View Full Version : News Howlett To Debut
table tennis
23 Mar 2010, 09:35
Howlett is in......
See: http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294
:thumbsu: Whomb (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=50921) likes this.
Particularly this
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294 “He’s an interesting player in that he’s quite polished in all areas. His skills are very tidy and he prides himself on hitting targets."http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294
And this
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294“He brings a hard ball winning edge that will really assist Jobe Watsonhttp://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294
And wasn't aware of this
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294Speedy midfielder...http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294
but certainly likes the sound of it.
big_slick
23 Mar 2010, 09:47
Now I know a club isn't going to come out and highlight their players' defficiencies but that article builds him up to be the perfect AFL player, speedy, polished skills, gets a heap of the ball... why hasn't he been picked up previously and what kind of impact can the bomber faithful expect to see from him Friday night?
In the same interview Knights also confirmed that Gumbleton, Hille and Williams will all be playing Round 1.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/90872/default.aspx
You Beauty!! Good luck!!! Really like the way this bloke goes about it!!
centurion
23 Mar 2010, 11:09
Goodluck to him and Gumby. Hope they are part of a great win.
Beerfish
23 Mar 2010, 11:41
:thumbsu: Whomb (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=50921) likes this.
Particularly this
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294
And this
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7294
And wasn't aware of this
but certainly likes the sound of it.
XIDIGX also likes this.
In fact, he may have just
http://i36.tinypic.com/dw5fsh.jpg
Darealrath
23 Mar 2010, 11:46
Great effort to force his way in from the rookie list...especially considering we are very close to full strength.
**** I can't wait for Friday night!
**** I can't wait for Friday night!+1 to that.
Cannot wait to catch the train across in my red & black guernsey, no doubt surrounded by a sea of blue and white.
Got any quotes from the man himself over this WiseOldOwn?
Great news!! I really like this kid and hope he can come on. One point is I really don't think he is 'speedy'. His is as 'quick' as McVeigh and Hocking.
The House
23 Mar 2010, 12:22
XIDIGX also likes this.
In fact, he may have just
http://i36.tinypic.com/dw5fsh.jpg
I just visualised Gumby kicking a bag and did the same thing....:eek:
Boucks09
23 Mar 2010, 12:53
There is no doubt that this a good news story for a player to come from as far back as he has in 1 month to make his debut for the club. I wish him all the best like every Bombers fan.
However I can't help but feel that this is a clear indiciation of our midfield's glaring weaknesses. Apart from McVeigh, our midfield is at full strength, yet in the space of 2 practice games a guy taken at pick 30 in the rookie draft (after what was widely seen as a weak national draft) has passed many more established midfielders to get a berth in Round 1.
I can't wait for Round 1 and really think that we can do well- but I've just got this horrible feeling that our midfield is going to get pantsed unless Jobe gets free of Ling. Guys like Stanton and Welsh simply must dominate.
surely he will only be jumping ahead of guys like hocking and lonergan who are hardly established,,,,
Boucks09
23 Mar 2010, 13:55
surely he will only be jumping ahead of guys like hocking and lonergan who are hardly established,,,,
Perhaps 'established' was the wrong word. 'Experienced' or 'tauted' may be the better words.
But what does Howlett's inclusion say for the likes of Lonergan, Myers, Houli, Hocking, Reimers etc who will probably miss out on selection. All are up for selection this week.
I couldn't see any other team that was a finals side last year and with a full list to chose from selection a pick 30 rookie from the previous year in their midfield. For me it is a concern.
Beerfish
23 Mar 2010, 14:01
I think it's good. We're not expected to win Friday anyway. What's the harm in starting to get games into a 21 year old recruit coming off a B & F performance in his old club?
At worst he's going to get a taste of AFL and at best we may unearth something special. I don't really think too much can be read into it at this stage and I wouldn't be too worried about those other blokes.
Perhaps 'established' was the wrong word. 'Experienced' or 'tauted' may be the better words.
But what does Howlett's inclusion say for the likes of Lonergan, Myers, Houli, Hocking, Reimers etc who will probably miss out on selection. All are up for selection this week.
