View Full Version : Northern Football League Division 1 - Part V

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

Stude289
3 Feb 2010, 14:38
What's the story with Ty Zantuck, clearance Refused twice to go to Western Magpies ?

Solatium
3 Feb 2010, 14:47
What's the story with Ty Zantuck, clearance Refused twice to go to Western Magpies ?
Not too many grounds you can refuse clearances on these days.
Speculating that return of $$$ may be involved.

RiverRat
3 Feb 2010, 19:30
Any news on J Murphy's whereabouts/future at the Tigers ?

At this stage Murph is playing with Heidelberg in 2010.

gurusingha
4 Feb 2010, 15:13
I think you'll find a few are actually from mill park juniors which is an affiliated club.

I think you'll find that agreement ended a few years ago due to the Bulls only wanting the kids with ability and treating the rest like S..t.

grass-is-greener
4 Feb 2010, 16:34
It is my understanding the Mill Park and St Mary's have an agreement/affiliation.

The Bloke
4 Feb 2010, 18:18
Anyone tell me much about Terry or 'T' who used to play for Lalor Bloods?

Ossie
5 Feb 2010, 07:01
It is my understanding the Mill Park and St Mary's have an agreement/affiliation.

I was under the impression that Mill Park ended that agreement when the NFL was started.

How long is the affiliation with St Marys going to last , now that they have a senior club?

Watsy juniors will have an effect as well.

As I have said before get out there and grow your own.

chicknfeed
5 Feb 2010, 09:46
pretty sure bundoora has a affiliation with st marys, mill park, st damians, and also
yarrambat as of the last couple of years also.
obviously with the st marys one probably not going to be happening for too much longer,
that is why the club gets so many young kids up there

underbelly
5 Feb 2010, 10:27
pretty sure bundoora has a affiliation with st marys, mill park, st damians, and also
yarrambat as of the last couple of years also.
obviously with the st marys one probably not going to be happening for too much longer,
that is why the club gets so many young kids up there

and Heidelberg have an affiliation with the AFL ;);)

food for thought
6 Feb 2010, 05:58
and Macleod have an affiliation with Heidelberg.

The Boof
6 Feb 2010, 10:12
and Macleod have an affiliation with Heidelberg.

Let em earn their stripes. Show no mercy and bury the mother fcukers. Particularly that plastic gangster overbelly :D

underbelly
8 Feb 2010, 08:14
Let em earn their stripes. Show no mercy and bury the mother fcukers. Particularly that plastic gangster overbelly :D

As long as you buy lots of beer, I don't give a crap how much you beat
us buy !

big bob99
8 Feb 2010, 08:42
As long as you buy lots of beer, I don't give a crap how much you beat
us buy !
hey u dont expect boof 2 shout u a beer

Solatium
10 Feb 2010, 08:17
Have been nearly bowled over a couple of time by exuberant time trialling Cougars near the Yarra Bend bike trail.

Are all clubs training "off ground" due to council restrictions ?

Mr Cannons
10 Feb 2010, 13:07
cougars train at yarra bend mondays, westgarth st wednesdays and behind northcote pools fridays.

The Boof
10 Feb 2010, 13:54
Have been nearly bowled over a couple of time by exuberant time trialling Cougars near the Yarra Bend bike trail. ...

cougars train at yarra bend mondays, westgarth st wednesdays and behind northcote pools fridays.

Now that would be something else. Heidelberg v Northcote Park GF. I like to see that.

underbelly
12 Feb 2010, 10:29
Noticed some of Macleod's 2nd's players from last season moving
onto North Heidelberg....Is this cover for Shane Harvey ?

Oxymoron
12 Feb 2010, 12:49
Noticed some of Macleod's 2nd's players from last season moving
onto North Heidelberg....Is this cover for Shane Harvey ?

What about those Heidelberg 2nd's players you've picked up, perhaps to cover the retirement of tom melican snr?

inside info man
14 Feb 2010, 17:04
it will be interesing to see how greensborough go this year losing there top 2 goal kickers from last year

Hunters Host #3
14 Feb 2010, 17:26
it will be interesing to see how greensborough go this year losing there top 2 goal kickers from last year

In both Gilbert and Fairchild? Have Greensborough acquired any solid recruits?

chicknfeed
15 Feb 2010, 06:59
were has gilbert ended up going?

underbelly
15 Feb 2010, 09:01
What about those Heidelberg 2nd's players you've picked up, perhaps to cover the retirement of tom melican snr?

