15 Dec 2009, 09:23
Shit name, but good luck to him.

Spikey
15 Dec 2009, 09:44
He's a lock to make it

[/terrible pun]

Wahooti Fandango
15 Dec 2009, 09:47
Two Taites in the one team. We are definitely in the 21st Century.

Slattery_20
15 Dec 2009, 09:51
Do you reckon they'll play both of them, or will they...

wait for it...

rota(y/i)te

Skeeta Olly
15 Dec 2009, 09:51
He's a lock to make it

[/terrible pun]

There's a silver lining to this story...

[/worse pun]

loopy_cam
15 Dec 2009, 10:16
Do you reckon they'll play both of them, or will they...

wait for it...

rota(y/i)te

Quality.

Wahooti Fandango
15 Dec 2009, 10:17
In comparing the two players during the course of the coming season should we utilise qualita(i/y)tive or quantita (i/y)tive data?

Knight Ryders
15 Dec 2009, 10:25
Here's a link from AFLDraftInfo.com:

http://www.afldraftinfo.com/2009/11/taite-silverlock-west-adelaidesa-draft.html

Small forward type in the mould of Porplyzia and Medhurst apparently.

Red n Black Pride
15 Dec 2009, 11:16
In comparing the two players during the course of the coming season should we utilise qualita(i/y)tive or quantita (i/y)tive data?

Ordinary.

bipolarbeaR
15 Dec 2009, 11:24
Best...
Name...
Ever!

:D

Slattery_20
15 Dec 2009, 11:24
Sterling stuff.

Slattery_20
15 Dec 2009, 11:44
Best...
Name...
Ever!

:D
Llane Spaandermann says hi.

The Donners
15 Dec 2009, 11:48
Nicknames? Buffy? Tiffanys? Hi-ho?

That's all I've got! :o

The Donners
15 Dec 2009, 11:48

:D:thumbsu:

sea gull
15 Dec 2009, 11:52
The kid is a steal to get him in the rookie draft, have seen a bit of him over recent years and has a real touch of class and x-factor. Takes the game on, raking left foot, very strong overhead for his size and in a one on one contest and loves to take a hanger!

Slattery_20
15 Dec 2009, 11:55
Happy Valley? You serious? That's a footy club?

How tough is that!

afc9798
15 Dec 2009, 11:56
You guys should be pretty happy with Taite. He's a good kid, great work ethic and as long as he's prepared correctly(physically), should be not far away from being game ready. he played at my local club (Happy Valley) before going to West Adelaide, where he was very highly regarded. Was very surprised he didn't get taken with a late draft pick. Good luck to him and at least he's already used to the black and red colour scheme.:thumbsu:

sea gull
15 Dec 2009, 12:14
Happy Valley Footy Club is a very successful one from what i understand and produced some quality AFL players, the likes of Ben Rutten, Jason Porplyzia, Beau Waters and Nathan Eagleton i am led to believe. If Taite turns out anything like any of them the dons supporters should be very happy.

Slattery_20
15 Dec 2009, 12:27
Happy Valley Footy Club is a very successful one from what i understand and produced some quality AFL players, the likes of Ben Rutten, Jason Porplyzia, Beau Waters and Nathan Eagleton i am led to believe. If Taite turns out anything like any of them the dons supporters should be very happy.
Well I sit corrected.
Sounds like a nursing home!

bipolarbeaR
15 Dec 2009, 12:43
Haha! Like "Moonie Ponds" is any different, I lawled when I was on my way to Essendon when I was in Melbourne.

Beerfish
15 Dec 2009, 13:19
Shit name, but good luck to him.

Apparently Megatron Don was taken..

So does Ranga Ediriwickarama.... I think that's how you spell it. I just hope he's got red hair.

afc9798
15 Dec 2009, 13:26
Well I sit corrected.
Sounds like a nursing home!

That's why it's the Happy Valley Vikings, we had to toughen the name up a bit. Wouldn't have done to have the Happy Valley Geriatrics or Octogenarians, just didn't sound right. In addition to the players already mentioned, Adam Cooney started there before switching to Flagstaff Hill Falcons and last year Tom McNamara who debuted for Melbourne. Next year should have another one in the AFL ranks with Josh Farmer. The Vikings have delivered their share to the AFL....:thumbsu:

yodellinhank
15 Dec 2009, 13:40
Colyer (175cm), Silverlock (178cm), Howlett (180cm) and Marigliani (180cm). Are we developing the new version of the Mosquito fleet?

The House
15 Dec 2009, 13:42
Taite Silvercock is my new favorite player...based on name only, but that's enough.

Kong
15 Dec 2009, 13:56
Why the heck did we not pick Hooper. I really feel he is going to make a lot of clubs feel incredibly dumb for overlooking him!Not the thread, mate.

Final warning.

Slattery_20
15 Dec 2009, 14:01
So does Ranga Ediriwickarama.... I think that's how you spell it. I just hope he's got red hair.
I've played against heaps of blokes in cricket with names like that, there's this whole country called Sri Lanka.... Ranga's not an uncommon first name.

