View Full Version : Marcus North - can he carve out a career at Test level

Pages : [1] 2

Johnson#26
31 Dec 2009, 17:45
Or one which lasts into 2011 (in your mind). Stop gap, or the real deal?

Hellgood
31 Dec 2009, 17:53
Hard to tell, but I think yes.

He's succeeded in South Africa, only bowler friendly pitches against a very good attack.
He did well in England, with some good scores against good bowlers, but failed a couple of times.
He was mediocre against the Windies, with a couple of good 50's but apart from that he's failed.

He definately deserves his spot in the side as he's shown he can score runs against top class attacks in difficult conditions, but he needs to make sure he becomes more of a consistant scorer.

Spikey
31 Dec 2009, 17:56
Him being 30 and three players in the batting order being 34 or over make me believe he'll stick around for awhile, even if he does get dropped within the next 1-2 years.

Unless he has a spectacular loss of form in the coming years.

Axel.
31 Dec 2009, 18:01
Needs consistency.

There are good players in domestic cricket who can take his place in the side.

Spikey
31 Dec 2009, 18:30
Yeah we're are over-flowing with proven, high-class middle order batsmen in domestic cricket.

Axel.
31 Dec 2009, 18:37
Yeah, we should give that Lambert kid a go. :thumbsu:

damochandler
31 Dec 2009, 20:14
he has got at least 5 years in him. he scoring plenty of runs. he has scored runs under pressure

Bomber Bears
1 Jan 2010, 00:03
Needs consistency.

There are good players in domestic cricket who can take his place in the side.You think? I think our depth as a cricketing nation is at an all tiem low right now. We have Hughes who and jaques who have shown they can bat at the top level, rogers is a very good bad but these are all top order players. There is no one in the middle order who has had a long consistent first class career of note at the moment, no one banging the door down.

I would like to see North succeed, he's a good bat but somewhat inconsistent.

HBF
1 Jan 2010, 07:58
Has enough runs on the board to retain his spot in the team at least until the Ashes come around again next Summer. Could actually see him move up the order once Hussey is moved out, and replace him at 6.

Adelaide Hawk
1 Jan 2010, 07:59
Yeah we're are over-flowing with proven, high-class middle order batsmen in domestic cricket.

We've got one in South Australia who would be in that team right now, and making big 100s if he had the slightest idea of what is required to play Test cricket. But, he still thinks Test selectors should be impressed by his consumption of Big Macs, pizzas and hot dogs, so I don't know why I brought it up really.

PrideOf
1 Jan 2010, 08:10
We've got one in South Australia who would be in that team right now, and making big 100s if he had the slightest idea of what is required to play Test cricket. But, he still thinks Test selectors should be impressed by his consumption of Big Macs, pizzas and hot dogs, so I don't know why I brought it up really.

Cossie's averaging 112 this season - it's a shame that's his cholesterol.

TBH, if Cameron Ferguson hadn't wrecked his knee, this Marcus North thread would have been consigned to the 'Where are they now?' forum.

Bugz
1 Jan 2010, 08:20
Down-hill skier.

When the pressure is on, he more often than not goes missing.

damochandler
1 Jan 2010, 09:03
ferguso is the next bloke to come in. when ever that is. but if north keeps scoring runs like he has been. his spot is safe

Hellgood
1 Jan 2010, 10:57
Down-hill skier.

When the pressure is on, he more often than not goes missing.

Disagree.

http://www.cricinfo.com/engvaus2009/engine/match/345972.html
http://www.cricinfo.com/rsavaus2009/engine/match/350472.html

DIG
1 Jan 2010, 11:16
Thats two but there's more examples when the team's collapsed that he's capitulated also.

He averages 16 in second innings, has got to improve on this.

Jono B
1 Jan 2010, 11:18
He averages 16 in the second innings. In a team that sometimes gets itself into trouble by collapsing in the second innings, he is by far the worst culprit.
He makes one or two well crafted innings and then the rest of the time he makes failures which puts the team under pressure. I wish we had a more consistant player in his place.

DOCKERZ
1 Jan 2010, 17:03

TBH, if Cameron Ferguson hadn't wrecked his knee, this Marcus North thread would have been consigned to the 'Where are they now?' forum.

Genuinely lol'd at first line.

Hmm where is Cameron Ferguson these days?
It's a shame CALLUM did his knee, he'd be putting some major pressure on Hussey/North atm...

