View Full Version : The Offical Non-Essendon Match Thread
Skeeta Olly
14 Mar 2010, 19:06
This thread is on a few boards here as well as being on other forums and provides supporters with a good opportunity to discuss other clubs.
Some points of interest
- Barry Hall
- Dogs win NAB Cup
Etc.
Skeeta Olly
18 Mar 2010, 15:48
Some things I'm looking at for the opening round of this season.
Barry Hall - First H/A match in a while and it should be good to see how he holds up. In the NAB Cup, you could see that glint in his eye that the old Barry was still there. Although, if he gets the delivery he got in the NAB Cup, he can't really be frustrated.
Hawthorn - Down to 1 ruckman, basically. Although good, Grimley is way too raw. Only really started playing footy again 1-2 years ago. Played some AGSV and TAC (I think). Skipper going down also doesn't help and we all know about Bailey last season. Burgoyne must be shattered, with all their ruckman injured;).
Brisbane - For some reason I don't seem to hate them nor dislike any of their players (bar Fev) and I hope they make the finals (as long as it's not at the expense of us).
BABYBOMBERS2007
18 Mar 2010, 15:53
I think the Dogs will win the flag as long as Hall is fit and playing. I don't think he will get suspended this year. I think he really wants to change.
Who exactly are Hawthorn going to use as a ruckman now?
Skeeta Olly
18 Mar 2010, 15:58
They'll have Renouf and I expect a few other players will give him a chop out. Much like Ryder and Hooker. You've got Roughead who might do a bit of rucking in the forward line then you've also got some 2nd year rookies that might be given a go.
BABYBOMBERS2007
18 Mar 2010, 16:03
True. Before Natanui (and after Seaby lucked out), Lynch would pinch hit for Cox, so I suppose that's what they will do. Unless they promote a rookie or something like that.
Frothies Mcveigh
18 Mar 2010, 17:05
Hall is gonna be dangerous (in a good way) in that Bulldogs team.
As good as Carlton look, Richmond look even worse than last year.
Paul Bower couldn't hit a target if his life depended on it.
Apparently Robert Walls doesn't only mistake Essendon players (calling Pears Myers, anyone?).
"I think he'll be a superstar for Carlton, Chris Yarra."
YouveBeenReimered
25 Mar 2010, 20:00
Haven't seen much in this match tbh. Very good atmosphere which is making this game seem better than it is. Carlton's young midfielders are all class though.
donsman4eva
25 Mar 2010, 21:03
Ben Nason looks like a decent prospect. Quick, long kick, dreadlocks.....
But If Relton Roberts is really in their best 22, Richmond are more screwed than most of us think.
I actually thought both of them looked poor.
Granted it was their first match, so judgement can be reserved for a while yet. Perhaps a few years.
kelvin_sheedy
25 Mar 2010, 21:16
If we can't get 4 wins from the Tiges and the Blues this season then I'll be ropeable.
They are both terrible and should be easy pickings.
If we can't get 4 wins from the Tiges and the Blues this season then I'll be ropeable.
Hahaha, please. We have one poor game this season and you'll already be there.
As for the game, Carlton looked almost as bad as Richmond. It was only Richmond's ineptitude that allowed Carlton such a large margin hence their score looking better than it should.
However, it was Carlton's first game so I will also reserve my judgement for a few matches. Richmond on the other hand were always going to need a couple of years with the large clean out they had (and some will still need to go yet) combined with a new coach and everything a new coach implies.
The fact Richmond were still in the game up to 3 quarter time shows that Carlton still have a long way to go before they can be challenging for the premiership.
Richmond were there for the kill half way through the first quarter and Carlton just let them keep coming back into the game.
Macca18
25 Mar 2010, 21:58
It was a carbon copy of last year, if anything Carlton were marginally worse.
Expected result though and pretty pleasing from our perspective. Looking forward to the coming week when everybody suddenly evaluates their prediction of Carlton sliding this just because they beat Richmond... their next 4 weeks will tell us how good they really are. All tough games and will start underdogs in all, I'd imagine and will be lucky to win 1.
Pocket_Pears
26 Mar 2010, 09:44
Both sides were terrible, and it was only the fact that Jackson (their highest possession winner) and Tambling (their highest tackler) were on the bench for most of the final quarter that allowed Carlton to get a run on at the end of the game.
Frothies Mcveigh
26 Mar 2010, 09:48
Roberts was shocking, Nason had a few clangers but didnt look to bad.
