questions than answers.

OldLion
18 Apr 2003, 15:00
Originally posted by dogga16
Don't think for a second that Collingwood didn't know how good Brennan is.
So what was the plan ?

Powerful performance in the second half against an "impotent" Collingwood in the 2nd half.
So why was that ? Brennan on Tarrant freed up Leppa and the Scotts and it all started to gell.

dogga16
18 Apr 2003, 15:27
So what was the plan ?

So why was that ? Brennan on Tarrant freed up Leppa and the Scotts and it all started to gell.

You don't seriously think that Brennan was the difference do you ?
Tarrant was not the "same" player after hurting his hand in the 1st qtr.
Granted Brennan was terrific for you, but your midfield pressure was outstanding in not allowing us free ball movement throughthe midfield. You choked us !!

How about Notting taking contested marks in the fwd line ?
Brown giving Cloke a "bath" in all areas ?
Black's handballs from packs ?
Johnson's running from defence and then finding a target ?
Akermanis doing brilliant things ?

I could go on and on......that is why you are the "best"

ian68
18 Apr 2003, 15:50
Originally posted by luthor
Des Who?

Ditto

keatings_gal
18 Apr 2003, 16:06
yeah ripper... same hey....
the passage of play down the social club wing where he held the ball in one hand, now that is typical jared, he does it every 5 mins in the ressies, he is just crazy..... i was very proud of how he played & i agree that he could play more in teh backline, thats where he has played for the reserves in the last 5 games.

jared was very scared before the game, as you would be on your debut, let alone when playing a team like collingwood.

great to have you there last night pedro... my left shoulder is sore from the new floggers, i wonder how LL is going.. LOL

i wouldnt exactly say that he should get 3 brownlow votes SB but he would have to get rising star nomination i'd say....

i was impressed how leigh started him on the ground & then made him stay there the whole night, telling him what it would take to play a whole game, he was very tired in the last qtr you could tell but yeah he did get a few bumps in the last, but you get that......

hope that jared gets a few more games but i know that he will be training harder ( if that is @ all possible) in the next few weeks in order to bring himself back up after the game for next week, at least he does have a few more games than the seniors did from last week.

you dont like daniel do you SB?
he is a very good player & he will get back into the seniors..... especially coz jared is better down back.......

keatings_gal
18 Apr 2003, 16:13
hey yeah.... i will tell you the story again.....

i remember last year when he played here @ the gabba in the QLD VS NT game (which by the way is going to be the curtain raiser to the doggies game) & he took an absolute speccie right in the goal square @ our end & we were like WOAH!!!!.... but then he kicked the ball from about 15 m out with like hardly any angle & missed it... & we were like.. WHAT THE???? it was the same with the sydney game... he did that too... like he would just not think & kick.....& screw it up.. or think too much & then kick &then screw it up.. he just needs to get that balance right.... & yes... a bit more time in the gym.. & he will be turning many more heads.....

(YES I HAVE TOLD THIS STORY BEFORE BUT NO ONE EVER LISTENS ABOUT ANY OF THE YOUNGER PLAYERS UNTIL THEY GET INTO THE SENIORS ANYWAY)

grinspoon
18 Apr 2003, 16:24
also nice to see he is still **** scared of body contact. carried on since his early years.:rolleyes: looks a little like shermanator aswell from american pie.:cool:

pedrothelioness
18 Apr 2003, 16:28
Hmm i dont know about the body contact questioning, if anything his going for the ball against tarrant with the luke power collision shows that he is anything but scared.

Mr Ripper
18 Apr 2003, 23:46
Originally posted by dogga16
Brennan is a penetrating kick http://216.40.249.192/s/otn/laughing/yelrotflmao.gif

Lenny29
19 Apr 2003, 11:28
Has there ever been a more courageous coaching move to pop him on our nemesis Tarrant

It was hardly courageous. More like a last option. Leppitsch didn't work, Michael didn't work. Matthews knew Brennan had the goods, he quelled Riewoldt's influence at the Coorparoo game. Smart, yes, courageous, no.

