View Full Version : 33 point away win, well done eagles :D

RzrBlade
3 May 2003, 17:46
we have only won 3 of our last 20 games in melbourne, now make that 4 from 21!

yay, good gutsy win eagles, also we keep our current top 4 spot :D

Raelene
3 May 2003, 18:05
We're the Eagles, West Coast Eagles!!!!!!

Frodo
3 May 2003, 18:11
Great win....finals footy here we come :D

TheRealBuzz
3 May 2003, 18:11
http://www.pregnancy.org/phpBB/images/emoticons/toothy9.gif

RzrBlade
3 May 2003, 18:13
Originally posted by Frodo
Great win....finals footy here we come :D

yay, i look forward to it greatly! http://www.pregnancy.org/phpBB/images/emoticons/toothy9.gif

iceman
3 May 2003, 18:14
Awesome win - thats one less hoodoo we have to worry about now :)

RzrBlade
3 May 2003, 18:14
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
http://www.pregnancy.org/phpBB/images/emoticons/toothy9.gif

p.s the real buzz:- why would you go to pregnancy.org???

RzrBlade
3 May 2003, 18:16
Originally posted by iceman
Awesome win - thats one less hoodoo we have to worry about now :)

yeah now all we gotta do is win at the gabba this year and all will be well!!! :p

(i can dream can't i? :D)

TheRealBuzz
3 May 2003, 18:16
I'm pregnant. Duh.

http://www.pregnancy.org/phpBB/images/emoticons/wav.gif

i_luv_westcoast
3 May 2003, 18:17
Great win by the Eagles. With next weeks game against Geelong at home we have a great chance of winning three in a row :D

Mead
3 May 2003, 18:17
Woooooooo :)
No Cousins, no Kerr, No Wirrpunda, but a huge, season defining win!

RzrBlade
3 May 2003, 18:18
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
I'm pregnant. Duh.

http://www.pregnancy.org/phpBB/images/emoticons/wav.gif

well that would explain it then wouldn't it. http://invisionfree.com:54/40/57/emo/smily_2.gif

myee8
3 May 2003, 18:21
I'd like to say congrats to the Eagles too. I listened to the game on the radio, and West Coast sounded very impressive in their win, especially Matera and Chick. Chick seems to be doing a lot better for the time being than that other high-profile recruit in Headland.

Frodo
3 May 2003, 18:33
Originally posted by myee8
I'd like to say congrats to the Eagles too. I listened to the game on the radio, and West Coast sounded very impressive in their win, especially Matera and Chick. Chick seems to be doing a lot better for the time being than that other high-profile recruit in Headland.

But can we believe what you say with that avatar? :D

RzrBlade
3 May 2003, 18:35
Originally posted by Frodo
But can we believe what you say with that avatar? :D

hahahahaha!!! the iraqi information minister, always full of surprises http://invisionfree.com:54/40/57/emo/smiley_1.gif

mellowyellow
3 May 2003, 18:42
Well done eagles, the win made even more significant by the fact you were able to beat melbourne on there own turf.

Sera
3 May 2003, 19:20
No Kerr... No Cuz... No Wirra... a very good effort away from home.

noodle
3 May 2003, 19:47
you f'n ripper. way to go eagles.

eagleskickass
3 May 2003, 20:18
no words can explain the sheer and utter joy i felt when that siren sounded:D:D:D

chrisjudd3
3 May 2003, 20:34
is there any standout centre half forwards in the game so far?

if not could glen jakovich but at this moment of the best, watching his form so far in the seasn he has not kicked many goals but for some reason has become a strong focal point in attack with his strong overhead marking and presence in the forward line. It seems sometimes that he's got some spring in his step.

Anyone notice how Judge tried to turn Jakovich into a centre half forward and failed whereas Woosha succeeded.

daddy_4_eyes
3 May 2003, 20:59
Great win, little scare in the 2nd qtr, but otherwise we controlled the game.

mouldy_bread
3 May 2003, 22:06
I was a little worried when it started to rain before the match and I was praying that our match didn't end like Freo's against Richmond, but luckily the rain stopped and the Eagles finished with a convincing away win under their belt..very very happy right now.
WAY TO GO EAGLES!:D

Uncle Tony
3 May 2003, 22:50
Originally posted by Sera
No Kerr... No Cuz... No Wirra... a very good effort away from home.

Maybe these guys have been holding us back for too long!!!;)

Proud as punch to see us take it right to them and all the while giving some fringe players time in the middle.

