View Full Version : Jetta out for 6 weeks

Lance Uppercut
1 Mar 2010, 14:36
what a kick in the nuts. Just when he was starting to look a little dangerous :(

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7259

Essendon has suffered its first serious injury set-back of the year with Leroy Jetta to undergo surgery tomorrow after dislocating his thumb during a practice match against Richmond’s second-18 side at Craigieburn on Friday.
General manager of football operations, Paul Hamilton, said the 21-year-old will be sidelined for up to six weeks, during which he will still be able to maintain his fitness base.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7259

:thumbsd:

Kong
1 Mar 2010, 14:43
Bollocks. Certainly won't help his fumbles.

At least he'll be able to keep his fitness work up, and hopefully the belief.

He certainly looked improved in the WCE game. Best of luck to him.

DapperDon
1 Mar 2010, 14:44
Shit news, hopefully it doesn't get him down and he can still lift for the season. Good that he can still train so his fitness wont be an issue upon his return.

bombersno1
1 Mar 2010, 15:39
If we were relying on Jetta we were more screwed than I thought!

Kong
1 Mar 2010, 15:51
If we were relying on Jetta we were more screwed than I thought!The guy's just injured himself and you're kicking him while he's down. Good thing he no doubt wouldn't care what people on BigFooty say.

This place was better when you weren't around.

Skeeta Olly
1 Mar 2010, 15:58
The guy's just injured himself and you're kicking him while he's down. Good thing he no doubt wouldn't care what people on BigFooty say.

This place was better when you weren't around.

With all the confidence he has, I wouldn't be surprised if...

WE HAVE FAITH IN YOU LEROY!

yodellinhank
1 Mar 2010, 16:07
:mad:. Sucks that the guy has suffered a setback, just when it seems he's got his head in a really good place. Considering he is a confidence player, its a real kick in the nuts to our side.

Lance Uppercut
1 Mar 2010, 16:32

were we?

Darealrath
1 Mar 2010, 16:53
****. Hopefully he doesn't let this get him down, we need his talent in the team.

Jono B
1 Mar 2010, 17:10
It is to our benefit that every player on the list is fit. Rate him or not, this injury is no help to us.

B-Bomber
1 Mar 2010, 17:52
Much worse injuries he could have got -- this won't affect his ability to keep his fitness at all which is good.

Daytripper
1 Mar 2010, 18:16
Might even come at a good time for him with his twins just having been born. Gets to spend some quality time with them and might come back happier and hungrier.

Big Blow Hard
1 Mar 2010, 18:50
Really not what a guy needs when he has set himself for what is most likely his make or break season. Hopefully he has the hunger to fight his way into the side and prove a point. Hopefully.

Godzke
1 Mar 2010, 18:52
Like Whomb said, I don't want to kick him while he's down but better him than most on our list. What I'm surprised at is that it's 6 weeks for a dislocated thumb??!! I expect he should make a full recovery with no delays if that's the case.

Also, I read the title and first line in the OP in one and thought "SIX WEEKS FROM A KICK TO THE NUTS??!!!! OMFG!!! PAIN!!"

yodellinhank
1 Mar 2010, 19:15
Like Whomb said, I don't want to kick him while he's down but better him than most on our list. What I'm surprised at is that it's 6 weeks for a dislocated thumb??!! I expect he should make a full recovery with no delays if that's the case.

Also, I read the title and first line in the OP in one and thought "SIX WEEKS FROM A KICK TO THE NUTS??!!!! OMFG!!! PAIN!!"

6 weeks worst case scenario. It's listed as 4-6 weeks on the Essendon site.

Hopefully they do all the right things, the surgery goes well the swelling goes down early and he only misses the 4, which weeks out from the season wouldn't be so bad.

Frothies Mcveigh
1 Mar 2010, 20:12
Just when he was starting to get confidence and perform well. I was really impressed with his efforts in the WCE game. Hopefully he makes a full recovery and plays 22 consistent games.

B-Bomber
1 Mar 2010, 22:06

Normal turn around before you're allowed to play contact sports again for an injury like that for us mere mortals is usually supposed to be closer to 10 weeks -- especially if there is ruptured ligaments that have required surgical repair.

