View Full Version : What's in your stereo at the moment?
happy_in_hell
13 May 2003, 14:53
INXS - The Years 1979 - 1997 - has made me aware of what a great talent Hutchence was (although he would have not done it without the Fariss Bros.
Excellent CD
Anyone else?:)
mouldy_bread
13 May 2003, 15:39
Sara Storer - Beautiful Circle
Thursday- Five Stories Falling
Excellent CD's.
El Scorcho
13 May 2003, 15:41
Less Than Jake - Losing Streak
Mobbenfuhrer
13 May 2003, 15:46
Goon Show - "Scrudge"
CarterS
13 May 2003, 16:07
Jon Spencer Blues Explosion!
clucas91
13 May 2003, 16:18
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty soundtrack. :D
BomberGal
13 May 2003, 16:37
Oasis - Heathen Chemistry (mainly)
Jimmy Eat World - self titled
Red Hot Chili Peppers - By The Way
Port1978
13 May 2003, 16:37
Jimmy Barnes - Hits
Lady Lawrence
13 May 2003, 16:38
Honestly?
"the best of wham" :o
I'll change it soon but I had an urge!
Fat Pizza
13 May 2003, 16:41
Smokers In Love by The Lucksmiths
FreoDocker
13 May 2003, 16:48
The Beta Band - The Three EP's
Leaping Lindner
13 May 2003, 16:50
Right at this moment.......
Neil Young and Crazy Horse "Weld" and it's on vinyl:eek: (younger posters should ask their dads what vinyl is.)
Playing "Rockin' in the free world" VERY loud as I type.:cool:
In the stacker...
The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
Zwan - Mary Star of the Sea
Smashing Pumpkins - Siamese Dream
" " - Gish
Slayer - God Hates us All
Metallica - Ride the Lightning
At home...
TurboNegro (good call NorthBhoy!!)
Disturbed (utter garbage)
Erwin Thomas
Sleeping with ghosts - Placebo
NorthBhoy
13 May 2003, 18:36
Originally posted by Carlos
At home...
TurboNegro (good call NorthBhoy!!)
You like?
I thought the Scandanavian Leather title might grab ya. How good is the opening riff to the second song?
At home
Hammerfall - Legacy of Kings (Excellent )
Pantera - Vulgar Display (Patchy)
Bleach - Nirvana (Pass me the razorblades Kurt....Ta)
Lost Horizon - Awakening the World (First one, and yes, Darky, it's better)
Automobile
QOTSA - Songs for the Deaf (Only starting to grow on me now, three weeks after purchase. Pretty damn good)
Soundgarden - Best of (No comment required)
Thin Lizzy - Jailbreak (Go Phil)
Mr Eagle
13 May 2003, 18:38
Seven Mary Three - American Standard
Live - Birds of Pray (leaked copy)
Macca19
13 May 2003, 18:48
Various Artists - Drum n Bass Assassins
ArtCore Volume 4
Fabric 09 - Slam
Bedrock Breaks 2 - Fractured
Global Underground 024 - Nick Warren
Rennie Pilgrim - Nu Skool Breaks
Jungle Funk - Jungle Funk
AtJazz - Lab Results
Bonobo - Sweetness
GoEagles
13 May 2003, 19:19
Meja - All 'bout the money
Dogwatcher
13 May 2003, 20:43
the beginnings of the polyphonic spree - the polyphonic spree
The Many Faces Of Oliver Hart - Eyedea
Re:Release - Juggaknots
Land Of The Giants - Downsyse
hans moleman
13 May 2003, 21:58
Right this very moment?...
Del - Future Development
CarterS
13 May 2003, 22:07
Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Live - Birds of Pray (leaked copy)
How is it?
Royal Trux-Accelerator
New York Dolls-epon
Originally posted by CarterS
Jon Spencer Blues Explosion!
Hey mate can you give me any advice on what are the best albums, I'm trying to get hold of Orange at the moment.
thanks
mellowyellow
13 May 2003, 22:24
At the minute.....
Cold Chisel-chisel
Bruce ****burn -silver wheels
Fleetwood Mac - Rumors
Ray Nolan
13 May 2003, 22:32
At the moment:
R.E.M. - Automatic For The People
Had a mate around before and was showing off the wares : Sands Of Time demo by Arkaya, now known as Black Majesty. Full length album release expected in September.
Most regular feature of the playlist over the last week has been Alice Cooper's Killers album. Some absolute gems on that one, especially the underrated Desperado and the never-mentioned album track Halo Of Flies.
