View Full Version : Lions tv ratings honeymoon over
Diehard
29 Apr 2003, 14:09
Courier- Mail 29 April 2003, p:
"...the weekend saw rugby league celebrate, after falling behind for the first time at Easter. The Brisbane Broncos easily won the ratings battle, their Anzac day clash with Parramatta attracting an average of 271, 000 viewers, which peaked at 315, 000.
Sunday's Brisbane Lions-Western Bulldogs AFL clash clash at the Gabba averaged 138, 000 (peak 177, 000), well behind the Manly-South Sydney NRL telecast which started immediately after and averaged 246, 000 (peak 269, 000).
All matches were televised on Channel Nine but only the Lions match was shown live. Telecasts of both rugby league matches were delayed an hour."
Sorry fellas but it's back to business. Come the opening of Lang Park the Broncos will be beating you TV and Crowd wise. Seems like all you whingy Victorian ex pats will just have to conceed.:p
PS Beating us by a mere 10,000 viewers when we played on the traditionally slow Good Friday with no where near the saturation publicity isnt anything to write home about. If the Broncos played a LIVE game on Thursday and received the same publicity, mark my works they'd beat you by alot more then 10,000.
Do the math guys, Broncos 271,000 Lions 138,000. Gee that's a difference of 133,000, a tad more then 10,000 wouldnt you say?
SUCKED IN
grayham
29 Apr 2003, 14:21
Idiot.
There was approximately the same number of TV viewers across all channels in Brisbane on Thursday night as there was on Friday night.
What makes the Lions win all the more impressive was that the Thursday night competition is much tougher on other channels.
And you comparison of the Sunday footy is a joke. One is played at 1pm, the other at 4pm. Every other TV programming format would have that same ratio. 4pm is a much more viewer friendly time.
Where were both games ranked for their time slot? What about % of viewers at each time slot?
Very selective figures there diehard. On paper it looks like League lost again on %.
And as for Lang Park. Yep, I'm sure that will save the broncos, much like Colonial saved the Storm, or Stadium Australia saved Canterbury.... NOT. New grounds dont have much of a history of saving anyone.
blackers
29 Apr 2003, 14:24
I think the fact a rugby supporter feels threatened enough to register on these boards just to taunt AFL supporters about them winning the Queensland TV ratings is indicative of the trouble rugby's in up north. Would this have happened ten years ago? Hear the footsteps, Murdoch? We're coming for ya.
BrisGirl
29 Apr 2003, 14:26
Originally posted by Diehard
All matches were televised on Channel Nine but only the Lions match was shown live. Telecasts of both rugby league matches were delayed an hour."
Sorry fellas but it's back to business. Come the opening of Lang Park the Broncos will be beating you TV and Crowd wise. Seems like all you whingy Victorian ex pats will just have to conceed.:p
PS Beating us by a mere 10,000 viewers when we played on the traditionally slow Good Friday with no where near the saturation publicity isnt anything to write home about. If the Broncos played a LIVE game on Thursday and received the same publicity, mark my works they'd beat you by alot more then 10,000.
Do the math guys, Broncos 271,000 Lions 138,000. Gee that's a difference of 133,000, a tad more then 10,000 wouldnt you say?
SUCKED IN
Goodness, I think someone smells the death of their code and is not coping with it.
Go and add up all of the attendances to all the games throughout Australia for both Codes and while you are at it, add the televised viewers throughout Australia for both Codes and then come over to our board with all of the facts, until then you are only showing yourself to be the narrow minded Rugby League supporter that you are.
NICK THE PIE MAN
29 Apr 2003, 15:41
Rugby in QLD is getting SLAUGHTERED.
It's dieing a slow painful death.
Round 1 attendance for Broncos: 17 000
Round 1 attendance for Lions: 37 000
'Nuff said.
Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
Rugby in QLD is getting SLAUGHTERED.
It's dieing a slow painful death.
Round 1 attendance for Broncos: 17 000
Round 1 attendance for Lions: 37 000
'Nuff said.
That's what really sticks in their craw Nick.
The fact that on an actual attendance basis, the AFL has been murdering the NRL for years In BRISBANE.
Next thing you know, Eddie will want to take all the credit;)
pedrothelioness
29 Apr 2003, 20:02
The reason why there wasnt many watching the game, was cause the greater majority were at the game.
You see Lions supporters go to the game to give their support, Broncoes supporters watch it on tele cause nothing else is on.
Why the spending so much money on a staduim when the Broncoes cant even give away tickets.
Tryhard is so obsessed with his TV ratings "win" that he has completely overlooked the fact that AFL fans vote with their feet, whilst Rugby League fans vote with their remote controls.
Diehard
29 Apr 2003, 20:38
Yep my code is dying, it's the best it's been in years.
I only registered here because some GAYfl trolls registered on a league forum to trump their pathetic victory. Im just returning the favour.
I guess it's back to getting outrated by the Queensland Cup Rugby League games on a weekly basis eh Lions fans?
My code is dying hahaha we will see who is about to be slaughtered in Queensland.
Diehard
29 Apr 2003, 20:40
BTW Id love to see the Lions draw 20,000 at ANZ Stadium, it just wouldnt happen. We will soon be on a level playing field. The honeymoon is over! Time to move back to Victoria!
Also the idea of an AFL fan calling a rugby league fan narrow minded is an irony.
I only registered here because some GAYfl trolls registered on a league forum to trump their pathetic victory. Im just returning the favour.
Oh dear.......we have a bright spark here.
Diehard, if your sole purpose for visiting this board is to spout your anti-AFL 'bum sniffers are better' rot, then I'll happily show you the door.
I don't give a rats what some fans did on your league forum, it won't excuse your rubbish here.
You want to talk about AFL and the Lions, then you are welcome here, you want to crap on like you have been so far, then push off.
LebaneseForces
29 Apr 2003, 21:26
Originally posted by Danni
Oh dear.......we have a bright spark here.
Diehard, if your sole purpose for visiting this board is to spout your anti-AFL 'bum sniffers are better' rot, then I'll happily show you the door.
I don't give a rats what some fans did on your league forum, it won't excuse your rubbish here.
You want to talk about AFL and the Lions, then you are welcome here, you want to crap on like you have been so far, then push off.
Whats your problem mate??? WHat happens with Rugby League and the Broncos in Queensland has a major effect on Gayfl and the Bears in Queensland!!!
What till Lang Park is finished the Broncos will average 40k+ at the minimum!!!!!! The Lions will die a slow and painful death mark my word!!!!!!!!
LONG LIVE RUGBY LEAGUE!!