Thommo 42
1 Jan 2010, 20:18
Definately.

Very good player and is important at #6 against good attacks. I think he gets a bit complacent when we're playing mugs.

Nugget1985
2 Jan 2010, 09:00

It's also his resting heart rate.

Belnakor
2 Jan 2010, 12:43
Disagree.

http://www.cricinfo.com/engvaus2009/engine/match/345972.html
http://www.cricinfo.com/rsavaus2009/engine/match/350472.html

If north comes in with the score less than 150:
His last 6 innings

Illinois Nazi
2 Jan 2010, 20:34
If north comes in with the score less than 150:
His last 6 innings

This thing is being overplayed. Sure, it'd be great if he regularly came in and rescued us from doom, but all that stat is really saying is that when the rest of the batsmen get rolled cheaply he does too. Not really that much of a surprise.

bombersno1
2 Jan 2010, 20:40
Fact is, who else is there? Ferguson who is the obvious one is injured, Hughes and Jaques are openers and you don't move Watson who has just made over 220 runs in a test to accomodate them. Seriously who is there?

Illinois Nazi
2 Jan 2010, 21:49
you don't move Watson who has just made over 220 runs in a test

He only made 213, didn't he? :D

pinkus maximus
3 Jan 2010, 02:01
Fact is, who else is there? Ferguson who is the obvious one is injured, Hughes and Jaques are openers and you don't move Watson who has just made over 220 runs in a test to accomodate them. Seriously who is there?
agree. We just don't have the calibre of reserves that we used too. Remember the days when we had guys like Lehmann, Katich, Hussey, Hodge, Elliot etc waiting in the wings?

Now we have Callum Ferguson, with a FC average of 35

bombersno1
3 Jan 2010, 03:50
Agreed, I guess the one would be Usman Khwaja (sp.), but even him you would be punting as he was in and out of the NSW side last year. In Ferguson's defence Clarke had a worse average when he made his debut.

courtjester
3 Jan 2010, 03:59
North is a very good player no doubt. He will not be dropped in the next two years unless he makes NO runs.

Considering Ponting, Katich and Hussey (and maybe Haddin) will be gone in the next 2-3 years, North's stability and leadership will be important in Clarke's transition to captaincy.

The team in three years (barring injury) will be something like:

1. Watson
2. ??????
3. ??????
4. ??????
5. Clarke
6. North
7. ??????
8. Johnson
9. Hauritz/Smith
10. Bollinger/Siddle
11. Hilfenhaus

If you consider there will be three batting spots up for grabs, you can see why North's experience will be vital. The batting spots will probably be taken by Hughes, Ferguson, and maybe White. We definetely need both Clarke and North in the middle order in 3 years.

The Reaper
3 Jan 2010, 08:25
North is a very good player no doubt. He will not be dropped in the next two years unless he makes NO runs.

Considering Ponting, Katich and Hussey (and maybe Haddin) will be gone in the next 2-3 years, North's stability and leadership will be important in Clarke's transition to captaincy.

The team in three years (barring injury) will be something like:

1. Watson
2. ??????
3. ??????
4. ??????
5. Clarke
6. North
7. ??????
8. Johnson
9. Hauritz/Smith
10. Bollinger/Siddle
11. Hilfenhaus

If you consider there will be three batting spots up for grabs, you can see why North's experience will be vital. The batting spots will probably be taken by Hughes, Ferguson, and maybe White. We definetely need both Clarke and North in the middle order in 3 years.

yeah
North could very easily be vice-captain in a couple of years

Jono B
3 Jan 2010, 12:43
This thing is being overplayed. Sure, it'd be great if he regularly came in and rescued us from doom, but all that stat is really saying is that when the rest of the batsmen get rolled cheaply he does too. Not really that much of a surprise.
You expect him to not do as well but to do nothing everytime is a bad sign. What do you expect? When a couple fall in a row the rest of the batting line up can fall cheaply and that will be understandable?

Illinois Nazi
3 Jan 2010, 13:35
You expect him to not do as well but to do nothing everytime is a bad sign. What do you expect? When a couple fall in a row the rest of the batting line up can fall cheaply and that will be understandable?

It's partly that, yes. If everyone gets out for ****-all runs then it just might indicate that it wasn't the best of conditions for batting. And if they all got out cheaply, why should the guy who just happens to be at the end of the line be the one to shoulder all the blame? (Just ask Damien Martyn!)

