View Full Version : Dempsey's role

ghostdog
27 Feb 2010, 21:15
Read someone's appraisal of our midfield today, and its lack of ability to dominate out of the middle and deliver with consistent accuracy. The name that was thrown in as a possibility was Dempsey.

This time last year I posed the question of whether NLM was a goner. Then we get reports like this on essendonfc.com from the intra-club match in Shepparton:

Lovett-Murray: Outstanding, really, in defence. He would have taken about seven marks off the opposition's kicks so read the play well and also used the ball really well on the way out. It's a pity he will miss the first few games through suspension. One of our best on the day.

So, is it plausible for Dempsey to play outside mid and NLM to play HB? ...or is there another rotation that may be beneficial in terms of freeing up Dempsey? ...or is he just too important to our backline structure to move him at all?

The_Young_Gun
27 Feb 2010, 22:05
Definitely could work.. But for whatever reason there might be the case that Dempsey feels more confortable off half back at the moment.

Also, it seemed we didn't dominate the middle today mainly because it was quite obvious that the guys were trying out set plays and mucking around a bit.. I missed the first quarter but for the rest of the game it seemed that the guys upstairs told jobe and welshy to take it easy, still got their hands on it but they looked to be chillin.. Giving melksham, howlett and reimers more of a chance to use it.

banta
27 Feb 2010, 22:16
i think it's definitely worth a try.
dempsey is very composed and clean, which is why he's so important down back. but if lovett-murray can prove to be solid in defense i think dempsey's pace and skill will be more damaging in our midfield than in defense.
it would also mean that his lack of size/strength wouldn't get exploited down back in one-on-ones, which is an area lovett-murray has covered.

Haduken
27 Feb 2010, 23:14
I'm not thrilled with the idea myself. Dempsey is just too good of Half-Back, and NLM has never blown me away as a defender.

Trav0
28 Feb 2010, 03:07
i like the idea our midfield is struggling, HB would be easier to replace than the midfield spot, so if dempsey would be better used in midfield do it,

however with his constant hamstring problems would he hold up playing midfield thats what im not sure of?

i really want to see this guy stay fit for a whole season!!!

yaco55
28 Feb 2010, 03:08
I believe there is two issues to consider whether to play Dempsey in the midfield

- Does he have the tank for the midfield
- Decison making vs Skill

Dempsey is a good decision maker but his skills can be scratchy at times. He will have less time in the midfield to execute his skills - which could cause Dempsey problems.

Bombers36
28 Feb 2010, 03:59
I dont mind the idea at all of Dempsey as a rotating mid.
Whilst I see your point Yaco I dont see any reason he couldnt swing through there for a quater or two at least if he doesnt have the tank (although maybe he does?)
Plenty of mids not super skilled - as long as he can make good quick decisions under pressure which I think he does now.
He'd certainly add some class in there and we need guys like him, myers, melksham to start pushing and what is great is that whilst it was only a practice match against poor opposition yesterday on their performances it looks like these guys will all have an impact at some stage this year.
Also plenty of guys can play that mid sized defender role - NLM, Atkinson, T.Slat, even Welshy.
The more I think about it the more I like the idea

zen dice man
28 Feb 2010, 06:51
Personally think that Dempsey as a midfielder would be the natural next step for him. Although still very inexperinced I like the idea of playing Atko in his role as a running hb- he is quick & can run the ball like Dempsey well. He does need to develop the composure which is so important defensively (Dempsey has heaps of this now). NLM is ok in this role, but would prefer to use
him as a swing man that plays mainly accross wing/Hff & occasionally midfield.If he settles at HB we lose this swing option & without Mcphee this is a
problem. Neither Welsh or T.Slatt seem quick enough for this position & tbh I don't rate Welsh anymore. I hope I am wrong. TSlatts is far from a spot in the seniors & with selection pressure Welsh shouldn't be a certainty either.

The Donners
28 Feb 2010, 07:15
Definitely could work.. But for whatever reason there might be the case that Dempsey feels more confortable off half back at the moment.

Also, it seemed we didn't dominate the middle today mainly because it was quite obvious that the guys were trying out set plays and mucking around a bit.. I missed the first quarter but for the rest of the game it seemed that the guys upstairs told jobe and welshy to take it easy, still got their hands on it but they looked to be chillin.. Giving melksham, howlett and reimers more of a chance to use it.

