View Full Version : In a strange way I....

bipolarbeaR
3 Dec 2009, 19:54
Sort of want Neagle to not make it, I know Hurley will be a great CHB, but I cannot help but think think that Hurley could be one of those forwards like Buddy and Brown that kick you 75+ goals a year up forward.
I think Cale Hooker has heaps of potential in the backline also, he is bulked up heaps and is looking more like Drew Petrie every week!

I know it's a fairly evil way to look at things but anyhows, feel free to call me a prick etc.

Discuss!

centrelink1
3 Dec 2009, 19:56
Is it possible that Neagle and Hurley could play together up forward? Your point makes SOME sense though, but so does communism.

Prick :D

rhysman
3 Dec 2009, 20:15
Absolutely outrageous to say you hope a young, up and coming Essendon player doesn't make it. The single most ridiculous statement made on this board.

HFF_07
3 Dec 2009, 20:27
What the hell are you on bipolar bear??

Lol

centrelink1
3 Dec 2009, 20:30
Absolutely outrageous to say you hope a young, up and coming Essendon player doesn't make it. The single most ridiculous statement made on this board.

Maybe not the cleverest, but not that by a long shot. I think BPB was using this as a way to emphasise the fact that he thought Hurley would be better used up forward. Which would make sense.

However, BPB, it isn't the smartest comment. I was just sick of getting into arguments on here, but I think im alright for this thread.

bipolarbeaR
3 Dec 2009, 20:42
The single most ridiculous statement made on this board.

Hmmm.. I dunno, I did say something about pegs earlier.

Neagle could be good if he applies himself, but I think Hurley is rediculously special. I was hoping I was saying what others are thinking, maybe I am just a prick :p I really think Hurley and Gumby up forward could be our big combo.

Also, HFF, I may have had a few energy drinks, nothing massively mind altering, not really my thing, I'm crazy enough as is!

I won't argue with you Clink, you're right, it's just my attempt to emphasize how awesome I think Hurley is.

centrelink1
3 Dec 2009, 20:52
I won't argue with you Clink, you're right, it's just my attempt to emphasize how awesome I think Hurley is.

I was hoping so:thumbsu:

Hurley is something special and I would hate to see him at full back. But as ant said on the best 22 thread we cant have the same 22 every week. It will need to be altered for each opposition. Hurley will play forward and back this season. If it were me

Adelaide - Just keep him out of the ruck

Brisbane - Down back. Get him on Brown or Fev.

Carlton - Who are we gonna put him on down back? Get him up forward

Collingwood - Back. Cloke.

Fremantle - Why can't we beat them? Oh, and down back

Geelong - Up forward.

Hawthorn - Round 22, 2009.

Melbourne - Rest him;)

Roos - nfi

Port - Could go either way.

Richmond - No Richo. Forward

St K - Get him on Reiwoldt.

Sydney - Forward. Try get LRT on him.

WCE - We struggle against the Eagles, but they don't have a power forward. Forward

WB - Tough one.

mitch-wa
3 Dec 2009, 21:24

Hurley is something special and I would hate to see him at full back. But as ant said on the best 22 thread we cant have the same 22 every week. It will need to be altered for each opposition. Hurley will play forward and back this season. If it were me

WCE - We struggle against the Eagles, but they don't have a power forward. Forward

WB - Tough one.

Lynch is meant to be playing more forward and less ruck next year

bipolarbeaR
3 Dec 2009, 22:06
Brisbane - Down back. Get him on Brown or Fev. - Agreed

Collingwood - Back. Cloke. - Pears

Hawthorn - Round 22, 2009. - Need him on Roughead

Richmond - No Richo. Forward - Pears would have played on Richo

St K - Get him on Reiwoldt. - Pears

This is what I reckon, Also against Port he mauled Tredrea.

centrelink1
3 Dec 2009, 23:15
Lynch is meant to be playing more forward and less ruck next year

Lynch is absolutely shit.

Jonesy1987
4 Dec 2009, 05:06
I'd like us to trial Neagle down back Tarrant style, if he can get his ankle/fitness right. I think Hurley could be something very special up forward, best of his generation type of thing.

Donakebab
4 Dec 2009, 06:03

Adelaide - Just keep him out of the ruck

Brisbane - Down back. Get him on Brown or Fev.

Carlton - Who are we gonna put him on down back? Get him up forward

Collingwood - Back. Cloke.

Fremantle - Why can't we beat them? Oh, and down back

Geelong - Up forward.

Hawthorn - Round 22, 2009.

