View Full Version : most influential punk song
Just a debate i was having with freinds - seem to have a lot of those these days.....
hard to pick between
god save the queen - sex pistols
im stranded - the saints
hard one and i am sure i will think of a few others after i click send
Originally posted by raticus
god save the queen - sex pistols
I'm fairly ignorant, but that's the first one that came into my head.
Leaping Lindner
5 May 2003, 20:40
Interesting one! I think you'd have to say worldwide "God save the Queen" was the most influential of the two.However in this country I'd say "Stranded" no worries. For two reasons. Firstly it was on Countdown which exposed it to a whole audience that wouldn't normally have seen or heard punk (although the Saints never considered themselves punk by the way)and secondly last year the compilation album "Do the Pop" was released and it featured artists in Australia influenced by The Saints (and Radio Birdman) and it's like a whos who of GOOD australian artists from the 1980s.
well I was living in the UK at the time of PUNK and i didnt realise the saints were aussies - was just a great song. "never mind the bollocks" was definately up there as the best ever punk albums and to this day still sounds great.
other faves were
the clash 1st lp
sacred to dance (skids)
boomtown rats 1st lp. (neon heart - an awesome song)
in the city (the jam)
SydneyBomber
5 May 2003, 21:57
God save the Queen.
daylight.
I'm Stranded.
In fact, I'd be tempted to mention others before 'I'm Stranded' such as 'Blitzkrieg Bop' (Ramones - my pick for 2nd most distinctive punk song)) and 'New Rose' (Damned), 'Holiday in Cambodia' (DK), 'Orgasm Addict/Ever fallen in Love' (Buzz****s)
etc etc.
Don't get me wrong, 'I 'm Stranded' is a great song, but I think it's importance in a worldwide sense is a tad overstated by some.
Yes, they went to the UK, and did ok for awhile, but nothing like the others mentioned above.
out of those two songs... would be 'god save the queen' over 'i'm stranded'....
but, stuff by the ramones, and the new york dolls would rank above them...
Rusty Brookes
6 May 2003, 11:51
I'd go for the Pistols, although I prefer the Saints. The Ramones were probably the most influential punk band (the Pistols et al, were hugely influenced by the bruddas) but the Sex Pistols had more notoriety (appearance on the Bill Grundy show, British tabloids and the like). Good call by Coxon on the New York Dolls as well. Steve Jones has mentioned many times that he realised he could play guitar after seeing Johnny Thunders playing with the Dolls on TV.
And just to re-iterate what Leaping Linder said. If you are a fan of punk/garage/high energy rock and you haven't got Do the Pop-what are you waiting for? It's an incredible collection of music-50 songs and not one dud track on it.
"Hong Kong Garden" by Siouxsie and the Banshees. The Sex Pistols and Saints song had no influence on me. In fact I hadn't heard of either band until after I heard of the Banshees.
Docker_Brat
6 May 2003, 15:15
Would anyone rate Smash it Up by the Damned?
LL: got a copy of that CD? I saw a review in the local street mag ages ago but haven't been able to obtain a copy of it.
Captain Sensible
6 May 2003, 15:51
Would The Birthday Party count? If they do then 'Big Jesus Trash Can' or 'Release The Bats' for me.
If they dont then it is 'I Dont Mind' by The Buzz****s or anything by Dead Kennedys.
Contra Mundum
8 May 2003, 12:51
What about "Smash it Up" by the Damned!
and any of a number of the Ramones songs such as: Now I want to sniff some glue"
Beausgirl43
8 May 2003, 13:54
My way ... Sid Vicious
cheers ... Kaz
Noddy Holder
9 May 2003, 00:26
I'd say the Pistols but "Friggin in the Riggin" would the one I would choose.
The_Flying_Egg
9 May 2003, 10:34
Its clearly something from Good Charlotte's magnificent body of work
(for any weiners, yes I am being sarcastic) :cool:
dreamkillers
9 May 2003, 14:50
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Interesting one! I think you'd have to say worldwide "God save the Queen" was the most influential of the two.However in this country I'd say "Stranded" no worries. For two reasons. Firstly it was on Countdown which exposed it to a whole audience that wouldn't normally have seen or heard punk (although the Saints never considered themselves punk by the way)and secondly last year the compilation album "Do the Pop" was released and it featured artists in Australia influenced by The Saints (and Radio Birdman) and it's like a whos who of GOOD australian artists from the 1980s.
I'm Stranded for me easily........as mentioned on one of the Sex Pistols documentaries they said were influenced by the Saints and Radio Birdman amongst others. I'm Stranded was released 9 months before God Save The Queen and 2 months before Anarchy In The UK.
Stranded was released in September 1976
God Save The Quen was released in May 1977 (after Anarchy In The Uk in November 1976)
From the J-Files.........
THE SAINTS HISTORY - PART ONE (http://www.abc.net.au/triplej/jfiles/files/s232050.htm)
(with thanks to Ian McFarlane, author of The Encyclopedia of Australian Rock & Pop)
* Sir Bob Geldof once said that three bands altered the face of rock music in the 1970s: Sex Pistols, The Ramones and The Saints. History shows that The Saints' debut single (I'm) Stranded predated the debut singles by The Damned, Sex Pistols, The Buzzcocks, The Clash and all their other UK punk rock contemporaries.
