View Full Version : Toast Bachar Houli
Wow. What an eye-opener this article is (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/young-bomber-hopes-his-hard-work-will-finally-be-rewarded-20100227-paau.html). He's 21. He's recently married. And he took the brave step of calling the coach and asking him exactly what he needed to get into the senior team. Does that not constitute a young man coming of age??
In 2010, the media spotlight may very well be upon Ryder, Hille, Gumbleton, Watson, Winderlich, Pears, etc. as they seek to improve as players and/or leaders. At Essendon, it seems the intrinsic focus may very well be over Houli and what he can achieve.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/young-bomber-hopes-his-hard-work-will-finally-be-rewarded-20100227-paau.html
''In some ways I took last year very personally, too personally. The way I looked at it at first, other players were doing the same thing, but I was the one who couldn't get into the team because of it.
''I took some of it the wrong way, I took it very negatively, but I felt like I was working hard on the areas they asked me to improve on, so when I got sick I probably assumed I'd come straight back in and when that happened I thought 'hang on, what does that mean?'
''I rang Matthew Knights up, and it was one of the hardest things I've done. But I sat down and asked him what I need to improve on to finish off the season, and after that it was a lot more clear in my mind that they hadn't lost faith in me.''
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/young-bomber-hopes-his-hard-work-will-finally-be-rewarded-20100227-paau.html
I'm excited.
Big Blow Hard
28 Feb 2010, 17:10
great Article. I hope he can make it this year.
HighettBomber
28 Feb 2010, 17:33
I was very happy to read that article. Last year he was definately treated more harshly than he deserved, as were some others, and I was concerned he might leave. Hopefully he forces his way in, gets a decent go at the selection table and shuts up his critics.
i think every player not in the 22 should be in constant talks with the coaches on why they aren't in the 22(and i hope they are!!)... sounds like his head is in the right place (except for the whole moving in next to the parents thing! no chance ill be doing that! haha dont know anyone else whos done that!) and should move forward in his career this year, and if he is uncontracted i don't think its worth the gold coast contacting him!!
also sounds like he will be a good role model for the younger players at the club in the years to come!! maybe he should take hurley under his wing and get him off the grog :D
Murph_S13
28 Feb 2010, 20:10
I've had the pleasure of meeting Bachar a number of times. He's a very impressive young man and sees himself as a role model for Islamic youth as he blends Islam and aussie rules footy. As evidenced by his recent marriage and living next door to his folks, he's a serious chap, but has a ready smile and a delightful sense of humour. Very, very focussed. If determination is enough to cement a place, Bachar has more than enough of it. Fortunately he also has very good footy skills. If anyone has any influence of a heavenly kind (I'm an atheist, so I'm no good to him!), please exercise it to get the boy an injury-free year in 2010.
ghostdog
28 Feb 2010, 20:26
... a serious chap... Very, very focussed.
I mentioned some time ago that I thought Houli's Islamic background would mean we could expect intense focus and self-discipline. This is a guy who could do great things. He doesn't have any of the trivial pursuits other young players have.
Slattery_20
28 Feb 2010, 21:44
Wow. What an eye-opener this article is (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/young-bomber-hopes-his-hard-work-will-finally-be-rewarded-20100227-paau.html). He's 21. He's recently married. And he took the brave step of calling the coach and asking him exactly what he needed to get into the senior team. Does that not constitute a young man coming of age??
You say brave, I say bleeding obvious.
There's 3 or 4 guys still listed who just haven't ever looked like making the most of themselves.
Hopefully the penny's dropped for Bach.
gO_bOmBeRz
1 Mar 2010, 05:14
hoepfully he'll have a great season and play 15 games+
You say brave, I say bleeding obvious.
There's 3 or 4 guys still listed who just haven't ever looked like making the most of themselves.
Hopefully the penny's dropped for Bach.
I'd still say brave considering he thought he was offside with the coach.
Brave move, hopefully he will break into our side this year.
Bachar was at the Middle Easten Festival at Fed Square yesterday. He introduced the Lebonise footy team who won the international nations cup last year. He had a brief chat with the crowd speaking about his goals as a child (to play AFL) and the effort he put in to make it. He then went on to push the young in the crowd to find a goal in life and aim for it, work hard etc.
