View Full Version : Indian Premier League 2010
happy_eagle
7 Mar 2010, 17:03
Starts again On Friday
No doubt that the first week will be interesting, but after that it tends to drag on a fair bit
With The Sheffield Shield still going on, what are players like Hussey, Hodge, Warner, Henriques etc... going to do ?
Deccan V Kolkatta is the first game on Friday
The squads for 2010 are
http://i49.tinypic.com/n319j8.jpg
http://i45.tinypic.com/2rqhquq.jpg
http://i45.tinypic.com/2q3c5cp.jpg
http://i50.tinypic.com/se9hyq.jpg
http://i49.tinypic.com/riaf81.jpg
http://i49.tinypic.com/2i7wo49.jpg
http://i46.tinypic.com/2celno6.jpg
http://i46.tinypic.com/33o398p.jpg
I guess i will go for Kokatta again
Looking forward to seing some of the Aussies though, in particular
M.Marsh
S.Smith
D.Hussey
Harris (dont think he will play)
Warner
Henriques
McDonald
Ronchi
Voges
Martyn
Bailey
Add to that Gilly, Hayden, Symonds, Lee :thumbsu:
Any idea which countries wont be taking part due to tours.
Obviously the Australia v NZ series takes priority...any others ?
Gazza_11
7 Mar 2010, 18:04
Mitchell Marsh for Deccan *whoops*
OzBomber
7 Mar 2010, 18:19
I'll be dissapointed if Andrew Symonds gets a game for Deccan. He's done nothing since he was sacked from international cricket. I'd much prefer Mitchell Marsh, but I highly doubt he'll get a game either.
Have they made the number of internationals per side higher this season? I remember there being talk of it to make it more interesting.
Ill Chicken
7 Mar 2010, 19:27
He can't exactly do anything if there aren't matches for him to play in. Is he even playing club cricket still?
His contract is worth what, a million a season or something, so I doubt they're going to let that sit on the side line, considering he also had an impact for Deccan.
Other players not involved will be the English on the Bangladesh tour.
I support Chennai due to Haydos, they should fair rather well and only lack a real fire power quick.
It will be the Super Kings and Daredevils at the top of the table for me, I think the Punjab Kings and the Royals will struggle again, their batting is weak, so a lot will be left up to their bowlers. Knight Riders will have to work pretty hard while they're missing their main stars, so they may struggle to improve from last years placing.
stmookeyj
7 Mar 2010, 19:36
Looking at those rosters, it stikes me that Chennai's bowling attack appears to be super thin.
If the Kings XI Punjab are crap, blame the Tom Moody curse :p
OzBomber
7 Mar 2010, 19:51
He can't exactly do anything if there aren't matches for him to play in. Is he even playing club cricket still?
His contract is worth what, a million a season or something, so I doubt they're going to let that sit on the side line, considering he also had an impact for Deccan.
I'm talking about when he has played for QLD and Deccan. Did nothing in the IPL last year, nothing in the Champions League and nothing in the Big bash. I'm predicting nothing in this year's IPL as well.
With The Sheffield Shield still going on, what are players like Hussey, Hodge, Warner, Henriques etc... going to do ?
Hodge doesn't play Shield cricket anymore.Warner didn't play the last NSW Shield game.I guess he might still have to be around incase he does get selected for their last game.
happy_eagle
7 Mar 2010, 21:14
I remember hearing that the IPL boss said that if the Aussies choose to play Shield cricket ahead of IPL, they will have their contracts torn up
I would think that Hussey, Mcdonald, White, Symonds, Harris and Hopes would want to play in the Shield final
Ill Chicken
7 Mar 2010, 21:30
I'm talking about when he has played for QLD and Deccan. Did nothing in the IPL last year, nothing in the Champions League and nothing in the Big bash. I'm predicting nothing in this year's IPL as well.
http://stats.cricinfo.com/ipl2009/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?id=4801;type=tournament
IPL 2009 - Made 249 odds runs at 35 with a s/r of 150 and took 7 wickets at 22 with e/r of 6.66. He only played 8 matches and they won the competition.
As for the Big Bash, a crap load of players did a lot worse than him who haven't been out of the game as such.