Godzke
15 Dec 2009, 14:35
Tayte and Taite

but point taken
The kid is a steal to get him in the rookie draft, have seen a bit of him over recent years and has a real touch of class and x-factor. Takes the game on, raking left foot, very strong overhead for his size and in a one on one contest and loves to take a hanger!

Thanks for the input fellas. Hopefully turns out to be a diamond in the rough.

Beerfish
15 Dec 2009, 14:59
I've played against heaps of blokes in cricket with names like that, there's this whole country called Sri Lanka.... Ranga's not an uncommon first name.

I don't really appreciate your patronising tone of font mate.

There's this whole country called Holland too in which you'll find the names Llane and/or Spaanderman fairly commonish relatively speaking.

So assuming he ever plays a game, you don't think Ranga Ediriwickirama's going to cop a few from the commentary box and elsewhere because he has such a common name? I'm willing to bet most people haven't "played against heaps of blokes in cricket with names like that" but I guess we're not all as worldly as you obviously are. :rolleyes:

silk
15 Dec 2009, 15:04
Sounds like the name of an elvish warrior.

Godzke
15 Dec 2009, 15:09
Oh, and $5 a commentator confuses his name next year and accidentally calls him "Silvercock" ... really would give a new meaning to the expression "can always find a silver lining". :p

Beerfish
15 Dec 2009, 15:10
I bet it's Bruce..

LockyAustin
15 Dec 2009, 15:22
http://img1.fantasticfiction.co.uk/images/n7/n36713.jpg

The dons have drafted someone capable of producing some real magic :D

Wahooti Fandango
15 Dec 2009, 15:39
Ordinary.

Sterling stuff.

Polarising views. I think the second is closer to the mark. :D

Skeeta Olly
15 Dec 2009, 16:52
http://img1.fantasticfiction.co.uk/images/n7/n36713.jpg

The dons have drafted someone capable of producing some real magic :D

Myers?

Big Blow Hard
15 Dec 2009, 18:06

I'm gunna start a World of Warcraft (or whatever it's called) account and use his name, lol.

LockyAustin
15 Dec 2009, 18:20
Myers?
im assuming that wizard-looking fellow is called Silverlock...

Shane Hird
15 Dec 2009, 18:20
I love them Taters, you can have boiled taters, baked taters, fried taters, mashed taters...and now we have not one p-taters but two p-taters:thumbsu:

Big Blow Hard
15 Dec 2009, 18:21
I love them Taters, you can have boiled taters, baked taters, fried taters, mashed taters...and now we have not one p-taters but two p-taters:thumbsu:

Taters are fine, as long as they ain't spuds.

Lance Uppercut
15 Dec 2009, 18:35

haha

Ludwig van Bertstare
15 Dec 2009, 19:58
Apparently Megatron Don was taken..

You know, Megatron Don isn't my real name...

It's Sexycool McAwesomestein.

Big Blow Hard
15 Dec 2009, 20:00

You're a Scottish Jew? :D Muzel Tov!!!

You must be a hard man to get money out of!

Ludwig van Bertstare
15 Dec 2009, 20:11

I'm a hard man in lots of aspects.

Big Blow Hard
15 Dec 2009, 20:14
I'm a hard man in lots of aspects.

Then you must come from North Kilttown.

Godzke
15 Dec 2009, 20:26

I thought it was "mazel tov" with an 'a' ... not to put a too finer point on it of course :D

no i'm not jewish

stay true
15 Dec 2009, 21:41
"Bigger Than Life"

Sounds pretty awesome to me.

bipolarbeaR
15 Dec 2009, 21:51
My RL last name is faaaaaaaaaar worse than his.

Beerfish
15 Dec 2009, 22:06

lol.. I thought it was RIG. :confused::D

My RL last name is faaaaaaaaaar worse than his.

Dude.. you can't just leave us hanging like that.

You're going to have to tell us I think.

BringBackCransberg
15 Dec 2009, 22:20
Oh, and $5 a commentator confuses his name next year and accidentally calls him "Silvercock" ... [...]

Already happened here, with some possible Freudian slippage...

Taite Silvercock is my new favorite player...based on name only, but that's enough.

:p

Beerfish
15 Dec 2009, 22:33
Are you serious?

What's so bad about that? It's not like you can slip a **** into it... wait, I don't think that came out quite right.

yaco55
15 Dec 2009, 23:40
Happy Valley? You serious? That's a footy club?

How tough is that!

It is a racetrack in Hong Kong and the name of a Rugby Union side.

yaco55
15 Dec 2009, 23:42
Colyer (175cm), Silverlock (178cm), Howlett (180cm) and Marigliani (180cm). Are we developing the new version of the Mosquito fleet?

WC rookie listed two players who are 169cm.

bipolarbeaR
15 Dec 2009, 23:45
Wow, they would make Lonergan look like Sandilands.

Godzke
16 Dec 2009, 17:54
Watching his videos on the AFL / bigpond website and you can see he loves to give it the 9-iron. Gotta get that out of his game. Can't stand footballers who put teammates under unneccessary pressure by hoofing the ball up in the air. Horrible trait.

bipolarbeaR
16 Dec 2009, 20:34
Yeah I saw that too, how do you get that out of your game? I come from playing Rugby Union so I only know how to kick it one way, and that goes up forever :P

Godzke
16 Dec 2009, 21:18
I have a feeling that, like many young footballers, he was approached by a skills coach later in his development and advised the correcting kicking technique was to land on the foot that you kick. Unless advised from an early age this is extremely difficult to weed out of your game. I've tried it and I keep getting extra air on the kick.

Coaches are big on it because it allows you to maintain momentum (why do u need momentum AFTER you have kicked the ball I have nfi. You might run to the next contest but an extra step to get won't make a difference). I thought maybe it promotes follow through of the kicking leg but not really.

How do you get it out of your game? It's mostly timing with your action. You can try dropping the ball further away from you but will sacrifice distance if it's too far. The worst thing is that he's hoofing it when on the run ... i'd have to go out of my way to do that. The kick should naturally have a lower trajectory when you're running.

Watching his video again (and this is just 3 short clips of him kicking, what he's like in the flesh i have nfi) and you can definitely see that desire to get the kicking foot on the ground first. Really not that important.

Godzke
16 Dec 2009, 21:20
http://www.afl.com.au/video/tabid/76/videotab/Essendon/default.aspx#VideoPlayerB

Doesn't follow through on his kicks but rather tries to chip it. But like I said, harsh to judge on just three shots of his kicking.

redandblack
17 Dec 2009, 06:58
I've watched Taite play through his career at West Adelaide. In the Under 18 competition, he's kicked 9 goals in a game as a small forward and his kicking for goal is very much one of his positives, as is his general kicking around the ground. He can play as a mid-fielder as well and is one of those players who just keps getting the footy.

He finished the season playing in West's senior team and doing well.

His biggest problem has possibly been that throughout his junior footy he's been much better than most and has found it easy to coast a bit. Without that trait, he would have been an automatic main draft pick.

The good news is that he seems to have knuckled down and has worked hard since the end of last season and is very good nick.

His skills are much better than most, so keep an eye on him.

Giggidy Giggidy
17 Dec 2009, 07:29
Watching his videos on the AFL / bigpond website and you can see he loves to give it the 9-iron. Gotta get that out of his game. Can't stand footballers who put teammates under unneccessary pressure by hoofing the ball up in the air. Horrible trait.

Michael Symons v2.0?

Godzke
17 Dec 2009, 10:09
Hopefully not another Symons. At least he would've fitted in with our policy on speed.

I wonder if he was faster than Winderlich. I reckon he might've been.

Big Blow Hard
17 Dec 2009, 14:54
He finished the season playing in West's senior team and doing well.

His biggest problem has possibly been that throughout his junior footy he's been much better than most and has found it easy to coast a bit. Without that trait, he would have been an automatic main draft pick.

The good news is that he seems to have knuckled down and has worked hard since the end of last season and is very good nick.

His skills are much better than most, so keep an eye on him.

Dodoro did make a comment that Taite put on a fair bit of weight at one stage, but had gotten himself really fit of late. Does this sound correct?

LockyAustin
17 Dec 2009, 15:07
Dodoro did make a comment that Taite put on a fair bit of weight at one stage, but had gotten himself really fit of late. Does this sound correct?

From http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7167

"He is a very talented player, a left footer in the Stuart Dew mould with a thumping kick. "

That's a pretty big mould...

Big Blow Hard
17 Dec 2009, 16:07
From http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7167

"He is a very talented player, a left footer in the Stuart Dew mould with a thumping kick. "

That's a pretty big mould...

ha ha, but no arguing wit Dews results. I did notice the attitude and body comment there as well. As long as we don;t have another Sausage Rioli panting around. Though if he had half Rioli's ability or footy smarts, he would be very handy.

Godzke
17 Dec 2009, 16:25
Of the Stewie Dew mould?

*waits for Hawks fans to suggest we're obsessed with copying them*

Big Blow Hard
17 Dec 2009, 17:10
Of the Stewie Dew mould?

*waits for Hawks fans to suggest we're obsessed with copying them*

Hodgepodge will be stalking this board, and onto it in Bay 13 already, lol.

redandblack
17 Dec 2009, 17:11
I don't know where some of these comments come from.

He's never been fat. He has been a bit lazy at times, but I watched him at training this week and he's looking trim and fit.

http://www.westadelaidefc.com.au/docs/merchandise/catalogue.html

Big Blow Hard
17 Dec 2009, 17:20
I don't know where some of these comments come from.

He's never been fat. He has been a bit lazy at times, but I watched him at training this week and he's looking trim and fit.

http://www.westadelaidefc.com.au/docs/merchandise/catalogue.html

It was just something I heard Dodoro say about him on draft day. He did also say that he had worked hard and gotten himself really fit now though. Must have been referrin to earlier in the year perhaps.

The Dew comment comes from Essendons own web page, the link above.

He looks trim enough in those photos though. :thumbsu: