View Full Version : Matrix Reloaded

Moti
16 May 2003, 12:35
Just wondering if anyone saw it last night?

I did and I have to say that I was very disappointed.

The overall storyline looks good, but it was paced poorly, the two major action sequences went for two long and were good but not great and it was packed with a lot of dialogue that tried to hard to be intelligent.

Some great scenes though and the conclusion should be good, but as a film, it didn't live up to the expectations.

BTW, there were no scenes like the Yoda scene that just blew you away.

Pred
16 May 2003, 14:41
Yoda would have looked pretty silly in a full-length leather coat with wraparound black sunnies ;)

http://dono.randalflagg.net/yodaneo.jpg

vindor
16 May 2003, 16:53
I thought the story line and special effects were fu@king awesome. However, I thought there were some part that were over complicated, like when neo is talking to 'the maker' in that room with all the TV’s... I couldn’t keep up with the conversation, and I doubt that many others could too. I also thought there were a few to many characters being introduced throughout the film. But aside from this I really liked the movie. I thought the idea of how the bot's rebel when they face deletion was pretty awesome.
I also have one question regarding agent Smith. He was terminated (freed) as an agent for failing to destroy neo, but he is still in the matrix and has some advanced abilities. What was all this about and how did this happen?

clucas91
16 May 2003, 18:00
Was at the premiere last night, great fun, great movie.

Absolutely stunning visuals while at the same time managing to develop an excellent and enthralling plot line.

:cool:

Moti
16 May 2003, 18:21
I think they have freed Agent Smith to go beyond his programming, letting him into the second Matrix, the one that Zion is in.

I can't believe that people weren't bored by the first forty minutes, that rave scene was embarrasing.

And I don't know what the director's were going on about when they said that no one could copy what they had done for five years, because while the effects were state of the art, they hardly were more advanced than the other big films like Star Wars, X - Men and Lord of the Rings.

Docker_Brat
16 May 2003, 18:36
Originally posted by Moti
I can't believe that people weren't bored by the first forty minutes, that rave scene was embarrasing.

And I don't know what the director's were going on about when they said that no one could copy what they had done for five years, because while the effects were state of the art, they hardly were more advanced than the other big films like Star Wars, X - Men and Lord of the Rings.

I cringed during that dance scene. One thing that I thought: why was it so primal? We are talking about the future here, they still have technology and many of these people were released from a matrix that had nightclubs etc, yet here they were beating on jungle drums.

Also one thing that grabbed me: why were the people still segregated by race? We are talking about a future humanity that has been reduced to a small number of people, surely they'd all have inter bred or at least have mixed race couples. Just a small thing but I noticed it.

That second part: are you talking about why the sequel took so long? If so, it is because several CGI companies went under during the time it took to make the sequels.

vindor
16 May 2003, 18:45
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
I cringed during that dance scene.

Yeah, I thought this scene was totally irrelevant.

Docker_Brat
16 May 2003, 18:50
Originally posted by vindor

Seems to be the common theme amongst reviews. Some more editing would have been required IMO.

thehardaway
17 May 2003, 00:37
Originally posted by vindor

I agree. For the most part, the Zion scenes were rather dull. Reloaded was ok, but nothing special

GoalSneak
17 May 2003, 17:09
I saw it a few hours ago and I thought it was pretty good. Not as good as the first one, but I think that's more to do with the fact I wasn't expecting the first one to be as good as it was. This one had a hell of alot of build up, that really didn't match the movie. It was good, but no better than the first one.

Agree in regards to the rave scene. Could've been done in a quarter of the amount they gave it. Maybe they just wanted to fill time in.

Alot of the dialogue was really strectching the limits of my brain, but I think I understood that scene with 'the Architect'.

sussudio
18 May 2003, 10:44
I think they have freed Agent Smith to go beyond his programming, letting him into the second Matrix, the one that Zion is in.

now I'm confused. I've always thought that Zion was the "real world" but now you're saying that there are two matrix's??

I guess this would make sense because a) the architect said that this was the sixth iteration of the matrix and that they had destroyed Zion five times already, b) neo could not have stopped those squid things (near the end) in the real world, and c) smith could not have "infected" a "real" human.

so my question is: where is the real world??!?

having said that, I thought that reloaded was awesome, esp. the two big scenes - the car chase and neo fighting the agent smiths. music, by oakenfold et al, was great as well. and there was one of the best toilets I've ever seen - the one with the urinal that has the cascading waterfall (very useful) :D

the faux rave in Zion was lame and the philosophising got a bit tedious, but overall it was a highly enjoyable movie. I'd see it again, but maybe when it comes out on DVD :)

did anyone stay until after the end of the credits to see the preview of Revolutions?