Originally posted by hans moleman
Right this very moment?...
Del - Future Development
Dope album. it's cool to see another poster who digs the funky homosapien.
Where'd you get your copy? I've still only got it on tape. I know that its on the Hiero Emporium but I can't be stuffed ordering just that CD as shipping is way too expensive.
CarterS
14 May 2003, 00:31
Originally posted by DIPPER
Hey mate can you give me any advice on what are the best albums, I'm trying to get hold of Orange at the moment.
thanks
I wouldn't really call myself an expert on them. But if you don't own any of their albums you should go for Orange, Extra Width is also a good one but I haven't heard too much of their stuff. I am still getting into them myself really as I am allot of these contemporary bluesy rock bands that are popping up (The White Stripes' early stuff an example).
On PC
Radiohead - Live accoustic
On stereo stacker
Radiohead -The Bends
Velvet Underground-Chronicles
The Verve-Urban Hymms
Jimi Hendix- Electric Lady Land
Linkin Park-Hybrid Theory
doug thomas
14 May 2003, 10:59
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Right at this moment.......
Neil Young and Crazy Horse "Weld" and it's on vinyl:eek: (younger posters should ask their dads what vinyl is.)
Playing "Rockin' in the free world" VERY loud as I type.:cool:
Good one LL. I been listening to "Wonderful" by Circle Jerks and "Roman Beach Party" by Celibate Rifles on vinyl.
Ya just can't beat vinyl. I even have a vinyl couch:p
Rocco Jones
14 May 2003, 12:52
elephant- the white stripes
the datsuns
brmc- black rebel motorcycle club
wiretap scars- sparta
Mr Eagle
14 May 2003, 12:56
How is it? Far better than the vomit that was V. Musically its a step in the right direction, but Ed's lyrics are still coming out mediocre, and he's still trying to sing falsetto at times. He's a silly, silly boy :) Not back to the glories of TC or SS, but it's a beginning.
Lockyer24
14 May 2003, 16:43
Nick Warren GU 24
Phil K Balance
Porthos
14 May 2003, 17:52
fast asleep - funki porcini
In the car, an mp3 CD of Aussie tracks, including songs by:
28 Days
AC/DC
Alex Lloyd
Angry Anderson
Area 7
Australian Crawl
Black Sorrows
Bodyjar
Cold Chisel
Crowded House (sort of Aussie)
Eskimo Joe
Frenzal Rhomb
Grinspoon
Hoodoo Gurus
Hunters and Collectors
Icehouse
INXS
Jebediah
John Farnham
Johnny Diesel and the Injectors
Kevin Bloody Wilson
Killing Heidi
Klinger
Loki
Men at Work
Mental As Anything
Midnight Oil
Motorace
Natalie Imbruglia
Noiseworks
Palladium
Paul Kelly
Powderfinger
Ratcat
Redgum
Regurgitator
Rhubarb
Scared Weird Little Guys
Screaming Jets
Sherbet
Silverchair
Six And Out
Skyhooks
Something For Kate
Split Enz (OK not Aussie but we'll claim 'em)
Sunk Loto
Taxiride
The Cruel Sea
The Easybeats
The Living End
THe Superjesus
The Tenants
The Whitlams
TISM
182 tracks in all
Blues_Girl
14 May 2003, 19:40
Westlife - Greatest Hits
hans moleman
14 May 2003, 20:46
Originally posted by aesop
Dope album. it's cool to see another poster who digs the funky homosapien.
Where'd you get your copy? I've still only got it on tape. I know that its on the Hiero Emporium but I can't be stuffed ordering just that CD as shipping is way too expensive.
my friend had it on cd.
i think he bought it while he was in japan...
nevertheless, a great album.
Lenny29
14 May 2003, 20:58
In the 3 CD stacker thing:
Mandy Moore - Mandy Moore
Delta Goodrem - Innocent Eyes
Sophie Monk - Calendar Girl
Lockyer24
14 May 2003, 21:01
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
Westlife - Greatest Hits
Is there a East 17 Greatest Hits? Cos if there is I would like you to buy it and lend it to me ;)
Originally posted by FreoDocker
The Beta Band - The Three EP's
good on ya... :cool:
currently on my very dusty looking 3cd hi-fi...
beck - seachange
gang of four - entertainment
blur - think tank
In my pc at the moment:
Deftones - White Pony
Have always been a fan of this band, but never quite been able to fully sink my teeth into any of their albums from start to finish. Funnily, through my crap computer speakers, i think i've finally discovered the perfect vibe to listen to this band!!
harry_hawka
14 May 2003, 23:47
Grinspoon - Guide to better living
Nirvana - Greatest Hits (the latest one)
Oasis - Whats the story...
