View Full Version : Brad Hodge quits first-class cricket

Pages : [1] 2

NWTYRX
30 Nov 2009, 22:01
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/brad-hodge/story-e6frf9if-1225805240920

VICTORIA'S greatest run-scorer Brad Hodge has conceded his Test dream is over and will tomorrow morning announce he is quitting first-class cricket.

Hodge, 34, will play two more Sheffield Shield games before stepping aside after Christmas to devote more time to his family.

"I was struggling to find reasons as to why I wanted to play. I've always wanted to play Test cricket for as long as I can. But what's the difference if I get one more Test now? I want to play 30 or more, but that's not going to happen. In my own mind I just didn't want to go through it any more.

"To be honest, I struggled in the contest. The passion to play is not there any more.

"I played (first-class cricket) so I could play for Australia, so I reached the point where I was struggling to work out the reasons why I was still playing."

DeadlyAkkuret
30 Nov 2009, 22:25
Another sook story from Brad, no surprises really.

mr_cellotape
30 Nov 2009, 22:28
Nothing of value was lost.

DeadlyAkkuret
30 Nov 2009, 22:31
Am I the only one who thinks it comes across as a massive dummy-spit?
"What's the difference? Whaa whaa I wanna play 30 tests not 1, I wanna I wanna!"

FFS Brad:rolleyes:

King Elvis
30 Nov 2009, 23:13
Another sook story from Brad, no surprises really.

He's a bit of a knob, but I do feel sorry for him.

He's dedicated his life to trying to play Test Cricket; and he's good enough to, and has probably earned the right to, it's just he's apparently a bit of a knob.

Ill Chicken
30 Nov 2009, 23:43
Great career, could have achieved more, was wrongfully dropped for Clarke. Yeah spoke his mind about this after that, but what else do you expect? Did not saying anything work for Stuart Law, Jamie Siddons, Jamie Cox, Michael Di Venuto?

The guy played great cricket domestically and internationally, class player and the Vics won't be going back to back without him. Hopefully he gets a gig on fox sport so we can really hear about it.

DeadlyAkkuret
1 Dec 2009, 00:06
Another reason to avoid Fox:thumbsu:

beez
1 Dec 2009, 05:36
He could at least stick around till the end of the season to help the Vics get the treble.

Exhale You
1 Dec 2009, 05:48
Brad always seemed like one of those guys who would play until his late 30's so it's a bit of a shock.

He's been a constant in my beloved Victorian team for the best part of two decades and frankly it's going to be weird (and sad) watching us play withing BJ Hodge at number three.

Brad can walk away with his head held high, safe in the knowledge that he performed excellently at EVERY level and did all he could to be the best.

It closes a long chapter in Victorian cricket but hopefully it opens another chapter with Michael Hill or Aaron Finch in the starring role.

Caesar
1 Dec 2009, 05:55
He's a bit of a knob, but I do feel sorry for him.

He's dedicated his life to trying to play Test Cricket; and he's good enough to, and has probably earned the right to, it's just he's apparently a bit of a knob.
This.

Sucks that his career turned out the way it did. I'm also shocked - a player of his quality can make plenty of money playing FC cricket late into his 30s or even into his 40s, look at Mark Ramprakash. OTOH it's kind of refreshing to see a player who has reached his zenith retire to make way for younger men, rather than keep a mortgage on his spot. And I'm sure List A and T20 will keep the dollars rolling in for a good length of time yet.

Can't wait for his autobiography... what a steaming stack of bile that's going to be. :rolleyes:

krisholio14
1 Dec 2009, 05:55
I wish he'd reconsider until the end of the season.

Mr_Smooth
1 Dec 2009, 06:04
http://georgewbush-whitehouse.archives.gov/news/releases/2008/04/images/20080420_v042008db-0363wjpg-515h.jpg

Jumpin' Jimmy
1 Dec 2009, 06:22
Ranks with other great Victorian cricketers like Matt Elliott and Darren Berry. They all zagged when the should have zigged :eek:

eth-dog
1 Dec 2009, 06:42
Shame. great cricketer

thepower
1 Dec 2009, 07:22
The guy played great cricket domestically and internationally, class player and the Vics won't be going back to back without him. Hopefully he gets a gig on fox sport so we can really hear about it.