Slax
19 Apr 2003, 12:31
Bugger Daniel Bradshaw or Caracella I want this guy permanetly in the side.

SpecialBruce
19 Apr 2003, 14:14
Originally posted by Slax
Bugger Daniel Bradshaw or Caracella I want this guy permanetly in the side.

You and me both.

SpecialBruce
19 Apr 2003, 14:15
Originally posted by keatings_gal

you dont like daniel do you SB?
he is a very good player & he will get back into the seniors..... especially coz jared is better down back.......

No not really even though he is from Wodonga! He isn't getting younger and fails to produce the last 2 years when Lynch has been out. Why do you think he didn't play in the Grand Final last year?

Stocka
22 Apr 2003, 20:14
Originally posted by luthor
Des Who?

'Headland' is the name I think you're looking for, Luthors. He'd be the player who helped us to a Premiership last season with a string of excellent performances. Unfortunately he's no longer with us, but as far as I'm concerned, he looks certain to be a future star. Good luck to him as well.

Regardless of Brennan's promising debut, I'd hardly think he's overshadowed Headland's contributions for the club so far, and I'd be disappointed if the club felt as though they had already scored a "win" in the trade deal at this point in time. There is a long way to go in terms of making sure we have success from the trade (even regardless of how the other clubs do out of it).

Let's not forget either, that D.Cupido also had a string of amazing games on debut for the Lions in 2000 and 2001 before he was cut down with injury, and later traded. In fact, there are quite a number of similarities; amazing goals, freakish marks and ball skills . . . .

Stocka
22 Apr 2003, 20:19
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Why do you think he didn't play in the Grand Final last year?

We may have been able to go without Bradshaw in last year's GF (on a wet day), but we would have struggled to win the 2001 GF without him.

Slax
22 Apr 2003, 20:33
Originally posted by Stocka

We may have been able to go without Bradshaw in last year's GF (on a wet day), but we would have struggled to win the 2001 GF without him.

Maybe true, but his form this season has been ordinary. The game against North where he had the whole forward line to himself with no Lynch or Brown was disgusting. I reckon a couple of weeks in the magoos will do him the world of good and make him hungry again. Brennan got his chance and has taken it so he has to stay.

Denno
23 Apr 2003, 00:03
No not really even though he is from Wodonga! He isn't getting younger and fails to produce the last 2 years when Lynch has been out. Why do you think he didn't play in the Grand Final last year?

Knee injury, if I remember correctly.

Beausgirl43
23 Apr 2003, 10:32
Why do you think he didn't play in the Grand Final last year? Why ask? You would know that answer if your a supporter of the club. Yes Teddy your right, it was a knee. He did it in the ressies semi final a couple of weeks before the Grand Final.
Funny really, he played most of the season in the seniors, polling very well in the best and fairest along the way, got injured towards the end of the year was out for a while, came back in the ressies (as you should) and then injured himself again.
He wasn't dropped from the penciled GF side, he was never available to play because of the injury. :confused:

cheers ... Kaz

Beausgirl43
23 Apr 2003, 11:14
Slax spoke earlier about Braddy having a run in the ressies, I believe Alastair could do the same. He hasn't been that great this year. I wish he would stop wrestling with his opponent in the goal area and lead for the ball. Maybe give him a run at CHF (a swap with Browny occasionally), he can still use his body strength to out muscle his opponent to take a grab, pass the ball off to someone in the goal area or if he's confident enough go for goal. I believe it would take some pressure off him knowing that he doesn't HAVE to take the grab and boot a goal everytime he gets his hands on the ball. Just a thought.
:confused:

cheers ... Kaz :)

OldLion
23 Apr 2003, 12:27
Originally posted by Beausgirl43
I wish he would stop wrestling with his opponent in the goal area and lead for the ball..

Tend to agree - this was so successful during the finals last year but if the opposition has a gorilla and an organised backline, it seems to rebound quickly. He does need a big game and maybe the Dogs, with a small backline, will be it. Bradshaw was very disappointing v North after looking sharp pre-season but full forwards are hard to find. I still think Leppa will end up there but meanwhile, that's why I'd like to see a ruckman offer another tall option to the wrestlemania that is now so predictable.