TheDon35
2 Mar 2010, 02:48
Massive blow for him.

Really needed to start the year running and cement a spot in the team. If it's six weeks until he plays then at best it'll be 8 before he's back in the main team. That's starting to get out to about round 4 or 5ish.

A real test as if he doesn't come back well early and demand a spot in the side, his career could be very shakey come August. He really needs a big year to justify his position.

Good luck Leroy.

bipolarbeaR
2 Mar 2010, 07:25
Argh! I want him to prove himself almost as much as Gumby >_<

reimersyoubeauty
2 Mar 2010, 16:07
This really needs to stop, its happening far too often on this board. It's pathetic to call one of your own players a spud. Articulate what you don't like about his game rather than use some throw away line, so we can actually create some discussion.

When I have seen this bloke play time after time, I am in a far better position to call him a spud than a supporter from another team. Hence I don't see what your argument is. I support our team but it frustrates me when a player like Jetta who is good for an occasional freakish goal but otherwise is fumble machine who can't hit a target get's a place in the 22 over a player who deserves a spot.

Jonesy1987
2 Mar 2010, 16:14
When I have seen this bloke play time after time, I am in a far better position to call him a spud than a supporter from another team. Hence I don't see what your argument is. I support our team but it frustrates me when a player like Jetta who is good for an occasional freakish goal but otherwise is fumble machine who can't hit a target get's a place in the 22 over a player who deserves a spot.

It was more the 'Thank shit' part, that I took offense to. The guy has just been injured with his career on the line, don't really like the fact that you got satisfaction over him being unable to play for 6 weeks.

reimersyoubeauty
2 Mar 2010, 16:19
It was more the 'Thank shit' part, that I took offense to. The guy has just been injured with his career on the line, don't really like the fact that you got satisfaction over him being unable to play for 6 weeks.

Look obviously I'm not happy that one of our boys who most likely gives everything to the club is hurt so yeh error of judgement on the thank shit comment. But my point is I just don't think his up to senior AFL football at this stage.

Jonesy1987
2 Mar 2010, 16:24
All good :thumbsu:

Lance Uppercut
2 Mar 2010, 16:29

well he's not going to prove anyone wrong when he's injured, is he? :rolleyes:

Kong
2 Mar 2010, 16:32
Jonsey4Mod. :p

But seriously, it's fair enough to say "this guy hasn't made the most of his chances" or whatnot, but to take joy in him getting injured is pretty shit.

Slattery_20
2 Mar 2010, 16:44
Look obviously I'm not happy that one of our boys who most likely gives everything to the club is hurt so yeh error of judgement on the thank shit comment. But my point is I just don't think his up to senior AFL football at this stage.
Correct.
A little more thought before posting.

The bad part for Leroy is a) (I've always thought, anyway) he's been lacking confidence and b) he's reputedly fitter, looks musclier and harder than he's ever been.
I hope he'll still be able to make a go of this season. While he hasn't put it all together yet, all the attributes of a fairly good player are there.

kelvin_sheedy
2 Mar 2010, 16:54
I always thought he'd play 10-12 game this year and i think it's an ok return for him.

He's getting his body right for AFL football and I don't think it's that big a setback in the scheme of things.

I reckon he'll be ready to go next year and cement a spot and show his wares.

Jonesy1987
2 Mar 2010, 17:02
IMO we badly need him to come good, with Hille, Ryder, Gumbleton, Hurley, and Neagle likely to be rotating through our forward line Davey and Jetta will be crucial to keep some balance.

reimersyoubeauty
2 Mar 2010, 17:34
well he's not going to prove anyone wrong when he's injured, is he? :rolleyes:

I very much doubt he will prove anyone wrong even when on the park. Don't know how anybody could possibly be sold on this bloke. Has shown nothing to indicate he could be a decent player apart from some snaps at goal. Williams will fill the foward pocket role perfectly and one of the big boys will have to step up to fill the void of Lloydy and Lucas. Jetta doesn't fit into the equation for me.

