View Full Version : Gayle is a woeful Captain.
King Elvis
29 Nov 2009, 20:25
Selfish, arrogant and appears disinterested.
Shouldn't be the Captain of that side.
Selective Retention
29 Nov 2009, 20:51
I did like the swipe he took at using technology saying that mistakes are still made after he was still given out on both of his challenges, they were plumb......
He's about the only one left who hasn't had a go! :p
I did like the swipe he took at using technology saying that mistakes are still made after he was still given out on both of his challenges, they were plumb......
Is he for real.
Their is a problem though. Chris Gayle till now has never looked like he had a care in the world, super cool, played his shots and while hit hard a slogger he was not.
But now he looks down, pissed off and like the weight of the world is on his shoulders and he's going through the motions out in the middle.
He's not happy and he's letting it show and its effecting the team. Sarwan must take the job on.
King Elvis
29 Nov 2009, 21:17
Was unbelievable wasn't it?
Using his own stuff-ups as an example of a flawed system, when he was about as plumb as you'll ever see.
The Best Player isn't always the Best Captain, and he's a good example of this.
The way he came out and batted in the first innings was absolutely ridiculous.
He's not happy and he's letting it show and its effecting the team. Sarwan must take the job on.
What was the reason he resigned? Did he just not want the job anymore?
It is a pretty sorry state when your best three players in Chanders, Sarwan and Gayle don't want the job. Either get Ganga in there or give it to Ramdin IMO.
swans16
29 Nov 2009, 22:21
does he and Clarke have some Symonds-Singh goin on?
King Elvis
29 Nov 2009, 23:58
does he and Clarke have some Symonds-Singh goin on?
http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,20611276-5003413,00.html
Cotchin 9
30 Nov 2009, 00:01
I love him, but he is just too casual sometimes.
bombersno1
30 Nov 2009, 00:56
Sarwan seems a natural leader. Give him the captaincy and have Ramdin be the vice captain.
Adelaide Hawk
30 Nov 2009, 03:45
What chance has a young team got when their captain says he doesn't care if Test cricket died? Gayle is a drop kick of the highest order and, as the OP says, a very selfish cricketer.
During the tests in England last year he pretty much said test cricket is a waste of time. If thats his attitude how can you expect him to the get the best out of his team.
Ramdin should take over asap.
King Elvis
30 Nov 2009, 09:35
What chance has a young team got when their captain says he doesn't care if Test cricket died? Gayle is a drop kick of the highest order and, as the OP says, a very selfish cricketer.
Exactly.
Only cares about the money and the fame/celebrity that comes with Cricket, doesn't actually seem to give a shit about the game itself or his team.
Contrast that with the 19 year old kid who just made a ton - who said that T20 and ODIs were fun, but all he'd cared about since he was an 11 year old was playing in the West Indies Maroon Baggy Cap, and no other form of Cricket was comparable to him.
Also makes you appreciate how incredibly luck we've been with our Captains; we've had AB, Taylor, Waugh and Punter, that's four Captains since about 1983 - pretty amazing.
Plugger35
30 Nov 2009, 12:33
This article from Gayle himself would seem to contradict peoples opinions that he is disinterested and doesn't care about his team's performance or the captaincy.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,26418533-23212,00.html
When you have a bad loss like this, it's to be expected that a lot of people are going to speculate over my captaincy. Some say I'm not the right person for the job.
I've got a message for those people - I'm not going anywhere.
I have been chosen as captain and it's a job I will continue to do to the best of my ability.
My heart is in it and I feel really strongly that I am the right man to lead the West Indies through this challenging period.
Whilst it sounds like Gayle is keen to keep the captaincy, I'm not convinced he is the right man for the job either, especially for test cricket. Despite what he says in his article, he just seems too casual and laid back to be a good captain, which for a young, inexperienced team probably sends out the wrong message.
Unfortunately I don't think they have too many other options at the moment though. Their only other captaincy candidates would be Sarwan, Chanderpaul or Ramdin. Both Sarwan & Chanderpaul have already been captain so are unlikely to be re-appointed and most teams are reluctant to make a wicketkeeper captain which probably rules out Ramdin.
Ramdin has been groomed for a while, but he's still very young and they might not think he's ready to carry three jobs just yet.
King Elvis
30 Nov 2009, 15:57
This article from Gayle himself would seem to contradict peoples opinions that he is disinterested and doesn't care about his team's performance or the captaincy.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,26418533-23212,00.html
I tried to find the YouTube of the BeeGees singings 'Words,' but I couldn't.