I couldn't see any other team that was a finals side last year and with a full list to chose from selection a pick 30 rookie from the previous year in their midfield. For me it is a concern.
pick 30 rookie doesnt mean much anymore, hes got a chance to play AFL and hes grabbed it with both hands, and if it means other guys miss out because of it then that means maybe they need to look at what this kid has done to get a game.. myers and reimers are younger than howlett BTW, and the others are about the same age...
i dont think its a concern at this stage anyway :thumbsu:
I couldn't see any other team that was a finals side last year and with a full list to chose from selection a pick 30 rookie from the previous year in their midfield. For me it is a concern.It says that all of Lonergan, Myers, Houli & Remiers are still developing and less advanced than the 21 year-old Howlett.
Hocking is the only question mark, as he's physically ready and has shown last year that he can play midfield in the AFL. And he still may very well play on Friday, also. Myers is coming off two hamstring injuries, Lonergan's fitness is still not up to midfield standards, Reimers is coming off a pre-season where he recorded an 8 for the beep test, and Houli apparently still hasn't proven to the coaching staff that he's erased the deficincies he's been asked to do the last 18 months.
So to be fair, Hocking and Houli are concerning (assuming they're not selected), but the others don't worry me at this stage. I'm happy for Howlett to play midfield at their expense if it means we're not playing guys like Reimers, Lonergan etc at 60-80% fitness like we did for far too much of last year.
Boucks09
23 Mar 2010, 14:45
It says that all of Lonergan, Myers, Houli & Remiers are still developing and less advanced than the 21 year-old Howlett.
Hocking is the only question mark, as he's physically ready and has shown last year that he can play midfield in the AFL. And he still may very well play on Friday, also. Myers is coming off two hamstring injuries, Lonergan's fitness is still not up to midfield standards, Reimers is coming off a pre-season where he recorded an 8 for the beep test, and Houli apparently still hasn't proven to the coaching staff that he's erased the deficincies he's been asked to do the last 18 months.
So to be fair, Hocking and Houli are concerning (assuming they're not selected), but the others don't worry me at this stage. I'm happy for Howlett to play midfield at their expense if it means we're not playing guys like Reimers, Lonergan etc at 60-80% fitness like we did for far too much of last year.
I agree with most of what you have said but the parts highlighted are a concern. These are 3 players who are entering their 4th season on the list yet there are still various question marks over their ability to hold down a senior spot.
For Reimers to score an 8 in a beep tests is an absolute disgrace if true. My God I'd expect 150kg people from the biggest loser to be able to do that, let alone a supposed 'elite athlete'. If a player came back in that sort of shape he shouldn't even be considered for the seniors until serving some hard time at Bendigo. The same goes for Lonergan as he has been 'getting into midfield shape' for the last 2 years.
I would much rather play blokes like Howlett who are fit and ready to play AFL rather than a 60% player like Reimers as you mentioned. I thought the same with Quinn last year.
I guess my issue is less about Howlett than it is about the other players.
it could say a lot of things.
My thinking since I was 18 was that this fascination with players either making it or not as 17/18 year olds is nothing short of ridiculous.
The difference in maturity, both physically and especially mentally from that age to early twenties is arguably the biggest a male will make in his life - its the transformation from a kid to an adult.
I have a close friend from the USA who I have agreed with over a long time - in their system, NBA, NFL (especially) etc, you are not draft material until you are finished your 3rd and 4th years of college. It is so hard to pick a prospect at 22, let alone 18!
It could be a huge new thinking in the AFL.
Lance Uppercut
23 Mar 2010, 14:48
My thinking since I was 18 was that this fascination with players either making it or not as 17/18 year olds is nothing short of ridiculous.
The difference in maturity, both physically and especially mentally from that age to early twenties is arguably the biggest a male will make in his life - its the transformation from a kid to an adult.