Yianni
19 May 2003, 00:31
You're all crazy!

That whole movie was awesome.

The rave scene was meant to represent what it is to be human, that (as the french guy says later) deep down, we are all totally out of control. Collective humanity letting go their inhibitions and just enjoying themselves is the complete antithesis to the linear programmed mindset of a machine.

Why did it go for so long? Well, dancing takes a while. Just enjoy it, enjoy the music, and enjoy all the nipples (cause there were heaps!)

As for the philosophising being a bit complicated, that's no reason not to have it in there. I would have been ropeable if they'd dumbed the movie down. I loved all that stuff, it makes you think about the nature of reality, the meaning of life, choice, love, futility.

It's almost sad that you have to couch those sorts of things in special effects for the majority of the population to think about them. This is very much a movie where a lot of people will walk out and go "I didn't get it" (see Fight Club, people saying "I didn't like it, it was all about fighting!" IDIOTS!)

The movie was smart and entertaining. I'll be seeing it again, and I suggest all of you do the same.

jod23
19 May 2003, 04:35
I loved it. I think you will find that the humans released from the Matrix have gone back to a form of primal living because of what the machines have done to them. So now they turn away from machines. That's just my opinion though.

The fight scenes and the freeway scene was just awesome...crazy!

DEVO
19 May 2003, 12:55
Monica looked great. Unfortunately she was only in the film for about 5-10 minutes.

FIGJAM
19 May 2003, 13:35
Originally posted by sussudio
now I'm confused. I've always thought that Zion was the "real world" but now you're saying that there are two matrix's??

I guess this would make sense because a) the architect said that this was the sixth iteration of the matrix and that they had destroyed Zion five times already, b) neo could not have stopped those squid things (near the end) in the real world, and c) smith could not have "infected" a "real" human.

so my question is: where is the real world??!?

having said that, I thought that reloaded was awesome, esp. the two big scenes - the car chase and neo fighting the agent smiths. music, by oakenfold et al, was great as well. and there was one of the best toilets I've ever seen - the one with the urinal that has the cascading waterfall (very useful) :D

the faux rave in Zion was lame and the philosophising got a bit tedious, but overall it was a highly enjoyable movie. I'd see it again, but maybe when it comes out on DVD :)

did anyone stay until after the end of the credits to see the preview of Revolutions?
I agree with all of that.

Outstanding movie, that some people might dislike because of a few pace flaws.

Where is the real world? Does there have to be one??

A lot of ideas having to do with a "real world" and that base upon which everything can exist. But it's not like we have a solid base in everyday life! What wrote the rules for the current universe? Why is it here to begin with??

Two matrices, or one Universe??

Are there human pods to begin with, or is this all just a program to complete the newest cycle?

Too many questions, not enough answers!! Great movie though!

Dan26
19 May 2003, 23:48
The question has been asked how does Neo destroy the sentinals?

If we presume Zion is the real world, it would appear impossible for Neo to do what he did. But what if the sentinals were all conected, via a program to the matrix? After all, they are the bad guys, just like the Matrix, and they were all bulit by the same set of machines. All the machines, are possibly connected together. Obviously the sentinals aren't in the actual Matrix, but they might be connected to the same central computer that the Matrix is connected to. If Neo can contol the Matrix, as he has shown, he might be able to control machines related to the Matrix, hence he was able to destroy the sentinals.

FIGJAM
20 May 2003, 13:31
Originally posted by Dan26

If we presume Zion is the real world, it would appear impossible for Neo to do what he did. But what if the sentinals were all conected, via a program to the matrix? After all, they are the bad guys, just like the Matrix, and they were all bulit by the same set of machines. All the machines, are possibly connected together. Obviously the sentinals aren't in the actual Matrix, but they might be connected to the same central computer that the Matrix is connected to. If Neo can contol the Matrix, as he has shown, he might be able to control machines related to the Matrix, hence he was able to destroy the sentinals.
If you think back to the first movie, the evil dude (sorry, useless with names) came back to the ship and stated something like, "If you really are the One, then it will take a miracle to save you!" as he was about to pull the plug on Neo.

Then a "miracle" happened, when one of the "humans" came back from a seemingly helpless position and blew him away, much to the evil-dude's shock.

This may be seen as dramatic effect, but I think more can be read into it.