Pocket_Pears
26 Mar 2010, 10:01
Roberts was shocking, Nason had a few clangers but didnt look to bad.
Roberts wasn't on the ground a lot of the time. Was specifically looking for him, cos I picked him on my supercoach bench. hopefully hardwick gives him a few more games so he increases in value a little.
the tigers were bad, but they still didnt make the blues look good, i only watched until 3/4qtr time, but with the mistakes tigers were making carlton should have been up by 12-14goals at 3qtr time!!
if the tigers are building from defence i think hardwick should have made it a 10year plan, they may aswell have not had a back 6, it was soo bad!!!
as for the blues saying they had success in the forward line without fevola, see above comments about richmond!
Pocket_Pears
26 Mar 2010, 10:49
Anyone who thinks Carlton's forward line is working is kidding themselves. At half time, Carlton had twice as many disposals as Richmond, but scoring shots were in Richmond's favour. As bad as Richmond's backline is, they did an awful lot of rebounding from defensive 50.
U Got Reimered
26 Mar 2010, 10:53
They are both terrible and should be easy pickings.
Looks like you're going to be ropeable then, considering we only play Richmond once.
we already beat them once though, maybe that counts...
Skeeta Olly
26 Mar 2010, 14:38
Nothing impressive about Carlton last night. The fact that Richmond was still in the game up to three quarter doesn't say much for Carlton. In saying that Betts was good last night but if you can shut him down, goals are going to be hard to come by. Mids can't always kick goals.
Nason and Roberts weren't anything special, thought Nason was pretty poor in the first half. In saying that first game appearance at the G, first AFL game. He can be excused.
Ludwig van Bertstare
28 Mar 2010, 13:44
North look shocking.
Ben the Gooner
28 Mar 2010, 14:23
Tipped them. :(
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 15:31
Collingwood looking good.
Call Me Cake
28 Mar 2010, 17:17
Collingwood looking good.
Suddenly, our effort against Geelong doesn't seem as bad as opposition supporters have portrayed since Friday.
ESS: 13.16 (94)
GEE: 19.11 (125)
DOG: 13.15 (93)
COL: 19.15 (129)
The real signs begin from Round 2 onwards, IMO.
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 17:22
Really impressed by Collingwood, Shaw especially. I may hate them, but today was a great effort by them, especially against a top side in the Bulldogs.
Lance Uppercut
28 Mar 2010, 18:17
Collingwood look awesome, as much as it pains me to say. They are just going along very nicely, they could be this years St Kilda.
Let's hope we can cause a massive Anzac day upset.
North look poor & Scott certainly didn't cover himself in glory for his debut coaching performance. Having said that, Port can't be much chop either, because they flogged them early, but the game was still in the balance halfway through the last.
Melbourne supporters must be firing up the Range Rovers. They were bullish, but they've realised two young kids don't miraculously change a team's fortunes. Let's hope there are brighter days ahead for them, but they'd have to be getting that sick feeling in the guts watching NicNat impress whilst Watts struggles in the twos
Adam McPhee DT: -1
JUSTICE.
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 19:59
Fremantle Adelaide Lol.
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 20:19
Adam McPhee DT: -1
JUSTICE.
McPhee - Halftime - 4 points.
Tipped them. :(Me too. And Shitmond. Seems I'll never learn.
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 20:25
6/7 so far, tipped the Doggies.
Looks like I'll lose another one after tonight's game.
McPhee - Halftime - 4 points.
yo dawg. how's the midfield?
http://i44.tinypic.com/209g586.jpg
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 20:27
yo dawg. how's the midfield?
http://i44.tinypic.com/209g586.jpg
Heh.
Gave away a 50m penalty in the closing stages of the second. It's a shame he was in the forward line when he did it, had it been in the midfield, Adelaide would have had a shot on goal.
Gerrard_to_Torres
28 Mar 2010, 20:28
Barlow is carving up, can't say I'm not more than a little jealous :mad:
Ben the Gooner
28 Mar 2010, 20:31
Lol McPhee.
More like McShit. M I RITE?!
Ludwig van Bertstare
28 Mar 2010, 20:41
Adam Phumbles PhcMee
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 20:46
McPhee takes a mark!
Kicks out on the full.
Loltek.
Ben the Gooner
28 Mar 2010, 20:47
-2 SC at half time.