Beausgirl43
23 Apr 2003, 13:14
I'd like to see a ruckman offer another tall option to the wrestlemania that is now so predictable. Yep I'm for that option as well. They have been doing that on and off on occasions so far this year. The ruckman are having trouble making the grab stick though. Keep at it fellas. :)

cheers ... Kaz

TheBrownDog
29 Jun 2007, 03:19
Thought I'd bump this thread up in celebration of Jared's 50th.

Still the best debut I have ever seen from a player.

notting18
29 Jun 2007, 11:14
Thought I'd bump this thread up in celebration of Jared's 50th.

Still the best debut I have ever seen from a player.

I was at Walker's debut and i may be prejudiced by being there but i thought that was a better game (I did know Walker through mates at the time and thought he was.....well i was glad he wasn't my mate is probably the best way to say it) so i would think that bias would overide the bias of watching it live vs tv.

Let's hope that Brennan can emulate that game though!

It is also interesting to see how much we should try to "keep it in our pants" after watching a kid play just the one game - expectations can be dangerous

Grimreepah
29 Jun 2007, 12:40
A natural and can only get better

I thought the same thing at the time, ie. all he needed to do was add bulk and he was going to be a star. Well he's added bulk, but his debut still remains close to his best ever game.

I wonder what would have happened if he just had an average game on debut. Maybe he would have progressed a lot further if he didn't have such weight of expectation on his shoulders.

awesome_assassin
29 Jun 2007, 13:04
Nice thread bump...Brennan looked like he could be anything on debut.
Wish he was more accountable though. Over 3 years in the seniors i was optimistic he would be more consistent. Lets hope the rest of the year is some of his best.:thumbsu:

BigCat2
29 Jun 2007, 13:08
What if, Brennan becomes the most damaging player in the competition, but isn't accountable at all - would you want him in your side?

I'm tempted to say yes. I mean, you don't just not play Glenn McGrath because he can't bat. I know 22 blokes on a footy field is different, in that everybody (technically) has an opponent, but what if his attacking strength outweighed his defensive weakness?

TheBrownDog
29 Jun 2007, 13:12
What if, Brennan becomes the most damaging player in the competition, but isn't accountable at all - would you want him in your side?

I'm tempted to say yes. I mean, you don't just not play Glenn McGrath because he can't bat. I know 22 blokes on a footy field is different, in that everybody (technically) has an opponent, but what if his attacking strength outweighed his defensive weakness?

What do you mean not accountable at all...

Would that mean he'd never lay a tackle or shepherd etc?

BigCat2
29 Jun 2007, 13:39
What do you mean not accountable at all...

Would that mean he'd never lay a tackle or shepherd etc?

I was more thinking zoning off, being 30m away from his man etc.

Of course when an opponent is within reach I'd expect him to lay a tackle, and for him to help out teammates as well. But not playing like a glove.

lionbear
29 Jun 2007, 13:40
Was a great Debut. Most probably has had to carry the weight of expectation since. Think he has shown alot more stability this year and I think over the next 12 to 18 months will develop into a real floating Backline player that we will be able to get some top quality forward thrusts off.

Hopefully we can bump this thread up again in a couple of years to celebrate is 100th:thumbsu:

LuckyLuke
29 Jun 2007, 14:44
I thought the same thing at the time, ie. all he needed to do was add bulk and he was going to be a star. Well he's added bulk, but his debut still remains close to his best ever game.

I wonder what would have happened if he just had an average game on debut. Maybe he would have progressed a lot further if he didn't have such weight of expectation on his shoulders.

I would have aggreed to this before this year... but his first couple of games this season were better IMO. Hopefully he can string some more great games together by the end of the year.

You never know, by next year he may even string together half a season worth of great games. IMO he just needs to show improvement and as long as he's doing that, he's warranted his spot in the team.

