View Full Version : Kevin Rudd

Spikey
15 Jan 2010, 12:47
Get off my TV.

Freo Big Fella
15 Jan 2010, 12:51
Agree 100%.

At least Howard knew what he was talking about.

footyfreak
15 Jan 2010, 13:00
"I was at the [x] pub during the sydney test bla bla bla"

Oh, the working families will love that down to earthiness from the polesmoker :rolleyes:

sonson
15 Jan 2010, 13:03
How's his form when suggested he'd be picking the PM's XI next year as well?

Apparently he's already been assured of another term in office?

Andrew Mc
15 Jan 2010, 13:32
How's his form when suggested he'd be picking the PM's XI next year as well?

Apparently he's already been assured of another term in office?

The next election isn't due until April 2011, unless called earlier...

Spikey
15 Jan 2010, 13:49
Matt Thomas from BetFair can **** off too

azreal
15 Jan 2010, 13:50
Agree 100%.

At least Howard knew what he was talking about.

And he was a top class bowler as well:eek:

tcwaters
15 Jan 2010, 14:01
See his wicket though? ****ing cleaned that little Milo kid up!

What a guy..

Kong
15 Jan 2010, 14:11
Definitely. Cricket and the AFL both have nothing to do with him.

"Oh I really like watching the Brisbanes!"

"I was actually a big fan of cricket as a kid."
Who was your favourite player?
"Oh well, there's just so many to choose from. Bruce Reid was a terrific bowler. Yeah, well, my Father told me he was a terrific Australian bowler, I'm not quite sure I can remember him though. However I do love the current bowling line-up we have at the moment. There's so many terrific young players coming through the ranks."
Awkward silence.

King Elvis
15 Jan 2010, 14:17
He's such an insincere prat.

Seriously, I'd like him more if he stopped bullshitting on like he was the common man.

KardiniaPark
15 Jan 2010, 14:20
Its completely embarrasing, someone needs to tell the idiot that you dont need to love sport to be the PM. Yes we will think that your a fruit, but its better being a fruit than everyone seeing you try and fake your way through every ****en sport that comes on tv just so he can get his stupid little muppet head on TV.

sonson
15 Jan 2010, 14:23
He's such an insincere prat.

Seriously, I'd like him more if he stopped bullshitting on like he was the common man.

Always thought Latham summed it up best in his book when he asked?

"Rudd apparently grew up on a farm in queensland, home to the 4x and dinky die Aussie accent, if Rudd really grew up their where did his accent come from?"

Hmmm.

footyfreak
15 Jan 2010, 14:26
Matt Thomas from BetFair can **** off too

Is that the guy sitting there like a giant douche smiling like he can't believe he is in the "cool" group?

Adelaide Hawk
15 Jan 2010, 16:14
And he was a top class bowler as well:eek:

Yes, that flipper of his really gained pace off the pitch after the third bounce :)

The Reaper
15 Jan 2010, 16:53

"Oh well, there's just so many to choose from. Bruce Reid was a terrific bowler. Yeah, well, my Father told me he was a terrific Australian bowler, I'm not quite sure I can remember him though. However I do love the current bowling line-up we have at the moment. There's so many terrific young players coming through the ranks."
Awkward silence.

That is just so bad.

He basically just picked the first not recent fast bowler he could think of

King Elvis
15 Jan 2010, 17:18
I'm in my mid 20s and I remember Bruce Reid playing - surely he wasn't playing when KRudd was a kid?

DeadlyAkkuret
15 Jan 2010, 21:56

Awkward silence.

That's ****ing terrible lol :o

ManWithNoName
15 Jan 2010, 22:02
I'm in my mid 20s and I remember Bruce Reid playing - surely he wasn't playing when KRudd was a kid?
Bruce Reid debuted for Australia in 1985. Kevin Rudd was 28.

Good lord.

Hellgood
15 Jan 2010, 22:04
Dunno why Nine have to put him on, fine with him being at the cricket, but why the need to have an interview with him?

footyfreak
15 Jan 2010, 22:11
Dunno why Nine have to put him on, fine with him being at the cricket, but why the need to have an interview with him?

Rudds people would have ensured it happen.

footyfreak
15 Jan 2010, 22:38
Bruce Reid debuted for Australia in 1985. Kevin Rudd was 28.

Good lord.

hahahahaha

he remembers his father telling him about him. :eek:

That is hilarious!!!!

:D:D

ParaBellum
15 Jan 2010, 23:11

Awkward silence.

Did he actually say that? Has he been getting media training from Sarah Palin's handlers?

Katie Couric: And when it comes to establishing your worldview, I was curious: what newspapers and magazines did you regularly read before you were tapped for this to stay informed and to understand the world?
Sarah Palin: I've read most of them, again with a great appreciation for the press, for the media.
KC: But, like, what ones specifically? I'm curious.
SP: All of 'em, any of 'em that have been in front of me over all these years.
KC: Can you name a few?
SP: I have a vast variety of sources where we get our news too. Alaska isn't a foreign country, where, it's kind of suggested and it seems like, 'Wow, how could you keep in touch with what the rest of Washington, D.C. may be thinking and doing when you live up there in Alaska?' Believe me, Alaska is like a microcosm of America.