I'm sure he knows that if does stuff all this season in the IPL he'll be out, he'll put in a good showing.
I remember hearing that the IPL boss said that if the Aussies choose to play Shield cricket ahead of IPL, they will have their contracts torn upThat's for the new contracts next year. This year they're allowed to play in the Shield but they don't get paid. Although it's only "allowed" as much as Nannes was "allowed" to choose to play for Victoria in the Champions League.
happy_eagle
7 Mar 2010, 22:00
So with the first match on Friday, here is how the two teams COULD line up
Taking into account that national players from Aus, NZ, BAN, ENG, WI, ZIM will not be able to play :eek:
Deccan
Gilchrist (wk)
Sharma
Gibbs
Laxman
Symonds
M.Marsh
Rao
Vass
Harmeet Singh
Ojha
RP Singh
Kolkatta
Shah
Gangully
Hodge
D.Hussey
Saha (wk)
Matthews
Agarker
Kartik
Langeveldt
Sharma
Mendis
Still only allowed 4 overseas players per team per game. There's 5 and 6 in those two.
happy_eagle
7 Mar 2010, 22:30
Well the teams are going to suck balls then aren't they
Well the teams are going to suck balls then aren't theyYes, but it is an Indian domestic competition (that should have whatever windows I want with as little notice as I want where there is no international or domestic cricket played anywhere else in this universe or any other ones [/Modi])
Hellgood
8 Mar 2010, 08:20
No point getting attached to your favourite team
500 players to be auctioned in July (http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Default/Scripting/ArticleWin.asp?From=Archive&Source=Page&Skin=TOINEW&BaseHref=TOIPU%2F2010%2F01%2F24&ViewMode=HTML&GZ=T&PageLabel=1&EntityId=Ar00100&AppName=1).
Basically squads are reset with each franchise retaining 6 players with two new franchises entering next year.
Yeah, those auctions will be massive. Some smarter buys will be evident, as the teams will have learnt where they went wrong the first time round.
Well the teams are going to suck balls then aren't they
Don't really have a team although I love the IPL, will probably be barracking for Royal Challengers, Delhi and the Royals.
Marklar_33
8 Mar 2010, 11:56
Rajasthan Royals all the way. Very nice top order with Smith and Watson...and good middle order power hitting with Yusuf Pathan...then Tait and Warne, you beauty!
Ill Chicken
8 Mar 2010, 12:47
Watson will miss most of it though, won't be available till after the 2nd of April.
Middle order is average, though it will be interesting to see how Martyn goes.
Carl Spackler
8 Mar 2010, 13:20
Is it on tv here again?
Martin only cover for Watson whilst in NZ... personally I think he will struggle after having been out of the game for so long.
Royals 4 internationals would be Warne, Tait, Watson and Smith. In the event that Tait gets injured or needs a rest then Morkel will step in.
Delhi roster is stacked with internationals... many of which won't much (if any) game time. Vettori's late arrival will at least give Warner a hit, as their other internationals (Nannes, de Villiers and Dilshan) are pretty much guaranteed spots. Ronnie should have a nice holiday in Delhi, injuries aside he probably won't get on the park.
Ironic that blokes like Tait, Hodge and Nannes won't play FC cricket to prolong their careers... but they are willing to risk being blown to bits playing the shorter form of the game. Capitalism and greed, you gotta love it.
I would like to see blokes like Clarke and Johnson playing in the IPL to give them some decent T20 experience. Even though they are in the national side, they have very limited T20 experience and I think would benefit from a 6 week crash course.
Is it on tv here again?
Every game is on One... pretty much all of them live.
Every single game? Wow!
Anyone got the entire One HD schedule for it?
Ill Chicken
8 Mar 2010, 15:16
Should be available on YouTube as well?
Yeah, I've read about that, they've got a YouTube channel up
YouTube.com/IPL
Anyone got the entire One HD schedule for it?
