View Full Version : This is Essendon - So why don't we have 50,000 members?
Red n Black Pride
12 Dec 2009, 11:03
Its extremely frustrating to me that it seems we are getting overtaken in the membership number's. We always used to number one and now Hawthorn, Collingwood and Carlton have all got more members than us by a considerable margin. Hawthorn has over 30,000 members signed up for 2010 already, while we are still on around 18,000! What's going on?
Skeeta Olly
12 Dec 2009, 11:17
This is a good explanation.
The Essendon Membership Department can sod off. Money hungry pricks. I've canceled my Essendon club membership and I've taken up an AFL Membership with Essendon Club Support.
jade_00
12 Dec 2009, 11:40
Its extremely frustrating to me that it seems we are getting overtaken in the membership number's. We always used to number one and now Hawthorn, Collingwood and Carlton have all got more members than us by a considerable margin. Hawthorn has over 30,000 members signed up for 2010 already, while we are still on around 18,000! What's going on?
Hawthorn sell 'home' memberships at two different stadia, and count them both.
Forget the membership figure - it counts for nothing.
Look at the financial reports instead.
With a few big names gone maybe its taking fringe members a little longer to renew.
I say give it a little more time. After we win the NAB cup, expect it to shoot up.
Bomberattack
12 Dec 2009, 12:35
C'mon you supporters out there, put your hands in your pockets and prove your support, it doesn't cost that much and you receive some great goodies! GO YOU BOMBERS 2010!
The_Young_Gun
12 Dec 2009, 12:42
Essendon have a much larger supporters base than Hawthorn and many others.
Hawthorn have pretty much signed up all their supporters yet nearly all their games bearly fill half the stadiums capasity. And its fair to say most of Essendons matches either fill capasity or are flocked with a crowd ratio of 3 Essendon supporters to 1 (eg. Essendon v Freo Home games) and still get over a half filled arena.
If I remember Hawks had one of the worst membership numbers before they won their Premiership and yet their crowd numbers didn't seem to change after they won it even when their membership numbers boomed.
As said above, the only thing that matters are the financial reports at the end of the year and Essendon kick ass in that department.
centrelink1
12 Dec 2009, 13:25
Whats the link for out of state membership again?
The Donners
12 Dec 2009, 13:26
My membership renewal is on the fridge, I just say to the mrs that'll do for my Christmas present every year, simple.
jade_00
12 Dec 2009, 13:29
My membership renewal is on the fridge, I just say to the mrs that'll do for my Christmas present every year, simple.
Yeah me too - every year like clockwork! :thumbsu:
Wanna B Hird
12 Dec 2009, 13:41
Yeah me too, the daughter has shown a bit of intrest (thanks Gus) so shes also got one for christmas.
FrankGrimes
12 Dec 2009, 13:44
This is a good explanation.
seeing how the club support counts towards the final number i am not sure of your point
Skeeta Olly
12 Dec 2009, 13:52
seeing how the club support counts towards the final number i am not sure of your point
The quote not straight forward enough for you?
In saying that, it's obviously not the only reason.
Rosstickle
12 Dec 2009, 13:53
Carlton, Collingwood and Hawthorn have all their bandwagon/fairweather supporters signed up atm. I'd say you've just stagnatted due to the last 5 years being your worst since the 70's. Once you start regularly notching up 13/14/15 wins seasons again you should leapfrog all of them except maybe Collingwood.
stay true
12 Dec 2009, 13:53
I'm fairly sure there was a pretty big delay in the club sending out the renewal packages this year so this may have a bit of an impact on the numbers so far.
Donakebab
12 Dec 2009, 14:37
Attendance figures, both total and average, are misleading when you have an extra few games to bump figures, including the grand final with 100k. The reason why the 4 game Tasmania memberships should be counted separately is because they are only 4 games. Essendon play home games at 2 different stadiums, maybe we could have 'G memberships for our few games there to slant numbers in our favour too. :rolleyes:
Continued interest? You're the one scouring opposition boards looking for a mention of your club. Sure Hawthorn are in a decent place right now, but it won't last so enjoy it while you can.
Now back on topic, does anyone know if AFL memberships are counted straight away, and if not when they are?
Hawthorn sell 'home' memberships at two different stadia, and count them both.
Forget the membership figure - it counts for nothing.
Look at the financial reports instead.