Melbourne - Rest him;)

Roos - nfi

Port - Could go either way.

Richmond - No Richo. Forward

St K - Get him on Reiwoldt.

Sydney - Forward. Try get LRT on him.

WB - Tough one.

Can't see constantly moving him around helping his development. I have nothing against him being used as a swing man every now and then, but we'd be better off letting him hold down a position to make his own.

The Donners
4 Dec 2009, 07:29

Maybe Neagle should turn up to pre-season training in some sort of shape. Perhaps he wouldn't have groin issues?

I'm over defending Neagle. He doesn't help himself or the club.

rhysman
4 Dec 2009, 08:18
Hurley being an undoubted superstar in the making has got nothing at all to do with Neagle's progress. Whether Neagle makes it or not will in no way affect Hurley's development. He will be a star in the backline or the forward line and i suspect it may take a couple of seasons before he settles into a regular spot. Knights has, however, already said that his plan is to play Hurley at CHB in 2010.

matty lloyd the champ
4 Dec 2009, 08:29
I would rather Hurley settle down in a position for the whole year and let him develop his game from there. The constant shuffling around may affect his game in a way, not having a set position for him to concentrate on. Petrie was not given a definitive role this season and his performance suffered from it until he was kept as a permanent forward later in the year. FWIW I would rather him play down back this season and give Neagle and hopefully Gumbleton an opportunity to solidify their spots in the 22.

Mad Bomber Sean
4 Dec 2009, 09:38
Concur Hurley ( NEO ) is the chosen one... should tear it up at CHF

We have many "special" players on the list however some are more "special" than others.

But your idea to want an Essendon player to not make is perverse, you prick ( etc ).

ha ha

fishguts
4 Dec 2009, 09:42
How about Gumby makes it on a wing so Hurley gets CHF and Neagle gets FF?

bipolarbeaR
4 Dec 2009, 09:48

Don't be silly! He will get tackled to much :P wouldn't want him to snap :D

Mad Bomber Sean
4 Dec 2009, 10:21

Interesting idea - a 200cm wing man??
He should follow Hooker's lead & become a key back man

rhysman
4 Dec 2009, 10:25
Knights has stated that Hurley will be the starting CHB in 2010. Gumby will be CHF and Neagle first choice for FF. Paddy is the floater.

bipolarbeaR
4 Dec 2009, 10:30
Knights has stated that Hurley will be the starting CHB in 2010.

A good CHB is obviously a good thing but.. such a waste of talent.
He could be better than Buddy up forward, has smarts that most forwards in the AFL don't have.

rhysman
4 Dec 2009, 10:35
I hear what you're saying but never underestimate the value of a superstar key backman. People also forget how highly Gumby was rated as a CHF when we drafted him. He was described by Dennis Pagan as the best contested mark he had ever seen in under age football. I know he has been out of it for 2 years but if he can hold down CHF that will be a massive bonus for us. We also have the option of switching Paddy to CHF. But the backline looks strong with Pears and Hurley in the key position posts.

bombermick
4 Dec 2009, 10:38
A good CHB is obviously a good thing but.. such a waste of talent.
He could be better than Buddy up forward, has smarts that most forwards in the AFL don't have.

I agree, he has the potential to be the next Carey or Brown. You have to have your most talented players in the attacking half of the ground. I guess if Gumby manages to get on the park it would afford us the luxury of playing him down back.

rhysman
4 Dec 2009, 10:51
He is 19 and there is plenty of time to sort out where he is going to play. Main thing is that he is in the Bombers colours and will definitely be a star whatever position he is playing. You dream of getting kids this good in your team.

Red n Black Pride
4 Dec 2009, 11:12
I'd like us to trial Neagle down back Tarrant style, if he can get his ankle/fitness right. I think Hurley could be something very special up forward, best of his generation type of thing.

You can't be serious!! Neagle at full back, that's like trialing Plugger as a rebounding half back, pushing up to the wing!!!

bipolarbeaR
4 Dec 2009, 11:20
Plugger as a rebounding half back, pushing up to the wing!!!

Now THAT is a thought, is that you Sheedy?

Red n Black Pride
4 Dec 2009, 11:58
Now THAT is a thought, is that you Sheedy?

Could work.. Just like Neagle at Full back would

Goat Boy
4 Dec 2009, 12:28
Knights has stated that Hurley will be the starting CHB in 2010. Gumby will be CHF and Neagle first choice for FF. Paddy is the floater.

He did say that but now McPhee has gone and we have lost our swingman. Maybe things have to change and Hurley might get thrown up forward.