HBF
3 Jan 2010, 13:54
If he can get through this 1st innings and make a score, it could be the innings that turns his fortunes around. A bit scratchy early, but two boundaries in a row might just get him going.

alfy!
3 Jan 2010, 14:03
If he can get through this 1st innings and make a score, it could be the innings that turns his fortunes around. A bit scratchy early, but two boundaries in a row might just get him going.
Damn.

danielnajdek
3 Jan 2010, 14:54
GONEEEEEEEEE hopeless. Prefer anyone other then him. But we do have the second innings and he's a second innings specialist :rolleyes:

Illinois Nazi
3 Jan 2010, 15:10
GONEEEEEEEEE hopeless. Prefer anyone other then him. But we do have the second innings and he's a second innings specialist :rolleyes:

Second highest scorer of the batsmen though. I really don't see how North can be held responsible for the fact that Australia were 4/36 when he came in and 6/51 when he got out, just because he happens to be the last one in the line.

aussie1st
3 Jan 2010, 15:56
The problem is when the top order have their failure which is bound to happen (you can't have a 200 run opening stand every innings) the middle order don't pick up the slack. Someone posted North's record when the score is under 150 and it doesn't make pretty reading.

Someone will have to be made responsible and its not like we can drop Katich, Watson, Ponting or Clarke so that leaves Hussey and North.

Xtreme
3 Jan 2010, 16:16
Should be axed with Hussey, make room for the future of Australian cricket.

Jono B
3 Jan 2010, 16:31
Second highest scorer of the batsmen though. I really don't see how North can be held responsible for the fact that Australia were 4/36 when he came in and 6/51 when he got out, just because he happens to be the last one in the line.
Everyone of the test batsmen that failed share the responsibility. The problem is North is consistantly failing under pressure.

DaRick
3 Jan 2010, 17:15
He looked like the perfect replacement to Symonds - he showed an early ability to score runs when the team was under pressure in tough conditions.

Then it became evident that when the team underwent a dramatic collapse, he was privy to it as well. Now he's simply scoring very few runs (although today wasn't all his fault).

It is a serious concern - actually the shaky, brittle nature of our batting line-up is.

Illinois Nazi
3 Jan 2010, 17:39
But it all comes back to the question of who replaces him? There's not exactly a ton of young batsmen demanding selection at the moment.

I'd rather stay with someone who has shown he can perform at Test level, even if not every time we'd like him to, than just throwing someone else in for no other reason than "we have to do something".

Subaru Impreza
3 Jan 2010, 18:01
Replacements ? I can think of many: Cameron White, Phil Hughes, Callum Ferguson, Chris Rogers, David Hussey.

I believe all can play the number 6 role quite well, if given the chance. Im a North supporter, but no doubt about it, he is under pressure at the moment to cement his spot.

Cousin Jed
3 Jan 2010, 18:55
Its not looking good for Marcus.

There is a big opportunity for a Shield batsmen to put up a ton of runs if the hit and giggle stuff ever ends and force his way into the NZ tour squad.

North doesn't have one day form to rely on either

bombersno1
3 Jan 2010, 23:23
Replacements ? I can think of many: Cameron White, Phil Hughes, Callum Ferguson, Chris Rogers, David Hussey.

I believe all can play the number 6 role quite well, if given the chance. Im a North supporter, but no doubt about it, he is under pressure at the moment to cement his spot.

White..failed at test level, not a test player.

Hughes..opener not a middle order bat.

Ferguson..in theory yes but is out for 12 months with an ACL

Rogers..old and a twat off the field

Dave Hussey..laughable what was his record in his last ODI series again? Failed.

The only one screaming pick me is Usman Khwaja (sp.) and he is as raw as anything.

Wally Carter
4 Jan 2010, 07:38
No.

I hope we get flogged in this match as it will bring on the inevitable enema that Australian cricket has needed for the past 2 years. The selectors are hopeless.

kristin5
4 Jan 2010, 08:12

Dave Hussey..laughable what was his record in his last ODI series again? Failed.

The only one screaming pick me is Usman Khwaja (sp.) and he is as raw as anything.

Another Sydney flog banging on about one of their own. Seriously you guys won't be happy until all eleven spots in the test teamcome out of NSW. khwaja....please

kaysee
4 Jan 2010, 10:01
What about Michael Klinger for a possible trial?

