View Full Version : Most Boring Summer Ever?
The Fonz
14 Feb 2010, 21:00
I can't remember another one like it. Ever since Pakistan imploded at Sydney, it has just been unbelievably uncompetitive.
The only thing worthwhile was the KFC Big Bash.
I must concur.
In my time on this planet i have no Reconstruction of apathy toward international cricket.
This summer is different, particularly since the start of the one day stuff, its been shit.
Its been average, but I've been to so many games this summer, so plenty of good memories.
Blue Dimension
14 Feb 2010, 22:37
Too much ODI cricket for my liking. The summer has just dragged on and everyone is already gearing up for the footy.
Should only be 6 Tests, 6 ODI's and 2 or 3 T20's.
But the way things are scheduled (i.e. 7 ODI's vs England next summer), it's just going to be a tedious exercise more often than not.
Not to mention the opponents have been far from challenging.
Ill Chicken
14 Feb 2010, 23:19
This crap continues to go on. The real reason is that Australian top order doesn't captivate like they use to. Why? Because our ODI top order can't create like they used to, because most of the blokes playing are selfish. Yeah we're trouncing everyone, but without the flair and attractiveness of previous seasons and both opposition teams have been left out in the cold for the last year pretty much in both forms of the game, which everyone continues to forget.
Blaming the format is the easy way out.
mad_eagle
14 Feb 2010, 23:21
Same old really. About this time every year everyone is over the cricket, and gagging for the footy. Especially this one day format, at least the tri-series side of things made it SLIGHTLY interesting...
Dagger5
15 Feb 2010, 02:21
Definetely agree about this being the most boring summer of cricket for a very long time.
Having two poor teams travel here really was a mistake and made both series less interesting.
Im just looking forward to the Ashes next summer though, that should
deliver the competitive series we crave.
I'm over it. Dragged on way too long. After Sydney i've struggled to keep intrest.
I'm worried it will happen again next year, i'm glad we are playing a few odi's against the Lankans early as that'll get us in the mood before the Ashes, but after the Ashes 7 odi's against the Poms might be too many, could be quite a few dead rubbers.
Juggalo Balla
15 Feb 2010, 02:48
Both the Pakis and Windies used us as practice matches and didn't send over competitive teams.
The tests are a bigger joke than the ODIs.
At least with the ODIs you get to see the other team bat. Aussies batting for 3 days and still winning tests is a total rort.
At least one of the two teams could have been good, they had the stuff on paper did the Pakistani's, good bowling attack with some more than decent bowlers, with MOYO an YOKA they had decent batters around whom the team could have rallied.
They imploded for reasons best known to them and probably some reasons not even known to them.
As for the West Indies the fact that they did turn up in itself was a bonus let alone the fact that they tried to compete.
Cousin Jed
15 Feb 2010, 05:59
Short memory syndrome. The 2nd - 5th tests were all very interesting. We could have lost at least 3, perhaps even all of them
04/05
Only shining light was McGrath's 50
Johnson#26
15 Feb 2010, 07:26
spikey has it. 04/05 was the worst summer.
Hellgood
15 Feb 2010, 08:41
2nd test v WI
3rd test v WI
2nd test v Pak
1st ODI v Pak
5th ODI v Pak
T20 v Pak
The rest have been incredibly boring. 7/16 matches have been good, dunno how this would compare to previous years though. I really wish the Pakis had won in Sydney, would have made Hobart much more exciting and probably the ODI's as well.
IMO they should start the international season a little earlier and finish earlier. The moment NAB Cup starts everyone has lost interest and moved on, particularly given that most teams that come here are non-competitive. That won't change next year either. The Poms would be lucky to get away with a 0-4 series loss the way they play here.
5 tests, 3 ODI's against each (if more then 1 country here) and 2 T20's, one to start, one to end the season and start it in October.
Adelaide Hawk
15 Feb 2010, 09:30
There's been some great cricket played this summer. I'm often amazed by people who think the cricket is boring, but the footy is fantastic. We get just as many (if not more) games that are one sided and dull in footy, but nobody seems to care. The difference is, I can walk away from a game of cricket remembering many great things I saw that day, whereas I've seen many footy matches completely devoid of memories. The Aussie team has been superb this summer, but a lot of people don't seem to like that,
Bomber Bears
15 Feb 2010, 12:10
I wouldnt say they've been supurb, at least in test cricket. I think they've struggled at times against lowly opposition. However they've won the important moments.
