View Full Version : Goulburn Valley FL - 2010 Season
Pages :
[
1]
SUPASTARR
9 Mar 2010, 17:45
Would have thought United would make the 6 at least?? Nobody has mentioned them. I think Mansfield might be the most vulnerable to miss out.
bradrowe#32
9 Mar 2010, 21:29
1. Kyabram
2. Echuca
3. Shepparton Swans
4. Mansfield
5. Rochester
6. Mooroopna
-------------------
7. Tatura
8. Shepparton United
9. Seymour
10. Euroa
11. Shepparton
12. Benalla
Morrison Medalist - Ash Watson (Rochester)
Biggest Disappointment - The struggling numbers in the reserves teams for some of the struggling teams.
Surprise packet - A team wins the flag from fourth, fifth or sixth on the ladder.
Biggest Headline - Swans have lots of injuries.
bradrowe#32
9 Mar 2010, 21:37
Would have thought United would make the 6 at least?? Nobody has mentioned them. I think Mansfield might be the most vulnerable to miss out.
Fair points. United should improve, but who do they tip out of the finals?
Last year's top six was Rochester, Kyabram, Mansfield, Tatura, Mooroopna and Seymour.
Seymour have lost lots of good players, so they could miss. Tatura haven't really picked up much, but still have a solid list. Mansfield and Rochester have both lost some quality players. Kyabram and Mooroopna have picked up some good players.
Echuca, Swans and United should all challenge for finals places. The top eight, possibly nine if including Seymour, should be fighting for six places. Euroa, Bears and Benalla will miss.
Regardless, it's probably going to be one of the tightest years for quite some time.
FOOTYBOSS
10 Mar 2010, 13:42
Premiers: Echuca
Runner up: United
Top 6: Echuca, Kyabram, United, Swans, Mooroopna, Mansfield
Morrison Medallist: Mick Gay (Mooroopna)
Biggest Disappointment: Shep Swans fail in finals again....
Suprise packet: Euroa
Biggest Headline: Whippet returns to the GV.....
No Heart
14 Mar 2010, 19:54
Fair points. United should improve, but who do they tip out of the finals?
Last year's top six was Rochester, Kyabram, Mansfield, Tatura, Mooroopna and Seymour.
Seymour have lost lots of good players, so they could miss. Tatura haven't really picked up much, but still have a solid list. Mansfield and Rochester have both lost some quality players. Kyabram and Mooroopna have picked up some good players.
Echuca, Swans and United should all challenge for finals places. The top eight, possibly nine if including Seymour, should be fighting for six places. Euroa, Bears and Benalla will miss.
Regardless, it's probably going to be one of the tightest years for quite some time.
We hope so mate, I think we are about to come back to earth abit, and as i have said before we have had our time. Speaking to our former Cocker this Jason Eagle is about to take the league by storm, he rates him higher than his former triple premiership player Saad Saad.
No Heart
14 Mar 2010, 20:02
Premiers: Echuca
Runner up: United
Top 6: Echuca, Kyabram, United, Swans, Mooroopna, Mansfield
Morrison Medallist: Mick Gay (Mooroopna)
Biggest Disappointment: Shep Swans fail in finals again....
Suprise packet: Euroa
Biggest Headline: Whippet returns to the GV.....
Premiers ..... Echuca [ and good on them have worked hard to be up there]
Runner up .... Mansfield [ Still got a good side to go close]
Top six ...... Echuca,Swans,Mansfield,United,Mooroopna, and SEYMOUR
Biggest Disappointment..... Perry Meka
Suprise Packet...SEYMOUR [ Im Hoping]
Biggest Headline.......Eagle tested for steroids[massive unit]
blueeyes
14 Mar 2010, 23:01
Premiers ..... Echuca [ and good on them have worked hard to be up there]
Runner up .... Mansfield [ Still got a good side to go close]
Top six ...... Echuca,Swans,Mansfield,United,Mooroopna, and SEYMOUR
Biggest Disappointment..... Perry Meka
Suprise Packet...SEYMOUR [ Im Hoping]
Biggest Headline.......Eagle tested for steroids[massive unit]
Jason Eagle is very Impressive unit.. Having watched him in 08 in the cairns league kick over 100 goals with ease [ inferior to both QAFL and GVFL] not sure whether as exciting as the great Saad Saad.. but will be hard to match up, even by the strongest of teams this season.. an EXCITING individual he is.