Another reason to avoid Fox

great player, just a shame he was making runs when australian cricket was so strong. just one of those things really.

as for getting a spot with fox sports, not a chance considering bracken and stu clarke are their regulars. speaking of bracken, he must be their love child with all the air time he gets. you dont get a look in on the network unless you play for nsw

would love for him to release a tell all book. lets face it, geoff lawson has a point, its personality driven. hope he explains the confusion that he (and many of aus cricketers outside the team) feel when dropped or not pciked cause the selectors pick and choose their excuses/reasons dependant on the player. for player A its cause he's too old, but player B its cause he needs more experience.

courtjester
1 Dec 2009, 08:03
Good onya Hodgey for a great first class career and doing well in the test team when you got the chance. One of Australia's classiest batsmen for a long time.

FRUMPY
1 Dec 2009, 08:15
Clearly one of the best Victorian Batsmen. Continued to make runs year after year. Was unluckly not to have played more tests, but shit happens.

Has made the right decision to quit first class cricket as he wont play tests again and time to move on and open a spot for a player like Michael Hill to bat no.3 for Victoria.

Will continue to play Doemstic One Dayers and 20/20 and will make the bucks over in india in 20/20. Its the way of the future, Expect to see alot of players doing the same thing when they are in their early/mid 30's.

Ant_
1 Dec 2009, 08:56
Same as what happened to Dean Jones...to make the Australian team it's not how good you play but how good you suck up to the selectors.

LondonCalling
1 Dec 2009, 08:57
What's the bet a top order bat falls over with an injury over the summer, leading to someone like Moises Henriques getting a cap, now?

NWTYRX
1 Dec 2009, 09:05
What's the bet a top order bat falls over with an injury over the summer, leading to someone like Moises Henriques getting a cap, now?

LOL. He'd probably get one before Hodge anyway

OZZA
1 Dec 2009, 10:16
No doubts was a terrific cricketer - but Victorian Cricket never ever screwed him over - so his decision to leave them in the lurch mid season is incredibly selfish.

The way he has ended a great first class career won't be forgotten - and thats a shame.

Ant_
1 Dec 2009, 10:25
No doubts was a terrific cricketer - but Victorian Cricket never ever screwed him over - so his decision to leave them in the lurch mid season is incredibly selfish.

The way he has ended a great first class career won't be forgotten - and thats a shame.

Agreed on that.

HBF
1 Dec 2009, 10:47
I wish he'd reconsider until the end of the season.

Same. The Vics have stated publically that they'd love to win the treble this year. Obviously not incentive enough to keep playing after Christmas.

crownie
1 Dec 2009, 10:57
unfortuantly his decision probaly reflects on the kind of team man he is and why he probaly stuggled to play test cricket, no can can deny he should of played more test cricket and thats what he wanted and even if someone does get injured i think they would pick someone younger.

Hodge has obviously pissed the wrong people off and its a shame politics is still alive in Australian Cricket.

i can understand how he feels though, his making truck loads of runs and his already won a few shields so he must be finding it hard to play at the moment. hopefully someone can change his mind to see out the season.

Yabba
1 Dec 2009, 11:04
There was an article by the age a few weeks ago with Hodge saying he was not going to hang around and clog up a spot that a young guy could use. He has had great career unfortunate to only have the 6 test matches. I think he is doing the right thing by his family and Victorian cricket, if the fire is not there he should not play.

Cricket Victoria need to use this now to get Finch or Hill into the 4 day side.

Selective Retention
1 Dec 2009, 11:42

Yeah you have to wonder why even bothered starting the season? Hoping Clarke didn't make it up maybe.

At least we won't have to put up with the bleating now.

Spikey
1 Dec 2009, 11:46

This, pretty much.

anti dukes
1 Dec 2009, 12:02
Same. The Vics have stated publically that they'd love to win the treble this year. Obviously not incentive enough to keep playing after Christmas.
I don't think that he is playing on in the 4 day version as his Mrs has health problems. Not sure what they are exactly. My guess is that he is playing on in the shorter versions as how else will he make good $$. There are only so many commentary spots.

Apparently he is a knob, but you have to take your hat off to him. He could certainly bat.

While the article does read as a dummy spit, if he was better liked in the Australian team, I am sure he would have played more test cricket.

Unlucky, life goes on, get over it.

Pecker
1 Dec 2009, 12:16
At least we don't have to read another pathetic Herald Sun article (Michael Horan) about how hard done by Hodge is by not getting a baggy green.

usalion
1 Dec 2009, 12:19
Sorry to see him go- certainly put the runs on the board....

We really need to reinstate eddiesmith so he can make one farewell post to his fav Hodgey......

J-Train
1 Dec 2009, 13:07
Good batsman and made the most of his chances but obviously not in the minds of the selectors and has soured any opportunity of a recall with numerous public dummy spits. No one likes a whinger, if he hasn't played enough Test match cricket to satisfy his own desires, well, he's really got no one else to blame but himself.