Reminds me a bit of how Notting was during our golden years. He never stood out but was an important part of the team. He never had the expectations on his sholders so he wasn't really talked about being dropped after a bad game. Now he's putting solid games together and has been one of our best over the last 2-3 years.

Bag him if you like, but he's one of our aces for the future.

notting18
29 Jun 2007, 16:15
Reminds me a bit of how Notting was during our golden years.
You have just link my favourite and least favourite lion.....that puts me in an interesting position:confused:

I would say that you are downplaying the role that Notting played in the 01-04 run, besides his year that was ruined by injury he was a potent Wing/Half forward for us.

TheBrownDog
29 Jun 2007, 16:17
You have just link my favourite and least favourite lion.....that puts me in an interesting position:confused:

I would say that you are downplaying the role that Notting played in the 01-04 run, besides his year that was ruined by injury he was a potent Wing/Half forward for us.

Poss has always been one of my favorites as well (along with Nigel and Keating)... I loved watching Possum during our glory years.

Used to kill the opposition up the wings and belt those beautiful running goals from outside 50.

notting18
29 Jun 2007, 16:37
Used to kill the opposition up the wings and belt those beautiful running goals from outside 50.

Just never expect the guy to try and slot one from a set shot 15 metres out directly in front!

Dr Pea P.I
29 Jun 2007, 17:41
Round 1 2005 against the Saints; Brennan kicked 4 goals and took some great contested/pack marks. I believe that this game was his best so far. I think his debut stands out more so because it had been a long time since anybody had seen a player handle the ball in such a unorthodox and exciting way. I am not sure how many possessions he had that game but he certainly has played better games. Against the Hawks last year at Carrara he played very well kicking 4 or 5 (another that stands out).
He is still one of the most naturally talented players in the comp and i got a feeling he is going to display it tomorrow night, win or lose.

BigCat2
29 Jun 2007, 19:59
He is still one of the most naturally talented players in the comp and i got a feeling he is going to display it tomorrow night, win or lose.

I can see it now. Brisbane down by 4 points with 3 minutes to play, Jared Brennan gets the ball on the wing, runs, steps around 2 opponents and slots one from 45m out on the boundary. A minute later, he applies a goal-saving tackle on a rampant Danyle Pearce. Brisbane hold on to win by 2 points.

Headline in next day's newspaper: "Jared Brennan comes of age"

king and i
29 Jun 2007, 21:15
I can see it now. Brisbane down by 4 points with 3 minutes to play, Jared Brennan gets the ball on the wing, runs, steps around 2 opponents and slots one from 45m out on the boundary. A minute later, he applies a goal-saving tackle on a rampant Danyle Pearce. Brisbane hold on to win by 2 points.

Headline in next day's newspaper: "Jared Brennan comes of age"

Goes on to play 320 games at CHB, never playing a bad game ever, ever again. Fairytale ending.:D

don vito of fitzroy
30 Jun 2007, 00:43
I want to see Brennan do something like this:

bBNDlQvPYxw

The closest thing I've seen would be Brad Johnson's goal against us in 2005 at the Gabba.

Drummond
30 Jun 2007, 21:04
Jared Brennan- Worst player in the AFL.

notting18
30 Jun 2007, 21:21

Not quite he has the worst footy brain of any player....he has the attacking skills to match any player. Just a very very very bad player!

Herbs
30 Jun 2007, 21:25

How about that hack Jericho?;)

black_hart
1 Jul 2007, 11:37

Far from it,the guy has oodles of natural talent anyone can see that. He just hasn't yet harnessed that talent on a consistent basis.

konstas_87
1 Jul 2007, 12:17
that had to be the worst milestone game ever... he was directly responsible for about a quarter or their total score!

don vito of fitzroy
1 Jul 2007, 20:54
Matthews made the right move to put Brennan in the forward line in the second half. He kicked two goals and if he managed to score something after the first goal instead of missing the lot, the result may have favoured us more.

Malibu#27
1 Jul 2007, 21:47

I'd take him in a heartbeat.