- Mature attitude.
- Still young enough (29/30yo) to get 5 years of service out of him.
- Been in sparkling form the last 2 years.
- He has a "test", hard fighting, attitude.
- Techniqually very good for test match cricket.
- Suited to the middle order.

* Sure he isn't going to be around ~10 years... but he replace and keep pressure on under performing players or fill the void for the next 5 years.

My .02 :)

justin75
4 Jan 2010, 11:14
It seems that same old names get thrown up to the next in line David (not making many runs) Hussey, Chris (getting on in years) Rogers and so forth. Maybe try Klinger or someone that has not been mentioned George Bailey captain of Tassie and a genuine talent it seems.

outabounds
4 Jan 2010, 11:25
Bailey is worth a look.

Wally Carter
4 Jan 2010, 12:03
North is an honest cricketer, but he is not a front line spinner, and his batting is slightly below par for this level.

I think we need to move back to the idea where we have a real grinder at six to compliment the shot players Clarke, Haddin and Johnson. Hodge would have been a good option a couple of years back.

pieman123
4 Jan 2010, 12:53

White only failed as a bowler in test cricket not as a batter, in india he got a couple of 30s and 40s coming in at 8

kaysee
4 Jan 2010, 13:00
north is an honest cricketer, but he is not a front line spinner, and his batting is slightly below par for this level.

I think we need to move back to the idea where we have a real grinder at six to compliment the shot players clarke, haddin and johnson. Hodge would have been a good option a couple of years back.

get
____

hodge

TheColeTrain
4 Jan 2010, 13:17
White only failed as a bowler in test cricket not as a batter, in india he got a couple of 30s and 40s coming in at 8
Don't waste your time arguing with people like that.
Absolutely NFI at all

Wally Carter
4 Jan 2010, 13:30
Don't waste your time arguing with people like that.
Absolutely NFI at all

I think White has definitely been in calculations, unfortunately he went off the boil at the wrong time.

The advantage of White is that he has two different games. He can hold up an end, and he can also hit out.

In fact, he might just be the perfect solution, when he gains some more consistency.

He definitely shits all over Clarke as a captaincy option.

TheColeTrain
4 Jan 2010, 13:48
I think White has definitely been in calculations, unfortunately he went off the boil at the wrong time.

The advantage of White is that he has two different games. He can hold up an end, and he can also hit out.

In fact, he might just be the perfect solution, when he gains some more consistency.

He definitely shits all over Clarke as a captaincy option.
And he is a very good 1st slip fieldsman, North certainly is not, drops them far too often

bombersno1
4 Jan 2010, 18:44
Another Sydney flog banging on about one of their own. Seriously you guys won't be happy until all eleven spots in the test teamcome out of NSW. khwaja....please

I go for QLD..but whatever suits you I guess. I just realise that the most young talent ion the country especially in batsmen come from NSW as they actually give them a go! I am not blinded when I say QLD don't have anyone pressing at the moment, but neither do Victoria, in fact they are lucky to have one in the side at the moment as he is bowling pies!

bombersno1
4 Jan 2010, 18:46
Bailey is worth a look.

Probably with Khawaja the two that are pressing the hardest. However he is not a "grinder" at 6. I would say we could afford Bailey at 6 if Tim Paine was at 7. Bailey still gets out ridiculous ways which is still his biggest issue, that said he is pressing this season.

bombersno1
4 Jan 2010, 18:48

Remind us again what his test batting average was..less than 20 was it again..he failed. Simple. He is not in your top 6 batsmen in the country. ODI's are different.

TheColeTrain
4 Jan 2010, 19:03
Remind us again what his test batting average was..less than 20 was it again..he failed. Simple. He is not in your top 6 batsmen in the country. ODI's are different.
Remind us of the role he was played in by the morons in charge.
Or will that not suit your agenda?

bombersno1
4 Jan 2010, 19:06
Was picked as a batting all rounder and he was rubbish at both aspects. Don't tell me he did not have enough chances with the bat, he was just ordinary in 8 innings.

Is White in the best 6 batsman..no he is not, maybe top 10 but well outside the top 6.

TheColeTrain
4 Jan 2010, 19:09
He was picked as a bowling all rounder, and was batted at number 8.
Anybody with a clue would realise that this should have no bearing on his future selections as a batsman, which is the only role he should ever be picked in.
Its funny that he has a better record as a batsmen at domestic level then almost all the other prospects that ypu have thrown up, better then North, thats for sure

bombersno1
4 Jan 2010, 19:33
Take out his ever inflating County stats and it is not as good as you think. He does not get enough big scores to be a top 6 test batsman, that is what you want. If the option is White, I'll stick with North!

