View Full Version : Rory Hilton
blurton
23 Apr 2003, 09:34
As a tiger supporter, I have to say he's been a reasonable pick up however, I suspect with Brisbane's improvement he'd only be a fringe player if he was still there.
Thoughts..........
BrisGirl
23 Apr 2003, 11:17
Originally posted by blurton
As a tiger supporter, I have to say he's been a reasonable pick up however, I suspect with Brisbane's improvement he'd only be a fringe player if he was still there.
Thoughts..........
When Rory was here, he played off the bench and only got the occassional game.
I can understand why he left, as he was never going to be a permanent Senior team member, and the same goes for Robbins & Brett Voss.
Not to say they are not good, it is just that they knew deep down, they could never break into the side, so better to leave and be a valued member of another Club and get a game every week.
I always liked Robbins.
Beausgirl43
23 Apr 2003, 11:23
Yeah I was a fan of Benny too.
He was awesome in there 2001 ressies GF, he was captain and had 40+ touches.
Oh well, life goes on ... he's doing great at the Roos.
Good Luck to him.
cheers ... Kaz
blurton
23 Apr 2003, 19:23
Rory was pretty overweight in Brisbane and I suspect he didn't want to be there.
I think he's one of those players who can look really good but you need to look at what his opponent is doing because he's pretty unaccountable.
Hilton came to the Lions with pretty big wraps, and did some good things in the seniors when he got a run. The problem was more that he didn't want to play with the club (or in QLD), than anything else. He certainly had the talent, and looked capable of being a good player for us.
Apparently, Hilton told the club all along that he wasn't taking his time with them seriously and would leave at the first opportunity. It takes a pretty big-headed person to say that, coming straight from the draft. I reckon that's still his problem these days - he thinks he's better than what he really is.
I'm probably a bit of the theme of this thread, but when you look at the players that have left us (or been let go), has there been any one (or more) of them that have really "made it" or"punished" us big time.
B.Voss, Molloy, Lawrence, O'Bree, Robbins, Hilton, Barker, Chapman and more recently Cupido and Bolton.
Despite a fair amount of gnashing of teeth and wrist-slashing by some on this board, at the time of departure, the performances of these ex-Lions has as a whole been only serviceable at best.
Granted, Cupido and Bolton are still unknown quantities to some extent.
Also, Barker had one blinder of a season for the Hawks but seems to have faded into relative obscurity since. (What HAS happened to him???)
Overall, I feel faily comfortable that what has gone (or been let go) has indeed proven to be dispensable.
Mr Ripper
23 Apr 2003, 21:13
Johnny Barker has been stricken with the dreaded Vossteitis Pubis for nigh on 2 years now, Luthors. Surely ye knew that, or was it a rhetorical question?
No, not a rhetorical question Ripper.
I knew he had injury problems but I honestly didn't know the details.
There's so many players with so many injuries now that I can't keep up with them all.
Anyway, nice touch with the "Vossteitis" Pubis.:D
tapestry
24 Apr 2003, 12:11
I can remember him saying he only went cause he was drafted, he had no intentions of staying.He didn't give it his best shot.He only ever wanted to play in Melbourne.
Reminds me of Buckley, he did the same thing.
Hilton needs to deflate his ego, and work hard and he may be a good player.
keatings_gal
24 Apr 2003, 14:09
yeah i didnt like his attitude towards his footy here & still dont like him now.......