Thinking about it, is there a chance/likelyhood that the Oracle/Matrix, is able to forsee that which is (seemingly) out of it? What if Neo got killed in Zion?

I hate the term Matrix within a Matrix, but it goes some way to describing my theory. People need to believe that there is a "real world", as how else can the "Matrix" run? But what mainframe is the Universe running on??

You could describe the initial Eutopia program as being an Adam and Eve type story. But God had to readjust his program in that scenario, due to human need/desire/greed.

It is my theory that all of these machines, "pod-people" and Zion is an extension of the Matrix, but that the Matrix within a Matrix idea then ceases to be the "Matrix" and should just be termed what it is; the Universe!

Anyway, just a thought which could be smashed to smithereens when the next one comes out. I've had my geek quota for the day and I need a lie down!!

GOALden Hawk
21 May 2003, 10:22

As I stated in the other thread on the general board, my mate suggested Neo picked up some of Agent Smith's powers, just like Agent Smith got some of Neo's.

Dan26
21 May 2003, 22:58
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
As I stated in the other thread on the general board, my mate suggested Neo picked up some of Agent Smith's powers, just like Agent Smith got some of Neo's.

Yes, but WHY would he pick up some of Agent Smith's powers? I can understand Agent Smith picking up powers, because he has taken over another human being. In effect the "program" of Smith emedded itself in Bane, so that Smith could exist in the real world.

How Neo could get Smith's powers, though, is beyond me.

FIGJAM
22 May 2003, 11:42
Yes, but WHY would he pick up some of Agent Smith's powers? I can understand Agent Smith picking up powers, because he has taken over another human being. In effect the "program" of Smith emedded itself in Bane, so that Smith could exist in the real world.

How Neo could get Smith's powers, though, is beyond me.
And Smith had never been detached from the Matrix (again, assuming Zion is the "real world"), so transfer of powers or not, how the hell can Smith or Neo control anything when not connected to the Matrix??

Given that the Matrix knew all along that Neo/Anderson was The One, they could have theoretically planted a device in his body whilst in the pod, to stop him being killed prematurely in Zion by the squid things.

This would not explain the ability of Smith's host to have powers in Zion. Smith became a rogue program. His movements aren't dictated by the Matrix anymore.

So unless the Matrix extends beyond the Matrix as we know it, then I fail to see how either Smith or Neo realise powers in Zion.

****en complicated movie!! Hope it is all concluded well.

gPhonque
22 May 2003, 13:25
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
I cringed during that dance scene. One thing that I thought: why was it so primal? We are talking about the future here, they still have technology and many of these people were released from a matrix that had nightclubs etc, yet here they were beating on jungle drums.

What's wrong with beating jungle drums?

Why does "technology" = "good music"? (I know you didn't directly say that, but it's what you're implying)

Perhaps they've worked out that creating something instantaneously with other humans is far more satisfying and enjoyable that listening to rubbish music that is being played all around the world at the very same moment? (in our world anyway)

I'd much rather go out this weekend and beat some congas than be forced to listen to some "DJ" spin his marketed and generic doof doof crap amongst a bunch of people who are only there because it's the 'cool' place to be.

If I could control the future, I'd have people taking a 'jungle drum' when they go out.

P|ss off all the bullsh|t and let's get back to what is real.

sussudio
22 May 2003, 13:42
Originally posted by FIGJAM
Given that the Matrix knew all along that Neo/Anderson was The One, they could have theoretically planted a device in his body whilst in the pod, to stop him being killed prematurely in Zion by the squid things.

good point!

it still doesn't explain how an electronic program - Smith - can infect a human host - Bane, unless the theory posited in the other Matrix thread is true - that the human brain is basically a series of neurons which receive electrical instructions, so that would be how Smith could control Bane.

topdon
22 May 2003, 17:50
good point!

it still doesn't explain how an electronic program - Smith - can infect a human host - Bane, unless the theory posited in the other Matrix thread is true - that the human brain is basically a series of neurons which receive electrical instructions, so that would be how Smith could control Bane.

Smith infected Bane with a virus within the Matrix.

Many people miss the fact that Agent Smith takes over Bane inside the Matrix. Early on in the movie, two rebels enter a room with a phone. One of them is Bane. Hard to make out in the dark room, but it is him. Bane hands an envelope to the other rebel who answers the phone and is gone. The envelope presumably holds the disk drive from the Oracle in it that must be delivered to Neo. Bane is then attacked by Agent Smith. At this point, Smith converts Bane into himself, then picks up the phone.