Lance Uppercut
2 Mar 2010, 17:46
I very much doubt he will prove anyone wrong even when on the park. Don't know how anybody could possibly be sold on this bloke. Has shown nothing to indicate he could be a decent player apart from some snaps at goal. Williams will fill the foward pocket role perfectly and one of the big boys will have to step up to fill the void of Lloydy and Lucas. Jetta doesn't fit into the equation for me.

you can very much doubt it as much as you like. Different issue to taking pleasure in any players injury, much less an Essendon player.

Jetta is starting his fourth year of football. Won't be a superstar. Might be handy player, may not even make it. But he deserves a chance, & myopic dolts like yourself need to realise that even if players aren't going to make it, they deserve the chance to show it one way or the other, & some players take a bit longer

stay true
2 Mar 2010, 17:48
That's pretty harsh. I agree that he has been underwhelming so far in his career but he has definitely had games where he's shown that he could be a decent small forward.

Just off the top of my head his debut vs Adelaide in 07 was quite exciting and his effort in the last quarter of the 09 anzac day game (apart from THAT fumble, which didn't cost us anyway so lets get over it lol) had a big part in us winning the game. A goal to get us within 2 goals, great pressure and tackling in the forward line that led to Dyson's goal. I'm sure there are more too.

I think some are disillusioned because he was a high draft pick. I'm still keeping the faith.:thumbsu:

reimersyoubeauty
2 Mar 2010, 17:53
you can very much doubt it as much as you like. Different issue to taking pleasure in any players injury, much less an Essendon player.

Jetta is starting his fourth year of football. Won't be a superstar. Might be handy player, may not even make it. But he deserves a chance, & myopic dolts like yourself need to realise that even if players aren't going to make it, they deserve the chance to show it one way or the other, & some players take a bit longer

As i said, error of judgement on the thank shit comment. My view is just that we are losing nothing from this injury. "Thank shit" in reference to that it's not for example Winders or Pears. Not thank shit an Essendon player has hurt themselves. I would not want anyone to get hurt but the fact is Jetta's injury is not going to cost us a game of football any time soon.

He can have a chance in the 2's because he has shown nothing so far. With Davey and Williams, another small cruming foward is not what we need now or in the future. It's obvious that if Jetta is going to be a project player, but why waste time on a small foward when really this is not what we require. Give other blokes a go. All of Williams, Davey and to a degree Monfries although at times a lead up foward are capable of kicking the crumbing goals Jetta occasionally manages. All in all it is my opinion we are wasting time and a spot in the 22 on Jetta. I may be wrong.

reimersyoubeauty
2 Mar 2010, 17:57
That's pretty harsh. I agree that he has been underwhelming so far in his career but he has definitely had games where he's shown that he could be a decent small forward.

Just off the top of my head his debut vs Adelaide in 07 was quite exciting and his effort in the last quarter of the 09 anzac day game (apart from THAT fumble, which didn't cost us anyway so lets get over it lol) had a big part in us winning the game. A goal to get us within 2 goals, great pressure and tackling in the forward line that led to Dyson's goal. I'm sure there are more too.

I think some are disillusioned because he was a high draft pick. I'm still keeping the faith.:thumbsu:

That's fair enough, he has shown glimpses but at times he really just has stood out as someone not at the required level who doesn't belong out there. I would LOVE to see him become a good player for us but i don't see this happening.

Lance Uppercut
2 Mar 2010, 18:14
All of Williams, Davey and to a degree Monfries although at times a lead up foward are capable of kicking the crumbing goals Jetta occasionally manages. All in all it is my opinion we are wasting time and a spot in the 22 on Jetta. I may be wrong.

well now they get their chance. See, not so hard to be a bit positive, is it?

reimersyoubeauty
2 Mar 2010, 18:20
well now they get their chance. See, not so hard to be a bit positive, is it?

Ok. Obviously you know a lot more than me and realise that these blokes would be getting a chance reguardless of Jetta's injury. Fairly bloody irrelevent comment to make. Bottom line is that it's better Jetta is the injured player rather than someone who contributes to us winning matches.

KaaN10
2 Mar 2010, 18:58
All in all it is my opinion we are wasting time and a spot in the 22 on Jetta.

It's not like Jetta has a secure place in the 22, the guy played 6 games last year.