Drummond
1 Jul 2007, 21:49
I'd take him in a heartbeat.
Why? Yes, yes we know all about his potential and that he’s an X-factor but he’s far too lacksidasical and as a defender he zones off too often. Bad habits are hard to break and he’s got a fair few.

Malibu#27
1 Jul 2007, 21:53
Why? Yes, yes we know all about his potential and that he’s an X-factor but he’s far too lacksidasical and as a defender he zones off too often. Bad habits are hard to break and he’s got a fair few.

Why ... the X factor is a component yes .... I like having match winners in my side. As for him zoning off as a defender - think Chad Cornes etc.... perhaps the answer is to not play him in defense.

TheBrownDog
1 Jul 2007, 22:13
Why ... the X factor is a component yes .... I like having match winners in my side.

My definition of a match winner is someone who at their worst is a good player, and at their best, can tear a game apart.

Jared is far more extreme, sure he can tear a game apart, but he can also cost his team a match just as easily.

king and i
2 Jul 2007, 03:22
Would like to see him play in the goal square. He may be able to harness some of that x-factor on a more frequent basis, and as previously mentioned, the unaccountability wouldn't be such a concern. It would be an interesting experiment.

Tim the Toolman
2 Jul 2007, 10:25
Jared Brennan = The Fev (a coach's nightmare!)

blinker
2 Jul 2007, 12:13
Headline in next day's newspaper: "Jared Brennan comes of age"[/quote]

IMO he had a very good game against port. he worked hard in defense, yes, heart in mouth stuff at times; but provided a target up forward near the end of the game. Not many players are able to do that and he seems to be growing into the role. :thumbsu:

blinker
2 Jul 2007, 12:16
Matthews made the right move to put Brennan in the forward line in the second half. He kicked two goals and if he managed to score something after the first goal instead of missing the lot, the result may have favoured us more.

my question when brennan missed the lot was why were there no lions players near the goal in case he scrubed the kick. that is under 10's stuff and brennan cannot be blamed for such stupid forward play.

notting18
2 Jul 2007, 16:19
IMO he had a very good game against port. he worked hard in defense, yes, heart in mouth stuff at times; but provided a target up forward near the end of the game. Not many players are able to do that and he seems to be growing into the role. :thumbsu:
IMO he an average game. He didn't work hard in defence at all, and was clearly beaten. He kicked two goals, yes but even when he was up forward he wasn't tearing the game apart. One of the goals was a gift thanks to a someone stupid/accidental elbow.

I also saw 3 people who have played less than 5 games on the weekend provide a target up forward in Reid, Gray and Westhoff....all three had better games than 50 gamer Brennan!

don vito of fitzroy
2 Jul 2007, 23:23
my question when brennan missed the lot was why were there no lions players near the goal in case he scrubed the kick. that is under 10's stuff and brennan cannot be blamed for such stupid forward play.Matthews has had trouble for long time structuring his forward line. True, Brown is our main target but it has taken Matthews a very long time to put some more players into our forward 50. Not only that, I feel that Lethal is starting to run out of ideas and may need a change in atmosphere.

acuguy
2 Jul 2007, 23:43
Okay, i have toyed with Brennan at chb or up the field, but i should never of moved from my original theory. Brennan is a 50metre arc player and pretty much everytime he gets the ball he should be shooting at goal or giving it off to someone else. Brennan showed on Saturday night that this is his spot. So let's stop jerking him around and play him there. Give him the rest of the year. Third tall Brennan.

TheBrownDog
2 Jul 2007, 23:46
Okay, i have toyed with Brennan at chb or up the field, but i should never of moved from my original theory. Brennan is a 50metre arc player and pretty much everytime he gets the ball he should be shooting at goal or giving it off to someone else. Brennan showed on Saturday night that this is his spot. So let's stop jerking him around and play him there. Give him the rest of the year. Third tall Brennan.

Yup. Put him there and keep him there.

acuguy
4 Jul 2007, 23:30
Massive game for him, if he steps up against a tough team well he is showing his worth, really positive Lethal will make a judgement on him for next season based alot on this game. I know i would.

