View Full Version : 2nd ODI Australia v Pakistan @ SCG, Sunday 2:25pm AEDT (D/N)
Cousin Jed
23 Jan 2010, 12:18
http://img364.imageshack.us/img364/2415/commbankgo5.gif
http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/3570/aus.png vs http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/5719/pak.png
SCG
2:25pm Sunday January 24
Quick turnaround for TV purposes and off to Sydney after Australia posted a somewhat comfortable 5 wicket win in game number 1. Much of the focus for this series is on the dwindling crowds, though with the game live into Brisbane all day on a work day (the Gabba ODI is traditionally on a Sunday) and 1.1million people watching across the capital cities on channel Eddie, ODI cricket isn't quite dead yet.
Game 1:
What went right:
Cameron White shrugged off some lacklustre domestic form this season and carried on his recent international success, passing 50 for the 7th time in his last 17 innings and getting his 2nd ODI hundred, at better than run a ball.
Michael Clarke and Mike Hussey played the anchor role working singles to support him.
Shane Watson continued on his strong bowling, arresting a good Pakistan start against the new ball bowlers and picking up 4 wickets to go with an excellent economy rate.
Doug Bollinger is well on the way to secure himself a big fat payrise based on the CA ranking system for contracted players and averages 19 from his first 8 ODI games.
What went wrong:
Peter Siddle and Nathan Hauritz both struggled for penetration and accuracy.
The openers were well tested by some quality new ball bowling and couldn't survive, whilst Ponting struggled for any sort of fluency in his scratchy knock
What went right
Salman Butt continued his strong tour of Australia with a solid knock, though like the rest of the Pakistani's couldn't quite go on with it. He also didn't manage to run anyone out, though he did drop a catch.
Shahid Afridi blasted his way to 48 off 26 balls, and the Australian bowlers will need to ensure they get their plans right to contain his late order power.
Mohammad Aamer was easily the pick of the bowlers and was unlucky not to finish with better figures than his 1/29 off 9, troubling all the batsmen.
What Went Wrong
Saeed Ajmal. Didn't work out, though to be fair none of the spinners impressed in this one.
Younis Khan. Looked well out of touch and laboured his way to 46 off 74 balls, slowing the momentum Pakistan had. He will be better for the time in the middle, but it is just a 5 match series.
Game 2.
James Hopes gets a spell from cordial mixing duties, and unless the selectors decide they want Adam Voges' part timers, at the likely expense of Shaun Marsh, which has drawn him 1/142 at 6.8 RPO in his short Australian career, the team will be unchanged.
Pakistan may consider bringing back Umar Gul for Ajmal, though with teams still thinking the SCG is a raging turner, maybe not. May be some other changes depending on if the PCB has sent word of someone they want gone.
Australia XII:
Shane Watson
Shaun Marsh
*Ricky Ponting
Michael Clarke
Cameron White
Michael Hussey
+Brad Haddin
Adam Voges
Clint McKay
Nathan Hauritz
Peter Siddle
Doug Bollinger
In: Adam Voges
Out: James Hopes
Pakistan XVII:
Salman Butt
Younis Khan
*Mohammad Yousuf
Umar Akmal
Shoaib Malik
+Kamran Akmal
Shahid Afridi
Rana Naved-ul-Hasan
Mohammad Aamer
Saeed Ajmal
Mohammad Asif
Khalid Latif
Imran Farhat
Rao Iftikhar
Umar Gul
+Sarfraz Ahmed
Fawad Alam
In: Khalid Latif
Imran Farhat
Rao Iftikhar
Umar Gul
+Sarfraz Ahmed
Fawad Alam
Umpires:
Rod Tucker (New South Wales)
Asoka de Silva (Sri Lanka)
Paul Reiffel (3rd, Victoria)
Weather:
Cloudy with a light shower, lot cooler than today 26 degrees.
Coverage:
http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/9092/99na.gif live from 2pm AEDT in most of the country. Check your local guides.
http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/7399/abclocal.pnghttp://img38.imageshack.us/img38/9503/grandstand.png from 2pm (Windows (http://abc.net.au/streaming/events/network5.asx) Real (http://abc.net.au/streaming/events/network5.ram))
Cricinfo Scorecard (http://www.cricinfo.com/ausvpak09/engine/current/match/406203.html)
Cricket Australia Scorecard (http://livescores.cricket.com.au/summary_2440_2.html)
Should be a good match! Pakistan batted well in Brisbane but their bowling let them down (with added support from Cam White). I would like to see us bowl first though because it always seems easier to chase in limited overs matches. Pakistan must have been pretty confident that 275 was enough yet they lost with 1 and a bit overs to spare.
aussie1st
23 Jan 2010, 13:35
The spinners let Pakistan down in the end, they would have expected us to fall apart to them or at very least slow down big time against them. But both Clarke and White kept the momemtum going and for once we weren't slow in the middle overs.