Electric Eel
15 Mar 2010, 11:20
Looks like Tarzan plays like Jane
Wouldn't tie Saad's shoelaces!
T.Perry
15 Mar 2010, 13:44
Rochy played against Wodonga Raiders on the weekend in their first hit out and struggled a bit, pretty sure they only kicked 7 or 8 goals. THe raiders have picked up a few, but couldn't see them finishing higher than 4th this year in the O&M. Heath Aitken played well and Pez Oliver kicked 4-5 goals to suggest he'll spend a lot of time up forward this year.
innercircle
15 Mar 2010, 14:27
Rochy played against Wodonga Raiders on the weekend in their first hit out and struggled a bit, pretty sure they only kicked 7 or 8 goals. THe raiders have picked up a few, but couldn't see them finishing higher than 4th this year in the O&M. Heath Aitken played well and Pez Oliver kicked 4-5 goals to suggest he'll spend a lot of time up forward this year.
Any word on how Simon went as coach Tav? First real hit out as coach...
TheGreatBambino
15 Mar 2010, 15:47
Is Damien Yze joining his Brothers at the swans this year?
Ranga69
15 Mar 2010, 16:32
Any news on the other praccy matches over the weekend. United lost by about a goal to northcote park. Both teams were well below full strength but was a good game. Ryan Normington and Sam Dawes were both standouts in the first half for united. Matt davies was also good up forward.
Must have been eating his greens since he left Cairns, size wise wasn't that big , easily shut down if you tag him closely he hates it, a 17 yr old kid did it one day and did he crack a wobbly
footy luver
15 Mar 2010, 19:30
:thumbsd:Any news on the other praccy matches over the weekend. United lost by about a goal to northcote park. Both teams were well below full strength but was a good game. Ryan Normington and Sam Dawes were both standouts in the first half for united. Matt davies was also good up forward.
did normington play for united.i thought he signed at northcote park 2 months ago. i wonder who he will be playing for next week. let me know ranga when he moves on.:thumbsd:
footy luver
15 Mar 2010, 19:33
Is Damien Yze joining his Brothers at the swans this year?
yes he is
Ranga69
15 Mar 2010, 20:56
I think i mentioned that he was a standout for united but you obviously can't read properly. And have you never heard of anyone have a change in circumstances and want to come back to their home town and club. Good on him I say. He has improved a lot since going to Melbourne and will be a massive inclusion for united this year.
T.Perry
16 Mar 2010, 13:47
Any word on how Simon went as coach Tav? First real hit out as coach...
Hey inner.. No word on how Simon (McCarty) went, but he'll go well this year. He's surrounded himself with some quality assistants in Tank McPhee, Steve Rassmussen and Adam Palmer..
Heard a whisper Russell Robertson did his knee in the Swans praccy match on the weekend??
Hope that's not the case, he'll be an awesome acquisition to the GV if he plays..
Ranga69
16 Mar 2010, 14:42
Heard the same thing about robbo but could all be crap. Would be disapointing for the swans and the gv if that is true.
Can Shop
16 Mar 2010, 15:14
I heard that he only clashed knees with someone and he'd already kicked 4 before he'd done it and it was early in the game so he must of went alright then
Ranga69
16 Mar 2010, 16:16
I heard that he only clashed knees with someone and he'd already kicked 4 before he'd done it and it was early in the game so he must of went alright then
I asked a bloke from swans this arvo and he said it was a minor ankle, so I don't think whatever it is will be too serious.
Krakour Magic
16 Mar 2010, 18:50
Interesting. I've watched a bit of Eagle's 09 season, and I certainly wouldn't say he plays like Jane. Only a very strong and brave man would suggest that to this fellow.
As Blueeyes suggested, probably not as exciting as Saad. All credit to Saad too. He was, and is, something of a super star in GV terms.
Eagle would be more in the Chris Stuhldreier mould (I'm a little scared just remembering that guy).
On Eagle - Hard at it, not a lot of carrying on (although I'd heard otherwise), and what impressed me was his efforts after the ball hits the ground. Great left foot, although a little off target (80 goals, 80 points in 09 I think).
I'm surprised, Tampa, that he wasn't big in 08 at Cairns (although kicked 100), because he came to QAFL well pumped up. Absolute G unit. Doesn't look that tall, but standing near him at the huddle, I'd say 6'1" or taller. Massive legs.
And he's usually at full forward (or was for Redlands), so having a full back "tag" you wouldn't be too out of the ordinary.
