View Full Version : Which selector does Andy Bichel have incriminating photos of?

Tony Greig's Car Keys
17 Nov 2000, 09:49
How the hell else can this QLD dud get yet another chance in the test team?

Can almost ask the same question of another QLD dud Hayden.

Bloodstained Angel
17 Nov 2000, 10:06
Two words

ALLAN BORDER

cheers

goatmaster
17 Nov 2000, 10:21
He probably took them from Mark Waughs locker

------------------
Goatmaster
the prime minister of the principality of Mooball

GoEagles
17 Nov 2000, 18:09
At least he'll do a better job than last years dud - Scott Muller. He cant even crack a game for Queensland!

He summed himself up last year "Cant bowl"

Homer
18 Nov 2000, 01:08
Well then, who do you suggest would do a better job then Bichel. He has clearly been a standout player for Bulls of recent. Flemming is injured, Dale has just recovered from injury, so I don't know who could replace him. Certainly not Colin Miller, he should of retired yonks ago, he must almost live in a retirement village.

InTheBack!
18 Nov 2000, 03:35
Hopefully he will be 12th man. He looks impressive in a small pond, but in the big pond he is ver very ordinary.

With McGrath, Lee & Gillespie all fit & raring to go, we will not need him.

It's a worry that after all these years, our replacement players are stil the same old fringe dwellers that have always been brought in to plug gaps. hayden going on 30, bichel must be heading that way.

Where is any young talent????

JUBJUB
18 Nov 2000, 05:11
Give him a fair go.He might suprise you.

It could be worse,they could of picked ANOTHER unknown NSW player.

------------------
"Hillbillies are people too"

Arch
18 Nov 2000, 13:59
well I wonder the same question as you "Tony greigs car keys".

Bichel has been nothing but a dire dissappointment everytime he's got in the test side, I cant understand why theyd select him at all. A test bowling average of 148 doesnt strike fear into the hearts of many windian batsmen im sure.

Same thing pretty much goes for Hayden, whos a great sheild player but has never grasped any test opportunity he;s receieved with any good form, and in my mind shouldnt be in the team either. Bring in Damien, and quit this QLD charity sh*t. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/mad.gif

A.

[This message has been edited by Arch (edited 17 November 2000).]

servo
18 Nov 2000, 14:37
The lack of stand out up and coming talent is a worry. I struggle to come up with one name under 25 yrs who looks likely as a batsman.

Denno
20 Nov 2000, 13:08
How old are Hussey & Katich?

InTheBack!
22 Nov 2000, 04:21
A guess has Katich at 28.

Bloodstained Angel
22 Nov 2000, 04:57
You've rasied an important point there servo.

The current Australian team reminds me of the 1984 squad. A great team packed full of talent, but the talent is old and on the verge of retirement, and there seems to be nothing on the horizon to replace that talent.

Like 1984 when Lillee, Chappell, Marsh etc retired and the ACB selectors were caught with their pants down, I see the same situation confronting the present Australian team in 1-2 years time.

The failure of the current selectors (I'm pointing the finger squarely at Border here) to bring young and promising talent up through the ranks has meant that the Australian team will be badly exposed in the future.

Just like the hapless Kim Hughes-led team was 15 years ago.

cheers

22 Nov 2000, 09:00
Thinking about the next crop of test players, I've just had a look at the first class averages this year batting and bowling. While they're not really relevant because it's so early in the season it was interesting to see the names on top particularly as the test players have all been playing.

The top ten (with their age) are:

BATTING

B Hodge (26)
R Ponting (26)
J Vaughan (26)
J Cox (31)
D Marsh (27)
J Maher (26)
B Young (27)
M Love (26)
M Waugh (35)
M Hayden (29)

BOWLING:

Hills (30)
Oliver (21)
Reiffel (34)
Innes (22)
Dawes (30)
Marsh (27)
Julian (30)
Lewis (26)
Bichel (30)
Nicholsen (26)

Not one test bowler apart from Bichel in the top ten and only three batsmen. Not to many others on either list really stand out as test prospects and it shows that no-one has put their hand up and stuck their name in front of the selectors.

I agree with Servo and BSA, we are heading towards a similar situation that the West Indies were in a few years ago and it really needs to be addressed now.

karnaby
22 Nov 2000, 19:20
Hussey & Katich are both 25.

I have to agree that there seems few young players coming through. I reckon that one of the reasons for this is that the player payments have been increasing substantially over a number of years and the blokes near the top stay on for an extra couple of years to maximise their earnings. I think this applies virtually as much to state cricket as to international.

Rest assured the Cricket Academy is still pumping very young guys through but they often don't seem to get many chances.