Dogwatcher
15 May 2003, 11:03
Originally posted by Lockyer24
Is there a East 17 Greatest Hits? Cos if there is I would like you to buy it and lend it to me ;)
No East 17, but Miss DW and myself purchased The Power of Snap - Snap's singles releases on the weekend.
Great year eight memories right there.
Back on topic and I now have Beaverloop's Resisitance is Useful in my player, with Jimmy Little's The Messenger to quickly follow.
Desredandwhite
15 May 2003, 12:11
Right this minute?? My mix playlist of 1931 mp3s (4.9 days of music, apparently) on random :D
But albums I've been listening to recently...
Norah Jones - Come away with me
Beth Orton - Central Reservation
Sixpence None the Richer - Divine Discontent
Weezer's green album
goaldrush
15 May 2003, 13:14
Tony Woods and his Footy Show Album
POD Satelite
John Farnham The Last Time
Norah Jones Come away with me.
well, my cd player is my xbox. damn it this keyboards caps key doesnt work. so it has the harry potter 2 dvd in it [which i bought the other night while ****ed on sake]
bugman5
15 May 2003, 21:14
Just at the moment:
Blowback - Tricky
Hot Dogma - TISM
Songs for the Deaf - QOTSA
Noddy Holder
16 May 2003, 00:11
Macy Gray - The Id
vanders
16 May 2003, 01:08
Dannii - Neon Nights
I am quite fond of this, some really good tracks on it :)
Leaping Lindner
16 May 2003, 08:00
Originally posted by bugman5
Just at the moment:
Hot Dogma - TISM
Never turn right at Swanston Street:D
Blues_Girl
16 May 2003, 09:43
Originally posted by Lockyer24
ROFL! You cheap ****!
I've got a better idea....why don't we create our own! Cause I don't think they released one!
Rusty Brookes
16 May 2003, 12:17
Originally posted by Darky
Most regular feature of the playlist over the last week has been Alice Cooper's Killers album. Some absolute gems on that one, especially the underrated Desperado and the never-mentioned album track Halo Of Flies.
One of my all time faves-Halo of Flies is an incredible song. Dead Babies is a ripper as well.
This week it's been:
The Nomads-Showdown 2 (Swedish garage punk legends)
Best of Bob Marley and the Wailers-maybe it's the Australian Tour of the West Indies getting me in the mood but I've really been diggin' Bob lately
Best of Black Sabbath
The Ramones-Road to Ruin
The Who-Live at Leeds
Do the Pop Compilation - (in particular, the New Christs, Minuteman and the Screaming Tribesmen)
I also heard some of the new Turbonegro album and it sounds great. I haven't bought it yet though.
I've been rotating six cds for the last 3 months, you'd think I'd get sick of them wouldn't you? Well... yeah, but I can't afford new cds.
Counting Crows - August and Everything After.
Dar Williams - The Green World
Dar Williams - The Honesty Room
Jewel - Spirit
Lucksmiths - Where were we?
Lusksmiths- Why that doesn't surprise me
As much as I love them all... I REALLY need new cds. I'm about ready to rip out my ears.
SydneyBomber
16 May 2003, 22:30
Machinehead - Hellalive
Marduk - World Funeral
Vader - Litany
Cradle of Filth - Damnation and a Day (growing on me slowly, but still not convinced)
Old Mans Child - In Defiance of Existence
Opeth - Deliverance (trying to work out what all the fuss is about - it's not bad, but the way some people have been ****ing on about it boggles the mind)
I wouldn't really call myself an expert on them. But if you don't own any of their albums you should go for Orange, Extra Width is also a good one but I haven't heard too much of their stuff. I am still getting into them myself really as I am allot of these contemporary bluesy rock bands that are popping up (The White Stripes' early stuff an example).
Thanks for that, if you're getting into all this sort of stuff then you might like( if you haven't heard it already) The Big Come Up by the Black Keys.
They're a white blues 2 piece from Ohio, they obviously get tarred with the red & white brush but they're music is a lot rawer.
This is a killer album, it's a big sound whilst being very low fi & it's full of some clunking guitar sounds.