I think the West Indies test series was supurb, and the Sydney test was pretty damn good as well. Other than that not a great summer, the one dayers have been forgettable
R00StaR
15 Feb 2010, 12:52
There's been some great cricket played this summer. I'm often amazed by people who think the cricket is boring, but the footy is fantastic. We get just as many (if not more) games that are one sided and dull in footy, but nobody seems to care. The difference is, I can walk away from a game of cricket remembering many great things I saw that day, whereas I've seen many footy matches completely devoid of memories. The Aussie team has been superb this summer, but a lot of people don't seem to like that,
Spot on, very few AFL games go down to the wire and thats with all the equalization in place. A major difference is there is much else to do in winter, so footy captures our attention. Summer we are out an about, beach, BBQs, weekend trips, theres so much more on. For mine i wish there was more cricket, any cricket! Not becasue id go to all the games, not because id watch every ball. But because i love being able to tune in when i can and follow it, be it on the raidio while in the car or beach or catch some of the game on TV between *things to do.
Belnakor
15 Feb 2010, 13:01
I wouldnt say they've been supurb, at least in test cricket. I think they've struggled at times against lowly opposition. However they've won the important moments.
I think the West Indies test series was supurb, and the Sydney test was pretty damn good as well. Other than that not a great summer, the one dayers have been forgettable
the only poor tests all summer were the first WI test, and the first Pakistan test. Both which were probably caused by the teams having basically no warm up games before the matches.
Its been a good summer, though i would have prefered another 2 tests. I'd be happy with a 5 series and a 3 test series. But i doubt that could ever happen.
I concur the 04/05 summer was incredibly boring. NZ aren't a good touring team.
I'm kind of sad the summer is coming to an end, what happened to the "top end" test matches we play against Bangas?
Bomber Bears
15 Feb 2010, 13:10
The most boring seres i think was south africa, the time before last that they came out here (05/06 i think?). Kallis deadbatting everything.
Ill Chicken
15 Feb 2010, 13:16
I'm kind of sad the summer is coming to an end, what happened to the "top end" test matches we play against Bangas?
I think due to some previous failings CA went off the Top End series for the time being. Other factors that also should be taken into account are the ground negotiations with the AFL is difficult as the AFL have most grounds booked and paid something like five years (correct me if I'm wrong) in advance, along with CA not being able to commit to a schedule even three months out and the test series in England against Pakistan mid year means it doesn't look like the Top End will substantiate again anytime in the near future.
I think CA are looking at either an A series between Australia, Pakistan, India and New Zealand or an Asia Pacific T20 Cup this year instead.
Kim Hagdorn
15 Feb 2010, 13:45
Christ some people are whingers.
djrossie
15 Feb 2010, 17:34
Did the absence of Suliemen Benn decrease interest?:)
Johnson#26
15 Feb 2010, 18:09
what's happened to matches at colonial stadium in mid-winter? :p
placebo
15 Feb 2010, 19:40
I thought it was a decent summer actually.
Ill Chicken
15 Feb 2010, 21:00
Did the absence of Suliemen Benn decrease interest?:)
Pity he was injured, he has a bit of ticker about him.
XFactor1979
16 Feb 2010, 10:11
I can't remember another one like it. Ever since Pakistan imploded at Sydney, it has just been unbelievably uncompetitive.
The only thing worthwhile was the KFC Big Bash.
but isnt it great to see australia win EVERY game?
R00StaR
16 Feb 2010, 10:24
but isnt it great to see australia win EVERY game?
yep as bored as Geelong supporters last year. More bordom please!
cricket being boring has made me want back AFL that tad more.
The tests were interesting enough, three of the games were competitive.
The ODI's however have been a snoozefest, and I'm wanting the footy back now.
We have been spoiled though with a string of great seasons since the equally boring 04/05 season.
legend166
16 Feb 2010, 16:01
The summer would have been a million times better if it went
3 tests
5 ODIs
3 tests
5 ODIs
10 ODIs in a row is just stupid.
Freo Big Fella
17 Feb 2010, 11:52
Given the quality of the opposition, I thought the Perth, Adelaide and Sydney tests were all very entertaining.
Unfortunately there's always going to be one summer every five or so years where both the touring sides are rubbish (00-01, 04-05). Not much CA can do about it other than be thankful we've got England, South Africa, India and Sri Lanka coming up in the next couple of seasons.