I have a close friend from the USA who I have agreed with over a long time - in their system, NBA, NFL (especially) etc, you are not draft material until you are finished your 3rd and 4th years of college. It is so hard to pick a prospect at 22, let alone 18!
outstanding post :thumbsu:
i happened to watch some of the NFL draft camp which happened early this month, every single one of them is massive, and even still most of them wont even make an impact for another 3-4years..
i happened to watch some of the NFL draft camp which happened early this month, every single one of them is massive, and even still most of them wont even make an impact for another 3-4years..They have a little more, er, science, put into their training over there.
They also all take performance enhancing drugs
They have a little more, er, science, put into their training over there.
probly got to do with having 300million people aswell....if we had that many people we probably wouldnt have anyone running around under 190cm 95kgs either....unless of course they are something out of the ordinary.....
Frothies Mcveigh
23 Mar 2010, 15:23
Good on him, Gumby playing is a good sign.
Boucks. . .
Liam Picken says hi ;)
He broke into a side that played in a preliminary final.
The overwhelming success' of Liam Anthony, Greg Broughton, Liam Picken etc. has really opened up recruiters eyes in terms of age of the player.
These players were picked up for reasons. Remember that Wilsopn bloke the Eagles picked up? He was a 28 y.o full forward who serviced them well for a couple of years.
What i'm saying is, all of these players were picked up for a reason. So was Howlett!
As smokin' said:
"The difference in maturity, both physically and especially mentally from that age to early twenties is arguably the biggest a male will make in his life - its the transformation from a kid to an adult."
This sums it up perfectly. Howlett was picked up as a 'stop gap' solution, until players like Myers, Reimers, Houli etc, work on their defficiencies till they overtake him (Howlett).
Only problem is, Howlett may want this chance that much that he becomes a very solid part of our senior midfield, and players like the ones mentioned previously have to actually work that little bit harder to earn senior selection.
Howlett's recruitment and upgrading to the senior list is only a good thing in my eyes Boucks, just believe.
...Reimers is coming off a pre-season where he recorded an 8 for the beep test...
Is that true? Where did you hear/read that Whomb?
If so that is absolutely pathetic and I wouldn't consider him for senior selection until he played half the year at Bendigo or some similar strong message.
I thought Reimers looked like he had gotten a little ahead of himself but geez, considering his injuries and poor form when coming back from injuries last year I expected more.
donspremiers
23 Mar 2010, 17:27
I think the real reasoning behind Howletts selection has been overlooked.
We have been bent over and smacked by Geelong in at least the last 4 times we played them by the big bodies and hard ball getters IMO.
I wouldn't be supprised if the team Knights selects this week to take on Geelong is different by about 4-5 players to the team that takes on Freo.
Hocking Lonergan Howlett and maybe Reimers might all get a game this week to try get that important first disposal.
Is that true? Where did you hear/read that Whomb?
If so that is absolutely pathetic and I wouldn't consider him for senior selection until he played half the year at Bendigo or some similar strong message.
I thought Reimers looked like he had gotten a little ahead of himself but geez, considering his injuries and poor form when coming back from injuries last year I expected more.Ant used to give me weekly 'inside' news.
So I'd take it as as good as fact. You're right; I could do it now, weighing 95kg and not having run extensively for 6 months.
Skeeta Olly
23 Mar 2010, 17:37
8 is pathetic if true.
Mad Bomber Sean
23 Mar 2010, 17:46
Reimers is coming off a pre-season where he recorded an 8 for the beep test,
An injury free Reimers returning from Christmas holidays doing a 8 beep test is an absolute disgrace and makes me very very angry. Looking at his recent performances though the news was not a complete shock.
Talented yes, hardworking no. 2010 Preseason effort questionable at best.
Mmm I wonder does the boy want to play for us or not ?
Back to the thread. I applaud the coaching staff for rewarding the hard working ( rookie drafted ) Howlett with selection ahead of some more fancied names especially the lazy Reimers - he has earnt it.
Frothies Mcveigh
23 Mar 2010, 18:08
8 is pretty sad, I did 12.3 on a bad knee.
Beerfish
23 Mar 2010, 18:12
Surely there's more to the story...
?
Surely there's more to the story...
?Not that I was told of, at least.