Talk about insecurity!!! We are just fans what we say doesn't represent or effect the Codes!!!!! Your CEO has a big mouth and is obviously Threatened by League too make the comments he did last week and as for Eddy Millionaire dont get me started!!!!!!
Insecurity at its best by the head figures of your code!!!!!
Originally posted by LebaneseForces
Whats your problem mate??? WHat happens with Rugby League and the Broncos in Queensland has a major effect on Gayfl and the Bears in Queensland!!!
What till Lang Park is finished the Broncos will average 40k+ at the minimum!!!!!! The Lions will die a slow and painful death mark my word!!!!!!!!
LONG LIVE RUGBY LEAGUE!!
Talk about insecurity!!! We are just fans what we say doesn't represent or effect the Codes!!!!! Your CEO has a big mouth and is obviously Threatened by League too make the comments he did last week and as for Eddy Millionaire dont get me started!!!!!!
Insecurity at its best by the head figures of your code!!!!!
Firstly don't call me mate.
Secondly, the team boards on bigfooty are for supporters of those teams. Insecurity has nothing to do with it. I have probably had more involvement directly with the Broncos in their early years than you will have with them in your lifetime, so don't pretend to preach to me and throw around fantasy figures to try and make a non existant point.
Shape up your attitude or ship out. First and final warning.
Take your rants and raves elsewhere.
Naw, let him crap on.
I doubt if any of us are in the slightest bit offended by Tryhard's inane prattlings.
His total lack of cohesion, pathetic and unoriginal play on words(GAYfl) and selective use of statistics is a great source of humour.
Actually Tryhard, I have a question for you.
Where did you get your "Diehard" moniker?
You wouldn't be an old Valleys BRL supporter would you?
If so, I feel sorry for you. Must be a bitter pill to swallow to have seen your old club wither and die in the backwash of the TV Broncos entry into the NSWRL/NRL.
Maybe that's why you have an unhealthy attachment to the "Queensland Cup", the comp that not even the most strident RL supporters (sorry, NRL supporters) give a rat's clacker about anymore.
Do yourself a favour. let go of of your whimsical attachment to the past glories of the now totally Americanised NRL. Try buying a Gen Admission ticket to a game of AUSSIE footy at the Gabba and relive those days from the 70's when Rugby League fans felt passionate about their sport.
'Cause these days their passion only extends as far as their TV sets.
Diehard
29 Apr 2003, 22:57
Come June 1 Ill be back fortnightly to give you updates on the Broncos fantastic crowds. Eat it up exiled Mexicans.
What's funny is more people care about the Queensland Cup then the Fitzroy Bears no matter how many bumper stickers you slap on your cars.
RUGBY LEAGUE - QUEENSLAND'S HEART AND SOUL :cool:
PS LIONS ARE BROKE AFTER 2 PREMIERSHIPS, WITH THE BRONCOS DEEPLY CUTTING INTO YOUR GATE TAKINGS IT'S GOING TO BE LEAN YEARS AHEAD. OH AND DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT WHEN THEY ADD A 2ND BRISBANE CLUB, YOU'LL WET YOURSELF.
Pardon me for butting in but I would like to make the point that the Lions game was telecast live to Regional WA and iprobably the Perth Metro area. I would be very surpised if the TOTAL Australia wide viewing audience did not crap all over the Rugby game between the Bronco's and who ever it was.by an order of some magnitude.
BTW this comes from an EX QLD who grew up playing RL and didn't know Aussie rules existed.
My heros wre blokes like Bobbie Fulton & Father John Cootes.
But I am afraid from the time of the super league wars I have completelty lost interest and will never regain it.
Diehard and LebaneseForces:
This board is not the board to talk about rugby league.
This board is not the board to have your little tanty about someone else posting on some other league forum.
This board is for Brisbane Lions fans to discuss their team, and non-fans to do the same in a constructive manner.
Respect these rules or you will be removed.
Talk about twisting the facts. "Traditionally slow Good Friday". Thats why the NRL have games on then, because nothing else is on and they can murder the ratings. Easter Thursday is when more people leave Capital Cities than any other day of the year.
I have nothing against Rugby League, I get as passionate about SOO as any other Queenslander.
You only have to talk to people, in the street. I recently went to a breakfast where Leigh Matthews was the guest speaker, it was sold out weeks before, sold a heap of Lions memorabilia at high prices.
I was ente ring the Gabba on Sunday and the guy in front asked me to show him where his seat was, he was a RL supporter and had never been before. Believe me that is a common occurrence.
I have followed the Bears/Lions since inception, in the old days you could only talk AFL in cupboards in a whisper. Now every second person knows the rules and has opinions.
I think the new Lang Park will help the Broncos, but not neccassarily Rugby League. A lot of ground has been lost through Super League, the Lions success and poor facilities at ANZ. The Gabba is still the easiest ground in Brisbane to get to.
As for a second team the Crushers and Chargers spring to mind, I can't see the Broncos sharing a reducing market.
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
But I am afraid from the time of the super league wars I have completelty lost interest and will never regain it.
Ahhh the good old "Ricky Stuart must do what is best for Ricky Stuart...." comment What I want to know is what are the geographic boundaries of this survey.
Crowds will peak the first few games at lang park but whether it can be maintained is another thing. Well hey it was a sell out for the first game at the new look gabba for the Aus V Pakistan ODI a few years ago. We all know what happened to the South Queensland Crushers, not even a local derby between the Broncos and the Crushers was enough to draw a sell out at Lang Park.
I just love these Trolls too .They do more to bring their code down than any rival code could .You should hear what they say about Rugby Union ,they're even more insecure about super12s.
Diehard ,your quip about Mexicans just shows your ignorance .
Australian football is Nation wide and was in QLD in the form of the QAFL well before rugby mutated in a foreiegn land giving birth to a code that has a severe inferiority complex .
sbagman
30 Apr 2003, 00:33
I like it too. Brisbane can barely support one RL team, and they want to put another in? Sounds like suicide to me.
MSB ROYS
30 Apr 2003, 01:44
Who really cares? Brisbane can easily have 1 NRL, super 12 and AFL team and keep most people happy.
The outrating of the Lions over the Broncos over Easter was more of news piece than anything meaningful. Just as the next week (and most weeks) when it was vice versa.
The Lions will nearly every week have more people attending that the Broncos. That's just what AFL fans do. I had to laugh -saying that the Lions would be lucky to get 20K to ANZ. First of all it wouldn't happening as we are not stupid enough to play games there and, secondly, yes we would for big drawing games. Certainly more than the Broncos would for the equivalent games there.
CarterS
30 Apr 2003, 02:45
OH AND DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT WHEN THEY ADD A 2ND BRISBANE CLUB, YOU'LL WET YOURSELF.