My tip would be for 120 goals if he can play up to 18 games and if United have some decent supply from the middle.
Michael Barlow (Freo) and Relton Roberts (Richmond), have both been elevated onto the main list at their respective clubs. Great effort from both to make it after not taking the TAC Cup path and getting drafted as teenagers.
Here here Hank, must admit I was surprised a few years back when Barlow didnt get a rookie spot after his final year at school down here in Kilmore, and little Relton Roberts didnt look at all out of his depth for Richmond over at Yea a few weeks back . . . applied himself quite well :thumbsu:
Ditto Doona
Are how refreshing to hear the TAC comp isn't the be all to end all.
Maybe some of those overpaid recruiting officers should have another good look around the countryside instead of going overseas.
And while I think of it great to see a footballer (supposedly too small) in Harbrow(rookie list also?) dominate a game when a lot of "knowledgable" persons are still trying to teach atheletes, rugby players, basketballers etc to play Aussie rules.
And I won't get started on that other bullsh!t idea of another waste of our money in Dubbo East or West Sydney or wherever.
FOOTYBOSS
17 Mar 2010, 17:19
No RSVPs to Magpie party
Not everyone is enjoying the flood of high-priced recruits into Goulburn Valley Football League this season.
Shepparton Swans' luring of former Melbourne teammates Russell Robertson, Adem Yze and Nathan Brown has highlighted an eventful off-season in the competition.
Echuca, Shepparton United and Mooroopna are other Goulburn Valley clubs that have thrown the dollars around.
Then you have Euroa.
The Magpies, too, tried to join in the recruiting party, but repeatedly heard the same message: show me the money.
Euroa coach David Putamorsi will instead focus on developing youth as his club tries to remain competitive.
``It makes me laugh (hearing about all the recruits other clubs have),'' Putamorsi said.
``It is frustrating, but I've been involved in a lot of footy clubs where you've had those recruits and it can work against the club as well, especially for the locals.
``It's all well and good to get these players in to win, but then it's not giving the local kids much of an opportunity and that's how you lose them.
``When the imports just come up and play and then go it can cause a bit of a rift through the club, and the town for that matter, especially a small town.''
Putamorsi spoke to ``30 or 40 players'' during summer, but is becoming disenchanted with where local football is heading.
``A lot of them hold out for more money or won't commit and there's nothing you can do about it,'' he said.
``You've just got to work with what you've got. We're still talking to a few, but it's just hard getting commitment out of players this year.
``Footy is not like it used to be _ it's a lot harder. It's just amazing, even at training, you don't get good numbers like you used to back in the day.''
Putamorsi said big-spending ``minor'' league clubs are also proving a stumbling block.
``You lose one guy and then it just snowballs. His mate goes and his mate goes and a few start saying, `Geez, they've lost a few players,' '' he said.
``They go to another club that might be a bit stronger or minor leagues that offer $300 or $400, whereas we wouldn't pay them and that's hard and you lose a lot of players to that.
``We're not in a position where we'll be dictated to like that. We won't go down that track; we'll just say, `See you later.'
``You've got to take a stand and we can't afford to do it, anyway.''
Heard the same thing about robbo but could all be crap. Would be disapointing for the swans and the gv if that is true.
should be playing this sat in praccy after speaking to him.
Boys i wouldn't get too carried away with Cairns form. Barnett kicked 126 last year and Eagle a ton too. A huge gap from that league to GVFL. Matt Walsh has kicked 100's in the last few seasons also, and he certainly isn't a star. Many say the standard is above KDFL and below Murray league. Best to hold judgement for a few rounds. What is it they say about March champions?
GG Rides Again
17 Mar 2010, 21:07
Got to say well said to Puta and Euroa Footy Club. I know this has come full circle from a few years ago but if Euroa are to survive in GV footy long term they need to have locals playing and develop youth. If they could get 3-4 experienced players they would be competitive along side the younger kids.
If all clubs had a similar philosophy dollars wouldnt be the lynch pin in securing good quality players. You would have them developing without expectation.
GG Rides Again
17 Mar 2010, 21:13
Here here. Barlow will play more than he misses this year and Roberts will also get his chance. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
You might find alot more eyes are on younger players in the GV over the next 2 years as additional talent has to come from somewhere for GC17 and GWS.
Also great to be able to show younger blokes that miss the draft / rookie list initially its not all over and you can work and achieve from outside the "normal" system.