All the best in retirement, he will still pick up some nice coin in the IPL so it's not all boiled lollies for him.

toptigers
1 Dec 2009, 13:37
I reckon everyone is being a bit rough about Hodgey in here, sure he has said a few things in the media about non selection when he should have just stayed quiet, but if he has decided that he doesn't want to keep a younger player out of first class cricket given that he won't play tests then good on him. If it was another player, I don't think anyone would say he is leaving a team in the lurch. The Vics have some good young talent which it will be good for them to get more game time into.

1 Dec 2009, 13:38
He obviously deserved more chances to play for Australia, and was harshly dropped from the Test Team, but I don't reckon he was ever gunna be a World class Test batsman. In fact, in my opinion, he was a fair way off ever being a good test player. Averages obviously aren't everything, but he only averaged 44.92 for Victoria in Sheild and Pura Cup matches, which doesn't even get him anywhere near the all-time top 50 Sheild averages: http://stats.cricinfo.com/australia/engine/records/batting/highest_career_batting_average.html?id=114;type=trophy

Vic Sheild records:

http://stats.cricinfo.com/australia/engine/records/averages/batting.html?id=114;team=635;type=trophy

Rodney Hogg was talking to Keith Stackpole today on SEN, and Hoggy was trying to get Stacky to rate Hodge amongst Vic's all-time best batsman, even asking him if he was the best ever. Stacky ummed and ahed, pretty much saying (but not in these words) that he'd be lucky to get in the top 10.

Ill Chicken
1 Dec 2009, 14:08
He obviously deserved more chances to play for Australia, and was harshly dropped from the Test Team, but I don't reckon he was ever gunna be a World class Test batsman. In fact, in my opinion, he was a fair way off ever being a good test player. Averages obviously aren't everything, but he only averaged 44.92 for Victoria in Sheild and Pura Cup matches, which doesn't even get him anywhere near the all-time top 50 Sheild averages: http://stats.cricinfo.com/australia/engine/records/batting/highest_career_batting_average.html?id=114;type=trophy

Minimum of 10 innings.

1 Dec 2009, 14:17
^ It doesn't matter; only 10 of the guys on that list had less than 40 innings

Blue Dimension
1 Dec 2009, 14:21
Was harshly dropped from the Test side and didn't deserve to be at the time, lets just put it that way. In some ways I don't blame him for being 'bitter' (for lack of a better word).

Unfortunately did not grasp his chances playing ODI cricket for Australia. Had he been able to solidify a spot in the ODI side he might have been able to push his case further. Unfortunately he's missed out, but he's not the first guy to have a stellar first class record and not be apart of the Test team. Just ask Martin Love, David Hussey and Chris Rogers.

Xtreme
1 Dec 2009, 14:35
Mixed feelings on it, clearly wasn't going to be given another chance... unless more than 3 players were wiped out in a series of comedic incidents ala the Softball episode of The Simpsons :p

now the wait continues for Brett Lee to pull the pin and give it away.

mattys123
1 Dec 2009, 14:42
Let's face it, this is simple, Brad Hodge wasn't picked to play for Australia often for one reason, and one reason only, and that was because there were other choices available that better fitted the ACA's (ACB as it was known) own agenda of "polite" cricketers who don't speak out against the establishment.

Hodge should have played more tests, but it didn't at any point hurt the results the Australian cricket team achieved, so even as a Victorian, I don't really buy into the whole "he wasn't picked because he was a victorian".

He was a great state cricketer, a good international cricketer at all forms of the game.

By the way does anyone really expect him to just retire? He will come out of retirement and go play in the IPL guaranteed.

Bomber Bears
1 Dec 2009, 14:49
Didnt he already say that, he'll still play list A and twenty20 cricket for the vics/IPL/Australia if chosen, just no more first class cricket.

Looked dicey in international cricket to be honest apart from that 200. Probably treated a bit harshly but whatever.

gazzas army
1 Dec 2009, 15:01
Am I the only one who thinks it comes across as a massive dummy-spit?
"What's the difference? Whaa whaa I wanna play 30 tests not 1, I wanna I wanna!"

FFS Brad:rolleyes:
He has always had a massive sense of entitlement.

crownie
1 Dec 2009, 15:12
its Dean Jones all over again.

speaks his mind to the wrong people and paid the price.

Caesar
1 Dec 2009, 15:36
Why are people making him out to be some kind of martyr? He didn't "stand up to the establishment", he was just a loudmouthed spanner with an overdeveloped sense of entitlement.