Can't see any changes, they will definitely want Marsh and Watson to have another go at the top.
Kane McGoodwin
23 Jan 2010, 14:41
Can't see any changes, they will definitely want Marsh and Watson to have another go at the top.
Agreed - I cannot see any change given the squad for the game.
Strange decision to drop Hopes who didn't even play, as surely a better option that either McKay or Siddle to shorten the long tail (& a better ODI bowler too).
Totally agree. It was premeditated that he'd be dropped for voges for this match before the series started but I don't know why.
Seems to be on the outer now even tho he's a more economical odi bowler than mckay and siddle.
Can only think that they see him as a 5th bowling option only, and/or they want to give the younger guys more games.
damochandler
23 Jan 2010, 17:45
australia will want to bat first again. the spinners seem to do very well in the second inning of an odi match in sydney. they should get a sell out too shut the band waggon 20/20 supporters who don't know much about the sport as it is
aussie1st
23 Jan 2010, 20:25
Just read Hopes has stayed with the team despite not being named. Maybe as cover for Clarke who is in a bit of doubt.
Hopefully the game is as good as the one on Friday night at the Gabba.
Both sides are pretty even in this format of the game.
legend166
24 Jan 2010, 07:56
Looks pretty overcast in Sydney today. Has been raining in the morning but it should clear up.
larrikin
24 Jan 2010, 08:24
Agreed - I cannot see any change given the squad for the game.
Strange decision to drop Hopes who didn't even play, as surely a better option that either McKay or Siddle to shorten the long tail (& a better ODI bowler too).
Yeah, I'd prefer Hopes over McKay. Handy bowler and adds real depth batting at 8
Costanza_
24 Jan 2010, 09:27
Little bit of rain around, nothing too drastic though. Heading up there now - hope it lives up to the game on Friday.
Aus to chase down 260 with 2 balls to spare.
mattys123
24 Jan 2010, 11:43
I almost hope for a Pakistan win here, just so the series has some life in it going into the 3rd,4th and 5th games. I know the series won't be over if the Aussies win today/tonight but it might as well be.
Pakistan are capable of anything on their day, their problem obviously is consistency and getting more then 1-2 players playing well on any given day.
I'd like to see a close Pakistan win, then the Aussies take the rest of the games for a 4-1 series win.
After game 1 though, tipping a 4-1 series score, and with the probable spinning pitch, if the Pakis can bat first and get the Aussies under pressure tonight, they may be able to "steal" a win.
ILY Leonard
24 Jan 2010, 11:50
cnt believe HOPSEY didnt play last game and has now been dropped. even if there's no room in the batting line up for him his bowling is good enough for him to play at number 8 instead of mckay or siddle.
stickman11
24 Jan 2010, 11:54
How many will Hauritz be slapped for this game?
didak04
24 Jan 2010, 11:54
Agree with what others have said in this thread, Hopes should be in as the 3rd seamer.
stickman11
24 Jan 2010, 11:56
Looks pretty overcast in Sydney today. Has been raining in the morning but it should clear up.
Sydney is always wet, they should change the name to the soggy cricket ground
Cousin Jed
24 Jan 2010, 12:02
Pakistan have sent us in to bat under cloudy skies
Plugger35
24 Jan 2010, 12:11
Interesting decision by Pakistan to bowl first, normally you bat first in Sydney as the pitch slows up as the match goes on. They must be banking on the ball doing a bit in overcast conditions.
Pakistan have sent us in to bat under cloudy skies
Perhaps they prefer chasing.
I wonder what their record is like chasing runs, rather than runs on the board?
flight23
24 Jan 2010, 12:14
god slater get your fricking hand off it
Bombers_Forever
Siddle is lucky to keep his place.
Doesn't look to be a huge crowd - it would be lucky to be half full.
ManWithNoName
Nicholas: Have you lost the Pakistani captaincy?
Well he's out there tossing the coin Mark. What do you think?
Nice start from Watto :thumbsu:
DeadlyAkkuret
24 Jan 2010, 12:29
Watson goes bang bang!
Shot Watson.
Great start - two 4's off the 1st over.
:thumbsu:
Nicholas: Have you lost the Pakistani captaincy?
Well he's out there tossing the coin Mark. What do you think?
I shook my head when he asked that question as well. That's the sort of stupid question you'd expect Tony Greig to ask.
Watsons in a hurry this arvo.
Very entertaining to watch.
Cousin Jed
24 Jan 2010, 12:35
Watson's heart sure is racing.
abs_of_STEELE
24 Jan 2010, 12:37
Siddle is lucky to keep his place.
Well as you can see, Siddle is in the team to collect donations.
aussie1st
24 Jan 2010, 12:39
Lol good old Pakistan.
Awful fielding by Gul there. That should never have been 4.
aussie1st
24 Jan 2010, 12:40
Loving this more aggressive showing by Watson.
Plugger35
24 Jan 2010, 12:41
Reckon Pakistan might be regretting their decision to bowl first already.
Watson off to a flyer.
Good call Slats. :rolleyes:
Watson must be seeing them like a football.
Cousin Jed
24 Jan 2010, 12:42
He'll probably sky one straight to mid on now that I say it....but bowling short to Watson after sending them in thinking it will swing? :confused:
abs_of_STEELE
24 Jan 2010, 12:47
This is great by Watto.:thumbsu:
Sensational camera work that!
:rolleyes:
watson looking a million bucks.
butt is to eyebrows as yousuf is to beard
Lady luck shining on Watto atm.
aussie1st
24 Jan 2010, 12:49
Watson pretty much going at everything.
richie complementing white. very good batsmen, good fielder... made no comment on his bowling. says it all perhaps when richie's love for legspin is well known.
Surely not even the most bias of Victorians actually rate White's bowling anymore?
DeadlyAkkuret
24 Jan 2010, 13:08
watto_man!
abs_of_STEELE
24 Jan 2010, 13:08
Loving this.
abs_of_STEELE
24 Jan 2010, 13:09
Surely not even the most bias of Victorians actually rate White's bowling anymore?
Nope, not anymore.
Cousin Jed
24 Jan 2010, 13:10
Marsh has got the single to 3rd man to get the free flowing Watto on strike perfected.
Wowie Shane Watson.
Massive six and yet another 4.
Gee i'm loving this batting from Watson. To be 0/60 off 9.3 overs is pretty good, given the favourable batting conditions.
And, if I was Marsh, i'd be aiming to bat through the innings, and be 120 not out.
Marsh has got the single to 3rd man to get the free flowing Watto on strike perfected.
He's playing extremely well is Marsh, sure he's not exploding like Watson but he's playing that supporting role so well.
He's not taking up balls and is getting off strike straight away, perfect batting partner at the moment.
And a beauty of a pull shot from Marsh, superb.
Cousin Jed
24 Jan 2010, 13:13
The PCB are ordering a change of captain at the drinks break at this rate....
Why would Yousuf choose to use a bowling powerplay now?
deledio7
24 Jan 2010, 13:15
Looks like our opening pair is sorted. :thumbsu:
Watson batting beautifully and Marsh playing the perfect supporting role.
Magnificent work CJ.
Reckon they'll be asking Yousuf why he took the bowling power play as well.
Afridi to seize power in a bloody coup.
Magnificent work CJ.
Reckon they'll be asking Yousuf why he took the bowling power play as well.
"To piss you off"
Optimax
24 Jan 2010, 13:19
Watson has hit a ripper vein of form
watson is safe, so are the hammies
Afridi bowling in the powerplay?
aussie1st
24 Jan 2010, 13:21
Well can't go much worse than the guys the others.
Afridi bowling in the powerplay?
Surprisingly good captaincy .
"To piss you off"
Thanks..
Plugger35
24 Jan 2010, 13:23
And, if I was Marsh, i'd be aiming to bat through the innings, and be 120 not out.
Just like his old man used to.
aussie1st
24 Jan 2010, 13:25
Cheers Nicholas, "bowling with good line and length" next ball 4!
Lol at Mark Nicholas.....again.
Explaining what a crowd catch is. He must be auditioning for the new captain obvious role.
:rolleyes:
didak04
24 Jan 2010, 13:26
Excellent start by Watson, reminds me of the flyers Gilchrist used to get us off to.
DeadlyAkkuret
24 Jan 2010, 13:34
Lol at Watson not taking an easy single and then smashing a 4 :thumbsu:
danielnajdek
24 Jan 2010, 13:43
does Marsh know how to push for singles?
Ahh damn, the spinners tied them down and Watto decided to lash out.
Good bowling in the end, set that wicket up.
danielnajdek
24 Jan 2010, 13:51
Well done Marsh you stupid ****. Couldn't get the singles so Watson had to go for the big shot.
davey_magik
Excellent catch and great start for Watto, very well played.
Seriously, why is Shaun Marsh opening? He doesn't rotate the strike a lot and he isn't a hitter.
Cousin Jed
Unlucky, you would have put the house on him dropping that...
DeadlyAkkuret
69 and he's gone, at least he's not selfish.
20/20 fans just shed a few tears too. who will hit our boundaries now?!
Plugger35
24 Jan 2010, 13:52
Pakistan needed that wicket.
Still a great platform to get a score around 300.
davey_magik
24 Jan 2010, 13:55
Just noticed Marsh averages 40 in ODIs.
Obviously a pretty bloody good average, but I think my point stands. I reckon he'd be a good Test player but I've watched him a few times and he doesn't rotate the strike like say a Hussey does nor does he hit out well (I know he's done well in the Big Bash and the IPL but he has an ODI S/R of 76).
Bombers_Forever
24 Jan 2010, 13:57
Kamran Akmal, do you need to yell that loud everytime you talk?
Seriously, why is Shaun Marsh opening? He doesn't rotate the strike a lot and he isn't a hitter.
surely you jest
-the- batsmen of the ipl. century in domestic 20/20 as just mentioned in commentary.
They've already turned the TV off.
DeadlyAkkuret
24 Jan 2010, 13:59
They'd be disappointed he got out on the 2nd last ball of the innings.
davey_magik
24 Jan 2010, 13:59
Kamran Akmal, do you need to yell that loud everytime you talk?
Shabash shabash shabash shabash :D
shit play by shaun marsh. should not be opening.
danielnajdek
24 Jan 2010, 14:04
great batting here from the Aussies.**** off marsh you slowed the whole innings down.
Marsh gone.
Yet again we can't play Afridi, in fact in one day game spinners always ruin us.
danielnajdek
24 Jan 2010, 14:07
And now Clarke pads one away :rolleyes:
Adelaide Hawk
24 Jan 2010, 14:09
Marsh can obviously play a supporting role, but unable to play the dominant partner when the roles are reversed. I'm really not sure what to make of Marsh to be honest.
danielnajdek
24 Jan 2010, 14:11
The way we are going here we'll be lucky to get 250.
larrikin
24 Jan 2010, 14:12
does Marsh know how to push for singles?
Well done Marsh you stupid ****. Couldn't get the singles so Watson had to go for the big shot.
great batting here from the Aussies.**** off marsh you slowed the whole innings down.
Got a bee in your bonnet?
300 still very much within reach for the Aussies, given that we have wickets in hand. They can't keep playing like Watson was in the first part of the innings.
aussie1st
24 Jan 2010, 14:19
Marsh can obviously play a supporting role, but unable to play the dominant partner when the roles are reversed. I'm really not sure what to make of Marsh to be honest.
Wasn't that great in the supporting role, he kept quite a bit of the strike and didn't do much with it. When Watson got out Marsh was 29 off 48 for a SR of 60. He doesn't have to hit out but it would be good if he picked up more singles. I remember Warner being in similar form to Watson and IIRC it was the corresponding match at the SCG which as the commentators mentioned we were in a better position and ended up under 270.
danielnajdek
24 Jan 2010, 14:19
Yeah I do. Watson was in control of the innings until Marsh couldn't rotate the strike. We got off to a flyer so all we had to do was push it around and get 5 or 6 a over. But now it's slowed the whole innings down.
Ponting OUT for 13. Pakistan have fought back pretty well here.
Lol at Afridi going off for a massage a few overs ago. :D
legend166
24 Jan 2010, 14:30
I'm surprised the crowd is so big. Not because of any "people don't like ODIs!" type thing, but because tickets were just damn expensive.
Semi-decent ones were about $100.
Cousin Jed
24 Jan 2010, 14:32
White's in this will slow the run rate down
;)
White's in this will slow the run rate down
;)
Won't work again.
larrikin
24 Jan 2010, 14:34
Yeah I do. Watson was in control of the innings until Marsh couldn't rotate the strike. We got off to a flyer so all we had to do was push it around and get 5 or 6 a over. But now it's slowed the whole innings down.
Watson has been the only one to make batting look semi-easy, and even then he slowed right down at the end.
I'm surprised the crowd is so big. Not because of any "people don't like ODIs!" type thing, but because tickets were just damn expensive.
Semi-decent ones were about $100.
What a rip-off.
Is it live in Sydney right throughout the day?
3 4 5, 8 down. i don't care about the game position just hit me some boundaries.
OONGA BOONGA
Won't work again.
Can't argue with that.