View Full Version : review Reserves practice match review

Sigmund
26 Feb 2010, 15:34
Mods - please feel free to place into another thread. I will just put my observations down in point form.

-missed the first quarter
-Terrible conditions for football - strong wind favouring one end
-Not a huge crowd, maybe 500ish???
-Better players for Bombers were - Darcy, Zaka (esp second half), T Slattery (first half esp), atkinson (although decision making sometimes iffy), Carlisle (kicked 4 - in and out of game), TBell (first half esp).
-Hurley went off with 5 min to go holding wrist - did not look very serious and walked back out after the game not looking too phased
-Jetta cleaned up running onto the ball with eyes only for the footy - nice to see
-Darcy looked very nice as a lead up forward - geez he is quick over 20 meters.
-Hurley did not have heaps of touches (10-13??) but each touch he had generally resulted in something good happening for bombers. Some very nice kicks, taps etc.. his kicking into the wind was a real feature for me. Played forward all day. His forward pressure stood out and had 4 tackles that I counted in the second quarter alone.
-Neagle - typical game - did 4 very eye catching things (including beatiful kick from 45 with the wind on the boundary) but barely sighted in between
-Was sitting just behind knights. An older guy next to me called Neagle an enigma and Knighta just turned around and smiled. The guy asked how long he is going to give him and Knighta said the greatest strenght a coach can have is patients - Knights said he has "awesome power". Clearly has some faith in the boy - more than I do I must say
-Bellchambers smashed the Richmod Ruckman for most of the day
-Bock Choy (nickname I laughed at) did not really make any impact around the ground although conditions did not really suit.
-Richmond were terrible -footskills very ordinary - From what I could see, they had Tuck, Polo, Rance, Post, McMahon and maybe a few other senior players playing
-Post and Rance rotated on Hurley for most of the day
-Bombers footskills were reasonable given tricky conditions
-Zaka finished second half strong and probably had 10-15 touches in the second half
-#34 (Hardigam??) looks likely - strong body and OK overhead - some nice running from half back
-Long looked OK - looks a neat player on the right foot - nothing special today
-It was interesting to hear Knights say to GOD that he was impressed with Jettas forward pressure
-Carlisle looks a nice lead up option - presented well
-We looked much better when we spread the ball and ran down the middle than bombing to wings and flanks - what team doesn't???
-There were no goal umpires which really surprised me - just some volunteer locals by the looks of things

And whoever designed the streets of Craigeburn needs a lesson in town planning. it took me 30 minutes to find my way out of the maze of streets in the new estate. It only took me 25 minutes to get back to Essendon. Classic case of trying to jam as many houses into as small an area as possible to make more money for greedy land developers... crazy stuff...

Mecha
26 Feb 2010, 15:39
Bendigo 15.15 (105) to Richmond 2.11 (23)

stay true
26 Feb 2010, 15:45
Actually me and a mate got roped into being the goal umpires at one end lol.

Richmond were absolutely woeful. Should have been down by 10 goals at quarter time if we kicked straight. Neagle layed some good strong tackles in the forward line and overall his forward pressure was pretty decent. Lovely goal from the tough angle in the 3rd quarter too.

I thought Carlisle did well. His opponent was getting into him a bit in the first quarter and he replied with a couple of goals and he ended being moved off him.

Ben the Gooner
26 Feb 2010, 15:51

Hahaha that's awesome.:D:thumbsu:

Cheers for the reports guys.:thumbsu:

Sigmund
26 Feb 2010, 15:52

Richmond were absolutely woeful. Should have been down by 10 goals at quarter time if we kicked straight. Neagle layed some good strong tackles in the forward line and overall his forward pressure was pretty decent. Lovely goal from the tough angle in the 3rd quarter too.

I thought Carlisle did well. His opponent was getting into him a bit in the first quarter and he replied with a couple of goals and he ended being moved off him.

wrong place wrong time ST...:)

Kong
26 Feb 2010, 15:52
Cheers guys.

Jonesy1987
26 Feb 2010, 16:00
Most of the action took place on the other side of the ground to me, so my recollections might be a bit off.

Everyone was pretty good today, my standouts being Bellchambers, Houli, Long, and Darcy who was probably B.O.G.

Darcy was in everything, kicked 3 from memory and had at least 3 assists.