That's meaningless fluff from Gayle - the words don't mean much when he comes out in the first innings of a Series and throws his wicket away.
Plugger35
30 Nov 2009, 19:58
I tried to find the YouTube of the BeeGees singings 'Words,' but I couldn't.
That's meaningless fluff from Gayle - the words don't mean much when he comes out in the first innings of a Series and throws his wicket away.
Yeah it's easy to talk the talk but Gayle really needs to start walking the walk and let his actions do the talking.
It's maybe a bit harsh to judge him on that one test though. He had a pretty poor preparation, only flying in the day before and he was probably jet lagged after a long flight. He could have easily missed that match given the circumstances but chose to rush back to play.
I think people should wait and see how Gayle and his team go in Adelaide before hanging the bloke. Hilfenhaus not playing should help him, along with a flatter Adelaide wicket. However, if they turn out another piss poor performance like the one in Brisbane then questions would need to be asked.
legend166
30 Nov 2009, 20:51
I think the whole 'I wouldn't mind if Test cricket died' thing is an act. Emotions don't lie, and anyone who watched the West Indies beat England this year saw how Gayle reacted. He certainly didn't look like a man who didn't care about Test cricket.
It's a front he puts up because deep down it kills him that his team is rubbish, and he doesn't want to let anyone know that he feels it.
I just sounded like Dr. Phil, didn't I?
I don't think he throws away his wicket, either. He's just not a very good batsman.
Plugger35
30 Nov 2009, 21:36
I think the whole 'I wouldn't mind if Test cricket died' thing is an act. Emotions don't lie, and anyone who watched the West Indies beat England this year saw how Gayle reacted. He certainly didn't look like a man who didn't care about Test cricket.
It's a front he puts up because deep down it kills him that his team is rubbish, and he doesn't want to let anyone know that he feels it.
I just sounded like Dr. Phil, didn't I?
I don't think he throws away his wicket, either. He's just not a very good batsman.
Well Gayle's not a very good test batsman as he doesn't have the technique to cope when the ball swings or the pitch provides excessive seam movement. He's a great ODI & T20 batsman though on flat pitches where the ball doesn't move around as much. I don't think I've seen too many better hitters in the game than Gayle.
Like I said before, the Adelaide pitch should suit him better as it's usually flatter with less movement and the short square boundaries should be right up his alley too. I'd love to see him make a big score, not just to make the WI more competitive, but because there aren't many batsmen better to watch when he gets going.
An innings like this would be nice.
aalt3hwQgt4
Ill Chicken
1 Dec 2009, 00:25
What everyone is forgetting here is that why would Gayle care about test cricket? Indeed why would the WI's players care about test cricket? Where was the support from Australia saying they would reject any tour from the WI that wasn't their full strength squad and that they would need to resolve their dispute with the players to give them time to prepare for the series so that it isn't a complete farce.
There was complete inaction from the ICC, Australia and the WI board when it came to resolving any issue and Cricket Australia would still have accepted playing their second string side, why? Money? Yet when it comes to WI's players thinking about their future, they're on their own.
The WI's have been fighting with their board for extended period now and it is a disgrace to the game. You'd lose heart too if you were in that position and prefer to play a format that suits your game rather than fighting with a losing battle against a board that uses you up, especially when every time they look like they've turned a corner some crap gets lobbed in and they're back where they started.
Adelaide Hawk
3 Dec 2009, 05:54
I think the whole 'I wouldn't mind if Test cricket died' thing is an act.
Maybe, but people are judged by their words and their actions. If he doesn't want people thinking he's a tosser, then he shouldn't act like one.
Did you conisder the possibility he simply doesn't support the use of video review? Think it is a bit unfair to immediately jump to the conclusion you have.
Gayle is not the greatest skipper, but can't see any of the other Windies players doing a better job. Would be a tough gig for Ramdin. Let's face it, the Windies just don't have the infrastructure, board competence or money to support the game at the highest level (I'm talking tests:D). A smallish population to draw from doesn't help. It is highly unlikely another crop of world class cricketers will emerge without these ingredients - 70s/80s won't happen again by chance. Not sure what beating down the current skipper achieves.
While I initially was scathing on the West Indies use of the referral system I think in hindsight the idea was good in theory. If you had to play the percentages with that system it would be for your best two batsmen (Gayle & Chanderpaul) on decisions that umpires are more prone to getting wrong (LBWs).
So I don't think using that as an example of Gayle's selfishness is probably fair enough...