* (I'm) Stranded appeared in September 1976 on the band's own Fatal Records. It was all but ignored by the local industry. When Sounds magazine in the UK reviewed it as `Single of this and every week', EMI Britain ordered EMI Australia to sign the band immediately.
* The Saints grew out of the Brisbane garage band Kid Galahad and the Eternals which featured vocalist Chris Bailey, guitarist Ed Kuepper and pianist come drummer Ivor Hay. They formed in 1973 and changed their name to the Saints a year later.
* The Kenyan-born, Belfast-raised Chris James Mannix Bailey and the German-born Ed Kuepper had both emigrated to Australia with their families during the 1960s.
* Their musical tastes included blues artists like Howlin' Wolf, Jimmy Reed and John Lee Hooker as well as '60s R&B acts likes The Yardbirds, The Rolling Stones and The Pretty Things.
* At the end of '75, Hay took over on drums and Kym Bradshaw joined on bass. They were ostracised from the Brisbane scene, finding it difficult to get gigs. They had to set up their own promotions company, their own club (the 76 Club held in Hay's Petrie Terrace home) and a record label (Fatal).
* The Saints were in demand after I'm Stranded. They signed to EMI in November '76, and recorded their debut album - also called (I'm) Stranded - in just two days during December. They also supported AC/DC a few weeks later and moved to Sydney by the new year.
* Their debut album remains one of the greatest debut albums of the era. Renowned UK critic Jon Savage recently wrote that it was up there alongside Iggy's Raw Power and The Ramones first album. He also described This Perfect Day as the most ferocious single to ever grace the UK Top 40 (it peaked at #34).
* Even with the band's increased profile, the local industry was still unsure of how to deal with The Saints. They made an appearance on Countdown playing Erotic Neurotic, but were immediately banned after Kuepper and Bailey made less than complimentary remarks about the show. With the release of (I'm) Stranded in the UK, The Saints seemed ideally placed for amongst the burgeoning punk scene. In reality, The Saints were way beyond most of the then spiky-topped UK upstarts. By the time The Saints reached London in May 1977, they were however no longer hip.
* The Saints successfully opened for Talking Heads and The Ramones at the London Roundhouse on their first UK gig. The band's first regional tour was also productive, but after that the fashion-conscious UK audiences lost interest. The Saints had long hair and didn't wear safety pins or leather jackets. The Saints never considered themselves to be punks anyway. They were more interested in developing their sound beyond their brash origins.
* In October, The Saints issued the One-Two-Three-Four EP that featured re-recordings of two cuts from the debut album (Demolition Girl and One Way Street) with ragged but inspired covers of Ike and Tina Turner's River Deep Mountain High and Connie Francis's Lipstick on Your Collar.
* With the next single Know Your Product (Feb '78) and the second album Eternally Yours (May), Kuepper began to steer the band in a new direction. Stax inspired horn parts meshed with R&B riffs. With the band having refined the approach of the debut album, Eternally Yours remains one of The Saints' finest works. And with Know Your Product, the band created one of the greatest R&B-fuelled rock songs of all time.
* The band's third album Prehistoric Sounds was again a departure. The rock of old had been replaced by a darker mood. There was a general feeling of discontent on tracks like Swing for the Crime, Church of Indifference, Brisbane (Security City) and The Prisoner. For the single, the band was forced by the record company to put out their cover of Otis Redding's Security (Nov '78). By the time the album reached Australia in February 1979, The Saints had called it a day. The direction of the band was the problem between the members. Bailey wanted to write three-chord rockers and pop songs while Kuepper was moving towards less commercial, more experimental material. Prehistoric Sounds was Kuepper's attempt to move as far away from The Saints' past as possible. It is still often cited as a seminal Australian album.
* With the band's split, Ed Kuepper and Ivor Hay returned to Australia. Hay joined The Hitmen, and Kuepper formed Laughing Clowns in April 1979. Chris Bailey remained in the UK and set about assembling a new version of The Saints that initially included Hay on drums (who returned to the UK briefly). After that, Hay did a spell with his own jazz-inspired combo, Wildlife Documentaries, back in Sydney. He then rejoined Bailey in The Saints during 1985.
* For this period of The Saints, suus out the compilation Wild About You: 1976-1978 The Complete Studio Recordings (Raven Records). For hardcore fans, there is also a CD called The Most Primitive Band in the World (Live from the Twilight Zone Brisbane 1974) which capture The Saints in all their garage band glory.
I highly recommend both of the above CD's......even if like myself you have all their albums/cd's from this era...........
Leaping Lindner
9 May 2003, 16:46
Originally posted by dreamkillers
I'm Stranded for me easily........as mentioned on one of the Sex Pistols documentaries they said were influenced by the Saints and Radio Birdman amongst others. I'm Stranded was released 9 months before God Save The Queen and 2 months before Anarchy In The UK.