If I remember Hawks had one of the worst membership numbers before they won their Premiership
I did attempt to address/correct you on these points, but apparently that's against some kind of rule you guys have so my response got deleted (even though it was an entirely factual post without a skerik of editorial, and dealt strictly with the comments quoted sans any unsolicited expansion).
Oh well, it's your board I suppose.
Enjoy your theorising, guys!
ps- (you can do a google search for "Hawthorn Football club net profit 2009" and check our membership history on our wikipedia page if you find yourselves craving the answers to the intriguing questions posed above regarding the membership base and financial health of the Hawthorn Football Club.)
Ben the Gooner
12 Dec 2009, 15:19
I did attempt to address/correct you on these points, but apparently that's against some kind of rule you guys have so my response got deleted (even though it was an entirely factual post without a skerik of editorial, and dealt strictly with the comments quoted sans any unsolicited expansion).
Oh well, it's your board I suppose.
Enjoy your theorising, guys!
ps- (you can do a google search for "Hawthorn Football club net profit 2009" and check our membership history on our wikipedia page if you find yourselves craving the answers to the intriguing questions posed above regarding the membership base and financial health of the Hawthorn Football Club.)
There was nothing wrong with your post apart from the fact that it was off topic. I realise you were responding to other posts, but an in-depth discusion of Hawthorn's membership numbers is for the main board, Bay 13, or your board. Not ours.
One line comments about another club's numbers are OK, but I don't want this thread running into pages and pages of talk about Hawthorn or Carlton or Port Adelaide or anyone else.
Fair enough, as I said it's your board and you can run it as you see fit, but their comments were only adding to the discussion by making erroneous assumptions which need to be corrected if the convo is to stay on a constructive track.
If you just want to write off the difference between our membership and yours as a trick of the light that's fine, but IMO that's not the way to achieve a membership reflective of your undeniably huge supporter base.
Ben the Gooner
12 Dec 2009, 15:41
Fair enough, as I said it's your board and you can run it as you see fit, but their comments were only adding to the discussion by making erroneous assumptions which need to be corrected if the convo is to stay on a constructive track.
If you just want to write off the difference between our membership and yours as a trick of the light that's fine, but IMO that's not the way to achieve a membership reflective of your undeniably huge supporter base.
It's clearly not a trick of the light. I don't think you can deny we have a bigger supporter base, but you have been more effective in turning supporter numbers into members. On the other hand, having Tasmanian members in addition to the normal Victorian members no doubt adds to your total.
I have no doubt that if you made a hypothetical comparison between Essendon and Hawthorn where both clubs had the same number of members, you'd find that we'd have a greater number of games worth of entry, given you have your standard 11 game Victorian membership (7 home games + 4 'make-up' games) as well as your standard 4 game Tasmanian membership. Our standard memberships have at least 11 games' worth of entry. (Hopefully that makes sense)
I'm hoping that the addition of Robson to our club will play a large role in us utilising the huge financial clout and huge supporter base we have.
While you're here, mess, I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on Robson, if you don't mind.:thumbsu:
dave_27
12 Dec 2009, 15:49
Hawthorns membership numbers are very suspect.
They are a long way off in term of numbers attending games than the like of Essendon, Carlton and Collingwood despite having nearly 10k more members.
It's clearly not a trick of the light. I don't think you can deny we have a bigger supporter base, but you have been more effective in turning supporter numbers into members. On the other hand, having Tasmanian members in addition to the normal Victorian members no doubt adds to your total.
No arguments with any of that. I'd like to think that the difference between our actual supporter bases is reducing, but only time will tell that much. It's taken you a long time to build what you have, but you've got to think we'd have to be catching up after the last 50 years we've had... (Sorry, crapping on about the Hawks again, my bad)
I think in a national competition it's only right to become less parochial and embrace a "sister city" to represent, and I'd be surprised if it doesn't become more common. Let's face it, 95% of your supporters don't live anywhere near Essendon anyway...
Seems like you guys might be in the mix for the lionshare of NT support, which would be a huge boon for any club.
I have no doubt that if you made a hypothetical comparison between Essendon and Hawthorn where both clubs had the same number of members, you'd find that we'd have a greater number of games worth of entry, given you have your standard 11 game Victorian membership (7 home games + 4 'make-up' games) as well as your standard 4 game Tasmanian membership. Our standard memberships have at least 11 games' worth of entry. (Hopefully that makes sense)
Yeah, it does get a bit complicated on further inspection, doesn't it? Haha!
