View Full Version : who is going to the cricket on boxing day?
Johnson#26
24 Dec 2009, 18:31
what sort of a crowd can we hope for (in terms of size)?
Admiral Afterworld
24 Dec 2009, 22:52
I am going.
stmookeyj
24 Dec 2009, 23:21
Somewhere between 50-60K would be what CA would realisitically hope for. Stuck up here this year.
they reckon it has better ticket pre-sales than last year, so around 60k would be achieveable
Drummer_19
25 Dec 2009, 14:26
You would think they would get a decent crowd through what should be a good percentage of Pakistani supporters.
Blue Dimension
25 Dec 2009, 17:34
Most definitely will be. 4th year in a row. Absolutely love it. :)
Alpha Male
25 Dec 2009, 20:45
Taking the old man for Xmas as I do every year.
I really don't think there is going to be anywhere near 60k this year.
I think that 40k - 45k would be the expectation and if they can crack 50k it would be a bonus.
On to the actual game though...
I hope that Pakistan win the toss and bat. I know that Ponting is batting if he gets the chance but with the mild overcast conditions and swirly breeze of the G I think that Bollinger and Siddle could both get some really good swing happening early.
The key for me in the whole test is the form of the 2 Mikes. Clarke and Hussey have both been under performing lately and it's obvious the pressure is mounting on "Mr. Cricket" to crack another big ton.
Clarke too needs to make a decent score and try to shake off the "back pain" he has been feeling since he got married. I'd be pretty sure his back doesn't play up when he is at home with Lara ;) I don't blame him to be honest but if it keeps up then he could cost himself a shot of being the next captain.
I think that Punter will play and that we will win inside 4 days providing we can bowl tomorrow. If we win the toss and bat then it will be 2 days of nothing and I think it will end in a draw. I don't see Pakistan taking 20 wickets this week and our best chance is to nab at least 5 tomorrow.
Go the Aussies!
mattys123
25 Dec 2009, 20:50
I'm going on day 2, will be in the AFL members area.:thumbsu:
Really cant be ****ed getting up so early tomorrow morning after stuffing myself silly today.
Should be a contest though, I'd say a 2-1 series win to Australia, although there could be a draw thrown in there somewhere to cause chaos.
Pakistan has the best spinners, while Australia has the best fast bowlers, although some of those aren't exactly firing.
Should be better then the Windies series, which actually turned out better then most expected.
juddsentant517
25 Dec 2009, 21:11
Going away. A bit of a shame, as last year i had a ball.
Gibbsy.
26 Dec 2009, 07:43
Yep, third day again.
abs_of_STEELE
26 Dec 2009, 07:57
Yep, as always. I reckon about 50k.
Admiral Afterworld
26 Dec 2009, 17:01
fairdinkum
26 Dec 2009, 19:36
I haven't been to a Test for a while. Can somebody who went today please explain to me what security is like when it comes to taking in your own food and drinks?
Do they make you open your drinks to make sure you haven't laced them with alcohol? How strict are they on this? As in, if I take in a 2 litre bottle of coke, will they sniff it? And am I allowed to take my own food?
Thanks in advance.
Johnson#26
26 Dec 2009, 19:46
have never had my bag checked to the point where they begin to check the content of drinks, etc. that said, i rarely even bring a bottle of water, but the bag checking is fairly vauge, but occasionally you get those who do take it very seriously. and they do rely on honest, in asking 'no glass bottles/etc?'. have never seen them sniff drinks, but have heard it happens. i'm guessing a lot depends on luck.
food, AFIK, is fine, no matter what it is (this is for the mcg). colonial won't even let you bring in HJs from spencer st. it's pathetic. but i've seen people bring in slurpees from 7-11, and everyone with their own chips/etc, and no one bats an eye like (as it should be).
hope this helps.
I
Do they make you open your drinks to make sure you haven't laced them with alcohol? How strict are they on this? As in, if I take in a 2 litre bottle of coke, will they sniff it? And am I allowed to take my own food?
If you take an esky they'll go right through it at the very least I'd say.
The funniest thing we did this a few year ago at the WACA, myself and another mate mixed coke and bourbon carefully matching/resealing the lid and all that, the other guy mixed with LEMONADE with bourbon, the search guy grabs it, looks at this unbelievably suspicious brown liquid for a few second and goes 'Go through I trust you guys' lol. Either the guy was retarded or thought I'll just let these guys have some fun today..
I was annoyed because I thought he'll get done so now they will also check ours.
fairdinkum
26 Dec 2009, 20:10
Yeah, I mixed my own drinks for a few games of AFL this season and had a great time, but Ive heard that security is tighter at the cricket.
What makes it harder, too, is that half a bottle of bourbon (about 10 standies) is fine for a 3-hour game of footy, but not enough for a full day at the cricket. I had considered that one might take in a 2-litre bottle of soft drink with a 700ml bottle of spirits premixed in, but a mate suggested they would sniff the drink.
Now I don't know what one should do if one wants a cheap day on the turps at the cricket...