Inside the Matrix, the freed humans are not their true selves, but avatars of themselves. They can look and be anything they choose. So when Agent Smith attacks Bane and takes him over, he's really just taking over his avatar. When this duplicated version of Smith as a software virus answers the phone, the Smith virus is then uploaded into the real Bane in the real world.

A lot of people seem to think Agent Smith magically teleported into the real world in Reloaded. Might I suggest Smith simply uploaded himself into Bane and has now rewired Bane's brain. Bane is now in effect, the virus software that is Smith, but in a human shell.

FIGJAM
22 May 2003, 18:25
I agree with topdon, I don't see an issue with Smith being able to transfer into the real world.

What I do have an issue with, as highlighted in the General Board thread, is the theory that Neo now has super-powers (powers transferred from Smith) in the "real world", which is why he stop the sentinals.

sussudio
22 May 2003, 22:01
I realise that Smith infected Bane within the Matrix. but initially I find it dubious that a computer virus can be transferred to a human host. if I plug myself into a computer, can that computer infect me with, say, the chernobyl virus, and cause my nervous system to crash? or even if I plug myself into a VR system, which is what the matrix is, can a VR program invade my consciousness and take over my body? I believe in the "if you die in the matrix, you die in the real world" scenario. what if I catch a cold in the matrix? do I catch a cold in real life?

from the Net, I have found three main theories (although there are probably hundreds more):

- the human brain is a series of neurons that receive electrical instructions. because of this aspect, Smith was able to hack into Bane and infect him with a virus.

- Zion and the real world are constructs of the matrix, in effect they are the second matrix, designed by the "mother" to cater to the 1% of disbelievers. Smith hacked into this second matrix by entering the gateway that is used between the two matrices, i.e. the phone. because the real world is itself a matrix, Neo could stop the sentinels.

- Neo was able to stop the sentinels because he truly is the messiah (the "One") in the real world and thus has supernatural powers....he just didn't know it (I don't believe in this theory though).

FIGJAM
23 May 2003, 09:51
I realise that Smith infected Bane within the Matrix. but initially I find it dubious that a computer virus can be transferred to a human host. if I plug myself into a computer, can that computer infect me with, say, the chernobyl virus, and cause my nervous system to crash? or even if I plug myself into a VR system, which is what the matrix is, can a VR program invade my consciousness and take over my body? I believe in the "if you die in the matrix, you die in the real world" scenario. what if I catch a cold in the matrix? do I catch a cold in real life?

from the Net, I have found three main theories (although there are probably hundreds more):

- the human brain is a series of neurons that receive electrical instructions. because of this aspect, Smith was able to hack into Bane and infect him with a virus.

- Zion and the real world are constructs of the matrix, in effect they are the second matrix, designed by the "mother" to cater to the 1% of disbelievers. Smith hacked into this second matrix by entering the gateway that is used between the two matrices, i.e. the phone. because the real world is itself a matrix, Neo could stop the sentinels.

- Neo was able to stop the sentinels because he truly is the messiah (the "One") in the real world and thus has supernatural powers....he just didn't know it (I don't believe in this theory though).
In the Lawnmower Man, VR could infect humans! ;)

Again, I have no problem with Smith being able to alter Bane's mind. If they can get hurt/die in "real life" as a result of being in the Matrix (as we know it), then surely the mind can also be altered/damaged. Like you said, the brain is just electrical pulses. Also Smith is not just an computer virus, but an advanced computer simulation, which is exactly what Bane's life was up until he was "freed".

If the last of your points is true, I will chuck Jaffas at the screen! Keep it real(ish)!!

The second last point is one I believe. I believe Persephone is the mother of the Matrix. She feeds on human emotion, to better the Matrix. Hence the odd bathroom scene and the kiss.

There are still heaps of questions to be answered, but I believe the "Matrix in a Matrix" idea is the best one.

gt23
24 May 2003, 17:12
Just wondering if anyone saw it last night?

I did and I have to say that I was very disappointed.

The overall storyline looks good, but it was paced poorly, the two major action sequences went for two long and were good but not great and it was packed with a lot of dialogue that tried to hard to be intelligent.

Some great scenes though and the conclusion should be good, but as a film, it didn't live up to the expectations.

BTW, there were no scenes like the Yoda scene that just blew you away.

No scenes like the Yoda scenes???? Fair enough the Yoda scene is one that will go down in the hystory books but the scene where Neo is fighting the 300 agent Smith's, were you not even a tiny bit impressed ???? some credit is surly due?