Winner
4 Dec 2009, 13:55
Give Gumby a go at CHF with Neagle at FF, we already know Hurley can play CHB and Pears can play FB, so let Gumby and Neagle prove themselves before we try and "fix" something that may work.

Haduken
4 Dec 2009, 16:08
I understand it's natural, but we're starting to get a little carried away with Hurley. The kid is clearly enormously gifted and will be a star wherever he plays. Neagle hasn't shown a whole lot yet but guys, some perspective, Knights is keen to give The Anvil a shot at FF and I for one am prepared to back him on it.

Jono B
4 Dec 2009, 17:02
Give Gumby a go at CHF with Neagle at FF, we already know Hurley can play CHB and Pears can play FB, so let Gumby and Neagle prove themselves before we try and "fix" something that may work.
Hooker does not deserve to miss out at the hands of Gumby/Neagle.

Jonesy1987
4 Dec 2009, 17:45
You can't be serious!! Neagle at full back, that's like trialing Plugger as a rebounding half back, pushing up to the wing!!!

Awesome job of reading there.

B-Bomber
4 Dec 2009, 18:12
I know what you mean, sorta. But don't think of it as hoping he fails -- just hope, rather, that Knights uses the fact we have so many potentials that could take Neagles place that Knighta will ensure he doesn't take anything but the best of the best from these guys.

teak
4 Dec 2009, 19:51

I am aware that in an article, Knights mentioned that he may play in the back line in 2010, and I couldn't find the particular article [if anyone could be bothered digging it up for me, that would be great] where he originally said this.

Buuuut, for all of those people wanting Hurley in the forward line I have hope for you:

Bomber Yearbook, Edition 57 page 17
Jess Cook: Will Michael Hurley play more forward or back in 2010?
Matthew Knights: Everyone can see the talent that is bubbling there but we have got to make sure he becomes the player we want him to be rather than just think that talent alone will get him there. He also believes he has a lot of work to do. I probably need to settle him down next year because I don't think it's in his best interests if he is played either end of the ground during games or week-in and week-out. I have an issue where Gary O'Donnell wants him in the backline and Alan Richardson wants him in the forward line (laughs) and I am the referee in the middle who will have to make that decision. IT will probably come down to where we most need him.

So there you have it. I don't think that anything is set in stone at this point, and I think as supporters we need to stop extrapolating from simple comments made by members of the club. But of course, in the off-season we are like addicts waiting for that next hit, and we will gobble up anything that the club feeds us in terms of news.

Could it be that Hurley turns into a Daniel Bradshaw type player? Plays up forward when he can, but down back when needed?
I have changed my mind about 30 times on where he should play next year, but to tell the truth, as long he is playing at Essendon I don't really care.

Anyway, I should really stop quoting the Bomber magazines, as I have an idea that I am not actually accrediting the magazine correctly. But for the purpose of making this point I will use it. Are there many people that don't get the magazine? Or am I just playing Captain Obvious to everyone by using it as an example.

My god I am rambling. Forgive me, I worked from 7AM to 6.30PM today and need rest. I thought there was a Geneva convention for those work hours or something. Ahhh, let the rambling continue.

Godzke
4 Dec 2009, 20:54
I could kind of see where that other thread with "would you wish player x was injured to give player y a chance" was coming from ... just ... but not wanting a youngster to make it? We need all the luck we can get with injuries and what not to give our youth every chance to develop.

Neagle is blessed with some awesome skills. His kicking and marking is first rate. His fitness and work ethic are not, which implies he's got the natural ability ... he just needs to compliment it with mental approach to his game.

Could very well be a more important player than Hurley. At this age you simply cannot tell until they have several seasons under their belt.

Knight Ryders
4 Dec 2009, 21:00
Hooker did plenty wrong last year, but his game against Riewoldt in our first match against the Saints was very good. He displayed excellent athleticism and I was very excited about his willingness for the contest and his determination not to give Riewoldt a sniff. He can and hopefully will nail down CHB this year. This leaves us to play Hurley as FF, third back or third forward. Since we have Super Fletch to do that this year, I would use him up forward this year along side of Neagle (if fit) and Williams. If Neagle doesn't come up, I would be very tempted to use Ryder at FF if Laycock/Belly/Hille can fulfill the ruck combination. Ryder, Hurley and Williams in the F50 would be a very dangerous set up, particularly given Ryders forward defensive pressure and his good hands below his knees (on top of his well known aerial ability). It may be robbing us of our best ruckmen, but the Crows have done the same thing with Tippett as they have identified that a key forward target is extremely important.