Jonesy1987
2 Mar 2010, 19:03
It's not like Jetta has a secure place in the 22, the guy played 6 games last year.

I think he was unlucky to only play so few. While he didn't set the world on fire, his form at bendigo did have periods of success, but was left unrewarded. Davey's form has been quite poor for awhile now, IMO is only survived by the reputation he forged in his first year.

yaco55
2 Mar 2010, 21:32
I always thought he'd play 10-12 game this year and i think it's an ok return for him.

He's getting his body right for AFL football and I don't think it's that big a setback in the scheme of things.

I reckon he'll be ready to go next year and cement a spot and show his wares.

I suspect that Houli needs to play 10 to 12 quality games to stay on the list.

Big Blow Hard
3 Mar 2010, 10:15
I think he was unlucky to only play so few. While he didn't set the world on fire, his form at bendigo did have periods of success, but was left unrewarded. Davey's form has been quite poor for awhile now, IMO is only survived by the reputation he forged in his first year.

Davey, like Prissa can be forgiven a little for the fact he was still recovering from a knee reco. It seems Prissa was allowed time to recover, but Froggy was expected to come back brilliantly straight away.
Davey does need to show a bit more I agree, goals in particular. But to suggestt Jetta was more deserving of the spot I disagree with. I hope they both be everything they can be this year.

Longy413
3 Mar 2010, 10:51
Ok. Obviously you know a lot more than me and realise that these blokes would be getting a chance reguardless of Jetta's injury. Fairly bloody irrelevent comment to make. Bottom line is that it's better Jetta is the injured player rather than someone who contributes to us winning matches.

He contributed to us winning on ANZAC Day.

Jonesy1987
3 Mar 2010, 14:00
Davey, like Prissa can be forgiven a little for the fact he was still recovering from a knee reco. It seems Prissa was allowed time to recover, but Froggy was expected to come back brilliantly straight away.
Davey does need to show a bit more I agree, goals in particular. But to suggestt Jetta was more deserving of the spot I disagree with. I hope they both be everything they can be this year.

Prismall's output was 10X that of Davey, if was at the same level I have no problem of them recovering at Bendigo.

reimersyoubeauty
3 Mar 2010, 17:01
He contributed to us winning on ANZAC Day.

He tried his little heart out to bugger it up though

Longy413
3 Mar 2010, 17:08
He tried his little heart out to bugger it up though

Want a shovel?

reimersyoubeauty
3 Mar 2010, 17:26
Want a shovel?

Lol it is an absolute joke. Definition of pathetic one eye support who for some reason believes this bloke is decent because he plays for the Dons. You could not justify defending Jetta is he played for any other club. Fact is he wouldn't be getting a game at any other club. And i'll pass on the shovel mate.

stay true
3 Mar 2010, 17:50
Ok, we know you think he's shit. But apart from saying that, why not be constructive and discuss what you think he needs to improve on. You said he's never done anything to suggest he'll be at least decent. We pulled up some examples that might suggest he will be at least decent. No need to get all sooky about it.

reimersyoubeauty
3 Mar 2010, 18:01
Ok, we know you think he's shit. But apart from saying that, why not be constructive and discuss what you think he needs to improve on. You said he's never done anything to suggest he'll be at least decent. We pulled up some examples that might suggest he will be at least decent. No need to get all sooky about it.

I have suggested previously on what he needs to improve on...his disposal (which im reading at fan footy was at 25% last year, not too sure on this figure as it seems ridiculously low even for Jetta) and he needs to figure out a way to get rid of these fumbles which become terrible to watch. Obviously I'm not expert but that's my views. He does have some speed and agility but I'm not sure this will get him across the line.

yodellinhank
3 Mar 2010, 18:29
Lol it is an absolute joke. Definition of pathetic one eye support who for some reason believes this bloke is decent because he plays for the Dons. You could not justify defending Jetta is he played for any other club. Fact is he wouldn't be getting a game at any other club. And i'll pass on the shovel mate.

Leroy is only 21 years old. Way too early to be writing him off. Fair few of the guys taken this season in the drafts were around the same age as Leroy. He obviously showed more than those guys at some stage to be drafted when he was.