We simply picked up a few who decided that there are better opportunities at Macleod (not to mention that they want to play with their brothers.

And who knows - Tommy Snr might just don the jumper again to play his 537th game

TIGER ROCKET
15 Feb 2010, 09:57
were has gilbert ended up going?

north heidelberg

Pheonix20
15 Feb 2010, 16:47
Paul and Rohan KING to North Heidelberg. Are they the ex Bundoora boys?

Hunters Host #3
15 Feb 2010, 16:59
Paul and Rohan KING to North Heidelberg. Are they the ex Bundoora boys?

Certainly are..

Pheonix20
16 Feb 2010, 07:00
What is going on down at the Sand Pit?
KING retired on doctors advice.
McGough gone to WA and taking Stanley with him.
Poor old Nuge will have to carry another team.

big_dog
16 Feb 2010, 13:05
Does anyone know much about two Macleod recruits Alistair Corry and Chris Long? I hear great things from Chris Long thriving in the HDFL over the past few years

cold_as_ice
17 Feb 2010, 01:18
any early predictions for...
relegation -
comp goal kicker -
best recruit -
final 5-
flag-

i'll go with
relegation - greens
comp goal kicker - harvey
best recruit - watt
final 5- heid, cougars, eltham, mont - then a toss up between west and norf
flag- bergers over cougars

Solatium
17 Feb 2010, 07:26
relegation -
comp goal kicker -
best recruit -
final 5-
flag-

i'll go with
relegation - greens
best recruit - watt

S Harvey ?? - Barooga - Murray League.

Mr Cannons
17 Feb 2010, 09:22
relegation -
comp goal kicker -
best recruit -
final 5-
flag-

i'll go with
relegation - greens
best recruit - watt

Saad

FOOTYBOSS
17 Feb 2010, 09:31
Saad to be leaving Seymour
Saad Saad is leaving Seymour for real this time.
Melbourne-based Saad is returning to Northern Football League side Northcote Park with his increased work commitments as an electrician.
The 27-year-old, who kicked 463 goals in five seasons for Seymour, almost left Kings Park to join VFL clubs Collingwood in 2008 and Bendigo Bombers last year.
``Saad needs to be able to not travel to focus on a few things with his electrical business,'' Seymour president Trevor Gunn said.
``He will be deemed as a bit irreplaceable but he will still be part of the club and always welcome back.''
Work duties have also forced triple premiership midfielders Brendan Liddell (Wangaratta) and Guy Pemberton (Greensborough) to leave Seymour.
Liddell, runner-up in last year's Morrison Medal, runs his own physiotherapy clinic in Wangaratta.
Pemberton, who will play against Saad in the Northern League, owns a landscaping business.
Bernie Haberman has called an end to his playing career and will coach from the sidelines this year.
Gunn said Seymour's key player exodus was inevitable after its recent dynasty.
``It's a spell we've got to have from where we've been,'' Gunn said.
``In the last five years we've won six football premierships _ three senior (2005-07), two reserves (2006 and `08) and one under-18 (2007).
``We're coming off the back of a good spell and you can't be up there competing for premierships every year.''
Seymour's chances of replacing Saad have been helped with brothers Brent and Paul Colbert returning for another season.
Former Essendon rookie Tim O'Keefe has returned from VFL club Port Melbourne.
Veteran Morrison medallist Shane Schottner is playing another year and premiership teammates Tim Hooper and Brett Spargo are back.

cold_as_ice
17 Feb 2010, 10:53
S Harvey ?? - Barooga - Murray League.

ha, didn't realise that
well i'm not sure on a goalkicker then, and norf out of the finals west in

lions12
17 Feb 2010, 12:09
relegation -
comp goal kicker -
best recruit -
final 5-
flag-

i'll go with
relegation - greens
best recruit - watt
So you believe bundoora will be in the bottom 3? your an idiot

