View Full Version : News Who will be crowned Essendon's SuperBoot?

Skeeta Olly
16 Jan 2010, 14:32
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7199
Don’t miss your chance to see all your favourite Bombers battle it out in a knock-out kicking contest at the club's open training session on Monday 25th January, with the last remaining player being crowned Essendon’s SuperBoot.

Each player will be paired up with a randomly selected supporter on the day who will act as their man on the mark. The selected supporters will score themselves a free pair of adidas boots signed by their player. The winning SuperBoot’s partner will also take home a Samsung digital camera, a signed Yakult football, and a team-signed Essendon guernsey – all the equipment needed to become the ultimate SuperBoot.

Sounds pretty good if you are chosen.

Frothies Mcveigh
16 Jan 2010, 14:37
Thats sounds great, would be wonderful to get picked.

Skeeta Olly
16 Jan 2010, 14:43
If we had the chance to pick a player, I'd say Myers...

...shame he's injured.

theboxmike
16 Jan 2010, 15:00
Prissy to win imo

Skeeta Olly
16 Jan 2010, 15:09
Wouldn't want to accidentally smother the ball.

Enki
16 Jan 2010, 16:07
Well, considering Myers is injured I'd guess Fletch will be odds on to take it. Assuming he competes.

Frothies Mcveigh
16 Jan 2010, 16:11
Yeah i'd be putting my money on Fletch.

BringBackCransberg
16 Jan 2010, 16:25
From the training reports it sounds like Neagle's your best bet.

HFF_07
16 Jan 2010, 17:18
Dyson :D

In all seriousness... Hurley :rolleyes:

centrelink1
16 Jan 2010, 17:25
Quinn or Jobe for sure...

SirJimi05
16 Jan 2010, 20:29
Some of the names being thrown out there are pretty funny.

Mark Williams will be the hot favourite. Neagle probably the best chance of an upset.

bipolarbeaR
16 Jan 2010, 20:54
I am going to go ahead and say Ryder.

Kong
16 Jan 2010, 21:23
Great initiative.

I have Monday morning off so I'll hopefully get across.

I'd back Williams, also.

Anybody else thinking of going?

sikmoe
16 Jan 2010, 21:54
I reckon Houli :)

Enki
16 Jan 2010, 22:33
Oh wait, are we talking about accuracy on goal? Opps. I don't know why but my mind immediately jumped to kicking distance when I read the title (guess some sleep deprivation messed with me). Well, you can definitely count Myers out of that.

Well, in that case I would have Williams and Neagle as the top two. Ryder is OK but like Fletch I wouldn't have him as our top set shot.

Hurley would be a chance too.

Skeeta Olly
17 Jan 2010, 09:19
Oh wait, are we talking about accuracy on goal? Opps. I don't know why but my mind immediately jumped to kicking distance

Same. I don't know why either.

Between Neagle, Monfries and Williams.

I'm guessing they'll get further and further out, so you would think someone accurate with a big kick.

bombre-boy
17 Jan 2010, 12:58
Fletch for mine...
If it is a tie, then maybe a drop kick off would be a good way to decide the winner...

hank31
23 Jan 2010, 10:16
Zaharakis=The dark horse!

skipjack
23 Jan 2010, 14:37
Sounds like a great idea. Lots of fun for the team and supporters alike. Wish my club had something similar.

footycool
23 Jan 2010, 14:38
Ill Be there, will do a report later

danielcan
23 Jan 2010, 18:53
Gussy reckons (http://twitter.com/AngusMonfries) it is going to be him.

U Got Reimered
23 Jan 2010, 20:19
I'll be there... Can't wait..

yaco55
23 Jan 2010, 20:56
Dempsey - Should be at good odds.

bombers_4_ever
24 Jan 2010, 18:37
Anyone going tomorrow?

footycool
24 Jan 2010, 20:19
yep, ill be there

marky53
25 Jan 2010, 09:35
Reimers won....

Spikey
25 Jan 2010, 09:36
Gussy reckons (http://twitter.com/AngusMonfries) it is going to be him.

'Shattered with my efforts in the superboot today!!'

Colin D'Cops
25 Jan 2010, 09:39
Reimers won....

Yep. Williams 2nd, Atkinson & Hurley 3rd. Prismall & Jetta close behind them also.

Spikey
25 Jan 2010, 09:41
http://twitter.com/Essendon_FC

And from that......

http://img111.yfrog.com/img111/19/6jsr.jpg

Oh god oh god oh god.

Skeeta Olly
25 Jan 2010, 09:56
I saw that mark.

Absolute ripper.

DapperDon
25 Jan 2010, 10:01

Oh god oh god oh god.

Needs more cotton wool, too many bodies in close for my liking:cool:

Skeeta Olly
25 Jan 2010, 10:08
Yep. Williams 2nd, Atkinson & Hurley 3rd. Prismall & Jetta close behind them also.

Laycock caught Williams' goal on the line so all Reimers had to do was kick it longer.

Atkinson was kicking pearlers as was Prismall. Jetta got extremely lucky, bounced at right angles to go in, then the next shot missed easily.

Neagle hit the post and Monfries had girls screaming in his ear, so I guess that lets him off.

Bock's first kick was a massive shank and then Carlisle joined in with the shanking after. Funny part was when Richardson said Silverlock (or Howlett or another rookie) was a really good shot at goal, then he kicked it out on the full.

footycool
25 Jan 2010, 10:10
Laycock was only doing laps, MCveigh looked good

Colin D'Cops
25 Jan 2010, 10:12
Yep. Before Jetta kicked a couple of helicopters though, he put them through beautifully. Prismall outstanding. Hurley good, had a bit of wind blowing when it was his last shot but great technique. Williams unlucky, probably should have had another shot each between him & ReimDawg to decide the winner. :D

Skeeta Olly
25 Jan 2010, 10:16
My ticket: Purple A Six

Michael Hurley: Ticket, Purple A Six.....ty six.

Colin D'Cops
25 Jan 2010, 10:23
Haha, unlucky. I ended up grabbing 6 tickets in about the space of 3 minutes as soon as I got there. Still didn't get called out FFS. :p

Skeeta Olly
25 Jan 2010, 10:25
Haha, unlucky. I ended up grabbing 6 tickets in about the space of 3 minutes as soon as I got there. Still didn't get called out FFS. :p

Haha.

The bloke next to me had over 10.

footycool
25 Jan 2010, 10:33
Mine Purple A75.... They called out A74 :thumbsd:

footycool
25 Jan 2010, 10:42
Lol, i took the exact same photo but from a further distance :)

http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww281/footycool/DSC01457.jpg

ant555
25 Jan 2010, 10:48
Stuff the superboot and the photo's , where is the training report :D

Skeeta Olly
25 Jan 2010, 10:53

Sums it up.

footycool
25 Jan 2010, 10:58
Ill Sum it up:

Laycock and Myers did some laps, wasnt in the main group
Gumby Looked really Strong along with Hille
Mcveigh is Ripping it Up
Jetta looks considerably better
Davey looks to have worked on his foot skills

IF you want anything else, feel free to ask

Skeeta Olly
25 Jan 2010, 11:02
Ill Sum it up:

Laycock and T. Slattery did some laps, wasnt in the main group
Gumby Looked really Strong along with Hille
Mcveigh is Ripping it Up
Jetta looks considerably better
Davey looks to have worked on his foot skills

IF you want anything else, feel free to ask

You mean Laycock and Myers.

footycool
25 Jan 2010, 11:05
Sorry about that

Hirdy_5
25 Jan 2010, 11:08

Skeeta, Sorry, Only just got your PM. But i was there :).

Hocking looks to have significantly improved his pace off the mark.

Skeeta Olly
25 Jan 2010, 11:13
Skeeta, Sorry, Only just got your PM. But i was there :).

Hocking looks to have significantly improved his pace off the mark.

No worries.

Looks in ripping nick does Hocking, although his kick a goal was a laugh.

Kong
25 Jan 2010, 12:06
Lol, i took the exact same photo but from a further distance :)

http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww281/footycool/DSC01457.jpgThis one gives you a better appreciation, in my opinion.

Quite a leap, with only Fletcher able to go with him. Even then, the old inspector arms couldn't stop Gumby's reach.

I've just found some TV footage of the reaction of the coaching staff:
IxekfrXg0s0

Deepthroat
25 Jan 2010, 12:55
Ricky Dyson was not sighted by me at all today, anyone know why?

stander
25 Jan 2010, 13:56

I'll give you another report Ant robus. I had 4 of my clan there today, we collected 5 tickets- Red A 7,8 27, 28, 29.

7 and 8 were winners ( Natrat and Slattery,T) and the footy boots are in the mail. We would have collected another pair with Red A9 if it wasn't for the lure of the smell of those free egg and bacon rolls.

Laycock looked good jogging laps.

Lance Uppercut
26 Jan 2010, 08:58

http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww281/footycool/DSC01457.jpg

I love the interwebz :p Great photo's guys :thumbsu:

The first one gets you hot, then the next one finishes you off. No homo :cool:

Skeeta Olly
26 Jan 2010, 09:09
For anyone interested, on Bomberblitz someone has posted a link to 300+ photos from the day.

Godzke
26 Jan 2010, 09:24
For anyone interested, on Bomberblitz someone has posted a link to 300+ photos from the day.
Can we re-link on BF or is that a no no?

ps: Why would you wear a watch when training? Looks like Fletcher's fist is about to destroy it.

yodellinhank
26 Jan 2010, 09:29
I'll give you another report Ant robus. I had 4 of my clan there today, we collected 5 tickets- Red A 7,8 27, 28, 29.

Nice :D:thumbsu:

George Washington
27 Jan 2010, 18:59

ps: Why would you wear a watch when training? Looks like Fletcher's fist is about to destroy it.

I'd say its a heart rate monitor.

Ben the Gooner
27 Jan 2010, 19:52

Nope. Don't link, or post quotes or photos from BB unless it's your own work, or you have permission from the poster.

You can't link to other forums anyway, and fogdog kicked up a stink last time someone borrowed (and credited:rolleyes:) a photo.

What Olly did was what we'd suggest you do.

Skeeta Olly
27 Jan 2010, 19:53
A link to BB is surely fine? A link to photos might not be.

Ben the Gooner
27 Jan 2010, 20:00
A link to BB is surely fine? A link to photos might not be.

That's a long-standing rule from Chief, not Essendon board policy.

Skeeta Olly
27 Jan 2010, 20:05
Ok, thanks.

Feel free to delete this convo.

Spikey
28 Jan 2010, 13:32
I think we should turn that convo into a sticky thread. tbh.