Stranded was released in September 1976
God Save The Quen was released in May 1977 (after Anarchy In The Uk in November 1976)
From the J-Files.........
THE SAINTS HISTORY - PART ONE (http://www.abc.net.au/triplej/jfiles/files/s232050.htm)
(with thanks to Ian McFarlane, author of The Encyclopedia of Australian Rock & Pop)
* Sir Bob Geldof once said that three bands altered the face of rock music in the 1970s: Sex Pistols, The Ramones and The Saints. History shows that The Saints' debut single (I'm) Stranded predated the debut singles by The Damned, Sex Pistols, The Buzzcocks, The Clash and all their other UK punk rock contemporaries.
* (I'm) Stranded appeared in September 1976 on the band's own Fatal Records. It was all but ignored by the local industry. When Sounds magazine in the UK reviewed it as `Single of this and every week', EMI Britain ordered EMI Australia to sign the band immediately.
* The Saints grew out of the Brisbane garage band Kid Galahad and the Eternals which featured vocalist Chris Bailey, guitarist Ed Kuepper and pianist come drummer Ivor Hay. They formed in 1973 and changed their name to the Saints a year later.
* The Kenyan-born, Belfast-raised Chris James Mannix Bailey and the German-born Ed Kuepper had both emigrated to Australia with their families during the 1960s.
* Their musical tastes included blues artists like Howlin' Wolf, Jimmy Reed and John Lee Hooker as well as '60s R&B acts likes The Yardbirds, The Rolling Stones and The Pretty Things.
* At the end of '75, Hay took over on drums and Kym Bradshaw joined on bass. They were ostracised from the Brisbane scene, finding it difficult to get gigs. They had to set up their own promotions company, their own club (the 76 Club held in Hay's Petrie Terrace home) and a record label (Fatal).
* The Saints were in demand after I'm Stranded. They signed to EMI in November '76, and recorded their debut album - also called (I'm) Stranded - in just two days during December. They also supported AC/DC a few weeks later and moved to Sydney by the new year.
* Their debut album remains one of the greatest debut albums of the era. Renowned UK critic Jon Savage recently wrote that it was up there alongside Iggy's Raw Power and The Ramones first album. He also described This Perfect Day as the most ferocious single to ever grace the UK Top 40 (it peaked at #34).
* Even with the band's increased profile, the local industry was still unsure of how to deal with The Saints. They made an appearance on Countdown playing Erotic Neurotic, but were immediately banned after Kuepper and Bailey made less than complimentary remarks about the show. With the release of (I'm) Stranded in the UK, The Saints seemed ideally placed for amongst the burgeoning punk scene. In reality, The Saints were way beyond most of the then spiky-topped UK upstarts. By the time The Saints reached London in May 1977, they were however no longer hip.
* The Saints successfully opened for Talking Heads and The Ramones at the London Roundhouse on their first UK gig. The band's first regional tour was also productive, but after that the fashion-conscious UK audiences lost interest. The Saints had long hair and didn't wear safety pins or leather jackets. The Saints never considered themselves to be punks anyway. They were more interested in developing their sound beyond their brash origins.
* In October, The Saints issued the One-Two-Three-Four EP that featured re-recordings of two cuts from the debut album (Demolition Girl and One Way Street) with ragged but inspired covers of Ike and Tina Turner's River Deep Mountain High and Connie Francis's Lipstick on Your Collar.
* With the next single Know Your Product (Feb '78) and the second album Eternally Yours (May), Kuepper began to steer the band in a new direction. Stax inspired horn parts meshed with R&B riffs. With the band having refined the approach of the debut album, Eternally Yours remains one of The Saints' finest works. And with Know Your Product, the band created one of the greatest R&B-fuelled rock songs of all time.
* The band's third album Prehistoric Sounds was again a departure. The rock of old had been replaced by a darker mood. There was a general feeling of discontent on tracks like Swing for the Crime, Church of Indifference, Brisbane (Security City) and The Prisoner. For the single, the band was forced by the record company to put out their cover of Otis Redding's Security (Nov '78). By the time the album reached Australia in February 1979, The Saints had called it a day. The direction of the band was the problem between the members. Bailey wanted to write three-chord rockers and pop songs while Kuepper was moving towards less commercial, more experimental material. Prehistoric Sounds was Kuepper's attempt to move as far away from The Saints' past as possible. It is still often cited as a seminal Australian album.
* With the band's split, Ed Kuepper and Ivor Hay returned to Australia. Hay joined The Hitmen, and Kuepper formed Laughing Clowns in April 1979. Chris Bailey remained in the UK and set about assembling a new version of The Saints that initially included Hay on drums (who returned to the UK briefly). After that, Hay did a spell with his own jazz-inspired combo, Wildlife Documentaries, back in Sydney. He then rejoined Bailey in The Saints during 1985.
* For this period of The Saints, suus out the compilation Wild About You: 1976-1978 The Complete Studio Recordings (Raven Records). For hardcore fans, there is also a CD called The Most Primitive Band in the World (Live from the Twilight Zone Brisbane 1974) which capture The Saints in all their garage band glory.