Top start to the season.:D

myee8
3 May 2003, 23:22
Originally posted by chrisjudd3
... Anyone notice how Judge tried to turn Jakovich into a centre half forward and failed whereas Woosha succeeded.

Judge also tried playing Cummings and Wilson in the same side. The difference between Worsfold succeeding and Judge failing is that Judge is crap and a tosser, Worsfold isn't.

cartman
3 May 2003, 23:51
great day standing up at games end and all the eagles suporters in the great southern started singing the club song as it was being played on the ground speakers , i think at least 3000-4000 of the crowd were eagles suporters certinaly sounded like it

mouldy_bread
3 May 2003, 23:52
Originally posted by myee8
The difference between Worsfold succeeding and Judge failing is that Judge is crap and a tosser, Worsfold isn't.

Well said. :)

GoEagles
4 May 2003, 02:40
That's 2 away wins on the trot - surely this has to be a first since the Malthouse era?

I wish we played more than 1 game a year at the MCG - we play our best 'away' football there, as the wide open spaces is similar to Subiaco Oval

Eagle_Fan
4 May 2003, 04:33
Well I just finished watching a video of the game. Very nice. In fact I'm still grinning as I type - much the same as Cuz, Jako & Whoosha after the siren. Nice to see such obvious joy from three pretty emotionally-controlled guys.

Anyway, what I saw today, was a team of little mini-Whooshas. Tough, hard at it, strong and desperate tacklers, who while not having the skills of Brisbane, have the heart and determination. They do not give up, and I like that - a lot.

What I also saw, a point highlighted by the confusion of the idiot commentators, was a team of young, relative 'nobodies' playing vital parts in the win, rather than picking up the odd possession as 'the new young kid'. No Cuz? No worries. No Kerr? Not a problem. No Wirrpunda? Too easy.... and the fact that we actually have players up to AFL standard waiting eagerly to come into the team to cover these guys is a great relief - and a change. Obviously the injuries are a blow (personally I'd rest Cuz, even if he deems himself fit. Is it 4 games this year he's finished off the ground? Besides, his form against Geelong the last few seasons hasn't been too flash), but rather than a feeling of absolute end-it-now dread, I'm seeing the opporunity to boost the experience of our kids.

Look, it's not all sugar coated. There definately things seen today that I'd like us to work on. Individual players have certain aspects they still need to address (why oh why can't Juddy tackle properly? Everything else is so damn good), and some pretty ugly passages of play, but to see that royal blue and gold geurnsey, victorious at the home of football on a typical Melbourne day in an even team performance, made my weekend. :)

EF. http://mysmilies.creativesell.net/otn/wink/thumb.gif

carneagles
4 May 2003, 10:12
Okay stats heroes - when was our last win on the MCG? (Not a trivia question - I don't know either)

They were really fired up, weren't they. After Jako's goal, by my count he shouted at least four C'MON!'s. That has to be some kind of record, even by his standards.

carneagles
4 May 2003, 10:15
Originally posted by RzrBlade
well that would explain it then wouldn't it. http://invisionfree.com:54/40/57/emo/smily_2.gif Wow, a Brad Hardie smilie.

eagleskickass
4 May 2003, 10:22
Round 1 2000 was out last win at the MCG thanks to the Channel 10 commentators for that;)

carneagles
4 May 2003, 10:35
Ta. Long time between drinks.

Thrawn666
4 May 2003, 13:23
Originally posted by carneagles
Ta. Long time between drinks.

Indeed it is.

But also look at how many games we've played at the G since then. Think you'll find it's not a huge amount.

Black Thunder
4 May 2003, 14:17
anyone know how long Cousins will be out for if he is out, and how Trav pulled up after getting injured again :(

daddy_4_eyes
4 May 2003, 14:20
Originally posted by Black Thunder
anyone know how long Cousins will be out for if he is out, and how Trav pulled up after getting injured again :(

Cuzz is expected to play next week, he just got a corked thigh. Travis did his hammy again and will be out for 3-4 weeks :eek:

iceman
4 May 2003, 15:57
Gaspar was rushed back in i reckon. Pity injuries are still hampering his career

Thrawn666
4 May 2003, 17:44
Serious questions need to be asked about Gaspar now.

The guy obviously can play and is the Number 1 choice for the CHF position, but how long can the club afford to carry a player who is so injury prone?

I realise it's only early in his career, but if it doesnt bode well for when he is older and his body's ability to recover is diminished.

Goldenblue
4 May 2003, 18:07
Well done Coasters!!

Gave me a bit of a worry in that second quarter, but they stood tall and played an exceptional 3rd quarter.

I think if we win on Saturday, we will have our first 3 wins in a row since Malthouse. Not sure.....

Thrawn666
4 May 2003, 21:42
Originally posted by Goldenblue

I think if we win on Saturday, we will have our first 3 wins in a row since Malthouse. Not sure.....

Youd be right :)

carlyp
4 May 2003, 21:48
A fantastic game for our boys. On TFS on thursday night when i saw that Kerr was out, my heart sank. But to the boys credit, they really lifted and had a crack and sure enough they came away with the four points. Im so proud of our boys and geez its good to see em win one away for once!
Will this get the monkey off our back?? I hope so!!

Goldenblue
4 May 2003, 22:24
Originally posted by Thrawn666
Youd be right :)

beating the Dockers, an away win and 3 wins in a row...what more could we ask of this side on present form at the moment?

Thrawn666
4 May 2003, 22:59
Originally posted by Goldenblue
beating the Dockers, an away win and 3 wins in a row...what more could we ask of this side on present form at the moment?

A win the week after next against Collingwood at Docklands.

Considering theyve lost 3 in a row, have got Adelaide at Football Park this week, odds are theyll have lost 4 in a row by then and will be white hot for a win. If we do beat Geelong and got through a pumped up Collingwood, id say we'd have some prettty good momentum happening. Lot of what if's but you did ask for what more culd we ask for? :P

Mr Q
4 May 2003, 23:31
Indeed it is.

But also look at how many games we've played at the G since then. Think you'll find it's not a huge amount.

Since that earlier win (47 points over the Kangaroos), we've lost three straight times at the MCG.

2001, R8, Hawthorn, 80 points
2002, R2, Collingwood, 2 points
2002, R8, Richmond, 21 points

However had we played there more in 2001 it could've been worse

Mead
5 May 2003, 01:45
A win the week after next against Collingwood at Docklands.

Considering theyve lost 3 in a row, have got Adelaide at Football Park this week, odds are theyll have lost 4 in a row by then and will be white hot for a win. If we do beat Geelong and got through a pumped up Collingwood, id say we'd have some prettty good momentum happening. Lot of what if's but you did ask for what more culd we ask for? :P

It'd be a huge win v Collingwood, but oddly enough, I'm feeling strangely confident about that one- we thrashed them last year at subi, and only went down by 1 point in melb. We just seem to match up on them pretty well. Also, they appear most vulnerable in the ruck, and with Gardie's current invincible form, I can see him doing to Mckee what he did to Capuano. In fact, I'm less worried about that game than next week's- I reckon we'll beat Collingwood on the back of a BOG, 40 hitout effort from Gardiner.

(NB- The last time I made a prediction of this nature was vs St Kilda last year, when I said Willow would kick a huge score, and we'd win. The result was our worst defeat for the season, and a broken collar bone for the big fella which ruined the rest of his year)

Actually, I'm more worried that next week's game will get under our guard- we'll be definite favorites, but Geelong were pretty good against Bris, and we have a fair few injury woes. I hope the players take it seriously- dropping a game at subiaco would undo all our good work this round.

Yze_Magic
5 May 2003, 02:01
too good

made us look like the inconsistent rabble that we are

Chris Judd is a gem

jod23
5 May 2003, 05:03
Originally posted by Mr Q
Since that earlier win (47 points over the Kangaroos), we've lost three straight times at the MCG.

R8, Hawthorn, 80 points
R2, Collingwood, 2 points
R8, Richmond, 21 points

However had we played there more in 2001 it could've been worse

Pick the loss under Judge :D :D :D :D :D

I was ecstatic about the win, the only downer was that I started work at 3 so as soon as the final siren sounded, I jumped in the car and drove to work. Lucky work is only 4 or 5 minutes away in the car otherwise I would have missed some of the game!

But what a victory. Finally an away win, let's hope it's not the only one for the season. I was very concerned in the second quarter as Cousins and Gaspar went down and going in without Kerr and Wirrpunda...well you could say I wasnt feeling confident at half time.

But credit to the boys, with 3 of our best players out of the side, we just charged forward. Big up's to Jako who IMO took on a real leadership role on the field with Cuz sidelined. He was pretty vocal on the field and at the 3 quarter time huddle, then the goal :D

Sensational win. Hope we can back it up against the Cats this weekend.

RzrBlade
6 May 2003, 18:53
Originally posted by carneagles
Wow, a Brad Hardie smilie.

thats the look i was goin 4! lol :D