SUPASTARR
17 Mar 2010, 22:54
Ditto Doona
Are how refreshing to hear the TAC comp isn't the be all to end all.
Maybe some of those overpaid recruiting officers should have another good look around the countryside instead of going overseas.
And while I think of it great to see a footballer (supposedly too small) in Harbrow(rookie list also?) dominate a game when a lot of "knowledgable" persons are still trying to teach atheletes, rugby players, basketballers etc to play Aussie rules.
And I won't get started on that other bullsh!t idea of another waste of our money in Dubbo East or West Sydney or wherever.
Couldnt agree more Sparra :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: How many of those 'project' players actually make it??
Boys i wouldn't get too carried away with Cairns form. Barnett kicked 126 last year and Eagle a ton too. A huge gap from that league to GVFL. Matt Walsh has kicked 100's in the last few seasons also, and he certainly isn't a star. Many say the standard is above KDFL and below Murray league. Best to hold judgement for a few rounds. What is it they say about March champions?
I think you will find that Eagle played in the QAFL last year and kicked 80 odd goals from 10-12 games. That form line suggests that he will be a very handy player this year as that league is widely regarded as being a pretty handy standard.
innercircle
18 Mar 2010, 08:05
Got to say well said to Puta and Euroa Footy Club. I know this has come full circle from a few years ago but if Euroa are to survive in GV footy long term they need to have locals playing and develop youth. If they could get 3-4 experienced players they would be competitive along side the younger kids.
If all clubs had a similar philosophy dollars wouldnt be the lynch pin in securing good quality players. You would have them developing without expectation.
Hey GG, Footy Show's on tonight. Your place or mine?
Ha ha.
Remember the days?
Purplesaint29
18 Mar 2010, 15:14
Ha ha.
Remember the days?
Good line up too. Hall, Brown and Sheeds.
Rooster21
19 Mar 2010, 08:14
To any Melbourne based players.....
Anyone who is currently living/working in melbourne, playing in the Gv/ O&M etc etc and need a venue or a group to train with, please PM me with your details.
Anyone is welcome.
Cheers
T.Perry
19 Mar 2010, 10:17
I take your point about March champions, but I reckon you're a bit off the mark by saying there's a 'huge gap' between that comp and the GV.. I also reckon you're being harsh on Matt Walsh - before he went up there he wasn't a star, but if he came back now he'd dominate GV, incredibly athletic and a great kick for goal..
MJ42 made a good point about Eagle and the QAFL.. Really strong league, there would be a bigger gap between that and GV than there is between the cairns league and the GV..
Just watched a few minutes of Benalla v Cor-R/Glen....Benalla up by 4 gls early in the last 1/4......All credit to the the KIDS from Benalla, ran hard, carried the footy and used it well...:thumbsu:
ROOTA#6
20 Mar 2010, 21:43
Interesting listening to Russ Robertson being interviewed on radio this morning. He confirmerd that Woewoedin will pull the boots on for some games for Shepp Swans this season
winning edge
20 Mar 2010, 22:05
swans could have 3 blokes potentially kick 200 goals beetween them yze yaman robertson. they will be very hard to stop all so dynamic and quick will be amazing to watch this year. from what i gather yze out of the square with robertson and yaman given licenses to do what they want. both played very well today for the swans
boofaaa79
21 Mar 2010, 07:31
Interesting listening to Russ Robertson being interviewed on radio this morning. He confirmerd that Woewoedin will pull the boots on for some games for Shepp Swans this season
Its all about the casssh
swans could have 3 blokes potentially kick 200 goals beetween them yze yaman robertson. they will be very hard to stop all so dynamic and quick will be amazing to watch this year. from what i gather yze out of the square with robertson and yaman given licenses to do what they want. both played very well today for the swans
One problem! All the pressure is on Meka to deliver. Every loss, every bad performance form the Melbourne Swans will be scrutinised. What if they make the Grand final undefeated and get rolled? Where do the locals play? Who cares? Its all about Meka and Robbo! You've hit the nail on the head;yze out of the square with robertson and yaman given licenses to do what they want. Thats the whole problem!!!!!! Blokes at the swans doing what THEY want. I hope Perry can deliver a flag otherwise the wolves will be circling . :eek:
And they'll have more than enuff to eat!!:eek:
winning edge
21 Mar 2010, 13:23
well if you had that quality in your forward line wouldn't u tell them to just go out there and do there thing be creative score goals create goals
boofaaa79
21 Mar 2010, 16:06
well if you had that quality in your forward line wouldn't u tell them to just go out there and do there thing be creative score goals create goals
The Swans nobody can go past them hand it to them now if woey has signed aswel how can they be beat???????????????
hardatthefooty
21 Mar 2010, 18:21
No way that QAFL is that far ahead of GV, I played both and both are good but GV much tougher. They are about the same I reckon. Does anyone know if nipper harvey is coaching anywhere this year?