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 20:53
Unselfish Tippet. Should have kicked the goal.
Ludwig van Bertstare
28 Mar 2010, 20:54
Unselfish Tippet. Should have kicked the goal.
If only for my SC :(
I'm kind of worried about next Sunday now...
Boucks09
28 Mar 2010, 21:08
I'm not. Fremantle always look great at home. They will act like kings this week if they win and then get thumped by us next week.
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 21:08
They keep kicking it to Walker. :(
CuriousObsession
28 Mar 2010, 21:26
Anyone reckon McPhee might be dropped after this performance, so he doesn't have to face the embarrasment of not touching the ball against us, when we thrash them next week.
Serious, I'm sooooooo glad we didn't offer McPhee the three year deal.
Ludwig van Bertstare
28 Mar 2010, 21:28
Anyone reckon McPhee might be dropped after this performance, so he doesn't have to face the embarrasment of not touching the ball against us, when we thrash them next week.
He's honestly one of the worst players in the league. I've been asking for him to be traded/delisted since I joined this site.
Lance Uppercut
28 Mar 2010, 21:31
-2 SC at half time.
**** that's funny
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 21:32
Fremantle's forward pressure is amazing.
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 21:35
McPhee off with an ankle problem.
This. While I wouldn't go as far as what RIG's saying, the ratio thing that Whomb (?) did was pretty spot on. One great game for every crap game with two solid games in between.
Fremantle's forward pressure is amazing.So it's not just Adelaide being poor, ala Carlton/Richmond?
Ludwig van Bertstare
28 Mar 2010, 21:40
So it's not just Adelaide being poor, ala Carlton/Richmond?
No, Freo have been superb.
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 21:45
Adelaide can't kick the ball to their forwards, much like us against Geelong.
Skeeta Olly
28 Mar 2010, 21:48
So many premature calls this week. I just heard Fremantle and September in the one sentence.
No, Freo have been superb.Wow.
Ben the Gooner
28 Mar 2010, 22:21
McPhee 5 SC
Skeeta Olly
2 Apr 2010, 09:34
Big match last night. It was the Blues game to lose IMO, had the extra player and the momentum but like Voss said, all the Lions needed to do was to get the ball forward. Thats they did and they easily won in the end. 10 goals between Fev and Brown is good output. The Blues could have killed it early, but missed lots of shots on goal.
We've got Carlton next week, they had no injuries by the look of it, only Bower, who pulled out before the match who will probably be ready for our match.
Skeeta Olly
3 Apr 2010, 13:43
Melbourne off to a flying start!
Melb: 4.5 29
Coll: 2.2 14
George Washington
3 Apr 2010, 13:45
Bay 13 will implode if Melbourne wins.
Melbourne, please, do it for the lulz!
I'll fricking implode if Melbourne wins.
Skeeta Olly
3 Apr 2010, 13:48
If Melbourne win, I'll regret not going today.
Skeeta Olly
3 Apr 2010, 14:50
Melbourne not getting the best from the umpires, but also stuffing up a few opportunities.
Wahooti Fandango
3 Apr 2010, 15:10
If the Demons win it will be lolapalooza in Bay 13.
11 points. Still think Collingwood will get home though.
Zahasouvlakis
3 Apr 2010, 15:51
11 points. Still think Collingwood will get home though.
Petterd:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(
You'd feel gutted as a Demons fan. No one rates your team at all, you're more than $8.00 to win and you spend most of the day in front to lose by a point with a dropped mark in the goalsquare on time.
I remember watching the reactions of Demons fans after we beat them in Daniher's last game. Boy were they devo'd.
Skeeta Olly
3 Apr 2010, 16:02
That's a harsh way to finish.
Melbourne pwn3d by the Umps
Bombers36
3 Apr 2010, 16:11
what a game though - wish the Dees had of won - stiff at the end. Just goes to show everyone raving about Collingwood last week & they can only beat Melbourne by 1 point! No way they are a top 4 side
Ripper game.
When Green tackled Shaw in the forward pocket, how the hell was that not holding the ball? Disgraceful decision.
PetteredIs that the new term for dropping the game?
i.e Herschelle Gibbs pettered the '99 World Cup.
Sorry, probably too soon. It really sucks they couldn't hold on (no pun intended).
Ironic you used "nm" for North Melbourne. That's pretty much what they've done.
49 - 0 at Quarter time. I seriously laugh at people who think the Kangaroos will overtake us this year.
