View Full Version : 45 Jarrod Kayler-Thomson (Rookie)

noosa hawk mad
15 Dec 2009, 17:13
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afl-rookie-draft-selections/story-e6frf9jf-1225810523153

2009 AFL Rookie draft selections

Pick 29. HAWTHORN
Jarrod Kayler-Thomson
Club: Perth Height: 187cm Weight: 87 DOB: 26/07/85
Goalkicking midfielder who hurts the opposition with his ability to hit long range targets by foot. Has damaging pace with the ability to push forward where he not only creates goals but kicks a few too. His 2.93sec for 20m at WA screening was impressive

noosa hawk mad
15 Dec 2009, 17:21
Jarrod Kayler-Thomson

Video Highlights: http://www.afl.com.au/Video/tabid/76...x#VideoPlayerB (http://www.afl.com.au/Video/tabid/76/videoid/50921/jarrod+kayler-thomson+highlights/Default.aspx#VideoPlayerB)

http://images.watoday.com.au/2009/08/03/662214/Perth%27s%20Jarrod%20Kayler-Thomson%20gets%20away%20from%20Subiaco%27s%20Rob%20Forrest-600x400.jpg

noosa hawk mad
15 Dec 2009, 17:31
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/88135/default.aspx

Hawthorn secures experience and youth

Hawthorn Football Club have selected Wayde Skipper and Jarrod Kayler-Thomson at pick no 13 and 29 respectively in the AFL Rookie Draft held today.

In recruiting Skipper, 26 and Kayler-Thomson, 24, Hawthorn took advantage of the recent rule change that allows clubs to claim two mature-age players over the age of 23.

Skipper will be joined by Jarrod Kayler-Thomson - the second of the Hawks’ mature-age selections. Pelchen is similarly excited about the prospects of the 24 year old who has spent the last five years developing his game in Perth, Western Australia.

“Jarrod is a player in the same mould as Grant Birchall. He can play across the half forward, wing and half back line and is a prodigious kick of the ball” he said.

According to Pelchen, Hawks supporters can look forward to seeing the two mature-age rookies running around in the brown and gold next year.

Name:Jarrod Kayler-Thomson
Club: Newtown 

DOB: 26 July 85
Height: 188cm
Weight: 80kg 
Position: Half forward, wing, half back

halfback dasher
15 Dec 2009, 18:18
29. HAWTHORN
Jarrod Kayler-Thomson
Club: Perth Height: 187cm Weight: 87 DOB: 26/07/85
Goalkicking midfielder who hurts the opposition with his ability to hit long range targets by foot. Has damaging pace with the ability to push forward where he not only creates goals but kicks a few too. His 2.93sec for 20m at WA screening was impressive[/quote]

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/88135/default.aspx

Hawthorn secures experience and youth

Hawthorn Football Club have selected Wayde Skipper and Jarrod Kayler-Thomson at pick no 13 and 29 respectively in the AFL Rookie Draft held today.

In recruiting Skipper, 26 and Kayler-Thomson, 24, Hawthorn took advantage of the recent rule change that allows clubs to claim two mature-age players over the age of 23.

Skipper will be joined by Jarrod Kayler-Thomson - the second of the Hawks’ mature-age selections. Pelchen is similarly excited about the prospects of the 24 year old who has spent the last five years developing his game in Perth, Western Australia.

“Jarrod is a player in the same mould as Grant Birchall. He can play across the half forward, wing and half back line and is a prodigious kick of the ball” he said.

According to Pelchen, Hawks supporters can look forward to seeing the two mature-age rookies running around in the brown and gold next year.

Name:Jarrod Kayler-Thomson
Club: Newtown 

DOB: 26 July 85
Height: 188cm
Weight: 80kg 
Position: Half forward, wing, half back
 For me...im keen to know which it is as at 80 kg he is not ready to play....at 87 on the other hand...........

Rumblah#16
15 Dec 2009, 21:01
Bloke is growing on me rapidly, to be honest. GO K-T.

Buddy Guy
15 Dec 2009, 23:05
Got a bit of man crush going already for this bloke.:D

Our NAB Cup team are going to be awesome to watch with all these mature age guys running around eager to impress and stake a claim on the 22 for round 1.