I've posted this before somewhere:

Ricky Dyson

Year Games Kicks Marks H.Balls Disp_ Tack
2004 _11___4.8___2____2.7___7.5___0.8
2005 _10___9.1___3.2__4.4___13.5__1.1
2006 _17___7.3___2.3__5.8___13.2__1.6
2007 _11___6.4___2.6__6.3___12.7__1.5
2008 _15___9.6___3.2__8.1___17.8__1.9
2009 _23___11.6__3.4__7.4___19____2.4

Jobe Watson

Year Games Kicks Marks H.Balls Disp__Tack
2003 _1_____0____0____2_____2____2
2004 _7____5.3___3.3___6____11.3__2.3
2005 _5____4.6___2.8__6.4____11___1
2006 _21___9.7___5.4__13.1__22.8__3.3
2007 _19___10.2__4.5__13.1__23.3__3.3
2008 _19___10.2__2.8__13.9__24.1__3.6
2009 _22___10____3.3__14.6__24.7__4.5

Leroy Jetta

2007 _4_____4___2.2___2.5___6.5___1.9
2008 _18___5.4__1.4____3.7___9.2___3
2009 _6____5.8___2____6.3___12.1__2.5

Would you have called for the head of our current captain in his 3rd season of football?

reimersyoubeauty
3 Mar 2010, 19:25
Leroy is only 21 years old. Way too early to be writing him off. Fair few of the guys taken this season in the drafts were around the same age as Leroy. He obviously showed more than those guys at some stage to be drafted when he was.

I've posted this before somewhere:

Ricky Dyson

Year Games Kicks Marks H.Balls Disp_ Tack
2004 _11___4.8___2____2.7___7.5___0.8
2005 _10___9.1___3.2__4.4___13.5__1.1
2006 _17___7.3___2.3__5.8___13.2__1.6
2007 _11___6.4___2.6__6.3___12.7__1.5
2008 _15___9.6___3.2__8.1___17.8__1.9
2009 _23___11.6__3.4__7.4___19____2.4

Jobe Watson

2003 _1_____0____0____2_____2____2
2004 _7____5.3___3.3___6____11.3__2.3
2005 _5____4.6___2.8__6.4____11___1
2006 _21___9.7___5.4__13.1__22.8__3.3
2007 _19___10.2__4.5__13.1__23.3__3.3
2008 _19___10.2__2.8__13.9__24.1__3.6
2009 _22___10____3.3__14.6__24.7__4.5

Leroy Jetta

2007 _4_____4___2.2___2.5___6.5___1.9
2008 _18___5.4__1.4____3.7___9.2___3
2009 _6____5.8___2____6.3___12.1__2.5

Would you have called for the head of our current captain in his 3rd season of football?

Must admit, that's a very fair point.
Possibly Jobe is a standout freak who managed to improve his game dramatically highly within that 4 year period unlike the majority of others. Very different types of players but i suppose there's hope for Leroy yet, if he can be half the player Jobe is i'd be pleased.

Frothies Mcveigh
3 Mar 2010, 19:42
When Jetta played well I really enjoyed watchin him play. Hope he can get his body right.

Jonesy1987
3 Mar 2010, 20:35
Jetta really won us Anzac Day, can't believe I've never noticed he earned us this goal for sure as well.

8or4Z5Dm1L8

bipolarbeaR
3 Mar 2010, 21:39
Broken thumb = Hunger?

stay true
3 Mar 2010, 22:02
Broken thumb = Hunger?
Put his head over the ball in the praccy game and copped a nice shirtfront for his trouble. Hunger?

Longy413
4 Mar 2010, 10:01

Not true. I'm highly critical of a number of our players.
Houli and Hocking the main two.

Jetta isn't one of them.

You keep trying to poke holes in him that aren't there. Jetta was a huge contributor to us winning on ANZAC Day, we don't win without him. A fumble, in the wet and a missed goal, doesn't excuse the goal he helped create for Ryder, the goal he kicked himself, or the tackle that led to Dyson's goal.

Three goals, less one goal missed equals two goals in the black.

You've been anything but two eyed in this conversation.