Just like the Crushers, Giants, Chargers etc etc... how many failed QLD League teams are there again?
Ms.Storm
30 Apr 2003, 05:50
Originally posted by Bluey
Diehard and LebaneseForces:
This board is not the board to talk about rugby league.
This board is not the board to have your little tanty about someone else posting on some other league forum.
This board is for Brisbane Lions fans to discuss their team, and non-fans to do the same in a constructive manner.
Respect these rules or you will be removed.
If you don;t mind me asking, why is it that the rugby league board is always inundated with afl people who degrade the game and nothing is done about it.....
Is that the job of the moderator and why isn't it a consistent ruling across all boards.
Thanks.
Ms.Storm
30 Apr 2003, 05:56
Originally posted by baz77
Ahhh the good old "Ricky Stuart must do what is best for Ricky Stuart...." comment What I want to know is what are the geographic boundaries of this survey.
Crowds will peak the first few games at lang park but whether it can be maintained is another thing. Well hey it was a sell out for the first game at the new look gabba for the Aus V Pakistan ODI a few years ago. We all know what happened to the South Queensland Crushers, not even a local derby between the Broncos and the Crushers was enough to draw a sell out at Lang Park.
What's going to happen when the Lions start losing and they are at the bottom of the table, that's if the afl would ever let that happen!
However, knowing afl fans they do tend to stick with their teams a lot more, but even so, many fans might still drop off.
I would also add that I think at least half of Brisbane Lions supporters also follow the Broncos and / or the Reds and like to support Brisbane teams to the hilt no matter what code......plus the afl ex-pats like to stick with their culture of attending footy games.
Ms.Storm
30 Apr 2003, 06:03
Originally posted by leaper
I have followed the Bears/Lions since inception, in the old days you could only talk AFL in cupboards in a whisper.
Similar thing here in Melbourne if you follow league.......but I think you are exagerating slightly about the cupboards and whispering.:p
Do you feel for us league supporters here in Melbourne when we cop so much rubbish from afl people?
I_LUV_AFL
30 Apr 2003, 11:45
You keep telling yourself that afl is taking over Brisbane and QLD. Then walk over to the local park and see what game they are playing. Junior numbers, TV ratings, soon to be crowds once the Broncos leave ****ty ANZ Stadium and general interest is all in rugby league's favour. If your claim to fame is a politician than afl is in big trouble! Read this article and weep.
"...the weekend saw rugby league celebrate, after falling behind for the first time at Easter. The Brisbane Broncos easily won the ratings battle, their Anzac day clash with Parramatta attracting an average of 271, 000 viewers, which peaked at 315, 000.
Sunday's Brisbane Lions-Western Bulldogs AFL clash clash at the Gabba averaged 138, 000 (peak 177, 000), well behind the Manly-South Sydney NRL telecast which started immediately after and averaged 246, 000 (peak 269, 000).
Thanks. You need to report these things to the moderator. If nothing is done let me know.
goaldrush
30 Apr 2003, 12:11
SUCKED IN Have to disagree with your statement, Diehard.
CarterS
30 Apr 2003, 12:41
Originally posted by Ms.Storm
However, knowing afl fans they do tend to stick with their teams a lot more, but even so, many fans might still drop off.
I would also add that I think at least half of Brisbane Lions supporters also follow the Broncos and / or the Reds and like to support Brisbane teams to the hilt no matter what code......plus the afl ex-pats like to stick with their culture of attending footy games.
That's definitely true. I was talking to a Newcastle supporter who was bragging about the Broncos losing twice in a row, and he said if his side lost twice in a row he wouldn't follow them anymore:rolleyes: I don't think the Broncos fans are like that though to the same extent, but joe public up here really does love a winner, the Strikers drew 40,000 to their Grand Final a few years ago, and you only need to look at the Lions attendences.
Myself I enjoy all types of football (afl, league, union, soccer) and take an interest in all the brisbane teams. Yes I am a keen follower of the broncos, and have been to ANZ Stadium for a league game in the past (although I will admit the only games I went to were the Super League Final and the Tri-Series Final which i got free tickets to) and intend to go to the State of Origin this year. I am finding more and more of that on the otherside of the fence to, a few years ago my friends used to take no interest in AFL and bag it out constantly, but most of them take an interest now and can actually hold a conversation about the Lions.
Brisbane is big enough for the Lions AND the Broncos to be successful.
I'd worry more about viewing % than actual numbers. It is common knowledge that more people watch tv later in the afternoon on a Sunday than at 1pm. This is because people are out and often have commitments on Sundays. Not what I'd call a serious worry at the moment, wait and see what happens with evening broadcasts.
grayham
30 Apr 2003, 13:05
I had a look at the Lang Park web site the other day.
Is it just me, or does the redevelopment look cheap and tacky. It looks like one of those generic soccer grounds in europe built 20 years ago.
No Roof, no beautiful sweeping lines like recent Aussie stadiums like Stadium Australia or Colonial.
Lang Park is still in an ordinary location, but if RL want to put all their baskets in that egg, go for it. Its failed as a H&A venue before.
I hope they took into account ticket outlets, shade, accoustics and all those other little problems you only find out after its built.
I take exception to Mr Diehard - I am a born & bred Queenslander, not a 'Mexican' but I have never followed RL - don't like the game at all - give me a good (or even average) Aussie Rules match any day.
More action, more skill - overall a better game and one that is best seen 'in the flesh' so to speak - which is why fans & supporters go to the games - if we all stayed at home to watch the game on TV (like RL fans?) we'd slaughter the TV ratings every time!!
Methinks Mr Diehard is feeling a little green ...
CarterS
30 Apr 2003, 13:22
Originally posted by grayham
I had a look at the Lang Park web site the other day.
Is it just me, or does the redevelopment look cheap and tacky. It looks like one of those generic soccer grounds in europe built 20 years ago.
No Roof, no beautiful sweeping lines like recent Aussie stadiums like Stadium Australia or Colonial.
Lang Park is still in an ordinary location, but if RL want to put all their baskets in that egg, go for it. Its failed as a H&A venue before.
I hope they took into account ticket outlets, shade, accoustics and all those other little problems you only find out after its built.
Yes it is just you - I think the ground looks brilliant.
I drive past it more than twice a week and it looks a world class stadium.
As well as League and Origin I think we'll see some socceroos games there in the future.
Diehard
30 Apr 2003, 16:41
Isnt it amusing to see how the Lions groupies dont mind trumpeting a 10k tv ratings victory, but can't handle it when things dont go their way and someone counters their point.