White was picked to strengthen the batting first and foremost in India, he barely bowled long spells on that tour.

Big Bryza
4 Jan 2010, 19:43
Read Punters 09 diary and he clearly states that white was picked as a bowling all rounder and was the front line spinner for the first 3 tests. Why? I will never know. If you cant see that white has improved his batting a hell of a lot since then, well u clearly have no idea about cricket.

TheColeTrain
4 Jan 2010, 19:48
Take out his ever inflating County stats and it is not as good as you think. He does not get enough big scores to be a top 6 test batsman, that is what you want. If the option is White, I'll stick with North!

White was picked to strengthen the batting first and foremost in India, he barely bowled long spells on that tour.
No he wasn't, he was picked first and foremost for his bowling, Ponting just didn't use him because he has a clue unlike Hilditch and co.
The County inflation rule applies for 90% of players so try again champion.

Bomber Bears
4 Jan 2010, 20:57
Probably with Khawaja the two that are pressing the hardest. However he is not a "grinder" at 6. I would say we could afford Bailey at 6 if Tim Paine was at 7. Bailey still gets out ridiculous ways which is still his biggest issue, that said he is pressing this season.
The best grinder in the team is Katich, he's the toughest bastard we have, and you want him dropped as of the start of this test, despite him being our best bat for 2 years.

Just **** off out of the cricket forums, NFI.

Cotchin 9
4 Jan 2010, 21:06
The snorkel, Marcus "Snorks" North.

Yes he can, he is a quality player Snorkel.

Thewlis Dish
4 Jan 2010, 21:33
Looks woefully out of touch but seems a pretty popular member of the side, and has certainly shown he can cut the mustard at this level. I'd stick with him in Hobart.

Belnakor
5 Jan 2010, 01:35
out flashing at a wide one when the team is 6-70 isn't exactly the best way to show your chops as a test class No.6

justin75
5 Jan 2010, 07:32
Fortunately for North he wasn`t the only batsman to go out on a crap shot. Look at Ponting, Hussey and Haddin... all dumb shots that weren`t needed. If Australia want to regain the Ashes this year then they need to make some serious changes NOW as England are playing some good cricket over in South Africa and we are playing very very average.

Axel.
5 Jan 2010, 10:12
North has averaged less than 21 in 09. :thumbsd:

Can't see why he is still in the team.

Wally Carter
5 Jan 2010, 10:13

I'll be very surprised if he lasts past this test.

He needs to pull out a belter in the second dig.

Spikey
5 Jan 2010, 10:13
A mixture of a few good innings and no-one else to replace him.

Spikey
5 Jan 2010, 10:16
Also,

North scored 701 runs in 18 innings with one not out in 2009.

That's an average of 41.24.

Axel.
5 Jan 2010, 10:21
Also,

North scored 701 runs in 18 innings with one not out in 2009.

That's an average of 41.24.

Tv must have lied then. :thumbsu:

Spikey
5 Jan 2010, 10:26
Probably meant the summer. That's more realistic.

Axel.
5 Jan 2010, 10:34
Probably meant the summer. That's more realistic.

Yeah just saw it again.

09/10 summer.

rhaz
5 Jan 2010, 10:53
Is Hughes an opener and only an opener? Neither Katich nor Watson were openers to begin with, but they both are playing superbly in that role now. Even Langer played 3/4 for ages before finally becoming an opener. Maybe North could be dropped, Katich brought back in and Hughes play down the order? He is young but clearly he can bat, the more exposure at an international level the better if you ask me.

richskee
5 Jan 2010, 11:10
Defiantly out of touch with the bat and out in the field.

Dropped an absolute sitter yesterday.:thumbsd:

TheColeTrain
5 Jan 2010, 14:01
Now or never for Marcus North

aussie1st
5 Jan 2010, 14:13
That should be it for North, it won't be however.

Belnakor
no ticker

bus24
Very average effort that.

That should be the end of him.

LondonCalling
5 Jan 2010, 14:15
Going with the precedent that seems to be around in recent times of picking the local boy if it's a one off. I reckon Bailey will get the nod.

HBF
5 Jan 2010, 14:25
That has to be it for North now. Another failure.
I wonder if a Michael Klinger would come into consideration? He's scored 650+ runs this Summer, at an average of 109.