His kick to handball ratio for Perth was off the charts, and why not if you have a left boot as deadly as his peers and former coaches are claiming:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
19 Dec 2009, 08:45
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/88314/default.aspxhttp://www.hawthornfc.com.au/images/mockup_AFLCtlGalleryLibraryForNews.png

Hawk rookie takes the long way home

By Luke Holmesby 1:05 PM Fri 18 December, 2009
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20F-J/_Jarrod_Kayler_Thomson_246d.jpgJarrod Kayler-Thomson

ON MEETING his new Hawthorn teammates a day after being drafted, Jarrod Kayler-Thomson came across a familiar face.
Kayler-Thomson was doing a recovery session when he caught up with Jordan Lewis, his teammate at the Geelong Falcons in 2003.

The two have taken vastly different paths to the AFL but now find themselves teammates once again.
Six years ago Lewis was a bottom-age player at the Falcons before becoming a top 10 draft pick the following year. He has since gone on to play more than 100 games for the Hawks, including a premiership.
In that time, Kayler-Thomson played senior footy at Mansfield in country Victoria, before moving to the other side of the country to pursue his dream, where he underwent the agony of several drafts while studying to become a teacher.

Now with half a decade of WAFL football with the Perth Demons under his belt and his teaching degree, the 25-year-old is starting out his AFL career on Hawthorn’s rookie list.

noosa hawk mad
12 Feb 2010, 08:17
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/89371/default.aspx

NAB Cup squads confirmed for first four games

NAB Cup

ROUND ONE, WEEK ONE

All times local

Friday February 12
West Coast v Essendon at Subiaco Oval, 5.45pm

Saturday February 13
Adelaide v Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium, 4.10pm
Hawthorn v Richmond at Aurora Stadium, 7.40pm

Sunday February 14
Western Bulldogs v Brisbane Lions at Manuka Oval, 4.40pm

HAWTHORN v RICHMOND
2. Jarryd Roughead, 3. Jordan Lewis, 4. Rick Ladson, 5. Sam Mitchell, 6. Josh Gibson, 8. Xavier Ellis, 12. Brad Sewell, 13. Simon Taylor, 14. Grant Birchall, 15. Luke Hodge,[/B] 16. Beau Dowler, 17. Beau Muston, 18. Brent Guerra, 19. Jarryd Morton, 21. Shane Savage, 23. Lance Franklin, 25. Ryan Schoenmakers, 26. Liam Shiels, 27. Stephen Gilham, 28. Garry Moss, 29. Tom Murphy, 30. Campbell Brown, 31. Matthew Suckling, 36. Jordan Lisle, 39. Ben Statton, 42. Wayde Skipper, 43. Will Sierakowski, 45. Jarrod Kayler-Thomson, 47. Luke Bruest.

The BIG X
19 Feb 2010, 03:54
Jarrod didn't make the team against Richmond - keen to see him in the team against the 'scragers to show his wares.:thumbsu:

play2win
19 Feb 2010, 09:02
i was looking forward to seeing him in action against the tiges however it didn't happen. i assumed it was because he picked up a slight niggle.

lets hope he does get a run against the doggies.

bipolarbeaR
27 Feb 2010, 02:50
Impressive :)

Roger Rogerson
27 Feb 2010, 07:07
We have found a ready made player. Love the way he goes about it.

The BIG X
27 Feb 2010, 10:35
We have found a ready made player. Love the way he goes about it.

Agree RR - can hold his head up after last night's debut - couple of clangers but clangers could have been our best stat last night (havn't checked the stats as yet).

rednblacks
27 Feb 2010, 14:24
K-T or Jadda as he likes to be known has played the last 5 years at my WAFL club Perth. He is ready made for AFL, his game last night was typical of what you will get from him on a consistent basis and I am confident he can produce that when the real stuff starts. That shot on goal he missed from 50 out I was disappointed with, he usually eats those. Half back is ideal for him, Andrew Jarman played him there last year and he will kick you some pretty special goals from there.

He deserves his AFL opportunity and I hope he gets elevated sooner rather than later.

BuddyHawkers
27 Feb 2010, 15:18
Amazing no-one picked him up years ago?:thumbsu:

Where do you think his best position would be?

The BIG X
4 Mar 2010, 05:17
Amazing no-one picked him up years ago?:thumbsu:

Where do you think his best position would be?

Like to see him running off Half Back:thumbsu:

Docker Clint
5 Mar 2010, 12:45
Like to see him running off Half Back:thumbsu:

Was going to post this. Did play some midfield for Perth last year but definitely with his pace and build, running off the half back suits him.