Carlisle was also impressive kicking 4, but converted most of his chances, didn't do much else.

Bellchambers dominated, going forward kicked 1 maybe even 2 early plus winning a heap of clearances.

Zaha was great in close, but footskills let him down a bit, excusable as there was a prominent breeze.

Houli was everywhere, used it really well. Didn't see what happened, but had a bandage wrapped around his head in the last.

Jetta tried his guts out, similar game to that against West Coast but with a few more tackles, before being KO'd late in the third.

Hurley was touched up by Rance and only really got going when he moved to Darcy.

Typical Neagle game, although a few times he was walking around looking wrecked, then a minute later was chasing down players and slamming them into the turf. Kicked a couple of really good goals, one snap from the pocket and one 40 out from the boundary.

Most impressive thing for me, was the pressure, everyone chased all day. Game gave me a lot of hope for our future.

Will post some photos up later when I can be bothered.

Boucks09
26 Feb 2010, 16:05
Thanks for the reports guys. You've made my 24 hour stay at LAX much more enjoyable!!!!

The Hurley scaphiod situation is interesting - I remember when he first did it and spoke to a few friends of my who are doctors and they said that it never really heals and that really he could miss up to 6 months. It could be one of those things that bothers him for the rest of his career but hopefully doesn't hinder him too much.

Really pleased to hear that Knights was pleased with Jetta's forward pressure. With Alwyn struggling for form (outside of forward pressure), I think Leroy could get a few chances this year if he keeps working hard.

I can't wait for tomorrow - BRING ON LAYCOCK!

Ben the Gooner
26 Feb 2010, 16:14
I can't wait for tomorrow - BRING ON LAYCOCK!

This!:thumbsu:

Wahooti Fandango
26 Feb 2010, 16:22
Cheers fellas. T-Bell seems set for a massive year. :thumbsu: Laycock needs to really get going.

Jonesy1987
26 Feb 2010, 16:42
Forgot to comment on Long, who absolutely won me as a huge fan today. Finished with 17 touches by my count, didn't turn the ball over by foot all day.

He went on a run in the second that had me rubbing my eyes as thought Michael was playing, off half back through the centre, dodged four richmond players, the fifth got a hand to him and stuffed his handball attempt but mouthwatering none the less.

Seemed so cool calm and collected, always kept his head when in trouble, knew when to run and when hold possession. IMO We have something pretty special on our hands.

ghostdog
26 Feb 2010, 17:06
Forgot to comment on Long, who absolutely won me as a huge fan today. Finished with 17 touches by my count, didn't turn the ball over by foot all day.

He went on a run in the second that had me rubbing my eyes as thought Michael was playing, off half back through the centre, dodged four richmond players, the fifth got a hand to him and stuffed his handball attempt but mouthwatering none the less.

Seemed so cool calm and collected, always kept his head when in trouble, knew when to run and when hold possession. IMO We have something pretty special on our hands.

How does he compare with Quinn?

Jonesy1987
26 Feb 2010, 17:16
How does he compare with Quinn?

Quinn was actually pretty decent today, didn't get tackled all day, seems to be a lot calmer with the football in his hands now, but Long has 10 times the natural ability of him, better in the air, reads off packs well, IMO will probably get game time this year.

Jono B
26 Feb 2010, 17:31
Couple of years time:

HB: Dempsey Hooker Long

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

itsinthehole
26 Feb 2010, 18:14
Did Mariglliani play? If so how did he go?

Jonesy1987
26 Feb 2010, 18:22
Did Mariglliani play? If so how did he go?

Yes, he played very well probably in our top 3 on ground. My voting would have gone 3. Danniher 2. Houli 1. Marigliani. Unlucky: Bellchambers, Long, Carlisle and Zaha

Frothies Mcveigh
26 Feb 2010, 18:39
Thanks for the Report guys.

ghostdog
26 Feb 2010, 19:05
Cheers Jonesy :thumbsu:

Really stoked to hear about the new boys. The prospect of this kind of pressure to make the best 22 is heart warming.

Well done for the reports as well lads :thumbsu:

stay true
26 Feb 2010, 19:28
wrong place wrong time ST...:)
Tell me about it lol. Gary O'Donnell came past at half time and said thanks for the chop out anyway.

Yeah he was very impressive wasn't he. You summed it up beautifully in that last paragraph.