Tonight's game is evidence of why Brent Harvey should never be captain of any club.
Gets towelled up by his opponent; cracks the shits (as per usual); gets nippy but too weak to actually hurt an opponent; and completely drops his body language, despite his young club needing him to lead by example.
Rubbish bloke, rubbish captain.
Frothies Mcveigh
3 Apr 2010, 21:09
Saints have destroyed the Roo's. Riewoldt with pure domination.
Knight Ryders
3 Apr 2010, 22:00
If I was GC, I'd be chasing Cox. I reckon he knows the writing is on the wall with NicNat. It's like asking Mick Jagger to play the drums!
Just quietly, awesome comeback by Port, they were spent
YouveBeenReimered
4 Apr 2010, 11:09
Tonight's game is evidence of why Brent Harvey should never be captain of any club.
Gets towelled up by his opponent; cracks the shits (as per usual); gets nippy but too weak to actually hurt an opponent; and completely drops his body language, despite his young club needing him to lead by example.
Rubbish bloke, rubbish captain.
Bit harsh I think. Plus, he did drop Bogan last week :D
Bit harsh I think. Plus, he did drop Bogan last week :DWasn't that Warren?
YouveBeenReimered
4 Apr 2010, 11:51
Wasn't that Warren?
Said on the coverage last night it was Boomer when they were talking about his little niggles with Jones.
Rocky_Star_Pro
4 Apr 2010, 11:54
North are a few years away from thinking about the top 8 in my opinion, yesterday proved how much behind they are from the competitions best teams.
I can't understand why people thought the Eagles will overtake us and make it into the 8 this year, but Nic Nat looks like a future star :)
YouveBeenReimered
4 Apr 2010, 12:04
North are a few years away from thinking about the top 8 in my opinion, yesterday proved how much behind they are from the competitions best teams.
I can't understand why people thought the Eagles will overtake us and make it into the 8 this year, but Nic Nat looks like a future star :)
Because they have 12 or something games at Subiaco, and a much kinder draw than us.
We got shitfaced by the AFL with our draw tbh.
So we must win games like today's. We lost too many gimme's last year, and MUST win them this year to be any chance of finals.
Rocky_Star_Pro
4 Apr 2010, 12:10
Because they have 12 or something games at Subiaco, and a much kinder draw than us.
We got shitfaced by the AFL with our draw tbh.
So we must win games like today's. We lost too many gimme's last year, and MUST win them this year to be any chance of finals.
Yeah we need to start winning the 'winnable' games, and today is the first of them. We simply can't afford to lose to Richmond, Melbourne etc. If we are aiming for the finals.
I still don't think the Eagles will be in September unless they improve their disposal, I think it was Brad Ebert(?) that turned the ball over in crucial times in the last quarter of yesterdays game
Said on the coverage last night it was Boomer when they were talking about his little niggles with Jones.I heard them say Warren put him down when he was taking a set shot.
Oh well. Either way, the thug was put down.
Sydney playing very well.
Rocky_Star_Pro
4 Apr 2010, 15:38
Sydney playing very well.
They look super impressive the Swans
Skeeta Olly
9 Apr 2010, 22:02
Riewoldt goes twang!
George Washington
9 Apr 2010, 22:04
Lloyd was never the same after he tore his off the bone. Never really saw him confidently slot them from 50+ like he used to. Will be interesting to see if Riewoldt can return to his best after it.
hey collingwood, i heard you like kicking behinds...
http://i42.tinypic.com/a1mgdj.jpg
Donakebab
9 Apr 2010, 22:11
Hopefully not as severe as reported. Would be terrible if it was anywhere near as bad as Lloyd's.
Expect Stanley to get his first run next week and McEvoy to get a run too.
Wait, what?
He tore it off the bone?!
I thought it was just a strain.
If it's like Lloyd's, his career will never be the same.
Expect Stanley to get his first run next week and McEvoy to get a run too.Possibly has OP.
Noddy Holder
9 Apr 2010, 22:42
Oh well, at least Collingwood are shit too. Makes for an interesting ANZAC Day.
Donakebab
10 Apr 2010, 01:27
Possibly has OP.
WTF?! I had hopes of this kid being a 200cm goal kicking speed machine. GTFO of my sport OP, you are scum and always promising players, I hate you so much!
TOP reply by Boomer. Always been my fav non-essendon player. Top comeback champ!!