Lockyer24
26 May 2003, 09:39
I was willing to put it down to the fact there is more than one matrix, but now Im not so sure - isn't Zion a section of the human race who managed to stay away machines while the rest of the human race was effectively plugged in during the 'uprising'? Considering humans came first before the machines, theres no way they could have been 'plugged in' beforehand.

Another thing I found weird was that Trinity and Morpheous (although he didn't see it) didn't express more disbelief when Neo stopped the Sentinals. Im guessing that will come up at the start of the third installment when he comes out of his coma.

I think Agent Smith is playing a much more important role than initially thought though after seeing the preview for the third installment, and the end of the second.

I'd much rather go out this weekend and beat some congas than be forced to listen to some "DJ" spin his marketed and generic doof doof crap amongst a bunch of people who are only there because it's the 'cool' place to be.

The track 'Zion' in that scene is actually done by a recognised 'doof doof' DJ by the name of Fluke ;) Don't bunch half decent dance music producers like him with crap you hear on the radio like Scooter and co please :D

mattyc2422
27 May 2003, 20:13
I saw it the other night, and while I'm not a big Matrix buff, I thought Reloaded was okay. That car chase scene was pretty good.

Pity the poor key dude had to die. :p

thehardaway
3 Jun 2003, 23:33
Watched the Animatrix tonight on dvd, a very cool set of shorts. Would have loved to see both parts of the Secon Renaissance put into a movie. Final Flight of the Osiris is simply awesome

U-DOG
5 Jun 2003, 03:58
Zion gave me the s h i t s. I'm not one for mosh pits!

And all this high council / religion crap was all a bit cliched.

Overall the film was pretty good, but I was not left with that stunned feeling that I got after the 1st movie.

David
5 Jun 2003, 11:16
what i have noticed about this movie is that people

who do know whats going on love it

and people who dont know think it is a peice of crap

clucas91
6 Jun 2003, 21:19
Originally posted by David
what i have noticed about this movie is that people

who do know whats going on love it

and people who dont know think it is a peice of crap

EXACTLY!

I loved the film, but I reckon most people haven't got a clue.

Bresh
6 Jun 2003, 23:13
Can I just say I understood this movie up until the scene with "The Architect". If anyone could keep up this scene, and all the "systematic anomaly" ****e, you deserve a medal.

Anyone care to explain it in lay terms?

Anyway, did anyone actually care whether Neo or Zion survived in this flick? Here's the invulnerable Neo, and we're supposed to believe that Zion is under serious threat. I think not. All of Keanu's vulnerabilities from the first flick have pretty much disappeared, and we're now presented with an emotionless droid who stands no chance at dying EVER, not matter how much the Walchowski brothers try to con us.

Oh, and here's some philosophy... The Matrix Reloadeds' cause? $$$. Effect? Weak movie.

Lethal
6 Jun 2003, 23:57
Anyone seen The Animatrix?
Got the DVD today, haven't gotten around to watching it yet though.

Bresh
7 Jun 2003, 00:13
Originally posted by Lethal

I've heard it's quite the good... and that some fans thought parts would be well suited to putting on the silver screen. Hell, I guess they could just whack the animation straight in a no-one would be able to tell the difference! :p

gPhonque
7 Jun 2003, 02:41

Yes, and they sh|t all over the movie. (Reloaded)

Definately worth seeing them at a cinema as well if you get a chance.

thehardaway
7 Jun 2003, 12:14

Yep, as I posted earlier. Loved the stories. Would have loved the Second Renaissance to be turned into a full action movie, but then it will no doubt be labelled a Terminator clone.

Osiris was brilliant, loved it. Kid's Story was interesting, as was World Record. Must own dvd in my book

Jabso
7 Jun 2003, 16:27
Whoah whoah whoah I loved the movie but I just wanna ask what the hell is Bane?

Bresh
7 Jun 2003, 20:32
Originally posted by jabso
Whoah whoah whoah I loved the movie but I just wanna ask what the hell is Bane?

Pretty sure he was the other 'survivor' that we see at the end of the movie... the guy who we're supposed to be concerned about.

Port1978
9 Jun 2003, 15:10
I just saw The Matrix Reloaded last night. I thought it was OK, but definately not as good as the 1st one. The scene on the highway was pretty good though.

kaysee
10 Jun 2003, 14:42
Something I noticed in Matrix: reloaded was how Neo, Trinity, Morpheus and others all had the black, connectors over their bodies (Arms and up the Spine) when they where in the "real world" and in Zion.