Really like the way Jadda goes about it, takes his footy very seriously and especially his nutrition. I had the opportunity to go through a nutrition program he wrote up himself and pick a few holes in it but it was good to see a footballer actually caring what he puts in his body.

Despite bigger blokes being at the club, he actually set a couple of lifting records in the gym.

Has a minor knee issue, but it's not structural and shouldn't affect his play with correct management.

Should be an example to all players in their early 20s who think the AFL dream has passed them by.

The BIG X
13 Mar 2010, 17:45
Saw JKT 1st half today against Sandy and can see him slotting into HFC really well if he is able to be elevated from the rookie list during the season.

Keep it going Jarrod - your heart is in the right place :thumbsu:

The BIG X
24 Mar 2010, 11:37
I attended Box Hill Guernsey Presentation last night and was very pleased to see JKT there and he was presented with No. 45 Jumper. Therefore 45 will be his No. for both HFC and BHH for the 2010 season.
Believe he was elevated from rookie list during the week - very exciting time for Jarrod.:thumbsu:

Rumblah#16
25 Mar 2010, 23:42
Carn K-T, lookin forward to seeing you decimate Melbourne off half-back/middle.

Deadly left foot and come the final siren, the entire league will know who you are.

reggie
25 Mar 2010, 23:54
Saw a lot of him the WAFL over the past 4-5 years. He'll do ok at AFL level, good skills, loves to kick a goal. His major deficiency in the WAFL was his ability to shrug a tight tag - didn't work hard enough - shouldn't be a problem for a while in the AFL

noosa hawk mad
27 Mar 2010, 07:53
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/shaun-burgoynes-fitness-concerns-hawks/story-e6frf9jf-1225846183978

The Hawks have named midfielder Jarrod Kayler-Thomson, 24, and forward Carl Peterson, 22, to make their debuts.

"In Jarrod's particular case, he didn't get drafted as a Geelong Falcon and went across to Perth and plied his trade there for four or five years with the Perth footy club," Clarkson said.
"
He just consistently got in the best players for Perth and was playing a good level of football.

"Carl Peterson was a young lad who got his chance at Richmond, but just wasn't ready at that point in time to capitalise on that opportunity.
"He went home for 12 months and we gave him a chance this year."

JKT should be able to retain a spot in our best 22 if pre-season form is anything to go on been very impressed by JKT great job on your man to Big X cheers.....:thumbsu:

The BIG X
27 Mar 2010, 19:24
Really excited that JKT played his 1st game for the Hawks today.

Was used off the bench in 1st 3 quarters and I believe played all the final qtr. Good to get this game under his belt and look forward to more game time in future matches.

Loved his long driving kicks into the forward line.:thumbsu:

Stats

8 kicks 9 handballs 6 marks (3 inside 50's)

The BIG X
6 Apr 2010, 08:11
JKT was selected in the Hawthorn extended interchange bench therefore did not play for BHH on Thursday night.

Was cut to an emergency on Saturday therefore did not get a gig over the Easter weekend.

Looking forward to Jarrod playing against WB on Sunday.:thumbsu:

The BIG X
10 Apr 2010, 19:25
JKT played a sterling game for BHH today.
Long driving kicks into the forward 50 was a delight to see.
Wont be long before Jarrod is back into HFC team.

Well done JKT:thumbsu:

Question - Jarrod you were presented with No. 45 Jumper - yet you ran out today with No. 71 (Do you like Goo's No. better???

Have not been able to obtain JKT's stats for this game - can anyone help???

The BIG X
19 Apr 2010, 05:39
JKT played with BHH over the weekend against Geelong - unfortunately I did not go to the game therefore cannot give a 1st hand report - however from the information I have obtained is that he played a good game and kicked strongly from half back into the forward 50 on many occasions.

Would have love JTK to have played for HFC against Collingwood but it was not to be. Hope he is in the seniors very soon.

spudmaster
20 Apr 2010, 16:02
Would love to see the kid come back in this week, especially with Burgyone now missing a few weeks. The idea of him and young running the ball out off the half back line and bombing it long to the top of the 50 is mouthwatering.

From all accounts he has had to great games for box hill and has kicked a couple of goals each week as well. I'm sure there is room for the kid in our main22 at the moment.

The BIG X
29 Apr 2010, 14:04
JKT came over to Tassie as the 23rd man and was a last minute replacement for Renouf who pulled out after the warm up with a viris.

Jarrod play a fair game against North and had 26 disposals (14K 12HB) and kicked 1 goal 2 behinds with 2 tackles.