I highly recommend both of the above CD's......even if like myself you have all their albums/cd's from this era...........
Welcome back DK it's been a while since we've seen you on the music board.
Also an interesting one this...........the first punk single?????? I'm naturally aware that "Stranded" pre dates "God Save the Queen" but I've got a feeling that "Anarchy in the UK" pre dates "Stranded" (only just) and that was the reason the Saints were signed to EMI (unseen) as EMI had 'flirted' with punk with "Anarchy". EMI UK sent an exec out to Brisbane to sign the band after the review of the Fatal label "Stranded" appeared in "Sounds" or so the story goes.
The accepted mythology(if you like) in punk circles is the Damned were the first punk band to release a single ("New Rose"),an album("Damned Damned Damned"), tour the US and to split (albeit breifly before reforming).
Many critics think punk music as we know it owes its life and soul to IGGY and THE STOOGES (as mentioned by many posters above)and when you consider that these guys were doing what they did in 1969(!!!)it's hard to argue against that........although...... you could mention The Seeds, Electric Prunes and even The Missing Links.......but that's a whole other thread:D
Hey DB you still need me to chase up a copy of "Do the Pop" for you??? If so drop me a PM.
Leaping Lindner
9 May 2003, 16:51
Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
Its clearly something from Good Charlotte's magnificent body of work
(for any weiners, yes I am being sarcastic) :cool:
Ah yes Good Charlotte...."punks" that get driven to gigs in limos, stay in five star hotels and play the stock exchange.
Punks my a**e more like "merchant bankers"(rhyming slang)
That's the funniest thing I've heard since someone told me Emimen is a singer!:D
dreamkillers
9 May 2003, 22:27
Also an interesting one this...........the first punk single?????? I'm naturally aware that "Stranded" pre dates "God Save the Queen" but I've got a feeling that "Anarchy in the UK" pre dates "Stranded" (only just) and that was the reason the Saints were signed to EMI (unseen) as EMI had 'flirted' with punk with "Anarchy". EMI UK sent an exec out to Brisbane to sign the band after the review of the Fatal label "Stranded" appeared in "Sounds" or so the story goes.
The accepted mythology(if you like) in punk circles is the Damned were the first punk band to release a single ("New Rose"),an album("Damned Damned Damned"), tour the US and to split (albeit breifly before reforming).
Many critics think punk music as we know it owes its life and soul to IGGY and THE STOOGES (as mentioned by many posters above)and when you consider that these guys were doing what they did in 1969(!!!)it's hard to argue against that........although...... you could mention The Seeds, Electric Prunes and even The Missing Links.......but that's a whole other thread:D
It has been a while since I've posted here - since the footy season started I've been pretty busy with the supporters group up here and a house shift added in as a bonus but I was a little bored at work today so I decided to get a little sidetracked.
I got those dates off of Saints and Sex Pistols sites so I'm pretty confident Stranded beat Anarchy In The UK........but I wouldn't say Stranded was the first punk single as I'm sure there were a few independant labels releasing punk prior to the Saints/Sex Pistols inspired boom.
As for Iggy and the other bands in the US I agree they were earlier but at that time the Punk revolution hadn't even begun - IMO the revolution started in the UK although the music itself had been around for years earlier. It's just generally recognised as late 76/early 77 is regarded as the birth of the revolution that changed music and made it's own part of history due to the scene that developed........
Now whether Stranded made it big time before Anarchy is probably debatable as EMI signed the Saints in Nov 1976 and they recorded their album in the following month.
Whilst the Sex Pistols according to Sex Pistols - God Save the Sex Pistols (http://www.sex-pistols.net/main.html) they released their material on 3 different labels in this order.......
November 1976
EMI 2566. " Anarchy In The U.K." / " I Wanna Be Me"
Notes. Chart position no.38.
Note. Glen Matlock. replaced by Sid Vicious Feb. 1977.
March 1977
A&M AMS 7284 " God Save The Queen" / "No Feeling"
Notes. Withdrawn prior to release when group dismissed by A&M.
May 1977
Virgin VS 181. " God Save The Queen" / "Did You No Wrong"
Notes. Chart position no. 2.
July 1977
Virgin VS 184. " Pretty Vacant" / "No Fun"
Notes. Chart position no.6.
October 1977
Virgin VS191. " Holidays In The Sun" / "Satellite"
Notes. Chart position no.8.
Virgin V 2086. "Never Mind The Bollocks, Here's The Sex Pistols"
Notes. 12 track album, 1000 copies have plain pink rear sleeve, with no track listing.
Virgin V 2086/SPOTS 001. "Never Mind The Bollocks, Here's The Sex Pistols"
Notes. Some initial pressings were 11 track (SPOTS 001), & included the omitted song, "Submission", on a one sided single (VDJ 24) packaged with a free poster.
Re-released on vinyl Oct '85 (OVED 136). Re-released on CD Oct. '85 (CDV 2086) & May '93 (CDVDX 2086).
Chart position no. 1.