I remember him telling me once that he made one of the teams he coached, can't remember which one sorry, train in their jocks after being beaten......Wonder if that will happen this season.......
will play 6 games for shep swans he is in melb for his Afl coaching course for 3 months during the year.
Just watched a few minutes of Benalla v Cor-R/Glen....Benalla up by 4 gls early in the last 1/4......All credit to the the KIDS from Benalla, ran hard, carried the footy and used it well...:thumbsu:
Agree, Benalla kids played really well when they got used to pace of game, never took a backward step, hard at ball & body.
May get some horrible beatings during the course of the year, but every side that plays them will know they have been in a game.
If can stay injury free will surprise a few.
No Heart
22 Mar 2010, 14:53
The Swans nobody can go past them hand it to them now if woey has signed aswel how can they be beat???????????????
Well on our performance yesterday boofaaaa,the mighty lions can take it right up to them, we looked super the way we moved the ball yesterday from end to end, and we only got beat by 14 goals in the end to East Burwood. :D:D
RustyNail
22 Mar 2010, 20:33
Who will be the gun players for Mansfield in 2010?
sraughny
23 Mar 2010, 10:20
No way that QAFL is that far ahead of GV, I played both and both are good but GV much tougher. They are about the same I reckon. Does anyone know if nipper harvey is coaching anywhere this year?
qafl now called qld. state league division 1 probably a tad better than gv. but cairns league much under estimated. the cairns league beat the rest of country qld. including 5 players from div. 1
randallbone
23 Mar 2010, 11:42
Ha ha.
Remember the days?
I remember the good ol' days IC. Not sure GG would though ha ha! :D
Any news out of Shepp? Rochy played Golden Square on weekend got rolled by about 6 goals. Rochy missing a few though.
innercircle
23 Mar 2010, 12:36
Any news out of Shepp? Rochy played Golden Square on weekend got rolled by about 6 goals. Rochy missing a few though.
Shepp played Toc on the weekend in 4 quarter game. It was supposed to be 6 but the umpires refused to come out for the 5th quarter.
Shepp were ok, missing M Harrap, S Harrap, Lord, O'Sullivan, Allan, P Kennelly.
Without knowing the actual score i think shepp would have won by approx 10 goals. Toc is a massive ground!
Standouts were L Kennelly and AJ Crawford
In all shepp were ok and will probably beat a few sides this year.
How did tat go against flat? heard was a very fast intense game anyone watch?
did pilcher play for rochy ?
The Big Arab
23 Mar 2010, 15:46
did pilcher play for rochy ?
No. Shane McCurry rucked and Innella backed him up.
Pilcher is only playing bombers isnt he?
How did tat go against flat? heard was a very fast intense game anyone watch?
tat won by 5-6 goals, hard to read much into it as both sides played out most of the 2nd half with less than their best side on the park
ROOTA#6
23 Mar 2010, 19:27
No. Shane McCurry rucked and Innella backed him up.
Pilcher is only playing bombers isnt he?
Pilcher is on the Bombers list but will play at Strathfieldsaye if not required. Has been training at Rochy due to work I have been told
tuckylives
24 Mar 2010, 12:09
Can anyone on here give me some information on a bloke named Josh Stammers from Tatura?
T.Perry
24 Mar 2010, 12:32
Can anyone on here give me some information on a bloke named Josh Stammers from Tatura?
Was a pretty handy junior - think he played some games for the bushies (?) and had a yr or 2 way back at Merrigum and went real well. From all reports a pretty smooth mover.. Red head, though, so you've always gotta be weary..
In other news, Mansfield got smashed by Heidelberg at Mansfield on the weekend to the tune of 15 goals.. Not ideal preparation heading into round 1, apparently they had their full squad in, while the tigers had 4-6 out.
Ex-shepp player Matt Chapman played ok in the 2nd half for his new side (Heidelberg), though has a bit of work to do if he wants to be a regular one's player.
tuckylives
24 Mar 2010, 14:08
Was a pretty handy junior - think he played some games for the bushies (?) and had a yr or 2 way back at Merrigum and went real well. From all reports a pretty smooth mover.. Red head, though, so you've always gotta be weary..