Quigley
4 Jul 2007, 23:49
Matthews has had trouble for long time structuring his forward line. True, Brown is our main target but it has taken Matthews a very long time to put some more players into our forward 50. Not only that, I feel that Lethal is starting to run out of ideas and may need a change in atmosphere.
I think one of the problems is that most of our mids do not have great vision and tend to only kick to the main forward. Last year it was Bradshaw this year Brown. The likes of Merrett and Pask were never given a chance really up front because no one would kick it to them even if they were open or at least one out.

If anything its worse this year. Brown has had three on him most of the year but they still ignore everyone else and kick it to him notwithstanding that others are more open.

One of the most positive things coming out of the last quarter of the Port game was how much everyone looked for the other forward options. The ball was spread around forcing Port to pick up these guys and hence freeing up Brown for a couple of late goals. I hope they continue to do this for the rest of the year.

Thommo 42
5 Jul 2007, 00:07
Great talent, I was there the night he bombe one from outside 50 on the run with his left foot after a one hand gather. Copped an absolute earful from the brian fans sitting around me. Can remember thinking 'who the hell is that bloke?'

I reckon he still has some trade value, Voss said on TV earlier in the year he is playing for his spot on the list and at this point I'd guess he is gone.

Should be interesting to see what you get for him, and how well he goes at a new club. Perhaps the belief that he is on his last chance will make him put his head down. Both Carlton and the Dogs could benefit from taking a risk with him in the backline.

acuguy
5 Jul 2007, 00:28
I think one of the problems is that most of our mids do not have great vision and tend to only kick to the main forward. Last year it was Bradshaw this year Brown. The likes of Merrett and Pask were never given a chance really up front because no one would kick it to them even if they were open or at least one out.

If anything its worse this year. Brown has had three on him most of the year but they still ignore everyone else and kick it to him notwithstanding that others are more open.

One of the most positive things coming out of the last quarter of the Port game was how much everyone looked for the other forward options. The ball was spread around forcing Port to pick up these guys and hence freeing up Brown for a couple of late goals. I hope they continue to do this for the rest of the year.

The ball was kicked to Merrett plenty of times, old cement hands couldn't hold them, no disrespect to Merrett, he is a completely different player down back and to be honest he may one day become a forward again, but i doubt he will get the opportunity. When you bring the ball forward you always kick to people who demand the ball, at the moment Brown is basically the only one who demands the ball when Clark and Johnson aren't playing, hence why the ball is often kicked to him

don vito of fitzroy
5 Jul 2007, 01:14

One of the most positive things coming out of the last quarter of the Port game was how much everyone looked for the other forward options. The ball was spread around forcing Port to pick up these guys and hence freeing up Brown for a couple of late goals. I hope they continue to do this for the rest of the year.I agree with most of it but acuguy made a good point about Merrett. Having said that, our midfielders should persist in looking for guys like Proud, Patful and McGrath.

acuguy
5 Jul 2007, 01:17
I agree with most of it but acuguy made a good point about Merrett. Having said that, our midfielders should persist in looking for guys like Proud, Patful and McGrath.

regardless of the standard of football you will always kick the ball to the guy who leads and demands the ball. If you have 2 or 3 of these guys on a forward line you are a going to do well, ifyou only have 1 like us at the moment than that bloke is going to get plenty of work.

BigCat2
5 Jul 2007, 01:28
regardless of the standard of football you will always kick the ball to the guy who leads and demands the ball. If you have 2 or 3 of these guys on a forward line you are a going to do well, ifyou only have 1 like us at the moment than that bloke is going to get plenty of work.

The other games this year where our forward line has functioned quite well and Browny's been able to play well were St Kilda and Carlton. Basically lots of forward targets and midfielders delivering to different options. Allowed Browny to kick 5 & 3 goals respectively, when the likes of Sherman, CJ and Patful bobbed up with a few goals to keep opposition defenders honest.

