View Full Version : Tommy Two-hundred
Mr Ripper
29 Apr 2003, 12:26
A splendiferous double-century coming up. Congratulations, Nigel Lappin. An ornament to the game.
adey115
29 Apr 2003, 12:51
Lapps is the quiet acheiver really.
Isn't as publicity-flash as Aka.
Isn't the public face of the team as is Vossy.
Doesn't have a Charlie round his neck like Blacky, or Vossy or Aka for that matter.
But is an absolute Rolls Royce of a player and very much a midfield driving force - almost the unsung hero or hidden secret to our success.
roostersgal4eva
29 Apr 2003, 14:52
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
A splendiferous double-century coming up. Congratulations, Nigel Lappin. An ornament to the game.
Damm Straight Mr Ripper!
Congats to nigal on 200 great games :D - ONYA NIGE!
(my tip 4 da brownlow :D)
SpecialBruce
29 Apr 2003, 17:06
Congratulations Nigel.
When is Ashcroft's triple century coming up? It has to be close now.
Beausgirl43
29 Apr 2003, 18:16
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Congratulations Nigel.
When is Ashcroft's triple century coming up? It has to be close now. That will be next week in Sydney if all goes well.
cheers ... Kaz:)
Beausgirl43
29 Apr 2003, 18:22
hehe oh yeah .... Congrats Tom on the big one. Good Luck!
cheers ... Kaz :)
One of the best big-game players in the league, is N.Lappin. You've got to love the way he sets up goals, and even moreso, the ones he kicks on the run himself.
He had an absolutely brilliant game down at Geelong in 2000, so hopefully he can match that performance down there this week.
He has been an outstanding player ever since starting with the Bears, IMO, and with the Lions, he's been amongst the most consistent, and best performing players.
OldLion
29 Apr 2003, 23:53
Superstar. His 3rd quarter in the 2001 GF never to be forgotten.
NathanD
30 Apr 2003, 10:21
Originally posted by OldLion
Superstar. His 3rd quarter in the 2001 GF never to be forgotten.
Couldn't agree more OldLion - he was my BOG with Johnno and Hart close behind, though Harty was a deserving winner for his 4 qtr performance.
He was certainly the player of that final series without a doubt.
No offence to Simon but I felt that Nigel was going win the "charlie" last year until he got injured.
Nigel has been so good for so long it's hard to see how we will ever replace him when time finally comes for him to retire.
Hopefully we won't have to worry about that for a few years.
He reminds me of Ben Hur's favorite horse . I can't remember his name, but Hur liked him because even though he wasn't the biggest or the fastest, he had the biggest heart and would run all day if he had to. For those of you who have never seen Ben Hur he had a chariot pulled by four horses, his engine room if you like, this is how I drew the anology to our midfield. Vossy would be the strongest, Aka the fastest. Don't know if the other horse had really quick hands but you get the picture. Congratulations on 200 games Nigel!
keatings_gal
1 May 2003, 23:37
yeah troppo......
nige would have won i reckon, same with B&F.. he was leading in the votes until he had those 7 weeks off & still didnt end up too far off the mark........
best of luck nige!
Originally posted by ian68
He reminds me of Ben Hur's favorite horse . I can't remember his name, but Hur liked him because even though he wasn't the biggest or the fastest, he had the biggest heart and would run all day if he had to. For those of you who have never seen Ben Hur he had a chariot pulled by four horses, his engine room if you like, this is how I drew the anology to our midfield. Vossy would be the strongest, Aka the fastest. Don't know if the other horse had really quick hands but you get the picture. Congratulations on 200 games Nigel!
Nice analogy.
I'm a "Ben Hur" fan from way back and I understand what you saying.
Go Nige. Give 'em heaps.
Mr Ripper
4 May 2003, 17:41
He didn't let us down today. Bonza job from the boy from Chiltern.
SpecialBruce
4 May 2003, 17:46
He didn't let us down today. Bonza job from the boy from Chiltern.
Might go out there sometime and see if they're celebrating.
Mr Ripper
4 May 2003, 17:48
Chiltern would be the Big Smoke compared to Walla Walla.
SpecialBruce
4 May 2003, 17:54
Chiltern would be the Big Smoke compared to Walla Walla.
You'd be surprised.
Mr Ripper
4 May 2003, 17:57
Walla has footpaths now? Or electricity?
SpecialBruce
4 May 2003, 18:02
Walla has footpaths now? Or electricity?
Always did. Chiltern is a hole okay. Ask the man himself. He'll agree.
Mr Ripper
4 May 2003, 18:07
So, when Great Great Great GrandpaBruce arrived at Walla in 1782 he strolled up the Main Street, then had to wait for the traffic lights to change before he could cross the road to go to the pub?
SpecialBruce
4 May 2003, 18:11
So, when Great Great Great GrandpaBruce arrived at Walla in 1782 he strolled up the Main Street, then had to wait for the traffic lights to change before he could cross the road to go to the pub?
You're on some strong stuff.
Mr Ripper
4 May 2003, 18:14
Pan Pharmaceuticals supply my every need.
SpecialBruce
4 May 2003, 18:19
Pan Pharmaceuticals supply my every need.
You're out of it.
Mr Ripper
4 May 2003, 18:22
Nah, mate, there's an endless supply. I've found where they dumped it. Give us a call!
SpecialBruce
4 May 2003, 18:26
Nah, mate, there's an endless supply. I've found where they dumped it. Give us a call!
Yeah, and I'm John Howard!
Mr Ripper
4 May 2003, 18:27
Hahahaha!!! ;) ;) ;)
SpecialBruce
4 May 2003, 18:34
I'm interested in your stash. I just need your phone number.