He's a long way off. Probably the most I took out of yesterdays game, that and our ruck work looked rusty.

Smyth94
28 Feb 2010, 07:17
He's a long way off. Probably the most I took out of yesterdays game, that and our ruck work looked rusty.

He's a long way off in terms of getting a body ready to play AFL at a consistent level - yes.

In terms of his vision, skill, decision making - he's ready to go.

Godzke
28 Feb 2010, 07:19
I prefer a loose man at the back. That may be NLM taking the pack marks and intercepting the leads deep in defence, which then frees Dempsey to run off his man knowing we have an extra man down back. One less forward means less congesture for Neagle, Gumby, Williams and Hille to work in.

Longy413
28 Feb 2010, 07:28
I don't think he is a 360 degrees player.

I think he's best suited to watching the game come at him, I do think he'd really struggle reading the play in the middle and being able to run both ways.

Darealrath
28 Feb 2010, 07:36
Leave him at half back IMO. It's not like the old days when half back flankers/back pockets would try and be promoted to the midfield (such as Ratten, O'Donnell etc)

If anything it's happening the other way these days because having someone who can set up play in the back half is so important (such as McLeod, Hodge etc). If we've found one in Dempsey lets leave him there. He's actually quite good defensively too the way he can get a spoil in. Plus it's not like he'd be limited to the defensive 50, he can still dash through the middle or on the wings if given the chance.

Kong
28 Feb 2010, 08:16
Yep, too valuable at half back to move.

Wahooti Fandango
28 Feb 2010, 09:15
Leave him at half back IMO. It's not like the old days when half back flankers/back pockets would try and be promoted to the midfield (such as Ratten, O'Donnell etc)

If anything it's happening the other way these days because having someone who can set up play in the back half is so important (such as McLeod, Hodge etc). If we've found one in Dempsey lets leave him there. He's actually quite good defensively too the way he can get a spoil in. Plus it's not like he'd be limited to the defensive 50, he can still dash through the middle or on the wings if given the chance.

Agree. Quality half-back flankers are as important these days as good midfielders (e.g. Mcleod, Fisher, Mackie, Hodge etc.). Demspey is also very good in marking contests as he is stronger than he looks and very courageous.

Also, I love referencing this thread.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=575402&highlight=dempsey+is+the+complete+player

bomberbilly
28 Feb 2010, 09:33
He's a long way off in terms of getting a body ready to play AFL at a consistent level - yes.

In terms of his vision, skill, decision making - he's ready to go.

i think hes still a long way off, he was really timid yesterday.

kelvin_sheedy
28 Feb 2010, 09:51
He's pretty slippery in traffic so I wouldn't be surprised if he could play an inside mid type role.

He's great one on one and tends to win or get the ball in his favour.

Tank is the big question as I think his reading of the play and positioning is quite good.

I wouldn't be suprised if he became a Shaun Burgoyne type mid at his peak but I'd play him off half back this year and get another year of footy into him.

Maybe a few bursts in the middle but we don't want to over do him.

Jono B
28 Feb 2010, 13:26

100% correct.

All your attacks start back there and if you make a poor decision it can cost you a goal. The difference between a Dempsey and an Atkinson back there is huge.

Ben the Gooner
28 Feb 2010, 15:53
Far too good a defender to be taken out of there.

Towno78
1 Mar 2010, 14:45
Our game style demands we have absolute pace rebounding out of defence from at least 2 players. Dempsey obviously provides that, along with so much more.
NLM and Atko are two players that come to mind that also contribute that pace, but neither are as accomplished in defence, and I don't think they could play in the same back 6 as each other.
So who else could provide that pace? How quick is Hardingham? Recruited to play a similar role to Dempsey, but maybe not quite quick enough to free him up?
Maybe Long? If he's quick enough, then maybe after a couple of years development he could free up Dempsey, but I can't see anyone else doing that. Dempsey would need those couple of years to build up his own tank for the demands of the midfield anyway, so maybe down the track this is a move we might see, but not this year or the next I'd suspect.

eth-dog
1 Mar 2010, 15:03
HBF. permanently. Next Andrew McLeod, why would you get him out of there?