Oh so it's fine to kick league around and declare AFL owns Brisbane but when someone comes in to dispute it and backs it up with facts it's time to call in the moderators. Take the ball and run home to mummy.
RUGBY LEAGUE - QUEENSLAND'S HEART AND SOUL
LANG PARK - MOST SACRED SHRINE IN BRISBANE
"Last time I went to the Gabba was to watch a greyhound race"
Isnt it amusing to see how the Lions groupies dont mind trumpeting a 10k tv ratings victory, but can't handle it when things dont go their way and someone counters their point.
Oh so it's fine to kick league around and declare AFL owns Brisbane but when someone comes in to dispute it and backs it up with facts it's time to call in the moderators. Take the ball and run home to mummy.
I've read alot of the posts on bigfooty boards about this subject and i can't recall any lions fan going around saying that they own brisbane. The only reason the tv-ratings was news worthy was because it was a first not because there was any changing of power or supremacy.
Mr Ripper
30 Apr 2003, 22:39
Why are so many rugby league supporters so insecure? Get a life. :rolleyes:
NICK THE PIE MAN
1 May 2003, 11:04
Originally posted by CarterS
Just like the Crushers, Giants, Chargers etc etc... how many failed QLD League teams are there again?
Gold. :D
blackers
1 May 2003, 12:03
The comparison shouldn't be between the Brisbane Lions and the Brisbane Broncos, it should be between the Brisbane Lions and the Melbourne Storm, two teams deep in enemy territory. But it's pretty obvious why Diehard hasn't suggested that comparison.
In a city 3 times the size of Brisbane, the Storm crowds are usually around 8,000 at Melbourne's most antiquated stadium. They moved out of Telstra Dome because it was too depressing to play in such an empty stadium. Especially now he novelty of a rugby team in our city has worn off, the Storm have disappeared off the radar in Melbourne this year.
I haven't even seen them on telly. I have no idea whether they are winning or losing. I do know Marcus Bai used to play for them but I'm not sure whether he still does.
I give them 3 more seasons and they'll move to Darwin or Broome or Cairns or somewhere else that doesn't want them.
goaldrush
1 May 2003, 14:09
LANG PARK - MOST SACRED SHRINE IN BRISBANE
"Last time I went to the Gabba was to watch a greyhound race" Maybe you should start following the Brisbane Lions instead of coming here to rub it in to the Lions supporters in here.
As what Bluey said, it is an afl forum not a rugby league forum.
LebaneseForces
1 May 2003, 14:27
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Why are so many rugby league supporters so insecure? Get a life. :rolleyes:
Hey mate we are just supporters we are allowed to have an opinion on other sports and if we want have a friendly debate on them too:p
But for the people incharge thats a different story!! Talking about insecurity have you heard all the comments that the AFL CEO made about League and dont get me started on Eddy Millionaire!!!!! Rugby League is recovering from the Super League/ARL days. Day by day we are regaining lost ground!!!!! Anyway Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne and hopefully soon to be Adelaide and Perth are big enough to have Rugby League teams and AFL teams!! Both games are part of Australia's culture and history and both are here to stay!!!! But that shouldn't get in the way of a good old fashion discussion and argument on both codes by the fans of their respective sports!!!! :)
Dannii son, chill brother:D
LebaneseForces
1 May 2003, 14:36
Originally posted by blackers
The comparison shouldn't be between the Brisbane Lions and the Brisbane Broncos, it should be between the Brisbane Lions and the Melbourne Storm, two teams deep in enemy territory. But it's pretty obvious why Diehard hasn't suggested that comparison.
In a city 3 times the size of Brisbane, the Storm crowds are usually around 8,000 at Melbourne's most antiquated stadium. They moved out of Telstra Dome because it was too depressing to play in such an empty stadium. Especially now he novelty of a rugby team in our city has worn off, the Storm have disappeared off the radar in Melbourne this year.
I haven't even seen them on telly. I have no idea whether they are winning or losing. I do know Marcus Bai used to play for them but I'm not sure whether he still does.
I give them 3 more seasons and they'll move to Darwin or Broome or Cairns or somewhere else that doesn't want them.
How long has League been in Melbourne for and how long has AFL been in Brisbane for????? You cant compare the two!!!!
Melbourne won their premiership to early in their life in my opinion (Hence didnt have as much impact as it should of)!!!!
And another thing is the Melbourne media's dont give the Storm a far go!!!!!!!! Unlike the Sydney and brisbane Media's, who televise and advertise the AFL almost as much if not more then League!!!! The Melbourne media is a totalitarian run outlet run by AFL dictators!
goaldrush
1 May 2003, 15:26
Originally posted by Danni
Firstly don't call me mate.
Secondly, the team boards on bigfooty are for supporters of those teams. Insecurity has nothing to do with it. I have probably had more involvement directly with the Broncos in their early years than you will have with them in your lifetime, so don't pretend to preach to me and throw around fantasy figures to try and make a non existant point.
Shape up your attitude or ship out. First and final warning.
Take your rants and raves elsewhere. Boot him Danni.
The Chargers (had $1 million in the bank at their demise and were finnally hitting form, look at the class of players who ended up going else where. So that's $1,000,000 more then the Lions will ever have) and Crushers (poorly managed but again look at the class of players to come out of their juniors) only died because the ARL killed them off for the compromise with Super League to create the NRL. Id like to the AFL go through such a war and then try to compete with an untarnished rugby league competition. But we are back and we are gunning for you. The NRL knows that clubs in the Gold Coast and Brisbane are needed. (So you can stop all those wet dreams about a 2nd AFL team at the coast, cause a Gold Coast league team would nail it)
And as for the Melbourne Storm, if they received the same saturation media attention and the open minded out look of the Brisbane media compared the the melbourne media who only report the negatives of rugby league and couldnt give a toss about the Storm. It's a tough task, besides it took the Lions years to come around, and let's face it they get crowds but they get crap TV ratings and are broke, so dont get too carried away.
If the Melbourne Storm had a proper rugby league stadium ie with no running track, got more Victorians playing for them, put a reserve grade side dominated by Victorians in the NSWRL Premier League competition and received media backing they'd go very well. The Storm are there to stay, they will keep pluggin along in the face of constant AFL mud slinging.
goaldrush
1 May 2003, 15:51
The Chargers (had $1 million in the bank at their demise and were finnally hitting form, look at the class of players who ended up going else where. So that's $1,000,000 more then the Lions will ever have) and Crushers (poorly managed but again look at the class of players to come out of their juniors) only died because the ARL killed them off for the compromise with Super League to create the NRL. Id like to the AFL go through such a war and then try to compete with an untarnished rugby league competition. But we are back and we are gunning for you. The NRL knows that clubs in the Gold Coast and Brisbane are needed. (So you can stop all those wet dreams about a 2nd AFL team at the coast, cause a Gold Coast league team would nail it)
And as for the Melbourne Storm, if they received the same saturation media attention and the open minded out look of the Brisbane media compared the the melbourne media who only report the negatives of rugby league and couldnt give a toss about the Storm. It's a tough task, besides it took the Lions years to come around, and let's face it they get crowds but they get crap TV ratings and are broke, so dont get too carried away.