With Pears, Hooker and Fletcher to fill the back positions this year, Hurley should definitely play up forward this year.

Sorry about the long post, one too many brews:D

Tony Delaney
5 Dec 2009, 18:03
I think you may find for some reason Neagle is pencilled in for the next 4 or 5 years reagardless of form or ability. All i hear is Neagle will be our next full forward, Lloyd cant be full forward because Neagle will be etc etc.

I am all for giving players a go and confidence but I would like Neagle to actually earn his spot. Two five minute bursts a game doesn't do it for me.

bipolarbeaR
5 Dec 2009, 22:09
Hehe, you're being silly Skeeta thanks though mate, being a Mod requires the need to act mature, I simply wouldn't enjoy my time on the forums if I had to do so ;)

Anyhow, back to the topic.

This wasn't a thread to make everyone think I am a prick, it was more to see if my thoughts of Hurley's potential greatness was echoed in the hearts of many men, or just myself. I like Neagle, he has a tonne of potential as a full forward, and I know for a fact their are a whole lot of Sydney fans that wish they got him, one of my Sydney supporting friends has a man crush on him in fact. Neagle times his leads well, is quite quick off the mark, has strong marking ability and loads of natural bulk which can lead to uncanny strength when he is about 24-25.

centrelink1
5 Dec 2009, 22:54
This wasn't a thread to make everyone think I am a prick, it was more to see if my thoughts of Hurley's potential greatness was echoed in the hearts of many men, or just myself. I like Neagle, he has a tonne of potential as a full forward, and I know for a fact their are a whole lot of Sydney fans that wish they got him, one of my Sydney supporting friends has a man crush on him in fact. Neagle times his leads well, is quite quick off the mark, has strong marking ability and loads of natural bulk which can lead to uncanny strength when he is about 24-25.

Thats, kind of, almost what i said.

LeeARM
6 Dec 2009, 11:24
I wonder if we could try having a Gumbleton, Hurley, Neagle forwardline. Similar to what Knights wanted with Lloyd, Lucas, Gumbleton, Neagle this year.

I'd put Hurley in the backline for certain games though e.g. Brisbane, St.Kilda...

markfarmer
6 Dec 2009, 18:06
I don't know...but what I saw of Neagle last year....He is your FF.. He reminded me of J Brown.. I honestly rate him equal with Kirk Tippit? Thats only watching a handful of games though..

You might say he only goes in 5 min. burst, but a forward can only get a chance if its kicked toward you.... In the last game against us, he beat Tarrant a few times with extra-ordinary marking and body work.He can smash a pack.... .and was a danger if he could have gotten better supply....
Hurley is your swing-man.

bipolarbeaR
18 May 2010, 22:16
Bumped to see if anyones opinion has changed?
Mine hasn't.

Haduken
18 May 2010, 22:37
Bumped to see if anyones opinion has changed?
Mine hasn't.

How has Jay been performing in the 2's?

lamaros
18 May 2010, 22:44
I've said for a fair while that I don't think Neagle will make it.

Doesn't make it right to say that you want him to fail, though. I want him to get there, I just don't think he will.

bipolarbeaR
18 May 2010, 23:03
If it means Hurley and Gumbleton will be Carey and Reiwoldt then I do, people with shitty attitudes deserved to fail, not get by on pure talent and no hard work (BJ Penn lolz)

LeeARM
19 May 2010, 13:37
I've been willing to give Neagle a chance most of the time. He's got talent, strength and he's probably the most suited to the full forward position on our list at the moment but it all means little if he isn't playing good football. A player like him should be dominating the VFL but instead he's struggling to get the ball. What's really sad is that Hurley hasn't even been playing that well in full forward, Neagle should be using this opportunity to cement himself in that spot but instead he's not even looking like he should be Bendigo's full forward. If he doesn't lift his game soon I don't think he should be on our list by next year.

Smokin
19 May 2010, 13:54
A player like him should be dominating the VFL but instead he's struggling to get the ball.

Totally disagree.

I put him in a Fevola category - he is a full forward, and a full forward only. He leads out of the square, and will live and die by his supply.

Fev can suddenly look very ordinary when supply is cut, the same with Neagle. It can often be harder for these types to shine at a lesser level than others.