:(
dr nick
26 Dec 2009, 20:27
a 6 pack of the sponsor's bottle with a generous splashing of vodka always works wonders, and it passes the 'sniff' test, as rare as that it.
http://www.minerva.unito.it/Alimentare/Coca/ImmaginiCocaItalia/poweradeCocaCola.jpg
fairdinkum
26 Dec 2009, 21:03
Suggestion noted.
Does anybody know what happens if they do indeed catch you trying to smuggle in grog?
Do they just confiscate the stuff and let you in, or do they take it and turn you away, or do they take it and then pass you on to more powerful authorities?
rdhopkins2
27 Dec 2009, 15:18
If caught expect to be ejected and fined by Victoria's finest. Think the fine is quite large too. Banned too for atleast the rest of the day perhaps more.
Anyone who thinks the cricket is like the old days of beers with mates, happy to get drunk and have a good time think again. Security are quite possibly descendants of the nazo regime.
Blue Dimension
27 Dec 2009, 15:49
Going back tomorrow. All geared up this time. Can't wait. Loving it.
Vampire013
27 Dec 2009, 18:28
I went first 2 days and it has been a crap game so far.
Sat in AFL Members and ended up in Bay 13.
Thank god for Bay 13.
The idiots there were more entertaining than the cricket.
Johnson#26
27 Dec 2009, 19:13
people can be quick to criticize bay 13, but it gives the game character. along with the barmy army, i love their antics, even though it can overboard. but it's got to be said, all of the security pinching the beach balls and deflating them isn't worth it. if they go over the fence, just kick them back. they need to draw the line between harmless and harmful.
what surprises me is when elderly people/families sit in the bay13 (say, bay/m 9-15). sure, it's well within their rights, but, clearly, it's not a scene cut out for them whatsoever.
rdhopkins2
27 Dec 2009, 19:46
By all means hit the ones fighting hard, but the rest just having some fun....well that's the cricket for you.
See my thread on over policing. Get a life security.
As for those who don't want to be in the bay sitting there, in their defence that's as close as behind the bowler's arm as you will get in GA these day. :(
Blue Dimension
27 Dec 2009, 19:49
Is Bay 13 General admission? Thinking about sitting there with my mates tomorrow.
rdhopkins2
27 Dec 2009, 19:52
Yup B13 is GA. Just don't say boo, sneeze or cheer and you shouldn't be kicked out. Then again, who knows with security who act like they are on speed.
Johnson#26
27 Dec 2009, 19:56
it is. bay 1-15 was (seemingly) a free-for-all today. even if m1-6 are reserved, space opens up within minutes of the first ball. but get there about 20-25m before the gates open, simply because the fanatical types (yourself included, perhaps? :p) ensure that they can bolt down when the bells go off and get their coverted bay 13 spot.
getthefooty
27 Dec 2009, 20:06
Can someone please explain the logic behind ejecting someone for sculling a beer? I'm pretty sure there's no rule that limits how fast you can drink your drink. Also, once the bay targets you it's not like you have much of an option other than to scull it - yet for some reason you're the one that ends up getting in trouble?
dr nick
27 Dec 2009, 20:32
I dunno the SCG police do this too. Beer bongs and sculling, probably coz you get drunk more quickly.
What these anti-social nazi pigs don't realise is who's going to say to the 2000 strong throng "Nope, it's time to declare"
fairdinkum
28 Dec 2009, 16:17
I went with dr nick's suggestion and it did indeed work a treat. While my mates were busy going back and forth to buy mid-strength beer at ridiculous prices I was happily sipping on some refreshing gatorade with bite.
:)
They do the bag checks before you can even buy tickets, and it is simply a matter of picking out the security dude who seems least interested in being there and Bob's your uncle.
:thumbsu:
After attending 2 of the days so far, I think I have worked out one MAJOR reason why people get so restless..
Because the MCG REFUSES to show any replays!
There's no hot-spot, no slow mos, not even a direct over the bowlers shoulder camera!
No, all we get is a crappy 10.3 degree off-centre camera at each end and a zoomed out mid wicket cam!
Having attended both the perth test last year, and the Adelaide test this year, I can tell you this is not a problem at either if these grounds..
WHY??
Because they ONLY USE channel 9 footage!
Sure, they cover it up with the score card as the bowler runs in, but any other time, you can look up and SEE WHAT PEOPLE SEE ON TV!
Why go the the cricket if they are going to keep you in the dark?
The mcg's inhouse cameras are a joke! Being at that Adelaide test, there was no more thrilling moment than referrels that went up to the third umpire.
We would all turn as one and celebrate every replay showing the edge, or boo every replay showing a plumb aussie lbw!
but at the mcg all you get to see is an exciting "decision pending" for 5 freakin minutes!!
No wonder people are resorting to their own fun!?
It's bloody insulting having any contriversial decisions "covered up" ie the Hauritz "runout".. 1 bloody replay from not even side on!?
FU mcg, I'm not gonna bother coming when i can see a much better coverage from my own couch!
And it seems, many MANY other people here are beggining to think the same way..