If the Melbourne Storm had a proper rugby league stadium ie with no running track, got more Victorians playing for them, put a reserve grade side dominated by Victorians in the NSWRL Premier League competition and received media backing they'd go very well. The Storm are there to stay, they will keep pluggin along in the face of constant AFL mud slinging. WHo cares
[, and let's face it they get crowds but they get crap TV ratings and are broke, so dont get too carried away.
[/B]
I don't know where you get the idea the Lions are broke, it was only 2 months ago they announced that they were debt free, and made a substantial profit (albeit with the help of some abnormal items)
Talking about the Broncos didn't the Leagues club post a substantial loss in the last year?
Come June 1 Ill be back fortnightly to give you updates on the Broncos fantastic crowds. Eat it up exiled Mexicans.
Thats if its completed per the contract (doubt it). It has taken the Imbeciles 3 weeks to learn haow to lay turf. By the way, If Lang park is so good (as your sig says) why do you need this new stadium?
QLD translation:
Thats if its ready in time, ai old mate. Took the buggers 21 days to work out how to put the grass down! Ai! Oh and, if your foody ground is real good right, why do yas need anova one?
What's funny is more people care about the Queensland Cup then the Fitzroy Bears no matter how many bumper stickers you slap on your cars.
Get your hand off it
QLD translation:
Leave the doll alone.
Mr Ripper
1 May 2003, 18:56
And another thing is the Melbourne media's dont give the Storm a far go!!!!!!!! Unlike the Sydney and brisbane Media's, who televise and advertise the AFL almost as much if not more then League!!!! The Melbourne media is a totalitarian run outlet run by AFL dictators! How would you know that? :confused: Or are you just a strict adherent to the crackpot gospel according to Miss Storm? :D
LebaneseForces
1 May 2003, 19:21
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
How would you know that? :confused: Or are you just a strict adherent to the crackpot gospel according to Miss Storm? :D
Ms Storm nows all;)!!!!! And ive been to Melbourne quiet a few times!!!!:p
goaldrush
1 May 2003, 19:29
Can we have this moved to the rugby league/rugby union board please? Utter boredom having it sit on the Lions board.
Originally posted by goaldrush
Can we have this moved to the rugby league/rugby union board please? Utter boredom having it sit on the Lions board.
I vote for leaving it here.
As Leb Forces said, anyone is entitled to air an opinion and so far we have had 48 posts on the topic, so it's not really all that boring.
If a couple of NRL nuts want to stir *****, let them .
We can take it. :D
PS. Don't get too carried away now LF. I agree with you on the right to expressing an opinion but that's all.
The rest of your "opinions" are utter crap.
How long has League been in Melbourne for and how long has AFL been in Brisbane for????? You cant compare the two!!!!
Melbourne won their premiership to early in their life in my opinion (Hence didnt have as much impact as it should of)!!!!
And another thing is the Melbourne media's dont give the Storm a far go!!!!!!!! Unlike the Sydney and brisbane Media's, who televise and advertise the AFL almost as much if not more then League!!!! The Melbourne media is a totalitarian run outlet run by AFL dictators!
Hmm....and now for a bit of analyis.
How can any side in any sport win a premiership "too soon":confused:
If winning the Premiership that"early in their life" didn't have an impact, when would it have had an impact.?
According to your theory, it's a good thing the Storm didn't go B2B because now they would be getting even fewer numbers at games and even less Media exposure.!!!!
The "negative" impact of them doing a trifecta is too horrible to even contemplate.
Then you could look forward to crowds of 80 instead of 8000 at Storm home games.
Funny game League.
The more successful a young club is, the less their fans turn up to watch them............according to your theory.
I guess therein lies the essential difference between AFL fans and League supporters. The more successful an AFL fan's team is, the more they turn out to watch them. The more successful an NRL fan's team is , the more they stay at home and watch them onTV!!!!!
....quiet a few times!!!!:p
If only .. Peanut Boy.
http://www.engrish.com/recent/image/pcolon.jpg
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Cry baby.:( :( :( :( :(
Signature of Diehard:
RUGBY LEAGUE - THE GREATEST GAME
LANG PARK - THE HEART AND SOUL OF BRISBANE
"Last time I went to the Gabba was to watch a greyhound race"
Last time I saw Lang Park, it was pulled down - best sight I've ever seen.
If you haven't been to the 'Gabba since the reconstruction, then you don't know what you're missi ... Hey, what am I saying - you OBVIOUSLY don't know, because you're still a Cross-Country Wrestling fan.
I would venture to say there are more Aussie Football fans converted from RL than the other way around - when you are used to the REAL Australian game, there is just no comparison -
Sorry, mate, but you've just gotta live with it!!!
LebaneseForces
2 May 2003, 12:34
Originally posted by luthor
I vote for leaving it here.
As Leb Forces said, anyone is entitled to air an opinion and so far we have had 48 posts on the topic, so it's not really all that boring.
If a couple of NRL nuts want to stir *****, let them .
We can take it. :D
PS. Don't get too carried away now LF. I agree with you on the right to expressing an opinion but that's all.
The rest of your "opinions" are utter crap.
:D Damn and i thought for a sec i converted you!!!!!:)
Adelaide and Perth are big enough to have Rugby League teams and AFL teams!!
Bring back the Adelaide Rams and Western Reds huh?:D
BrisGirl
2 May 2003, 14:54
Originally posted by Bjay
[the REAL Australian game, there is just no comparison
.....and there it is folks.
Australian Rules is our game, made by our countrymen, it belongs to us and it is unique in it's foundations.
This game of ours belongs to us, the Australian. Be proud!
Rugby League is an inferior imported game from the back streets of very minor Counties smattered around England, a couple of States in Australia and New Zealand.
Rugby League's petty foundation came from a break away group of Rugby Union and it was over money.
Which Code is better? Australian Rules because it's ours!!
LebaneseForces
2 May 2003, 15:03
Originally posted by BrisGirl
.....and there it is folks.
Australian Rules is our game, made by our countrymen, it belongs to us and it is unique in it's foundations.
This game of ours belongs to us, the Australian. Be proud!