Are you seriously that fricken lazy to google the tv guide... typical gen Y.
http://ten.com.au/hdtvguide_search.htm
The Master88
8 Mar 2010, 19:07
Are you seriously that fricken lazy to google the tv guide... typical gen Y.
http://ten.com.au/hdtvguide_search.htm
I think he was talking about a ONE HD guide for every IPL Game in advance
Thankyou, and likka, you know I'm Gen Y and everything don't you?
Also, that link is crap, I've looked at it before, and I saw 2 games of the IPL on it, I'm looking for the whole season, complete toss.
Cousin Jed
8 Mar 2010, 20:40
You won't see that far in advance. This will give you the first full week
http://www.tvtonight.com.au/wp-content/uploads/ONEM27.pdf
Also, that link is crap, I've looked at it before, and I saw 2 games of the IPL on it, I'm looking for the whole season, complete toss.
:rolleyes:
One is showing all games, vast majority of them live, as it has for the previous two IPL seasons.
There are two game slots in the IPL, afternoon and evening.
IPL has released a fixture for the entire tournament.
Do you honestly need a 6 week TV guide to work out when games will be on? Seriously? Are you incapable of connecting dots or applying simple logic?
The first game of a Saturday or Sunday night double header may be slightly delayed due footy or F1 coverage... but apart from that it is not rocket science mate.
Here is the fixture, as I'm sure you will ask for someone to get you that next... http://www.iplt20.com/fixture.php
[/GenYFrustrationRant].
Go easy, it was a simple question.
With a very simple answer if he bothered to think.
I thought about it, and thought somebody might have the schedule for the whole tournament on Australian TV, I don't need a 6 week schedule, but I think it would be helpful knowing what times my team is playing, just like an AFL supporter would want to look at the fixture and find out when and where there team is playing.
And again, I like how you are assuming that I am a 'Gen Y', for all you know, I could be a 50 year old. This is a good forum, and its the arrogant feral p*icks like you who ruin it.
[/stupidtoolfrustrationover]
Also if anyone is interested there is a IPL Dream Team at virtual sports.
stmookeyj
11 Mar 2010, 03:11
The evening game is usually at 1:30AM EDST, first week games look as though they may be delayed telecast because of Swimming Nationals.
Ill Chicken
12 Mar 2010, 11:00
Hayden to use the Mongoose.
Channel 10's TV guide has it at 1:15am - 5am, considering there is only one game tonight you could assume that'd be the time roughly for all later matches on One's telecast (those starting at 8). They then have the double header on Saturday from 11:15pm to 2:30am, and considering the first early game is an hour earlier than the rest (starting at 3 rather than 4) you'd assume 12-12:15 start time for those games as well (starting at 4).
So merely going by what 10 has released thus far with scheduling you can pretty much guess as to the probable times for the entire tournament within 15-30mins of it starting and merely check at the commencement of the first double header starting at 4 (KKR v RCB).
So yeah, safe guess being late game is anywhere between 1am and 1:30am and the early game is anywhere from 11:00pm (first early match) or midnight - 12:30am start.
The Master88
12 Mar 2010, 13:44
Channel 10's TV guide has it at 1:15am - 5am, considering there is only one game tonight you could assume that'd be the time roughly for all later matches on One's telecast (those starting at 8). They then have the double header on Saturday from 11:15pm to 2:30am, and considering the first early game is an hour earlier than the rest (starting at 3 rather than 4) you'd assume 12-12:15 start time for those games as well (starting at 4).
So merely going by what 10 has released thus far with scheduling you can pretty much guess as to the probable times for the entire tournament within 15-30mins of it starting and merely check at the commencement of the first double header starting at 4 (KKR v RCB).
So yeah, safe guess being late game is anywhere between 1am and 1:30am and the early game is anywhere from 11:00pm (first early match) or midnight - 12:30am start.