To a degree I don't blame him for being bitter, but there's plenty of others who've been screwed around by selectors without having a whinge any time a journo cared to listen. Best thing CV ever did was passing him over for the captaincy in favour of White.

likka
1 Dec 2009, 15:37
Incredibly selfish decision, and probably the main reason he never made it into the test team longer term. Its all about him and not about the team.

Should play out the season but I guess that shows how much of a team player he is.

Ill Chicken
1 Dec 2009, 16:34
Why are people making him out to be some kind of martyr? He didn't "stand up to the establishment", he was just a loudmouthed spanner with an overdeveloped sense of entitlement.

To a degree I don't blame him for being bitter, but there's plenty of others who've been screwed around by selectors without having a whinge any time a journo cared to listen. Best thing CV ever did was passing him over for the captaincy in favour of White.

I thought they gave it to White because he was unlikely to play much international cricket if any and literally the guy should have no tests to his name.

You can keeping asking Cricket Australia why you weren't/aren't selectored. If they're not willing to make it public or give the guy a straight answer, then they're gutless, which is how far from the truth? They don't want to be dragged into shit but they let a quality player drag himself down because he has the desire to play for Australia and can't get a straight answer.

Oh Chris Rogers is a bad bloke, so what? Clarke is a spanker, Watson is a pretty boy golden child that is as selfish as they come, Ponting chased a tranny around the Cross, Warne was a drug cheat and took bribes, the list goes on. If the selectors aren't willing to come out and say, Hodge will never be considered for test selection for these reasons, then the guy has some clarification, the media has some clarification and supporters have some clarification. It's gutless by CA and nothing short of it.

The reason they don't do this is because they know they'll have double standards in the future or currently, they're hypocrites when it comes down to it and you support that without question. I don't really care for Hodge at all, but that doesn't mean he shouldn't have been handled better for the sake of Australian Cricket.

abs_of_STEELE
1 Dec 2009, 16:38
Great player and should've got more chances, but it is disappointing that he decided to go out now and not wait until the end of the season.

burtpies
1 Dec 2009, 16:53
Can't believe the tools on here giving it to Brad Hodge. Oh sorry let me rephrase that NSW tools on here giving it to him. Easy to give it to a bloke when the NSW team is playing for Aust.
We in Vic do get some bowlers in the team but if you are aVic batsman, forget about it. That is why Chris Rodgers made a bad decision coming to Vic he is now out of eye sight of that tool Andrew Hilditch. How can we trust a guy who went out in every tet innnings he played playing the hook shot. He doesn't learn from mistakes.

didak04
1 Dec 2009, 16:54
Classy cricketer, classless individual.

bungwahl
1 Dec 2009, 17:02

Correct. Hence why he received few chances at the top level.

Ill Chicken
1 Dec 2009, 17:07
Why should that matter? Clarke doesn't have any class yet he is assuming the captaincy when Ponting finishes.

Spikey
1 Dec 2009, 17:09
Can't believe the tools on here giving it to Brad Hodge. Oh sorry let me rephrase that NSW tools on here giving it to him.

Most of the people giving him stick so far have been Victorians not happy with his decision to quit Victoria on such short notice :confused:

Caesar
1 Dec 2009, 17:12
You can keeping asking Cricket Australia why you weren't/aren't selectored.
Sure you can, just don't expect to get ahead by pissing people off. Like I said, Test cricket's a rough game, and some people inevitably cop unfair decisions. One of the current selectors probably has more claim to that complaint than anyone, including Hodge - he never even got a cap.

Oh Chris Rogers is a bad bloke, so what? Clarke is a spanker, Watson is a pretty boy golden child that is as selfish as they come, Ponting chased a tranny around the Cross, Warne was a drug cheat and took bribes, the list goes on.
Say what you want about them (and I don't think much of them either), but they make a pretty damn cohesive team. It's pretty clear that if you don't fit into the tight-knit dynamic of the side then you aren't going to get selected. That was apparently Rogers' problem and if the rumours are true it was probably half Hodges' problem as well.

Caesar
1 Dec 2009, 17:16
Can't believe the tools on here giving it to Brad Hodge. Oh sorry let me rephrase that NSW tools on here giving it to him.
Seems to me the broad consensus on here regardless of state is (a) great cricketer, (b) shit bloke, (c) legitimately hard done by for Test selecton, and (d) selfish ****er for ditching his teammates midseason.

Ant_
1 Dec 2009, 17:19

Ahh and Ricky Ponting is such angel. Don't remember Hodge getting a black eye in a pub.