Indian_Hotdog
18 Feb 2010, 05:58
which was the best summer in the noughties ?? I guess when Bucknor denied us a series win in 08 , all of you were howling in delight.Crooks.:(
JerryWexler
18 Feb 2010, 06:04
Pity he was injured, he has a bit of ticker about him.
Having a bit of ticker and simply being a shit stirrer are not quite the same thing.
JerryWexler
18 Feb 2010, 06:05
which was the best summer in the noughties ?? I guess when Bucknor denied us a series win in 08 , all of you were howling in delight.Crooks.:(
Tell someone who cares. The history books show that we won the series. The Indian sulking and crying and poor sportsmanship doesn't change any of that. And that will still be being said in 100 years.
Like it or lump it.
Ill Chicken
18 Feb 2010, 23:01
Having a bit of ticker and simply being a shit stirrer are not quite the same thing.
Need a tissue?
Gasometer
19 Feb 2010, 18:32
I lived through the WSC days as a kid teenager and there was an air of atmosphere back in those days with Richie wetting himself over the points table summer after summer & the TV and crowds came and viewed the game. Maccas had the posters of the team and the whole country gave a care over the summer months. I remember being at caravan parks and seeing people huddled around annexes...you could hear the cheers and sighs as the overs counted down.
Tonight I turned onto see the MCG not even half empty.
Times have moved on and we are in the days of fast entertainment. The excitement that 50 over cricket had has just seemingly died in a few short summers.
I suspect we are in a transition period to 20-20 and that the 50 over game will die out...the punters vote with their feet...and the market will respond to what the consumer wants.
Gaso
The summer would have been a million times better if it went
3 tests
5 ODIs
3 tests
5 ODIs
How about.....
3 Tests
5 20/20's
3 Tests
5 20/20's
ODI's have had their run, no one cares about them, either watching them on TV, or going to he ground. Please Cricket Australia, kill them off before it gets even more embarassing.
Gavin Excell
19 Feb 2010, 19:04
Put it out of its misery.
The 14 000 there tonight getting great value for their money
Cousin Jed
19 Feb 2010, 19:08
How about.....
3 Tests
5 20/20's
3 Tests
5 20/20's
ODI's have had their run, no one cares about them, either watching them on TV, or going to he ground. Please Cricket Australia, kill them off before it gets even more embarassing.
I really think you are off the money here. If Geelong played an injury ravaged Freo every 2nd day would anyone care about the AFL? Its been a dull ODI series because the opposition has been so miserable, but declarations about the death of One Day cricket are premature in my book.
How about.....
3 Tests
5 20/20's
3 Tests
5 20/20's
Ok, so we've killed interest in OD's by playing too many of them. So we're gonna do the same with T20? We don't have to get rid of OD's, we have to cut down on them...
Gavin Excell
19 Feb 2010, 19:16
I really think you are off the money here. If Geelong played an injury ravaged Freo every 2nd day would anyone care about the AFL? Its been a dull ODI series because the opposition has been so miserable, but declarations about the death of One Day cricket are premature in my book.
but its so pointless
they play each other for what? International one day cricket is the equivalent of a soccer international friendly - means zip, has no edge to it - just a prelude to the important world cup/euro cup/asia cup qualifiers.
Really reckon the only way to make it relevant is to somehow link it as part of a qualifying schedule to a more frequently held World Cup.
MCG are losing money on hosting one day cricket games simple as that. They need a 25,000 crowd to break even. Expect both ch9 and the MCC to put pressure on ACB that the current format simply cannot be justified.
Cooldude
19 Feb 2010, 19:34
The Tests were fantastic until Pakistan noobed it in Sydney, if they didn't, it would've made a fantastic Test summer
The ODIs were just a waste of time. Pakistan were gone by then and they just wanted to go home before it even started. The Windies were undermanned and didn't even look that fired up and interested.
Howard Littlejohn
19 Feb 2010, 20:19
The ODIs could have been a "best of 5", with 4th and 5th in each series playd only if required. Scrap the dead rubbers, and keep a 5 match series if its close enough.