I just used a online time converter to convert the Mumbai Indians V Rajasthan Royals game which starts 3:00pm IST and I got this result
Mumbai (http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/city.html?n=44) (India - Maharashtra)
Saturday, 13 March 2010 at 3:00:00 PM
Hobart (http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/city.html?n=396) (Australia - Tasmania)
Saturday, 13 March 2010 at 8:30:00 PM
So it looks like the early games start at 8:30pm here so ONE HD must be delaying that match because of AFL and Formula 1
I just used a online time converter to convert the Mumbai Indians V Rajasthan Royals game which starts 3:00pm IST and I got this result
Mumbai (http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/city.html?n=44) (India - Maharashtra)
Saturday, 13 March 2010 at 3:00:00 PM
Hobart (http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/city.html?n=396) (Australia - Tasmania)
Saturday, 13 March 2010 at 8:30:00 PM
So it looks like the early games start at 8:30pm here so ONE HD must be delaying that match because of AFL and Formula 1
You would assume so as they are the two programs before it, earliest I've seen it thus far is on Wednesday @ 10pm outside of a 4:30pm replay of the KKR-RCB match, I would assume by this the finals would be closer to live than the actual matches will be if watching on One.
evdo1706
12 Mar 2010, 16:05
Hayden to use the Mongoose.
http://static.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/115000/115070.2.jpg
happy_eagle
12 Mar 2010, 19:10
As much as i am going for KKR tonight, i dont see them getting close to Decan
Without Huss, Gayle, Bond
Ill Chicken
12 Mar 2010, 19:11
I've backed him for leading run scorer. If he is successful with it, it'll catch on, if he gets rolled on the handle a few times it'll be the kiss of death.
happy_eagle
12 Mar 2010, 20:30
Whats the advantage of having a bat with a larger handle ?
eddiesmith
13 Mar 2010, 00:01
It is a bit of a joke to hear all these calls for a window of IPL only action, but with 4 Internationals per team including all those who retired just to play it, leaves very few spots for players for it to be worth stopping all international cricket for 2 months
In all honesty, how many players get truly affected?
On the players choosing IPL over domestic cricket, as Nannes himself said, he rarely gets through Shield games, bowling 4 overs every couple of days compared to 20 overs and then backing up the next day, no comparison at all
I would be extremely disappointed if Cameron White chose the IPL over the Shield seeing as he spent most, possibly all, of last season just watching
Fair start from the Chargers, great opening over to the comp
Whats the advantage of having a bat with a larger handle ?
odd design isnt it. i could only imagine it would have a greater sweet spot combined with a longer handle to generate more speed through the shot. guess we will have to see it in action
The Falcon Strike
13 Mar 2010, 00:16
odd design isnt it. i could only imagine it would have a greater sweet spot combined with a longer handle to generate more speed through the shot. guess we will have to see it in action
the weight differential would throw me - after years of having a 'balanced' bat - having one so bottom heavy would feel strange.
kkr for wooden spoon!
The Knight Riders have found their feet, though Chargers still on top. Great 1st over from Vaas.
right there they have consolidated - will really need 140 - 150 to have something to bowl at.
OzBomber
13 Mar 2010, 01:33
Great to see they've got Mike Haysman onboard. One of my favourite commentators. :thumbsu:
Symonds look quite fit for someone that's not been playing regularly. I feel he would still be a good bet for Australia if people can set their ego's aside.
Despite the fact that he failed once again :/.
The Master88
13 Mar 2010, 10:09
Dam you ONE HD I want to see the Mumbai Indians v Rajasthan Royals game live not the NAB Cup final in HD :mad:
I guess I will be watching it on YouTube then
OzBomber
13 Mar 2010, 11:01
Dam you ONE HD I want to see the Mumbai Indians v Rajasthan Royals game live not the NAB Cup final in HD :mad:
I guess I will be watching it on YouTube then
I don't know why they can't show the NAB Cup final on their HD channel and then the IPL on their SD channel. Not that hard is it?
They don't have two channels... one is a SD simulcast of the other. What you want is not possible, and am pretty sure not legal under current broadcasting rules.
Typical start to IPL last night... lots of terrible fielding, woeful shots under pressure, and OTT introductions from Ravi.
You could tell a large number of internationals were missing, the standard of the game was pretty bad.
Reckon this could be Roy's last IPL... his form was woeful during the Big Bash, and he looked terrible last night. There are too few internationals spots for too many players for a team to carry a retired has been.
Ill Chicken
13 Mar 2010, 11:35
A lot of games to go yet, wouldn't be writing Symonds off yet.