Bourky23
3 Dec 2009, 17:05
He's the captain because he is the most influential player in that side on the field and i'd say in the changerooms too.
basically as mentioned above, there isn't really anyone else who can do the job at the moment.
Thing is though, he is their barometer.. if he comes out and smacks 200 in the first dig at Adelaide, the confidence of that group will be sky high and I reckon they'd be every chance of going on to win the match... nobody else in that side could have that effect on the team.
Who is this Ganga guy who keeps getting talked up as the next captain? And why isn't he even in the side right now?
Ill Chicken
3 Dec 2009, 22:05
Who is this Ganga guy who keeps getting talked up as the next captain? And why isn't he even in the side right now?
Darren Ganga. Has already played a few tests early 2000's. Didn't really cut it, they're talking him up because of T&T's performance in the Champion's League T20 matches.
Make that 48 tests at an average of 25.
What a bullshit thread.
Gayle isnt a woeful captain, he's leading a young side on another continent.
He's come from slow wickets in Trinidad, as has most of the squad, havent adjusted quickly enough to the conditions and were pumped by a side with more resources behind it, more experience and on it's home soil.
I actually thought Gayle was quite good in the field with his placements, lured Clarke into a false stroke, which isnt hard and kept swapping things around which is all you can really do with a military medium attack.
King Elvis
4 Dec 2009, 10:09
What a bullshit thread.
Gayle isnt a woeful captain, he's leading a young side on another continent.
He's come from slow wickets in Trinidad, as has most of the squad, havent adjusted quickly enough to the conditions and were pumped by a side with more resources behind it, more experience and on it's home soil.
I actually thought Gayle was quite good in the field with his placements, lured Clarke into a false stroke, which isnt hard and kept swapping things around which is all you can really do with a military medium attack.
You're comfortable with the example he sets?
Wearing (fake?) diamond encrusted sunglasses and looking like a rockstar when he arrives.
Throwing his bat at absolutely everything in the first innings, when they were chasing a big total, and needed somebody to set the tone and bat with patience and determination.
The Reaper
4 Dec 2009, 10:38
he can't bat
It's a real pity because he looks like a decent captain
larrikin
4 Dec 2009, 10:44
he can't bat
It's a real pity because he looks like a decent captain
Wouldn't have mattered if he was English
Darren Ganga. Has already played a few tests early 2000's. Didn't really cut it, they're talking him up because of T&T's performance in the Champion's League T20 matches.
Make that 48 tests at an average of 25.
Not really, he gets talked up as a prospect for captaincy every time the Windies are looking for a new one.
Had a good year last year, but you'd think test cricket has passed him by if Barath can keep his spot for the next couple of years.
Plugger35
4 Dec 2009, 11:21
Another typical Gayle innings today. Started like a train smashing Bollinger all over the park, including a massive straight six down the ground, then get's himself out with a lazy shot. He'd have to be one of the most frustrating batsman going around.
Adelaide Hawk
4 Dec 2009, 11:43
I heard this morning that at a press conference, Gayle was asked how he rated Bollinger, and Gayle said he didn't know who he was.
If he was fair dinkum, it's incredible a Test batsmen, let alone a captain, wouldn't know all about an opposition player. If he was putting it on, it was a stupid and arrogant thing to say.
People wonder why the West Indies struggle. Look no further than the idiot in charge.
Adelaide Hawk
4 Dec 2009, 11:46
Another typical Gayle innings today. Started like a train smashing Bollinger all over the park, including a massive straight six down the ground, then get's himself out with a lazy shot. He'd have to be one of the most frustrating batsman going around.
What were you expecting, discipline? The only way he knows how to play is close the eyes and swing.
King Elvis
4 Dec 2009, 12:42
I heard this morning that at a press conference, Gayle was asked how he rated Bollinger, and Gayle said he didn't know who he was.
If he was fair dinkum, it's incredible a Test batsmen, let alone a captain, wouldn't know all about an opposition player. If he was putting it on, it was a stupid and arrogant thing to say.
People wonder why the West Indies struggle. Look no further than the idiot in charge.
I hope Bollinger gave him a massive send-off in response to that, "Now you know who I am, ********."
Maybe if he'd bothered to find out who he was, he wouldn't have gotten out to him. I know the Windies have a nonchalance which can make them appear arrogant when they aren't, but Gayle really seems to be. When they asked him the other week how they'd cover Sarwan, he replied, "We need two Chris Gayles... maybe I can bat twice." Seriously, what a stupid comment - especially when Chanderpaul is better than him.