Having said that, Ant also said that Dempsey turned up to pre-season with the highest skin folds, which was really alarming. Now he's apparently tearing it up, so there's hope yet for Reimers, I guess.
bipolarbeaR
23 Mar 2010, 18:28
That is mental weakness if I have ever heard of it?
Athsmatic? Flat feet?
machina
23 Mar 2010, 18:54
He did have quad injuries last year remember.
Call Me Cake
23 Mar 2010, 20:16
Guys, calm down.
Sometimes you just have 'one of those days'.
He'll be right.
gO_bOmBeRz
23 Mar 2010, 20:26
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4o4dqiNEIw4
looks pretty quick, surprised me to be honest.
DonMoore
25 Mar 2010, 13:21
What has been Knights position on playing kids in the past with respect to consecutive games? Can we expect Howlett to lose his spot in the team once McVeigh is available?
Depends on Howlett to be honest. He isn't really directly competing with McVeigh, probably more so indirectly competing with players such as Hocking, Lonergan, Houli etc. In other words players who have played team roles but probably haven't cemented themselves in the best 22.
If Howlett comes out and really stakes a claim for a round 2 position then there is every chance that someone else will make way for McVeigh. It really comes down to form as our team line up is far from set in stone.
Beerfish
25 Mar 2010, 13:59
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4o4dqiNEIw4
looks pretty quick, surprised me to be honest.
Won Peel's B&F by a country mile I'm told.
Having said that, Peel were the wooden spooners though. :o
Great package in that clip. :thumbsu:
How good was the second effort after just missing the specky and the one handed grab after that against the Falcons?
4o4dqiNEIw4
Just for people too lazy to click on the link. :)
ghostdog
25 Mar 2010, 16:01
I think the real reasoning behind Howletts selection has been overlooked.
We have been bent over and smacked by Geelong in at least the last 4 times we played them by the big bodies and hard ball getters IMO.
I wouldn't be supprised if the team Knights selects this week to take on Geelong is different by about 4-5 players to the team that takes on Freo.
Hocking Lonergan Howlett and maybe Reimers might all get a game this week to try get that important first disposal.
Well done!
pacemaker
25 Mar 2010, 21:33
Boucks. . .
Liam Picken says hi ;)
Only problem is, Howlett may want this chance that much that he becomes a very solid part of our senior midfield, and players like the ones mentioned previously have to actually work that little bit harder to earn senior selection.
Howlett's recruitment and upgrading to the senior list is only a good thing in my eyes Boucks, just believe.
He is very commited and wants to be able to play AFL for as long as possible so I expect him to be a good service to the bombers
, Reimers is coming off a pre-season where he recorded an 8 for the beep test, .
haha thats laughable. Reimers is the type of player who can become egotistical and I hope that doesn't wreck his footy chances. When he trys he can get level 14s easy, but still wouldn't be able to beat my best:D. Too bad Kyle
Howlett with selection ahead of some more fancied names especially the lazy Reimers - he has earnt it.
Well Done Ben, did it the hard way but he got there:thumbsu:
So he gets a game round 1. Well done to the kid. I hope that's really because his preseason has been off chops rather than the rest of the players we'd normally rank as being fringe players off the best 22 having done poorly.
pacemaker
27 Mar 2010, 00:24
I felt he was very good tonight. The reason why he never got drafted before was because he was never quite this good. His skills I felt have improved alot, and his composed when he has the footy. The WA based clubs are dumb for not giving him a chance. He will be there for the long-term
ghostdog
27 Mar 2010, 00:45
An impressive debut I thought. Picked up some valuable possessions and was cool under pressure. Nice goal too. :thumbsu:
Darealrath
27 Mar 2010, 11:23
He's got a bit of Barry Young about him I reckon.
looked solid and composed in traffic. Essendon are on a good thing here.
bomberbilly
27 Mar 2010, 14:30
his kicks to advantage are spot on. i really like how he goes about it.
Boucks09
27 Mar 2010, 18:44
He's got a bit of Barry Young about him I reckon.
That's a really good comparison.
I was critical of him getting a game but he completely proved me wrong. I was really impressed with his tenacity at the ball and his composure when he had the ball. The goal was a ripper off a couple of steps.