The Master88
13 Mar 2010, 12:20
They don't have two channels... one is a SD simulcast of the other. What you want is not possible, and am pretty sure not legal under current broadcasting rules.
It is legal they could do it if they wanted to.
The networks can use both there HD channel and a SD channel for different programming there is talk that channel Ten may drop the ONE SD channel and use it for a new channel so they would then have
TEN SD
ONE HD
ONE SD (becomes a new channel)
Cousin Jed
13 Mar 2010, 17:04
A lot of games to go yet, wouldn't be writing Symonds off yet.
Symonds will have a terrible IPL.
Hope not..
The Master88
13 Mar 2010, 19:30
Who’s watching the game on YouTube right now or are you all waiting for the delayed coverage on ONE HD?
http://www.youtube.com/ipl
Hellgood
13 Mar 2010, 20:34
Who’s watching the game on YouTube right now or are you all waiting for the delayed coverage on ONE HD?
http://www.youtube.com/ipl
I am, because country WA doesn't get One HD, it's not great to watch, but it's decent. I think thats more to do with my internet speed though.
Yusuf Pathan just smacks about 50 runs off 10 balls. And the RRR doesn't even get below 12....
larrikin
13 Mar 2010, 21:40
Anyone know why Martyn's not playing tonight?
DonMania#5
13 Mar 2010, 21:50
Pathan brings up his century off 37 balls, fastest century in IPL, freak..
Cousin Jed
13 Mar 2010, 21:52
100 off 37. ho hum
Who is this knob commentating with Jeremy Coney?
Ill Chicken
13 Mar 2010, 22:45
Royals went from 50's into 5's then got into favourites on betfair.
MoraMora
14 Mar 2010, 00:14
Cant stand commentators who dont know the rules of the game.
Cooldude
14 Mar 2010, 01:09
Pathan was like 15 from 14 balls
Then he just went nuts in the next 23
TorresIsGod
14 Mar 2010, 01:12
That is amazing. 85 in 23 balls. Wow.
Malinga shouldn't be allowed to play cricket with that action.
Anyone know anywhere on the net to *erhm* see the games live? I'm in the states and don't have any pay tv.
youtube
seriously
Yeah keeping his elbow completely straight. ****ing cheater.
youtube
seriously
Ahh, but the problem with that is... the whole world bar USA can access live IPL from youtube... slightly gay!
whats_at_stake
14 Mar 2010, 11:21
You do realise his action is very straight right? He slings it but is a clean action. If you consider his action dodgy surely you must consider Tait's action as dodgy as well?
Good effort to get within 4 runs of that total thanks to Pathan but as I epxected with the Royals, far too reliant on individual performances as without Pathans freak innings only two other batsmen scored over 15 compared to five Mumbai batsmen. Effectively what lost the match was Taits radar in comparison to Malinga's as he basically doubled him (1-46 / 2-22) and 6 wides including one 5w. Not going to win many short games when you treble the extra count.
In the other game, Nannes with 2-12 was nice and Punjab fell away horribly.
Ill Chicken
14 Mar 2010, 16:53
His action is fine.
Ahh, but the problem with that is... the whole world bar USA can access live IPL from youtube... slightly gay!
Well there'll be streams all over the net, but I don't know where to start looking for them. DoubleO7 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=71290) is usually good at finding streams, maybe send him a message?
Ill Chicken
14 Mar 2010, 19:14
Hayden is still using a conventional long blade bat tonight.
Man Dravids dismissal was unlucky.
dibikins
14 Mar 2010, 23:34
Angelo Mathews has been impressive so far for Kolkata. 65 in his first IPL match and followed it up tonight with 4/19.
DoubleO7
15 Mar 2010, 00:15
Well there'll be streams all over the net, but I don't know where to start looking for them. DoubleO7 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=71290) is usually good at finding streams, maybe send him a message?
Indeed I am, Spikey... so, if you are in need, you now know what to do.
Speaking of Malinga's action, it is unique, but it ain't illegal. Entertaining to watch as well, may I add.
happy_eagle
15 Mar 2010, 00:28
Am i the only one that thinks that teams like Deccan and Kolkatta that are playing games early are being disadvantaged as later on in the tournament, when better players become avalible, these teams will have less games to play
Angelo Mathews has been impressive so far for Kolkata. 65 in his first IPL match and followed it up tonight with 4/19.