RiverRat
17 Feb 2010, 13:31
relegation -
comp goal kicker -
best recruit -
final 5-
flag-

1 - Lalor
2 - Saul Caddy
3 - Sean Logie (Heidelberg)
4 - Heidelberg, Bundoora, Montmorency, Eltham, Northcote, (not in order)
5 - TBC

cold_as_ice
17 Feb 2010, 22:03
So you believe bundoora will be in the bottom 3? your an idiot

Nah, i reckon they'll finish 6th :D, which would be bottom 4

chicknfeed
18 Feb 2010, 06:39
cold as ice, please u are seriously sounding like u have no idea
harvey to win the goal kicking, bundoora to finish in the bottom 4
who is your tip for the comp medal trevor robinson???

theXfactor
18 Feb 2010, 13:37
Relegation - Greensborough
Comp goal kicker - Lance Whitnall
Best recruit - Should know this after round 9
Final 5- Heidelberg, N/Park, Mont, Lalor and Bundoora
Flag- Heidelberg

footys back home
18 Feb 2010, 13:56
Flag- Heidelberg

No guessing who you follow

cold_as_ice
18 Feb 2010, 14:49
cold as ice, please u are seriously sounding like u have no idea
harvey to win the goal kicking, bundoora to finish in the bottom 4
who is your tip for the comp medal trevor robinson???

why don't you post your opinion?
i do believe that bundoora will miss the finals...just
they'll be 0-3 after the first three games, west @ west, heidelberg, mont followed by norf, who they might beat

snakebite
19 Feb 2010, 05:20
1 - Lalor
2 - Saul Caddy
3 - Sean Logie (Heidelberg)
4 - Heidelberg, Bundoora, Montmorency, Eltham, Northcote, (not in order)
5 - TBC
ah its all nearly here.interesting face at training last night.even training. what did they say rumours about my clearance are a slight exageration.everyone sign up for hobart, it will be great fun.for all info www.heidelbergfc.com.au (http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au). .good to see the young blokes all have grown and ready for senior footy. go the tiges. and booboo i does have feelings i'm an old softie.

chicknfeed
19 Feb 2010, 06:29
relegation- greensborough
goal kicker- saad
recruit- nick meese
final 5- heidelberg, bundoora, northcote, mont, west, not in any particular order.
flag- could be out of a few clubs this year hard one, heid, bun, northcote????

Son of Whispy
19 Feb 2010, 12:13
relegation- greensborough
goal kicker- saad
recruit- nick meese
final 5- heidelberg, bundoora, northcote, mont, west, not in any particular order.
flag- could be out of a few clubs this year hard one, heid, bun, northcote????

Just wondering how your clearance is going pal? Heard a rumour that Eltham has signed a former Heidelberg footballer in the last week and a half.

lions12
19 Feb 2010, 12:27
Just wondering how your clearance is going pal? Heard a rumour that Eltham has signed a former Heidelberg footballer in the last week and a half.
RELEGATION: Greensborough
RECRUIT: S.Watt
GOALKICKING: WHITNALL
FINALS: Heid, Bund, Mont, Northcote/ 5th place between, north, west and eltham
PREMIERS: Heidelberg or Bundoora, but alot more even year

And yeh eltham had picked up S.laing who used to play at heidelberg, but was in and out of the 1's

montysuk
19 Feb 2010, 12:36
RELEGATION: Greensborough
RECRUIT: S.Watt
GOALKICKING: WHITNALL
FINALS: Heid, Bund, Mont, Northcote/ 5th place between, north, west and eltham
PREMIERS: Heidelberg or Bundoora, but alot more even year

And yeh eltham had picked up S.laing who used to play at heidelberg, but was in and out of the 1's

RELEGATION: greensborough
RECRUIT: saad
GOALKICKING: saad
FINALS: Heid, northcote, Mont, bundoora, west
PREMIERS: Heidelberg/northcote/bundoora

chicknfeed
19 Feb 2010, 12:57
yeah clearance is going ok, pretty sure u would no if its true or a rumour
since u are one of those pests that stand on the hill yelling abuse all
day u clown

The Boof
19 Feb 2010, 14:24
... And yeh eltham had picked up S.laing who used to play at heidelberg, but was in and out of the 1's

A good pick-up no worries there. What about a certain North player ;)

footys back home
19 Feb 2010, 15:13

North Heidelberg ?? North Melbourne ?? North Pole ??

