View Full Version : Hawks V Pies meeting place

SS11
26 Mar 2001, 19:06
For all who are interested-

Cricketeers Arms, 10am onwards
Beer garden out the back...

dont be scared we arent as bad as we seem on bigfooty, drop by for a quick pot or two, ill be there along with joffa nad co.

Cheers!

Grendel
26 Mar 2001, 20:04
SS11, i will try and rock along with the proviso NO mention of the colours or your particular association with them. Deal?

Any other Hawks (Rico,Bubba,Elt,Danny etc) love to meet up with you too! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

I will be easy to spot, will wear a t-shirt with the name GRENDEL on it lol!!

Cheers, Damn its great to have footy back!!!

Danny Chook Fan Club
27 Mar 2001, 04:58
Grendel,

I'll be selling memberships at the Ponsford Stand end before the game, and I imagine that I (and perhaps you) will be meeting up with another division of the Magpie army thereafter.

Either way, I'll see you at some stage before the game.

ricohawk
27 Mar 2001, 08:19
Grendel...can it really be this close ...only 5 more sleeps !!

What time do you guys intend leaving the Cricketers'......I'll be coming back from the bush on Satdy and probably wont get to the G before one-ish.

Love to catch up.....look for the old bugger in the black hat !!

-Rico

SS11
27 Mar 2001, 08:34
Im not sure what u mean grendel..LOL (sarsasm)

ill try to be there myself, i know joffa will be. Danny Chook, whereabouts at the ponsford end? in a tent?
ill be down there about gate opening time

Danny Chook Fan Club
27 Mar 2001, 09:27
Yeah, there'll be a Collingwood and Hawthorn tent I imagine - I'll be in the one serving all the animals trying to buy memberships http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Six foot, dark hair, mid 20s with a 1999 Hawthorn Ansett Cup guernsey - no 37 Ang Lekkas - that's me!

thommo16
27 Mar 2001, 12:30
Hey everyone,

I would be interested in going to the Cricketers Arms before the game, but I am a little scared!!! for two reasons....1) I don't know anyone and 2) I am a girl..... Could anyone please say that they are defiantely going to be there and at what time, so I can meet you there!!!

Love to catch up with everyone, and put names to faces.....actually maybe I don't want to know what you look like......just joking!!!

Nat

------------------
Why did the guy have to change his number
from 16 to 23. Now my username looks stupid

dutchy_rules
27 Mar 2001, 18:06
yeh thats a good idea.... i usually get there early to get a car park off swan st....
so it would be good to meet some people from bigfooty.... and finally put some names to faces... lets face it theres nothing like talking footy before its on......
i'll probably get there at 12pm, thats midday to some of u guys... anyway see you then.... so thommo16, if ya want to meet up with another hawk supporter heres ya chance....

Mags
27 Mar 2001, 18:46
Guyz Just Look For Joffa Yelling Shit And Piss... LOL!

No Worries Ill Be the kid in the old away gurnsey with no number as of yet.

Mags

ricohawk
28 Mar 2001, 03:55
Hey Thommo...re your 2 points of worry :

1) Most of us dont know each other yet

2) What's a girl ?

......see you there !

-Rico........'old man,black hat' !

Grendel
28 Mar 2001, 04:50
Cheers Danny, i will come and buy the membership from you Saturday. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Thommo16, i should be at the Cricketers about 11am. Your right though about being cautious about what i look like! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/eek.gif
(But Dannys good looking so he makes up for me)

Rico oneish is probably about the time id be heading over to the ground. We could meet up at the Ponnie stand were Dannys selling maybe? I will have the 'Grendel' t-shirt and probably black jeans and a black denim jacket. 5'10 bald and bearded. Easy to spot in a crowded pub im sure, lol! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Mags, your to young to be drinking (in legal venues anyway!) :P

Again anyone else who rocks along would be great to meet too.

Roll on Saturday.

elt
28 Mar 2001, 05:22
Traditionally a big day for me as I have quite a few mates who barrack for Collingwood (I really need some new friends http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif ). When I find out where/when we are all meeting I'll see if I can pop in to the Cricketers for a quickie, or maybe catch up with DCFC at the Ponsford Stand. I already have my membership though http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

I'll probably post here agin later once I know what is going on.

------------------
Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.

[This message has been edited by elt (edited 27 March 2001).]

Danny Chook Fan Club
28 Mar 2001, 05:22
Originally posted by Grendel:
But Dannys good looking so he makes up for me

http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/eek.gif

I can recommend a good optometrist!

Hawkforce
28 Mar 2001, 06:05
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club:
Grendel,

I'll be selling memberships at the Ponsford Stand end before the game, and I imagine that I (and perhaps you) will be meeting up with another division of the Magpie army thereafter.

Either way, I'll see you at some stage before the game.

Did you work the family day, Chook? If so, what's the feeling like on the admin side of the club?

Danny Chook Fan Club
28 Mar 2001, 06:23
Yeah, good. Lots of old heads around on Sunday re the actual employees - Silv, Brett etc. Mick Brown is more hands on that Morton was, he's always buzzing around the tables and stuff, talking and getting people involved. Marketing are marketing, nothing's likely to change there. Billy's whipped the membership department into shape, and got his old nemesis Deefa under some sort of control.

Volunteer-wise, good mix of old & new - I worked with Mark & Tanya on a table outside the ground, Jaye was inside on merchandise, Bernie and his mates had commandeered a table outside the social club, but lots of new-ish people working with/under Silv & Tracey in the main membership tent. So all fairly positive, mood was good enough. It's not the good old days, but it's still fun being down there.

BUBBALOUIS
28 Mar 2001, 07:00
Hay, ill be there guys, just after 'noon i imagine. Seeyas there

thommo16
28 Mar 2001, 09:06
Cool,

thanks guys for all your responses! I will be there at 12, so if you see a girl with her Hawks scarf and a Thommo badge on, you know its me, and give me a yell. I am so excited about this weekend and the season in general, been reading the articles in the Sun over and over again, even if they aren't about Hawthorn!!! Just can't wait till that siren on Saturday. See you at the cricketers Arms..out in the beer garden?? Can't wait to sink a few beers before the big game!!!!

------------------
Why did the guy have to change his number
from 16 to 23. Now my username looks stupid

Mags
28 Mar 2001, 09:10
Wish A Could Drink http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/frown.gif

Lemon Squash For Me I Guess http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Be great too meet u all! Least I can get into the cricketers unlike some other place at Colonial http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/mad.gif

Mags

SS11
29 Mar 2001, 06:28
just remember ppl, beer garden out back, so grab a pot (if your old enuf MAGS) and head out there ok?

should be some good ribbing before the game....LOL

Chris_23
29 Mar 2001, 17:21
I might pop along too.... http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif Although i reckon you guys might be a little bit older than me!

Hawkforce
30 Mar 2001, 04:20
Originally posted by SS11:
just remember ppl, beer garden out back, so grab a pot (if your old enuf MAGS) and head out there ok?

should be some good ribbing before the game....LOL

It it the ribbing AFTER the game that hurts!

collingwood_joffa
30 Mar 2001, 08:27
Great stuff good to see real supporters who can shit stir and still wanna meet for a drink,the beer garden is out the back so just head that way'you'll hear the noise anyway'shit with all the free advertising the cricketers is getting i can only hope 'it's beers all around'...LOL seeyas from 11.3oam,only for a quick pot though!!!!

------------------
good ole collingwood for ever,we know how to play the game,side by side we stick together to uphold the REAL magpies name,see the barrackers are shouting,as all barrackers should,YES the premiership's a cakewalk for the good ole collingwood.
'YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE'http://www.mp3.com/joffa

Darky
30 Mar 2001, 15:19
Does the rousing support for this weekend's piss-up indicate there may be a chance of organising a Roos/Hawks shindig for the Round 12 clash on June 23, or is it too early to tell?

P.S : Beware of Joffa - he spills more than he drinks http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

BUBBALOUIS
30 Mar 2001, 15:47
Originally posted by Darky:
Does the rousing support for this weekend's piss-up indicate there may be a chance of organising a Roos/Hawks shindig for the Round 12 clash on June 23, or is it too early to tell?

P.S : Beware of Joffa - he spills more than he drinks http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

Count me in Darky, i never say no to a meeting at a pub!

Grendel
31 Mar 2001, 00:47
Never to early to organize a beer meet up Darky!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Round 12 is looking good already http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

goatmaster
31 Mar 2001, 03:56
Grendel, Bubba
I can't get down so you will have to drink my share.
I know thats a lot to ask but I have great faith in you.
May be able to get there next week or possibly the Melbourne game.
Go you Hawkers

BUBBALOUIS
31 Mar 2001, 05:17
Originally posted by goatmaster:
Grendel, Bubba
I can't get down so you will have to drink my share.
I know thats a lot to ask but I have great faith in you.
May be able to get there next week or possibly the Melbourne game.
Go you Hawkers

Its a tough ask youve given me GoatMaster, but ill try. Seeya soon

ricohawk
31 Mar 2001, 09:03
Bubba...lift ya head mate...we can do this !

For the brown & gold....Bubba,Grendel,Thommo16,Chris23,yours truly and any other hawks who can make it..we can DO it..we CAN drink Goaty's share !!!!

Remember the words of our mentor and leader -the great John Kennedy - at 3/4 time in the 71 GF......dont think - DO !!!!

-Rico

ricohawk
31 Mar 2001, 09:07
Bubba...lift ya head mate...we can do this !

For the brown & gold....Bubba,Grendel,Dutchy,Elt,Thommo16,Chris23,yours truly and any other hawks who can make it..we can DO it..we CAN drink Goaty's share !!!!

Remember the words of our mentor and leader -the great John Kennedy - at 3/4 time in the 71 GF......dont think - DO !!!!

-Rico

ricohawk
31 Mar 2001, 12:40
Dunno what happened there...that was supposed to be an edit !!!!

Dipper
31 Mar 2001, 18:33
Wish I could be there but I can't so you blokes will have to drink my share too & give those Pies supporters a ribbing from me especially Joffa.
I'll be cheering on the mighty Hawks over here trying to follow things however I can

Carn the Hawks!

BUBBALOUIS
1 Apr 2001, 06:27
Originally posted by DIPPER:
Wish I could be there but I can't so you blokes will have to drink my share too & give those Pies supporters a ribbing from me especially Joffa.
I'll be cheering on the mighty Hawks over here trying to follow things however I can

Carn the Hawks!

Dipp with everyones share were gonna be drinking i dont know if well make it to the footy. LOL

Chris_23
1 Apr 2001, 06:33
HAHAHAHA uh oh, you can add another to the list because now that i can't get a lift into the ground i have to catch the train which means i won't make it on time.... http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/frown.gif Sorry guys, i will make it to the next one without fail! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

Actually, i will still try and get there, there might be a way! Anyway, i'll be wearing a big hawthorn jacket, the blue one that judgey used to wear and my scarfe.