On another note, Neagle was used up the ground in the 2nd half basically roaming on a wing/half back. On atleast one occasion he collected the footy around half back and crashed his way through like 3 tigers with ease and got a clean quick away... absolutely blistering lol.

Oh and Jordan McMahon is REALLY small. Much smaller than I thought.

Kong
26 Feb 2010, 20:25
Forgot to comment on Long... Seemed so cool calm and collected, always kept his head when in trouble, knew when to run and when hold possession. IMO We have something pretty special on our hands.

Yeah he was very impressive wasn't he. You summed it up beautifully in that last paragraph.That's the first thing I noticed from his youtube footage.

He's bloody evasive; he finds a way out of traffic, even right in the goal square in one snippet, and delivers a beautiful kick out of defence.

Steal of the draft?

Sigmund
26 Feb 2010, 20:30
That's the first thing I noticed from his youtube footage.

He's bloody evasive; he finds a way out of traffic, even right in the goal square in one snippet, and delivers a beautiful kick out of defence.

Steal of the draft?

Let's hope so:thumbsu: My feeling is that he is still 1-2 years away at the moment (esp body wise) but def something to work with.. I watched him at training a few weeks back and his left foot is hideous.... but his right foot is very neat and don't remember him missing a target today

gO_bOmBeRz
26 Feb 2010, 21:39
Most of the action took place on the other side of the ground to me, so my recollections might be a bit off.

Everyone was pretty good today, my standouts being Bellchambers, Houli, Long, and Darcy who was probably B.O.G.

Darcy was in everything, kicked 3 from memory and had at least 3 assists.

Carlisle was also impressive kicking 4, but converted most of his chances, didn't do much else.

Bellchambers dominated, going forward kicked 1 maybe even 2 early plus winning a heap of clearances.

Zaha was great in close, but footskills let him down a bit, excusable as there was a prominent breeze.

Houli was everywhere, used it really well. Didn't see what happened, but had a bandage wrapped around his head in the last.

Jetta tried his guts out, similar game to that against West Coast but with a few more tackles, before being KO'd late in the third.

Hurley was touched up by Rance and only really got going when he moved to Darcy.

Typical Neagle game, although a few times he was walking around looking wrecked, then a minute later was chasing down players and slamming them into the turf. Kicked a couple of really good goals, one snap from the pocket and one 40 out from the boundary.

Most impressive thing for me, was the pressure, everyone chased all day. Game gave me a lot of hope for our future.

Will post some photos up later when I can be bothered.

not getting carried away or anything since it was a pratice match but do you think he could cement a spot in the 22 ?

Jonesy1987
26 Feb 2010, 22:15
not getting carried away or anything since it was a pratice match but do you think he could cement a spot in the 22 ?

I think so, definitely has the talent, just needs a good run with injuries, I'd probably prefer him in the side over Reimers atm.

FandangoDingo
27 Feb 2010, 01:13
Top quality reports guys. And good news too. Thanks muchly :thumbsu:

bipolarbeaR
27 Feb 2010, 01:58
Thanks for reports guys <3

Trav0
27 Feb 2010, 04:58
great comments guys, hopefully they can play some tougher opposition than that next week,

possible for coburg to beat bendigos record from last year ?
possible for bendigo to be a big riser in the vfl this season?

WN123
27 Feb 2010, 05:21
Just a note on Hurley's wrist. I broke my scaphoid in 1992 and it never really healed. It never really stopped me doing anything so if his is similar it should be OK. He will jar it every now and then and it will settle quickly.

Gpat
27 Feb 2010, 05:56
And whoever designed the streets of Craigeburn needs a lesson in town planning.

... crazy stuff...

That's Crazyburn for you!

efcboy
27 Feb 2010, 07:12
And whoever designed the streets of Craigeburn needs a lesson in town planning. it took me 30 minutes to find my way out of the maze of streets in the new estate. It only took me 25 minutes to get back to Essendon. Classic case of trying to jam as many houses into as small an area as possible to make more money for greedy land developers... crazy stuff...

i was there and it was extremely easy to find. driving along the hume you turn left into grand boulevard and there were no other turns to make given the ground was on grand boulevard. one turn and drive straight ahead on the same road - couldn't have been easier.