Mr Cannons
19 Feb 2010, 17:50
have heard murphy to oak park if they can find him a job.

RiverRat
19 Feb 2010, 18:12

Trained last night for the first time in a while and has given every indication that he will remain at Heidelberg.

Doona2
19 Feb 2010, 19:06

Romsey (RDFL) had already offered him a job, but then word coming outa the Redbacks camp has them under the impression he may be staying at Heidelberg???? Must be nice to be wanted . . . .

footys back home
19 Feb 2010, 19:26
Trained last night for the first time in a while and has given every indication that he will remain at Heidelberg.

Listed as an assistant coach, you would have thought he would have been at training right through the pre season. Is that title just a justification for the money paid to him.

RiverRat
19 Feb 2010, 19:52
Listed as an assistant coach, you would have thought he would have been at training right through the pre season. Is that title just a justification for the money paid to him.

Pretty hard to put a monetary value on what he has done for us over the past 4 seasons. That being said I would have thought that he, even at the age of 33 is worth every cent.

The Boof
20 Feb 2010, 07:18
... Is that title just a justification for the money paid to him.

Ask "The General"

... That being said I would have thought that he, even at the age of 33 is worth every cent.

Plus some

Son of Whispy
20 Feb 2010, 07:24
yeah clearance is going ok, pretty sure u would no if its true or a rumour
since u are one of those pests that stand on the hill yelling abuse all
day u clown

Don't really stand on the hill much any more yelling abuse. Just stand there enjoying a good game of footy drinking about 20 cans. I leave the abuse to others, but always enjoy giving you a good rev up clown.

Son of Whispy
20 Feb 2010, 07:34

As quoted in the Herald Sun on Friday, Adam Simpson is keen on playing about 8 games this year. He is an Eltham junior and did say many years ago that he was keen to play back at Panther Place once his AFL playing days were finished.

Don Draper
20 Feb 2010, 08:10
RELEGATION: greensborough
RECRUIT: Dowd
GOALKICKING: saad
FINALS: Bundoora, Heidleberg, Cougars, Mont, Eltham
PREMIERS: Cougars

Samuri Pizza Cat
20 Feb 2010, 08:22
RELEGATION: Macleod
RECRUIT: Samuri Pizza Cat
GOALKICKING: Caddy
FINALS: Bundoora, Heidleberg, Cougars, Mont, North
PREMIERS: Bundoora

footys back home
20 Feb 2010, 14:44
As quoted in the Herald Sun on Friday, Adam Simpson is keen on playing about 8 games this year. He is an Eltham junior and did say many years ago that he was keen to play back at Panther Place once his AFL playing days were finished.

Here is the article

http://www.elthamfc.com.au/mb charity game hsun.jpg

Great White Hope
20 Feb 2010, 20:33
RELEGATION: Macleod
RECRUIT: Samuri Pizza Cat
GOALKICKING: Caddy
FINALS: Bundoora, Heidleberg, Cougars, Mont, North
PREMIERS: Bundoora

You keep bagging Macleod pizza pussy but suggest you drop into the club to see what is happening. Training outstanding (numbers and talent), lost no-one from last year and we will be competitive. No way will be compared to Thommo of 2009. Major sponsor is luring big bikkies to the club and Puffa will prove to be one of the best young coaches in the NFL.

Oxymoron
21 Feb 2010, 07:52
You keep bagging Macleod pizza pussy but suggest you drop into the club to see what is happening. Training outstanding (numbers and talent), lost no-one from last year and we will be competitive. No way will be compared to Thommo of 2009. Major sponsor is luring big bikkies to the club and Puffa will prove to be one of the best young coaches in the NFL.