Ill Chicken
1 Dec 2009, 17:20
Sure you can, just don't expect to get ahead by pissing people off. Like I said, Test cricket's a rough game, and some people inevitably cop unfair decisions. One of the current selectors probably has more claim to that complaint than anyone, including Hodge - he never even got a cap.

Say what you want about them (and I don't think much of them either), but they make a pretty damn cohesive team. It's pretty clear that if you don't fit into the tight-knit dynamic of the side then you aren't going to get selected. That was apparently Rogers' problem and if the rumours are true it was probably half Hodges' problem as well.

I understand that, but the least the selectors can do is say we're not selecting you regardless of any performances you put in. Make it known the reason why or don't, but come out and say this player will not be considered for Australian selection, otherwise you're just leading the guy on.

krisholio14
1 Dec 2009, 17:24
FWIW, Brad Hodge lives not far from me and I often see him at the local footy taking his kids for a walk. Always says hello and signs autographs for people.

Has never seemed like the complete tosser everyone makes him out to be when i've come across him.

didak04
1 Dec 2009, 17:24
Ahh and Ricky Ponting is such angel. Don't remember Hodge getting a black eye in a pub.

Hodge has spent the majority of the last few seasons bitching and moaning about his non-selection where others would have simply kept going about their business.

And now he has retired from first class cricket mid season, leaving his team in the lurch for totally selfish reasons.

Can you imagine someone like Ponting or Hussey acting the way he has? I sure as hell can't.

It takes more than talent to get a spot in the national side. It is a team game after all.

Ant_
1 Dec 2009, 17:27
We're talking "classless individuals" here, and there was a good reason punter got that black eye.

CrazyQ
1 Dec 2009, 17:33
Ha. I love this. "Oh! what a sook!", how the **** is he a sook? the selectors didn't like him and they favoured others ahead of him (Clarke). I would be pretty pissed off knowing I should be in the team but never played more than 5 tests.

Great career and should have played 100 tests.

Caesar
1 Dec 2009, 17:36
I understand that, but the least the selectors can do is say we're not selecting you regardless of any performances you put in. Make it known the reason why or don't, but come out and say this player will not be considered for Australian selection, otherwise you're just leading the guy on.
Well, we're completely speculating here but I'd be surprised if he was ever actually blackballed. It's probably more a case of whenever a spot was up for grabs, he might have been the most in-form batsman but there were viable alternatives who fitted the team dynamic better.

If it was the mid-'80s he probably would have been in the side regardless of what kind of personality he had, but it's not like there's been any shortage of middle-order batsmen in Australia over the last decade. Little things can make or break Test careers when it's that competitive - ask Michael Bevan.

CrazyQ
1 Dec 2009, 17:38
Correct. Hence why he received few chances at the top level.
What about Warne? Lehmann? Ponting? Waugh.M?

Hypocrites.

Cousin Jed
1 Dec 2009, 17:38
FWIW Robert Craddock suggested that Hodge was actually reasonably popular with members of the Australian team.

Caesar
1 Dec 2009, 17:41
FWIW, Brad Hodge lives not far from me and I often see him at the local footy taking his kids for a walk. Always says hello and signs autographs for people.

Has never seemed like the complete tosser everyone makes him out to be when i've come across him.
This is probably a good point worth repeating. We're all speculating here really - it's not like anyone in the know has come out publically and said he's a massive tool. I'll be interested to read what a few players have to say about him when they've retired and released autobiographies.

His media whinging, justified or not, certainly hasn't done him any favours though. And leaving his team midseason doesn't send a good message. Maybe he just doesn't image-manage as well as other players, who knows.

didak04
1 Dec 2009, 17:42
Ha. I love this. "Oh! what a sook!", how the **** is he a sook? the selectors didn't like him and they favoured others ahead of him (Clarke). I would be pretty pissed off knowing I should be in the team but never played more than 5 tests.

Great career and should have played 100 tests.

He is a sook.

It took players like Mike Hussey, Marcus North and Martin Love years to get a chance in the Test side and none of those blokes conducted themselves the way Brad Hodge has.

IF the selectors don't like him he has absolutely nobody to blame but himself.

Caesar
1 Dec 2009, 17:44
FWIW Robert Craddock suggested that Hodge was actually reasonably popular with members of the Australian team.
I'm surprised there hasn't been more vocal support for him in the past when he's been dropped / under selection consideration then. When you look at how much Ponting et al talk up a spud like Lee, you'd think Hodge would get some love.

demon48
1 Dec 2009, 17:46
Sad to see Hodge go. Deserved to play more test cricket. My son met him as he was going into his car after a one-dayer against South Australia. Stopped and signed my son's book and had a chat with him. Don't know where this reputation of being a tosser comes from, was quite a nice bloke. In fact, the entire Victorian squad was quite nice.