6 major grounds, 6 guaranteed matches with the extra games to be at the big venues if needed.
blue boy jatz
19 Feb 2010, 22:19
pretty dodgy summer. think most people want the footy back on already
Team Mo'
20 Feb 2010, 01:23
I'm a cricket lover and play or watch cricket in some way shape or form most days. But this series has just been shit. (ODI only?) Seriously, I'm yet to watch more then 10 overs consecutively and haven't been to one match this year; I've even got an MCC card so no excuse about costs or anything. I'm just really losing interest in the one day matches as the ALL follow the same path. Australia starts like a house on fire, loses a couple of quick wickets and then consolidate for the middle 25 overs by pushing ones and twos to the sweepers. Then they smash a couple of boundaries of mediocre bowling and make over 260 comfortably. Then we simply get 2 wickets in the first 5 overs and the other team rolls over dies!
At least in a twenty20 you see teams get rolled for around 100 and the game is still exciting as anything can go wrong/right. 10 ODI's against poor opposition is just ridiculous from the ACB...
Damon_3388
20 Feb 2010, 03:24
When it used to be the tri-series, they usually had about 15 ODIs in a row, including some games between the overseas teams with little interest for some Australian fans. I suppose there was a bit more to play for back then (the tournament style seemed more competitive than just a group of games in a row), but they still had a whole bunch of ODIs in a row.
Ill Chicken
21 Feb 2010, 12:46
The Windies were undermanned and didn't even look that fired up and interested.
Doesn't help when your team is struggling and your captain makes outlandish statements.
The girls livened it up a bit put on a thriller.
Durham Hawks
21 Feb 2010, 17:18
it's hard to enjoy such a gulf in quality between opposition
win easily = boring
win close = underperformed
lose = overhyped disaster
if we were beating india by these scores it would be an incredibly enjoyable summer
legend166
21 Feb 2010, 17:41
Good point about injuries. I'm surprised there hasn't been more talk about that. The Windies are missing:
Sarwan
Chanderpaul
Bravo
Jerome Taylor
Edwards
They'd probably also play Barath over Dowlin. And Roach was injured for quite a lot of games. So instead of the current team, you can have:
Barath
Gayle
Sarwan
Chanderpaul
Bravo
Pollard
Ramdin
Taylor
Edwards
Roach
Miller/Smith/Benn
It's a completely different team that would provide much more of a challenge. That bowling attack is much better. Smith/Pollard are handy part timers but they've been trying to lead the attack and it doesn't work.
Not every country has the depth of Australia.
Ill Chicken
21 Feb 2010, 17:47
Benn is injured as well.
lemon chicken
21 Feb 2010, 19:48
It wasnt that long ago people were calling for the ashes to be changed to 4 year intervals due to one-sided contests, now its the one series everybody looks forward to. The scheduling of matches has been the problem, it feels like the Windies have been here for 6 months.
Damon_3388
21 Feb 2010, 19:56
It wasnt that long ago people were calling for the ashes to be changed to 4 year intervals due to one-sided contests, now its the one series everybody looks forward to. The scheduling of matches has been the problem, it feels like the Windies have been here for 6 months.
Nah, just the four :p
Radical Roo
21 Feb 2010, 22:10
Incorrect, the west indies test serious was much higher than my expectation. I was expecting WI to be beaten by 200+ or innings in all 3 matches but alas they played one bad one but was on top in game 2 and came really close to winning in game 3. Really gave Aus a scare but everything went down hill there after.
matty p
21 Feb 2010, 22:52
Yeah, they would still care about AFL.
If people don't care about playing Pakistan and the Windies, then why are people turning up in numbers to the T20's?
CaptainDangerfield
23 Feb 2010, 19:29
Yeah I agree Fonzarella. This has been one of the worst summers I can remember. These are probably the worst Pakistan and West Indies teams to ever tour these shores. Our wins have meant little considering the quality of the opposition.
aaronm46
24 Feb 2010, 00:24
**** yes its over! Bring on the Ashes
The Fonz
28 Feb 2010, 17:33
What we just witnessed in New Zealand was incredible, exciting and nerve-wracking. Didn't feel that at all over summer. Australia will be pissed that they lost, but at least appreciate the fact they were given a contest.
And Cameron White - :eek:
He would be the best batsman going round now in the two shorter forms of the game.
Cousin Jed
28 Feb 2010, 17:34
Wow, lets not go too far.
Ill Chicken
28 Feb 2010, 19:17
Wow, lets not go too far.
Surely I could make a point for White>Tendulkar.
For instance, White's never failed in a WC final. Surely that puts him ahead of Sachin.
Ill Chicken
28 Feb 2010, 21:05
So it goes something like Bevan>S. Waugh>Gilchrist>Ponting>White>Tendulkar?