Another option is to stick with Hughes, and bring Katich back into the middle order.

Selective Retention
5 Jan 2010, 14:26
I reckon he will get Hobart as a last chance. They could keep Hughes and leave North out but that would probably require Katich at 3, Ponting at 4 on current form. The form Watson is in at the moment you wouldn't want to mess with moving him around.

GreekLunatic
5 Jan 2010, 14:29
Tim Nielsen will keep him in the team. If he doesnt get drop then there is something wrong whats his highest score this summer 10.

Cotchin 9
5 Jan 2010, 14:32
Have tracked down how North got his nickname "Snorks".

When he was playing club cricket, they went to a pool for a recovery session and had a competition to see who could stay underwater the longest, suffice to say North stayed under the longest and his team-mates mentioned that he must have had a snorkel to breathe, hence the nickname "Snorks" or "Snorkel"

aussie1st
5 Jan 2010, 14:33
I reckon he will get Hobart as a last chance. They could keep Hughes and leave North out but that would probably require Katich at 3, Ponting at 4 on current form. The form Watson is in at the moment you wouldn't want to mess with moving him around.

That wouldn't be too bad, Katich is in great form which is what we are missing from our number 3 atm. Problem is everyone is moving positions unless Hussey is dropping to 6.

LondonCalling
5 Jan 2010, 14:35
Andrew McDonald out of the picture to replace North, or too bowling heavy?

Mark Cosgrove?

DaRick
5 Jan 2010, 14:39
Tim Nielsen will keep him in the team. If he doesnt get drop then there is something wrong whats his highest score this summer 10.

79, but he's made about 5 scores of 15 or below.

He doesn't warrant a place anymore.

Selective Retention
5 Jan 2010, 14:40
McDonald's got no chance now Watson is in the side.

If they want a six it would be Bailey, White or Cosgrove.

And none of them are really dig in batsman, cept Cosgrove at pizza hut.

That's why I reckon they will stick with North for one more test.

Axel.
5 Jan 2010, 14:45
Klinger/ Bailey/ Cosgrove/ Khawaja/ S.Marsh are options for North.

LondonCalling
5 Jan 2010, 14:48
Why Marsh? Why pick another opener let alone one not named Phil Hughes?

CAS79
5 Jan 2010, 14:51
Norths starts are a real hindrance to the team and if this test goes live I think he will be replaced. If it's a dead rubber he will be given a hit to get himself into form.

Id like to see Bailey but Klinger is probably the man for the job.

Axel.
5 Jan 2010, 14:52
Why Marsh? Why pick another opener let alone one not named Phil Hughes?

Marsh doesn't open in tests, he plays 3rd/4th.

LondonCalling
5 Jan 2010, 14:55
He doesn't do anything in tests.....yet.

Axel.
5 Jan 2010, 15:00
He doesn't do anything in tests.....yet.

Averages 59.63 this summer.

lemon chicken
5 Jan 2010, 15:01
Never been a fan of North, just doesnt look like a test cricketer. Even his whites dont seem to fit him properly, just looks like a park cricketer. More in favour of Hughes batting down the order, perhaps 4 and pushing Hussey back to 6.

Spikey
5 Jan 2010, 15:02
You've gotta learn the difference between 'First Class' and 'Tests' Alex :p

Axel.
5 Jan 2010, 15:05
You've gotta learn the difference between 'First Class' and 'Tests' Alex :p

I know.

It's just... i hate North. :thumbsu::cool:

What was his average before joining the aus team?

richskee
5 Jan 2010, 15:15
Never been a fan of North, just doesnt look like a test cricketer. Even his whites dont seem to fit him properly, just looks like a park cricketer. More in favour of Hughes batting down the order, perhaps 4 and pushing Hussey back to 6.

Lol, I've always thought the same. He does look akward in his whites. Can't judge him on appearance though otherwise Bollinger would not be in the side.

http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2008/04/15/dougbollinger_narrowweb__300x393,0.jpg

THRILLHO
5 Jan 2010, 16:11

Haha! I thought I was the only one who noticed this. They just sit awkwardly on him, dont they?

Illinois Nazi
5 Jan 2010, 17:40
I would hope that this is not his last ever Test match, however from here I see two options:

1. Retain him for the final Test in Hobart. If he doesn't get a score there, it's goodbye forever.

2. Drop him for the Hobart Test, and get him back into Shield cricket. If he can regain form there, he's straight back in the squad for the next Test series.