In my opinion, if Simon Katich was Victorian and Brad Hodge from NSW, Brad would have got recalled to replace Justin Langer. Can't believe he got dropped for Damien Martyn, then got put in the queue behind Andrew Symonds.

TheColeTrain
1 Dec 2009, 17:51
The people bagging him out on this thread are an absolute joke.
I now remember why I rarely post on this board anymore because most of you have NFI

didak04
1 Dec 2009, 17:55
The people bagging him out on this thread are an absolute joke.
I now remember why I rarely post on this board anymore because most of you have NFI

Questioning his conduct off the field as opposed to his ability on it is perfectly reasonable.

His outbursts over his omission from the side were uncalled for and didn't do him any favours.

Not really an outlandish statement to make.

demon48
1 Dec 2009, 17:58
Perhaps Hodgey should have shut his mouth and moved to New South Wales. :p

Ill Chicken
1 Dec 2009, 18:00
Questioning his conduct off the field as opposed to his ability on it is perfectly reasonable.

His outbursts over his omission from the side were uncalled for and didn't do him any favours.

Not really an outlandish statement to make.

His outbursts?

He hasn't said anything bad. He hardly says anything at all really. This is a professional sport and its still run like a boys club.

King Elvis
1 Dec 2009, 18:01

He was a kid who'd been labelled the next Bradman since he was about 12 - getting that punch in the face, and having to deal with the fallout, was probably the best thing that could have happened.

didak04
1 Dec 2009, 18:02
His outbursts?

He hasn't said anything bad. He hardly says anything at all really. This is a professional sport and its still run like a boys club.

The point is he shouldn't have said anything at all.

Plenty of others are able to take setbacks graciously without blurting crap to the media, why not Hodge?

King Elvis
1 Dec 2009, 18:04
Oh. I just remember - I met Taity out a few times in Adelaide, one time I asked him whether Hodge was a complete ******** or not; he said he wasn't and was a pretty decent bloke. Somebody else there with him said he was a bit dopey, but a good bloke.

Ill Chicken
1 Dec 2009, 18:06

Plenty of others are able to take setbacks graciously without blurting crap to the media, why not Hodge?

What did he say that was so outrageous?

Ill Chicken
1 Dec 2009, 18:06
Oh. I just remember - I met Taity out a few times in Adelaide, one time I asked him whether Hodge was a complete ******** or not; he said he wasn't and was a pretty decent bloke. Somebody else there with him said he was a bit dopey, but a good bloke.

What's his opinion on DC?

Caesar
1 Dec 2009, 18:07
In my opinion, if Simon Katich was Victorian and Brad Hodge from NSW, Brad would have got recalled to replace Justin Langer.
I don't really think so. Katich was in superhuman form at the time, playing the best cricket of his career. He'd just broken the Sheffield Shield run record for a season averaging 90+ a game. His timing was as perfect as anybody's could ever be - Hodge was just supremely unlucky that a bona fide opening came up at the end of that season.

Can't believe he got dropped for Damien Martyn, then got put in the queue behind Andrew Symonds.
This is the real injustice. I don't care that Martyn was a regular team member, IMO Hodge should have been given more time rather than dumped so unceremoniously as his form clearly didn't deserve it.

The fact that he was put behind Symonds (as was Katich and a number of other good batsmen) was an absolute disgrace. I was always of the opinion that picking Symonds in the Test team ahead of better batsmen because he had some bowling ability was the wrong move.

demon48
1 Dec 2009, 18:22
I don't really think so. Katich was in superhuman form at the time, playing the best cricket of his career. He'd just broken the Sheffield Shield run record for a season averaging 90+ a game. His timing was as perfect as anybody's could ever be - Hodge was just supremely unlucky that a bona fide opening came up at the end of that season.
Neither Simon nor Brad permanently opened for their states. Hodge would have been just as capable opening.
Chris Rogers is facing the same problem. Since moving to Victoria, has been placed behind 5 NSWelshmen in the pecking order for an opening spot. The current openers don't open for their state, Phil Hughes is a talented youngster and should get another chance, Jaques is over-rated and Warner can't get a regular game in the Sheffield Shield.
Maybe my Victorian bias is showing through here.