January 1978 - Sex Pistols "first split"
http://www.tt.net/hot/kuepper/images/saints300.jpg
Whilst The Saints release dates were.....which shows Stranded pre-dates the Sex Pistols........even their album pre-dates the Sex Pistols one and only album
(I'm) Stranded/No time - 7" Single, Fatal Records
Recorded at Windows Studios, Brisbane, Australia, September 1976
Released September, 1976
(I'm) Stranded/No time - 7" Single, Power Exchange Records
Released October or November, 1976
Re-release of the Fatal Records pressing.
(I'm) Stranded - LP, EMI Australia Records
Recorded at Window Studios, Brisbane, Australia, December 1976.
Released Feburary 1977.
(I'm) Stranded/No time - 7" Single, EMI Australia Records
Released Feburary, 1977
Re-release of Fatal Records pressing.
Erotic Neurotic/One way street - 7" Single, EMI Australia Records
Recorded at Windows Studios, Brisbane, Australia, Spetember 1976
Released May, 1977
1,2,3,4 - 7" Double Gatefold Single, EMI/Harvest Records.
Recorded Sydney, April 1977
Released October 1977.
This perfect day/L.I.E.S. - 7" Single. EMI/Harvest Records
"This perfect day" recorded London, May or June 1977. "L.I.E.S." recorded Sydney, April 1977.
Released July 1977
This perfect day/L.I.E.S/Do the robot - 12" Single. EMI/Harvest Records.
Recorded "This perfect day" recorded London, May or June 1977. "L.I.E.S." and "Do the robot" recorded Sydney, April 1977.
Released July 1977
Know your product/Run down - 7" Single, EMI/Harvest Records.
Recorded late 1977
Released Feburary 1978
Eternally Yours - LP, EMI/Harvest Records.
Recorded at Roundhouse and Wessex Studios, mixed at Wessex late 1977.
Released May 1978.
Security/All times through paradise - 7" Single, EMI/Harvest Records.
Recorded and mixed at Wessex Studios mid 1978
Released November 1978
Prehistoric Sounds - LP, EMI/Harvest Records.
Recorded and mixed at Wessex Studios mid 1978
Released November or December 1978.
Whilst The Damned were also around the same time.........I've only posted their first few releases here......
NEW ROSE/HELP - STIFF BUY 6 - 22/10/76
LP - DAMNED DAMNED DAMNED - STIFF SEEZ 1 - 18/02/77
NEAT NEAT NEAT/STAB YOR BACK - STIFF BUY 10 - 25/02/77
STRETCHER CASE/SICK OF BEING SICK - STIFF DAMNED 1 - 03/07/77
PROBLEM CHILD/YOU TAKE MY MONEY - STIFF BUY 18 - 28/10/77
LP - MUSIC FOR PLEASURE - STIFF SEEZ 5 - 18/11/77
DON'T CRY WOLF/ONE WAY LOVE - STIFF BUY 24 - 11/12/77
LOVE SONG/BURGLAR - DODGEY DEMO SGS 105 - 11/78
LOVE SONG/NOISE NOISE NOISE/SUICIDE - CHISWICK CHIS 112 - 04/79
So out of the 3 bands The Saints Stranded was the first released although it was on their own label - but it was that 2nd release of the song that they posted throughout the world that got picked up and reviewed by "Sounds" that got them signed up by EMI after they were originally rejected by the Australian office originally but were then ordered by the London Head Office to sign them up.
That review in Sounds included the famous quote
"the Single of This and EVERY week...You like Quo or the Ramones? This pounds them into the dirt."
Leaping Lindner
9 May 2003, 23:58
Cheers on that one mate. I tend to make the mistake of going from memory, and at 40 years old(and 20+ years of loud music) I should know to at least check reference books from time to time:D
The fact that "Stranded" pre dates "New Rose" is VERY interesting as I've always thought vice versa. It's a pretty close run race between "Stranded","New Rose" and "Anarchy" but all hail the Saints on being numero uno:cool:
Congrats on winning the Showdown by the way. A great effort by your boys ,(dare I mention last saturday at Prozzie :) )
dreamkillers
10 May 2003, 00:16
Cheers on that one mate. I tend to make the mistake of going from memory, and at 40 years old(and 20+ years of loud music) I should know to at least check reference books from time to time:D
The fact that "Stranded" pre dates "New Rose" is VERY interesting as I've always thought vice versa. It's a pretty close run race between "Stranded","New Rose" and "Anarchy" but all hail the Saints on being numero uno:cool:
Congrats on winning the Showdown by the way. A great effort by your boys ,(dare I mention last saturday at Prozzie :) )
I think it's more towards my love and passion of the original Saints - when you mentioned The Damned I had to check up on that and as you say it is all pretty close.
I was a little worried pre Showdown that we may have had some problems but 10 minutes into the game I was pretty confident given the way the side was playing.
As for the Magpies they are struggling at the moment.......from what I hear there may be a few too many chiefs trying to coach them down there at the moment but we have some good players to come back in the next month in Tony Brown, Fabian Francis, Julian Waite, Shane Ellen and Daryl Poole.