You'll find that the majority of bundoora supporters on here (and in general) carry a rather large chip on their shoulder and find it difficult to grasp the concept of reality. They are irrational and somewhat deluded when it comes to football and like a lot of other clubs have developed a shocking culture along the way.

stringa
21 Feb 2010, 10:25
You'll find that the majority of bundoora supporters on here (and in general) carry a rather large chip on their shoulder and find it difficult to grasp the concept of reality. They are irrational and somewhat deluded when it comes to football and like a lot of other clubs have developed a shocking culture along the way.

This statement alone tells everyone your mindset you dill.How many of those irrational and so call deluded bundoora supporters do you actually know.Time to drop the oxy off your user name there young fella:confused:.

chicknfeed
22 Feb 2010, 09:10
This statement alone tells everyone your mindset you dill.How many of those irrational and so call deluded bundoora supporters do you actually know.Time to drop the oxy off your user name there young fella:confused:.

i would have to agree with you there stringa, do you even read this cause if you did oxy you would realise that most of the bundoora supporters have actually said greens will go down, i certainly think use will be much better than thomo, maybe you should stick around after the game this year for a beer and you may actually get to know some of those people with the chips on there shoulders and you may think differently.

theXfactor
22 Feb 2010, 10:44
Originally Posted by theXfactor http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/curves/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=16908349#post16908349)
Flag- Heidelberg

No guessing who you follow

Your guess would be wrong. I follow Heidelberg when time permits as I travel alot with work, however the fact that an injured Whitnall has finshed 2nd in the comp goalkicking with bags of 70 behind Shane Harvey the last two years, coupled with the fact that I think the Bloods are a better side than Greensborough, Eltham, West Preston and Macleod should justify my putting them in my top 5.

RiverRat
23 Feb 2010, 11:45
Out of interest, does anyone on here rate Heidelberg's Jake Williams? Never seems to get a mention yet you could mount a strong argument for him being the best player in the comp. Has also been referred to as "number 8" by a former Montmorency head coach.

The Boof
23 Feb 2010, 12:36
2009 Heidelberg v Montmorency. Jake "The Muss" Williams blitzed em out of the back-line during the first and second which ultimately laid the platform for a humiliating defeat for Mont. Classic it was.

Blacky18
23 Feb 2010, 12:58
Huge news coming out of Macleod this week. Rumors that they had signed ex-Sydney Swan Troy Luff were spoken around the league. I had to see for myself and there he was training with the Kangaroos. A massive boost for a ********** of a club

cold_as_ice
23 Feb 2010, 13:36
Troy Luff?

he retired from afl in 2001...he's 40 years old

he'd be worthless now wouldn't he?

Solatium
23 Feb 2010, 14:12
2009 Heidelberg v Montmorency. Jake "The Muss" Williams blitzed em out of the back-line during the first and second which ultimately laid the platform for a humiliating defeat for Mont. Classic it was.
Mmmm - think you'll find it was 2008 Boof but no disputing Jake's contribution.

Mont's fate sealed in the 2nd semi after Jake was poleaxed by a fair hit from D Stanley who then made the mistake of mocking him whilst he lay on the ground badly winded. If I recall correctly someone named Trew squared up two weeks later.

Now that was a classic.

The Boof
23 Feb 2010, 14:26
Mmmm - think you'll find it was 2008 Boof but no disputing Jake's contribution.

Mont's fate sealed in the 2nd semi after Jake was poleaxed by a fair hit from D Stanley who then made the mistake of mocking him whilst he lay on the ground badly winded. If I recall correctly someone named Trew squared up two weeks later.

Now that was a classic.

The game I had in mind was last years home game. As for the Stanley incident and outcome it too was a classic.

Why Mont never played Stanley got me thinking about certain things. Always played well against the boys. Anyway that's history.