That's why I do think looking at the overall takings from membership is a better indication. You do have to count the Tasmanian 4 game memberships, but they're obviously cheaper than the 11 game one. Then again, the 4 game membership would be more expensive than the no-game membership, which is what Tasmanian/interstate Essendon fans would buy.
The range of prices available for memberships evens it out (don't you offer limited game memberships?)as one measure of support between clubs, but at the end of the day the profits is the telling factor.
The membership tally is really just a show of commitment at the end of the day, and Essendon have a better culture of displaying commitment by turning out to games than by buying memberships.
I'm hoping that the addition of Robson to our club will play a large role in us utilising the huge financial clout and huge supporter base we have.
No doubt. I don't think you'll have to worry too much about any off-field matters as long as he's at the helm.
While you're here, mess, I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on Robson, if you don't mind.:thumbsu:
I'm absolutely ****ing spewing he jumped ship, just quietly...
They are a long way off in term of numbers attending games than the like of Essendon, Carlton and Collingwood despite having nearly 10k more members.
That they make you suspicious does not make them suspect.
Why dont we have 50,000 members ?
Who cares ! As long as we are in the top 4 or 5 then things are going along ok. There is no grand prize for most members other than to make the unsecure types feel comfortable.
It is a bit like the 16 premierships , personally i think a few Essendon supporters try and get too much out of this as well. I do not know about everyone else but anything that happened before i started going to Essendon games in 1974 really does not mean a lot. It was not like i was there to see it.
Ben the Gooner
12 Dec 2009, 16:14
<snip>
Agree with what you've said there, mate. Thanks for the insight on Robson.:thumbsu: I know I'm absolutely stoked to have him on-board, and his comments when announcing our new facilities made me even more excited about the next few years. If he can drag Hawthorn from where they were in 2004 to where they are now, imagine what he can do with our starting point.
He'll do well by you for sure. We maybe weren't as hopeless as you think off the field in 2004, but you certainly can't underestimate the strides he's helped us make since then.
Cheers for the chat Ben, that'll probably do me. Have a good thread! :thumbsu:
Mess,
I dare you to post a youtube of the 2006 Champions League final. :D
Back on topic, membership numbers are really something I couldn't give a rat's about. As mentioned earlier, the EFC marketing department are doing fk all for us in terms of value for money. Let's judge our strength of support through our average attendances rather than membership numbers.
I can tell you know that there's a big chance we could pip a 60,000 average with so many blockbuster games fixtured.
jade_00
12 Dec 2009, 17:54
That they make you suspicious does not make them suspect.
Very true. I actually don't have a problem with Hawthorn's venture into other markets and new ways of thinking. I actually applauded them for it - until I discovered that many Hawthorn fans (not including yourself from what I can see), are absolute flogs.
I have NO DOUBT that Hawthorn's membership figures are accurate, but in answering my fellow Bomber supporter pointed out that it counts for absolutely nothing and that revenue / profit / crowds is where you need to be looking. I'd add that Hawthorn, particularly lately, are performing well here as well.
I hope it continues because I like having strong opponents, both on and off the field.
spiraldiver
12 Dec 2009, 20:11
Nothing like a few wins on the board to help boost the membership numbers. I think we've done a pretty damn good job to keep the numbers around the 40,000 mark considering the crap we've served up on the football field in recent years. Hawthorn's numbers jumped up not just because they were winning again, but also because they have some genuinely exciting players that people want to go to matches to see. Their marketing has been superb and the results are sensational.
I use the Advantage membership system so mine is automatically renewed at the end of each system. Even with three recent hefty rent rises, no pay increase in three years, a struggle with a persistent illness during the past year and the arrival of my first child in August, I'm still supporting the Dons through thick and thin.
OzBomber
12 Dec 2009, 20:22
Money is a bit tight now with Christmas around. I'll be picking up my membership sometime in the new year.
I live in Sydney + am poor. That's my excuse.
No there not. The Hawks membership numbers are auditored by the AFL. Hawthorn are just better at converting its supporters to members. Sending out invoices after the 'official' launch and not having the website up and running when it said it was must have an impact on membership.