Absolutely, was the match winner against the chargers.
Symonds start tonight pretty poor, hope he bounces back
dibikins
15 Mar 2010, 01:46
Absolutely, was the match winner against the chargers.
Symonds start tonight pretty poor, hope he bounces back
Seems to be bouncing back now. Gibbs is playing really well for a change though.
Oh and can someone get rid of that dog?! :D
Seems to be bouncing back now. Gibbs is playing really well for a change though.
Oh and can someone get rid of that dog?! :D
Ah i know, spoke to soon, as soon as i posted it he knocks a 4 and then one into the stand, keep it going! was 3 off 17 though so good turn around
dibikins
16 Mar 2010, 00:42
Was hoping Martyn was going to bat tonight but he is still not selected. Hopefully Pathan puts on a show again.
Probbably the one of the more silly threads, so sorry, but watching the Daredevils and Royals, the moths are driving me crazy, i mean reeeeal crazy. Mortein in the back of the telly didnt work. How can the non Indian players put up with it:confused:
[Edit- Dirty Dirk is a star:thumbsu: ]
Check out Rudi, he is sooooo stressed. How can he concentrate under these conditions:confused:
stmookeyj
16 Mar 2010, 01:37
The combination of moths, ads during the over, tactical timeouts and that annoying instrumental that the crowd roars to makes it all hard to watch.
I agree stmookey, but the moths are driving me crazeeeeeeeeeeeey
FFS, We have just heard a 5 minute "interview" in Hindi, and the last thing said was "thank you very much" :confused: Do these silly billies realise this TV feed is going all over the world :confused:
KKR 2 from 2, good results after a poor start to game 1.
King Elvis
16 Mar 2010, 10:45
Check out Rudi, he is sooooo stressed. How can he concentrate under these conditions:confused:
At least he'll have an excuse when he makes one of his trademark blunders.
Was hoping Martyn was going to bat tonight but he is still not selected. Hopefully Pathan puts on a show again.
Smith (SA)
Mascarenhas (ENG)
Warne (AUS)
Tait (AUS)
Who would Marto replace?
The Royals need Smith because their top order batting is rather woeful and the only way he's getting dropped is if/when Watto hops over because they simply do not have an opener who consolidates outside of Smith. The others are bowlers and which is basically where the problems are, Mascarenhas has been the wicket taker while Tait has been expensive and wayward however we know when Tait is on he can change games in an instant and Warne is of course the captain & coach so he's hardly going to drop himself.
Unfortunately all I can see is Marto being used for Smith at this stage and you'd doubt he'd do better straight away.
eddiesmith
16 Mar 2010, 13:05
The combination of moths, ads during the over, tactical timeouts and that annoying instrumental that the crowd roars to makes it all hard to watch.
If I watch any of it the TV is on mute, pretty much standard for any game on the subcontinent
But it is so hard to watch games over there played at night, handy that One is often delayed so only tune it to the times the Victorians are doing something :D
Belnakor
16 Mar 2010, 14:04
Smith has been in pretty poor for T20 for quite awhile, i wouldn't be surprised to see him turfed out
Yeah it's never been his forte really, but when you consider Asnodkar and Ohja, smith is generally the only one lasting past the first 4 overs of the match.
Cooldude
16 Mar 2010, 16:52
Must be just me but Masharenus aka dangeranus probably would be turfed out before Smith. Sure, he got a couple of wickets, but his 110kph dobbly crap and absolutely overrated "hitting" just doesn't get him a place. Surely there are better local Indian players out there
Tait was also downright embarrassing at times yesterday, with the attempted "catch" and his bowling which was down by 20 kphs. He was bowling 130s... and clearly wasn't that fired up for the occasion.
Warnie has a lot of things to sort out, he can do anything but the batting isn't up to scratch and the bowling is starting to fall apart as well
They are clearly a batsman down so I'd swap the useless Pommy player and put in Martyn, then once Watson is back, then they have a lot more firepower to work with