View Full Version : Cupido terrible.

Stocka
25 Apr 2003, 17:52
Why did we ever draft him?

SpecialBruce
25 Apr 2003, 19:14
He is going to be a star - we look like fools.

He was unlucky not to get the Anzac Medal.

curator
25 Apr 2003, 21:12
I was a critic of Cupidos only because he used to strut around as though he was bigger in name and stature than he really was, but barring the unfortunate run of injuries he had, he still had a heap of potential. Today he showed just how much potential he has. Perhaps in hind sight he could have stayed on the list and something else sorted out in the trading period where we ended up with Blake C. as a replacement, but nobody has a crystal ball to foresee further down the track.
Good luck to him... his potential maybe at Essendon for all to see over the next few years.

Howdy
25 Apr 2003, 22:16
Feels fantastic when he is in your fantasy footy side.!!

BrisGirl
25 Apr 2003, 23:40
When Leigh let Cupido go, I backed Leigh all the way.

There has to be a reason, and we have such a wonderful bunch of men who get along and they are there for each other game in, and game out.

Cupido suits Essendon, and Sheedy specifically looks for individual stars within his group of players. I have no doubt Cupido will do very well at Essendon, and he will have a great career there, but I can only think that he was not for us.

Good luck to him, and we can look forward to our young men and their careers with us.....Shattock, Brennan, McGrath, Morrison.....etc...etc.

pedrothelioness
26 Apr 2003, 09:14
Brisbane - I don't really want to think about that. It's all behind me now and I'm at the club I've always wanted to be at.

I dont want any player who doesnt want to be a 100% brisbane player. The homesickness excuse is just an excuse, if theses boys are tough enough to play afl at the professional level, they should be tough enough to live two states away with the communication means that are available. i haveb't lived at home since i was 17, and I'm 23 now, these boys need to toughen up and realise that football is their job.

Mr Ripper
26 Apr 2003, 09:36
'Cept that Bubba wanted to stay...

Would have come a whole lot cheaper than Caracella, too. ;)

OldLion
26 Apr 2003, 15:28
Certainly Melbourne-based Lions fans were always keen about Cupido - no substitute for class - and were not privy to the locker room perceptions/realities. It always seemed a waste of his talent to be languishing in the QAFL and the best that we could do was to create a win-win somewhere - similar to Headland. So over to the powers-that-be in the club. What have they done ?

The bottom line is that we've lost Headland and Cupido and gained Caracella and, because of the Blues' ( or that egomaniac Elliot ) stupidity, Brennan. We have a successful, talented but ageing squad with a great home ground advantage. Our core players are at their prime but we need potential 100+ game players to remain with the club. Headland and maybe Cupido fell into this category .. and they're gone. Plus the HUGE pressure from the Melbourne based clubs to basically break up the squad and get some of the pickings. As a Royboy, I have experienced first hand the double dealings and sanctimonious waffle from 'visionary' club presidents, and, as the Riewoldt saga revealed, these guys will do anything to cannibalise the competition for their own ends.

How will it pan out ? I suspect by next year, the Melbourne clubs will have got their way , suffer the consequential loss of TV revenues and the Roos and Dogs will be under more pressure when that contract is renegotiated, as it seems to be THE prime revenue source. Also they will have vowed never to let the Lions get too strong again. So treasure the moments now and get into some local footy for your own sanity.

Slax
26 Apr 2003, 22:06
One match does not make a star and I still believe that he will have injury problems throughout his career. Players that are prone early will always be prone to injuries, plus he's still soft.

BrisGirl
26 Apr 2003, 23:05
Originally posted by Slax
One match does not make a star and I still believe that he will have injury problems throughout his career. Players that are prone early will always be prone to injuries

Richardson from Richmond comes to mind

Denno
27 Apr 2003, 20:24
Originally posted by Slax
One match does not make a star and I still believe that he will have injury problems throughout his career. Players that are prone early will always be prone to injuries,

So on that basis we should have got rid of Voss?

WC should not have got Judd?

I reckon we stuffed up getting rid of Cupido from Day 1 of the move, and Fri just reinforced that view.

I disagree with Matthews on this one - we WILL lose out in the long run :mad:

Paul D
28 Apr 2003, 14:50
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
'Cept that Bubba wanted to stay...

I think "wanted" is a strong word. Des Headland "wanted" to stay as well.

In Cupido's words from the Herald Sun on Saturday:
"Ask Cupido what it feels like to finally play a biggie at the 'G in his home town and realise what he missed up in Brisbane, he replies: "It makes you wonder, doesn't it? It makes you think a bit."

"Brisbane - I don't really want to think about that. It's all behind me now and I'm at the club I've always wanted to be at."

Enough said.

cjwalkley
28 Apr 2003, 17:27
Cupido may be a lose and Caracella may be a dud, but it's early yet. Cupido still has the physical and mental inadequacies that may hinder his career, and Caracella could come to terms with the Lions game plan. Who knows?

On the flip side if we could have swapped Headland and Cupido for Brennan, then I would do this in an instant. Brennan may be something very special, the signs are all looking good!

ian68
28 Apr 2003, 17:59
He is still arrogant, and it will bring him unstuck. Wait til Essendon lose a game because he sprayed 1. 8 for the night. Carracella will force his way back and by the end of the year it will be Damian who?