Trying to make him play further up the ground, expecting him to continually play a more defensive role (I know you need this part, but like Fev, he is a power lead up full forward who will stay deep more often than not) then he wont knock the door down at VFL level.

stugots
19 May 2010, 14:11
Neagle will be gone to GC soon enough, although from all reports sounds like he's not doing himself any favours with the down in the mouth attitude being displayed week in week out

Tony Delaney
19 May 2010, 14:29
Neagle wont make it. Happy to be proven wrong but the guy is all hype and no substance.

LocalBomber
19 May 2010, 14:45
I am tending to think that Neagle is still not quite right after groin surgery problems in the pre-season. As we all know with the big blokes (like Brown and Fevola atm), that it hampens there ability to run and kick.
Who knows what happened after that Geelong match when he was dragged down attempting to kick for goal, as he was obvioulsy injured at the time and yet came back on.
So, its either that or he hasn't recovered from being made a scapegoat for the loss by fans and media alike for the loss against Geelong.

mick7
19 May 2010, 16:52
For neagle to NOT have abs/flat stomach/guns after a few seasons of playing footy is disgraceful.

Stop eating burgers, get on the bloody bike/weights and look like a player first.

Azarity
20 May 2010, 12:08
For neagle to NOT have abs/flat stomach/guns after a few seasons of playing footy is disgraceful.

Stop eating burgers, get on the bloody bike/weights and look like a player first.

This guy was recruited because he was his father's son. From what I heard, he didn't even have much to do with his father (which is sad to hear). This might have something to do with his progression. Often a strong father figure is important is a person's development (even for footballers I would guess)...

Vtorians
20 May 2010, 13:03
This guy was recruited because he was his father's son. From what I heard, he didn't even have much to do with his father (which is sad to hear). This might have something to do with his progression. Often a strong father figure is important is a person's development (even for footballers I would guess)...

Back in sheeds last yr i saw jay & merv doing extra work after training one night so they do have a relationship as far as that goes.

I would rather see neagle in the side rather than williams who is lazier than jay anyway, & on his bendigo form some players are just not suited to that shitter style of footy. Gumby & Atko or any of our afl listed players actually, have never shown they could tear it up at that level either.

daffo
20 May 2010, 13:16
I watched the round 9 2009 game last night (ess v rich) and I remembered just how good Neagles hands were. He had about 5 one grab contested marks which were pretty damn good.
What it did also show to me that this boy has bucket loads of talent and for him not to prove himself in the 22 makes me think it's moreso an attitude flaw in his game. I don't think Neagle will make it, I think the selection commity is finally doing the right thing in not giving him free games and I would like to see him continue playing at Bendigo until he plays three or four good games in a row.
You put your best players in the hardest positions. If Hurley is good enough to play CHF then I think we would be wasting him playing back. It's a lot harder to find a gun forward then a gun defender so I say leave Hurley up forward.

Azarity
20 May 2010, 14:09
[quote=Vtorians;17812914]Back in sheeds last yr i saw jay & merv doing extra work after training one night so they do have a relationship as far as that goes.

I would rather see neagle in the side rather than williams who is lazier than jay anyway, & on his bendigo form some players are just not suited to that shitter style of footy. Gumby & Atko or any of our afl listed players actually, have never shown they could tear it up at that level either.[/quote

This may well be, perhaps this wasn't the case in his formative years...obtained from real footy website...

"The former coach took Neagle a year early when he was just 17 and badly needing to get out of Traralgon. His mother, Kerry, who had left Neagle's premiership-playing father Merv when she was 8½ months pregnant with the unborn Jay, had driven him to Melbourne and the father-son deal was done there and then. Sheedy sent the teenager with a club representative to buy shoes and a suit so he could present his latest acquisition that night at the club best-and-fairest. Kerry, with no money to buy a new outfit and no credit on her mobile telephone to announce the news to her family, drove home. She had raised her son single-handedly and at the time the boy had had little to do with his father."

bipolarbeaR
20 May 2010, 14:13

This explains why I am such a lazy prick :D

The Great Barry Besanko
20 May 2010, 22:43
If Neagle finally ever makes it, we'll be regular finalists. What's wrong with 3 tall defenders as we now have with Pears, Hooker and Fletch. All 3 young guys are agile enough to play anywhere down back and depending on match ups, we could easily swing one up forward with Neagle and Gumby. More options/flexibility.

Having a crap attitude as Neagle seems to have this early in his career is a bad sign. Unfortunately I doubt he'll ever 'get it'.

lamaros
20 May 2010, 23:10
Neagle would be one of the best FFs in the game if he worked for it. He is a lovely kick, lovely lead, lovely mark. One of the best on our list in all those areas.

But sadly it doesn't look like an AFL career motivates him that much.