Son of Whispy
27 Feb 2010, 07:41
How was Neagle's fitness for the game? Out of the game, who will be pushing for selection in round 1. Hurley is a certainty, but apart form that who would be? Remember no McVeigh or NLM round 1.

efcboy
27 Feb 2010, 07:44
My review - i took some stats of the essendon players, it was hard to keep up with it and difficult so these would be underestimated but a general guide:

Neagle - 8 kicks, 2 marks, 2 goals. Quiet early but got into it 2nd/3rd quarters laying some excellent tackles where he really destroyed some young tigers.

Jetta - 6 kicks, 5 handballs. Was close to the action throughout but didn't get involved enough for mine. Can't see him making it personally. Was shaken up in the 3rd quarter after a heavy collision.

Zaharakis - 11 kicks, 7 handballs, 2 marks. Probably had more of it and used it well. One of the better players.

Long - 11 kicks, 7 handballs, 7 marks. Very impressive off half back - looks a bit like wanganeen out of defence with great composure and foot skills. I think we have a good one here.

Hurley - 3 kicks, 4 handballs, 1 mark, 1 goal. Pretty ordinary game on the whole - didn't get into the action much but did do nice things when he had it. Perhaps the one game against Hawthorn has him overrated as a forward when he's better suited at CHB?

Carlisle - 6 kicks, 2 handballs, 3 marks, 4 goals. Presented well up forward taking some nice marks and kicking for goal well. Looks a nice kpp prospect.

J.Williams - 3 kicks, 2 handballs, 1 mark. Played off half-back, didn't do much. Can't see him making it. Went for a hanger in the last qtr and fell awkwardly - appeared to be in trouble but it was only cramping.

Daniher - 12 kicks, 2 handballs, 10 marks, 3 goals. Awesome around half-forward. Was everywhere in the first half and was probably best on ground for mine.

Hardingham - 11 kicks, 5 handballs, 5 marks. Impressive display off half-back. The comparisons with David King are spot-on. He is very quick, has good kicking depth and definitely looks capable of playing senior footy this year. Would appear to suit Knights attacking game plan as he does take the game on.

Silverlock - 6 kicks, 3 handballs, 3 marks, 1 goal. Uses the ball well and showed enough to suggest he has something to offer.

T.Slattery - 6 kicks, 7 handballs, 1 mark. Did some good stuff in defence. Looks a likely type.

Atkinson - 7 kicks, 5 handballs, 3 marks. Did some good things and outmuscled his opponents as you'd expect. He's handy for depth.

Quinn - 10 kicks, 6 handballs, 5 marks. He probably had more possessions but his disposal was ordinary at times. Is a very fit bloke and the tigers had trouble keeping up with him but at present his disposal is not good enough for AFL. Had a good game though.

NLM - 11 kicks, 7 handballs, 4 marks, 2 goals. Was one of the better players and the main leader on the ground. For a player of his calibre did as expected.

Houli - 9 kicks, 7 handballs, 1 mark. Quiet early but really got into it as the game went on. One of the better players.

Bellchambers - 9 kicks, 5 handballs, 7 marks. Very good display from T-bell - didn't keep stats of hitouts but would have been well ahead. Certainly a very handy ruckman for his age.

Crameri - 8 kicks, 3 handballs, 2 marks. Played key defence and did well. I'm not sure he's brilliant enough for AFL level though.

Bock - 3 handballs. Didn't do much, won some hitouts. I don't rate him.

Marigliani - 15 kicks, 1 handball, 4 marks, 1 goal. Impressive game and would appear to be the first rookie in line for promotion. Played mainly onball and outmuscled his opponents in close and also positioned well. Obviously natural instinct is to look to kick rather than handpass - essendon could use a player like that.

Out of the others I thought Page and Shinners were the most impressive. The Thompsons didn't do much whilst Papalia was ok but is a bit on the small side.

Best Players: Daniher, Lovett-Murray, Zaharakis, Marigliani, Long, Hardingham, Bellchambers, Houli, Quinn.

efcboy
27 Feb 2010, 07:48
How was Neagle's fitness for the game? Out of the game, who will be pushing for selection in round 1. Hurley is a certainty, but apart form that who would be? Remember no McVeigh or NLM round 1.

Neagle's fitness looked ok - he worked hard in patches.
I wouldn't say Hurley is a certainty for R1 - he'd need to improve on yesterdays performance but i'm sure he will.