TurboHead
15 Jan 2010, 23:36
Didn't his father die when he was 12 or something??

.... I see dead people.... and I discuss the cricket with them

footyfreak
15 Jan 2010, 23:40
Didn't his father die when he was 12 or something??

.... I see dead people.... and I discuss the cricket with them

LOL'd hard :)

he died in 1968 :eek::eek:

Bruce Reid was 5!!!!! Must have been tearing it up in the under 4's to be telling young Kevin how good he was LOL

this guy is full of shit

fairdinkum
15 Jan 2010, 23:47
We need footage of this interview to see if Whomb's recollection is on the money.

If it is, and we can find footage, I smell a mini youtube sensation a cookin...

footyfreak
15 Jan 2010, 23:52
aSay8RpaGyc

he's back!!!!

If you listen closely you hear him say "Bruce Reid is a bloody champion"

Kong
15 Jan 2010, 23:57
Wow, I didn't expect my post to be taken literally. I was paraphrasing.

He said something very similar about The Veronicas, which I used in combination of his faux cricket knowledge; and actually said "the Brisbanes" quote.

I should've put a :p at the end of it. Apologies.

footyfreak
15 Jan 2010, 23:58
We need footage of this interview to see if Whomb's recollection is on the money.

If it is, and we can find footage, I smell a mini youtube sensation a cookin...

I saw it but i wasn't paying close enough attention :mad::mad:

GeorgeGrljusich
16 Jan 2010, 00:10
A PM in the missionary box.:eek:
It's been happening since Hawke people.:rolleyes: And probably before him.
At least Rudd can actually bowl, unlike that filthy little prick Howard.

footyfreak
16 Jan 2010, 00:10
Wow, I didn't expect my post to be taken literally. I was paraphrasing.

He said something very similar about The Veronicas, which I used in combination of his faux cricket knowledge; and actually said "the Brisbanes" quote.

I should've put a :p at the end of it. Apologies.

so bruce reid wasn't mentioned? :(

footyfreak
16 Jan 2010, 00:12

at least howard loved australian cricket and sports for real, unlike the fake little prick rudd

mattf83
16 Jan 2010, 00:13
howard also used to spend time in canberra running the country. Rudd's holiday is coming up on 5 weeks. At least Gillard is doing a better job than Krudd ever will.

GeorgeGrljusich
16 Jan 2010, 00:14
at least howard loved australian cricket and sports for real, unlike the fake little prick rudd
Howard loved them purely for the votes. Just like Rudd.
Simple.
Christ he was an accountant and a career politician...he loved nothing but his political arse.
To think otherwise is folly.

mattf83
16 Jan 2010, 00:17
Simple.
Christ he was an accountant and a career politician...he loved nothing but his political arse.
thats funny, 40 blokes in bay 11 at the scg were chanting to him at the scg test 2 weeks ago. Im sure he wasnt there for votes.

Zarrix
16 Jan 2010, 00:19
He has definitely mentioned Bruce Reid in various interviews though. I ducked out when he came on air today (as I always do nowadays), so I don't know the contents of todays interview.

GeorgeGrljusich
16 Jan 2010, 00:31
thats funny, 40 blokes in bay 11 at the scg were chanting to him at the scg test 2 weeks ago. Im sure he wasnt there for votes.

A whole 40:eek:
He better run for re-election then.

footyfreak
16 Jan 2010, 00:32
Simple.

what a load of shit. the guy is a cricketing / RL tragic and didn't mind afl either.

footyfreak
16 Jan 2010, 00:41
Christ he was an accountant and a career politician.

and WTF has that got to do with anything? You don't think there are any accountants and politicians that genuinely love sports? :rolleyes:

GeorgeGrljusich
16 Jan 2010, 00:44
what a load of shit. the guy is a cricketing / RL tragic and didn't mind afl either.
You actually believe that?
Look I love your work, I have seen some of your YouTube stuff and it is piss funny.
But if you don't believe that Howard was the master manipulator of the public, and being a good ole sports fan is central to that connection, then you are seriously deluded mate.
Children overboard etc..

And before you accuse me of being a Rudd lover, I would like to state that I think that they both, no, all politicians are shitbags.

GeorgeGrljusich
16 Jan 2010, 00:47
and WTF has that got to do with anything? You don't think there are any accountants and politicians that genuinely love sports? :rolleyes:
No, it meant that he was a nerdy geek who spent his entire life feathering his own nest whilst painting a picture of being in touch with the common man.

Ebert80
16 Jan 2010, 01:02
Simple.

Howard an accountant? He was Federal Treasurer, but as far as i know he was a lawyer, not an accountant.

footyfreak
16 Jan 2010, 01:09
You actually believe that?
Look I love your work, I have seen some of your YouTube stuff and it is piss funny.
But if you don't believe that Howard was the master manipulator of the public, and being a good ole sports fan is central to that connection, then you are seriously deluded mate.
Children overboard etc..

And before you accuse me of being a Rudd lover, I would like to state that I think that they both, no, all politicians are shitbags.

I believe Howard is a genuine cricket lover.

GeorgeGrljusich
16 Jan 2010, 07:46
Howard an accountant? He was Federal Treasurer, but as far as i know he was a lawyer, not an accountant.
i stand corrected on that, you are indeed correct.

GeorgeGrljusich
16 Jan 2010, 07:48
I believe Howard is a genuine cricket lover.
I believe that after hiding in a hole when he lost the election and his own seat, he is now poking his nose out of the bunker so that he can get a good grip on Abbots puppet strings.

Bombers_Forever
16 Jan 2010, 07:52
Blame Channel 9 - they seem obsessed with cameras focusing on him and organising interviews with him.

GeorgeGrljusich
16 Jan 2010, 08:00
Look the whole point of the OP was to moan that Rudd is a wanker and shouldn't be on the telly at the cricket.
I just pointed out that they are all wankers and it is hardly a new thing and pre-dates Bob Hawke.
Christ, even Pig Iron Bob Menzies used to do his stuff back in the day.
And let's not forget Lizzy.
We have to put up with that old bag wandering along and saying "How do you do?" in her stuffy pommy accent.
The old hag wouldn't even give Lillee her autograph!

Cousin Jed
16 Jan 2010, 08:21
Look the whole point of the OP was to moan that Rudd is a wanker and shouldn't be on the telly at the cricket.
I just pointed out that they are all wankers and it is hardly a new thing and pre-dates Bob Hawke.
Christ, even Pig Iron Bob Menzies used to do his stuff back in the day.
And let's not forget Lizzy.
We have to put up with that old bag wandering along and saying "How do you do?" in her stuffy pommy accent.
The old hag wouldn't even give Lillee her autograph!

And I think you have made your point pretty clearly by now.

THRILLHO
16 Jan 2010, 08:34
Howard is a cricketing tragic. No denying that. No talent when it comes to playing, but he has a pretty good knowledge of the game. Compared to Rudd, who just has no idea and hates admitting it.

I'm too young to remember it actually happening, but Rudd's love of sports kind of reminds me of when Keating professed his love of Collingwood...

King Elvis
16 Jan 2010, 09:00
Howard is a cricketing tragic. No denying that. No talent when it comes to playing, but he has a pretty good knowledge of the game. Compared to Rudd, who just has no idea and hates admitting it.

I'm too young to remember it actually happening, but Rudd's love of sports kind of reminds me of when Keating professed his love of Collingwood...

Yep.

Howard absolutely loves Cricket, and is pretty fond of Union as well.

And the reason I believe it is because they're the sports he was always at, he spoke well about them - and he didn't profess to love AFL/League as well.

You might hate Howard, and fair enough, but he was sincere in his love of sports, if nothing else.

THRILLHO
16 Jan 2010, 09:28
Nah, Howard was a massive League fan. Loves his Dragons. Obviously fond of the Wallabies as well, but League was his footy passion.

Presented the 2007 NRL Premiership to a strong chorus of boos, lol.

King Elvis
16 Jan 2010, 09:36
Nah, Howard was a massive League fan. Loves his Dragons. Obviously fond of the Wallabies as well, but League was his footy passion.

Presented the 2007 NRL Premiership to a strong chorus of boos, lol.

My bad - I watch Cricket/Union/AFL, but not League, so I obviously missed that.

mattf83
16 Jan 2010, 10:00
A whole 40:eek:
He better run for re-election then.
There were 42 people in the bay

stickman11
18 Jan 2010, 18:31
He can bowl better than Howard, thank god, more spin. And he can sledge using big words and mandarin.

To be honest, the bloke is supposed to be running the country not bludging at the cricket. Who does he think he is, an overpaid dole bludger.

footyfreak
18 Jan 2010, 18:35
I'm anti Labor anti Rudd but the guy was on his holidays and he is entitled to them. Work ethic doesn't appear to be an issue for him. I heard he has had staff quit coz they couldn't keep up with his work demands??? No idea if it is accurate :confused:

stickman11
18 Jan 2010, 18:38

Keating was a collingwood member, someone recently told me he still is. Maybe he really does follow collingwood. Not everyone is black and white.

I remember Ponting devised a team rule that anyone who plays for Australia has to buy a North Melbourne Membership. Now that is desperate.

stickman11
18 Jan 2010, 18:40
I'm anti Labor anti Rudd but the guy was on his holidays and he is entitled to them. Work ethic doesn't appear to be an issue for him. I heard he has had staff quit coz they couldn't keep up with his work demands??? No idea if it is accurate :confused:
He demands alot of work but does little himself. That is what I hear. Typical politician.

The guy has had more holidays than Howard. Kevin747. That was funny.

King Elvis
18 Jan 2010, 20:40
I remember Ponting devised a team rule that anyone who plays for Australia has to buy a North Melbourne Membership. Now that is desperate.

I thought Punter bought all of the team memberships, and then some other smartarse did the same for his team and it kinda kept going?

I don't like Rudd, he's a smarmy, insincere prat; but I don't doubt his work ethic. Rather than bullshit on and pretend he loves Cricket, just say, "I've always liked it, but never really got into it, so I'm trying to learn about it now."