I don't care that Martyn was a regular team member, IMO Hodge should have been given more time rather than dumped so unceremoniously as his form clearly didn't deserve it.
The fact that he was put behind Symonds (as was Katich and a number of other good batsmen) was an absolute disgrace. I was always of the opinion that picking Symonds in the Test team ahead of better batsmen because he had some bowling ability was the wrong move.
I have to agree. Hodge was averaging 55 in test cricket and had just cracked a double century against South Africa. Should have kept his place ahead of an under-performing Damien "I don't want to play anymore" Martyn who was struggling at Shield level. Symonds was a brilliant one-day player, but neither his batting nor bowling was good enough to warrant a test spot. The second-worst decision by selectors in recent memory, only beaten by the decision to pick Cameron White as a specialist spinner. And Symmo only ended up pissing the privlege away.

Bombers_Forever
1 Dec 2009, 18:27
We all know there are certain "favourites" in Australian cricket and if you play for NSW, you get a baggy green when they get thier blue cap - through runs alone, Hodge is unlucky.

But, today just smacks of selfishness. He finally realised he will never play Test cricket again so he quits half way through the season? The Vics don't have a wonder kid playing in the seconds. If he waited until the end of the season, he might have more respect. The fact he whinged in the media cost him but did he really expect to be rewarded after complaining in the media? He might be a good bloke and all, but it allways seems that he has this ego that smacks of arrogance.

Caesar
1 Dec 2009, 18:32
Neither Simon nor Brad permanently opened for their states. Hodge would have been just as capable opening.
Not saying he wouldn't, just saying I think that out of the two of them Katich got the nod because he had played to absolute perfection for the proceeding 12 months - not because he did it while playing for NSW. I mean, the guy was playing on a whole other level to anyone else that season. Classic case of timing.

Chris Rogers is facing the same problem. Since moving to Victoria, has been placed behind 5 NSWelshmen in the pecking order for an opening spot. The current openers don't open for their state, Phil Hughes is a talented youngster and should get another chance, Jaques is over-rated and Warner can't get a regular game in the Sheffield Shield.
Warner is a shit first-class player, I don't believe he's ahead of anybody for Test selection (and if he is he shouldn't be). I don't think Jacques is overrated but he's been out of the game for a long time and has a lot to prove before he goes back in the Test side.

DeadlyAkkuret
1 Dec 2009, 19:01
Since moving to Victoria, has been placed behind 5 NSWelshmen in the pecking order for an opening spot.

Both Rogers and Jaques were given chances when Langer (?) was injured and both of them deserved their chance. I'm pretty sure the only time Jaques was put well clear of Rogers is when Rogers was injured and then Jaques plundered a bunch of hundreds and 50s and was unlucky to be dropped after scoring a century in his most recent test innings.

The current openers don't open for their state, Phil Hughes is a talented youngster and should get another chance, Jaques is over-rated and Warner can't get a regular game in the Sheffield Shield.

I'm not sure what the issue is. Hughes deserved his spot and still does, Jaques hit 3 hundreds in his first 11 tests (plus a few half-centuries) and Katich basically smashed the door down with his state form. You're just adding Warner's name for the sake of it, he's not close to opening in tests for Australia.

It is.

Spikey
1 Dec 2009, 19:28
You're just adding Warner's name for the sake of it, he's not close to opening in tests for Australia.

He's not close to opening for NSW. Jacques, Hughes, Katich, Watson and Khawaja are in front of him.

Cotchin 9
1 Dec 2009, 19:48
Well done BJ Hodge.

Spikey
1 Dec 2009, 19:52
Well done BJ Hodge.

wrong thread n00b.

;)

Cotchin 9
1 Dec 2009, 19:54
wrong thread n00b.

;)

I see what you did thar.

Spikey
1 Dec 2009, 19:56
I see what you did thar.

I must admit, when I made the 'warner is behind all these guys' post, I actually did think this wasn't the Hodge thread. How the hell did we get onto NSW ffs?

Cotchin 9
1 Dec 2009, 19:58
Piss of NSW, you *****.

Wait, wat?

Spikey
1 Dec 2009, 20:01
**** I hate South Australia. They've never had a good cricketer. They should just piss off. Go re-join England or something

Good career Hodgey btw.

Ron
1 Dec 2009, 20:04
Victoria has lost their best batsmen. Australian cricket has lost nothing, except a whinger, and his whinging mum.

Really who cares, at the end of the day he plays for himself, not someone you want in a team sport.

wadethompson
1 Dec 2009, 20:18
feel sorry for the bloke he has done nothing wrong through out his cricketing career and his been one of the best batsmans ive seen who can play all forms of the games with elite performance. how he never played more test is a mystrey with an average of over 50 for aus and an average of 48 in first class cricket he is the most consistant cricketer i have seen.