In WA there's been 5 young batsmen that I can think of who have played Pura cup over the last 2 seasons. These are: Rob Baker, Michael Dighton, Chris Rogers, Steven Glew & Marcus North. Of these Dighton (24yo) has the best average ~35, North played at the end of last season and has big wraps, he is 21.

When WA has their full strength side in these blokes don't stand a chance, it's lucky if one of them gets a few games in a row, and which one is in form or the selectors good books at any given time is a lottery. How any will get the chances to build a career concerns me.

I imagine most states are in similar situations. NSW has some advantage as they must replace lots of test & ODI players so others get a chance, also Tassie has been playing a couple of young blokes this year. Whether this percieved lack of young players has a significant cost to the standing of the national teams in a few seasons time is anybody's guess. Maybe when the time comes there will be a lucky one or two who get magic rides into the Aussie side.

Greg Ritchie
24 Nov 2000, 08:39
In nearly 2 sessions Bichel has been barely able to hit the pitch.

The guy is a hack!

spell_check
3 Apr 2006, 20:18
You've rasied an important point there servo.

The current Australian team reminds me of the 1984 squad. A great team packed full of talent, but the talent is old and on the verge of retirement, and there seems to be nothing on the horizon to replace that talent.

Like 1984 when Lillee, Chappell, Marsh etc retired and the ACB selectors were caught with their pants down, I see the same situation confronting the present Australian team in 1-2 years time.

The failure of the current selectors (I'm pointing the finger squarely at Border here) to bring young and promising talent up through the ranks has meant that the Australian team will be badly exposed in the future.

Just like the hapless Kim Hughes-led team was 15 years ago.

cheers

Over 5 years later, that's what appears to be happening still...we must be doing something right.

Homer Jnr
3 Apr 2006, 20:36
LMAO at the tools whinging about Matt Hayden.

SorryIHammerChicken
3 Apr 2006, 21:05
Over 5 years later, that's what appears to be happening still...we must be dong something right.
Great find spell_check...very interesting reading.

Bring back the Bich!

spell_check
3 Apr 2006, 21:22

Bring back the Bich!

I agree. Bichel should be in the side.

Grimreepah
3 Apr 2006, 21:23

Never a boring post from spell_check. One of my favourite posters. Good work son. :thumbsu:

It might be wise to keep this post in mind. There's a good chance we'll still be saying the same thing in another 5 years.

spell_check
3 Apr 2006, 21:25
Cheers, Grimmy.

This is another interesting read...

Homer

Date of Birth:
October 13, 1986
Other Teams:
Brisbane
Biography:
Cricket Coach, Former School Captain and am bored.
Interests:
Cricket, footy, tennis, music and wrestling
Child-Care, Sales assistant and student

:eek: Boy, oh boy, no wonder he was banned.

sherb
3 Apr 2006, 21:46
I wonder what became of Tony Greig's Car Keys? :D

ablettjnr
3 Apr 2006, 22:05
He dropped the down one of those big cracks in day 5 Perth wicket.

"Oh you fawkin bawstawd, I dropped my fawkin caw keys!"

Grimreepah
3 Apr 2006, 22:22

Can you get banned for being too wrong?

ablettjnr
3 Apr 2006, 22:24
Can you get banned for being too wrong?
Clearly not. While I don't think badly of him, eddiesmith has proven that you don't get banned for being wrong.

SorryIHammerChicken
4 Apr 2006, 00:19
Cheers, Grimmy.

This is another interesting read...

Homer

Date of Birth:
October 13, 1986
Other Teams:
Brisbane
Biography:
Cricket Coach, Former School Captain and am bored.
Interests:
Cricket, footy, tennis, music and wrestling
Child-Care, Sales assistant and student

:eek: Boy, oh boy, no wonder he was banned.
He's still around today as Homer Jnr

spell_check
4 Apr 2006, 00:23
He's still around today as Homer Jnr

He has "mellowed out" a bit.

Kane McGoodwin
4 Apr 2006, 00:24
Clearly not. While I don't think badly of him, eddiesmith has proven that you don't get banned for being wrong.
Comedy is an important part of BF.... :D

sherb
4 Apr 2006, 00:31
He dropped the down one of those big cracks in day 5 Perth wicket.

"Oh you fawkin bawstawd, I dropped my fawkin caw keys!"
:D :D

This thread was worth resurrecting just to see that user name.

sherb
4 Apr 2006, 00:31
Comedy is an important part of BF.... :D
Eddie is the cricket board's Court Jester. ;)

Homer Jnr
4 Apr 2006, 07:44
He has "mellowed out" a bit.

I got hacked, that was what was put there and for some reason admin didn't change it.

spell_check
4 Apr 2006, 15:40
I got hacked, that was what was put there and for some reason admin didn't change it.

I hope for your sake they didn't ban you because of their mistake then?

But anyway, I like the name Homer Jnr better, because of Ho Ju!