Again, he comes out in the first innings, on a great batting wicket, and he throws his wicket away trying to score at a run a ball. He should be batting 5 and nowhere near a leadership position.
Chopper23
7 Dec 2009, 12:14
Selfish, arrogant and appears disinterested.
Shouldn't be the Captain of that side.
Dont you look silly after writing someone off after one test match, away from home soil with an average attack.
Gayle has batted well this 2nd dig and has out captained Ponting thus far.
Dumb thread.
King Elvis
7 Dec 2009, 12:23
Dont you look silly after writing someone off after one test match, away from home soil with an average attack.
Gayle has batted well this 2nd dig and has out captained Ponting thus far.
Dumb thread.
So he's done exactly what I've bagged him for 3 out of 4 innings, and now he's finally digging it and batting properly (which is what I've said he should be doing), and I'm meant to look silly?
He should've been batting like this the 3 innings prior; not an impatient, selfish Twenty20 player.
Chopper23
7 Dec 2009, 12:28
So he's done exactly what I've bagged him for 3 out of 4 innings, and now he's finally digging it and batting properly (which is what I've said he should be doing), and I'm meant to look silly?
He should've been batting like this the 3 innings prior; not an impatient, selfish Twenty20 player.
God you're a dick.
If you dont perform straight up on foreign soil you're a woeful, disinterested player.
Ridiculous.
King Elvis
7 Dec 2009, 12:42
God you're a dick.
If you dont perform straight up on foreign soil you're a woeful, disinterested player.
Ridiculous.
It wasn't that he didn't perform - it's the manner in which he went about it, he did appear disinterested, he didn't look like he could be bothered digging in and constructing an innings, preferring to try and smash a run a ball. 75% of the innings he has played since he arrived here have been rubbish; 25% has been good.
Do you consider his first 3 innings in the Series to be good ones?
Cousin Jed
7 Dec 2009, 12:49
Leave out the petty insults, champs
Cotchin 9
7 Dec 2009, 13:26
Up your's Kingy love Gayle :heart:
King Elvis
7 Dec 2009, 13:32
Up your's Kingy love Gayle :heart:
Proves my point though - he's got the talent and the ability, it's just a matter of mental application.
Gayle in full flight is beautiful to watch; when he's playing ODIs or T20, this is a hell of a lot better, and I'm glad to see him performing.
Plugger35
7 Dec 2009, 13:33
This thread has backfired a bit now. :D
Great to see Gayle answer his critics with a disciplined test match style hundred. He's shown how much test cricket and the West Indies meant to him today. A real captain's knock if ever there was one.
Proves my point though - he's got the talent and the ability, it's just a matter of mental application.
Gayle in full flight is beautiful to watch; when he's playing ODIs or T20, this is a hell of a lot better, and I'm glad to see him performing.
Gotta keep in mind mate he is trying to captain a side that is a rabble on and off the field,to go along with his own personal issues off the field i think he has done the job as best he can.
Cotchin 9
7 Dec 2009, 13:49
Yes, good point :thumbsu:.
I won't say anything about his batting, cause I haven't seen anything today yet, but his captaincy yestreday was very good I thought.
aaronm46
7 Dec 2009, 17:21
Lol, this Chris Gayle guy just pwned the thread starter
Bourky23
7 Dec 2009, 18:52
What were you expecting, discipline? The only way he knows how to play is close the eyes and swing.
well someone looks silly now don't they :p
davey_magik
7 Dec 2009, 20:22
Can we make one of these threads about Bollinger?
He is not up to Test standard.
Ill Chicken
8 Dec 2009, 00:47
Can we make one of these threads about Bollinger?
He is not up to Test standard.
I don't know if you're being serious or not, considering he has been the best quick in this test so far.
r dub 19
8 Dec 2009, 02:46
A joke of a thread, at least Gayle is respected unlike ponting. I'd rather watch him bat with one arm then the likes of katich and watson. Bring back Krejza so he can get smashed for 500 runs again. Australia is the most boring team to watch. Can you blame gayle for not knowing bollinger? An overweight guy with a weird name.
Boring Australian team
Watson- nathan buckley hamstrings, plays best in the IPL. Can't even make a hundred.
Katich- the most boring player in the world besides dravid, wtf is that little shuffle he does?
Ponting- not half the player he used to be, needs to stick to making swisse vitamin ads and arguing with players/umpires.
Clarke- provides mild entertainment, would do his missus.
Hussey- looks like a possum plays like one also.
North- Don't mind him, handy player.