He did seem quite nervious at the start of the speech but worked his way into it very well. He looks like a fine young role model. I really hope we see the best of him this year.
Definitely not the obvious thing to do.
Brave? Absolutely.
Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Mar 2010, 07:57
I like him and hope he does make the side but he definitely does need to work on some things.
gO_bOmBeRz
1 Mar 2010, 14:08
I like him and hope he does make the side but he definitely does need to work on some things.
what do you guys think he needs to work on to cement a spot in the essendon 22 ? which i really hope he will.
Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Mar 2010, 20:07
what do you guys think he needs to work on to cement a spot in the essendon 22 ? which i really hope he will.
Handballing, hardness, decision making, defensive running.
Slattery_20
1 Mar 2010, 20:47
What an absolute s*** reply. Is all you can offer a simple descriptor? Go for it.
Well what exactly does his religion have to do with how he trains or plays?
From what I can tell (thus far) he's far more interested in doing media than actually being a good player for EFC.
Which would seem to be a "trivial pursuit" for a professional footballer.
Particularly one who in reality is a borderline talent and needs to be doing everything possible on the track.
ghostdog
1 Mar 2010, 22:15
Well what exactly does his religion have to do with how he trains or plays?
Islam is a religion that requires strict adherence and self-discipline. Ergo, I wouldn't expect a guy like Houli to have any problem with finding the inner strength to remain focused and well disciplined.
From what I can tell (thus far) he's far more interested in doing media than actually being a good player for EFC.
...as though it's Houli who contacts the media and invites them over for a bit of a yarn. Did it ever cross your mind that perhaps the novelty of being a Muslim who plays football might be considered to be interesting copy to an editor?
As a Muslim who plays football, given the xenophobic attitudes prevalent since Howard's invasion of Iraq, did you ever stop to think that perhaps Houli recognises the civic worth in giving such interviews?
If you bothered to read the article that was posted at the top of the thread you would have realised that Houli contacted Knights to seek advice. When was the last time you heard of a 21 year old player doing that? I would suggest this makes your claim that he shows little interest in "...actually being a good player for EFC" well and truly, absolute s***.
Which would seem to be a "trivial pursuit" for a professional footballer.
Is this a statment or a question? It certainly isn't a sentence. As for notions of triviality, again, perhaps the issue of positive media representations of Muslim youth in a society where they are rare has something to do with it. Some things are bigger than footy mate.
In any case, the trivial pursuits I was referring to were more along the lines of those McVeigh copped a club suspension for last year - one of our shining lights who you might see as being more interested than Houli in being a good player for the EFC.
As a Muslim, and particularly a newly wed, I wouldn't expect that he'd be out on the town pissing it up - a trivial pursuit if ever there was one.
Particularly one who in reality is a borderline talent and needs to be doing everything possible on the track.
...hence the phone call to Knights.
I don't mind at all if you disagree with my opinion, but at least justify your bulls***.
I am not in the inner sanctum at essendon but I can only recall Houli doing 2 print interviews since the end of the 2009 season.
One was with a Western Suburbs rag about his upcoming marriage and the other one was the article with Emma Quayle - And EFC will never knock back an interview request from Emma - seeing that she gives EFC good publicity.
I cant recall any TV or radio interviews given By Houli - Could someone enlighten me !
Slattery_20
2 Mar 2010, 13:40
Islam is a religion that requires strict adherence and self-discipline. Ergo, I wouldn't expect a guy like Houli to have any problem with finding the inner strength to remain focused and well disciplined.
I don't mind at all if you disagree with my opinion, but at least justify your bulls***.
Rarely have I heard of it getting to the stage of needing to pick up the phone, given he's at the club 4 or 5 days a week. There are plenty of fringe guys willing to soak up every bit of advice and come back for more. Do extra gym sessions, extra goal-kicking, extra skills after or before main group training. That's not uncommon.
For it to take 3 years spent half in the 2s for him to actually realise he might need to improve was eye-opening to me.
I think you're making a big assumption that devout Muslim = perfect hard working training track professional. That does not seem to be the case from my viewpoint.