At least we beat Richmond that night and we had a nice bonus on the night as one of our supporters gave us a tip for Globe Derby that came in with the nice odds of 32/1........a few of us cleaned up there..........:D
More importantly is hoping your club can win it's current battle against the money spinners...........I honestly think Max and Leigh should be sacked due to their shameful silence on the issue.
Adrian Shelton
10 May 2003, 01:12
I'm Stranded rocks, plus i never knew that about it either
From what i've seen on the 'Dancing in the street' series groups like MC5 and The Modern Lovers can almost be called 'punk' I might take it a few years forward and throw in Husker Du ' I don't wanna know if you are lonely' that song is the $hit!!!!!
I dunno about the most influential punk song of all time, but perhaps the best punk compilation of all time is
Let Them Eat Jellybeans
Awesome.
Nazi Punks **** OFF
Jesus Entering From the Rear
Everyone's a Bigot
etc
http://homepages.nyu.edu/~alr237/comps_jellybeans.jpg
Leaping Lindner
10 May 2003, 08:23
Originally posted by Pred
I dunno about the most influential punk song of all time, but perhaps the best punk compilation of all time is
Let Them Eat Jellybeans
Awesome.
Nazi Punks **** OFF
Jesus Entering From the Rear
Everyone's a Bigot
etc
http://homepages.nyu.edu/~alr237/comps_jellybeans.jpg
If not the best punk compilation of all time certainly the best cover of all time :D
There is always room for Jello!!!!!
Good call on the MC5 by Adrian as well as they were a big influence on bands such as The Damned (who covered "Looking at you" and Radio Birdman. Whilst I like the Modern Lovers I don't know if you could classify them as punk after hearing "I'm a little a airplane" and "Ice cream man" :D
Fansquad
10 May 2003, 12:11
Ah yes Good Charlotte...."punks" that get driven to gigs in limos, stay in five star hotels and play the stock exchange.
Punks my a**e more like "merchant bankers"(rhyming slang)
bunch of tossers.....hate them so much
Easily
So What : The Anti-nowhere league. (198?)
Then something by 'The Ramones'
MSB ROYS
13 May 2003, 00:17
My favourite 3 songs from my favourite punk bands:
"Holiday in Cambodia", "Too Drunk to F@ck", "I fought the law and I won" - Dead Kennedys
"Institutionalised", "I saw your mummy...", "Possessed to skate" - Suicidal Tendencies
"Anarchy in the UK", "No feelings", "God save the queen" - Sex Pistols
"Dead Cities", "U.S.A.", "Daily News" - The Exploited
"Lead me astray", "Pub", "Can't come in"- Cosmic Pyschos
other argument ... sex pistols
Hey DB you still need me to chase up a copy of "Do the Pop" for you??? If so drop me a PM.
I'm no expert on punk unlike you blokes I'd read an article recently that claimed that The Damned had the first punk single & album but DK disproves that, I'm currently reading a book about the music critic Lester Bangs & it mentions the article where it claims that the term punk is first used in relation to a genre of rock music but I also recently bought Suicide's eponymous first album & they claim in the notes that they were the first group to apply the term punk to their music so who knows if you fix a date for it.
Added to the above article I read they gave away a 'punk CD' with the magazine in question & one of the songs-Ambition (Vic Goddard)-they say was voted the greatest punk single ever by the readers of NME.
There have been a lot of Punk songs that have influenced other punk bands but Sex Pistols were getting into the main stream. They weren't your usual underground punk band.
Anarchy in the UK changed music forever.
Never Mind the Bollocks still is a classic album.
If the average Jo Blo can't name one punk band he is sure to know who the Sex Pistols are.
fitzmantle
17 May 2003, 00:33
I reckon these are the songs that made punk apart from the Sex Pistols.
"I wanna be your dog" Stooges
"Marquee Moon" Television
Sex pistols were the first punk band that made it comercially?
I've got the Marque Moon album, I was surprised really at how different some of that New York punk was to the British stuff.
For me the New Yorks Dolls is a great album I read soemone say that they were the bridge between the Stones & the Sex Pistols & I reckon that's a pretty good call.
Rusty Brookes
20 May 2003, 09:34
Originally posted by DIPPER
I've got the Marque Moon album, I was surprised really at how different some of that New York punk was to the British stuff.
For me the New Yorks Dolls is a great album I read soemone say that they were the bridge between the Stones & the Sex Pistols & I reckon that's a pretty good call.
Very good call on both accounts. The New York punk scene had acts as diverse as the Dictators, Television, Patti Smith, the Ramones and Talking Heads. There were some very different (and interesting) variations on a theme in New York.
If anyone has seen the Filth and the Fury, Steve Jones basically notes that Johnny Thunders (guitarist for the New York Dolls) was his major influence.