I am positve, will check it tonight, that they didn't have these plugs in them after the were unplugged and nursed back to health. They removed all of these plugs, except the large connector in the back of the head, in the original matrix and yet now everyone has them again.

Anyway was a good movie need the to see the last one now just to clear things up.

SKC

thehardaway
10 Jun 2003, 15:33
I'm sure the plugs were always there.

Mobbenfuhrer
10 Jun 2003, 16:18
Wasn't much of a fan. The plot and locale are pretty nifty but its played out as though by children.

Honestly, Hugo Weaving is a good actor. Watching him be forced to spruik cartoon one-liners which Hagar would knock back makes my nose screw up.

"Me too." Yep, definitely a movie aimed at 8-12 year old boys, as so many of this churned stuff is, and yet this one's wasted on them because of the decent complexity of the world and 'bringabout'.

What's with full five-minute action scenes? I thought this film was supposed to be accomplished. Hardly. Lets just punch and kick and grab stuff and hit 'em with it ... and then slow-mo segments of each action ... Seagal, Van Damme, come on down. "Me. Me. Me." If the mike was closer we might have heard the "Why" prior to each "Me".

The story's good enough, its just poorly performed.

Some action areas were ok. The whole car chase thing was, overall, crap, but the bit where the really plain, personality-free sheila is riding a motorbike against the flow of traffic was fairly 'sheeze-i-feel-like-i'm-right-there'.

Idiotic little jokes that the writers must have put in because their kids suggested it would include the whole French idiot's demeanour and dialogue, his two white-haired twin bullies (whose special effects might have been ok had they been developed), the swords and crap fight scene which had just no art to it at all when art might finally have been an option, The choice of that plain sheila at all ... yet I'm sure I've seen her in something where she COULD act, done-a-thousand-times post-apoc world with people running around in the same outfit every day with the same worn look, and yet the council idiots had robes and garbage (hang your head, Robin Nevin).

I dunno, the first movie was "ok", perhaps "pretty good", but this one was billed as having special effects that just won't be mimicked. Umm ... THEY mimicked Matrix 1. What was better about them? Oh, I see, they made them last longer, and had more actors in them at a time. I'm sure I've seen most of it some dodgy van Damme movie where he plays two twin brothers, anyway.

Dance thingy, well for a start all this speechy crap and Laurie waxing so supposedly lyrically ... how can people be sucked in so easily? Cliches LAUGH at this dialogue, it was just DRIVEL. What was it, something about showing them "we are not afraid". Yeah playing music and dancing like a rave party is an innovative way to send a message. I remember watching his speech, hearing something like "we'll make so much music" or something like that and then thinking ... ok now they'll probably cross to some weird band using homemade drums that'll remind me of the cantina in Star Wars ... and then they DID!

Hahaha and how about the "dreaming your loved one is fighting some fight and nearly gets killed and realising that is a prophecy and having to try to stop it, and then being faced with a decision, her or everything else ..." ... geeze I think even Last Action Hero took hold of that script at one stage.

Not to mention, actually losing the partner but saving/resurrecting them through some love crap ... what movie HASN'T already used this ... its a sign that a writer is too STUPID to work out another way the saving of the loved one can be achieved : I know, how about he kisses her and she is revived by lurrrve? Get stuffed, nobody's this stupid (obviously I'm wrong, its a popular film), it happened in the previous movie and here it is being rehashed.

Apart from that, it was a pretty decent waste of money.

Honestly, if nobody said it was good, it probably come across ok. But its lauded from head to toe. Yeah 'cause the major market for films in the Western World is the 14 year old American boy. That's what you're watching : 14 year old American boy fare. This, Minority Report, Gangs Of New York, Fifth Element, Moulin Spewge ... we're in a for a looooooooooooong decade of movies, ladies and gentlemen.

TheBloods
10 Jun 2003, 17:17
This film reminds me of some modern art. It's pretty ordinary but some pseudo-intellectuals belittle people who think that and pretend that they really understand it and appreciate it, and those who don't must be quite ignorant and culturally deficient.

sbagman
10 Jun 2003, 21:52
I thought it was pretty ordinary. Lots of special effects and philosophical tripe looking for a movie. Really, it was never going to have the same effect as the first... the killer punch had already been delivered.

TheMase
12 Jun 2003, 14:12
Interesting (but long) read!

http://webpages.charter.net/btakle/matrix_reloaded.html

TheBloods
14 Jun 2003, 17:06
Some people have too much time on their hands and take movies way too seriously, discussing them as if they are real!!