And yes, media is a trivial pursuit. Good for him if he wants to be a civic leader or politician or whatever. I won't stand in his way. However, it makes absolutely no difference to his footy career other than possibly boost his ego (:eek: ego? A muslim? How is that possible? cf Choc Mundine). Hence it's trivial to his essendon career.
He does have the right to knock back those invites you know.
Rarely have I heard of it getting to the stage of needing to pick up the phone, given he's at the club 4 or 5 days a week. There are plenty of fringe guys willing to soak up every bit of advice and come back for more. Do extra gym sessions, extra goal-kicking, extra skills after or before main group training. That's not uncommon.
For it to take 3 years spent half in the 2s for him to actually realise he might need to improve was eye-opening to me.
I think you're making a big assumption that devout Muslim = perfect hard working training track professional. That does not seem to be the case from my viewpoint.
And yes, media is a trivial pursuit. Good for him if he wants to be a civic leader or politician or whatever. I won't stand in his way. However, it makes absolutely no difference to his footy career other than possibly boost his ego (:eek: ego? A muslim? How is that possible? cf Choc Mundine). Hence it's trivial to his essendon career.
Nthwithstanding issues with greater dedication to training ( I am not an insider ) where is the proof that Houli is spending too much time on media and civic responsibilites.
I am certain that the club would pull him up if this was the case.
Is this an uninformed opinion.
Frothies Mcveigh
2 Mar 2010, 17:31
I think the main 2 things he needs to work on is decision making and hardness. He's shown that he is a great kick and i'd like to see him utilise that attribute more.
and he has been work on hardnees he showed it in the nab cup
ghostdog
3 Mar 2010, 16:38
Rarely have I heard of it getting to the stage of needing to pick up the phone, given he's at the club 4 or 5 days a week.
Same here. I think taking the step of discussing it privately, which eliminates all other distractions, shows great maturity. Taking that step would have ensured that the feedback was more personalised and perhaps more detailed - he didn't have to share the coach's focus with the other players or anyone else. It's like the difference between a student who simply turns up to class each day, and the student who goes to the staffroom to seek clarification.
There are plenty of fringe guys willing to soak up every bit of advice and come back for more. Do extra gym sessions, extra goal-kicking, extra skills after or before main group training. That's not uncommon.
Agreed. What's interesting is the way Houli went about it. Perhaps it's cultural?
There's a difference between realising change needs to happen and understanding precisely how that change needs to take place.
I never said one equaled the other at all. I said that I would expect that his sense of self-discipline as a result of his religious influence may influence his attitude and commitment. The notion of 'perfection' never entered my mind or post at all.
And yes, media is a trivial pursuit.
Tell that to the EFC's marketing department.
Also, I'd challenge you to define what may or may not be trivial in media reporting to a member of the Muslim community in Australia.
Good for him if he wants to be a civic leader or politician or whatever.
...and good for EFC as well. We welcome all sorts to our club, as evidenced by this terrific article about Bachar Houli. Buy a membership and a Bombers pillow case today!
I won't stand in his way.
No, you won't.
However, it makes absolutely no difference to his footy career
That remains to be seen. Do you understand what a 'legacy' is?
other than possibly boost his ego (:eek: ego? A muslim? How is that possible? cf Choc Mundine).
Glad you recognise that he's human. I don't think it's in his power though to describe his own humility in an article someone else has written.
Hence it's trivial to his essendon career.
Again, that remains to be seen. The phonecall wouldn't have done his progress any harm at all.
Yes I know. Again, perhaps your lack of understanding of the ways media portrayals of Muslims in Australia have negatively impacted on that community is important here. Houli's interview allowed a positive portrayal of a young Muslim man to be shown. In an era of suicide bombers and reactionary media, in an era of xenophobia and racism, such portrayals are vital to social harmony. Why would you knock it back?
Slattery_20
4 Mar 2010, 10:20
gd all players have weekly (IIRC) one on one sessions with one or another of the coaches. And regularly speak one on one with the head coach. I'd be amazed if Knights or one of the others hadn't mentioned any of this 'til halfway through last year.
Maybe, just maybe, it hadn't sunk in til he was dropped?
A legacy is after you've finished. You can make or leave a legacy, it doesn't make you. Either way, clubs will pick up a player if they think they're made of the right stuff: talent, the physical side, the right mindset. These days they (rightly) don't give a cr*p if they're muslim, black, white or green.