NLM is a very useful HFF, he has kicked bags of 3/4/5 goals there before. If he's so useful as a part-time HFF, why move him, he's too good in that role

HFF_07
1 Mar 2010, 18:01
God, people are often so overanalytical (sorry for the big words kiddies :D)

Dempsey is a great reader of the play. He is super quick, and believe it or not uses the ball well. His decision making is what lets him down more often than not, opting for that 25 kick to a 1 - on - 1 rather than to that lead 50 meters down the line.

In terms of him moving into the midfield, he needs to overtake someone already there. Either a Dyson, Prismall, in an outside role or a Watson, Hocking as an inside role).

As far as I am concerned yes it would be ideal to have a smooth mover like him in the heart of the game, but; is someone now ready to fill his shoes? Of the contenders. Atkinson does not have the awareness to play that sweeping role that Dempsey plays, NLM has the experience to perhaps make it work, but he is often our swingman (sometimes playing a forward linchpin role), whilst Hardingham and Crameri have shown nothing yet to suggest as mature aged recruits they are ready to step straight into senior football. And for young T.Slattery, alot of people had him pencilled in for round 1 after some strong late season form for Bendigo in 2009, but pre season injury has held him back :(.

So moving Dempsey to the midfield would be a great move for him, for the team I feel it would benefit us more if he stayed put.

007Tigers
1 Mar 2010, 19:42
sorry to intrude on ya board

i heard Dempsey played ripper on the w.e and was wondering if you guys expect a big year from him? looks like he could be a star just needs to break out

can someone please tell me where he finished in your B&F for 2009?

thanks guys

Wahooti Fandango
1 Mar 2010, 19:50
As much as I am a Dempsey fan there are enough threads on him already. BtG your assistance is required. :D

AhSteveSteve27
1 Mar 2010, 19:51
Nah, he's rubbish. Give us Jordan McMahon and Jake King and you can have him.

Seriously, the kid just needs to stay fit, I think he'll push into the mids later on this year but he is very valuable down back. Along with Watson (and potentially Hurley) is one of our only players that can instinctively impose himself on a game.

Smyth94
1 Mar 2010, 19:57
Whilst Dempsey was very good on Saturday it should be said his direct opponent (Petterd) kicked 4 goals and at times his marking was unacceptable.

I was standing on the side of the ground Dempsey was playing for 3 quarters and at times he was a good 50m from his opponent - which is fine when we have the ball but he was a bit too lax for my liking to rush back to his opponent when Melbourne rebounded from defence.

Other than that, he's a super talent and his rebound off the backline is superb.

Ben the Gooner
1 Mar 2010, 20:02
As much as I am a Dempsey fan there are enough threads on him already. BtG your assistance is required. :D

Your wish is my command, sire.

007Tigers
1 Mar 2010, 20:04
hehe sorry guys for making the new thread, anyone know where he finished in your B&F?

thanks

bombersno1
1 Mar 2010, 20:26
Rather Myers in the middle and Dempsey off the HBF

yaco55
1 Mar 2010, 22:20
sorry to intrude on ya board

i heard Dempsey played ripper on the w.e and was wondering if you guys expect a big year from him? looks like he could be a star just needs to break out

can someone please tell me where he finished in your B&F for 2009?

thanks guys

Not a high scorer in Fantasy Football Leagues - but has the potential to have a break out season.

Be aware that he played 20 games last year but suffered two hamstring injuries - the second one occurred in the elimination final.

I am yet to be convinced that he is over his hamstring injuries.

yaco55
1 Mar 2010, 22:21
HFF

I havethe opposite opinion in regards to dempsey.

I believe that his decision making is generally good - but his skills can be scratch at times.

HFF_07
2 Mar 2010, 16:37
HFF

I believe that his decision making is generally good - but his skills can be scratch at times.

It may just be his concentration.

Je can be so damaging one week, then pitiful and woefil the next.

Jonesy1987
2 Mar 2010, 17:05
HFF

Agree, especially when he is fatigued, on at least 5-6 occasions last year, he would do a blistering run through the centre in on goals and miss from 30-40 out.

Nasty Penguin
2 Mar 2010, 21:12
To all the people commenting on NaB Cup/Challenge games about him being lazy, playing off his man or lacking skills slap yourself in the face with your mouse........ go on....... there. :eek::eek::eek::p
Now you should realise that there could be set plays happening, experimenting personal tactics or is just taking it easy because of his hamstring troubles. That's what pre-season is for so that coaches and players can play around with little things for season proper.
And that person that said that Dempsey if the next Mcleod is spot on :D