Maverick
28 Apr 2003, 22:06
At the end of the day.....reason why Bubba got traded was cos Leigh did not like him.

Attitude problem or no attitude.....as Gary Lyon said on the weekend....he's got attitude and I like that!!!

Matthews also wanted Aker out of the club.

Trading talented young players....think about it Leigh.

SpecialBruce
28 Apr 2003, 22:23
Originally posted by Maverick

Trading talented young players.....

.....For duds.

NathanD
29 Apr 2003, 11:23
The Lions can't have their cake and eat it too. If we hadn't done such a deal, then we wouldn't ended up with Brennan via Pick 3. If Matthews decides he can do without Cupido on the list, then ce la vie. I wish Cupido every success at the Dons, at least he's where he wants to be and is playing senior footy.

OK, Caracella hasn't done much yet and may end up as trade bait if he can't cut it. Who knows he might develop a grittier, harder side to his game and end up as the logical replacement for McRae? Whatever. Cupido was part of the deal that got us to Brennan. I think it's a (and I don't like using this term) "win-win"

kimp
2 May 2003, 07:01
It's simply not true that Lethal wants rid of Aka. Yes he is frustrated by his media carryings on but he certainly respects his game.

As for Cupido, the boy wanted to go home and Dessy wanted to go home we organised a deal to not lose too badly out of that. I can't see a problem. Exactly where would Cupido fit into the team now anyway?

Knowing Lethal's opinion of Brennan I am not concerned. Why should we deal with one more ego?

Bjay
2 May 2003, 11:13
Originally posted by kimp
It's simply not true that Lethal wants rid of Aka. Yes he is frustrated by his media carryings on but he certainly respects his game.

As for Cupido, the boy wanted to go home and Dessy wanted to go home we organised a deal to not lose too badly out of that. I can't see a problem. Exactly where would Cupido fit into the team now anyway?

Knowing Lethal's opinion of Brennan I am not concerned. Why should we deal with one more ego?

Too right, mate!!

I think we came out on top of that deal. Why would we try to force players to play for us when there are plenty of other good'uns who are very happy to be here?

Eagle Eye
2 May 2003, 11:21
[The homesickness excuse is just an excuse, if theses boys are tough enough to play afl at the professional level, they should be tough enough to live two states away with the communication means that are available. i haveb't lived at home since i was 17, and I'm 23 now, these boys need to toughen up and realise that football is their job. [/B][/QUOTE]

While I do not know the reasons why you have lived away from home since 17 - I assume it was your choice. In the case of 17 y.o. draftees they find out where they are going in a "ballot" - they're here today, gone tomorrow. One second it's elation - I'm drafted, then reality clicks in and I'm now 1,700 kms away from the biggest support network I've ever had and probably a major reason why I got drafted.

Nick Reiwoldt probably knew from the end of the National U/18 Carnival that he was going to St Kilda so at least he had a couple of months to adjust - and he appears to have done so very well. Many others do not.

Players like Headland and Cupido might use it as an excuse to get more $, however I think Headland said from Day 1 he wanted to stay at Freo - he even turned up at the pre-draft interview with the Lions staff in a Freo polo shirt.

If they truely struggle being away from home, then send them back and get a replacement that wants to be in Qld.

The solution is to continue to work on developing the Qld players we have now and the local young talent.

OldLion
2 May 2003, 12:08
Originally posted by Eagle Eye
The solution is to continue to work on developing the Qld players we have now and the local young talent.

I agree, but wasn't that the issue with Reiwoldt ? If someone is REALLY good, suddenly the rules change. If the team get REALLY good, suddenly the rules change.

Eagle Eye
2 May 2003, 14:21
That wasn't exactly the case with Reiwoldt - he lived on the Gold Coast, but outside the nominated radius from the Brisbane GPO and therefore Brisbane could not take him pre-draft as a "Priority Pick".

The Lions tried, albeit unsuccessfully, to have the 50 km (I think) radius extended so they could grab him before the draft. Because they couldn't get Nick they nominated Charman as their priority pick.

MSB ROYS
2 May 2003, 14:51
I think one of the reasons that Reiwoldt went to the Saints (or other Melb) clubs willingly was that thet could promise him a high profile in Melb (like Buckley). He is already on the footy show and will be an even bigger name in the future. There is no doubt that a player can earn much more money in endorsements away from Qld.

Also maybe he just wanted to play in Melbourne.... and there is nothing wrong with that!

luthor
2 May 2003, 21:15
Originally posted by MSB ROYS
I think one of the reasons that Reiwoldt went to the Saints (or other Melb) clubs willingly was that thet could promise him a high profile in Melb (like Buckley). He is already on the footy show and will be an even bigger name in the future. There is no doubt that a player can earn much more money in endorsements away from Qld.

Also maybe he just wanted to play in Melbourne.... and there is nothing wrong with that!

Exactly.

Which demonstrates why the player retention allowance is justified.

There are not too many Queensland produced players who are killing themselves to "get home". There's a lot of glamour associated with playing in Melbourne, not to mention the "collateral" $$$$ benefits.l

On the other hand, the homesick factor is a real liability for us and the Swans.

It's a tribute to the spirit in our team that so many of them actually took PAY CUTS to keep the Lions outfit basically in one piece.