Rugby League is an inferior imported game from the back streets of very minor Counties smattered around England, a couple of States in Australia and New Zealand.
Rugby League's petty foundation came from a break away group of Rugby Union and it was over money.
Which Code is better? Australian Rules because it's ours!!
mmmm NO its not ours!!! Its yours!!! Dont generalise and say it a game for all Australians! When clearly it isn't!!!!
Id like to the AFL go through such a war and then try to compete with an untarnished rugby league competition
Been there, Done that.
Happened in the 1890's. About time ur code caught up. ;)
BrisGirl
2 May 2003, 15:57
mmmm NO its not ours!!! Its yours!!! Dont generalise and say it a game for all Australians! When clearly it isn't!!!!
Word for word - A game made in Australia by Australians
.....never said "a game for all Australians"
Show some pride in the fact that our game was made by us.
A game invented by a New South Welshman for all Australians.
From the begginning Australian Football was played in all States .
Remember WA,SA,NSW,QLD and NZ have all defeated Vic at some stage .
Soon we'll be comparing the QRL with the QAFL .
because you're still a Cross-Country Wrestling fan.
I thought it was Cross-Country Bum Sniffing
blackers
6 May 2003, 10:22
Don't give us that! You have Rupert Murdoch in your corner (who incidentally is a far greater evil than Eddie McGuire) who owns the Herald-Sun, the biggest selling newspaper in Melbourne, which gives the NRL as much space as it can justify. In fact it is amazing how much space the Courier-Mail gives AFL, given that it is owned by the same Mr Murdoch.
Originally posted by Bakes
I thought it was Cross-Country Bum Sniffing
I was just trying to keep it polite ... but you're right!!
I_LUV_AFL
7 May 2003, 10:49
I was just trying to keep it polite ... but you're right!!
Isn't that a bit (or very) immature?
Bum-sniffing!! Thats what a 3 year old would say.
And BrisGirl- You are a female, your opinions are not valued....anywhere!
blackers
7 May 2003, 12:02
Originally posted by Tutaki
I hope that was meant in jest. If not, I'd recommend giving this person the boot. There's no place for that. Unlike rugby, women actually make up a large portion of the AFL audience and their opinions are valued by the AFL.
I_LUV_AFL
7 May 2003, 18:18
Ahhhh! Yeah it was in jest.
How the hell can you tell the proportion of females at a game?
Originally posted by Bakes
Cross-Country Bum Sniffing
This may be one possible way to determine the proportion of females at games.
Out of the mouths of babes.
blackers
8 May 2003, 10:36
How the hell can you tell the proportion of females at a game?
Ummm... I look around. Distinguishing visually between the male and the female is an incredibly useful talent to have. Saves me a lot of time.
goaldrush
8 May 2003, 13:51
Isn't that a bit (or very) immature?
And BrisGirl- You are a female, your opinions are not valued....anywhere! sexist pig
Beausgirl43
8 May 2003, 14:34
You are a female, your opinions are not valued....anywhere! GET OFF OUR BOARD :rolleyes:
cheers ... Kaz
Very PIC, Tutaki - opinions of MCPs are not appreciated on this board!!!
I_LUV_AFL
8 May 2003, 17:58
Half of you I couldn't understand especially you Bejay. I don't come on the net enough to understand your "net slang".
The only bit I could understand was "racist pig". I love you too darling. You just go and cook your husband dinner and clean the house and don't bother anyone while you are at it.
There that should do it.
The Lions are dominating Brisbane. pppphhhhhh!:p
I_LUV_AFL
8 May 2003, 18:01
Oh! And just before I am kicked off. I am not sexist in any way except when it comes to football, girls don't have a clue. They might in AFL but not in any REAL footy.
And atleast you can bite players on the scrotum and they won't care (That AFL guy didn't have that luxury). Try ringing Wayne Carey, I heard he is a bit of a player.
Tutaki as an an ambassador of RL you are doing a very poor job.
Go back to the RL section before you do any more damage .
People have been known to leave an endeavor out of disgust for other members .
Oh! And just before I am kicked off. I am not sexist in any way except when it comes to football, girls don't have a clue.
Contradiction in terms.
Thank you for visiting this board.
You have brilliantly reniforced all the the ugly stereotypes that are identified with your "real" football.
Ms.Storm
13 May 2003, 05:05
Originally posted by blackers
You can't really compare the Storm to the Lions just yet because :
1. The Bears/Lions have been around 10 or more years longer than the Storm have.
2. The Storm have come into the heartland of afl where virtually no rugby league has been players, just some minor comps....whereas Q'ld. years ago was essentially an afl state, with afl comps.
3. The Storm have in their short history only had a crowd of 8,000 about 3 times.........couldn't say that about the brissie bears though.....where they had those numbers for years.
4. You also forget how the afl has helped the Lions with finances and the merger saga and also how many ex-pats have moved to Q'ld. from afl territories and these people actually have taken to going to Lions games and supporting the code up there.
5. You don't see the Storm on telly this year, for a number of reasons, one of them being that they did not want to renew their contract for the 3.00 pm Sat. games on fta because all their supporters complained about the time and never a variance of the times of games and that they also featured on fox triple headers every week....and if you follow league in Melbourne, its a must to have fox, because here in Melb. they shove afl down your throat.
5. TheNRL have stated numerous times that they and News will back the Storm because the sponsors want a team in Melb.in the 2nd biggest state in Aust.....and that the same reason afl gave for sticking with the bears and swans was that they were essential part of the comp. because they paid their way for tv contracts and pay-tv contracts and international sponsors....as for them moving to where you suggest (idiot) they have just signed a 5 year deal with the NRL to remain here in Melbourne.
Perhaps you should buy the Herald Sun every day and catch up on rugby league in Melbourne and go to a game, instead of making snide remarks on something you obviously nothing little about!
And they do make the sports news here in Melbourne, especially if they win, so stop making up lies.
How brave of you to make comparisons, when the two teams face totally different sets of establishment and support.
Ms.Storm
13 May 2003, 05:25
Can we have this moved to the rugby league/rugby union board please?
I agree, but only when we are given the same privledge from the likes of Grayham, Syphon and others degrading rugby league just about every second post, yet no moderators bother to give us some peace!
Ms.Storm
13 May 2003, 05:39
I would venture to say there are more Aussie Football fans converted from RL than the other way around - when you are used to the REAL Australian game, there is just no comparison -
Sorry, mate, but you've just gotta live with it!!! [/B]
I think you are wrong......I would say that even if some of your crowd are rugby league fans, most would still return and watch their league games and even rugby union too...because it seems that Q'lders love to support their state teams.