I'd say Zaharakis would be the most likely player to come into senior selection frame for R1 given the above suspensions.

Mad Bomber Sean
27 Feb 2010, 08:01
Does any one know if Hurley is in line to play round 1 ? I thought he was out for the cab thing ?

Great reports guys. Awesome news about Darcy & Long. Good to hear we have some likely types in Marigliani & Hardingham.

You got to think that Darcy should get a run in the seniors. He is good at either end, is quick and has good skills. On the lead he is hard to stop.

mark1881
27 Feb 2010, 08:15
Does any one know if Hurley is in line to play round 1 ? I thought he was out for the cab thing ?

Great reports guys. Awesome news about Darcy & Long. Good to hear we have some likely types in Marigliani & Hardingham.

You got to think that Darcy should get a run in the seniors. He is good at either end, is quick and has good skills. On the lead he is hard to stop.

Hurley is suspended for round 1 and 2 by the club. This wrist business is an issue. Given our lack of injuries, i'm not too fazed if it takes him a few weeks to come back into the side. Get his confidence up in the two's then unleash him.

I really hope Darcy can crack it in the big time, I think he'll be a solid player, reminds me a bit of Sean Wellman.

HFF_07
27 Feb 2010, 08:16
Out of the others I thought Page and Shinners were the most impressive. The Thompsons didn't do much whilst Papalia was ok but is a bit on the small side.

Best Players: Daniher, Lovett-Murray, Zaharakis, Marigliani, Long, Hardingham, Bellchambers, Houli, Quinn.

Where did Shinners play efcboy? having come from Frankston I have seen him play a few times. A handy player that will be a good acquisition to help out Flaherety down back as key defender, possible swapping up forward also.

I really do think this year is going to be a great year at Bendigo. Imagine that Hooker doesnt get a game (hope he does), and he has to play at Bendigo, then a player of Shinners ability may have to play in a Division one team if he cannot crack it into the Bendigo seniors team... Hm, interesting.

Any other Bendigo kids play? Page is a likely type, heard good things about the Thompsons so fingers crossed too.

I think I am going to try and get to as many Bendigo games as possible this year.

The Donners
27 Feb 2010, 08:26
-Darcy looked very nice as a lead up forward - geez he is quick over 20 meters.

I can't help but think of Stevie J when I see Darcy play.

Pevers-Legend
27 Feb 2010, 08:50
Thanks for the reports - it is nice to see Benidgo win!!!

Daniher, although a utility seems more suited to a hff role. I think he is more comfortable there - but can pinch hit down back.

Would have no probs with him playing HF/CHF especially while we are sorting out our fwd line.

Round 1 can't come fast enough.

mbosca
27 Feb 2010, 09:16
I can't help but think of Stevie J when I see Darcy play.

Are you joking? I personally cannot see any resemblence between the two.

Daniher is a workmanlike foward. Plays similar to Mcphee when Mcphee played foward in the last few years.

Stevie J is without doubt in the top 5 most talented players in the country. His vision is elite, skills silky, is amazingly clean at ground level and has great goal sense. Can push up to midfield and get over 25 possessions with 5 plus goals. Genuine game breaker.

mbosca
27 Feb 2010, 09:21
My review - i took some stats of the essendon players, it was hard to keep up with it and difficult so these would be underestimated but a general guide:

Neagle - 8 kicks, 2 marks, 2 goals. Quiet early but got into it 2nd/3rd quarters laying some excellent tackles where he really destroyed some young tigers.

Jetta - 6 kicks, 5 handballs. Was close to the action throughout but didn't get involved enough for mine. Can't see him making it personally. Was shaken up in the 3rd quarter after a heavy collision.

Zaharakis - 11 kicks, 7 handballs, 2 marks. Probably had more of it and used it well. One of the better players.

Long - 11 kicks, 7 handballs, 7 marks. Very impressive off half back - looks a bit like wanganeen out of defence with great composure and foot skills. I think we have a good one here.

Hurley - 3 kicks, 4 handballs, 1 mark, 1 goal. Pretty ordinary game on the whole - didn't get into the action much but did do nice things when he had it. Perhaps the one game against Hawthorn has him overrated as a forward when he's better suited at CHB?