Simon_Nesbit
12 Dec 2009, 21:11
Robson: Great 'bloke', always 100% committed to his job (just be aware when he's achieved what he set out to do, there's always another challenge - I don't think he's spent more than 5 years in any one place). A master of change, he's very, very good at what he does. Not sold on his ability to maintain a team at the top, but you could well see rapid expansion over the next 5 years. Extremely disappointed he went to you, though understand his reasons (do it once, might be lucky, do it twice.....)
Hawks Membership: Every year it comes up, and I tend to laugh. Combine 80s success (kids now mid 20s), exciting players, team success, and a well-oiled marketing/membership department and it starts to make sense. We launched an auto-renewal in 2007 (I think yours is called Advantage?) - which reduced our non-renewers from 33% to 21%, a substantial difference. Tassie is still an establishing market, pretty much doubling every year - membership is an almost completely foreign concept to Tasweigans.
5-game interstate memberships are offered by "all" clubs, Syd and Bris both had allowance for 4-game Victorian memberships to be included. When Hawks went to Tassie, we got same allowance. Pies complained and now there are a couple of clubs (Carlton, Richmond, Collingwood, you?) who offer 3-game memberships included in the total.
Regardless, Eagles make an absolute packet out of their memberships...almost double ours (and everyone else's pretty much).
Crowds: We have averaged ~50,000 at MCG last 3 seasons (yes, with success) - on a team-by-team basis we outperform all except Coll against everyone except the "Big 4" matchups.
On-topic - What limitations do you have with Etihad? Are your memberships capped due to capacity? From an outsider's perspective that's the "most obvious" reason.
bipolarbeaR
12 Dec 2009, 21:58
The amount of Hawks member in Tasmania is redic!
I open the mailbox some mornings and there will be advertising on what Hawks members will receive, and the benefits etc. I know heaps of Hawks supporters here. It's strange, in Hobart it seems the main supporting bases are:
bombermick
12 Dec 2009, 22:28
I think Essendon has one of the largest groups of casual supporters in the league. If you ask your friends who they support, most are probably either Collingwood or Essendon, but I know many Essendon fans who only go to a couple of games a year. Whereas the Carlton or Collingwood fans tend to be more diehard.
Red n Black Pride
13 Dec 2009, 07:23
Who cares ! As long as we are in the top 4 or 5 then things are going along ok.
I think a lot of people think it's important Essendon remain in at least the top two powerhouse clubs in Victoria, and membership number's have always been a pretty good reflection of that!! It's also frustrating that we have probably the largest fan base in the country and we can't seem to convert that into memberships. I understand previous posts regarding people wanting to see Hawthorn play beacause of some of the players they've got, but surely some of our youngster's eg: Hurley, Pears, Ryder, are generating excitement! So I look forward to out number's increasing and us returning to where we belong - at the top!
Who cares ! As long as we are in the top 4 or 5 then things are going along ok.
I think a lot of people think it's important Essendon remain in at least the top two powerhouse clubs in Victoria, and membership number's have always been a pretty good reflection of that!! It's also frustrating that we have probably the largest fan base in the country and we can't seem to convert that into memberships. I understand previous posts regarding people wanting to see Hawthorn play beacause of some of the players they've got, but surely some of our youngster's eg: Hurley, Pears, Ryder, are generating excitement! So I look forward to out number's increasing and us returning to where we belong - at the top!
Well explain why it is important then.
Why do we have to have the most members ?
Is it only so you can say to all your mates we are the biggest club ?
Hawthorns membership is where it is partly becasue of the period where they had limited success. They retained a reasonable base and numbers surged again when they looked like being a serious team again and then to top it off the Tasmanian deal has given them aditional membership.
I doubt that it is Buddy and Cyril brining in 10,000 extra memebrs.
You will find that if we start finishing in the top 6 on a regualr basis then we will more than likely gain an extra 5,000 to 10,000 memebrs. You can retain the base pretty well but playing regular finals is the only way to keep the 50/50 supporters on board.
dave_27
13 Dec 2009, 08:39
Crowds: We have averaged ~50,000 at MCG last 3 seasons (yes, with success) - on a team-by-team basis we outperform all except Coll against everyone except the "Big 4" matchups.
Huh? No you havent.
Try again.
The fact the Hawks are killing it in Tasmania is an egg on the face of the North Melbourne Football Club. I'm predicting them to struggle even more over the next 5 years and will be worse off than the GC or any potential half-move to Tasmania.
Beerfish
13 Dec 2009, 10:11
until I discovered that many Hawthorn fans (not including yourself from what I can see), are absolute flogs.