Blacky ... What is it with you and Troy Luff? Give-us break.

lions12
23 Feb 2010, 15:44
anyone know what ben fletcher is like? played in maribynongs premiership last year. playing at bundoora this year

gurusingha
23 Feb 2010, 16:20
anyone know what ben fletcher is like? played in maribynongs premiership last year. playing at bundoora this year

Played at Lalor in 2000 as a leading forward and if my memory serves me i think he kicked around 60 goals. beautiful left foot kick and will be an asset.Would now be in his early 30's and not sure how he's gone at Marby but the Bulls have obviously chased him with the view of replacing O'Brien/Finlayson from last season.

mustafish
23 Feb 2010, 18:32
Huge news coming out of Macleod this week. Rumors that they had signed ex-Sydney Swan Troy Luff were spoken around the league. I had to see for myself and there he was training with the Kangaroos. A massive boost for a ********** of a club
you and troy luff again, your just a dead set goose!!
goal kicking saad
recuit saad
relegate greens
finals heid,bundoora,northcote pk,mont,
smokeys macleod;)
flag heid.
guys from heidelberg whats the update with abe williams??
if its what i hear and he cant play, whos the likely one to captain???

CoverGirl
23 Feb 2010, 18:45
mustafish? mustabeastinker......if your aware mate there are 5 teams that can make finals this year...North Heidelberg, Eltham and Gboro will all contend for that 5th position...West and Lalor will fight relegation...
Word is that Richard Champion who has been living in Oakleigh since moving down from Brisbane is wanting to have a run around with Eltham after being in contact with Adam Simpson

Samuri Pizza Cat
24 Feb 2010, 16:20
Ok champ! Can you find where I have bagged Macleod. All i stated is that I believe they will finish last. And to be totally honest i couldnt care less if they do come last or not. However i wont compare you to Thommo because the last time you met they beat you in a grand final so i say they are better on your recent history. tool

LLmoose
24 Feb 2010, 16:40
Ok champ! Can you find where I have bagged Macleod. All i stated is that I believe they will finish last. And to be totally honest i couldnt care less if they do come last or not. However i wont compare you to Thommo because the last time you met they beat you in a grand final so i say they are better on your recent history. tool

Great to see the Macleod boys haven't lost their thick skin! We are going to miss them in divvy 2 that's for sure!

footys back home
24 Feb 2010, 21:21
Hanging out for a fix of local footy?

Get to Central Park Eltham this Sunday

The Boof
25 Feb 2010, 06:36
Hanging out for a fix of local footy?

Get to Central Park Eltham this Sunday

Couldn't think of anything worse. Rather pull me fingernails out for a bit light entertainment. Notwithstanding having to put-up with KA flying the Panther flag :p

Solatium
25 Feb 2010, 07:26
Couldn't think of anything worse. Rather pull me fingernails out for a bit light entertainment. Notwithstanding having to put-up with KA flying the Panther flag :p
Tongue in cheek no doubt Boof !!

Understatement that the day is for a very worthy cause and should be heavily supported by all NFL followers. Unfortunately we all have had family/friends affected by the fires and even twelve months on the tragedy is all too fresh.

As a sideline fund raiser,volunteers are sought for a can and dim sim "eat off" with KA.

ONTHEPROWL
25 Feb 2010, 15:59

typical. u would rather watch ur team buy a premiership (once again). than donate a couple of bucks to a charity match.

Denny Crane
25 Feb 2010, 17:32
As a sideline fund raiser,volunteers are sought for a can and dim sim "eat off" with KA.

There is not enough Dim Sims in Eltham if KA gets going, if you find someone to take him on make sure there is an ambulance close by.:D:D

food for thought
26 Feb 2010, 22:46
typical. u would rather watch ur team buy a premiership (once again). than donate a couple of bucks to a charity match.
Hey genius, talk about buying preimierships. Go into your rooms one day and have a good look at the 1969,'70,'72,'74 flag sides.Some great players there, plenty of home grown talent. Stewart,Capuano,Mitchell,Newnham,Massey,Sanders.Hopefully Heidelberg can learn from Eltham's mistakes and not stuff their club for forty years.

food for thought
26 Feb 2010, 23:00
Hey genius, talk about buying preimierships. Go into your rooms one day and have a good look at the 1969,'70,'72,'74 flag sides.Some great players there, plenty of home grown talent. Stewart,Capuano,Mitchell,Newnham,Massey,Sanders.Hopefully Heidelberg can learn from Eltham's mistakes and not stuff their club for forty years.
Sorry premierships.