In addition, you can thank your lucky stars that so many ex-pat Vics./SA/WA/Tas people who supported afl and have now moved to Q'ld. now have decided to support the Lions.
Would love to make some comparisons if and when the lions are bottom of the table (though I doubt whether the precious afl would ever let that happen to their lovechild teams ie lions and swans)!
Ms.Storm
13 May 2003, 05:50
WHo cares
There are a lot in Melbourne that care.....and many of our supporters also follow afl too....how does that sit with you!
Bet you don't like it?:D
There are a lot in Melbourne that care.....and many of our supporters also follow afl too....how does that sit with you!
Bet you don't like it?:D
They're probably ex-pats (from NSW/Qld) who haven't yet seen the light!!
MaGiK_UkNoWn
13 May 2003, 12:28
pffffffffft! mate you are a absolute joke! i can not beleive the mentality of you rugby league asswipes! "lang park the heart & sould of brisbane" that has got to be the biggest crock of **** i have heard in my life, do your and your rugby league crew think that because you will have a stadium that may well be better in some ways than the gabba you will appeall to the public??? because it will be a novelty for a while.........i will give it that, but lets face it.......the public will get ova it cos AFL is 100 times more exciting.............you see they dont just come to admire the stadium they go to watch the game as well!! so eat a ****!!
blackers
13 May 2003, 15:46
You can't really compare the Storm to the Lions just yet because :
1. The Bears/Lions have been around 10 or more years longer than the Storm have.
True. But it shows that the AFL had its act together ten years earlier, doesn't it? Plus the AFL has never had an abortive expansion attempt like the NRL.
2. The Storm have come into the heartland of afl where virtually no rugby league has been players, just some minor comps....whereas Q'ld. years ago was essentially an afl state, with afl comps.
Now come on. Queensland is a fair dinkum rugby league heartland if there ever was one. The only place where rugby is bigger is Sydney, and the Swans were doing pretty well there too last time I checked.
3. The Storm have in their short history only had a crowd of 8,000 about 3 times.........couldn't say that about the brissie bears though.....where they had those numbers for years.
Ah ha. But the Storm never played home matches away from the capital. The sub-8000 crowds at Bears games were at Carrara, which is a couple of hours from Brisbane. If the Storm played in Ballarat or Bairnsdale their crowds would be down too. Anyway, Melbourne is three times the population of Brisbane. You should have no trouble filling Olympic Park and at least half filling Docklands.
4. You also forget how the afl has helped the Lions with finances and the merger saga and also how many ex-pats have moved to Q'ld. from afl territories and these people actually have taken to going to Lions games and supporting the code up there.
And vice versa. Don't Sydney people hate the Storm because they think the Storm was gifted its first premiership?
5. You don't see the Storm on telly this year, for a number of reasons, one of them being that they did not want to renew their contract for the 3.00 pm Sat. games on fta because all their supporters complained about the time and never a variance of the times of games and that they also featured on fox triple headers every week....and if you follow league in Melbourne, its a must to have fox, because here in Melb. they shove afl down your throat.
So both teams are in the same boat there.
5. TheNRL have stated numerous times that they and News will back the Storm because the sponsors want a team in Melb.in the 2nd biggest state in Aust.....and that the same reason afl gave for sticking with the bears and swans was that they were essential part of the comp. because they paid their way for tv contracts and pay-tv contracts and international sponsors....as for them moving to where you suggest (idiot) they have just signed a 5 year deal with the NRL to remain here in Melbourne.
Perhaps you should buy the Herald Sun every day and catch up on rugby league in Melbourne and go to a game, instead of making snide remarks on something you obviously nothing little about!
And they do make the sports news here in Melbourne, especially if they win, so stop making up lies.
I think that would be point 6, btw. I've no doubt the NRL will give them every chance but the point is they'll have to improve there image markedly if they are going to be successful off field. And the fact you have to buy a newspaper owned by someone with a financial interest in the league to get news on the team is indicative of the trouble they are in.
How brave of you to make comparisons, when the two teams face totally different sets of establishment and support.
My point is that they are two teams thrust into enemy territory and its interesting to compare how they are getting on. It is certainly more fair to compare them than to compare the Lions with the Broncos, which I think was the original point of this thread. The nong who started this disucssion claimed that the Lions are having no impact in Brisbane and are on the way out. Maybe I was flippant to suggest the NRL will give up on the Storm any time soon, but my point was that the Lions are making much more impact on Brisbane than the Storm is in Melbourne. I have nothing against the Storm - hell, I used to support Fitzroy and attend games with crowds of 8000 people - I just think it is interesting that rugby has struggled so much for support in Melbourne.
Lady Lawrence
13 May 2003, 16:14
Sunday's viewing figures in SE Qld are a good news story for AFL.
'000's % share
7 9 10 7 9 10
ALLPPL 248.6 58.7 123.0 34.6 27.1 56.9 16.0 AFL
ALLPPL 444.5 119.3 207.9 93.6 28.4 49.4 22.2 RL
As you can see despite the fact that total numbers were up for the league the audience percentage share was superior in the AFL. A lot less people watch TV during the day and you can see 7 and 10's viewers increased dramatically as well as the day got later. The audience share is the tell all factor here and AFL wins hands down. 56.9% of total viewers as opposed to 49.4%.
The only way we will ever be able to see the real figures is if both codes were played at the same time with both local teams playing and this aint never gonna happen!
But as I have said before it is like comparing tennis with rock climbing or apples with bananas as the sports are entirely different. The only similarities to be drawn are that they are played on grass, with a leather ball and are both called football. So why the bloody comparisons anyway.
dr nick
14 May 2003, 13:06
Originally posted by Lady Lawrence
Sunday's viewing figures in SE Qld are a good news story for AFL.
'000's % share
7 9 10 7 9 10
ALLPPL 248.6 58.7 123.0 34.6 27.1 56.9 16.0 AFL
ALLPPL 444.5 119.3 207.9 93.6 28.4 49.4 22.2 RL
As you can see despite the fact that total numbers were up for the league the audience percentage share was superior in the AFL.
i can't see it. i'm not following these figures at all. please excuse my ignorance, but could you explain the figures a bit better? where did you get them from?
Lady Lawrence
14 May 2003, 13:13
I am sorry the formatting didn't hold.
The figures are the official nielsen ratings figures.
From left to right the columns are total viewers and then the split of 7, 9 and 10 followed by the audience percentage share across 7, 9 and 10.
Hope this helps.
Or if anyone knows how to maintain formatting when putting in headings and columns on here please let me know!!!
dr nick
14 May 2003, 13:27
i thought oztam did the ratings :confused:
dr nick
14 May 2003, 13:31
Originally posted by Lady Lawrence
From left to right the columns are total viewers and then the split of 7, 9 and 10 followed by the audience percentage share across 7, 9 and 10.
Hope this helps.
hmmm... i think i count 7 columns??
and were brisbane playing the league match?? if not it's a bit unfair to campare a lions match to it.
Lady Lawrence
14 May 2003, 15:19
Originally posted by nicko18
hmmm... i think i count 7 columns??
and were brisbane playing the league match?? if not it's a bit unfair to campare a lions match to it.
Yup seven columns, total people in 000's then the 7, 9 10 split then the percentage split 7, 9 and 10. Next question :confused:
And as I stated in my original post the only way we will ever be able to see the real figures is if both codes were played at the same time with both local teams playing and this aint never gonna happen! The only way to really see the true viewing figures will never happen, ie, Brisbane Lions on one channel and Brisbane Broncos on another channel both at the same time in prime time.
care to give us those weekly updates you promised pal??
why, of course not, because you'd be made to look like an absolute fool.
i bet you were over the moon when the first lang park game was sold out but it didnt take long for the novelty to wear off did it??
playing the defending premiers, the roosters, the crowd they got on a friday night is below the gabba average this year. :rolleyes:
no excuses about crappy stadiums any more huh?
Originally posted by syphon
care to give us those weekly updates you promised pal??
why, of course not, because you'd be made to look like an absolute fool.
i bet you were over the moon when the first lang park game was sold out but it didnt take long for the novelty to wear off did it??
playing the defending premiers, the roosters, the crowd they got on a friday night is below the gabba average this year. :rolleyes:
no excuses about crappy stadiums any more huh?
Now now....Not fair ....
Bit hard to do all that when you are a 'booted' member of Bigfooty.
dr nick
18 Aug 2003, 20:14
PS LIONS ARE BROKE AFTER 2 PREMIERSHIPS, WITH THE BRONCOS DEEPLY CUTTING INTO YOUR GATE TAKINGS IT'S GOING TO BE LEAN YEARS AHEAD. OH AND DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT WHEN THEY ADD A 2ND BRISBANE CLUB, YOU'LL WET YOURSELF.
31st May - Lions v Melbourne: 29,634
1st June - Broncos v Newcastle: 46,337
15th June - Lions v West Coast: 31,185
27th June - Broncos v Roosters: 28,028
28th June - Lions v Richmond: 32,623
11th July - Broncos v Bulldogs: 25,107
13th July - Lions v Hawthorn: 29,684
26th July - Broncos v Manly: 18,571
26th July - Lions v Port Adelaide: 32,043
2nd August - Lions v Kangaroos: 28,044
8th August - Broncos v Penrith: 31,180
16th August - Broncos v Tigers: 15,042
17th August - Lions v Sydney: 32,988
23rd August - Lions v Geelong: 30,515
Lions Ave: - 30,796
Broncos Ave: - 27,378
to be continued......
What's notable from thoses attendance figures, is that the Broncos crowds have progressively got smaller......apart from the week they played Penrith.
That week, there was NO Lions game at the Gabba !!!!!
(Draw whatever inference you like from that)
On the other hand the Lions attendance figures have been consistently high in the range of 28,000 to 32,000 plus.
Also, with the exception of the grand opening bonanza at Suncorp on May 31, the Lions have comfortably out-drawn the Broncos on every occasion they have both played on the same week-end.
Last weekend's game was more than 2 to 1 !!!!!
And that was with the Broncos with a Saturday night game up against the Lions relatively unattractive 1.10 pm Sunday time-slot.
So much for the drawing power of the so-called "Super-Stadium"
Had to have a chuckle at the full page photo on the front of the CM's sport section last Monday-week.
The snap was taken from the player's race (or some internal entrance to Suncorp). It starkly portrayed empty granstands in the backdrop with a caption overlaid on the picture.....
......."Will this be Suncorp during September ????"
(or something to that effect)
The thought that immediately crossed my mind was....
"Isn't THAT what it looks like when they are playing there now" ;) :D :eek:
dr nick
19 Aug 2003, 15:19
Originally posted by luthor
So much for the drawing power of the so-called "Super-Stadium" mate, for a super stadium, lets compare it with the much maligned ANZ stadium:
Broncos 1st 10 games to ANZ Stadium:
1. Brisbane v Parramatta: 51,517
2. Brisbane v Canberra: 46,001
3. Brisbane v Penrith: 35,904
4. Brisbane v Illawarra: 28,126
5. Brisbane v Wests: 40,733
6. Brisbane v Gold Coast: 57,212
7. Brisbane v Souths: 31,896
8. Brisbane v Cronulla: 31,270
9. Brisbane v Canterbury: 54,751
10. Brisbane v Balmain: 39,193
Ave: - 41,660
Broncos 1st 10 games at the new Lang Park:
1. Brisbane v Newcastle: 46,337
2. Brisbane v Roosters: 28,028
3. Brisbane v Bulldogs: 25,107
4. Brisbane v Manly: 18,571
5. Brisbane v Penrith: 31,180
6. Brisbane v Tigers: 15,042
Ave: - 27,378
To be continued.............
BrainOfMorbius
19 Aug 2003, 15:45
Originally posted by nicko18
mate, for a super stadium, lets compare it with the much maligned ANZ stadium:
Broncos 1st 10 games to ANZ Stadium:
[..]
5. Brisbane v Wests: 40,733
[..]
10. Brisbane v Balmain: 39,193
Hm. Interesting. I was under the impression that Wests Tigers didn't draw very well in Queensland.
Perhaps that should be "don't draw very well recently".
Or perhaps it should be "the Broncos don't draw very well".
On the other hand, a draw would at least give them some points - they've been a bit thin on the ground lately.
dr nick
19 Aug 2003, 16:18
Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius
Hm. Interesting. I was under the impression that Wests Tigers didn't draw very well in Queensland.
Perhaps that should be "don't draw very well recently".
Or perhaps it should be "the Broncos don't draw very well".
On the other hand, a draw would at least give them some points - they've been a bit thin on the ground lately. not too sure about Wests, but Balmain was always a bogey team for the broncs. they were the longest lasting team to not get beaten by brisbane since they entered in 1988
There is no denying that the Lions are drawing very well this year, will be interesting to see if they can maintain those figures once all the hype about 3 titles in a row dies down, and they fall into one of the middle or lower teams on the ladder.
I'll look into my crystal ball for the last 2 Broncos home games
Broncos - Parramatta.........25 - 30,000
Broncos - Saints.................35,000+
I for one hope I am underestimating.l