Thanks Tav. He's a big, well built boy and looks to be pulling on the red and white stripes at Tocumwal this season on a very good pay packet.
John Sheils, ex-Benalla and Tat also heading that way, must be a bit of room to move with Mellington departing.
giveitawash
24 Mar 2010, 17:16
Is this the same josh stammers that played in a tatura reserves flag last year?? Wouldnt have thought he would be worth a big pay packet would he???:eek:
tuckylives
25 Mar 2010, 09:17
Is this the same josh stammers that played in a tatura reserves flag last year?? Wouldnt have thought he would be worth a big pay packet would he???:eek:
Yes. Apparently was more than capable of holding a senior place, but had problems with the senior coach.
In other news, congratulations must go to Relton Roberts, who was named in Richmond's starting XVIII for tonight's clash against Carlton. Well done, Relton.
live the dream
25 Mar 2010, 09:41
Yes. Apparently was more than capable of holding a senior place, but had problems with the senior coach.
In other news, congratulations must go to Relton Roberts, who was named in Richmond's starting XVIII for tonight's clash against Carlton. Well done, Relton.
How come players supposedly have a problems with the coach when they can't get a game? It is interpreting that he didn't get a game because he didn't get along with the coach...without knowing what happens at Tat, I bet this is not the case. He looked to have had opportunities at various times but I've got no doubt having 2 vic country ruckman already, it would've made it difficult to give him the opportunities he would've wanted. It can sometimes unbalance a side when you have 3 ruckman in the starting line up. Yes he may have been able to play key position at times on the right match up possibly? But I can understand why he may have had limited opportunities. It's probably a good decision by Stammers if he wants to progress as a player to leave, but I doubt Tat had anything against him.
rogerdoger
25 Mar 2010, 11:33
Here here. Barlow will play more than he misses this year and Roberts will also get his chance. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
You might find alot more eyes are on younger players in the GV over the next 2 years as additional talent has to come from somewhere for GC17 and GWS.
Also great to be able to show younger blokes that miss the draft / rookie list initially its not all over and you can work and achieve from outside the "normal" system.
You still about????
Can Shop
25 Mar 2010, 14:17
Will be interesting to see what sort of read the football magazine is tomorrow,
See it advertised in the shepp news with the new united recruits on the front cover,
Been talking to a few blokes would of thought it would of been a perfect idea to get a picture of the Ex Melbourne players now playing for the swans on the front cover. Would of been easier to sell the marketing inside the magazine with kids taking it down to the swans to get it signed by the ex afl players. But just an opinion i guess!!
GG Rides Again
26 Mar 2010, 07:20
You still about????
Deja Vue last night Rodger. Is it 2009 or 2010 this year as going by the first game of footy I cant tell. The only difference is obviously your phone has been confiscated whilst you watch.
Roger is it true you have been spotted on the training track this year at more than 1 club???
No Heart
26 Mar 2010, 15:49
Roger is it true you have been spotted on the training track this year at more than 1 club???
Looking forward to watching Saad Saad playing at Kings Park on Sunday afternoon:thumbsu::thumbsu: Not looking forward to the jumper he will be wearing:thumbsd::thumbsd:
Hit the post
27 Mar 2010, 18:37
Echuca beat ormond today 16.13 to 1.2.
FOOTY07!
28 Mar 2010, 14:52
how'd Saad go in his retrun to kings park
Ashtray
28 Mar 2010, 18:13
Hasn't changed a bit. Kicked plenty of goals and did what he liked.
bedford
28 Mar 2010, 18:35
Echuca beat ormond today 16.13 to 1.2.
It was a blow out after the last break, a big difference in class. Ormond had a few of the older bigger players out and probably the average was about 20.