ONTHEPROWL
27 Feb 2010, 07:00

**** me. looks like you have a life outside the footy club.... and why would i go into my rooms if i wanted to look at your home grown talent anyway?......genius.

footys back home
27 Feb 2010, 11:56
**** me. looks like you have a life outside the footy club.... and why would i go into my rooms if i wanted to look at your home grown talent anyway?......genius.

Go into your rooms one day and have a good look at the 1969,'70,'72,'74 flag sides

On the prowl

You will find he means our 1969,'70,'72,'74 flag sides

Blacky18
27 Feb 2010, 14:33
Big signing for the Lower Plenty Bears signing young gun foward Hadyn "Darren Glass" Bryce from Greensborough for 200 a game. Haydz is looking to having a massive year raving in the cave because of missing out all of last year.

RiverRat
27 Feb 2010, 19:14
Buying Premierships aside, I keep getting told from outsiders looking in that Heidelberg are going to lower the bar this year. What are peoples thoughts? Obviously some big losses but on the other hand a few supposedly "unknown" ins.

Personally I can see a marginal drop off but would certainly expect a top two finish. For the competition's sake we need to see someone start challenging us, which will hopefully occur this year in the form of Bundoora, Northcote Park, Montmorency perhaps even West Preston and to a lesser degree Eltham.

footys back home
27 Feb 2010, 20:50
Buying Premierships aside, I keep getting told from outsiders looking in that Heidelberg are going to lower the bar this year. What are peoples thoughts? Obviously some big losses but on the other hand a few supposedly "unknown" ins.

Personally I can see a marginal drop off but would certainly expect a top two finish. For the competition's sake we need to see someone start challenging us, which will hopefully occur this year in the form of Bundoora, Northcote Park, Montmorency perhaps even West Preston and to a lesser degree Eltham.

Come and see the lesser degree eltham t'mrrow at Central Park Eltham

footys back home
27 Feb 2010, 20:57
Come and see the lesser degree eltham t'mrrow at Central Park Eltham

Maddison Bartlett Fundraiser
Maddison Bartlett Fundraiser Written by nfl.org.au Monday, 22 February 2010 11:50 This Sunday February 28, the Eltham and Warrandyte Football Clubs - along with the local football communities - will join forces in order to raise funds for the Maddison Bartlett Foundation.
Maddison Bartlett lost her mother, father and sister in the 2009 Black Saturday bushfires and suffered burns to over 50 percent of her body. Maddison initially spent five weeks on life support and then 16 weeks in the Burns Unity at the Royal Children's Hospital, and is still undergoing the painful process of skin grafts, rehabilitation and physiotherapy which will continue for years to come.
The event is being held to assist the Maddison Bartlett Foundation in raising vital funds to help with future rehab and the enormous day-to-day challenges that Maddison will face for the rest of her life. All proceeds raised on the day will go directly to Maddison's future via a charitable trust.
The event will be held at the home of the Eltham Football Club - Eltham Central Oval, Panther Place, Eltham - from 1pm on Sunday February 28.
The day will feature appearances by many AFL players, with the game itself featuring former AFL greats Glenn Archer, Adam Simpson, Nathan Thompson, Damian Monkhorst, Shannon Grant and Leigh Colbert.
How you can help:
Individuals -
Come along to the game on Sunday February 28 at Central Oval, Eltham. Make a donation to get in and all profits from the gate, food, drinks, raffles, etc will go to the foundation.
Donate directly to the foundation.
ANZ Bank
Account: Maddison Bartlett Trust
BSB: 013292, Account Number: 901960922
Donations of $2 or more are tax deductable and receipts will be issued if donations are made over the counter at the Hurstbridge Police Station or if details are left with the ANZ Bank, Diamond Creek.
Business:
The clubs wish to have banners or signs on the fences all around the ground. If you have a banner or a sign which is suitable, this will be put up for a donation to the foundation:
Banners, signs under 3 metres in length - $300
Banners, signs under 6 metres in length - $400
Larger banners and signs - negotiation
For more information on the day, please contact either:
Alan Sheehan, 0408 940 636
Email: elthamcc@hotmail.com (elthamcc@hotmail.com) This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Mal Brown, 9439 1528
Jimmy Logan, 0414 337 418
Michael Tout, 0433 934 130
Email: Warrandyte@efl.org.au (Warrandyte@efl.org.au) This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

SickPig
27 Feb 2010, 23:04
[quote=RiverRat;16985058]Buying Premierships aside, I keep getting told from outsiders looking in that Heidelberg are going to lower the bar this year. What are peoples thoughts? Obviously some big losses but on the other hand a few supposedly "unknown" ins.