Reckon he deserves another senior game as a result of this one.

Nail the goals JKT

noosa hawk mad
5 May 2010, 18:19
No substitute for a footballer's life-JKT
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4...x?newsid=93680 (http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/default.aspx?newsid=93680)

By Luke Holmesby 1:54 PM Wed 05 May, 2010
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/jktfeat_a.jpgHawk rookie Jarrod Kayler-Thomson is loving life as a professional footballer

Knowing that a rookie list spot meant he was well down on the pecking order, Kayler-Thomson impressed his new club so much over summer that he was rewarded with a round-one debut which he said was one of the highlights of his life.

“There was a lot going through my head. It was a really satisfying feeling to hear the call from Clarko and I called my mum and dad straight away and a couple of good mates,” he said.

“It was a pretty cool feeling to know it had all been worth it and I got that start.”:thumbsu:

Slattery_20
6 May 2010, 10:33
Dare I say it... looked a bit like a Lonie sister the other week. Didn't look comfortable with physical stuff.

The BIG X
1 Jun 2010, 04:49
Havn't seen JKT over the past month but comments like the above dose not help anyone - dont know why Slattery hasn't had a Red card with his usual snide remarks - his time will come.

Saw Jarrod last Saturday at Williamstown and he had a fairly quiet day.

Looking forward to a better game next week:thumbsu:

The BIG X
19 Jun 2010, 14:22
Bit late in updating JKT's game last week against Bendigo Bombers.

Played a very good game - long penetrating kicks from the back line into forward 50.

Had 34 possessions and 8 marks.

Well done JKT.:thumbsu:

Scootyb
19 Jun 2010, 14:27
Cmon Hawks get him into the 22 !! :thumbsu: :)

The BIG X
29 Jun 2010, 09:54
Saw JKT last Sunday (BHH v Collingwood).
Probally could describe his game as average.
His trade mark - booming kicks were on display.

Hope he has a great game next week on the Gold Coast.:thumbsu:

The BIG X
4 Jul 2010, 18:28
BHH played in the Gold Coast yesterday and our top Interstate reporter Lord Mud announced JKT as BOG (refer Box Hill Sub board) - that is good enough for me.

Well done JKT:thumbsu:

The BIG X
20 Jul 2010, 19:42
Not having seen JKT over the past 2 weeks - I can only go on hear say - howrver very reliable "HEAR SAY"

Against the Bullants - a reasonable game

Against Sandringham in very trying conditions played a top game:thumbsu:

The BIG X
16 Aug 2010, 21:46
Saw JKT on Sat against the Maggies.

Played a very strong game under blusterly conditions.

He had 28 posessions:thumbsu:

RustyHawk
20 Mar 2011, 12:19
Update.

JKT Delisted end of 2010 season.

Played 3 senior games

30 kickes, 18 marks, 24 handballs, 52 disposals
1 goal
2 behinds

5 tackles
Frees for 1
Frees against 3

Round 1 - v Melbourne - we won
Round 5 - v North Melbourne - we lost
Round 6 - v Essendon - we lost

After round 1 we lost the next 6.

After round 8 v Richmond when the club turned their season around JKT became one of the forgotton players and ultimately dumped at the end of the season.

Personal note.

Watched him in the first VFL final against Port Melbourne @ Port. Desperate last quarter, Box Hill struggling to hold on and JKT in a crucial point refused to put his body on the line. Yes, he would have been crunched, bad but it would have held the ball up and given our defenders a chance. You can all the skill but if your not prepared to put the body on the line then....

Still, he has played 3 AFL games more than most of us.

The BIG X
20 Mar 2011, 12:26
Thanks for the wrap up Rusty - very fair assessment:thumbsu:

Where is he now????

go hawks!!!
21 Mar 2011, 01:45
I'm pretty sure he headed back to WA can't provide a source though

Slattery_20
21 Mar 2011, 07:19
Havn't seen JKT over the past month but comments like the above dose not help anyone - dont know why Slattery hasn't had a Red card with his usual snide remarks - his time will come.
:thumbsu:
I called what I saw.

Desperate last quarter, Box Hill struggling to hold on and JKT in a crucial point refused to put his body on the line.

Thanks for the wrap up Rusty - very fair assessment:thumbsu:

But if a Hawk supporter says the same thing, it's 'very fair'....

Big X - this says he's back at Perth (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=19881322&postcount=6)

Cheers.