Oh, he has his moments sure enough.. ;)
I live in Sydney + am poor. That's my excuse.
I live in Perth. That's my excuse. I'm not poor but the fact that the team only comes over here twice a year at best in the regular season makes membership a waste of money for me. I'd rather spend the money on merch and support the club that way.. along with my voice, blood, sweat and tears of course.
Simon_Nesbit
13 Dec 2009, 13:46
Huh? No you havent.
Try again.
Crowds from home games at MCG in 08 and 09 (sorted by descending crowd)
v Geelong
Hawks - 100012
Hawks - 86179
Pies - 78206
Hawks - 69564
Blues - 55057
v Melbourne
Essendon - 46334
Collingwood - 43169
Richmond - 40765
Hawthorn - 40141
Hawthorn - 39395
v North
Collingwood - 51990
Hawthorn - 42508
Richmond - 39292
Richmond - 30604
v St.Kilda
Hawks - 77002
Carlton - 55658
Collingwood - 52135
v Bulldogs
Hawks - 76703
Demons a little disappointing for us, otherwise backs up the comment.
Skeeta Olly
13 Dec 2009, 13:50
Looks like we've found out why we don't have 50,000 members.
zaharakamania
13 Dec 2009, 13:54
essendon have a huge supporter base nationwide, but what does a membership offer those interstate? other than knowing they are helping keep the club from becoming a financial basket case (again), which should be enough of a reason however many wouldnt/couldnt remember the days not that long ago when had we continued down the road we were on, well i hate to think.:(
so if you can afford it, do it, its money well spent imho
Beerfish
13 Dec 2009, 15:07
I should probably qualify my earlier post by saying that if our club was ever in some sort of financial trouble, I'd donate/join up in a second. Until that day comes (hopefully it never will) I'll continue to just buy the merch and go to the couple of games a year I actually get a chance to attend.
Blowfly
13 Dec 2009, 15:26
I have assumed that Essendon haven't hit 50,000 memberships because our home ground is at the Docklands and not the MCG.
With only Anzac Day as the exception, I knew I could rock up on game day at the G, without pre-booking tickets, membership card in hand, with non-member or opposition supporter mates and all get in together.
Now if I tried that at Docklands, I risk being shut out. 50,000 members aren't all going to fit.
Since going to the footy now requires more organisation and pre-thought I tend to pick and choose select games. Going to the footy has become a hassle.
If Essendon moved back to the MCG I would buy membership in a heartbeat, but haven't done so since 2001.
dave_27
13 Dec 2009, 15:32
Crowds from home games at MCG in 08 and 09 (sorted by descending crowd)
v Geelong
Hawks - 100012
Hawks - 86179
Pies - 78206
Hawks - 69564
Blues - 55057
v Melbourne
Essendon - 46334
Collingwood - 43169
Richmond - 40765
Hawthorn - 40141
Hawthorn - 39395
v North
Collingwood - 51990
Hawthorn - 42508
Richmond - 39292
Richmond - 30604
v St.Kilda
Hawks - 77002
Carlton - 55658
Collingwood - 52135
v Bulldogs
Hawks - 76703
Demons a little disappointing for us, otherwise backs up the comment.
These are finals attendances, not home games.
Try again.
2007 - 2009 HOME & AWAY match attendances v NON BIG 4 Victorian clubs:
v WB
Essendon: 45,283, 47,641, 37,294, 47,120
Hawthorn: 31,982, 32,734, 19,378, 36,827
v St K
Essendon: 47,605, 46,792, 46,161, 45,594, 41,410
Hawthorn: 36,069, 37,847, 41,886, 20,011
v Melb
Essendon: 47,552, 46,334, 42,087
Hawthorn: 43,197, 40,144, 41,341, 39,395
v NM:
Essendon: 42,730, 48,100, 33,842
Hawthorn: 28,481, 19,114, 39,816, 42,508, 34,893, 15,008
v Geel:
Essendon: 51,15, 50,636, 48,852
Hawthorn: 17,120, 86,179, 69,564, 64,356
So Geelong is the only opponent you can claim to have outdrawn Essendon in games against in the past 3 seasons.
Thefore you have NOT on a team-by-team basis we outperform all except Coll against everyone except the "Big 4" matchups.
Get your facts correct next time. :)
BIGFELLA11
13 Dec 2009, 16:19
Thinking about getting a membership for Dome games. Only problem is i work Friday nights and for g games use my MCC pass.