King Elvis
1 Dec 2009, 20:23
What's his opinion on DC?

I realise I'm probably going to look stupid here, but who is DC?

And Wade, good to see you aren't getting carried away.

Spikey
1 Dec 2009, 20:34
Requesting IP checks on burtpies, wadethompson & danielnajdek just to confirm they're all not the same user

Hellgood
1 Dec 2009, 20:35
Dan Cullen?

Anyway surprised that Hodge didn't wan't to see the season out

Dez!
1 Dec 2009, 21:11
Gun batsman who would have easily had a successful career with the talent he possessed at international level, we only saw a glimpse in the few tests he played.

Although he is also a whiny little bitch.

ROO BOY IN W.A
1 Dec 2009, 21:22
Thanks Brad you have given your all and we can not ask anymore of you.The Australian Selectors screwed him and he has a Av of 55 up there with the best.atleast he is still playin 20/20 and 1 dayers.Smash em Hodge.

Slammin Sammy Says
1 Dec 2009, 22:14
Everyone is saying its a poor effort to quit 1st class cricket half way through the season. Lets have a look and some key dates coming up at the end of Victorias season..

Sun Feb 28 Ford Ranger Cup
Final - TBC v TBC

Wed Mar 3 - Sat Mar 6
Sheffield Shield
Western Australia v Victoria

Wed Mar 10 - Sat Mar 13
Sheffield Shield
Victoria v Tasmania

Fri Mar 19 - Tue Mar 23
Sheffield Shield
Final - TBC v TBC

And IPL 3 first gmae is on March 12.

Draw your own conclusions but this is not a new thing. Kaprowicz, Maher and Gillespie all retired early (1 or 2 games before the season end) so they could play a full season in the ICL

BACCS
1 Dec 2009, 22:39
No great loss, shit bloke, life goes on.

Navyblues09
1 Dec 2009, 22:54

Vic Sheild records:

http://stats.cricinfo.com/australia/engine/records/averages/batting.html?id=114;team=635;type=trophy

Rodney Hogg was talking to Keith Stackpole today on SEN, and Hoggy was trying to get Stacky to rate Hodge amongst Vic's all-time best batsman, even asking him if he was the best ever. Stacky ummed and ahed, pretty much saying (but not in these words) that he'd be lucky to get in the top 10.
Do you know Mike Husseys shield average for WA?

demon48
2 Dec 2009, 05:54
Not saying he wouldn't, just saying I think that out of the two of them Katich got the nod because he had played to absolute perfection for the proceeding 12 months - not because he did it while playing for NSW. I mean, the guy was playing on a whole other level to anyone else that season. Classic case of timing.
Warner is a shit first-class player, I don't believe he's ahead of anybody for Test selection (and if he is he shouldn't be). I don't think Jacques is overrated but he's been out of the game for a long time and has a lot to prove before he goes back in the Test side.

But Warner was still getting one-day and 20/20 games ahead of Hodge.
Katich has been recalled to the side twice. Only played one test as a Western Australian. Also forgot to add Brad Haddin to the list of "openers".

Waiting to see who gets the last bowling spot in Friday's test - Doug Bollinger (NSW) or Clint McKay (Vic). My guess is the former.

Spikey
2 Dec 2009, 06:52
So it's NSW bias now when you pick the better player? (As will happen on Friday)

krisholio14
2 Dec 2009, 07:08

With all due respect he hasn't been Robinson Crusoe in recent times when it comes to having a word in the media about not getting picked.

Nathan Bracken and Ashley Noffke are two that spring to mind.

The bottom line is, I believe anyway, that with so many cricketers at first class level in this country capable of playing at international level, but with only so many spots to go around, there always has to be other factors aside from ability and even form when it comes to choosing who gets in and who misses out.

I mean look at Chris Rogers. He walks into a cricket ground these days for a 4 day game and 50 or 60 runs jump out at him. There would have been only a handful of digs at FC level, both here and in England, where he hasn't made a score in the last 18 months. He would walk into any other international side right now.

But because it's common knowledge he's a bit of an arsehole, as i've said on other threads, he could average 200 for the next 5 years and i'm still a better chance of getting picked to play for Australia than him.

When competition for spots is so hot, these are often the deciding factors.

Brad Hodge would have played minimum 80 tests for any other international side in the world. Unfortunately for him, he is an Aussie, and others had been anointed ahead of him.

Dez!
2 Dec 2009, 07:36
So it's NSW bias now when you pick the better player? (As will happen on Friday)

No but McKay>>>>Bollinger