Bachar being a media darling before a footy star may have one effect. Not a good one. I don't effing know and I don't effing care about what effect his interviews have on the community as a whole. It's nice and all, but half of the AFL are involved with community service or charities etc. Doesn't help them out on the park! All of us members are paying him to be an Essendon footy player and he's not doing that well at it.
Ultimately if he's not making any progress by the end of the year, he'll find a whole new dimension to being a footy player. Trying to find a new club.
Performances >>> media. Talk >>> action.
Clearly we disagree on all of this. Fine. I can deal with that. You keep following his media articles when he's playing for Willie or Port Melbourne, I'll keep following the bombers.
gd all players have weekly (IIRC) one on one sessions with one or another of the coaches. And regularly speak one on one with the head coach. I'd be amazed if Knights or one of the others hadn't mentioned any of this 'til halfway through last year.
A legacy is after you've finished. You can make or leave a legacy, it doesn't make you. Either way, clubs will pick up a player if they think they're made of the right stuff: talent, the physical side, the right mindset. These days they (rightly) don't give a cr*p if they're muslim, black, white or green.
Bachar being a media darling before a footy star may have one effect. Not a good one. I don't effing know and I don't effing care about what effect his interviews have on the community as a whole. It's nice and all, but half of the AFL are involved with community service or charities etc. Doesn't help them out on the park! All of us members are paying him to be an Essendon footy player and he's not doing that well at it.
Ultimately if he's not making any progress by the end of the year, he'll find a whole new dimension to being a footy player. Trying to find a new club.
Clearly we disagree on all of this. Fine. I can deal with that. You keep following his media articles when he's playing for Willie or Port Melbourne, I'll keep following the bombers.
I agree that this is a make or break year for Houl,i but where is the proof that Houli spends too much time travelling down Media Street.
Does he a have a regular radio gig, TV gig or newspaper gig ?
It must be a secret - if he does.
ghostdog
4 Mar 2010, 14:58
Possibly. I just think good on him for doing whatever he can to make sure he understands what the coach wants. I don't care if he does that by phoning him.
Which is why the difference his actions will make to his footy career remains to be seen :rolleyes: Who knows what his legacy will be, if any. I agree and I'm glad too that clubs are looking simply for talented players. The issue of mindset I think is very interesting. There aren't enough Muslim players in the league to make any really fair dinkum comparisons re: mindset yet. Perhaps at some stage they may give more of a cr*p than they do now.
...and this is because you can't or won't see the world beyond football. Whether you like it or not football simply cannot exist in the world on its own. This is why our club involves itself in ANZAC Day commemorations and recognition of the roles of indigenous football players for instance. As for what 'all' members expect, speak for yourself mate.
Agreed.
Interesting how the first applies to civic life as well. Also, do you mean Action >>> talk?
I have no problem disagreeing with you at all, but this difference doesn't make me any less of an Essendon supporter than you. I actually resent your arrogance on that point.
I'm also an avid supporter of freedom, justice and equality. Houli gets my kudos for his use of his position and the media in that respect. To not understand the importance of that is to limit your daily conversations to the likes of: "so, how's your team?"
Slattery_20
4 Mar 2010, 20:00
...and this is because you can't or won't see the world beyond football. Whether you like it or not football simply cannot exist in the world on its own. This is why our club involves itself in ANZAC Day commemorations and recognition of the roles of indigenous football players for instance. As for what 'all' members expect, speak for yourself mate.
I'm also an avid supporter of freedom, justice and equality. Houli gets my kudos for his use of his position and the media in that respect. To not understand the importance of that is to limit your daily conversations to the likes of: "so, how's your team?"
I'm still jaded, and totally over the Sheedy years of jumping on every "cultural" bandwagon. First yank (Armstrong?), first Maori - DMac, no doubt he would have punted on Goaner Tutlan and one of those two Jap blokes if he'd still had control over drafting... notice the common theme? Trucks who got over-hyped 'cos of their background. Cart before the horse.
Essendon is in business to win games of football and flags. Anything we do along the way is great, we've got a rich background and continue to add to it. But it's all peripheral - trivial. We don't need Muslims or Aboriginals or whatever per se. We need good, committed, hard footballers.