Lance Uppercut
13 Dec 2009, 17:14
****ed if I know, but I've been buying two a year for the last 5 years. My fiance was originally a Crows supporter (from SA), so it's all part of bringing her into the light. She doesn't go a lot, but every little helps, & she now supports Essendon, so it's worth it
TeamHurley
13 Dec 2009, 17:24
These are finals attendances, not home games.
Try again.
2007 - 2009 HOME & AWAY match attendances v NON BIG 4 Victorian clubs:
v WB
Essendon: 45,283, 47,641, 37,294, 47,120
Hawthorn: 31,982, 32,734, 19,378, 36,827
v St K
Essendon: 47,605, 46,792, 46,161, 45,594, 41,410
Hawthorn: 36,069, 37,847, 41,886, 20,011
v Melb
Essendon: 47,552, 46,334, 42,087
Hawthorn: 43,197, 40,144, 41,341, 39,395
v NM:
Essendon: 42,730, 48,100, 33,842
Hawthorn: 28,481, 19,114, 39,816, 42,508, 34,893, 15,008
v Geel:
Essendon: 51,15, 50,636, 48,852
Hawthorn: 17,120, 86,179, 69,564, 64,356
So Geelong is the only opponent you can claim to have outdrawn Essendon in games against in the past 3 seasons.
Thefore you have NOT on a team-by-team basis we outperform all except Coll against everyone except the "Big 4" matchups.
Get your facts correct next time. :)
Nice Ownage.
Simon_Nesbit
13 Dec 2009, 20:07
fair enough, weren't my stats - though the comment was last two years, and you rarely play at the MCG or so it seemed anyway.
Donakebab
13 Dec 2009, 20:18
So we play those teams at a smaller stadium yet pull bigger crowds. Nice.
Ludwig van Bertstare
13 Dec 2009, 21:09
Who cares ! As long as we are in the top 4 or 5 then things are going along ok. There is no grand prize for most members other than to make the unsecure types feel comfortable.
It is a bit like the 16 premierships , personally i think a few Essendon supporters try and get too much out of this as well. I do not know about everyone else but anything that happened before i started going to Essendon games in 1974 really does not mean a lot. It was not like i was there to see it.
Exactly. It's just a dick measuring contest.
Bombermania
14 Dec 2009, 04:23
Two things
1 the club took its time in sending out membership renewals
2 geez the increase in membership cost made the Westpac Bank look like Robin Hood
now i need a nice banana smoothie
No there not. The Hawks membership numbers are auditored by the AFL. Hawthorn are just better at converting its supporters to members. Sending out invoices after the 'official' launch and not having the website up and running when it said it was must have an impact on membership.
Agree. Rather than bagging Hawthorn we should be copying their efforts. I guess Robson will help.
Hawthorn have beem closer to the premiership window and have Tasmania adding 6,000 odd, we are probably 1-2 seasons away from getting the fringe fans really excited.
Go Dons 2010.
Skeeta Olly
14 Dec 2009, 10:00
Exactly. It's just a dick measuring contest.
Pretty much what I was going to say.
Gorkamorka
14 Dec 2009, 23:19
In fairness, Hawthorn's attendance has increased ten fold in the past few seasons. 86,000 and 70,000 against Geelong. 76,000 against the pies. 70,000 against the blues. 78,000 against us. Good on them. But they will always still be a minnow compared to us.
Maybe, but we have only 19,000 members. Hawthorn have 34,500 and Collinood 30,000. Somethings not right is it?
tha Freak
15 Dec 2009, 21:01
To think Hawthorn could even compete with us in terms of support is a joke. They are and always will be 'a liitle club'. They are shit and not worth mentioning in terms of the Big 3.
Hawthorn = 15000 members 45000 pets
Beerfish
15 Dec 2009, 23:12
They don't actually do pet memberships.
But like Guzz says... that's not to say they don't sign up their pets as humans. :)
dave_27
16 Dec 2009, 04:30
Maybe, but we have only 19,000 members. Hawthorn have 34,500 and Collinood 30,000. Somethings not right is it?
Well to be fair Collingwoods supporter base is mobilised atm, they finished top 4 this year and now after the additions of Jolley and Ball genuinely believe that they CAN win the premiership and are probably expecting to a little to be honest.