Was very impressed with Echuca, they have picked up some very good players.
s hickson
28 Mar 2010, 21:55
Barlow, WHAT A FREAK!!!!:D
rockmellon
29 Mar 2010, 11:55
Barlow is a good example for young blokes that your,e not finished from playing the Big time at 18/19..too many young guys chuck in the hard work to make it.. we will see a change in recruiting at AFL level now for sure
No Heart
29 Mar 2010, 12:19
Yer kicked those goals in the first qtr only Saad can kick, then a little quite in the 2nd and 3rd, and good last qtr, but in saying that he kicked 6.Was happy with the way the kids played[ the new breed] and we went down by about 5 goals , I think in the end. Was good to see Schottner doing the running and should be back playing about round 2-3 after his groin opp. :thumbsu:
footy luver
29 Mar 2010, 17:05
Yer kicked those goals in the first qtr only Saad can kick, then a little quite in the 2nd and 3rd, and good last qtr, but in saying that he kicked 6.Was happy with the way the kids played[ the new breed] and we went down by about 5 goals , I think in the end. Was good to see Schottner doing the running and should be back playing about round 2-3 after his groin opp. :thumbsu:
seymour surprised . throw in p.colbert shotty lorraine russo koford and igor and you will find they will be competitive. bernie has some good kids to work with. apparently from all educated reports kings park has never seen such superb umpiring yesterday. saad will only get better. a bit rusty
Hit the post
29 Mar 2010, 18:30
Tips for round 1.
Echuca vs Seymour
Shep vs Swans
Mansfield vs United
Mooroopna vs Euroa
Kyabram vs Rochester
Benalla vs Tatura
Electric Eel
30 Mar 2010, 07:35
Tips for round 1.
Echuca vs Seymour 45pts
Shep vs Swans 100pts
Mansfield vs United 11pts
Mooroopna vs Euroa 69pts
Kyabram vs Rochester 27pts
Benalla vs Tatura 41pts
NOT TELLIN U
30 Mar 2010, 08:36
Tips for round 1.
Echuca vs Seymour - 54 pts
Shep vs Swans -48 pts
Mansfield vs United - 23pts
Mooroopna vs Euroa - 67pts
Kyabram vs Rochester - 43 pts
Benalla vs Tatura - 32pts
Bright Boy
30 Mar 2010, 11:49
Going to have a look first hand at the Big Eagle take on the Eagles on Saturday. Looks like match of the round for mine.
Jimmy O'Grady should be a handy pick up for Mansfield, was a integral part of Vermont's 3 peat a few years back.
Can Shop
31 Mar 2010, 10:50
i know there's not alot of poster's on here from the shepp area but have heard a rumour that the swans will field a below full strength senior side first up. They want to bring out some of there recruits/attractions when they play there first home game so they get a big gate. whats everyones thoughts on this?
Electric Eel
31 Mar 2010, 11:59
I think Perry's more interested in 4 points than a big crowd to watch his circus.
I would expect them...(YZE, ROBERTSON, BROWN, JARJOURA) all to play or the bears might spring an upset & bite Perry on the arse!
Can Shop
31 Mar 2010, 12:25
I totally agree that he would be after the 4 points, but thats the word going around. Just thought that i'd post it. Lets hope they all rock up and turn it on and set the secene for a good GV Footy Season.
live the dream
31 Mar 2010, 12:29
i know there's not alot of poster's on here from the shepp area but have heard a rumour that the swans will field a below full strength senior side first up. They want to bring out some of there recruits/attractions when they play there first home game so they get a big gate. whats everyones thoughts on this?
Good rumour....as if!!
After attending wed nights after training meal and hearing the side read out rest assured its at the fulliest strength apart from woe who will play mid year. rest assured perry has left no one out and his response when i told him he has been branded with the circus name was yeh well lets get the show on the road and put those crictics to rest
Can someone post the sides for this weekend
bradrowe#32
2 Apr 2010, 23:17
Two games tonight;
Shepparton Swans 18.19-127 d. Shepparton 11.18-84
Rochester 19.15-129 d. Kyabram 15.19-109
Russell Robertson kicked 7 goals. The Bears-Swans match was actually pretty close for most of it. I didn't hear the full story, but the 2nd quarter went for 40 minutes or so. Apparently there were a few blues and a couple of players sent off, but refused to leave the ground, and there was a head-count. I think that's accurate, but not sure.
Rochy had a very good win. Not many would have tipped that. Sounded like that was a very good game. Elliot Bowen kicked five goals, Kayne Pettifer four and Perry Oliver was Rochy's BOG with four goals.
The Circus is back in town!
Two games tonight;
Shepparton Swans 18.19-127 d. Shepparton 11.18-84
Rochester 19.15-129 d. Kyabram 15.19-109
Russell Robertson kicked 7 goals. The Bears-Swans match was actually pretty close for most of it. I didn't hear the full story, but the 2nd quarter went for 40 minutes or so. Apparently there were a few blues and a couple of players sent off, but refused to leave the ground, and there was a head-count. I think that's accurate, but not sure.