Personally I can see a marginal drop off but would certainly expect a top two finish. For the competition's sake we need to see someone start challenging us, which will hopefully occur this year in the form of Bundoora, Northcote Park, Montmorency perhaps even West Preston and to a lesser degree Eltham.[/qu

Get yourself a missues big boy!

mustafish
1 Mar 2010, 08:19
mustafish? mustabeastinker......if your aware mate there are 5 teams that can make finals this year...North Heidelberg, Eltham and Gboro will all contend for that 5th position...West and Lalor will fight relegation...
Word is that Richard Champion who has been living in Oakleigh since moving down from Brisbane is wanting to have a run around with Eltham after being in contact with Adam Simpson
hince why ive got smokeys macleod in there...

snake43
1 Mar 2010, 13:45
hey boys just wanna know an honest opinion on which league is better out of nfl, edfl and efl? seems whoever i ask they allways say the league they play in.

LLmoose
1 Mar 2010, 13:53
hey boys just wanna know an honest opinion on which league is better out of nfl, edfl and efl? seems whoever i ask they allways say the league they play in.

My opinion is that the only Heidelberg in the NFL would compete with the top 3 or 4 in the EFL. EDFL though seems to be around the same par as NFL.

snake43
1 Mar 2010, 14:08
ok thanks for that mate, so EFL would be the better out of the 3?

lions12
1 Mar 2010, 17:23
great day put on by eltham and warrandyte yesterday. well organised and im sure they raised alot of cash for a good cause. Both teams took it very serious and im sure it was a good hit out for 2 teams. As for eltham i think they might be around the same position as last year, they rely to much on varsa and connelly. with only currie and maybe one or 2 to come back they might push for that 5th spot, but it might be a struggle. good day anyone, good to see local footy back!

Brutal
2 Mar 2010, 05:47
Big signing for the Lower Plenty Bears signing young gun foward Hadyn "Darren Glass" Bryce from Greensborough for 200 a game. Haydz is looking to having a massive year raving in the cave because of missing out all of last year.

News to Lower!

BlueJet
2 Mar 2010, 19:58

Eastern would be the best but the EDFL is closing the gap. The NFL bar Heidelberg isn't as strong as the other two IMO. Would be good to organise a footy carnival with each of the metro leagues competing.

lions12
3 Mar 2010, 20:40
bundoora had a good hit out tonight, on a terrible ground. i may change my recruit of the year aswell to josh cole. wow he looked good!

chicknfeed
4 Mar 2010, 06:09
he did look good lions, his name is joe cole never been much talk about him i spose cause everyone has been concentrating on richard. Can really play though won the best in the comp in central australia 2008 but missed most of last year with a broken leg

snakebite
4 Mar 2010, 19:26
ah boof my old mate its nearly here.sorry to hear you arent going down to hobart with the boys. JUST PUTTING A NOTICE IN TO ANY UNDER 19 PLAYERS OR UNDER 17 PLAYERS WE ARE LOOKING FOR PLAYERS IN THOSE AGE GROUPS. YOU HAVE A CHANCE TO JOIN THE BEST CLUB IN MELBOURNE.. COME DOWN AND TRAIN WITH THE SIDE THAT HAS ONE THE LAST 4 PREMIERSHIPS . training is next tuesday and thursday nights.its a great friendly club come along with your families and join in the year that we are going to add to our club rooms and make this club the greatest.
ask for gavin or steve. 6 pm either night.good luck to all and lets hope its a very even comp.

footy luver
4 Mar 2010, 20:15
Eastern would be the best but the EDFL is closing the gap. The NFL bar Heidelberg isn't as strong as the other two IMO. Would be good to organise a footy carnival with each of the metro leagues competing.
no.1 eastern equal 2nd essendon and northern no.3 western region no.4 southern. not sure where the amatuers fit in.