Carlisle - 6 kicks, 2 handballs, 3 marks, 4 goals. Presented well up forward taking some nice marks and kicking for goal well. Looks a nice kpp prospect.

J.Williams - 3 kicks, 2 handballs, 1 mark. Played off half-back, didn't do much. Can't see him making it. Went for a hanger in the last qtr and fell awkwardly - appeared to be in trouble but it was only cramping.

Daniher - 12 kicks, 2 handballs, 10 marks, 3 goals. Awesome around half-forward. Was everywhere in the first half and was probably best on ground for mine.

Hardingham - 11 kicks, 5 handballs, 5 marks. Impressive display off half-back. The comparisons with David King are spot-on. He is very quick, has good kicking depth and definitely looks capable of playing senior footy this year. Would appear to suit Knights attacking game plan as he does take the game on.

Silverlock - 6 kicks, 3 handballs, 3 marks, 1 goal. Uses the ball well and showed enough to suggest he has something to offer.

T.Slattery - 6 kicks, 7 handballs, 1 mark. Did some good stuff in defence. Looks a likely type.

Atkinson - 7 kicks, 5 handballs, 3 marks. Did some good things and outmuscled his opponents as you'd expect. He's handy for depth.

Quinn - 10 kicks, 6 handballs, 5 marks. He probably had more possessions but his disposal was ordinary at times. Is a very fit bloke and the tigers had trouble keeping up with him but at present his disposal is not good enough for AFL. Had a good game though.

NLM - 11 kicks, 7 handballs, 4 marks, 2 goals. Was one of the better players and the main leader on the ground. For a player of his calibre did as expected.

Houli - 9 kicks, 7 handballs, 1 mark. Quiet early but really got into it as the game went on. One of the better players.

Bellchambers - 9 kicks, 5 handballs, 7 marks. Very good display from T-bell - didn't keep stats of hitouts but would have been well ahead. Certainly a very handy ruckman for his age.

Crameri - 8 kicks, 3 handballs, 2 marks. Played key defence and did well. I'm not sure he's brilliant enough for AFL level though.

Bock - 3 handballs. Didn't do much, won some hitouts. I don't rate him.

Marigliani - 15 kicks, 1 handball, 4 marks, 1 goal. Impressive game and would appear to be the first rookie in line for promotion. Played mainly onball and outmuscled his opponents in close and also positioned well. Obviously natural instinct is to look to kick rather than handpass - essendon could use a player like that.

I had Hardingham/Lovett Murray/Quinn as my standouts along with Carlilse/Daniher/Neagle all showing good signs during the game.

Hardingham by my count would have had around 30 possesions. Took the game on with his pace, spoilt well and went up for a few big marks and took a couple. Quinn was excellent. Amazing agility and speed. Literally couldn't be tackled and skills were very solid in traffic. Lovett Murray was one of the few players who you could tell was too good for this level.

Although not in the best I was very impressed with Taite Silverlock. Looks a genuine footballer, did some nice little things and I can see him being a player in the longer term.

Kong
27 Feb 2010, 10:14
Many thanks, efcboy. Quality work. :thumbsu:

Did Serhat Tehmel play?

Jonesy1987
27 Feb 2010, 10:35
great job efcboy, absolutely epic work.

Sigmund
27 Feb 2010, 13:16
Many thanks, efcboy. Quality work. :thumbsu:

Did Serhat Tehmel play?

Nope.. did not see him out there..

bombermick
27 Feb 2010, 19:43
Did it seems Hurley was not playing 100% due to not being availiable 'til Rd 3, or did Rance simply beat him fair and square? Not worried about his form, he showed great signs last year but his wrist and the cabbie issue could be wearing him down.

efcboy
28 Feb 2010, 10:14
hurley has not been suspended for R1-2 at all yet. This was a suggestion by caroline wilson. i wouldn't say rance beat him - it was more a case of not being in the right position a lot of times. It was tricky with a strong wind but daniher dominated at half-forward.

serhat temel did not play. perhaps they will shield him whilst they develop him and take him in the next draft?

Shinners mainly played half-back and did some useful things running thru the middle. I mentioned all the bendigo guys - due to EFC's good player availabilty there weren't many top up players.

stay true
28 Feb 2010, 12:33
A lot of kicks were going just over Hurley's head all day (was the case for most really thanks to the strong wind) which didn't help and he was getting a bit frustrated understandably.