Rochy had a very good win. Not many would have tipped that. Sounded like that was a very good game. Elliot Bowen kicked five goals, Kayne Pettifer four and Perry Oliver was Rochy's BOG with four goals.
Yeah went to the Rochy v Ky game and was a high standard of footy, Rochy ran in numbers better than Ky and their delivery into the forward line especially in the first 1/4 was centimetre perfect, where as Newman, Pettifer and co had to work hard for most of their goals. 24 Seddon is a jet for Ky.
My man on the ground at Deakin said that 2 swans players were sent off in the 2nd 1/4 and when the head count was taken they still had 17 players on the ground. There score of 53pts at the time was duly wiped from the scoreboard. When the sides came out after half-time the score was miraculously put back up, so may still be more to be played out there as that 53pt deduction would see Shepp Bears get up by 10pts.
How is Shane Woewodin going to play for Shepp Swans, when he is the coach of East Fremantle in the WAFL?
wheresyourdidak
3 Apr 2010, 10:00
Yeah went to the Rochy v Ky game and was a high standard of footy, Rochy ran in numbers better than Ky and their delivery into the forward line especially in the first 1/4 was centimetre perfect, where as Newman, Pettifer and co had to work hard for most of their goals. 24 Seddon is a jet for Ky.
My man on the ground at Deakin said that 2 swans players were sent off in the 2nd 1/4 and when the head count was taken they still had 17 players on the ground. There score of 53pts at the time was duly wiped from the scoreboard. When the sides came out after half-time the score was miraculously put back up, so may still be more to be played out there as that 53pt deduction would see Shepp Bears get up by 10pts.
Surely the Bears will put in a protest to get the 4 points. Meka would have made a scene I'm sure. The Ky boys we're a bit off the boil last night, though they played some great direct footy for 10 minutes in the 3rd quarter. Rochy were deserving winners, with much cleaner disposals but Ky will improve alot on that display.
Bloody hell it has only taken one round and Perry and his men are in the news for controversial reasons.....couldn't see anything like this coming!!!!
superfreak
3 Apr 2010, 10:35
New rules are that if a team has too many players on the field, just the score from that quarter is wiped, not the entire score. (i.e. they should have gone back to 4.4).
Rick Fortune
3 Apr 2010, 10:54
New rules are that if a team has too many players on the field, just the score from that quarter is wiped, not the entire score. (i.e. they should have gone back to 4.4).
Actually, no it's not. According to the VCFL rule book, the score stands as is, a Free Kick and optionally a 50 are paid against the offending team, and a report is made to the relevant league executive, who'll make a decision on how to handle the situation.
I was one of the goal umpires at the game in question, and we had to double check the rule book to be sure.
Can't/wont say too much else about the whole thing as there's 3 reported players in the game and the league report as well.
GG Rides Again
3 Apr 2010, 11:36
Surely the Bears will put in a protest to get the 4 points. Meka would have made a scene I'm sure. The Ky boys we're a bit off the boil last night, though they played some great direct footy for 10 minutes in the 3rd quarter. Rochy were deserving winners, with much cleaner disposals but Ky will improve alot on that display.[/B]
Rochy will improve alot from that as well. Ky were well held with key performers and I thought Cavallaro did the number on Atkins along with Vale playing well on Newman. Newman is dangerous but was getting the ball to far away from goals. Move that won the game was Campbell into the ruck in the last quarter. Dominated the centre square and got first use to on ballers.
Bloody hell it has only taken one round and Perry and his men are in the news for controversial reasons.....couldn't see anything like this coming!!!!
got to agree its was the most intresting night my understanding was that a player was yellow carded whilst on the bench the umpire showed him the card when he was sitting down after interchange had been made and to top it all he was the wrong player. the player involed stayed on the ground think this ones for the investigatiion officer to look at not really sure who was at fault but umpries struggled with the game most of the night.
Actually, no it's not. According to the VCFL rule book, the score stands as is, a Free Kick and optionally a 50 are paid against the offending team, and a report is made to the relevant league executive, who'll make a decision on how to handle the situation.
I was one of the goal umpires at the game in question, and we had to double check the rule book to be sure.
Can't/wont say too much else about the whole thing as there's 3 reported players in the game and the league report as well.
Any names ??????
Scores from today gents???
United beat Mansfield by about 90 points. Massive crowd. Eagle is a freak show. One of the best fwds I have seem in country footy. Kicked 8-8