Lockyer24
20 May 2003, 11:06
All of Avrils, cos shes so punk, man. :rolleyes:
dreamkillers
21 May 2003, 00:20
For those interested in looking back on the London Punk scene the following DVD sounds like it could be a good pick up when it is released next month.......
http://www.fbo.com.au/DVDImages/DAVID0122.jpg
PUNK IN LONDON - DVD (http://www.fbo.com.au/movie.asp?ID=9158)
Re-mastered from the original negative and featuring The Clash and some of punks most important bands, including The Adverts, X-Ray Spex, Subway Sect, The Boomtown Rats, The Jam, Chelsea and the outrageous Wayne County and the Electric Chairs.
Directed by German Filmmaker Wolfgang B*ld this is a unique visual record of London punk life in the late seventies. Filled with the unseen live footage and some incredibly naïve comments. Punk In London is so loaded with history and brilliance that you can almost smell the energy!
It includes live footage of The Clash performing in Munich during 1977.
A review of the DVD from overseas...........
SUPERB
It is around noon on Monday, December 23, 2002, 48 hours to Christmas, and I've just read the news on the Internet that Joe Strummer, former singer/songwriter with London punk band The Clash, has died. He was 50.
Punk in London is a DVD that has been out for a while, but an apt tribute to one of rock's dynamic frontmen. Check out the bonus footage of The Clash playing in Munich, Germany, in the glory days of 1977. The young 4-piece rampage through a set of raw, politically-charged 3-minute songs - adrenaline rushes set to music - as if they are possessed. At times the snarling, manically-gyrating Strummer is so volatile he resembles some kind of human incendiary device. The guitars pummel the somewhat bemused audience, the ragged English slogans winning them over by the sheer commitment and passion of their delivery.
Compared to witnessing the punk revolution at full throttle, an evening spent at Supertramp or Springsteen or Genesis must have been like watching paint dry.
The Clash feature heavily on this DVD, culled from contemporary 16 mm footage and spliced together a quarter of a century later to reveal an often shambolic but always riveting vision: the moment rock music became relevant again, after years of criminally anal progressive 'supergroups'.
25-year-old German filmmaker Wolfgang B*ld gives the protagonists carte blanche to explain their motivations. From Chelsea's Gene October to X-Ray Spex's Poly Styrere, they seem more bemused than anything else by the hysterical tabloid reaction their rock n' roll instigates. Others, such as Vic Goddard of Subway Sect, are clearly relishing punk's non-conformist manifesto, stating they hardly seem themselves as punk rockers at all, preferring experimentation to rehashing third rate Heavy Metal on speed.
Like any other youth movement, punk's original ideals became jaded. Camp followers are interviewed at length about their despondency with the way high-spirited anarchic revelry quickly transformed to choreographed outrage once record company executives realised how lurid newspaper tales could boost sales.
But the music speaks the loudest volumes. The Adverts but particularly The Clash storm their respective stages with all the vitriol of a late 70's UK immersed in unemployment, National Front marches, reactionary authorities, teddy boy bullies, and where humourless MOR bands dominated the airwaves. There is another classic live appearance, by Fulham's answer to The Ramones, The Lurkers. Light years distant from the poseurs in their Sex-shop bondage gear, or Vivienne Westwood and Malcolm McLaren's platitudes about punk being another 'fashion movement', the teenage band inflict 'Shadow' on a hearty crowd down at some local pub. Within 5 seconds they are lost beneath a pogoing multitude of their fans. These gleeful working class kids are too happy to be hooligans, too angry to listen to the corporate Abbas or Elton Johns, too young and disenfranchised to be Yes fans.
At the core of all the rabble-rousing three chord pop, or The Clash's more layered polemic, something beautiful lurked. Underlying all the passionate anger of titles like 'Hate and War' and 'White Riot', Joe Strummer and many of his contemporaries, like Howard Devoto, Pete Shelley, Paul Weller, Johnny Rotten and Siouxsie Sioux, instinctively understood the primal roots of rock n'roll, and were brilliant and original songwriters. The cover of Punk in London might bear the hollow-eyed stare of Gaye Advert (one of the rare occasions punk deigned to offer the rock audience someone it could label a 'sex symbol'), but it reveals a motley collaboration of disparate souls who share a vision that, like the Advert's bassist, is paradoxically utterly focussed.
When Joe Strummer first clambered aboard a stage with a guitar as a 101'er (named after the street number of the band's London squat), he probably little suspected the international acclaim awaiting his next band. The Clash are rightly regarded as one of the greatest rock n' roll bands of all time. Together with the Sex Pistols, The Jam, The Ramones, and others too numerous to mention, they created a blue print that remains crucial to emotive rock music today. The fact Strummer's band quit two decades ago, as opposed to joining the self-parody circus still enjoyed by all their nemeses - Rolling Stones, Eagles et al - is ample evidence of their unique stature. After recent tragic events, you'll never ever see them again. But check out 'Garageland' on this DVD. Watch Joe Strummer staggering off the stage, drenched with sweat, axe slung over his shoulder like a soldier returning from a victorious battle. As one who was a teenage punk himself in the late 70's, it still sent shivers up my spine.
Joe Strummer, 1952-2002
A snapshot of the glorious anarchy that punk stood for; and which Joe Strummer championed his whole, tragically short, life.