Haddin- the worst australian test keeper of all time, poor mans darren berry.
Johnson- bowls like 200 overs and blames his shit performances on his mum. Would do his missus.
Hauritz- Krejza markII , funny to watch this hack.
Bollinger- who is he? Cosgrove jnr? If your fat you have to be a good player (see shane warne).
Siddel- thinks he is tough , wana be judd facial hair.
A joke of a thread, at least Gayle is respected unlike ponting. I'd rather watch him bat with one arm then the likes of katich and watson. Bring back Krejza so he can get smashed for 500 runs again. Australia is the most boring team to watch. Can you blame gayle for not knowing bollinger? An overweight guy with a weird name.
Boring Australian team
Watson- nathan buckley hamstrings, plays best in the IPL. Can't even make a hundred.
Katich- the most boring player in the world besides dravid, wtf is that little shuffle he does?
Ponting- not half the player he used to be, needs to stick to making swisse vitamin ads and arguing with players/umpires.
Johnson- bowls like 200 overs and blames his shit performances on his mum. Would do his missus.
Bollinger- who is he? Cosgrove jnr? If your fat you have to be a good player (see shane warne).
Then go watch Pakistan play.
Surely if the Australian team was so boring, you wouldn't know any of that?
King Elvis
8 Dec 2009, 08:18
I laughed.
Great knock by Gayle, good to see.
r dub 19
8 Dec 2009, 10:21
Surely if the Australian team was so boring, you wouldn't know any of that?
I enjoy watching their opponents play so therefor I have to put with the Australian snooze fest.
MinerBoy
8 Dec 2009, 10:53
at least Gayle is respected unlike ponting..
Quoted for stupidity.
Massively lolworthy.
Just shows what Gayle is capable of when he puts his head down and works.
Seriously talented bloke, and very dangerous whenever he decides to give a shit.
LOLZA at the Ponting not being respected troll jibe... :thumbsu:
Bourky23
8 Dec 2009, 11:08
Boring Australian team
haha:D:thumbsu:
Using his own stuff-ups as an example of a flawed system, when he was about as plumb as you'll ever see.
Yes he was definitely plumb, but this sort of feeling amongst sportsmen and women is not uncommon. Take Roger Federer for instance, whose attitude and commitment is never questioned:
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/tennis/federer-attacks-hawk-eye/story-e6frfgao-1111112849297
ROGER Federer has turned the heat up again at Melbourne Park, slamming the Hawk-Eye line-calling system. "I think it's nonsense anyway in the first place," the Swiss master said.
"Now they (umpires) can hide even more behind these calls, that's for sure.
"It makes it really hard for us.
Federer's scorn for the technology surfaced in a 6-2 6-3 6-2 mauling of Jonas Bjorkman, when the Swedish veteran successfully challenged a service call.
When Federer lost the point on a replay, he sneered: "Yeah, right."
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/tennis/federer-attacks-hawk-eye/story-e6frfgao-1111112849297
Amelie Mauresmo had a similar experience on a wrong video decision which is referred to in the same article. Federer has made his feeling on the technology known on several occasions since, he just doesn't trust it. He uses the technology as often as anyone however, and his success rate on challenges is very low.
Regarding Gayle, unless I'm mistaken, he never disputed the final decision that he was out, but like Federer, contends that the technology is not infallible, and merely justified his decision to challenge by rationalising that
" I'm a key wicket for the side so at the time I thought, why not give it a try? That's the thing, you never know what the technology will show up."
http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,26418650-12428,00.html
I don't necessarily disagree with his line of thinking there.
r dub 19
8 Dec 2009, 16:29
Quoted for stupidity.
Massively lolworthy.
Ponting isn't respected, how many matches has he not played in the spirit of the game? Then he he says "if i'm not captain I will retire" - real classy.
Ill Chicken
8 Dec 2009, 20:45
Ponting isn't respected, how many matches has he not played in the spirit of the game? Then he he says "if i'm not captain I will retire" - real classy.
Where did he say that?
MinerBoy
9 Dec 2009, 13:36
Ponting isn't respected by r dub.....who has no credibility
Fixed.
r dub 19
9 Dec 2009, 16:23
hahaha how does anyone respect a man that constantly displays a lack of sportsmanship and has lost 2 ashes series?
Mad dog
http://retroyakking.today.com/files/2009/06/gayle_shades.jpg
Sore loser
http://www.topnews.in/sports/files/ricky-ponting3.jpg
Cousin Jed
9 Dec 2009, 16:24
that will be your last post on this topic r dub