There confidence as a supporter base is sky high, they will smash through 50k on the wave of hype surrounding that club atm.
I cant remember the last time we (Essendon supporters) went into a season thinking we could realistically win the premiership (2004 at a stretch? otherwise 2001)
This is where we are at, most Essendon supporters are a little unsure about next year and probably hoping to scrape into the 8 again.
It's clearly not a trick of the light.
BAD admin Ben The Gooner, i for one would have appreciated the initial comments from this intelligent Hawks supporter above the pages of fighting posts that eventuated.
take this as a warning, any more and i'll be calling for your demotion Sir ;)
Donakebab
18 Dec 2009, 21:20
Delusional of grandeur just like every other Hawks supporter on here. If you're going to list clubs in order of financial standings, at least get the top 4 right.
It's going to take more then one bumper financial season to catch any of the above. War Bonds pwn your shitty minnow club.
Donakebab
18 Dec 2009, 23:52
Might have been 'leading the way' for the last 2 years as far as turn over and membership goes, but no way are you ahead in total cash and assests.
And lol at rating us with Carlton, until they pay back the AFL and other creditors they shouldn't even be mentioned.
dave_27
19 Dec 2009, 07:07
More members, more income, more assets, more cash.
Source?
This is all I could find as of Feb 2009:
http://i40.tinypic.com/9tlflj.png
Hawthorn have been leading the way off-field for quite a while now.
Hawthorn have done a tremendous job and it should be very proud given where it was 13 years ago but the consequence of this is you only play 7 HOME games in Melbourne.
I dont know if that is exactly leading the way when a Melbourne club has to sell 4 home games a year to make million dollar profits and attract another 10k+ interstate members because it isnt big enough to generate attendances and members in its home town.
Source?
This is all I could find as of Feb 2009:
Hawthorn have done a tremendous job and it should be very proud given where it was 13 years ago but the consequence of this is you only play 7 HOME games in Melbourne.
I dont know if that is exactly leading the way when a Melbourne club has to sell 4 home games a year to make million dollar profits and attract another 10k+ interstate members because it isnt big enough to generate attendances and members in its home town.
Why are you guys so insecure?
I think the majority of Hawthorn supporters realise Essendon has a far greater supporter base than most Victorian clubs - including Hawthorn.
Atm, Hawthorn are seriously capitalising from success on the field in unison with effective off field management (marketing, ect).. It's a cycle; nothing lasts forever.
Rather than diminish the efforts of an inferiorly supportered club, why don't you recognise the obvious success Hawthorn have developed and give credit where credit is due..?
dave_27
19 Dec 2009, 09:03
Why are you guys so insecure?
Insecure?
When insecure Hawthorn supporters come onto an ESSENDON forum posting non factual or unsourced statements in this thread about there club in comparison to Essendon then we have every right to pull them up.
Rather than diminish the efforts of an inferiorly supportered club, why don't you recognise the obvious success Hawthorn have developed and give credit where credit is due..?
I think most people in this thread have been respectful to Hawthorns achievements off the field.
The_Young_Gun
19 Dec 2009, 13:55
Looks like the Bombers have the least ammount of Debt just looking at that chart.
But who am I trying to convince here...
yodellinhank
23 Dec 2009, 12:16
Can anybody tell me what the arrangement is for the Hawthorn compensatory melbourne games? Do we receive any money they pay for their memberships for hosting them when it is our home game?
I think most people in this thread have been respectful to Hawthorns achievements off the field.
Yeah! Now F*** off! :rolleyes::p
dave_27
23 Dec 2009, 20:56
Current figure 24,727.
We are now ahead of last year figures at the same point. As of the 23rd Dec 2007 we had 23,118 and last year 24,082.
Back on track for 40k after a very slow start.
quotemokc
24 Dec 2009, 02:22
I am an Essendon supporter and i am probably one of many who dont buy memberships as I live in Perth and see little use in it since I don't get seats to games. :(
Frothies Mcveigh
24 Dec 2009, 08:30
Does anyone think we can surpass 40,523, or previous total tally? I think we can.
Current figure 24,727.
We are now ahead of last year figures at the same point. As of the 23rd Dec 2007 we had 23,118 and last year 24,082.
Back on track for 40k after a very slow start.
Thats sweet cakes i was just gonna ask that question :)
I still have to add my 3 Memberships to that tally 1 of which is a new member
^_^ ............45,000 come On :thumbsu: