View Full Version : Mitchell Golby
Grimreepah
15 Dec 2009, 09:23
Pick 16 in the 2009 Rookie Draft
http://img710.imageshack.us/img710/2734/golby.jpg
Twitter (http://twitter.com/#!/mitchgolby)
Summary:
* recovering from torn ACL when drafted (#7 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=16487005&postcount=7))
* further knee surgery (#20 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=17760245&postcount=20))
* 2010 review (#25 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=19162745&postcount=25))
* 27 man Queensland squad (#57 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=21082892&postcount=57))
* elevated to senior list (#60 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=21269310&postcount=60))
* debut: round 12 vs Carlton (#62 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=21269592&postcount=62))
* 2011 review (#88 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22391087&postcount=88))
* promoted to senior list (#91 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22710740&postcount=91))
* round 8 rising star nomination (#158 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=24293615#post24293615))
Contract status: 2011
Merrett-Murray Medal results:
2010: -
2011: =27th (3.5 votes)
Coach's votes:
2010: -
2011 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22443663&postcount=59): 0
Tribunal record:
none
BigCat2
15 Dec 2009, 09:47
Mitchell Golby
Height: 183cm
Weight: 82kg
DOB: 03/10/91
Recruited from: Gippsland Power
Bio: Attacking defender who likes to run and create from defensive 50. Can also shut down dangerous opponents when required. Defensive pressure is a feature of his game.
From afl.com.au draft profiles.
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/2734/golby.jpg
BigCat2
15 Dec 2009, 09:56
In his own words
What type of player are you?
An attacking defender that links up and can also play on the ball.
Which AFL player do you most resemble and why?
A cross between Nick Dal Santo and Lindsay Gilbee. Dal Santo because of his neat, left-foot kick and Gilbee because of his run and ability to create from defence.
What are your strengths as a footballer?
Reading the play, running and carrying the ball, doing the one per centers and my long kicking.
What parts of your game would you like to improve?
My skills on my non-preferred side, along with all other areas to try to get my ability to AFL standard.
Which AFL team do you support and how did you come to barrack for them?
Richmond. My Dad barracked for them and I’ve always followed them, too.
Who has been the biggest influence on your career so far and why?
My parents. With their support they have made my dreams of playing AFL more achievable.
whatboutbob
15 Dec 2009, 09:57
I'm seeing a trend in Vossy's recruiting strategy.
Banfield, Harwood, Golby....Ginger Greatness will be happy.
lionshine
15 Dec 2009, 10:57
Could perhaps be elevated early and play quite a few games next year. Of course we would have to make room for him however somebody is bound to get injured;)
Grimreepah
15 Dec 2009, 11:42
Phantom Drafts:
Quigley (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=653140&highlight=Golby) (National)
Pick 69 – COLLINGWOOD
Here I have Collingwood going with a guy who has disappeared off the radar a bit because of injury. He seemed to be really coming on early in the year and Collingwood are a team that can afford to stash him and see what develops.
Mitch Golby (Gippsland, VIC)
Height: 183, Weight: 82, DOB: 3/10/91
Has been a bit of the forgotten man as he has very much been out of sight out of mind. He suffered a knee injury in a Vic Country practice match and he has disappeared off a lot of people’s radars. I think he is going to end up a very nice late round or perhaps rookie selection for an astute drafting team. He is a powerfully built player who is likely to start his career as a half back where he was pegged to play for Vic Country. It is worth noting that he also played through the midfield for Gippsland although more as an outside player rather than an inside player. When playing further up the park he a definite goal scoring threat who delivers into the forward 50 very well. His kicking is his strength and he has a very strong leg for a young player. His accuracy is good and he weights his passes well. He is a left footer who is solid on his right although his technique looks a little awkward on the right. He has a bit of a crouched approach when kicking for goal but he seems to maintain reasonable balance and kicks through the ball well. He will kick them from 50. With the lay off his skin folds are very high and he will come into a team who takes the risk on him way out of shape. Word is he should be right to go for the start of next year but it is going to take him some time to get into playing shape. Turning up in Dew like shape is going to cause more than a few teams to question his dedication and he certainly has done himself no favours in this regard. When fit he is a reasonable mover and seems to have okay pace. He reads the play well and is solid overhead. It is a bit of a shame he did his knee when he did as he was in good form and could have made quite an impression on the Champs and the draft.
Offsider (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=660809&highlight=Golby) (Rookie)
Pick 32: Brisbane Lions – Mitch Golby
Height: 183cm - Weight: 81kg - DOB: 18
Club: Gippsland Power (VIC)
Mitch has been linked to the Lions and was in contention for one of our later picks apparently, and I rate him highly yet for mine he is probably just your run of the mill HBF and could do with adding some more to his game, and possibly finding a bit more X-factor. His kicking is very good, he has a lovely long left foot capable of kicking 50m with great accuracy, his right foot is average, and only good over short distances. He is quick enough yet not exceptionally pacey, and he is fairly agile, but his endurance appears to be just average and will need to improve he could play potentially on the wing, but would need to improve his inside game. He is fairly good defensively he can spoil all right and he appears to be a good tackler, his hands are good in the contests and he appears to be one-touch. Golby appears to be a solid player who should definitely get rookie IMO.
Official (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=657474&highlight=mccauley) (rookie)
59 Mitchell Golby (Gippsland Power)
183/82 rebounding defender/outside midfielder that is maturely built, runs hard, carries the ball, takes the game on, reads the play well and accumulates plenty of possessions, gets good penetration with his left foot kicking with decent control and provides sound defensive pressure.
Probably needs to work most on developing a right foot (seems very one-sided) and improving his composure under pressure.
Averaged 23D, 8M and 1G from 5 games @ TAC Cup level in 2009. Sustained an ACL injury in the lead-up to the 2009 U18 championships - IIRC in one of the VC trial games. Was a Vic SS invite. Rated as a top 25 prospect in the pre-season 2009 AFL Prospectus.
Snoop Dog (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=658291&highlight=Golby) (Rookie)
52 Sydney Mitch Golby / Gippsland / 183 / 81
Hard running mid from Gippy who has pace and good execution – particularly his left foot which is pretty penetrating. Typically plays HB but I think he would make a natural wingman. In some ways has a similar style to Wellingham.
roo2macca (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=661168&highlight=Golby) (Rookie)
#26 Sydney: Mitchell Golby (Gippsland Power) Height: 183cm Weight: 82kg D.O.B: 03/10/91
Golby is an attack defender who likes to run and create. His main strengths are his run and carry and the good ability to do the one percenters. Yet again, the best available for the Swans.
And Burgan was spot on in predicting he would go at pick 16 to the Lions.
TheBrownDog
15 Dec 2009, 12:19
Brisbane head recruiter Graeme Hadley (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/88159/default.aspx)
"There's no doubt he would have been in the Vic Country 18s but for his untimely injury - he did his ACL in a trial game out at Vic Park.
"I think he can certainly play half-forward and he can certainly play midfield, but he's basically this year had some very good run-with roles for Gippsland before his injury.
"Our Victorian team took note of him last year, but it was really in that trial game that we all stood to attention because he was in absolutely ripping form for just a short period and it did provide confirmation to all of the trial evidence that we had."
Mr Ripper
15 Dec 2009, 12:23
As difficult as it is to believe, his new Lions guernsey will actually be an improvement on his old Gippy one! :eek:
I have high hope's for this kid, I love the way he goes about hiis footy.
Grimreepah
16 Dec 2009, 16:46
Link (http://www.geelongindependent.com.au/story/73954)
06/05/2009
Midfielder Mitch Golby (31 and seven tackles) performed another sterling run-with role – this time against the Knights’ Kane Lambert (20) – and has been one of Gippsland’s most consistent contributors.
That article was posted on the 6th May. Anyone know when exactly Mitch inured his knee?
edit: link (http://www.awnw.com.au/story/74954)
27/05/2009
... while Russell Lehman is in contention to replace injured Gippsland star Mitch Golby.
So I'm guessing some time between 06/05/09 and 27/05/09
Grimreepah
16 Dec 2009, 17:45
Golby could be a good supercoach player in future years. Championdata apparently (http://superfootyforum.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4218) listed him in their top 25 players for 2009.
Defenders
* Mitchell Golby – 181/74 – Neat left footer who reads the play well and racks up the possessions – Gippsland
Link (http://www.geelongindependent.com.au/story/73954)
06/05/2009
That article was posted on the 6th May. Anyone know when exactly Mitch inured his knee?
edit: link (http://www.awnw.com.au/story/74954)
27/05/2009
So I'm guessing some time between 06/05/09 and 27/05/09He Injured it during the pre-selection game (trail) for the country lads to make the Vic Country national side. Exact date I am unsure.
Grimreepah
18 Dec 2009, 11:58
According to Burgan (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/88202/default.aspx), Golby was almost taken by us in the national draft.
Grimreepah
29 Dec 2009, 23:04
Link (http://www.thestar.com.au/Public/Template2/ThreadView.aspx?tid=25644)
“I’m really excited Brisbane has given me this opportunity,” he said. “I want to play a really good year of football in their twos, if that’s the plan.
Hopefully, if I can get a good year together, I’ll get elevated into the seniors. I’ll take it from there.”
He said friends and family had shared in his excitement. Likewise, home club Kilcunda/Bass was revelling in the moment.
“My aunty’s the secretary of the club and I was with her when I found out. They’ve all wished me the best. That was really good,” he said.
http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/2734/golby.jpg
pauldrc
14 Feb 2010, 13:42
Mitch was the number one DT scoring player in the TAC last year from 5 games with an average of 109pts! :eek: :thumbsu:
ID NAME CLUB GMS KE KIE HE HIE CM UM T FF FA G B DT
Mitchell Golby Gippsland Power 5 8 7 6 2 7 0 6 1 1 0 0 109
Doesn't always mean much, but with a 7 contested marks and 6 tackles ave. this is good sign....
Grimreepah
11 Mar 2010, 09:48
2010 Player Questionnaire (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/90428/default.aspx)
http://img710.imageshack.us/img710/2734/golby.jpg
GabbaMan
11 Mar 2010, 14:20
one of Gabbaman's favourites along with CB and some other recent recruits. Vossy you're a genius.
Paddlepop Lions Rule in 2010
I was quite surprised at the size of this guy when I saw him in the flesh. Going to be big when he grows up.
TheBrownDog
11 Mar 2010, 17:08
I was quite surprised at the size of this guy when I saw him in the flesh. Going to be big when he grows up.
Physically, he is the picture of a young Michael Voss.
Grimreepah
15 May 2010, 17:35
Looks like Golby may have done his knee again. :(
2nd game back. Poor lad.
Anyone got any word on what he has done to it? I hope it isnt another Acl... Although did he do it before the game cos we still had 4 on the interchange?
His knee did look mighty red after the game...
TheBrownDog
16 May 2010, 20:33
Anyone got any word on what he has done to it? I hope it isnt another Acl... Although did he do it before the game cos we still had 4 on the interchange?
His knee did look mighty red after the game...
He did it during the game.
Teams have 5 men interchanges in the AFLQ.
Mr Ripper
30 May 2010, 00:24
Arthroscopic knee tidy-up. Out for three months.
Grimreepah
14 Jun 2010, 19:24
The Lions website (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/96301/default.aspx) is now acknowledging his injury:
Mitch Golby (knee) - Season
Grimreepah
28 Sep 2010, 12:47
2010 End of Season Review
Games - 0
Best and Fairest - n/a
Dreamteam - 0 points; $89,800 ($-)
Supercoach - 0 points; $95,400 ($-)
AFLQ stats (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?action=PSTATS&client=1-109-81227-103073-11702975&pID=190891118&pname=Mitchell%20%20Golby&news_task=DETAIL)
Games - 2
Goals - 0
Best (top 6) - 0
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101431/default.aspx)
Had his first season destroyed by injury. Overcame a full knee reconstruction and after just a handful of games in the AFLQ, injured the same knee and was forced to finish the season on the sideline.
http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/2734/golby.jpg
Voss the boss
28 Sep 2010, 15:14
Just wondering, considering we didn't get to see much of Mitch, whether he will be kept on the rookie list for 2011 or not - does anyone know / have an opinion on this??
TheBrownDog
28 Sep 2010, 15:16
I don't see why not.
Quigley
28 Sep 2010, 15:37
I would think if you took a kid with a knee injury you would be thinking of giving him two years so you could have a proper look at him. The only reason not to I think would be attitude. Provided you showed up did all your rehab and weren't a complete knob I would expect to get a second year.
I think the second knee issue wasn't major and they were playing it safe retiring him for the year. That would also generally be an indication that he would be back.
Grimreepah
28 Sep 2010, 16:30
Just wondering, considering we didn't get to see much of Mitch, whether he will be kept on the rookie list for 2011 or not - does anyone know / have an opinion on this??
I would have thought it basically comes down to a comparison between him and the players the club think will be available in the drafts, in particular the rookie draft. Golby now hasn't played football in two years which has presumably caused a considerable reduction in his stocks. It is a hard luck story, but the Lions will be solely focused on whoever the best prospects are, not whoever their heart bleeds for. I am not an expert on this year's draft pool, but I wouldn't be surprised if players from there were rated higher and Golby was let go in order to accommodate them.
Quigley
28 Sep 2010, 16:55
I disagree Grim. Firstly Golby looked good early last year before he did his knee the first time and would have all but certainly have been selected in the ND if not for the injury and he might have gone reasonably highly. If you have put in the hard yards to get him right you at least take the opportunity to have a look at him. You don't select someone with a knee injury who can't play for until the middle of the year unless you are prepared to be patient with him especially if our training methods may have contributed to the reinjury.
Secondly we have additional rookie spots which we didn't use last year. One of the reasons we didn't fill up last year might have been so that we could stagger our rookies. So we don't need to delist guys this year in order to take more rookies.
Thirdly what kind of message does it send to the rest of the group and to future recruits. You take a rookie move him to Brisbane knowing he has a bung knee your management plan leads to him reinjuring his knee and then you cut him lose before he gets a chance to play. If you are trying to build loyalty to the Lions within the team and encourage young players to come to the Lions this is entirely the wrong thing to do.
Grimreepah
28 Sep 2010, 17:31
I disagree Grim. Firstly Golby looked good early last year before he did his knee the first time and would have all but certainly have been selected in the ND if not for the injury and he might have gone reasonably highly. If you have put in the hard yards to get him right you at least take the opportunity to have a look at him. You don't select someone with a knee injury who can't play for until the middle of the year unless you are prepared to be patient with him especially if our training methods may have contributed to the reinjury.
Quigley, the way I see it, where Golby was rated in the past is irrelevant. If there is another player who is currently considered a better prospect than Golby, then that's who they should put on the list.
Thirdly what kind of message does it send to the rest of the group and to future recruits. You take a rookie move him to Brisbane knowing he has a bung knee your management plan leads to him reinjuring his knee and then you cut him lose before he gets a chance to play. If you are trying to build loyalty to the Lions within the team and encourage young players to come to the Lions this is entirely the wrong thing to do.
What kind of message does it send if you pick players because you feel sorry for them? The club should be unapologetic in its pursuit of getting the best players on the list. If the Lions want to build a culture that attracts players, they are better off striving for excellence. Everyone in the organisation wants success, including the players. I can't see how anyone would think better of the club if it selected a lesser player.
whatboutbob
28 Sep 2010, 17:59
What kind of message does it send if you pick players because you feel sorry for them? The club should be unapologetic in its pursuit of getting the best players on the list. If the Lions want to build a culture that attracts players, they are better off striving for excellence. Everyone in the organisation wants success, including the players. I can't see how anyone would think better of the club if it selected a lesser player.
Sorry Grim, I'm with Quigley on this one. The kid should get a little credit in the bank. IMO the cultural benefits in "doing the right thing" (or what some might see as the soft option) for a kid who has shown something outweigh the potential costs.
But as with most things, it is not black and white. If he had a 2% chance of success while there was a Barlow-esque rookie floating around, then well, that's a different story.
Grimreepah
28 Sep 2010, 18:21
Sorry Grim, I'm with Quigley on this one. The kid should get a little credit in the bank. IMO the cultural benefits in "doing the right thing" (or what some might see as the soft option) for a kid who has shown something outweigh the potential costs.
But as with most things, it is not black and white. If he had a 2% chance of success while there was a Barlow-esque rookie floating around, then well, that's a different story.
Whatever happens there will be one guy who gets picked and another guy who doesn't. There will be one guy who is elated and another who is gutted. To me the fairest way of deciding who falls into which category is to choose whoever adds the most to your team. That is what is expected of recruiters. To pick Golby (who hypothetically is the weaker player) simply because he is already there doesn't make the world a better place (some other poor bastard is going to be gutted instead). It just makes your list a bit weaker.
TheBrownDog
28 Sep 2010, 18:33
Well in the context of Golby, I'd certainly think he is worth perservering with. Considering he was coming off a knee when he was drafted, not much would have been expected of him in his first year anyway.
Call it a gut feel on this one but I reckon if he can get over his injury he will be a player. And hey he fits under the salary cap.....magic.
LION UP
28 Sep 2010, 20:11
I believe his contract has been extended and he and a couple of other young lions are looking to move out together. Would expect he'd be going home otherwise?
Voss the boss
29 Sep 2010, 08:17
:thumbsu: I appreciate the feedback regarding Mitch. I guess we will have to wait and see until the lists are loodged.
Any rookie should be given 2 years, IMO, unless it is absolutely obvious that they don't have the talent or commitment to play senior footy. It would be interesting to see the percentage of rookies taken who are delisted after their first season.
Grimreepah
2 Dec 2010, 09:08
Injury Update (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/105849/default.aspx)
Lions Rookie Mitch Golby missed most of last season with a knee injury, but has not been restricted at all throughout this pre-season. He has long been training with the main group and is showing no signs of being troubled by his knee.
http://img263.imageshack.us/edit_preview.php?l=img263/2734/golby.jpg&action=rotate
Grimreepah
11 Feb 2011, 13:07
http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/2734/golby.jpg
Golby threads one down the boundary line.
Grimreepah
18 Feb 2011, 21:06
NAB Cup vs Essendon and St Kilda (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/108083/default.aspx)
Voss said he looked for "the little things" among his crop of players making their debuts and singled out Mitch Golby, Patrick Karnezis, Jared Polec and Broc McCauley as having caught the eye.
Balony_pony16
19 Feb 2011, 00:16
I thought Golby was great and reminded me of a young banfield..all be it by 1 year. also, the kids looks heaps like rich from a distance which will be heaps confusiing
BuntonRules
19 Feb 2011, 20:34
Rangas rule
Grimreepah
19 Feb 2011, 23:11
http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/999/golby2.jpg
LIONHART
20 Feb 2011, 11:48
didn't look out of place and did some nice things, elevation off the rookie list a reasonable expectation if he stays injury free.
there is an uncanny likeness to rich in appearance with goldby
Grimreepah
8 Mar 2011, 07:33
Injury list (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/108954/default.aspx)
Mitch Golby (knee) - 6 weeks
Anyone got any info on his injury?
He looked pretty tidy in the televised games and I thought he might push for selection later in the year. Not overawed and capable of playing at AFL level which is great from a rookie.
Along with Bartlett he has had a shocking run with knee injuries. The minor knee issue last year kept him out for half the year after coming back from a full reco the year before. Hopefully this is very minor and we can see him in action in the ressies from about round 3.
blynd_freddie
8 Mar 2011, 11:38
Anyone got any info on his injury?
Left knee, 1st half vs doggies Quigs.
Mitch walked/limped almost half the field along the boundary line from the rooms to interchange bench after the half time break with the knee iced up – I had hoped it was only a jarred knee with precautionary icing – obviously a little worse.
TheBrownDog
8 Mar 2011, 11:52
Yeah, required a bit of surgical cleanup afterwards.
Grimreepah
22 Mar 2011, 13:32
Brett Burton (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/109625/default.aspx)
Mitch has recovered from that knee injury really well. Ten days post-op he was running and he’ll be back training by the end of the week.
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/1820/golby4.jpg
Grimreepah
4 Apr 2011, 09:53
NEAFL Round 1 vs Morningside (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/110792/default.aspx)
Mitch Golby was among the team's best in the Lions Reseves loss to Morningside
http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/2734/golby.jpg
Best (http://www.sportingpulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=MATCH&fixture=117041292&c=1-8334-0-153927-0&pool=1)
1. Golby
2. Green
3. Harwood
4. McKeever
5. Austin
6. Sheldon
charles202
4 Apr 2011, 12:30
Is one I would love to see brought into the team, but not until after the bye round. i think that he could take Stiller's spot of HB.
Grimreepah
5 Apr 2011, 13:30
Nathan Clarke (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/110898/default.aspx)
“Collier and Mitch Golby were probably our two best players. Golby mops up so well, knows when to leave his opponent and is really composed.”
Grimreepah
15 May 2011, 01:08
NEAFL Round 7 vs GWS (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=05&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=152&cHash=59fb0b6a92a77fd9dec31325e46d9b64)
Half-backs James Hawksley (35 possessions), Mitch Golby (30 possessions) and Tom Collier were just as important, setting up most rebound opportunities as the Giants dominated the centre clearances.
Golby’s run-and-carry was particularly important throughout the second half.
He provided the vital last goal before three-quarter-time to give his side a 21-point break, running down the ground and finishing off a chain of handpasses.
http://img859.imageshack.us/img859/3919/golby6jorgo.jpg
Photographer: Jorgo
Quigley
16 May 2011, 12:22
Now I have only seen the highlights on Fox but I think he probably needs a bit more polish before he gets first team football. I really like the way he reads the play though and think he could be another really nice HBFer for us if he improves his skills. He is a nice size, moves nicely over the ground and looks a bit of a leader at the back. He is progressing really well after playing very little football for the last two years. Hopefully he can keep improving.
With all that said, if Voss decides to continue to play McGrath up forward Golby is probably not without a shot.
jackess
16 May 2011, 14:22
Maybe if Adcock can play more midfield Golby can have his spot down back. This may have to wait until next year though.
Grimreepah
22 May 2011, 17:29
NEW-LOOK QUEENSLAND SQUAD SET FOR SANDGROPERS (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=05&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=187&cHash=d369ee73bdd8bd44d50abcc331206041)
Sunday, 22 May, 2011
The Queensland squad is: Declan Bevan, Robert Copeland, Reece Toye (Aspley), Mitch Golby, Niall McKeever (Brisbane Lions), Kallen Geary, Dayne Zorko (Broadbeach), Jake Crawford, Joel Tippett (Gold Coast Suns), Ryan Davey, Todd Grayson, Michael Gugliotta, Steve Wrigley (Labrador), Kent Abey, Caleb Brown, Paul Shelton, Adam Spackman (Morningside), Nathan Gilliland, Gavin Grose, John James, Albert Proud, Nathan Reid, Chris Smith, Josh Vearing (Mt Gravatt), Darren Ewing, Cameron Ilett, Karl Lohde, Shaun Tapp, Ross Tungatalum, Kenrick Tyrrell, Iggy Vallejo (NT Thunder), James Charlesworth, Scott Clouston, Brad Howard, Trent Manzone, Josh Pullman (Redland), Kurt Niklaus, Matt Payne, Danny Wise (Southport).
Grimreepah
24 May 2011, 11:39
NEAFL Round 8 vs NT Thunder (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/114604/default.aspx)
“There was also a great little duel between Mitch Golby and Ross Tungatalum. Tungatalum is the best small forward in the competition and I didn’t notice him having a huge influence on the game. So, by and large, Mitch did a great job and has been in really good form now for the past five weeks.”
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/1820/golby4.jpg
TheBrownDog
24 May 2011, 20:48
With Beams out for the season, I reckon an opportunity has opened for Golby. Been very impressive in the reserves and would be next cab off the rank for elevation.
Golby elevated to Senior List (http://twitter.com/#!/AFL_PKeane/status/78713448803995648)
Brisbane upgrade Mitch Golby from the rookie list as the replacement for Ryan Lester, who was already on the long-term injury list.
Mitch promoted to the senior list today. Well deserved after a very nice season to date in the ressies. Lets hope he brings his form to the first as we need it.
Grimreepah
9 Jun 2011, 17:06
Round 12 vs Carlton (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/115872/default.aspx)
Mitch Golby has been elevated from the rookie list and will start at half-back flank, making him the Lions’ eighth debutant for 2011.
Golby was elevated to the senior list today by the Lions.
Golby has shown excellent recent form for the Lions Reserves.
B: Pearce Hanley (11), Matt Maguire (36), Joel Patfull (24)
HB: Jed Adcock (7), Tom Collier (22), Mitchell Golby (41)
C: Luke Power (6), Simon Black (20), Cheynee Stiller (32)
HF: Mitchell Clark (1), Bryce Retzlaff (37), Ashley McGrath (9)
F: Todd Banfield (18), Jonathan Brown (16), Sam Sheldon (3)
Foll: Matthew Leuenberger (23), Daniel Rich (10), James Polkinghorne (31)
Int from: Josh Green (42), Jack Redden (30), Tom Rockliff (38), Matt Austin (8), Amon Buchanan (33), Ryan Harwood (26), Josh Drummond (39)
Good luck Mitch:thumbsu:
Grimreepah
9 Jun 2011, 17:36
Shane Woewodin (http://www.lions.com.au/)
We've got our 8th debutante for the year, and it's a rookie elevation.
Absolutely. It's fantastic news. Thoroughly deserved, Mitch Golby getting his elevation from the rookie list. (He's) been in really consistent form in the reserves all year. He'd be jumping out of his skin I reckon this weekend.
Will Golby boost the backline stocks in Merrett's abscence?
He certainly adds to it. Mitch has got some good leg speed and will certainly help this weekend going against a small quick forward line in Carlton.
http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/8573/mitchgolby.jpg
Grimreepah
13 Jun 2011, 00:01
Golby on debut:
http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/1820/golby4.jpg
Watching the game live at Etihad, I thought he was reasonable. He looks like he has a good pace, endurance, strength combination. I was surprised to read he was credited with 16 possessions (most of them must have been up the other end to where I was).
From what I saw he was fairly conservative with his disposal (which I suppose is understandable for a first gamer) and didn't put the opposition under any real pressure. On one occaison he did try to move the ball on quickly, but kicked into the man on the mark, turning an attacking opportunity into a defensive scramble.
Defensively he looked sound. He didn't let his opponent get away from him, but he wasn't good enough to out smart his opponent or create any referred pressure.
I'm not sure on what scope he has for hurt factor. Like Patfull, he seems more a 'stem the flow' type rather than a 'the best defence is offence' type. But he didn't look out of his depth and I would not be against giving him a few more games to show his wares.
charles202
13 Jun 2011, 12:19
It was a hard day to get a proper gauge but he was far from our worst, i was actually impressed about how fast he was over the ground.
Think he should be given a few games at the back certainly has some nice tools to work with given his speed, defensive pressure and kicking skills (which we didn't really get to see on debut).
blynd_freddie
13 Jun 2011, 12:59
Seems balanced, moves well and thinks well, although he had one clanger kick that cost us a goal but kept his composure after the event to even have a kick out after a blues behind. Generally his ball movement was smart and positive, one very quick use of hands when in tight a highlight. He was also confident enough to run off his man and create options that at times were ignored by his team mates… over time I see no reason why he cannot become an integral part of our backline.
http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/3209/949x.jpg
Mitch going through the pregame warm up in his debut game - Rnd 12 vs Carlton at Dockland Sunday 12th June 2011
Grimreepah
16 Jun 2011, 01:15
Queensland vs Western Australia (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=06&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=254&cHash=d7d3be2a594d96ac0a14262b34fc73e8)
Brisbane Lions rookie Mitch Golby was declared ineligible after he was elevated to the club’s senior list ahead of his AFL debut on Saturday.
http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/5992/golby6.jpg
Grimreepah
16 Jun 2011, 01:33
Footy Tragic (http://www.footytragic.com/blog/)
Mitch Golby actually looked pretty good in his first game – he played on Gartlett in the backline and provided some good defensive pressure with his running and tackling. Racked up 17 touches for the night and also lay 5 tackles – hopefully Voss can keep him around.
http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/6320/golby5.jpg
Grimreepah
16 Jun 2011, 17:56
Shane Woewodin (http://bigpondvideo.com/BrisbaneLionsTV/363794/team-selection/)
(It was a) pretty pleasing debut last week from Mitch. He got to play on some of the best small forwards in the competition and played his role really well and will look to back up (with) a second performance this week.
http://img715.imageshack.us/img715/5162/golby3.jpg
Bucking Beads
16 Jun 2011, 18:04
Watched the game again yesterday and I was harsh on Goldy, was fuming about him kicking it into the man on the mark. He looks the goods and could give us some run and carry out of defense
Sanchez365
17 Jun 2011, 02:00
He looks a little like Daniel Rich.
LIONHART
17 Jun 2011, 07:12
let's hope he can play like him
TheBrownDog
17 Jun 2011, 07:28
Looks very, very similar to a young Michael Voss IMO.
Cat for Life
23 Jun 2011, 14:36
I think he looks a bit like Brennan as well. How did he play in the second game lads?
Has a good size and pace off the mark to follow small forwards. Wondering if he has been tried in the midfield in reserves.
He makes errors but you can't fault his attack on the footy. He's going to be a really solid back pocket for us.
Yeah there is something to like about him (but then again it doesn't take much to shine in this team at the moment). Worth persisting with.
Grimreepah
3 Jul 2011, 16:47
Golby celebrates his first win.
http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/857/mckeever5.jpg
http://img829.imageshack.us/img829/1289/karnezis4.jpg
charles202
3 Jul 2011, 22:51
Was very happy with his game against Port, thought he was very efficient in what he did and also did a lot of team things.
Having Golby down back is really freeing McGrath up to play more up the ground
Grimreepah
24 Jul 2011, 14:51
The Grill with Todd Banfield (http://www.lions.com.au/tabid/8533/contentid/374233/default.aspx)
http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/2734/golby.jpg
I started playing when I was nine. It was under 13s, but I just used to fill in for the occaisonal game. I played six or seven games and then every season from then on with Bass until I got into Gippsland Power and eventually here.
Grimreepah
8 Aug 2011, 03:52
NEAFL Round 19 vs Morningside (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=08&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=468&cHash=23340c6eebfa507b0e35c5dedbbfdeea)
More good news for the Lions was a strong performance by Mitch Golby.
Best Players (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=3)
1. Collier
2. Golby
3. Kitching
4. Newell
5. Bartlett
6. Harwood
Grimreepah
11 Aug 2011, 20:46
Gary O'Donnell (http://bigpondvideo.com/BrisbaneLionsTV/379705/team-selection/)
Young Golby had a taste earlier in the year. He gets his chance again to have another experience, and be able to sponge that experience for next year as well.
http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/2734/golby.jpg
He makes errors but you can't fault his attack on the footy. He's going to be a really solid back pocket for us.
I said this a couple of months ago and I see no reason to change it.
What I like is that he is very aware of the time and space that he has. He works very well with ball in hand in traffic which is integral with the forward pressure in today's game.
He missed a number of targets by hand which is not acceptable but, on almost every occasion, it was the execution that failed - he invariably had selected the right option but his skill level just let him down. In fact, so good was his option selection on occasion that I think he could develop into an occasional on baller/
Hard, energetic, team oriented and understands footy. Straight onto the senior list next year IMO, allowing Hanley/Mcgrath/Adcock to play other roles.
jackess
28 Aug 2011, 11:24
Must be a shoe in to be elevated at seasons end. If he can play 10-12 games in the seniors next season in 2013 he'll be in the best 22. Hopefully with him recovering from those knee injuries he can pick up a yard of pace to help him play on those small forwards.
LIONHART
29 Aug 2011, 10:54
Must be a shoe in to be elevated at seasons end. If he can play 10-12 games in the seniors next season in 2013 he'll be in the best 22. Hopefully with him recovering from those knee injuries he can pick up a yard of pace to help him play on those small forwards.
i think mckeever is ahead of him, but must be a close second.
i guess it comes down to the number of elevations the club decide on
Grimreepah
3 Sep 2011, 20:26
Round 24 vs Sydney
(http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/sydney-swans-enjoy-comfortable-win-over-brisbane-lions-at-the-sydney-cricket-ground-in-round-24/story-e6frf3e3-1226128830769)
Lions youngster Mitch Golby, bereft of confidence much like his team after the avalanche of goals, was unable to complete a regulation pass in the backline and Rohan goaled after marking the ball on his chest.
Golby's gaffe was perhaps the most striking, but he was not alone in a performance that arguably mirrored Brisbane's season of woe - a smattering of potential but too many lapses and too few contributors.
http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/2734/golby.jpg
Grimreepah
25 Sep 2011, 23:38
Adrian Fletcher (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/123833/default.aspx)
He’s one of our debutants. He’s got speed to burn, but you wouldn’t know that, watching him. He’s a very laconic player. But what you need in the modern game is speed in the defence, and he gives us that. He needs to improve his consistency, but he’s shown he can play at the level and he knows what he needs to improve on.
http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/4082/2011rnd12golbyhanleyiz.jpg
Mitch discussing debut pre-game strategies and match-ups? with Hanley - Rnd12 2011 Docklands
(photo courtesy of blynd_freddie)
Grimreepah
25 Sep 2011, 23:39
2011 End of Season Review
by blynd_freddie (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=35473)
2010 Review (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=19162745&postcount=25)
Games: 8
Goals: 0
Sub: on = 0, off = 0
Emergency: 1
Time on ground: 87%
Best and Fairest: 3.5 votes (=27th)
Dreamteam: 363 points; $172,400 (+$79,900)
Supercoach: 345 points; $196,200 (+$92,600)
NEAFL: (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?action=PSTATS&pID=192524246&client=1-8334-112667-153927-14707666)
Games: 13
Goals: 3
Have a soft spot for Mitch – any kid who is linked in some way to Kilcunda [great surf at ‘cemetery’] and Pyramid Rock [music] is always going to be a top bloke.
Mitch Golby started the 2011 with one hell of pre-season after injuring his knee for a second time, apparently was out for 3/4 months from May with an orthoscope clean up after injuring his knee for the second time in May 2010. I have assumed (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/105849/default.aspx) [sorry] from this December article he was preparing for 2011 since September 2010. During a NAB challenge game against the Western Bulldogs he seemed to jar his knee again and missed about 3 weeks in March, returning to be named one of the best in the inaugural (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/110792/default.aspx) NEAFL game against Morningside.
After continuing good form in the twos including a 30 possession game and the shut down of top forward and NT Thunder draft hopeful Tungatalum, Mitch was elevated off the rookie list to replace Ryan Lester who was currently on the LTI list and was coincidently named to debut against Carlton and matched up against Gartlett in the back-line at the Docklands.
Round 12 marked the halfway point of the 2011 home and away season and Mitch Golby was to become the 8th debutant and surprisingly not the last debutant for the Lions.
Mitch played 8 games with in his debut year with season highs of 17 disposals, 5 tackles. Towards the end the year he seemed to be gaining confidence and started to record numerous clearances, rebound 50’s and inside 50’s. Mitch finished equal 27th in the B&F after voting in three of his eight games.
Another who should receive a pass mark grading and is one of many in our current squad who will be expected to continue to develop and force himself into the team again in 2012 – another who has been drafted as a footballer first and I expect will be elevated to the seniors in the coming weeks.
http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/2734/golby.jpg
thoselionslads
26 Sep 2011, 09:33
I'm very optimistic about this blokes future at our club.
Grimreepah
5 Oct 2011, 18:58
Get to know... Mitch Golby (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/124644/default.aspx)
11:37 AM Wed 05 Oct, 2011
Whose autograph did you get as a kid:
Matthew Richardson
What scares you most:
Snakes
How would your best friend describe you:
Good bloke
One thing you can’t eat:
Coconut
http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/2673/golby7.jpg
LIONHART
27 Oct 2011, 15:04
congratulations to mitch on his elevation to the senior list.
he's the opportunity mitch, take it & GO FOR IT!!
Grimreepah
24 Nov 2011, 20:07
Pick 69 in the 2011 National Draft
http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/8573/mitchgolby.jpg
Participated in full training today after spending Monday in the hospital group.
Congrats on your elevation Mitch! :thumbsu:
this is very encouraging;
Recently elevated rookie Mitch Golby has killed it in the weights room and is noticeably bigger
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/127523/default.aspx
It looks like he is not going to give his hard earned place in the 22 without a fight. Others will have to take it away from him.
The intensity for places in the starting line-up has noticeably increased from previous years.
The depth in the team is also pleasing. Now if we can improve our skill level and perhaps with a better coaching year in the box from Voss and the injury gods forgetting about us the J curve will certainly swing towards the upward movement.
charles202
27 Dec 2011, 09:01
I would love to Golby trialled in the forward pocket this off-season.
I think that with his pace he could really ad some pressure up forward and play a negating role. I think that he could also be dangerous on the score board as he does have good kicking skills.
Golby playing forward would also ad some flexibility to the team as he could pinch hit down back and also in the middle if needed.
Grimreepah
13 Jan 2012, 16:05
Murray Davis (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/127863/default.aspx)
Davis, who studied the Lions Reserves as an opposition coach throughout the 2011 season, said that young guns Mitch Golby and Patrick Karnezis were two players who really stood out to him while watching from the other bench.
“Mitch played really well one day out at Sherwood against (Rising Star winner) Ross Tungatalum and was really impressive,” Davis said.
http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/2810/golby14.jpg
Grimreepah
17 Jan 2012, 14:23
Video: Callum Bartlett (http://www.lions.com.au/video%20%20audio/tabid/8533/contentid/415897/default.aspx)
"Mitch Golby is looking really fit, looks strong. It's probably the leanest he's been."
http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/2734/golby.jpg
I didn't see anything from Golby last year that would suggest he is in our best 30 players let alone our best 22.
Tassie4ever
31 Jan 2012, 07:36
I didn't see anything from Golby last year that would suggest he is in our best 30 players let alone our best 22.
I'm with you on this one- but someone up there likes him as was getting a regular gig.
Maybe they see him as having a substantial upside that we simply are missing.
I'm with you on this one- but someone up there likes him as was getting a regular gig.
Maybe they see him as having a substantial upside that we simply are missing.
Based off last year he seems like the next Stiller. Solid, never really spectacular, ideally he won't be in our best 22 in a couple of years time but for the moment he does a job reasonably well. I can see why he's getting a game now, but unless he improves hopefully he'll be overtaken in the next year or two because that would mean our team as a whole is improving.