Warwick
5 Jul 2007, 01:37
Should be interesting to see what you get for him, and how well he goes at a new club. Perhaps the belief that he is on his last chance will make him put his head down. Both Carlton and the Dogs could benefit from taking a risk with him in the backline.
Whoah...

Hang on.. Before we start speculating how well he will go at another club, let's see if Matthews has any intention to trade him.

TheBrownDog
5 Jul 2007, 01:40
I'm starting to think that Jared is a Rugby League star playing the wrong sport.

Could you imagine him playing on a wing in League. He'd be a star.

Maybe we can trade him to the Melbourne Storm for Greg Inglis.

Warwick
5 Jul 2007, 01:46
I'm starting to think that Jared is a Rugby League star playing the wrong sport.

Could you imagine him playing on a wing in League. He'd be a star.

Maybe we can trade him to the Melbourne Storm for Greg Inglis.
I like your thinking.

A forward line of:

Inglis Clark Sherman
McGrath Brown Bowen

would be nigh unstoppable.

thefamilyguy
5 Jul 2007, 18:25
one of my favourite players,

the eagles will have him.

Trade you rowan jones :cool:

Seriously though, do you think brennan might get traded at years end?

notting18
5 Jul 2007, 18:33

He is the one of the most likely players to be traded - Big Beau, Moody and Brennan i put in that category as they would be traded or kept on the list. Most other names if traded would have be delisted if a trade is not possible.

Blue and Gold Blood
5 Jul 2007, 20:07

dude, as if.

Id take Rowan Jones over Brennan every day of the week. About the only thing Brennan does well is hold the ball in one hand. Whoopee. There is a reason why Brennans name is getting thrown up as a likely trade.....

Warwick
5 Jul 2007, 21:06
dude, as if.

Id take Rowan Jones over Brennan every day of the week. About the only thing Brennan does well is hold the ball in one hand. Whoopee. There is a reason why Brennans name is getting thrown up as a likely trade.....
I bet you have seen him play 4 or 5 times at most.

notting18
5 Jul 2007, 23:34
There is a reason why Brennans name is getting thrown up as a likely trade.....

Inconsistancy! You are a true idiot if you don't think Brennan could play great football!

Thommo 42
6 Jul 2007, 00:10
Whoah...

Hang on.. Before we start speculating how well he will go at another club, let's see if Matthews has any intention to trade him.

Voss said when on record that Brennan had been told at the end of last year he would be playing for his spot. Do you feel he has done enough?

For the record, I'd trade bait him at a bare minimum, if there are no decent bites there's no way you'd let that kind of talent go, and you'd have to keep him. If you get a second round pick or something similar, it would be a good result though.

Grimreepah
6 Jul 2007, 00:25
Voss said when on record that Brennan had been told at the end of last year he would be playing for his spot. Do you feel he has done enough?

If you are talking about Voss' comments during the Bulldogs game, that was just Voss' opinion. He was not saying that Brennan had been told anything, and he was not saying this was what Leigh or anyone else was thinking.

Thommo 42
6 Jul 2007, 21:57
no I'm talking about the comments he made when someone quizzed him on what he said during the bulldogs game.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
6 Jul 2007, 22:52
Brennan has been far from our worst, sure he sometimes does a silly thing or 2but far from our worse

TheBrownDog
7 Jul 2007, 00:01
Brennan has been far from our worst, sure he sometimes does a silly thing or 2but far from our worse

He's not our worst, but is there anyone worse who is getting named consistently every week?

Bobby Beecroft
7 Jul 2007, 09:40
He's not our worst, but is there anyone worse who is getting named consistently every week?

Happy with these 2007 stats?

Games Kicks Handballs Disposals Marks Goals Behinds Tackles Hitouts
Total 13 73 46 119 43 12 7 31 0
Average 13 5.6 3.5 9.2 3.3 0.9 0.5 2.4 0

'Average' disposals 9.2, tackles 2.4........etc
Would these figures constitute a consistent performer?
Managed to play 13 games!!

Kochie 16
7 Jul 2007, 11:18
Well it was Sherman, now since he's been droped this week i'd have to say stiller. But this just balls down to consitancy rather than skill.

danielcanberra
7 Jul 2007, 12:26
Well it was Sherman, now since he's been dropped this week i'd have to say stiller. But this just balls down to consistency rather than skill.

Oi, watch it!

campbell
7 Jul 2007, 12:31
Well it was Sherman, now since he's been droped this week i'd have to say stiller. But this just balls down to consitancy rather than skill.

Amazed Sherman was dropped, he has been playing poorly all season, and been given more than one chance.You can't say he has been picked on form this season, worse luck.

Stiller is a mystery.Who knows why he is picked, lets hope its not on speed alone.

I would have loved to have seen Wood as the 2nd ruck with Leuy as the FF option.

Grimreepah
7 Jul 2007, 13:15
Oi, watch it!

You didn't have a problem with 'balls down to'?:p

The Flying Belgian
7 Jul 2007, 14:15
Happy with these 2007 stats?

Games Kicks Handballs Disposals Marks Goals Behinds Tackles Hitouts
Total 13 73 46 119 43 12 7 31 0
Average 13 5.6 3.5 9.2 3.3 0.9 0.5 2.4 0

'Average' disposals 9.2, tackles 2.4........etc
Would these figures constitute a consistent performer?
Managed to play 13 games!!

Where'd you get those stats BB? Cos he ain't played all games this year. remember he was dropped for onw game. Also, I get 14.2 disp/game. And when you compare his stats against our other backmen he stacks up ok (http://www.finalsiren.com/PlayerCompare.asp?SeasonID=2007&Compare=Go&PlayerName1=jared+brennan&PlayerName2=Daniel+merrett&PlayerName3=jason+roe&PlayerName4=joel+patfull&SelectedPlayers=). But as we all know stats don't tell the whole story and he does give his opponent too much space (which is why I say play him forward and leave him there). But it's funny how we give Merrett more slack. Becuase we know Brennan is capable of more? Is that why people get on his back so much? People almost seem to posess real glee when they can bag him out. I suppose the unconventional have always been a target.

danielcanberra
7 Jul 2007, 15:01
You didn't have a problem with 'balls down to'?:p

I was 'oi-ing' Kochie for having another dig at Sherman.

Now that you mention it, I thought it was a pun, which might have been clever. But then again...

Roughie
7 Jul 2007, 15:47
Expect Brennan to be seriously shopped around at Trade time, and Essendon to show alot of interest.

Bobby Beecroft
7 Jul 2007, 20:47
Where'd you get those stats BB?

TFB I didn't say it was him.......... that was my point.:eek:

TBD asked if there was anyone worse who is getting a game consistently.
My reply was to post somone's stats for 2007, & thats just that start.

My question again is are these stats worthy of 13 'consistent' games?

Bobby Beecroft
7 Jul 2007, 20:49
People almost seem to posess real glee when they can bag him out. I suppose the unconventional have always been a target.

That & because he was a high draft pick!!!

Sherminator.
7 Jul 2007, 21:43
Should've converted late in 2nd quarter (1.2) :rolleyes:

acuguy
7 Jul 2007, 22:01
I like him deep forward because if we get the ball into our 50 often he will pop up for at least 1-2 chances a quarter, may not do alot else, Brennan has the ability to generate kicks for goals. He must kick them though.

The Flying Belgian
7 Jul 2007, 22:03
TFB I didn't say it was him.......... that was my point.:eek:

TBD asked if there was anyone worse who is getting a game consistently.
My reply was to post somone's stats for 2007, & thats just that start.

My question again is are these stats worthy of 13 'consistent' games?

My apologies. I wasn't staying up with the pace of the thread! :o

Bobby Beecroft
7 Jul 2007, 22:23
My apologies. I wasn't staying up with the pace of the thread! :o

That's fine
BTW who is playing on Le Cras tonight?

acuguy
7 Jul 2007, 22:31
Brennan has just shown us this quarter why we must not let him go!