MARK FLEMING (Scotland)
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
Very good call on both accounts. The New York punk scene had acts as diverse as the Dictators, Television, Patti Smith, the Ramones and Talking Heads. There were some very different (and interesting) variations on a theme in New York.
If anyone has seen the Filth and the Fury, Steve Jones basically notes that Johnny Thunders (guitarist for the New York Dolls) was his major influence.
Have you got any advice on what albums are worth a punt from the NY scene, I'm just kinda feeling my way into some of that stuff I've got Patti Smith-Horses & was wondering what Ramones album to start with but I don't know too much about the Dictators & Talking Heads.
Also does the 2nd New York Dolls album live up to the debut?
BTW I had a bit of a listen to some Love after your other post & whilst I would still argue that they don't reach the extremes of darkness of the Doors it is extremely hard to find too much that exists in the light, so that's why I wasn't able to meet the challenge anymore, so we'll call that one quits shall we?:D
Rusty Brookes
21 May 2003, 09:50
With the Ramones stuff, the self-titled album is great as a blue-print but I reckon Road to Ruin is their best (huge sound-sort of like the MC5 banging in the Who at their peak). Either way, you can't go wrong with the Ramones-it's all great.
Patti Smith's best is probably Horses although Easter is great as well. I also really like Radio Ethieopia and Wave but they're probably not as good as the other two.
I'm biased with the Dictators (I reckon all their stuff is great) but their first Go Girl Crazy is an absolute gem. BTW, they played here in Melbourne last year and were brilliant live.
Talking Heads-I'd go for anything with Psycho Killer on it (I love that song).
The second Dolls album is great but not as good as the first.
Some other great New York punk albums:
Johnny Thunders and the Heartbreakers-LAMF Revisited-a remastered version which shows what a great album the first Heartbreakers album should have been
Blondie-Parallel Lines
Dead Boys-Young, Loud and Snotty. Technically from Cleveland, they became mainstays of the CBGBs scene. Somewhere between the Stooges and the Sex Pistols in sound.
And I'd just about run out of 'dark' Love lyrics. I've been walking around singing 'Orange Skies' to myself which is hardly the darkest song of all time ;)
Leaping Lindner
21 May 2003, 13:34
Pretty much go along with what Rusty said.
The first Ramones LP is the one to start with (and then why not get them all!!:cool: ). My personal fav: from that era is "Rocket To Russia". If you get the remastered CD it has some great bonus tracks which includes "Slug". A song that demands frequent playing!
The first Talking Heads LP is "77" and is the place to start with them I reckon. It contains the original studio version of "Pschyo Killer" which (IMO) shirts all over the live version that pops up on various compile LPs.
The second New York Dolls LP was called "Too much too soon" and critics had a field day with the title at the time. Not a "bad" LP but nowhere near as good as the first.
I have just realized that I have never owned a Dictators CD or LP. How do I miss them? I'm confused !
Thanks for that Rusty I appreciate it & you too LL, it's good of you both to go out of your way to initiate me.
Looks like I'll have to get my pennies together.
On Love it seems like I threw the towel in too soon, but whilst you may have been struggling to find anymore dark lyrics it's almost impossible to find any 'upbeat' ones to compare with some of the really dark Doors lyrics that I was thinking of.
Even the Doors go a bit happy clappy at times but Arthur Lee, the whole cocept of the summer of love must have gone staright over his head:D
Big Red
24 May 2003, 10:57
Stranded is a killer song but I doubt Punk would have made it onto the radar without the Pistols.
Seeing Radio Birdman live on ABC -TV was the moment for me. Does anyone know if that live ABC footage is available commercially?
Favourite Punk albums:
Television - Marquee Moon
Saints - I'm Stranded
Radio Birdman - Radio's Appear
Clash - S/T
Stiff Little Fingers - Inflammable Material
Rusty Brookes
26 May 2003, 10:47
Originally posted by Big Red
Seeing Radio Birdman live on ABC -TV was the moment for me. Does anyone know if that live ABC footage is available commercially?
Big Red, big defining moment for me too. I remember seeing them when I was about 14 and being intrigued by these hairy blokes churning out this incredible noise. I remember some live Celibate Rifles on Beat Box as well-part of their appeal was that the bass player was wearing thongs when they were uncool.
Leaping Lindner
26 May 2003, 23:17
Originally posted by Big Red
Stranded is a killer song but I doubt Punk would have made it onto the radar without the Pistols.
Favourite Punk albums:
Television - Marquee Moon
Saints - I'm Stranded
Radio Birdman - Radio's Appear
Clash - S/T
Stiff Little Fingers - Inflammable Material
That live black and white footage of Birdman that turns up on Rage from time to time is actually filmed at the Marayatville Hotel in Adelaide (before it got yuppiefied). This maybe myth but I think it was their most played venue ever after the Funhouse. The crowd shots are interesting as its like a "whos whos" of the Adelaide Punk scene.
As far as I know there is no footage of Birdman (from this era) available commercially and alas I'm pretty sure they never even did a promo film clip.